Saracens 24 SA 23

Keo.co.za brought you live commentary from the midweek clash at Wembley Stadium.

80 mins: Saracens work down the clock as they run the ball through the forwards to cap off a great comeback. Hougaard stands in the pocket and kicks the ball into the stands. The home team celebrates as the disappointment is clear on the South African players’ faces. South Africa lose their third successive European tour match. Saracens win 24-23!

75 mins: Hougaard’s persistence with kicking a drop goal pays off as he finally slots his fifth attempt and Saracens get a one-point lead with five minutes remaining. 24-23 to Saracens!

70 mins: South Africa make a host of changes at a crucial stage of the match. One wonders if this is a wise decision, considering Saracens are within reach.

69 mins: Saracens reduce the deficit to two points as Hougaard converts an easy penalty attempt. 23-21 to South Africa!

62 mins: South Africa try! The Springboks steal a Saracens lineout and gather possession. The ball is then passed out wide for the counter-attack, and Nokwe runs in at the corner for his second after good interplay between the back three. Pienaar misses the conversion but South Africa regain the lead. 23-18 to South Africa!

61 mins: Saracens win a penalty as they out-scrum the South African pack. However, Hougaard continues his average performance with the boot as he misses target. This could prove costly.

60 mins: The next quarter will be a big test for South Africa’s character as momentum is clearly with the Saracens.

59 mins: Hougaard kicks his third ambitious drop goal attempt, but the fans boo as the pivot fails to clear the cross-bar again.

54 mins: Saracens try! After a marginal call from the referee, the home side is awarded a scrum close to South Africa’s try line. Inside centre Brad Barritt gets the ball at first receiver and runs through the dismal South African defence for his side’s second try. Hougaard kicks the extras. The score is level, 18-all!

46 mins: Saracens try! Replacement No 9 Francois Hougaard’s kick from the scrum is charged down by Ernst Joubert. The No 8 then dives on the loose ball for the first points in the second stanza. 18-11 to South Africa!

42 mins: Hougaard takes an early drop goal attempt, but his kick goes wide.

Half-time: Saracens 6 South Africa 18

39 mins: Saracens are awarded a penalty on the stroke of half-time. Hougaard kicks the three points and the referee blows the whistle for the end of the first half. 18-6 to South Africa!

38 mins: South Africa try! After a good up and under from Earl Rose, Ashley Johnson contests well and Saracens fullback Michael Horak fails to claim possession. Jongi Nokwe then gathers the loose ball and touches down under the posts. Pienaar adds the extras to extend the lead to 15. 18-3 to South Africa!

33 mins: Although a solid performance thus far, South Africa are struggling to hold their own in the scrums.

29 mins: South Africa try! South Africa build good momentum into Saracens’ 22. The ball is passed through the hands and De Jongh shows good strength to break through three defenders for the opening try. 11-3 to South Africa!

18 mins: South Africa rule the lineouts as the home side struggle to win their own throw.

17 mins: Saracens are penalised and Pienaar gives South Africa the lead. 6-3 to South Africa!

15 mins: Some impressive and aggressive South African defence swings momentum to the visitors’ favour.

11 mins: Wian du Preez makes an early appearance off the bench as he replaces the injured Van der Linde.

10 mins: Heini Adams and CJ van der Linde are already receiving medical attention, and Juan de Jongh and Adriaan Strauss take big hits, this is proving to be an intensely physical encounter.

3 mins: After the restart, Neil de Kock kicks a poor clearance and his team-mates are adjudged to be offside. Ruan Pienaar slots the penalty and levels the score. Score is level 3-all!

1 min: Derick Hougaard kicks off and South Africa claim the ball cleanly. The visitors decide to run and Jean Deysel sets up the breakdown, but the flank is penalised for holding on. Hougaard gives Saracens the early lead. 3-0 to Saracens!

Saracens – 15 Michael Horak, 14 Noah Cato, 13 Kameli Ratuvou, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 Michael Tagicakibau, 10 Derick Hougaard, 9 Neil de Kock, 8 Ernst Joubert, 7 Justin Melck, 6 Wikus van Heerden (c), 5 Hugh Vyvyan, 4 Mouritz Botha, 3 Richard Skuse, 2 Ethienne Reynecke, 1 Rhys Gill.
Subs: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Carlos Nieto, 18 George Kruis, 19 Andy Saull, 20 Kevin Barrett, 21 Alex Goode, 22 Rodd Penney.

South Africa – 15 Earl Rose, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Ruan Pienaar, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Dewald Potgieter (c), 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Alistair Hargreaves, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Heinke van der Merwe.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Wian du Preez, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Davon Raubenheimer, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Riaan Viljoen.

588 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 » Show All

• 451.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#432 FrenklyJ: OK now at least we have proof that you are an imbecile… Gonna cut and paste you post on a rightwing website to prove the bell curve is BS

• 452.katman: Reply to this comment

#432 FrenklyJ: This is hardly the time and place to sing Francois Hougaard’s praise.

Ras Dumisani, is that you?

• 453.Puppet-Obama: Reply to this comment

#439 Nanashi: Plonkers the whole lot of them.

Luck finally ran out.

• 454.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Mallet must be rubbing his hands in glee.

• 455.Nanashi: Reply to this comment

#432 FrenklyJ: Bulls supporter much? both Hougaards were k@k on the day. Derick is not an international class. Francois might still be but he’s not god like you make him out to be.

• 456.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

#440 WP_: time will time. Everyone deserves an opportunity to prove themselves and for PDV and **** etc this was the first opp to get rid of the claims that the senior players were coaching the side and my take is that they have failed miserably.

• 457.charo: Reply to this comment

#396 Langenhoven:

interesting point – why doesn’t saracens have any black sa players?

on the sa players tonight;

earl showed he has the skills – some sublime moves
    heine was good – hougaard, one of my favourites, had a poor second half.
    pienaar is a good attacking flyhalf with go forward ball but lacks bmt when the heat is on.
    deysel and pottie a good combo – johnson a bit of a loskop.
    hargreaves actually did well for a youngster but bekker is definitely a star for the future.
    de jongh was a bit selfish and limited in vision – that try could have been butchered if he didn’t make the line.
    wynand olivier has improved beyond all recognition – slapchips influence?
    nokwe is ok but a bit windgat
    odwa is stable but no matchwinner
    the front row – nothing better than the bok team it seems

• 458.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

Patience my friends. The result doesnt really matter. Ignore Tackler and Co. We have young players who may just be the 2011 stars.

• 459.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#433 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): Did you watch him in the last two game… or are you also too gesuip on prejudice

• 460.cab: Reply to this comment

what i dont get is clearly the wee maestro had told them to play their offload game in the 1st half, with much success, and is really the only option with our smaller pack and backs – but then in the 2nd half, we resort to the kicking and trying to defend a lead without any pack to speak of.

• 461.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

Man we really need someone like Kockett over there….some guts and a backup kicker.

• 462.WP_: Reply to this comment

I’m a big fan of de Jongh, but feck the oke’s selfish!

Never passes unless he absolutely has too! Was lucky to score his try. Should have sent it out wide!

• 463.Nanashi: Reply to this comment

#454 charo: Haha, you must just not like Nokwe, I thought he played splendidly, his workrate was high, chasing good, tackling, everything.

• 464.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

#456 Langenhoven:

2 games do not make a rugby player.

• 465.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

Goodnight folk. I hope Saturday gives us some cheer

• 466.katman: Reply to this comment

#458 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): No, what we really need are two fckoff big props raised on lots of meat and a hooker that’s so nasty you wouln’t even get him to pick your mom-in-law up from the airport.

• 467.Nanashi: Reply to this comment

#459 WP_: I think he made the right choice with his try, the defender on the next oke would have gotten ball and man at the same time.

As much as I hate to agree with Naas on anything, the backline drifted too wide everytime, not drawing the players and creating space. juan was the only one who straightened the line.

• 468.rugby lover: Reply to this comment

#461 Nanashi:
    He did play a decent game and worked hard off the ball

• 469.WP_: Reply to this comment

Call Os out of retirement!

• 470.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#432 FrenklyJ: are you Francois’s old man, didn’t you see Lionel Mapoe eat this kid alive, it had to take an Aussie ref to save him. When all of you were going on about Earl, I said Francois was the dubious call, I hate that I was correct but it shows the bigotry that exists on this site.

I asked Earl to show his stuff and he did, I’m glad Muir will coach the Lions in S14, now Earl will get the confidence he thrives on, the coach will believe in him. the Earlster will do the rest.

Again Bekker will be the lock in 2011 not Vic, mark my words

• 471.SJonesIsAGit: Reply to this comment

Springbok scrum could be in deep trouble against Italy. If this keeps up the refs will start penalizing them if they aren’t sure who collapsed the scrum. On the other hand, the admission by O’Brien that Dickenson let the Italians scrum illegally means whoever refs Italy vs SA will be on high alert for dodgy tactics from the men in blue.

• 472.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Ive just checked on saracens website, Cobus Visagie no longer there as player coach.

Boks should get him in, right now. Tonight still.

Talking of which, why is Gary Silver nowhere to be seen?

• 473.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

#467 XhosaKid:

Boet I hope you right about Rose because love him or hate him, PDV will be keeping him around.

• 474.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

the Bulls patroon kick from the base of the scrum kak is what killed us. When we running the ball with quick distribution they couldn’t contain us. The backline did just fine while Adams was providing quick ball. Soon as this dom doos Bulls rugby pattern kicking f.ng scrum half comes on we back on the back foot. Had the game going nicely with Adams Pienaar De Jongh even Nokwe Rose all contributing till Hougaard came on and stuffed all the momentum in its glory. Same kind as Fdp kick the f.ng thing in the air. Too slow behind the scrum base. 8th man caught him twice, idiot.

• 475.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

#463 katman:

LOL Dam right!!!!!

• 476.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#454 charo: Another imbecile to gesuip on prejudice…

Earl has good skills??? FFS is that all.. The man is class at FB but even better at FH
    DEysel and Pottie got naaaied up at the breakdown..
    FRancios Hougaardt had a bad second half.. the only half he played
    De Jongh is selfish???? WTF???.. At least he knows where the tryline is.. Jaque Fourie is fkal compared the this dynamo

• 477.cab: Reply to this comment

lol..the bulls patroon…if only we had some bulle grunt upfront.

• 478.Nanashi: Reply to this comment

Castrogiovanni is one mean beast, I rate I’d pick him for the Barbarians if I were to choose a team.

• 479.WP_: Reply to this comment

Nanashi

If the tackling had been half effective he wouldnt have scored…

• 480.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

At the risk of sounding like Im blaming refs, at least they are doing their bit to ensure that Boks tour become a nightmare

Well done to them for following through on their undertakings!

• 481.charo: Reply to this comment

#460 Nanashi:

not true – i actually rate nokwe.
    other bloggers gave me the drill when i said he was better than chavanga (mostly wp fans)

just that he seems a little too **** sure sometimes

• 482.mbaxman93: Reply to this comment

question is ??? DO WE START PANICKING NOW??? the first loss was brushed aside as a blip,ten the boks got crushed in toulouse and we blamed it on fatigue now the Dirt trackers get lose again . even if the Boks win against Italy and Ireland (and i’m not convinced they will) the tour is still gonna be a disaster

• 483.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#461 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): ONly if name is not Frans Steyn???

• 484.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

#467 XhosaKid:

Harsh on FH, seriously thats the first bad game I’ve seen him have, EVER!!

• 485.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#480 Langenhoven: that is your name

• 486.Nanashi: Reply to this comment

#471 skopskiet: I agree. It was pure Bull$hit.

• 487.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

#432 FrenklyJ: hi there ras frenk.that stuff you smoking are making you delusional bro!only a brave man or fool would sing the praises of aman that just cost his team the game.derick wasn’t his perky self either.

• 488.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

If the spaghetti eaters run the Boks close, it is going
    to be a hell of a game against the Irish, who by now must
    fancy their chances.
    I simply refuse to believe that we going from heroes to Zeros.

• 489.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

#480 Langenhoven:

Careful now, that’s WORLD PLAYER OF THE YEAR nominee you talking about there.

• 490.charo: Reply to this comment

#473 Langenhoven:

not a bad summation for a football fan living in a council flat outside london hey?

• 491.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Let me rather go to bed. Take it eezy fellas.

• 492.WP_: Reply to this comment

Langenhoven

de Jongh better than JF?

HAHAHAHAHAHA AH HAHAHAHA!

Why? You’re the prejudiced and racist one on here! Silly c?nt!

JdJ will get there, dont let you blind racism obscure you just yet.

Earl Rose still has plenty to prove!

• 493.cab: Reply to this comment

#480 mbaxman93:
    wins against italy and ireland will salvage alot, but the pressure against italy has now become massive and also the italians will fancy their chances with castro already having got 1-over dirttrackers.

we missing some power in our pack, deysel has added but kanko and even potgieter wrong for this tour – alberts and vermeulen were needed to get over adv line. Rossouw has gone 1 season too far, lumbering a bit, loyal servant but should have been sykes on this one.

• 494.Nanashi: Reply to this comment

#476 WP_: But like I said if he passed the player would get man and ball at the same time, I also thought he should have passed, but when I saw the replay I saw the outside defender on the next guy almost on top of him, the moment Juan stepped, the defender touched the guy, so if he had passed even a moment before he stepped the other guy would have been tackle out of the ground.

• 495.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#486 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): Evidence that Rugby is run by imbeciles… They also create rules that cannot be refereed… The bell curve for fearful white men is flatlining

• 496.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#473 Langenhoven: speaking of Jacques Fourie, Adi Jacobs broke the French defence three times without an outside center to offload to, guess who got blamed??

• 497.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Hargreaves and Bekker were lookin A Ok. Great 2nd row combo. Deysel and Potgieter did good Johnson not as good as last time. Raubenheimer came on and stole a linen looking Ok.

Ruan was looking Ok wrti Adams feeding, Hougaard stuffed us up big time.
    Front row poor. Strauss not the answer though he tries in the loose you need the grunt of Liebenberg up there. Heinke not a Th. They left all our Th’s at home. WP Nel and K. Buys have to step up.

Back line were all fine apart from Hougaard, he alone f’d up the entire team effort.
    Adams. Pienaar. De Jongh. WO. Nokwe. Rose even Ndungane all had good games. Only f.up was front row and scrum half second half.

• 498.cab: Reply to this comment

#494 XhosaKid:
    he also missed some bad tackles early on, but so did Schalk in fairness.

• 499.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

#492 Langenhoven:

You must be one of keo’s boys!!! :)

• 500.Nanashi: Reply to this comment

#493 XhosaKid: I never saw him break the line, run into it yes, but never through and in a position to offload.

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.