Saracens 24 SA 23

Keo.co.za brought you live commentary from the midweek clash at Wembley Stadium.

80 mins: Saracens work down the clock as they run the ball through the forwards to cap off a great comeback. Hougaard stands in the pocket and kicks the ball into the stands. The home team celebrates as the disappointment is clear on the South African players’ faces. South Africa lose their third successive European tour match. Saracens win 24-23!

75 mins: Hougaard’s persistence with kicking a drop goal pays off as he finally slots his fifth attempt and Saracens get a one-point lead with five minutes remaining. 24-23 to Saracens!

70 mins: South Africa make a host of changes at a crucial stage of the match. One wonders if this is a wise decision, considering Saracens are within reach.

69 mins: Saracens reduce the deficit to two points as Hougaard converts an easy penalty attempt. 23-21 to South Africa!

62 mins: South Africa try! The Springboks steal a Saracens lineout and gather possession. The ball is then passed out wide for the counter-attack, and Nokwe runs in at the corner for his second after good interplay between the back three. Pienaar misses the conversion but South Africa regain the lead. 23-18 to South Africa!

61 mins: Saracens win a penalty as they out-scrum the South African pack. However, Hougaard continues his average performance with the boot as he misses target. This could prove costly.

60 mins: The next quarter will be a big test for South Africa’s character as momentum is clearly with the Saracens.

59 mins: Hougaard kicks his third ambitious drop goal attempt, but the fans boo as the pivot fails to clear the cross-bar again.

54 mins: Saracens try! After a marginal call from the referee, the home side is awarded a scrum close to South Africa’s try line. Inside centre Brad Barritt gets the ball at first receiver and runs through the dismal South African defence for his side’s second try. Hougaard kicks the extras. The score is level, 18-all!

46 mins: Saracens try! Replacement No 9 Francois Hougaard’s kick from the scrum is charged down by Ernst Joubert. The No 8 then dives on the loose ball for the first points in the second stanza. 18-11 to South Africa!

42 mins: Hougaard takes an early drop goal attempt, but his kick goes wide.

Half-time: Saracens 6 South Africa 18

39 mins: Saracens are awarded a penalty on the stroke of half-time. Hougaard kicks the three points and the referee blows the whistle for the end of the first half. 18-6 to South Africa!

38 mins: South Africa try! After a good up and under from Earl Rose, Ashley Johnson contests well and Saracens fullback Michael Horak fails to claim possession. Jongi Nokwe then gathers the loose ball and touches down under the posts. Pienaar adds the extras to extend the lead to 15. 18-3 to South Africa!

33 mins: Although a solid performance thus far, South Africa are struggling to hold their own in the scrums.

29 mins: South Africa try! South Africa build good momentum into Saracens’ 22. The ball is passed through the hands and De Jongh shows good strength to break through three defenders for the opening try. 11-3 to South Africa!

18 mins: South Africa rule the lineouts as the home side struggle to win their own throw.

17 mins: Saracens are penalised and Pienaar gives South Africa the lead. 6-3 to South Africa!

15 mins: Some impressive and aggressive South African defence swings momentum to the visitors’ favour.

11 mins: Wian du Preez makes an early appearance off the bench as he replaces the injured Van der Linde.

10 mins: Heini Adams and CJ van der Linde are already receiving medical attention, and Juan de Jongh and Adriaan Strauss take big hits, this is proving to be an intensely physical encounter.

3 mins: After the restart, Neil de Kock kicks a poor clearance and his team-mates are adjudged to be offside. Ruan Pienaar slots the penalty and levels the score. Score is level 3-all!

1 min: Derick Hougaard kicks off and South Africa claim the ball cleanly. The visitors decide to run and Jean Deysel sets up the breakdown, but the flank is penalised for holding on. Hougaard gives Saracens the early lead. 3-0 to Saracens!

Saracens – 15 Michael Horak, 14 Noah Cato, 13 Kameli Ratuvou, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 Michael Tagicakibau, 10 Derick Hougaard, 9 Neil de Kock, 8 Ernst Joubert, 7 Justin Melck, 6 Wikus van Heerden (c), 5 Hugh Vyvyan, 4 Mouritz Botha, 3 Richard Skuse, 2 Ethienne Reynecke, 1 Rhys Gill.
Subs: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Carlos Nieto, 18 George Kruis, 19 Andy Saull, 20 Kevin Barrett, 21 Alex Goode, 22 Rodd Penney.

South Africa – 15 Earl Rose, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Ruan Pienaar, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Dewald Potgieter (c), 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Alistair Hargreaves, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Heinke van der Merwe.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Wian du Preez, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Davon Raubenheimer, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Riaan Viljoen.

588 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] Show All

• 551.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#540 Slumtown: Where was he at the breakdown tonight… nowhere.. one steal he got while been driven back…

• 552.cab: Reply to this comment

fact of the matter is the squad has been picked to tour, they gotta now try make the best of it and pull together and play for whatever pride is left, and change their gameplan to suit. the lighter players have been picked, now you gotta go with a changed quicker wider gameplan too.

• 553.mbaxman93: Reply to this comment

#545 skopskiet: new approach eh? did you know that PDv does not select overseas based players??ANDRe PRetorius plays in Australia therefore he’s based overseas .

just out of curiosty what did fourie du preez and morne steyn do to you? You seem to mention the pair of them on every single one of your posts

• 554.WP_: Reply to this comment

Langenhoven

Seek help immediately. It’s for the best little old fat man.

I mean really Shaun, that last comment was pathetic.

It must be hard to move around with that chip on your shoulder.

Anyway i’m outta here.

• 555.cab: Reply to this comment

reckon what happened is the saracens pack simply tightened it up in 2nd half.

• 556.FrenklyJ: Reply to this comment

#546 Langenhoven: Degradation is obviously a word you are proud of despite not understanding the meaning. Tomorrow you can do big word starting with e. And yes, I do pee before bed because your idea of a wet dream involves a full bladder before bed time and mine doesn’t. As for a diaper, I’ll remember it for the baby, and tomorrow when its properly soaked I’ll dream about placing it over head to improve your looks, your smell and intelligence.

Night All

• 557.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#551 WP_: Like I said junior…this is not a good time to be arguing with me… its past your bed time… I rule here

• 558.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

#467 XhosaKid: Bro I believe all and sundry will admit that Earl has played 2 good games so far. We believe what we see and so far Earl has blown hot and cold. I think you´ll find the same people now complaining about Ruaan as he is playing like Earl was.

Nothing to do with anything sinister, now relax and enjoy the rugby.

• 559.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

#547 WP_: this is a open blog and not your personal private kkk cell.

• 560.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#553 FrenklyJ: LOL… let it go twat… the sun will rise tomorrow…

• 561.WP_: Reply to this comment

kkk?

Wow you get idiots, then you get bigots and then you get Valkyrie.

• 562.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#555 Slumtown: ADMIT IT ! EARL IS A RUGBY GOD !

• 563.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

french beat us up with a little scrum half and an attacking back line. Fdp and M. Steyn were nowhere when they had to deliver some rugby for a change instead of skop do dom doos rugby. You think kicking going to rate your asses every time then you on a hiding to nothing. Sooner somebody realise what playing proper running rugby is about sooner this team gets down to some serious business. We beat Bil’s and Nz with hail mary kick n chase rugby very limited strategy. Once they work you out its over cadover. Only way to progress is get Pienaar motoring and confident again at pivot with a scrum half that can get action off the base of the scrum. If Fdp can step up and stop this incessant kicking and get some speed into his service ok, otherwise get Pretorius or somebody that can whip the ball out like Adams does. That is how to play win style rugby, not this dom doos skop the ball up in the f.ng air.

• 564.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

#530 Langenhoven: ahhh jeesus Shaun and then what run for head coach himself? or assinate, Stofile? Political consipracies abound everywhere. go to sleep man.

• 565.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

#537 cab: Brussouw is an absolut essential. And I´m afraid your flyhalf does need to be able to kick. Ruan at flyhalf is as bad as it can be. You need someone decisive and he isnt vos he´s 2nd guessing himself all the time.

• 566.cab: Reply to this comment

#561 skopskiet:
    nah more to it then that…they’d identified the so-called bok kick’n chase on the BIL tour already and we still walked the 3N 5-1. nothing they could do about it, cos our pack and kickers like teh two steyns were too much in the peak of our season and on our fields.

this is a totally different ballgame in the NH, we now in there conditions. the french backline did not win that game, it was the french pack who were magnificent, and centred around their big loosetrio including the raging young picamoles coming off the back and bashing over and into anything and everything, and two tightlocks, and a helluva potent frontrow, no specialist jumpers or fetchers or mobile props. their big no 12 bashed it up, gone are the days of flair little froggie midgets tossing it around.

• 567.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#561 Slumtown: BRoer… Got a shortened to do list… now that I have decided on the 50 things I don’t need to do in this lifetime… Head Coach of the bok team is one of them..

Still looking to head up the UN though..

• 568.cab: Reply to this comment

#563 Slumtown:
    yeah he shoulda been playing more at sharks, but ou doos is right boks gotta try get some width on the ball, the selected pack is not up to these conditions. we have the players to take them on in this sort of game, but they at home, our best bet still our Bok forwards with all the experience, but need to try and exert our mobility and get width on ball. we screwed tho, cos they all buggered.

• 569.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

#548 Langenhoven: I cant say I agree with that. he was quieter than usual, but quota? He was almost the only man playing last week. Put him in a good pack and see. Quota he is not.
    Earl was damn fine. I have to say it. And all the slaggin off before had nothing to do with race. He is shining in difficult cirumstances and I think a lot of people will readily admit theyre impressed. I love it when an underdog takes hs chances anyway.

• 570.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

#559 rugbygenius: Hahahah Rugby genius – youre a fanatic. Ok yes I admit EARL IS THE NEW MESSIAH – HALLEFOKKEN LUJAH!
    He has certainly moved up a notch or two on my radar. If he keeps it up I´ll give him the number 10 shirt instead of Ruaan. Deal?

• 571.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#566 Slumtown: MY problem with DEysel… He has potential but has only shown this on a very few occasions.. He also does not have a brain to go with the brawn.. NO doubt he is strong… but we all know how far that gets you… did you watch Hayes moer Valuev…

• 572.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

#564 Langenhoven: good luck on that one, but I meant FDP – you implied that he was undermining PDV and my question is why would he bother?

• 573.catleya: Reply to this comment

#28 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): #36 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): #44 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): #83 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

Shouldn’t you watch the game before you start criticizing players? Just asking- use it, don’t use it. We might just get the idea you’re biased.

• 574.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

Comrades and loved ones… got to go…I promise not to do this ever again… ;-)

• 575.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

#568 Langenhoven: Yes agreed but you play clever with some brute strength and its an unbeatabke combo, so I wouldnt discount him, we could have done with a hardman upfront against France and Schalk wasnt doing it.

• 576.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

#550 mbaxman93:
    You are a little bit thick my friend just as thick as those planks that got drilled by France the other day.

SAREL Pretorius is the man I.m touting not Andre. But I guess you just a wee bit too thick to understand what comprises proper rugby brains. You fools watch Fdp and M. Steyn f.up the back line momentum time and time again, and because we fortunately got some wins under our belt through some immaculate place kicking from penalties conceded by opposition your eyes are closed to the absolute FACTS.

Carry on watching and learning, one day it may dawn on you what the actual object of the exercise on the rugby field is. It is to score TRIES not Penalties, unless you still too young to realise that.

• 577.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#568 Slumtown: The story of the SCorpion and the frog… but we will chat again… Long live

• 578.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

#558 WP_: go to bed you dimwit,time to take off those heavily coloured tinted blinkers!

• 579.cab: Reply to this comment

please man FDP and M.Steyn have won just about everything you can win.
    get serious. just alot of underdog rubbish.
    if these back-ups so good, how come they getting ironed out by saracens and leicester B sides?

• 580.mbaxman93: Reply to this comment

#572 skopskiet: you also seem to be very thick as you cannot see that you;ve posted the same comment 20 times in the last 45minutes .we get it ,you think FDP and morne are killing bok rugby ,now can you please stop repeating it every f.king 5minutes its getting very irritating !!!
    #575 cab: VERY TRUE , why arent the “proper halfbacks” dams and pienaar winning us games??

• 581.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

Earl Rose has some lovely skills, all those that have said how **** he is should take off the blinkers.

Thought Potgeiter was really good, as was Deysel altho he seemed to go quiet in 2ndH.

Boks scrum again horrible.

Boks generally just forgot to attack the game in 2ndH, they have been a 1stH team almost all season.

There were some HUGE hits going in there from both sides of brothers, like watching Tonga play Samoa !

• 582.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Yes France beat us all does up due to a complete rugby strategy from the front through the 2nd row and back row.

We got a bunch of palooka’s reading the script thinking Kankowski is the answer at the base of the scrum. We still hope against hope if all else fails that M. Steyn will deliver some manner from heaven and bail us out with another hail mary place kicking performance, or Jdv will intercept another pass and score at the other end, or Frans Steyn will land us another 60 m miracle to bail us out the soup. Kak **** bs blinker’s running the show. We got so f.ng lucky against Bil’s and 3N its just not true. Now we have to learn to actually earn our stripes not fluke em.
    France caught us perfectly. Said to our big bully brekers ‘come get some your own medicine’ and then they dished it out. Bakkies and Matfield didn’t quite know what hit them the first 10 min they got roughed up like they never been roughed up before.

Bekker was doing better than Bakkies they should have left him on. The man is going to be a colossus watch him Anders Bekker the next Bok lock super star better than both Botha and Matfield. Hargreaves was playing out his skin tonight did some great work in the line out too.

France back row drilled our 3. Schalk is fini he must take a sabbatical . The trio should be brussow, Deysel and Vermeulen with Alberts off bench to cover 4 and 8 like Danie used to do. Then France would have had a game on their hands. Also a fast service scrum half feed is essential in modern game, this slow up in the air kicking fest is passe, time to give it a big fat miss.

• 583.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#395 kaksioek: At least they lost 3 in a row, all against the world champions. The Boks have lost 3 in a row, two of which were against mere club B teams.

Forget their “wake-up call” — their phone is obviously broken.

And on they slink, bowed and deflated, to Italy to quiveringly face a supposed “giant” scrum. (Although Paddy o’Brien says it’s illegal and he’s the top ref in the whole IRB, so he’d know.)

I wonder who’ll sing the Nkosi anthem? It won’t be Pavarotti because he’s dead. Will Nick Mallett call in Ras Dumisani as a cunning tactical ploy? Forget the haka — just unnerve the Boks with a truly shocking anthem-singer.

• 584.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

To blame Hougaard, once again a player played out of position,
    after his switch to wing is, plain stupid.The plain fact for all to see was the brainless performance by the Springbok pack once positional chances were made.
    The pack was outmuscled and outthought up front, by what
    after all are meant to be just club players.The fact is
    the pack was cleverly turned in the wrong direction forcing
    Hougaard to kick against the turn with disastrous results.
    Instead of passing the ball the no 8 should have picked
    even if it meant going over the touch line.
    I am sorry to say but the second stringers just dont click
    as ateam and are playing as individuals.

• 585.NZMaori: Reply to this comment

0 from 3 now. I thought Keo said on here that it was a strong selection for this match?? Clearly the All Blacks have better depth than the South Africans but your top side is still stronger – i havnt forgotten this years results unlike some of my fellow kiwi bloggers….but really who cares about these losses – no one will this time next year – meaningless bullshit midweek games that mean alot more to the provincial sides than the springboks. When you beat the All Blacks next time no one will care you lost to these maggots!

• 586.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

#9 WP Till I Die:

It seems its the hopeless vs the hopefuls it now depends who one rates as the hopeful and the hopeless.

Saracens – hopeless (discarded players from their home unions who saru thought were no good)
    Springboks – hopefulls (hoping to be consistent springboks)

Funny though that this was saracens B…which to me means saracens dont rate their players as first choice. How far don the rung are they.

It comes back to has RSA brought the right depth players. I think the coaches have brought the wrong players to groom. Its not looking good.

• 587.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

#578 skopskiet:

Bekker is just very very injury prone…..lets hope he gets past that.

• 588.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#583 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark):

awesome exchange and run to the line for a Big Man tho, you wont see Matfield doing that.

Bekker has a similar range of skills to Ali Williams, incredible coordination for such large blokes.

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.