Bryan’s got his mojo back

After an indifferent 2008, Bryan Habana has rebounded in an impressive manner this year.

SAR cover

Click here to subscribe

While Habana hasn’t been the try-scoring phenomenon he was in 2007, he certainly looks a different player to the one who had masqueraded as the world’s best winger.

SA Rugby magazine’s four experts – Heyneke Meyer, Dick Muir, Robbie Fleck and Sherylle Calder – establish the reasons for his return to form and explain why he can get even better.

‘What’s been most impressive is his work rate off the ball,’ says Meyer. ‘I don’t need to explain his capacity to destroy defences with ball in hand, but the way he has committed himself to the kick-chase – whether it be in general play or from the restarts – has been phenomenal and central to the Springboks’ success this season.

‘I’ve also often seen him making tackles on the right wing, which tells me he’s reading the game better and has a desire to go the extra mile to ensure his side wins.’

Peter de Villiers on his ‘technical deficiencies’, how the Bok game plan is determined, whether he regrets the way he defended Schalk Burger during the Lions series, and his transformation ‘failures’

– SA Rugby magazine looks ahead to the Springboks’ five-match end-of-year tour and what they can hope to achieve from each encounter

BakkiesBakkies Botha may be regarded as the Bok enforcer but these days he’s killing his opponents with kindness

Nick Mallett on the challenges facing Italian rugby, the key to beating the Boks, and his future in coaching

Ronan O’Gara’s last-minute brain explosion at Loftus allowed Morne Steyn to kick the penalty that gave the Boks a series win against the Lions. The Irish flyhalf speaks candidly about the pain it caused him and the prospect of meeting the world champions again in November

– France No 8 Imanol Harinordoquy hates the English, loves cattle farming and has his own clothing label. He’s also at the peak of his powers as a rugby player

– Rassie Erasmus explains why Western Province have to look beyond their borders for talent, but why they also need to produce young stars of their own

RussellJuan de Jongh, Western Province’s brightest young prospect, is a rare blend of grit and guile

– Why Craig Burden has what it takes to become the ultimate hooker

Jano Vermaak is the most disciplined and best conditioned player at the Lions. Fortunately for the Jo’burg-based union, he’s decided to stay put until 2011

Brent Russell on life in Clermont, learning French, why overseas-based players should be considered for the Boks and whether he would return to South Africa to play for the Southern Kings

43 Comments

• 1.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Speeding Dragon!

• 2.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

He’s played well but he’s still not the ’05-07 Habana with ball in hand.

• 3.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

that tittle is very dodge…

• 4.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Your comment is very tittilating.

• 5.VyfSlot: Reply to this comment

He bulked up too much.

• 6.Transformation: Reply to this comment

he is married now, him & his poppie were waiting until they are hitched…

• 7.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

#2 Big Hit: Agreed. Sadly I think his best years are behind him, though he still has 2 or so good years left.

• 8.Transformation: Reply to this comment

sarah, what did i tell you about sarugby mag covers? Why not put juan de jongh on the cover? Or even naas olivier or jacque louis potgieter

• 9.Skim: Reply to this comment

Looks to be a good issue once again, cant wait!!
    Geez, Bakkies is a good rugby player…. we should write songs about him and sing them frequently.

• 10.VyfSlot: Reply to this comment

Juan de Jongh – now THERE is player to watch for the future.

• 11.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

#9 Skim: How bout (sung to the tune of “Sproetjies”):

En hy m0er moffies/
    op Loftus/
    enigiets in ‘n Cheetah-trui/
    en as jy vir die WP-skree/
    gaan jy ook pak kry/
    Die Bul Bakkies Botha/
    maak ‘n nota/
    om Brussowtjie te m0er/
    en kort voor lank le Heinrich op die vloer…

I just made that up. Steve Hofmeyr, if you steal this I want royalties!

• 12.WP_: Reply to this comment

Just in time to join the Stormers next year… :)

• 13.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#10 VyfSlot: they said that about Nick Koster too… and then he got injured

• 14.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#3 SpringbokSarah: oops

• 15.Simon: Reply to this comment

#8 Transformation: It’s simple: Habana sells magazines, Naas Olivier does not.

• 16.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

President Jacob Zuma has praised ANC Youth League president Julius Malema as a good leader worthy of “inheriting the ANC”, The Star newspaper reported on Monday.

APRIL FOOLS DAY!!!

Hold on… it’s not the 1st of April is it?…

:roll:

• 17.VyfSlot: Reply to this comment

#13. SPRINGBOKSARAH: True, but the difference is Nick Koster is not from the Cape Flats rofl.

• 18.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#15 Simon: Duh!!!

this what was said on friday…

13. Transformation :
    October 23rd, 2009 at 3:57 pm
    #11 SpringbokSarah: makhaya is the most popular sports personality in south africa, having him on the cover has nothing to do with his one day form and everything to do with his marketability. Why do you think the sarugby mag always has “frans steyn, fourie du preez, mossie, pierre spies, habana” on almost every second or third cover! Have you ever seen gio aplon on the cover, how about luke watson, jpp, bakkies, dewalt potgieter…but you will still see Big Joe!

14. SpringbokSarah :
    October 23rd, 2009 at 4:03 pm
    #12 WP_: like Sharks mag cover…. Rory Kockott, “His time is now” less than a week after it’s released he get injured

#13 Transformation: I don’t even know what he looks like!

They can’t put Luke on the cover, SA will have a cow and boycott the mag.

But on that note seriously Keo? I’m friggen tierd of Bryan, John, Frans… I get it. They’re good. Doesn’t change the fact they’re not the only rugby players in SA. What about a Brussouw/ Burger edition? Like you you had Kanko and Spies. Or our next fullback? Hell put PdV on the cover if you must

15. WP_ :
    October 23rd, 2009 at 4:03 pm
    #13 Transformation: Good point Transie. Yes I have seen Luke Watson on. He was on plenty a couple of years ago. I’ve seen Bakkies once too. But Victor about 5 times. haha

• 19.Predawn: Reply to this comment

#16 wooden spoon:

It is April Fools Day when Malema and Zuma talk. One fool compliments the other, then they go hopping from tree to tree while the others cheer and jump around.

• 20.stew: Reply to this comment

#16 wooden spoon: You laugh – any bets that Juilus will be president of SA one day !

• 21.Choking_Sharks: Reply to this comment

Bulls should take the final on Saturday, but I reckon it’ll be close …

Bulls and Cheetahs are the only 2 teams who are worthy contenders for the 2009 Currie Cup Final

I’m backing the Kings of SA Rugby though. GO BULLS !!!

• 22.Bouts: Reply to this comment

He looks much better nowadays. Much more of a team player, but he’s become so terribly slow! Next month they’ll have to have Mapoe on the cover… he’ll be running circles around Bryan!

• 23.iamyourfather: Reply to this comment

#9 Skim:
    hahaha!!! totally agree!

• 24.iamyourfather: Reply to this comment

#22 Bouts:
    Mapoe looking the business… lets see how he does on eoyt, no doubt he’ll go. but please don’t let that gremlin kirchner go!

• 25.Papoose: Reply to this comment

#8 Transformation: no ways bra
    as soon as some1 is on something goes wrong
    look at Ntini
    this was just to sell mags man
    its a business moss

• 26.Papoose: Reply to this comment

#19 Predawn: can we stick to rugby discussions? if ya’ll wanna debate poltics go onto news24#20 stew: same goes for u

• 27.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#26 Papoose: oh, you are not aware of the “keo.co.za double standard”? You should’ve read the rules & regulations carefully…”politics are only admissible on the blog when bashing & ridiculing of the ruling party is involved, otherwise no politics”

• 28.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

#27 Transformation: 90% of this site does not like Zuma and Malema, including me. deal with it.

Just like Malema you are a quick to play the race card. I love black people and will continue to believe that we have smarter black leaders in this country than those two mentioned. So many have this view…

• 29.iamyourfather: Reply to this comment

#28 wp_boytjie:
    90% a bit conservative… 99% more like it. malema can go… wait, lets not ugly here.

• 30.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#28 wp_boytjie: everyone is allowed their opinion, so i will allow you yours on malema & zuma etc…but don’t for a second come here & tell me bullsh!t about “playing a race card”

If you disagree with my post give me facts & evidence to the contrary! I am no apologist for malema or zuma, i’m just pointing out to Papoose that the same people gleefully posting about zuma & malema never post about other contentious & or politically sensitive issues like the case & apparent dismissalof crimen injuria charges against those Reitz students @ FS university.

What the hell do i care if 90% of this site hates malema & zuma…ffs

• 31.cab: Reply to this comment

two absolutely great SA winger tries this year.

JP in the 2nd test vs Lions off the back of a lineout was fantastic and Habana’s try off first phase ball was also brilliant. Both are very solid and hit hard in the tackle.

Not much depth below them, tho Mapoe looks to be very promising.

• 32.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#31 cab: The try by Fabian Juries against the bulls was a thing of beauty. I’d give that as the try of the season.

• 33.Jozi: Reply to this comment

If you had to consider the importance of the fixture then Jaque Fourie’s try at Loftus against the Lions would be my winner.

• 34.cab: Reply to this comment

#32 Jozi:
    that was an absolutely magnificent try, in fact, there cant be many greater sidesteps then that fullstop, he looked like a mini-fijian.

• 35.grant10: Reply to this comment

Some breaking news….Justin Harrison….34 year old aussie lock…appears to be set to sign for either stormers or lions….

Talk of heinke vd merwe going to tighthead and j smit back to hooker in light of the failure of J Smit to convert succesfully to 3….

Check news 24 and We talk rugby.

• 36.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#34 cab: “mini-fijian” LOL, hope you’re not saying he looked like a miniature version of Sireli Naqelavuki…..
    Ja a bit like an in-form Caucau before he gained weight and got lazy.

• 37.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#35 grant10: Don’t know much about Harrison, is he any good. Seems to me that the Lions prefer the older locks primarily because of the “experience” factor. JS at 2….is he coming to Joburg or what? I’m too lazy to go onto the News24 website.

• 38.WP_: Reply to this comment

#35 grant10: Bugger off! We dont want Justin Harrison.

He was overrated when he played for the Aussies, he just caused kak with the opponents the whole time. I hope that is not true.

• 39.katman: Reply to this comment

#31 cab: Great tries, both of them, but my vote still goes for Jaque Fourie’s “get in my way and get hurt because I’m going for the corner” against the Lions.

• 40.WP_: Reply to this comment

This is what Harrison did at Bath fron news24:

“While on the books of Bath in the English Premiership, he admitted to cocaine use and an altercation with a staff member from rival outfit Harlequins at a pub in London.”

We dont want that Aussie rubbish here. Please Rassie, DO NOT sign this jerk.

• 41.Jozi: Reply to this comment

#40 WP_: Hahaha…did he have a stint at League in Aus? because that story sounds like something some of their League guys would do.
    Mind you Hillbrow might not be such a bad destination for him.

• 42.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Harison was actually good last season but he’s current serving a ban for cocaine use.

• 43.cab: Reply to this comment

#39 katman:
    that was also a great try, Fourie had a helluva lot to do, bit of a niel burger special. bosh.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.