Saracens 24 SA 23
17 Nov 2009
Keo.co.za brought you live commentary from the midweek clash at Wembley Stadium.
80 mins: Saracens work down the clock as they run the ball through the forwards to cap off a great comeback. Hougaard stands in the pocket and kicks the ball into the stands. The home team celebrates as the disappointment is clear on the South African players’ faces. South Africa lose their third successive European tour match. Saracens win 24-23!
75 mins: Hougaard’s persistence with kicking a drop goal pays off as he finally slots his fifth attempt and Saracens get a one-point lead with five minutes remaining. 24-23 to Saracens!
70 mins: South Africa make a host of changes at a crucial stage of the match. One wonders if this is a wise decision, considering Saracens are within reach.
69 mins: Saracens reduce the deficit to two points as Hougaard converts an easy penalty attempt. 23-21 to South Africa!
62 mins: South Africa try! The Springboks steal a Saracens lineout and gather possession. The ball is then passed out wide for the counter-attack, and Nokwe runs in at the corner for his second after good interplay between the back three. Pienaar misses the conversion but South Africa regain the lead. 23-18 to South Africa!
61 mins: Saracens win a penalty as they out-scrum the South African pack. However, Hougaard continues his average performance with the boot as he misses target. This could prove costly.
60 mins: The next quarter will be a big test for South Africa’s character as momentum is clearly with the Saracens.
59 mins: Hougaard kicks his third ambitious drop goal attempt, but the fans boo as the pivot fails to clear the cross-bar again.
54 mins: Saracens try! After a marginal call from the referee, the home side is awarded a scrum close to South Africa’s try line. Inside centre Brad Barritt gets the ball at first receiver and runs through the dismal South African defence for his side’s second try. Hougaard kicks the extras. The score is level, 18-all!
46 mins: Saracens try! Replacement No 9 Francois Hougaard’s kick from the scrum is charged down by Ernst Joubert. The No 8 then dives on the loose ball for the first points in the second stanza. 18-11 to South Africa!
42 mins: Hougaard takes an early drop goal attempt, but his kick goes wide.
Half-time: Saracens 6 South Africa 18
39 mins: Saracens are awarded a penalty on the stroke of half-time. Hougaard kicks the three points and the referee blows the whistle for the end of the first half. 18-6 to South Africa!
38 mins: South Africa try! After a good up and under from Earl Rose, Ashley Johnson contests well and Saracens fullback Michael Horak fails to claim possession. Jongi Nokwe then gathers the loose ball and touches down under the posts. Pienaar adds the extras to extend the lead to 15. 18-3 to South Africa!
33 mins: Although a solid performance thus far, South Africa are struggling to hold their own in the scrums.
29 mins: South Africa try! South Africa build good momentum into Saracens’ 22. The ball is passed through the hands and De Jongh shows good strength to break through three defenders for the opening try. 11-3 to South Africa!
18 mins: South Africa rule the lineouts as the home side struggle to win their own throw.
17 mins: Saracens are penalised and Pienaar gives South Africa the lead. 6-3 to South Africa!
15 mins: Some impressive and aggressive South African defence swings momentum to the visitors’ favour.
11 mins: Wian du Preez makes an early appearance off the bench as he replaces the injured Van der Linde.
10 mins: Heini Adams and CJ van der Linde are already receiving medical attention, and Juan de Jongh and Adriaan Strauss take big hits, this is proving to be an intensely physical encounter.
3 mins: After the restart, Neil de Kock kicks a poor clearance and his team-mates are adjudged to be offside. Ruan Pienaar slots the penalty and levels the score. Score is level 3-all!
1 min: Derick Hougaard kicks off and South Africa claim the ball cleanly. The visitors decide to run and Jean Deysel sets up the breakdown, but the flank is penalised for holding on. Hougaard gives Saracens the early lead. 3-0 to Saracens!
Saracens – 15 Michael Horak, 14 Noah Cato, 13 Kameli Ratuvou, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 Michael Tagicakibau, 10 Derick Hougaard, 9 Neil de Kock, 8 Ernst Joubert, 7 Justin Melck, 6 Wikus van Heerden (c), 5 Hugh Vyvyan, 4 Mouritz Botha, 3 Richard Skuse, 2 Ethienne Reynecke, 1 Rhys Gill.
Subs: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Carlos Nieto, 18 George Kruis, 19 Andy Saull, 20 Kevin Barrett, 21 Alex Goode, 22 Rodd Penney.
South Africa – 15 Earl Rose, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Ruan Pienaar, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Dewald Potgieter (c), 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Alistair Hargreaves, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Heinke van der Merwe.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Wian du Preez, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Davon Raubenheimer, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Riaan Viljoen.

588 Comments
17 Nov 2009, 20:05 pm
Looks like SA B-team vs SA C-team
17 Nov 2009, 20:06 pm
Go Bokke. Klap these spying dragons…
17 Nov 2009, 20:08 pm
#1 Senga:
Actually it is a bit of a farce, i mean its probably better to take the Bulls, Sharks or Freestate over exactly as they are for these midweek game.
Good luck, hope not another pomping.
17 Nov 2009, 20:09 pm
SA vs SAracens
17 Nov 2009, 20:12 pm
#3 cab: Thought there were a cap on the amount of overseas players legible to play for Saracens – seems I was wrong.
17 Nov 2009, 20:14 pm
#4 ossewa: Good 1
17 Nov 2009, 20:14 pm
Sykes or a proper 4 should have been on this tour as backup to bakkies. Alberts another one needed for this attritional NH stuff, as well as Liebenberg.
17 Nov 2009, 20:20 pm
Last sentence in the article above reads “Pinging is currently not allowed.” What does that mean?
17 Nov 2009, 20:30 pm
More like Mercenaries, instead of Saracens
In their starting line-up:
9 South Africans
3 Englishmen
2 Fijians
1 Welshamn
17 Nov 2009, 20:38 pm
#6 Senga: Erm, not really. It appears in just about every article in the UK and every rugby forum there. Not particualarly original or funny anymore.
As i said before, there are normally only 4 south africans starting for sarries, but BV decided to play them all today as they will be more motivated than the english guys, just like the english guys will be more motivated when the play in the local derby against wasps on sunday.
17 Nov 2009, 20:40 pm
#9 WP Till I Die: I dont want to be flogging a dead horse here but please remember that this is a very different saracens side to normal. Saracens 1st XV is normally dominated by english players in the premiership, they are just using this match to let all the south africans stretch their legs.
17 Nov 2009, 20:42 pm
#10 Slai: Makes sense. Thanks.
17 Nov 2009, 20:43 pm
Quote from Planet Rugby: Watched the video of Habana ‘kicking’ the French player. To me it’s clear as day that the French player pulled his foot forward. The ****** should be cited, fined and banned for bringing that kind of soccer **** into the game.
17 Nov 2009, 20:48 pm
#11 Slai:
Eh what, old fruit, my post was indeed tongue in cheek.
17 Nov 2009, 20:50 pm
#13 WP Till I Die:
And the owner of that cheek?
Vawn Stemmett?
17 Nov 2009, 21:01 pm
You can use software to “ping” a blog to see if the content has been updated
17 Nov 2009, 21:05 pm
#16 Chile Dog: Why dont this blog just refresh every time a comment is posted or let’s say, every 30 sec’s?
17 Nov 2009, 21:11 pm
what UK channel is showing the game ?
17 Nov 2009, 21:12 pm
Big hit ??
Can we get this game again at that p2play something website link ? Could you send it again please ? It worked wonders last time. Thanks
Or anybody else know ?
17 Nov 2009, 21:20 pm
#7 cab: Agree with you Cab. Sykes should have been on this tour and Alberts too.
17 Nov 2009, 21:22 pm
#18 ddrek:
that would be
myp2p.eu
17 Nov 2009, 21:22 pm
Feels like we getting ready to watch a CC final here.
Brothers against brothers.
Support the ones from home though. Go Boks Dirt Trackers.
Please Ruan have a good game tonight. Hope he has his kicking boots on.
17 Nov 2009, 21:32 pm
The team sheets remind me of the curtain raisers of days gone by. The Kwagga Barbarians against the Barbarian Kwaggas.
17 Nov 2009, 21:35 pm
Is there a Mac P2P cleint I can use? Any advice?
17 Nov 2009, 21:44 pm
Thanks Waka !
Seems like I have to sign up for it so incase we don’t get to see anything please keep the comments flowing during the game.
Waka i’m surprised you are watching ? Or are you just a rugby fan who will watch anyone ?
17 Nov 2009, 21:48 pm
Hargreaves is not good enough to be there.. maybe in a few years time but at this stage he definitely isn’t.
17 Nov 2009, 21:49 pm
#24 ddrek:
Yes to the last. Im even so desperate that I watch some English rugby on occasion.
You DONT have to sign up for myp2p.eu it is entirely free. Great service all things considering.
However Ive just looked there and none of their streamers seem to be online tonight.
Not on ustream.com either
17 Nov 2009, 21:49 pm
And Lionel Mapoe, is better than all the 3 wingers that are in this side.
17 Nov 2009, 21:50 pm
Please dudes, can’t ger to a tv, please update the comments at speed!
#11 Slai: The point is they have over 9 SAs in squad. A bit overboard wouldn’t you say?
17 Nov 2009, 21:54 pm
3 all after 5 min’s
17 Nov 2009, 21:55 pm
grant10′s front row got shunted first time around!
17 Nov 2009, 21:55 pm
Yes, can’t find anything to watch
17 Nov 2009, 21:56 pm
No SA radio covering it either.
17 Nov 2009, 21:57 pm
Yip Waka,can’t seem to get it live ,but thanks all the same.
Thats desperate….English club rugby ? You kiwi ? I’m so desprate for live rugby I ref teenage clubs teams here…its good though.Small committed group of SA,Kiwi,and Pac islanders with the push coming from a rugger playing yank.
Keep some comments running pls.Cheers
17 Nov 2009, 21:58 pm
#30 Transformation: But then what did we get a th?
17 Nov 2009, 21:59 pm
Which front row got shunted ?
17 Nov 2009, 22:00 pm
Is Pottie or Deysel wearing 6? Rugby365 says Deysel???
17 Nov 2009, 22:02 pm
#37 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Moderation, why?
cj of wian du preez on! Kak brewing!
Why is CJ off?
17 Nov 2009, 22:03 pm
GarethD, could we have a bit more commentary and more detail, make that a lot more [s]
17 Nov 2009, 22:03 pm
Andries Bekker is the worst ball carrier in world rugby. Always gets driven back, often looses the ball.
CJ is getting moerred!
17 Nov 2009, 22:04 pm
HArgreaves is terrible, useless at this level. Every time he touches the ball he turns it over by getting smashed, and without the ball he’s invisible
17 Nov 2009, 22:04 pm
You guys are really cryptic, can you explain a bit.
17 Nov 2009, 22:05 pm
Hows the big Deysel engine playing?
17 Nov 2009, 22:06 pm
A good thing your day jobs is not being commentators
#39 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Deysel at 6. CJ injured.
Deysel has been prominent so far.. Heini adams is struggling again
17 Nov 2009, 22:07 pm
Cannot believe that CJ is injured, he has that monster Bekker behind him!-)
Muhahahahahaha
SA 6 – Saracens 3
GarethD, come on man, give us more than that! Give us pictures with words.
17 Nov 2009, 22:08 pm
#47 David: Nice David, keep it coming. Good defence? Whose putting in the hits?
… and do this every minute or two
SA 6. Pienaar Converts penalty.
this game is being played @ high pace it’s difficult to watch & type!
17 Nov 2009, 22:09 pm
Bekker puts foot in touch as he crosses the line.
17 Nov 2009, 22:09 pm
#54 David: Nice
#55 Transformation: Don’t tease us!
17 Nov 2009, 22:10 pm
… they are penalized because something happened. What?!
17 Nov 2009, 22:11 pm
#56 David: Nice
Julle is manne van min woorde!
SA creaming the lineours. Rose has lovely touch and we get a penalty. Line out taken.
#54 Transformation:
Hehehe,,,
17 Nov 2009, 22:12 pm
great move by SA there, brilliant pass from Olivier, and Nokwe’s pace causing problems
17 Nov 2009, 22:12 pm
please keep commentary coming, can’t see or hear ****.
how the bokke doing overall? scrums?
17 Nov 2009, 22:13 pm
Sa really moving the ball around now and looking dangerous.
Rose jou doring
Rose is playing well..
I fear that was the best the Boks could offer… Now beware the Sarries backlash.
17 Nov 2009, 22:14 pm
#65 David: Go Blades go!
De Jongh is the man to go ahead and become the next Danie Gerber.
Much better rugby from the bok’s so far. Ou doos CJ gone to the cooler now we start playing proper rugby with the new breed of Pdv bok’s.
See what a proper set of half backs like Adams and Pienaar can do get the back line moving instead of those one dimensional dead beats Fdp and M. Steyn.
sarries (wikus) are monsters @ the breakdown! Ruan seems to have his bmt back! Good kick ruan!
17 Nov 2009, 22:15 pm
#67 TaffyIX:
You mean the Saffas backlash?
Earl Rose,the magician, is a having a blinder again!You go Earl,show the finger to all those who discarded you because of the colour of your skin.
worst come to worst, can we bring the deadbeats on?
17 Nov 2009, 22:16 pm
Potgieter’s been making some good runs into space.
17 Nov 2009, 22:17 pm
#71 David:
lol David.
17 Nov 2009, 22:17 pm
Meisiekind please pass the ball
17 Nov 2009, 22:18 pm
much better 2nd row with Bekker and Hargreaves too thank goodness ou doos Danie Roussouw not there. Bout time we get some proper committed Bok’s going again. Breath of bloody fresh air been a long time coming.
17 Nov 2009, 22:19 pm
hargreaves..oh ****, are we getting rogered again?
17 Nov 2009, 22:19 pm
#75 David: Come on David Bladen keep it going.
17 Nov 2009, 22:20 pm
look how much work Deysel is getting through at the breakdown. we needed that last week.
17 Nov 2009, 22:20 pm
#78 skopskiet: Jy is n ou doos
17 Nov 2009, 22:21 pm
These guys are playing some great clever offloads and running lines. The Boks that is.
17 Nov 2009, 22:21 pm
#81 BULLET: Yeah, so he is playing well? Big fan. Did Pottie just lose it in contact?
17 Nov 2009, 22:22 pm
Adams, Rose, De Jong playing very well.
Try De jongh!
I am in Prague. On which website can I watch the game?
DeJongh scores a great try!
try de jong
17 Nov 2009, 22:23 pm
#82 David:
the wee maestro has conjured…?
Top 3 SA players so far?
pienaar misses conversion
yeah you see what a proper half back pair can do instead of those dead beat doose that can’t do f.all. Adams and Pienaar getting this backline motoring. Note over Fdp and Steyn here are the proper spring bok halfbacks. And culminating in a Juan de Jongh try. The new Danie Gerber. Get rid of the ou doose before they sink us completely.
#87 David:
beauty!!
**** man i cant see a thing.
that de jong is very good.
he and olivier make good combo.
17 Nov 2009, 22:24 pm
#90 allamapstieks:
Deysel, Pienaar, De Jongh
17 Nov 2009, 22:25 pm
The dirt trackers showing far more ball skills than we’ve seen from the regulars on this tour.
17 Nov 2009, 22:25 pm
wian just got pinged in scrum
17 Nov 2009, 22:26 pm
#94 TaffyIX:
Potgieter.
Penalty for Liefling. Missed
Hmmm, apparently PdV became involved with the midweek side after not having any part in the preparations for the Leicester game…suddenly we’re seeing some great offloads and positional play…
hmmmmmmmmm
hougaars misses penalty 53m out. ball lands just over 22.
17 Nov 2009, 22:27 pm
#72 Koos van der merwe:
Come on Earl. That’s four good games in a row now.
Keep the commentary coming guys.
#95 TaffyIX: Yeehah, where is Grant10?
Heynekes world class 10, is having a shocker.
big hit olivier(hougaard het gekak)
It is amazing that with today’s technology there are still parts of the world where we can’t see or hear anything about this game
17 Nov 2009, 22:28 pm
the entire difference is this back line are working not getting stifled by two doos kickers behind the scrum. The distribution by Adams 100 times better than Fdp, and Pienaar getting the back line moving. De jongh is the best center in the country no doubt about it. Get rid of the doose before we go all the way down the drain.
meisiekind MONSTERS leifling with a tackle of note!
“Although a solid performance thus far, South Africa are struggling to hold their own in the scrums.”
Please explain what this means
17 Nov 2009, 22:29 pm
#105 sglazer: It has more to do with greedy lawyers than the tech.
adams is beseer
#107 skopskiet: Oh shut up now.
17 Nov 2009, 22:30 pm
go on young doose, jan pierewiet and all!
sounds like even earl is mixing it up.
jake rated earl and the maestro must know something.
god help us.
Penalty Pienaar. Missed.
Ruan misses penalty from left touchline on 22
#108 sglazer:
It’s not our strongest set-piece. We are looking good in the lineouts, we seem to have parity at the breakdown, but Sarries seem to be edging the scrums slightly.
Olivier needs to start against Ireland, another massive hit.. that guy won’t miss a tackle, just like in the S14
het iemand ‘n link waar ek die game op die net kan kyk
nokwe under the sticks
Try Nokwe.
17 Nov 2009, 22:31 pm
nokwe scores! Earl is having a blinder so far!
Johnson to start along with rose on saturday
Try Nokwe! A bit lucky.
typical SA try. Johnson puts pressure on receiver of up and under. Nokwe cleans up.
17 Nov 2009, 22:32 pm
Johnson’s abrasive, as last time – ooh, lucky there, looks like the ball came off his fingertips!
#115 WP Till I Die:
Thank you
SA 18 – Saracens 3
#116 Pirlet BEL:
right on
#118 jamisz:
yes!!
go to www . justin . tv
#33 ddrek:
where is ‘here’ then ?
actually coverage was on Sky in UK all along.
Boks just scored a well-dodgy try to Nokwe, off a massive knock-on by Magic Johnson. SA 18-3.
Deysel is cleaning out rucks like a f*cking tank. That guy needs to replace Burger, he’s better than him in all compartments
17 Nov 2009, 22:33 pm
take a good look at what a springbok back line is supposed to look like not those stuck in the mud flat footed skop en trek palooka’s. Only problem with Pienaar is his place kicking otherwise he is 100 times better Fh than M. Steyn.
M. Steyn should go to full back let this team get its proper running heritage back again. And get a proper scrum half that can distribute the ball out not another fly half playing at 9 like Fdp.
hougaard kicks pen. Halftime 18-6
SA 18 – Saracens 6. Half time.
17 Nov 2009, 22:34 pm
#131 skopskiet: still singing the same old tune sheesh you’ve said it about a hundred times already give it a rest
17 Nov 2009, 22:35 pm
#131 Pirlet BEL: Yeah, yeah. For sure. Only Bakkies clears better than that guy.
17 Nov 2009, 22:36 pm
#130 Pirlet BEL: But how about in departments? Is he better in those too?
Of course our scrum will struggle.
A loose head playing at 3.
Bekker packing behind the no3 (admittedly not through choice, but through a late withdrawel by Rossouw)
To be fair, we need to pick players who consistently play tighthead, not other positions and make shift.
Pienaar is only playing as well as what his forwards allow him to play. He was mediocre against Leicester as his forwards were losing the close quarter contact situations, however, Deysel is making the world of difference, and the Bok forwards have a little more mongrel than before.
#130 Pirlet BEL:
Sharks supporter?
Hi David, Lynn here. How you?
we need to get physical @ the breakdown! Pdv was right these sarries cats haven’t come here for tiddlywinks!!!
17 Nov 2009, 22:37 pm
#131 skopskiet: Dude, they’re playing against a depleted Saracens, not France. Do you understand the difference? Sigh. Thought not.
17 Nov 2009, 22:37 pm
#131 skopskiet:
so you want to replace the best scrum half in the world, cos the Bokke are looking good against a Saranens B team?
17 Nov 2009, 22:38 pm
I thought I front row was supposed to be better with the Freestate boys and CJ VDL??? We are taking kak again form nobody´s
Hargreaves needs some vleis on his frame…
#138, no, I’m a bulls supporter, but anyone can see that Burger is past it.
17 Nov 2009, 22:39 pm
I am sorry but I am not impressed still! The tight five are swak!
17 Nov 2009, 22:39 pm
#142 cab:
Very succinct, as always
17 Nov 2009, 22:40 pm
At the game lads, we looking better but adams looks like he is struggling and johnson suddenly thinks he is invincible!!! Good crowd plenty saffas can’t work out who they supporting in this currie cup game!!!!
#143, I don’t know about the scrumming but these free state boys are cleaning out rucks PROPERLY. Not staying in the backline like show poneys. If the boks have been able to play with so much ball it’s thanks to them.
Against France, Van der Linde, Smit and the Beast were nowhere. But that must partly be due to fatigue because they’re not that bad usually…
Waka…here is Hawaii …I can see everything through mediazone and kuduclub but nothing in North hemi it seems…oh I could watch NZ/Oz in Tokyo.
So are you saying i can watch 2nd half through Sky online somehow?
Seems like we got a lucky call for once a 50/50 or was it a 0/100 ?
17 Nov 2009, 22:41 pm
SKOPSKIET,
I am not sure I would play Morne at the back. I am not a fan of moving a player to accommodate another.
I disagree with Smit to 3, Heinkie to 3, Pienaar to 10, Jacobs to 12, Steyn to 15, Rossouw to 7, Fourie to 15 etc etc
Smit is still the best hooker in SA.
Pienaar is still 2nd best 9 in SA.
Steyn is still best 10 available in SA.
Adi is and always has been an outside centre.
Rossouw is a lock. Plays here for S14 & Currie Cup.
We should stick to what the players know and are comfortable with, and the positions in which they prove their worth!
Ratel MSIUR Simply can’t stomach the truth. This is the best bok performance we seen so far. And guess why because for once in a very long time the backs are motoring and carrying the ball instead of being stifled by a ou doos game plan of kick the f.ng thing into the air. Adams is the spark and Pienaar makes some space for backs to find attack space. De Jongh is the tough little nugget hitting the adv line. This back line ten times better than the palooka’s in the A team.
Between Nokwe, Rose, Adams, Pienaar, De Jongh and WO, they showing those overrated doose how to play rugby at last.
cj was off in the 10 min…& wian du preez came on…the little boks are playing some creative rugby you can’t ask for more than that! These guys haven’t played together for too long, the combos still need to gel!
17 Nov 2009, 22:42 pm
howzit. see that paddy o’brien has come out and agreed that stu dickenson reffed the scrums incorrectly for the italy vs Abs game. huge admission. hopefully this puts dickenson out of major test reffing for several years.
17 Nov 2009, 22:42 pm
#145 Pirlet BEL:
I admit that Burger has been off the boil lately, but to say that Deysel is better than him in ALL ASPECTS is stretching it more than a little bit.
You have to take the quality of the opposition into account. Justin Melkck for example will struggle to make the Boland first XV.
17 Nov 2009, 22:43 pm
How can this country not produce a world class tighthead? Impossible. There is no way that the depth of our tighheads are so kak that we have to make them.
17 Nov 2009, 22:43 pm
#152 Don’t call our national heroes doose you arse
17 Nov 2009, 22:45 pm
#154 Tomsta:
holy ****, i think thats the first time i;ve ever seen the refs do that, i think old paddy is the head ref too, any chance there;s a bit of nz bias shining thru or is it only gert bezuidenhout who is biased?
17 Nov 2009, 22:46 pm
Some dude called stuart just won 250 000 pounds by hitting the cross bar… francois pienaar jasked him before what would he do with 250k he said take the cheerleaders out!!! He just got swamped by 15 chicks!!!!
#139 radiohead:
Hi Lynne, how you going?
Skop
Ruan is still not doing that much as flyhalf. Hasn’t got a 10s instincts.
#156 Wolf:
yip, we way behind, time to get a foreign NH scrum expert in, they’ve definitely stolen a leap on us.
17 Nov 2009, 22:47 pm
Pienaar must play 10 not 9 and M. Steyn is too pedestrian to get the back line going same with Fdp slow as a damn ox driver behind the scrum. Look at the difference between this back line to the one that got drilled by France. There is momentum and space happening because of the speed of service by Adams and the vision and front foot ball by Pienaar and Rose and De Jongh. The finding space all a sudden instead of getting drilled on the ball. Pienaar must play 10 not 9- M. Steyn can go to 15 so we have a place kicker on the park. They can switch on defence and attack plays if necessary but so far Rose has proved all his detractors 100% wrong also.
17 Nov 2009, 22:48 pm
#160 David:
thats what i’m a bit worried about pienaar, but its also cos they not been playing him at 10 regularly so difficult to judge – he can be exceptional with ball in hand on solo mission tho.
17 Nov 2009, 22:48 pm
Robzim, Burger hasn’t made a turnover for over 2 years with the boks , he has no clue how to stay on his feet. At rucks he just throws himself sideways and doesn’t clean out much, and with ball in hand, he either gets smashed or fluffs try scoring opportunities by not passing the ball.
Think what you like, but Burger has been off the boil for quite a long time now, he’s not good enough anymore, he’s even missing tackles, and the boks can’t afford having a passenger in the backrow (considering they already have the ULTIMATE passenger in Kankowski lol)
17 Nov 2009, 22:50 pm
Bekker replaced by Danie.
#159 armchair coach:
Lucky b@st@rd!
SKOPSKIET,
Are you suggesting that the Boks drop FDP from no9? The same FDP who was nominated by a team of ex internationals for IRB player of the year in 2009?
The same no9 who was instrumental in winning the RWC, LIONS, TRI NATIONS, S14, CURRIE CUP?
Yup, I guess they are all wrong. Are you Rudolf Strauli?
#161 cab: Agreed Cab…the silence on our scrumming problems from the powers that be scares me a bit.
This needs to be fixed quickly…ecspecially with the way the rest of the world is trying to take away the kicking game…and thus the lineouts which we rely so heavily on. There must be a bunch of Argentina scrum experts we could lob a call into for help.
17 Nov 2009, 22:51 pm
Skop, if you moderated your opinions slightly people might take you seriously. Adams passes 100 times better than FDP??? Thats a stupid statement. Vriendelike advies.
17 Nov 2009, 22:51 pm
#163 skopskiet: And the fact that our pack was reversing had no impact on the game? Look at Adams and Ruan last week genius.
17 Nov 2009, 22:52 pm
Regarding our scrumming problems, at least we have Gary Gold to fix them.
Remember how powerful the Stormers scrum was in 2006 & 2007 when he was Boss?
17 Nov 2009, 22:54 pm
Great work Franscios Hougard
oooooo
Try Joubert…
Why is Adams off
17 Nov 2009, 22:55 pm
jeeps this vaunted front row is struggling…
17 Nov 2009, 22:55 pm
174 – Must be rotation policy or injury, he was playing well but looked sore after the big tackle
17 Nov 2009, 22:56 pm
I’m good, thanks David. Long time.
I do not understand how our front row was hailed as vaunted in the first place.
francois hougaard fcuks up with his first touch of the ball!!! Try sarries!
#176 BULLET:
played really well
#175 gunther:
yip, everyone knew the newcomers were going to struggle, but we had a few genius’ suggesting they would have faired better against france.
17 Nov 2009, 22:57 pm
see what a kicking scrum half does he gives away charged down tries Hougaard kicking the ball into the oppo fly half giving away a try. Kicking scrum halves are not the answer. Hougaard don’t try become another Fdp.
Deysel is having a big game!
#179 Transformation:
charge down was more due to the **** scrum
Think Adams injured
Joubert should have been in the Bok mix, if it wasn’t for injuries.
Dude there are players out of position everywhere… WHY???
another F up Hougaard
17 Nov 2009, 22:58 pm
#178 BULLET: yeah…other than the first test against the Lions and the one scrum against NZ in the last test in NZ…I really can’t remember us dominating scrum time.
Need to get it fixed…and quickly.
17 Nov 2009, 22:58 pm
#172 BULLET:
damn good, this oke will really get it moving, if half of ou doos’ hyoperbole is true.
still gotta watch saracens B pack dont do a number on ours.
17 Nov 2009, 22:59 pm
#181 cab:
yep its one thing to dominate the urrie cup but for some people the gras is always greener…
hougaard kicking?
wtf is he doing, run like the greyhound you are and pass the bladdy thing.
#182 cab: Like Grant10.
#184 BULLET: Yeah, yeah!
17 Nov 2009, 23:00 pm
Hougaard kicking everything SA will lose if they continue this
17 Nov 2009, 23:01 pm
193 – It was sarcasm!
17 Nov 2009, 23:02 pm
Barrit beats WO easily
wtf is hougaard kicking with all that pace in teh backline including his? play the bladdy offload game, esp if setpiecne and tight a distaster.
earl the man try saving tackle
Sarries really taking the game to the Boks! Were in for a great last 30 minutes
17 Nov 2009, 23:03 pm
Earl Rose jou doring
17 Nov 2009, 23:03 pm
SA on the ropes?
17 Nov 2009, 23:04 pm
Try Saracens! Here we go again…
17 Nov 2009, 23:04 pm
Try Sarries!
Scrum was awful by SA!!!
17 Nov 2009, 23:05 pm
18-18, 25 min left
Are we still looking for a decent 12 for the Boks starting team?
Forward pass my bum
Hougaard for Addams the change in the game
17 Nov 2009, 23:06 pm
207 – you cannot plan for injuries, but I agree, that seems to have been a spark
francois hougaard & ruan couldn’t ******* stop brad barritt! Try sarries! It’s getting ugly now
ag p**s, i see skoppie also stopped jumping up and down.
needless to say we in ****.
17 Nov 2009, 23:07 pm
scrum is appalling…
17 Nov 2009, 23:08 pm
What did I say we are Opgeneuk when it comes to front rows at the moment!
Seriously…do we have to kick every single ball we get? I mean…run the k@k out of these okes…this ISN’T a test match!
#171 BULLET: I enjoyed that
17 Nov 2009, 23:09 pm
Barritt pulls a WO passing for the touch judge
now its time for some character, are there any ou doos’ on bench to call on?
Ashley Johnson is ****!!!!!!
#209 Transformation:
Barrit carried the highly rated six flanker on his back like a rag doll
17 Nov 2009, 23:10 pm
Rossouw is just terrible. He shouldn’t be anywhere near the bok side.
liefling is K@K!!!!!!!
#216 Charlie:
Please don’t tell me it’s going to be played 3, lost 3 on this tour!
Did they sang the new anthem ?
17 Nov 2009, 23:11 pm
Come on boys, keep it together!
#216 cab: No
can we blame ras dumasari?
#223 Charlie:
lol, if by new you mean rasta… the answer would be no.
I’m a fan but Danie can’t play without his Bulls mates
17 Nov 2009, 23:12 pm
no anthem tonight!
#226 cab:
we will probably try to…
KAKSIOEK,
Thanks for that, I was also chuckling while I wrote it. Its too true though. WHat did he do with the Stormers forwards that made him an automatic choice for the Boks?
Looks like it might be 3 from 3
Any player looks good in the kraal
Sarries scored a couple of soft ones- we must not lose focus- just keep playing the way we were before.
17 Nov 2009, 23:13 pm
Hougaard playing for SA tonight
Derek that is
CAB,
Ref has had a decent game too, cannot blame him either. Maybe its cause the team are distracted in the saga of the Habana citing…
Is the scrum worse this half than the first?
come young guns — attack, dont freeze up now, might as well give it a go.
#218 rugby lover: Hate to channel Jake White and risk getting Skopskiet into a froth, but Potgieter is too small.
good tactical kicking by ruan! Play in their half!
17 Nov 2009, 23:14 pm
Rose you a ******* master
I’m probably going to get crucified for this, but since Danie replaced Bekker our scrum has disintegrated.
Great try Nokwe!!! Lovely to watch
Try Nokwe. Spread down the backline!
#152 skopskiet: Really?
Rose you a F master
Try Nokwe, great work Earl Rose
Rose has had some great touches tonight!
17 Nov 2009, 23:15 pm
#240 Transformation: No man, like Skoppie would say – he should have run that ball!
Earl Rose’s pass there for the try was forward
try nokwe!
#243 TaffyIX:
YEBOOOO!!!!
#240 kaksioek: Not if he was a decent 6, but…………..he’s a 7 or 8. Madness, over-rated.
Rose man of the match
there’s our working back line again showing how to split the defence show the palooka A team how its done. Well done Rose setting up the reverse pass. Get the ball through the hands and we get some momentum going.
17 Nov 2009, 23:16 pm
DOES anyone know the Bafana Bafana score? There might just be less kicking in that game!
lmao, sounds like Earl is MOTM, well good on you.
should play at ten though
Pienaar looks decent @ 10
Can’t blame Fransie Hougaard for looking dodge at sh, they are playing him everywhere these days.
nice skip pass from oliver and a beaut touch from earl go boys…
17 Nov 2009, 23:17 pm
#255 skopskiet:
there;s our skoppie again, you went quiet there for a while?
17 Nov 2009, 23:17 pm
SKOPSKIET,
Same backline that was nowhere against Leicester.
17 Nov 2009, 23:18 pm
#256 cab:
could just be …he is playing out of his skin..
Rose jou lieflike doring
Glad for Earl ..if he wants to move fwd he has to have lots of thes games and no really bad ones….average ones OK.
Two things about him (altho i cannot see this game)…he is bloody brave and he has attack skills of note.
Credit should also go to Olivier for his cut-out passes in the tries
17 Nov 2009, 23:19 pm
referee trying to steal it now
17 Nov 2009, 23:19 pm
I do not get to watch much Currie Cup, but I am starting to understand why SNOR is hell bent on playing Earl the Pearl. On attack, he is dangerous. Defensive liability though.
17 Nov 2009, 23:20 pm
sorry, that should read :defensive liability though? Any comments about his CC performances?
17 Nov 2009, 23:20 pm
deysel conceeds penalty @ the ruck! Liefling converts!
17 Nov 2009, 23:21 pm
Not really if it wasn’t for inside pass of Rose the guys next to Olivier being skipped would have been a wasted oppertuniy for moving the ball through the hands
Come on boys, dig deep.
sound like another one down to teh wire.
17 Nov 2009, 23:22 pm
hahaha, early tackle by Rose!
272, what does (MSIUR) after your name stand for?
#265 ddrek: Brave when he’s with his girlfriend yes, but not so brave on a rugby pitch.
Hougaard kicks possession away once again
17 Nov 2009, 23:23 pm
why did he bring on mr anonymous, davon raubenheimer?
To watch the other guys play for the last 10 mins?
17 Nov 2009, 23:24 pm
#276 BULLET: Old nic was Morne Steyn is under-rated. Way back. Had to change it, though if more people think like skoskiet I’ll have to change it back!
Do our flyhalves have to be the kickers ?
IF Pienaar is to stay in bok 15 or 22 in whichever position…..he should be 2nd or 3rd choice kicker. M Steyn is a must.
Skopskiet…..there have been games where FdP has driven me flippen crazy with his box kicks and up n unders etc. When that’s our game plan I tear my hair out ! Much like many Bok games of past…..kick everything away and hope for the best. When it works…which at times it does ,its amazing ,but usually you can tell a game when it’s just giving the ball away. That guy can run like a wing,a center or a Gitea like flyhalf….he just needs to mix it up and then he is the worlds best….so he still get my vote this year.
#259 Lions_Soutie: He´s a far better centre or wing than a scrumhalf. I´ve never been impressed with him at scrumhalf. but theres lots of talent there.
#279 WP_: for who? WTF?
17 Nov 2009, 23:25 pm
Liefling! We thank you for throwing away a lot of points
MSIUR – got it
#278 WP_:
He just stole a lineout.
Great steal Devon Raubenheimer
17 Nov 2009, 23:26 pm
Sarries lead…
17 Nov 2009, 23:27 pm
Hier kom kak!
Who do you rate in a kick off – Liefling or Bosman?
congrats. He’s now done 1 thing in 60 mins of rugby.
OH NO, here comes another loss
OH NO !!!
Refs breakdown interpretation has gone to the dogs this half.
Oh yes, all the subs are on.
Why the **** is Maku on the field!!!!
Whats going on???
17 Nov 2009, 23:28 pm
Oh no, not again. Oh ****.
wtf is the score asb?!
Hougaard got a drop over Allamapstieks…
5mins left
c.mon bok’s you can beat this Nh side with their Nh ref in their back pocket trying everything he know’s to put his Nh side in front. C.mon now take this damn game.
277 Sioekkak
True but don’t let small misdemeanors cloud your rugby outlook
I have seen him often take it in the head from monster players to defend his line.
Anyway…all these missed kicks will hurt us me thinks.
RP …one of the most infuriating players at times.
F Hougaard trying to play up field…directive from brainstrust but not using his own KOP !
24 – 23 Sarries
#292 Lions_Soutie: Whats the penaty breakdown?
24-23
17 Nov 2009, 23:29 pm
come on…you gotta attack.
were in kak here!
24 – 23 Sarries
raubenheimer on for johnson. lost a player there.
here comes another loss
17 Nov 2009, 23:30 pm
ah **** man.
17 Nov 2009, 23:31 pm
Do they replace Snor if we lose all 5?
Oh good grief …
Who is the Bok replacement no 22?
shoot the ref
#306 Wolf: No such luck, Boks have won everything else.
Didn’t we play really well in 2nd quarter ? WHy do we change tactics. All these subs are a big gamble ,too. Dickie Muir for once must stop the boring interviews and face up/man up and take some of the flippen heat !!!!!!!! Sick of the pussyfoot interviews.
Perhaps we can still grab this one ?
Hey guys be a bit more descriptive
Ongelooflik! Where are the coaching skills? Arghhhh….
17 Nov 2009, 23:32 pm
22 is Riaan Viljoen.
Here comes 0 out of 3
#310 kaksioek: Just checking.
#308 BULLET: 22 Riaan Viljoen
its over…. pen to sarries…
WP_
Where is he from? Not heard of him.
bias Nh ref again killing the bok’s on the ground every time.
17 Nov 2009, 23:33 pm
The Ref’s killing us at the break down
World champions?
Yeah, right!
Whipped by not one but TWO English club teams.
And mighty, terrifying Italy (heh heh heh) lying in wait.
Holding on.
Hougaard kicked for touch. line out.
17 Nov 2009, 23:34 pm
THETACKLER,
As irritating as you are, you are right at the moment.
I love the negativity of the so-called Bok supporters
NOOOOIIITTT ! I thought the 2nd stringers were doing the goods earlier.
TOLD YOU RP’s fkking kicking orb lack of would be the diffs !
Never should he be our 1st choice kicker…or Sharks !
That’s why MS must stay where he is …he will win us all the close ones !
since they took Adam’s off the bok game gone to sh’t its that quick service that makes so much difference. This Houga just another fdp that kicks every f.ng decent ball away.
f’ck me, i guess the only positive is that i;ve never seen Tackler so happy.
17 Nov 2009, 23:35 pm
another loss.
Ag no man
will pdv and the doctor shake hands afterwards I wonder…
#318 BULLET: Cheetahs
17 Nov 2009, 23:36 pm
WHAT HAPPENEED!!!!?!??
So the scrums are still a problem?
A bunch of mix and match players. Just as they look like half a team changes are brought on
All Sarries points scored by Saffas!!! muhahahahahaha!
Well, good thing PDV asked Brendan Venter to leave the training session. Imagine how we would have got screwed then!-)
Muhahahahaha.
I am so sad, but what else can we do other than applaud the Sarries team for a good game.
Bok management should sweat a bit.
Bullet
He’s the 15 for the Griquas.
Not World Champs. Dirt tracker rubbish.
man of the match the referee
17 Nov 2009, 23:37 pm
Its called passionate Charlie.
Im not blaming ref….but poor option taking,(brainstrust) and a kuck as usual kicker. Oh and it sounds like the SA-rries gave it their all !
Is it over?
#327 skopskiet:
yeah u may be right, they have to have a change of tactics and get FDP to concentrating on getting backs mocing to play offload game, cos our packs are getting mullered over there, deysel and schalk and brussow should play italy and we be fine. pick de jong instead of jacobs and morne to 15.
#326 skopskiet: Oh, ok! So do you still think this is our best performance so far? Against a pretty average side? Do you still think they should pick this backline for the tests?
Peter Div getting exposed for the lucky *** in butter coach he is.
17 Nov 2009, 23:38 pm
Great.
Worst. Tour. Ever.
17 Nov 2009, 23:39 pm
It all starts with the scrum without that its gonna tough..
Tomorrow gonna hurt working with the Pomms…..
All hail Skopskiet the rugby sage.
What lost us the game? The scrums?
Apart from our starting 15 I think our players are over-provincialised and dont entirely gel in such a small space of time.
17 Nov 2009, 23:40 pm
BJ Botha!!! BJ Botha!!! BJ Botha… kom help samblief ou swaer!!
Ons manne kannei skrum nie.
**** Muir (I’ve said this all along) is a useless coach. Good luck to the Lions next year. Muhahaha
Gosh the boks have now technically lost there last 4/5 games, maybe the tag of greatness should be put on hold until next year
I dont like losing but I dont mind when beaten by a better team…we are just not good at all and we mustnt think that we are the greatest when we clearly arent..suck in some himility boetjies..it sucks but its true!
Next time arrange a dirt-track match against the Liverpool School of the Blind U19A.
17 Nov 2009, 23:41 pm
The word embarrassing springs to mind.
Embarrassment x3. Listened to this on BBC radio. Commentators say Sarries beat the world champs. Makes me cringe. How cheap is the Bok jersey? This is bad, bad, bad.
#340 kaksioek: Very much so, I’m afraid.
17 Nov 2009, 23:42 pm
I agree, Muir seems to love to Sub players havinga good game, Adams was getting the ball out quickly and no getting charged down, Francois Houggard, stay on the wing buddy.
#354 TheTackler: nah they’ll be too good for us!
Great game, congrats Saracens, and nice to see huge crowd.
First Munster last year, then Leicester, now Saracens – huge games!
Nope, the Boks have only lost there last test match against France.
Before that they beat the ABs.
And if your team is England, we been hammering you for a while now.
17 Nov 2009, 23:43 pm
That was the words from the media not the coach, still on our way from the pit to the palace
Tackler!
Are you not South African?
#351 WP_:
Boet I’m thinking we need to fire our scrum coach!!!
One thing that occurs to me, Tickles: How bad must the AB’s be to lose three in a row to the Boks?
Was I wrong about Francois Hougaard being the dodgy selection instead of Earl Rose??
This WP is the punk *** rubbish calling his own players rubbish. This Viljoen is class the next Frans Steyn, was hardly given a chance coming on with 5 min to go. The one that killed the momentum was Hougaard with that dom doos Bulls style scrum half kick the ball in the air trash again. Taking Adams and Bekker off killed the bok’s. Hougaard killed the bok’s with his skop from the base kak.
17 Nov 2009, 23:44 pm
francois hougaard was kak tonight, where is Tacitus that is always saying he is better than Adams?
Poor Earl cant be MOM now.
Why do we kick it out for a Sarries linout after Hougaards last missed penalty instead of running it the fck up ??
Like giving the game away.Go down fighting for fk sakes !
Kiwi teams never do that,even at the half time whistle they always try get those last few points that make all the diffs in the end !!!
Hey Tackler !?
Tackler don’t support PDV
Hougaard lost us the game. Bloody Blue Bull.
17 Nov 2009, 23:45 pm
What a load of kak. Ref was piss poor at the breakdown. But this was simply unacceptable from a team playing in green and gold. This whole tour is unforgivable. Heads must roll.
Do we have a scrum coach? The law of averages means we should win another scrum sometime next year. Italy are going to pump us again in the scrums.
You will never win a game when your scrum goes back like ours did (and has been on this tour).
Yes the ref was on crack sometimes but FFS boys we should be putting 50 past these club sides.
yessus now the recriminations are going to fly, thick and fast.
actually Italy now becomes a must win.
can u imagine?
well done Wynand Olivier – Derrick Hougaard was having a carnival game until your tackle – Hougaard got it, you didnt
Game changing tackle, you Muppit
That freaken ref almost jumped out of his pants when Hougaard nailed that drop goal
My ratings
Front row.. beyond Kak
Potgieter.. Quota
Deysel…Quota
Bekker.. 7/10
Johnson…7/10
Adams…7/10
Pienaar 7/10
WO…Quota
De Jongh…Super Star
Jongi..7/10
Ndungane…6/10
Earl Rose…Super Star
Hougaardt… Beyond Kak
17 Nov 2009, 23:46 pm
#358 pillsbury27: I agree, I blame the loss scarely on him. First the chargedown try(shoudl have gone other side of scrum), plus his slow service haltered the Boks forward momentum.
Overall good individual efforts, team cohesion and the setpieces were the major concern.
I dont think we have one mate! If we do have one he’s utterly useless!
This was not a bad Bok side (when you look at the line-up). WTF is wrong. Don`t we have any decent backup players? Poor coaching (Muir)?
#359 allamapstieks: Play the U19B team then. Or the Manchester Cerebral Palsy School U16As?
#367 skopskiet:
I think Heinie Adams was injured – that is why he went off.
Having said that, the stupidity of the coaching staff probably cost us the match.
Why all the changes during the last 10 minutes when we were ahead by 2 points???
ALLAMAPSTIEKS,
No, scrums were poor, but that never lost us the game. Essentially, we did not have anywhere near the best players on the field, or the second best for that matter.
1) Heinkie swopped to 3 after 10 minutes. Wian Du Preez came on and was largely invisible.
2) Strauss played reasonably well, subbed for Maku
3) CJ injured after 10 (Thank goodness) Heinkie got exposed as a tight head (cause he is a loose head)
4) Hargreaves played a good game with good steals in the line out, but hardly a force as an international/provincial lock.
5) Bekker played okay in the first half. Was subbed by Rossouw who was pedestrian/absent in the econd half.
6) Deysel was good
7) Potgieter was good
8) Johnson was better than average, but nowhere near the impact of the previous game.
9)Adams was good before Hougard subbed him. Hougard was poor and our backs could not get going in the 2nd half and we surrendered a 12 point lead.
10) Pienaar was good when his pack were going forward and he was getting good service. This dissappeared in the 2nd half.
11) Nokwe was good on attack, limited opportunities.
12) WO had a decent game, but Barrit is a better 12
13) De Jongh was reasonable. Good try, but not too much else to rave about.
14) Ngudane – not much to do
15) Rose – good game.
Essentially, once again, the Sarries wanted the game more, they had some great players too who had a few points to prove (Van Heerden, Britz, Barrit, Melck) Sarries was more motivated.
Brendan Venter was also very gracious in the interview
#366 XhosaKid:
Earl had a good game, is a 1st XV Bok, nope, never will be.
But he was 1 of the better players out there tonight that’s for sure.
17 Nov 2009, 23:47 pm
so katman the safas beat the “japies” a little less arogance from sa. would be nice! consider getting a foreign coach, the time has come.world champs without playing nz. oz. or france.
and that castrogiavani italian stallion is going to be chomping?
was this the same backline that lost to leicester?
Again the difference is Ruan Pienaar’s goal kicking that cost us the game but I enjoyed the 1st half.
Earl Rose is very good and anyone doubting him has the same kak in his head like the ref had tonight. Some improvement today but the Wooden Spoon is still on the cards
#378 Langenhoven: Peter Div .. Biggest Quota
17 Nov 2009, 23:48 pm
#382 TheTackler: Nah they will nail us.
Supersport panel expressing unhappiness with the ref. Lol!
This will help the younger players build some character
#382 TheTackler:
I’d go for the Council Flat XV myself.
357 Sbokvel
Doesn’t mean BBC are right…they rubbing it in.
Everyone knows its not the Boks…but then again ,they can crow coz it was a relatively strong SA side !
#378 Langenhoven: I rate Deysel had a strong game. Ashley Johnson looked out of sorts at times, especially his decision making except for some deft handling.
I think Adriaan Strauss Played well as well.
#382 TheTackler: Again: How bad must the AB’s be to have lost three in a row to the Boks?
17 Nov 2009, 23:49 pm
Venter tried to bribed the white players with Saracens contracts… Bekker was the only one to tell him fkoff.. Pienaar was late for the meeting
#365 kaksioek: NZ are re-building – SA are peaking….but when SA will need to rebuild things dont look good – best option for 2011 is Aussie’s for WC number 3
#391 Lions_Soutie:
Look the ref was kak, but hell we should never count on the rub of the green against a club side!!!!!!
Shut up skopskiet you are always full of ****
They played decently in the first half but the 2nd was poor. Adams was having a good game but his injury got the better of him in the end I think.
WELL WELL WELL WELL WELL WELL WELL WELL WELL
THE DOVES HAVE COME HOME TO ROOST
EARL ROSE IS OFFICIALLY A
RUGBY GOD !
EARL SHOWED ALL THE CRITICS THAT HE IS READY !
EARL YOU ARE LOVED MORE THAN ANYTHING .
WE LOVE YOU MORE THAN OUR OWN CHILDREN .
YOU ARE OUR EIFFEL TOWER . OUR BIG BEN . OUR STATUE OF LIBERTY !
EARL WE LOVE YOU
17 Nov 2009, 23:50 pm
#368 Transformation: Well, we asked Earl Rose to show his ****, case closed, now I respect PDV even more, thanks Earl for shutting all the non believers.
Its time for Bekker to take over for Matfield, Hougaard proved what what I had thought, where is Tacitus now???
17 Nov 2009, 23:51 pm
#396 kaksioek:
yip thats the question.
we also cleaned the pipes of the BIL and oz.
Ek buig en aanbid voor jou GROOT EARL ROSE;)
Becuase they are stubborn and keep repeating this Sub mistake year in and year out. Dont replace towards the end of the game unless you have a game breaker coming on, like Juries or Aplon, someone who is going to run 50m and score. What was this lot going to achieve under pressure? Just dents confidence to young players. I see a losing mentality setting in, Where is the killer instinct that won us the 2nd lions test?
BBC must also remember that it was not a British team playing at all ! 4 UK players ? Who scored all their points. So in my mid it was a club side of Intnl has beens that took down a recent top SA side not a Bok side….but no point fussing,they will have fun with it h more we take them seriously…best to laugh it off as poor options,coaching staff decisions and some tough opposition of mostly Saffers.
Earl was very good I’ll say that much. But we need to see it more often from him not just one in a while
#389 Puppet-Obama: **** Muir is the quota… remember he is the coach that lost two games to club teams… Useless inbrate
As kak as the ref was, he also gave the Boks 2 tries that were potentially not tries.
#401 rugbygenius:
lol, yip you said it all along.
Do you think he should start at 10 or 15 for the Bokke on saturday?
17 Nov 2009, 23:52 pm
#387 cab: Ja, that CastrolGTX is going to open a can of the best whipass on our scrum.
17 Nov 2009, 23:53 pm
So this EOYT is turning into a nightmare for Springbok rugby
and their selectors.So what is going wrong? In my opinion
plenty.First of all it is the obsession by Springbok selectors
to play players out of position.Pienaar is obviously not
happy at flyhalf and his kicking game, goal and tactical is
clearly not up to scratch.
Secondly ,selection choices are a major problem.To embark
on a EOYT with only one reliable goal kicker is asking
for trouble.Kockott may have lost form but should have been
included for his tenacity and goal kicking ability.
As soon as the positional switch was made in the front row
problems started.
It is clear that whoever is responsible for our poor scrumming
tactics should vacate his post as soon as possible.
For the second best to be beaten by a number of ex South African players tells me that a lot is wrong with our selection and coaching strategies.
Is PDV’s rugby honeymoon over and are the wheels of Springbok rugby coming off?
17 Nov 2009, 23:53 pm
#409 cab: Fullback. But eveb bench is okay sir. But surely , surely he deserves at least ONE chance this tour !
HE HAS EARNED IT !
17 Nov 2009, 23:54 pm
The ref needs to purchase a second eye. He only say Green infringements in the 2nd half! Stupid thick welshman
17 Nov 2009, 23:54 pm
#400 rugbygenius: Oh great, the village idiot has arrived.
17 Nov 2009, 23:55 pm
#411 katman:
yeah, sorry to say it, but Beast/Bismarck/Smit are in no way weaker than anything else in SA. still i dunno wtf they going to do against castro? smit actually is our only hope, he funnily enough got the right shoulder on a couple of occasions v the froggies.
#408 BULLET: Haha I know, those shouldn’t have been tries, although they make up for the refs other errors.
You guys think we’ll see Earl on the field this saturday?
#407 Langenhoven: Suck my **** Meer is beyond useless….
It is clear that the coaching staff doesn`t have a f@cking clue.
Change the whole coaching staff pronto or goodbye RWC…
#412 rugbygenius:
Mmmmmm, not sure man.
When Rose has a had full top notch Super 14 we can start talking.
17 Nov 2009, 23:56 pm
#410 katman: That comment is full of win (unlike the Boks). CastrolGTX – I love it. Forever after, that is his name.
17 Nov 2009, 23:56 pm
******, what a **** result, perhaps just as well did not watch.
17 Nov 2009, 23:57 pm
The Nokwe try in the first half was sadly not a try either. Johnson’s hurting fingers kinda gave the game away.
We should have been klapped. And Derick missed about 4 kicks. Could have been 30 odd 17
#411 Brentie1: Eventually luck tends to run out.
16 I mean
#418 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): Mehrtens was pciked before he played Supa 12
#414 kaksioek: Jealousy is not nice . Just because I saw Earl before you.
17 Nov 2009, 23:58 pm
Five losses sofar this year. This is turning out to be an average rugby year. Could become a joke if we lose to Italy and when we lose to Ireland.
17 Nov 2009, 23:58 pm
#396 Langenhoven: WTF is this comment all about? Are you high? Tuck in your shirt, your racism is showing.
17 Nov 2009, 23:59 pm
Looks like the chicken is coming home to roost as Skoppie would say. Perhaps this is lending credence to the argument that the senior players are coaching the side. This side was selected by PDV and his fellow coaches and they couldn’t get one over a club side with one eye on an important game on Sunday. Shocking coaching. Sorry Skoppie but you are going to be hard pressed to defend this performance and argue that its a hangover from Jake White.
#424 rugbygenius: He’s all yours. Congratulations, you make a lovely couple. I hope you don’t have to sell too many of your children to pay for the wedding.
#420 cab:
Lol, I know, we were very lucky to get those 7 points.
18 Nov 2009, 00:00 am
Earl has had about 3 or 4 AVERAGE S14 campaigns. He’s earned nothing yet
18 Nov 2009, 00:00 am
Jake did not build depth, that’s why things are going pear now
18 Nov 2009, 00:01 am
Francois Hougaard is the next best scrumhalf world rugby will see. I believe he is better than any young player n the world today and will become the most valuable player. A poor scrum and panic in Springbok camp cannot be used to assess his true ability. pienaar is not a f;yhalf, makes scrumhalves look kakakakakak PdV needs to pull his head of his arse and choose the best SA team available even for midweek games. You cannot create a winning culture by losing games.
Derrick H showed SA is at least good at providing rest of world with winning flyhalves,
#424 rugbygenius:
But Earl has played Super 14, and was rather poor.
He needs one GOOD season at Super 14 (and CC). Something he is still yet to have.
#417 Puppet-Obama: PDV has only lost one game… on Tour… Your prejudice has made you gesuip…let it go. The trojans in the squad have managed to get a foot hold. They are killing the team from the inside so that twats like yourself can try and twist reality
18 Nov 2009, 00:02 am
lol, let those recrimination fly ek se…
i saw someone blaming the aussies the other night, great effort.
#428 kaksioek: I am married already sir.
#406 WP_: No!!!,Its two in a row now. I how Zane pulls a hamstring and PDV is forced to pick Earl, lets see, it looks like the more he plays the better he becomes, cream always rises
#431 Sheriff: Wow. Just wow.
The higher they rise, the harder they fall, I think this might be the case with SA. PdV and **** are making a joke out of SA rugby. It was the players who came this far, and now when they are fatigued, the coaching staff don’t know what to do.
18 Nov 2009, 00:03 am
Agree banana boy.
As soon as DE villiers has to pick a team himself, this is the drivel that gets dished out.
Says volumes about who is actually coaching the proper side
The Italy game is changing from a “how far are we going to win” to an “if we win” scenario. It`s going to be close.
#433 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): He is in form NOW !
We NEED him to win . Steyn is out of form . Ruan is useless.
francois hougaard should get a minus rating for this match,what a plonker.
#436 rugbygenius: Don’t let that stop you. Remember, this is the man you love more than your children.
18 Nov 2009, 00:04 am
#437 XhosaKid: Cream also get sour quickly.
#442 Springbokvel:
well they took nz pretty close and destroyed their scrum too.
Brendan Venter came down there as if he had just secured the RWC2009
18 Nov 2009, 00:05 am
#432 FrenklyJ: OK now at least we have proof that you are an imbecile… Gonna cut and paste you post on a rightwing website to prove the bell curve is BS
#432 FrenklyJ: This is hardly the time and place to sing Francois Hougaard’s praise.
Ras Dumisani, is that you?
#439 Nanashi: Plonkers the whole lot of them.
Luck finally ran out.
Mallet must be rubbing his hands in glee.
#432 FrenklyJ: Bulls supporter much? both Hougaards were k@k on the day. Derick is not an international class. Francois might still be but he’s not god like you make him out to be.
18 Nov 2009, 00:06 am
#440 WP_: time will time. Everyone deserves an opportunity to prove themselves and for PDV and **** etc this was the first opp to get rid of the claims that the senior players were coaching the side and my take is that they have failed miserably.
#396 Langenhoven:
interesting point – why doesn’t saracens have any black sa players?
on the sa players tonight;
earl showed he has the skills – some sublime moves
heine was good – hougaard, one of my favourites, had a poor second half.
pienaar is a good attacking flyhalf with go forward ball but lacks bmt when the heat is on.
deysel and pottie a good combo – johnson a bit of a loskop.
hargreaves actually did well for a youngster but bekker is definitely a star for the future.
de jongh was a bit selfish and limited in vision – that try could have been butchered if he didn’t make the line.
wynand olivier has improved beyond all recognition – slapchips influence?
nokwe is ok but a bit windgat
odwa is stable but no matchwinner
the front row – nothing better than the bok team it seems
Patience my friends. The result doesnt really matter. Ignore Tackler and Co. We have young players who may just be the 2011 stars.
18 Nov 2009, 00:07 am
#433 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): Did you watch him in the last two game… or are you also too gesuip on prejudice
18 Nov 2009, 00:07 am
what i dont get is clearly the wee maestro had told them to play their offload game in the 1st half, with much success, and is really the only option with our smaller pack and backs – but then in the 2nd half, we resort to the kicking and trying to defend a lead without any pack to speak of.
18 Nov 2009, 00:08 am
Man we really need someone like Kockett over there….some guts and a backup kicker.
18 Nov 2009, 00:09 am
I’m a big fan of de Jongh, but feck the oke’s selfish!
Never passes unless he absolutely has too! Was lucky to score his try. Should have sent it out wide!
#454 charo: Haha, you must just not like Nokwe, I thought he played splendidly, his workrate was high, chasing good, tackling, everything.
#456 Langenhoven:
2 games do not make a rugby player.
18 Nov 2009, 00:10 am
Goodnight folk. I hope Saturday gives us some cheer
18 Nov 2009, 00:11 am
#458 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): No, what we really need are two fckoff big props raised on lots of meat and a hooker that’s so nasty you wouln’t even get him to pick your mom-in-law up from the airport.
18 Nov 2009, 00:12 am
#459 WP_: I think he made the right choice with his try, the defender on the next oke would have gotten ball and man at the same time.
As much as I hate to agree with Naas on anything, the backline drifted too wide everytime, not drawing the players and creating space. juan was the only one who straightened the line.
18 Nov 2009, 00:12 am
#461 Nanashi:
He did play a decent game and worked hard off the ball
18 Nov 2009, 00:13 am
Call Os out of retirement!
18 Nov 2009, 00:14 am
#432 FrenklyJ: are you Francois’s old man, didn’t you see Lionel Mapoe eat this kid alive, it had to take an Aussie ref to save him. When all of you were going on about Earl, I said Francois was the dubious call, I hate that I was correct but it shows the bigotry that exists on this site.
I asked Earl to show his stuff and he did, I’m glad Muir will coach the Lions in S14, now Earl will get the confidence he thrives on, the coach will believe in him. the Earlster will do the rest.
Again Bekker will be the lock in 2011 not Vic, mark my words
18 Nov 2009, 00:15 am
Springbok scrum could be in deep trouble against Italy. If this keeps up the refs will start penalizing them if they aren’t sure who collapsed the scrum. On the other hand, the admission by O’Brien that Dickenson let the Italians scrum illegally means whoever refs Italy vs SA will be on high alert for dodgy tactics from the men in blue.
18 Nov 2009, 00:16 am
Ive just checked on saracens website, Cobus Visagie no longer there as player coach.
Boks should get him in, right now. Tonight still.
Talking of which, why is Gary Silver nowhere to be seen?
#467 XhosaKid:
Boet I hope you right about Rose because love him or hate him, PDV will be keeping him around.
the Bulls patroon kick from the base of the scrum kak is what killed us. When we running the ball with quick distribution they couldn’t contain us. The backline did just fine while Adams was providing quick ball. Soon as this dom doos Bulls rugby pattern kicking f.ng scrum half comes on we back on the back foot. Had the game going nicely with Adams Pienaar De Jongh even Nokwe Rose all contributing till Hougaard came on and stuffed all the momentum in its glory. Same kind as Fdp kick the f.ng thing in the air. Too slow behind the scrum base. 8th man caught him twice, idiot.
18 Nov 2009, 00:17 am
#463 katman:
LOL Dam right!!!!!
#454 charo: Another imbecile to gesuip on prejudice…
Earl has good skills??? FFS is that all.. The man is class at FB but even better at FH
DEysel and Pottie got naaaied up at the breakdown..
FRancios Hougaardt had a bad second half.. the only half he played
De Jongh is selfish???? WTF???.. At least he knows where the tryline is.. Jaque Fourie is fkal compared the this dynamo
lol..the bulls patroon…if only we had some bulle grunt upfront.
18 Nov 2009, 00:18 am
Castrogiovanni is one mean beast, I rate I’d pick him for the Barbarians if I were to choose a team.
Nanashi
If the tackling had been half effective he wouldnt have scored…
At the risk of sounding like Im blaming refs, at least they are doing their bit to ensure that Boks tour become a nightmare
Well done to them for following through on their undertakings!
#460 Nanashi:
not true – i actually rate nokwe.
other bloggers gave me the drill when i said he was better than chavanga (mostly wp fans)
just that he seems a little too **** sure sometimes
question is ??? DO WE START PANICKING NOW??? the first loss was brushed aside as a blip,ten the boks got crushed in toulouse and we blamed it on fatigue now the Dirt trackers get lose again . even if the Boks win against Italy and Ireland (and i’m not convinced they will) the tour is still gonna be a disaster
18 Nov 2009, 00:19 am
#461 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): ONly if name is not Frans Steyn???
18 Nov 2009, 00:19 am
#467 XhosaKid:
Harsh on FH, seriously thats the first bad game I’ve seen him have, EVER!!
18 Nov 2009, 00:20 am
#480 Langenhoven: that is your name
#471 skopskiet: I agree. It was pure Bull$hit.
#432 FrenklyJ: hi there ras frenk.that stuff you smoking are making you delusional bro!only a brave man or fool would sing the praises of aman that just cost his team the game.derick wasn’t his perky self either.
If the spaghetti eaters run the Boks close, it is going
to be a hell of a game against the Irish, who by now must
fancy their chances.
I simply refuse to believe that we going from heroes to Zeros.
#480 Langenhoven:
Careful now, that’s WORLD PLAYER OF THE YEAR nominee you talking about there.
18 Nov 2009, 00:21 am
#473 Langenhoven:
not a bad summation for a football fan living in a council flat outside london hey?
18 Nov 2009, 00:21 am
Let me rather go to bed. Take it eezy fellas.
18 Nov 2009, 00:23 am
Langenhoven
de Jongh better than JF?
HAHAHAHAHAHA AH HAHAHAHA!
Why? You’re the prejudiced and racist one on here! Silly c?nt!
JdJ will get there, dont let you blind racism obscure you just yet.
Earl Rose still has plenty to prove!
#480 mbaxman93:
wins against italy and ireland will salvage alot, but the pressure against italy has now become massive and also the italians will fancy their chances with castro already having got 1-over dirttrackers.
we missing some power in our pack, deysel has added but kanko and even potgieter wrong for this tour – alberts and vermeulen were needed to get over adv line. Rossouw has gone 1 season too far, lumbering a bit, loyal servant but should have been sykes on this one.
#476 WP_: But like I said if he passed the player would get man and ball at the same time, I also thought he should have passed, but when I saw the replay I saw the outside defender on the next guy almost on top of him, the moment Juan stepped, the defender touched the guy, so if he had passed even a moment before he stepped the other guy would have been tackle out of the ground.
18 Nov 2009, 00:24 am
#486 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): Evidence that Rugby is run by imbeciles… They also create rules that cannot be refereed… The bell curve for fearful white men is flatlining
18 Nov 2009, 00:24 am
#473 Langenhoven: speaking of Jacques Fourie, Adi Jacobs broke the French defence three times without an outside center to offload to, guess who got blamed??
18 Nov 2009, 00:25 am
Hargreaves and Bekker were lookin A Ok. Great 2nd row combo. Deysel and Potgieter did good Johnson not as good as last time. Raubenheimer came on and stole a linen looking Ok.
Ruan was looking Ok wrti Adams feeding, Hougaard stuffed us up big time.
Front row poor. Strauss not the answer though he tries in the loose you need the grunt of Liebenberg up there. Heinke not a Th. They left all our Th’s at home. WP Nel and K. Buys have to step up.
Back line were all fine apart from Hougaard, he alone f’d up the entire team effort.
Adams. Pienaar. De Jongh. WO. Nokwe. Rose even Ndungane all had good games. Only f.up was front row and scrum half second half.
18 Nov 2009, 00:26 am
#494 XhosaKid:
he also missed some bad tackles early on, but so did Schalk in fairness.
#492 Langenhoven:
You must be one of keo’s boys!!!
#493 XhosaKid: I never saw him break the line, run into it yes, but never through and in a position to offload.
18 Nov 2009, 00:27 am
#494 skopskiet:
Very light backline too….we were in desperate need of someone to just punch it up!!
Odwa might just be the most boring rugby player in history.
#489 WP_: got your famous coloured tinted blinkers on again?
#448 Langenhoven: You couldn’t proof a pre-made muffin, and the muffin would have more rugby knowledge than you.
#449 katman: He’s been played out of position all year and needs time back at base of scrum. Something he cannot get wih our choice of front row.
I stick with my appraisal, best young player in world rugby.
The Springboks have lost two games to club teams on tour and you believe we need lay the blame at the feet of a young scrumhalf, playing international rugby for the first time in his career under a manageent team who do not even know what a scrum is? Who believe John Smit is a prop and selected front row on the strength of their moustache width rather than ability. Hougaard at least has the pleasure of a great Currie Cuo season and support of a winning province, He had a kak game, so what, he tried at least and showed a willingness to take responsibility and make decisions. he should have had the pleasure of doing it behind the support of what has always been a Springbok strength, a winning pack, but poor selection denied him that luxury.
mr Langenhoven (Mr with no respect) your chirp on right wing websites only shows you follow them closely and either have a morbid fascination or genetic fear. Good luck with your sticky hands and frustrating love life, i can see no other reason for you to get personal on a rather innocent post.
18 Nov 2009, 00:28 am
i find it hard to believe hougaard was the only person to blame, he;s gotta alot of talent that one, but the kicking is stupid, he needs to play like he did against the BIL with his slick passing and fast hard running – he;s got everything.
Hougaard was ultra k*k 2nite but he has not been playing 9 at his union.
Same for Ruan at 10.
This playing people out of position is bullsh*t
#494 skopskiet: wasn’t hagreaves getting thrown about like a ragdoll all game?????/
18 Nov 2009, 00:29 am
#481 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): did you see the Bulls vs Cheetahs game at Loftus?
#478 charo:Fck me!!, you rate Nokwe??, what happened “everyone knows Nokwe cant tackle” or “He’s kak on the high ball”?? You are a hypocrite!!!
18 Nov 2009, 00:29 am
#489 WP_: Stop drinking that ****… JF was pissing himself wet in the stands… did you see him cheer once… PDV should make the change so that he can reduce the number of trojans in the team… Get Ashley in at 8 and Earl in at 10… It will be a walk over.. unless FDP decides to sabotage the team…
18 Nov 2009, 00:31 am
Adi broke the line once. Dont let your imagination run wild.
He didnt look to pass and he ran away from the support. Enough said.
18 Nov 2009, 00:32 am
#492 Langenhoven:
so says the seriously serial liar of keo.
a little overweight man trying to give a big impression.
sorry shaun, but you are a nobody trying to be a cyber hero – i do feel genuinely sorry for you and your family.
having to try to get by in uk as a recent immigrant can’t be easy.
anyways.. lots of work tomorrow.
well done sarries and their supporters.
cheers all
that’s what will happen if you select all these blue bull dose!blue bull and shark brand of rugby has put springbok rugby back at least 5years.
#505 Langenhoven: u and skopsiet seem to be on a mission to discredit FDP so much its unbelievable .Skopsiets been calling FDP and morne Sh*t all game even though they werent even involved
18 Nov 2009, 00:33 am
#504 XhosaKid:
Who would be your 2nd choice scrummie for the 2011 WC?
18 Nov 2009, 00:33 am
#504 XhosaKid:
wrong blogger boet – go read again
18 Nov 2009, 00:35 am
1. Heinke 2. Bismarck 3. Smit 4. Bakkies 5. Becker 6. Brussow 7. Deysel 8. Schalk 9. FdP 10. Pienaar 11. Habana 12. Fourie 13. De Jong 14. JP 15. Morne
16. Beast 17. Strauss 18. CJ 19. Matfield 20. Potgieter 21. Jacobs 22. Hougaard
Langenhoven
You are a joke with a chip on your shoulder and your predjudices are a sad indictment on your very limited rugby knowledge.
Nothing wrong with the team selection for this match. This was very close to our second best side which is worrying. Everytime our seconds play it looks poor. One can recall the games – Connaught, Scotland (losing at half-time but pulled through when test players came on in second half), third test Lions, Leicester and now Saracens. It`s strange but it does seem if we do not have the depth. Take a few players out of the test side (JDV, Smith, Spies) and everything seems to fall apart.
18 Nov 2009, 00:36 am
#487 charo: Wow.. very rich coming from a man trying to make it big in West Africa… Choose a bigger stage mate
18 Nov 2009, 00:36 am
#501 cab: ‘slick passing and fast hard running’hahaha,you should try your hand at stand-up comedy!
18 Nov 2009, 00:37 am
that Juan de Jongh is already ready for top flight rugby guaranteed put him and Mapoe in the A team we wont look back. And I would also say he’s a better tackler and crash ball No. 12 than Jacobs and Fourie put together. Play Fourie at 13 or 14, De Jongh at 12, he tackles like a demon, the answer to Jdv absence. Mapoe in for JPP. Do it now and if Fdp and M. Steyn don’t get their pedantic asses into gear and get some action into the backline they also going to kill this team with this kicking f.ng rubbish.
18 Nov 2009, 00:38 am
#517 Valkyrie:
hehe…dunno what he was like today, but thats what was on show when he played for the Southern Kings vs the BIL.
18 Nov 2009, 00:39 am
The problem with the Boks are we have no impact off the bench. My Bok team would be:
1.Heinke – leave him at loosehead, DON’T move hom over
2.John Smit – Bismarck is better as an impact player
3.CJ/Whoever – We really have a problem here.
4.Bakkies
5.Matfield
6.Brussouw |
7.Deysel |Really think this is a dynamic backrow
8.Schalk |
9.FdP
10.Steyn
11.Habana
12.Jacobs – Yes JACOBS, he IS better than WO.
13.JF
14.Nokwe
15.Kirchner – only because he is in the squad
16. Bismarck – impact player
17. Beast – impact player
18. Bekker
19. Potgieter
20. Adams
21. Earl
22. Ruaan Pienaar – impactplayer
#513 WP_: Are you also on the bottom end of the bell curve… dementia set in already… How young are you… Remember, you are chatting to some body who pissed on top of the bell curve
#510 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): you got me there, havent thought about it really, coz I really wanted RP to succeed at 10, well, Rose must continue to improve then RP can go back to 9
#517 skopskiet:
Um, yes, dam that FDP and M Steyn, dam them for winning the Lions Tour and 3N for us. Dam them!!!
18 Nov 2009, 00:41 am
#521 XhosaKid:
Yeah I also had high hope for Ruan at 10…
You want Rose to become our backup 10? Mmm, not sure about those place kicking credentials. They might even be worse than Ruans.
18 Nov 2009, 00:42 am
I’m off to bed, the bad element of Western Province are talking trash again. Mocking provinces who win trophies doesn’t make sense.
18 Nov 2009, 00:42 am
#517 skopskiet: OMG yes i made a mistake. Forgot about Juan, yes Juan in at 12.
New team:
1.Heinke – leave him at loosehead, DON’T move hom over
2.John Smit – Bismarck is better as an impact player
3.CJ/Whoever – We really have a problem here.
4.Bakkies
5.Matfield
6.Brussouw |
7.Deysel |Really think this is a dynamic backrow
8.Schalk |
9.FdP
10.Steyn
11.Habana
12.De Jongh
13.JF
14.Nokwe
15.Kirchner – only because he is in the squad
16. Bismarck – impact player
17. Beast – impact player
18. Bekker
19. Potgieter
20. Adams
21. JPP
22. Ruaan Pienaar – impactplayer
18 Nov 2009, 00:43 am
#341 cab: morne to 15??????? Who the fark do you have at 10 on your teamsheet then mate?
And backrow should be Brussouw, Deysel, Johnson on this tour. I would use Alberts at 8 but hey Johnson is doing fine.
Dejongh for Jacobs only on the bench, I´d play Wynand olivier at 12 and bring e Jongh on in last 20.
18 Nov 2009, 00:43 am
#522 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): haha and damn tht frouei du preez for wining us the currie cup and damn that moron morne for drop kicking us into super 14 glory
18 Nov 2009, 00:44 am
WP, the sole voice of Western Province reason, no chip on his shoulder
#527 mbaxman93:
Dam those useless players!!!!
#509 mbaxman93: FDP got his arse kicked by Genia… but I have seen FDP have a few storming games alongs his many kak games… The question is..does he have an agenda other than giving his all for the bok team under PDV… I think he will sell out if there is an opportunity sabotage PDV.
18 Nov 2009, 00:45 am
#352 west: 4 of 5? pray tell when was 4?? we won the match before we lost these 3 actually.
18 Nov 2009, 00:45 am
#523 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): well, lets see with Muir at the lions, we might just see a player come of age
18 Nov 2009, 00:46 am
520 Langenhoven:
Is that the best you’ve got Shaun? You have a very high opinion of yourself which is completely unwarranted for someone with such a low brain capacity as yourself.
I’ve read your drivel for long enough and it’s clear you know very little about, despite the fact that you think you are some rugby guru or something. Sad, old little fat man. I pity you. Didnt know such low class rubbish existed. I suppose the english will take anyone.
18 Nov 2009, 00:46 am
#515 Langenhoven: Congrats, I’m signing off. Your need to get personal (which I cannot understand as you obviously have no personality) and desire to antagonise (without ability to reason) makes this site unpleasant, tedious, and in your particular case boringly predictable. Maybe tomorrow you will wake up, lovingly take off your superman t-shirt and move out of your mothers house. You will take the shirt with you (’cause the self inflicted stains are the only proof of your love life) and face the world outside with more snide comments and wish someone had taught you the difference between humour and malice. i know your father wasn’t around else you would’ve had more rugby knowledge and besides not even a father could love a p like you.
18 Nov 2009, 00:47 am
#366 XhosaKid: Not quite…. he´s not a scrumhalf´s ***. I never thought anything of him till I saw him at centre and wing. He should never ever play scrumhalf. Useless
18 Nov 2009, 00:47 am
good performances by the two stormers players de jongh and bekker.de jongh to be an absolute superstar and bekker slowly but surely knocking on matfield’s door to give him his retirement certificate.
18 Nov 2009, 00:48 am
#527 Slumtown:
play pienaar at 10, the one thing ou doos is spot on about is that the boks need to make use of what is a very slick and capable backline, esp with our more mobile pack being largely nullified in these conditions – i suspected as much before the tour began that the wrong type were selected. Johnson is good, but Alberts is what was required here. Olivier also very good and yeah he and De Jongh would be great too with maybe Fourie on the wing, but we now need to change gameplan, since we dont have players to do bash’em style. brussow a little man, matfield non-existent, beast too.
18 Nov 2009, 00:49 am
#530 Langenhoven: are you reading the amount of bullsh*t you’re typing ?? if PDv ,graham enry ,jake white,frans ludeke,naas botha and various rugby journalists say his the best then i’m afraid your views dont count
18 Nov 2009, 00:50 am
Sabotage PdV!
haha, I think we should check you into a mental institution quick! Why would anyone want to sabotage little PdV?
Bizarre
18 Nov 2009, 00:50 am
#378 Langenhoven: I´m going to say this once and for all now… fark off Shaun. You dont know a thing about rugby. Earl was good, but honestly man. Deysel a quota? youre off your head.
18 Nov 2009, 00:51 am
#533 WP_: just a pity nobody wants to take low class rubbish like yourself,otherwise we would have shipped you out to old europe or perth a long time ago.
18 Nov 2009, 00:52 am
#540 Slumtown: Langenhoven believes oral *** is licking his hands after masturbation, how can you expect him to know anything about rugby?
18 Nov 2009, 00:53 am
ja nee that’s complete BS about Deysel, and i should image he and CJ were the only one;s capable of providing any heat in that pack.
534 FrenklyJ
Bravo boet. That piece of trash isnt worth talking to.
I lay the entire loss at Hougaard’s door. We were looking fine till he started this stupid box kick sh’t from scrum base, and if you try compare his service to Adam’s like chalk and cheese, no comparison whatsoever. Hougaard and Fdp as slow getting the ball off the base of the scrum as all hell. They are killing the backline with this idiotic bigger is better big booting scrum halves that don’t know how the f.ak to get the ball motoring down the back line. I am telling you the way to go is a east distributing scrum half that is half or 80% of the problem right there and Fdp and Hougaard don’t have it. Genia and Adams and Sarel Pretorius, these are the type of scrum halves you need if you want to develop a running game. Fdp and Hougaard and co. kill the momentum before it even starts. And M. Steyn just lets it whimper and die straight after with another deep in the pocket kick to nowhere.
Pretorius or Adams and Pienaar thats the way to go. The other option, pull your f.ng hair out watching this boring skop n trek kak till forever going absolutely nowhere.
18 Nov 2009, 00:54 am
#533 WP_: #534 FrenklyJ: WTF…how lame are you doose… Hows it to be on the wrong end of degradation… deal with it you twats… . Black Rugby players have to deal with it every day on the this site… Now go pee and go sleep… and don’t forget the diaper
18 Nov 2009, 00:55 am
541 Valkyrie
Thanks for that one. Who asked you? And why are you always having a go at me? What did I ever do to you? You have issues…
18 Nov 2009, 00:56 am
#540 Slumtown: Where was he at the breakdown tonight… nowhere.. one steal he got while been driven back…
18 Nov 2009, 00:58 am
fact of the matter is the squad has been picked to tour, they gotta now try make the best of it and pull together and play for whatever pride is left, and change their gameplan to suit. the lighter players have been picked, now you gotta go with a changed quicker wider gameplan too.
18 Nov 2009, 00:58 am
#545 skopskiet: new approach eh? did you know that PDv does not select overseas based players??ANDRe PRetorius plays in Australia therefore he’s based overseas .
just out of curiosty what did fourie du preez and morne steyn do to you? You seem to mention the pair of them on every single one of your posts
18 Nov 2009, 00:59 am
Langenhoven
Seek help immediately. It’s for the best little old fat man.
I mean really Shaun, that last comment was pathetic.
It must be hard to move around with that chip on your shoulder.
Anyway i’m outta here.
18 Nov 2009, 01:00 am
reckon what happened is the saracens pack simply tightened it up in 2nd half.
18 Nov 2009, 01:01 am
#546 Langenhoven: Degradation is obviously a word you are proud of despite not understanding the meaning. Tomorrow you can do big word starting with e. And yes, I do pee before bed because your idea of a wet dream involves a full bladder before bed time and mine doesn’t. As for a diaper, I’ll remember it for the baby, and tomorrow when its properly soaked I’ll dream about placing it over head to improve your looks, your smell and intelligence.
Night All
18 Nov 2009, 01:02 am
#551 WP_: Like I said junior…this is not a good time to be arguing with me… its past your bed time… I rule here
18 Nov 2009, 01:02 am
#467 XhosaKid: Bro I believe all and sundry will admit that Earl has played 2 good games so far. We believe what we see and so far Earl has blown hot and cold. I think you´ll find the same people now complaining about Ruaan as he is playing like Earl was.
Nothing to do with anything sinister, now relax and enjoy the rugby.
18 Nov 2009, 01:03 am
#547 WP_: this is a open blog and not your personal private kkk cell.
18 Nov 2009, 01:04 am
#553 FrenklyJ: LOL… let it go twat… the sun will rise tomorrow…
18 Nov 2009, 01:06 am
kkk?
Wow you get idiots, then you get bigots and then you get Valkyrie.
#555 Slumtown: ADMIT IT ! EARL IS A RUGBY GOD !
french beat us up with a little scrum half and an attacking back line. Fdp and M. Steyn were nowhere when they had to deliver some rugby for a change instead of skop do dom doos rugby. You think kicking going to rate your asses every time then you on a hiding to nothing. Sooner somebody realise what playing proper running rugby is about sooner this team gets down to some serious business. We beat Bil’s and Nz with hail mary kick n chase rugby very limited strategy. Once they work you out its over cadover. Only way to progress is get Pienaar motoring and confident again at pivot with a scrum half that can get action off the base of the scrum. If Fdp can step up and stop this incessant kicking and get some speed into his service ok, otherwise get Pretorius or somebody that can whip the ball out like Adams does. That is how to play win style rugby, not this dom doos skop the ball up in the f.ng air.
18 Nov 2009, 01:07 am
#530 Langenhoven: ahhh jeesus Shaun and then what run for head coach himself? or assinate, Stofile? Political consipracies abound everywhere. go to sleep man.
18 Nov 2009, 01:10 am
#537 cab: Brussouw is an absolut essential. And I´m afraid your flyhalf does need to be able to kick. Ruan at flyhalf is as bad as it can be. You need someone decisive and he isnt vos he´s 2nd guessing himself all the time.
18 Nov 2009, 01:12 am
#561 skopskiet:
nah more to it then that…they’d identified the so-called bok kick’n chase on the BIL tour already and we still walked the 3N 5-1. nothing they could do about it, cos our pack and kickers like teh two steyns were too much in the peak of our season and on our fields.
this is a totally different ballgame in the NH, we now in there conditions. the french backline did not win that game, it was the french pack who were magnificent, and centred around their big loosetrio including the raging young picamoles coming off the back and bashing over and into anything and everything, and two tightlocks, and a helluva potent frontrow, no specialist jumpers or fetchers or mobile props. their big no 12 bashed it up, gone are the days of flair little froggie midgets tossing it around.
18 Nov 2009, 01:13 am
#561 Slumtown: BRoer… Got a shortened to do list… now that I have decided on the 50 things I don’t need to do in this lifetime… Head Coach of the bok team is one of them..
Still looking to head up the UN though..
18 Nov 2009, 01:15 am
#563 Slumtown:
yeah he shoulda been playing more at sharks, but ou doos is right boks gotta try get some width on the ball, the selected pack is not up to these conditions. we have the players to take them on in this sort of game, but they at home, our best bet still our Bok forwards with all the experience, but need to try and exert our mobility and get width on ball. we screwed tho, cos they all buggered.
18 Nov 2009, 01:15 am
#548 Langenhoven: I cant say I agree with that. he was quieter than usual, but quota? He was almost the only man playing last week. Put him in a good pack and see. Quota he is not.
Earl was damn fine. I have to say it. And all the slaggin off before had nothing to do with race. He is shining in difficult cirumstances and I think a lot of people will readily admit theyre impressed. I love it when an underdog takes hs chances anyway.
18 Nov 2009, 01:19 am
#559 rugbygenius: Hahahah Rugby genius – youre a fanatic. Ok yes I admit EARL IS THE NEW MESSIAH – HALLEFOKKEN LUJAH!
He has certainly moved up a notch or two on my radar. If he keeps it up I´ll give him the number 10 shirt instead of Ruaan. Deal?
18 Nov 2009, 01:20 am
#566 Slumtown: MY problem with DEysel… He has potential but has only shown this on a very few occasions.. He also does not have a brain to go with the brawn.. NO doubt he is strong… but we all know how far that gets you… did you watch Hayes moer Valuev…
18 Nov 2009, 01:21 am
#564 Langenhoven: good luck on that one, but I meant FDP – you implied that he was undermining PDV and my question is why would he bother?
18 Nov 2009, 01:22 am
#28 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): #36 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): #44 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): #83 Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Shouldn’t you watch the game before you start criticizing players? Just asking- use it, don’t use it. We might just get the idea you’re biased.
18 Nov 2009, 01:22 am
Comrades and loved ones… got to go…I promise not to do this ever again…
18 Nov 2009, 01:23 am
#568 Langenhoven: Yes agreed but you play clever with some brute strength and its an unbeatabke combo, so I wouldnt discount him, we could have done with a hardman upfront against France and Schalk wasnt doing it.
18 Nov 2009, 01:23 am
#550 mbaxman93:
You are a little bit thick my friend just as thick as those planks that got drilled by France the other day.
SAREL Pretorius is the man I.m touting not Andre. But I guess you just a wee bit too thick to understand what comprises proper rugby brains. You fools watch Fdp and M. Steyn f.up the back line momentum time and time again, and because we fortunately got some wins under our belt through some immaculate place kicking from penalties conceded by opposition your eyes are closed to the absolute FACTS.
Carry on watching and learning, one day it may dawn on you what the actual object of the exercise on the rugby field is. It is to score TRIES not Penalties, unless you still too young to realise that.
18 Nov 2009, 01:24 am
#568 Slumtown: The story of the SCorpion and the frog… but we will chat again… Long live
18 Nov 2009, 01:26 am
#558 WP_: go to bed you dimwit,time to take off those heavily coloured tinted blinkers!
18 Nov 2009, 01:29 am
please man FDP and M.Steyn have won just about everything you can win.
get serious. just alot of underdog rubbish.
if these back-ups so good, how come they getting ironed out by saracens and leicester B sides?
18 Nov 2009, 01:36 am
#572 skopskiet: you also seem to be very thick as you cannot see that you;ve posted the same comment 20 times in the last 45minutes .we get it ,you think FDP and morne are killing bok rugby ,now can you please stop repeating it every f.king 5minutes its getting very irritating !!!
#575 cab: VERY TRUE , why arent the “proper halfbacks” dams and pienaar winning us games??
18 Nov 2009, 01:41 am
Earl Rose has some lovely skills, all those that have said how **** he is should take off the blinkers.
Thought Potgeiter was really good, as was Deysel altho he seemed to go quiet in 2ndH.
Boks scrum again horrible.
Boks generally just forgot to attack the game in 2ndH, they have been a 1stH team almost all season.
There were some HUGE hits going in there from both sides of brothers, like watching Tonga play Samoa !
18 Nov 2009, 01:42 am
Yes France beat us all does up due to a complete rugby strategy from the front through the 2nd row and back row.
We got a bunch of palooka’s reading the script thinking Kankowski is the answer at the base of the scrum. We still hope against hope if all else fails that M. Steyn will deliver some manner from heaven and bail us out with another hail mary place kicking performance, or Jdv will intercept another pass and score at the other end, or Frans Steyn will land us another 60 m miracle to bail us out the soup. Kak **** bs blinker’s running the show. We got so f.ng lucky against Bil’s and 3N its just not true. Now we have to learn to actually earn our stripes not fluke em.
France caught us perfectly. Said to our big bully brekers ‘come get some your own medicine’ and then they dished it out. Bakkies and Matfield didn’t quite know what hit them the first 10 min they got roughed up like they never been roughed up before.
Bekker was doing better than Bakkies they should have left him on. The man is going to be a colossus watch him Anders Bekker the next Bok lock super star better than both Botha and Matfield. Hargreaves was playing out his skin tonight did some great work in the line out too.
France back row drilled our 3. Schalk is fini he must take a sabbatical . The trio should be brussow, Deysel and Vermeulen with Alberts off bench to cover 4 and 8 like Danie used to do. Then France would have had a game on their hands. Also a fast service scrum half feed is essential in modern game, this slow up in the air kicking fest is passe, time to give it a big fat miss.
18 Nov 2009, 01:48 am
#395 kaksioek: At least they lost 3 in a row, all against the world champions. The Boks have lost 3 in a row, two of which were against mere club B teams.
Forget their “wake-up call” — their phone is obviously broken.
And on they slink, bowed and deflated, to Italy to quiveringly face a supposed “giant” scrum. (Although Paddy o’Brien says it’s illegal and he’s the top ref in the whole IRB, so he’d know.)
I wonder who’ll sing the Nkosi anthem? It won’t be Pavarotti because he’s dead. Will Nick Mallett call in Ras Dumisani as a cunning tactical ploy? Forget the haka — just unnerve the Boks with a truly shocking anthem-singer.
18 Nov 2009, 08:23 am
To blame Hougaard, once again a player played out of position,
after his switch to wing is, plain stupid.The plain fact for all to see was the brainless performance by the Springbok pack once positional chances were made.
The pack was outmuscled and outthought up front, by what
after all are meant to be just club players.The fact is
the pack was cleverly turned in the wrong direction forcing
Hougaard to kick against the turn with disastrous results.
Instead of passing the ball the no 8 should have picked
even if it meant going over the touch line.
I am sorry to say but the second stringers just dont click
as ateam and are playing as individuals.
18 Nov 2009, 12:13 pm
0 from 3 now. I thought Keo said on here that it was a strong selection for this match?? Clearly the All Blacks have better depth than the South Africans but your top side is still stronger – i havnt forgotten this years results unlike some of my fellow kiwi bloggers….but really who cares about these losses – no one will this time next year – meaningless bullshit midweek games that mean alot more to the provincial sides than the springboks. When you beat the All Blacks next time no one will care you lost to these maggots!
18 Nov 2009, 12:22 pm
#9 WP Till I Die:
It seems its the hopeless vs the hopefuls it now depends who one rates as the hopeful and the hopeless.
Saracens – hopeless (discarded players from their home unions who saru thought were no good)
Springboks – hopefulls (hoping to be consistent springboks)
Funny though that this was saracens B…which to me means saracens dont rate their players as first choice. How far don the rung are they.
It comes back to has RSA brought the right depth players. I think the coaches have brought the wrong players to groom. Its not looking good.
18 Nov 2009, 16:01 pm
#578 skopskiet:
Bekker is just very very injury prone…..lets hope he gets past that.
18 Nov 2009, 16:59 pm
#583 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark):
awesome exchange and run to the line for a Big Man tho, you wont see Matfield doing that.
Bekker has a similar range of skills to Ali Williams, incredible coordination for such large blokes.