Saracens 24 SA 23
17 Nov 2009
Keo.co.za brought you live commentary from the midweek clash at Wembley Stadium.
80 mins: Saracens work down the clock as they run the ball through the forwards to cap off a great comeback. Hougaard stands in the pocket and kicks the ball into the stands. The home team celebrates as the disappointment is clear on the South African players’ faces. South Africa lose their third successive European tour match. Saracens win 24-23!
75 mins: Hougaard’s persistence with kicking a drop goal pays off as he finally slots his fifth attempt and Saracens get a one-point lead with five minutes remaining. 24-23 to Saracens!
70 mins: South Africa make a host of changes at a crucial stage of the match. One wonders if this is a wise decision, considering Saracens are within reach.
69 mins: Saracens reduce the deficit to two points as Hougaard converts an easy penalty attempt. 23-21 to South Africa!
62 mins: South Africa try! The Springboks steal a Saracens lineout and gather possession. The ball is then passed out wide for the counter-attack, and Nokwe runs in at the corner for his second after good interplay between the back three. Pienaar misses the conversion but South Africa regain the lead. 23-18 to South Africa!
61 mins: Saracens win a penalty as they out-scrum the South African pack. However, Hougaard continues his average performance with the boot as he misses target. This could prove costly.
60 mins: The next quarter will be a big test for South Africa’s character as momentum is clearly with the Saracens.
59 mins: Hougaard kicks his third ambitious drop goal attempt, but the fans boo as the pivot fails to clear the cross-bar again.
54 mins: Saracens try! After a marginal call from the referee, the home side is awarded a scrum close to South Africa’s try line. Inside centre Brad Barritt gets the ball at first receiver and runs through the dismal South African defence for his side’s second try. Hougaard kicks the extras. The score is level, 18-all!
46 mins: Saracens try! Replacement No 9 Francois Hougaard’s kick from the scrum is charged down by Ernst Joubert. The No 8 then dives on the loose ball for the first points in the second stanza. 18-11 to South Africa!
42 mins: Hougaard takes an early drop goal attempt, but his kick goes wide.
Half-time: Saracens 6 South Africa 18
39 mins: Saracens are awarded a penalty on the stroke of half-time. Hougaard kicks the three points and the referee blows the whistle for the end of the first half. 18-6 to South Africa!
38 mins: South Africa try! After a good up and under from Earl Rose, Ashley Johnson contests well and Saracens fullback Michael Horak fails to claim possession. Jongi Nokwe then gathers the loose ball and touches down under the posts. Pienaar adds the extras to extend the lead to 15. 18-3 to South Africa!
33 mins: Although a solid performance thus far, South Africa are struggling to hold their own in the scrums.
29 mins: South Africa try! South Africa build good momentum into Saracens’ 22. The ball is passed through the hands and De Jongh shows good strength to break through three defenders for the opening try. 11-3 to South Africa!
18 mins: South Africa rule the lineouts as the home side struggle to win their own throw.
17 mins: Saracens are penalised and Pienaar gives South Africa the lead. 6-3 to South Africa!
15 mins: Some impressive and aggressive South African defence swings momentum to the visitors’ favour.
11 mins: Wian du Preez makes an early appearance off the bench as he replaces the injured Van der Linde.
10 mins: Heini Adams and CJ van der Linde are already receiving medical attention, and Juan de Jongh and Adriaan Strauss take big hits, this is proving to be an intensely physical encounter.
3 mins: After the restart, Neil de Kock kicks a poor clearance and his team-mates are adjudged to be offside. Ruan Pienaar slots the penalty and levels the score. Score is level 3-all!
1 min: Derick Hougaard kicks off and South Africa claim the ball cleanly. The visitors decide to run and Jean Deysel sets up the breakdown, but the flank is penalised for holding on. Hougaard gives Saracens the early lead. 3-0 to Saracens!
Saracens – 15 Michael Horak, 14 Noah Cato, 13 Kameli Ratuvou, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 Michael Tagicakibau, 10 Derick Hougaard, 9 Neil de Kock, 8 Ernst Joubert, 7 Justin Melck, 6 Wikus van Heerden (c), 5 Hugh Vyvyan, 4 Mouritz Botha, 3 Richard Skuse, 2 Ethienne Reynecke, 1 Rhys Gill.
Subs: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Carlos Nieto, 18 George Kruis, 19 Andy Saull, 20 Kevin Barrett, 21 Alex Goode, 22 Rodd Penney.
South Africa – 15 Earl Rose, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Ruan Pienaar, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Dewald Potgieter (c), 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Alistair Hargreaves, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Heinke van der Merwe.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Wian du Preez, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Davon Raubenheimer, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Riaan Viljoen.

588 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All
18 Nov 2009, 00:27 am
#494 skopskiet:
Very light backline too….we were in desperate need of someone to just punch it up!!
Odwa might just be the most boring rugby player in history.
#489 WP_: got your famous coloured tinted blinkers on again?
#448 Langenhoven: You couldn’t proof a pre-made muffin, and the muffin would have more rugby knowledge than you.
#449 katman: He’s been played out of position all year and needs time back at base of scrum. Something he cannot get wih our choice of front row.
I stick with my appraisal, best young player in world rugby.
The Springboks have lost two games to club teams on tour and you believe we need lay the blame at the feet of a young scrumhalf, playing international rugby for the first time in his career under a manageent team who do not even know what a scrum is? Who believe John Smit is a prop and selected front row on the strength of their moustache width rather than ability. Hougaard at least has the pleasure of a great Currie Cuo season and support of a winning province, He had a kak game, so what, he tried at least and showed a willingness to take responsibility and make decisions. he should have had the pleasure of doing it behind the support of what has always been a Springbok strength, a winning pack, but poor selection denied him that luxury.
mr Langenhoven (Mr with no respect) your chirp on right wing websites only shows you follow them closely and either have a morbid fascination or genetic fear. Good luck with your sticky hands and frustrating love life, i can see no other reason for you to get personal on a rather innocent post.
18 Nov 2009, 00:28 am
i find it hard to believe hougaard was the only person to blame, he;s gotta alot of talent that one, but the kicking is stupid, he needs to play like he did against the BIL with his slick passing and fast hard running – he;s got everything.
Hougaard was ultra k*k 2nite but he has not been playing 9 at his union.
Same for Ruan at 10.
This playing people out of position is bullsh*t
#494 skopskiet: wasn’t hagreaves getting thrown about like a ragdoll all game?????/
18 Nov 2009, 00:29 am
#481 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): did you see the Bulls vs Cheetahs game at Loftus?
#478 charo:Fck me!!, you rate Nokwe??, what happened “everyone knows Nokwe cant tackle” or “He’s kak on the high ball”?? You are a hypocrite!!!
18 Nov 2009, 00:29 am
#489 WP_: Stop drinking that ****… JF was pissing himself wet in the stands… did you see him cheer once… PDV should make the change so that he can reduce the number of trojans in the team… Get Ashley in at 8 and Earl in at 10… It will be a walk over.. unless FDP decides to sabotage the team…
18 Nov 2009, 00:31 am
Adi broke the line once. Dont let your imagination run wild.
He didnt look to pass and he ran away from the support. Enough said.
18 Nov 2009, 00:32 am
#492 Langenhoven:
so says the seriously serial liar of keo.
a little overweight man trying to give a big impression.
sorry shaun, but you are a nobody trying to be a cyber hero – i do feel genuinely sorry for you and your family.
having to try to get by in uk as a recent immigrant can’t be easy.
anyways.. lots of work tomorrow.
well done sarries and their supporters.
cheers all
that’s what will happen if you select all these blue bull dose!blue bull and shark brand of rugby has put springbok rugby back at least 5years.
#505 Langenhoven: u and skopsiet seem to be on a mission to discredit FDP so much its unbelievable .Skopsiets been calling FDP and morne Sh*t all game even though they werent even involved
18 Nov 2009, 00:33 am
#504 XhosaKid:
Who would be your 2nd choice scrummie for the 2011 WC?
18 Nov 2009, 00:33 am
#504 XhosaKid:
wrong blogger boet – go read again
18 Nov 2009, 00:35 am
1. Heinke 2. Bismarck 3. Smit 4. Bakkies 5. Becker 6. Brussow 7. Deysel 8. Schalk 9. FdP 10. Pienaar 11. Habana 12. Fourie 13. De Jong 14. JP 15. Morne
16. Beast 17. Strauss 18. CJ 19. Matfield 20. Potgieter 21. Jacobs 22. Hougaard
Langenhoven
You are a joke with a chip on your shoulder and your predjudices are a sad indictment on your very limited rugby knowledge.
Nothing wrong with the team selection for this match. This was very close to our second best side which is worrying. Everytime our seconds play it looks poor. One can recall the games – Connaught, Scotland (losing at half-time but pulled through when test players came on in second half), third test Lions, Leicester and now Saracens. It`s strange but it does seem if we do not have the depth. Take a few players out of the test side (JDV, Smith, Spies) and everything seems to fall apart.
18 Nov 2009, 00:36 am
#487 charo: Wow.. very rich coming from a man trying to make it big in West Africa… Choose a bigger stage mate
18 Nov 2009, 00:36 am
#501 cab: ‘slick passing and fast hard running’hahaha,you should try your hand at stand-up comedy!
18 Nov 2009, 00:37 am
that Juan de Jongh is already ready for top flight rugby guaranteed put him and Mapoe in the A team we wont look back. And I would also say he’s a better tackler and crash ball No. 12 than Jacobs and Fourie put together. Play Fourie at 13 or 14, De Jongh at 12, he tackles like a demon, the answer to Jdv absence. Mapoe in for JPP. Do it now and if Fdp and M. Steyn don’t get their pedantic asses into gear and get some action into the backline they also going to kill this team with this kicking f.ng rubbish.
18 Nov 2009, 00:38 am
#517 Valkyrie:
hehe…dunno what he was like today, but thats what was on show when he played for the Southern Kings vs the BIL.
18 Nov 2009, 00:39 am
The problem with the Boks are we have no impact off the bench. My Bok team would be:
1.Heinke – leave him at loosehead, DON’T move hom over
2.John Smit – Bismarck is better as an impact player
3.CJ/Whoever – We really have a problem here.
4.Bakkies
5.Matfield
6.Brussouw |
7.Deysel |Really think this is a dynamic backrow
8.Schalk |
9.FdP
10.Steyn
11.Habana
12.Jacobs – Yes JACOBS, he IS better than WO.
13.JF
14.Nokwe
15.Kirchner – only because he is in the squad
16. Bismarck – impact player
17. Beast – impact player
18. Bekker
19. Potgieter
20. Adams
21. Earl
22. Ruaan Pienaar – impactplayer
#513 WP_: Are you also on the bottom end of the bell curve… dementia set in already… How young are you… Remember, you are chatting to some body who pissed on top of the bell curve
#510 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): you got me there, havent thought about it really, coz I really wanted RP to succeed at 10, well, Rose must continue to improve then RP can go back to 9
#517 skopskiet:
Um, yes, dam that FDP and M Steyn, dam them for winning the Lions Tour and 3N for us. Dam them!!!
18 Nov 2009, 00:41 am
#521 XhosaKid:
Yeah I also had high hope for Ruan at 10…
You want Rose to become our backup 10? Mmm, not sure about those place kicking credentials. They might even be worse than Ruans.
18 Nov 2009, 00:42 am
I’m off to bed, the bad element of Western Province are talking trash again. Mocking provinces who win trophies doesn’t make sense.
18 Nov 2009, 00:42 am
#517 skopskiet: OMG yes i made a mistake. Forgot about Juan, yes Juan in at 12.
New team:
1.Heinke – leave him at loosehead, DON’T move hom over
2.John Smit – Bismarck is better as an impact player
3.CJ/Whoever – We really have a problem here.
4.Bakkies
5.Matfield
6.Brussouw |
7.Deysel |Really think this is a dynamic backrow
8.Schalk |
9.FdP
10.Steyn
11.Habana
12.De Jongh
13.JF
14.Nokwe
15.Kirchner – only because he is in the squad
16. Bismarck – impact player
17. Beast – impact player
18. Bekker
19. Potgieter
20. Adams
21. JPP
22. Ruaan Pienaar – impactplayer
18 Nov 2009, 00:43 am
#341 cab: morne to 15??????? Who the fark do you have at 10 on your teamsheet then mate?
And backrow should be Brussouw, Deysel, Johnson on this tour. I would use Alberts at 8 but hey Johnson is doing fine.
Dejongh for Jacobs only on the bench, I´d play Wynand olivier at 12 and bring e Jongh on in last 20.
18 Nov 2009, 00:43 am
#522 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): haha and damn tht frouei du preez for wining us the currie cup and damn that moron morne for drop kicking us into super 14 glory
18 Nov 2009, 00:44 am
WP, the sole voice of Western Province reason, no chip on his shoulder
#527 mbaxman93:
Dam those useless players!!!!
#509 mbaxman93: FDP got his arse kicked by Genia… but I have seen FDP have a few storming games alongs his many kak games… The question is..does he have an agenda other than giving his all for the bok team under PDV… I think he will sell out if there is an opportunity sabotage PDV.
18 Nov 2009, 00:45 am
#352 west: 4 of 5? pray tell when was 4?? we won the match before we lost these 3 actually.
18 Nov 2009, 00:45 am
#523 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): well, lets see with Muir at the lions, we might just see a player come of age
18 Nov 2009, 00:46 am
520 Langenhoven:
Is that the best you’ve got Shaun? You have a very high opinion of yourself which is completely unwarranted for someone with such a low brain capacity as yourself.
I’ve read your drivel for long enough and it’s clear you know very little about, despite the fact that you think you are some rugby guru or something. Sad, old little fat man. I pity you. Didnt know such low class rubbish existed. I suppose the english will take anyone.
18 Nov 2009, 00:46 am
#515 Langenhoven: Congrats, I’m signing off. Your need to get personal (which I cannot understand as you obviously have no personality) and desire to antagonise (without ability to reason) makes this site unpleasant, tedious, and in your particular case boringly predictable. Maybe tomorrow you will wake up, lovingly take off your superman t-shirt and move out of your mothers house. You will take the shirt with you (’cause the self inflicted stains are the only proof of your love life) and face the world outside with more snide comments and wish someone had taught you the difference between humour and malice. i know your father wasn’t around else you would’ve had more rugby knowledge and besides not even a father could love a p like you.
18 Nov 2009, 00:47 am
#366 XhosaKid: Not quite…. he´s not a scrumhalf´s ***. I never thought anything of him till I saw him at centre and wing. He should never ever play scrumhalf. Useless
18 Nov 2009, 00:47 am
good performances by the two stormers players de jongh and bekker.de jongh to be an absolute superstar and bekker slowly but surely knocking on matfield’s door to give him his retirement certificate.
18 Nov 2009, 00:48 am
#527 Slumtown:
play pienaar at 10, the one thing ou doos is spot on about is that the boks need to make use of what is a very slick and capable backline, esp with our more mobile pack being largely nullified in these conditions – i suspected as much before the tour began that the wrong type were selected. Johnson is good, but Alberts is what was required here. Olivier also very good and yeah he and De Jongh would be great too with maybe Fourie on the wing, but we now need to change gameplan, since we dont have players to do bash’em style. brussow a little man, matfield non-existent, beast too.
18 Nov 2009, 00:49 am
#530 Langenhoven: are you reading the amount of bullsh*t you’re typing ?? if PDv ,graham enry ,jake white,frans ludeke,naas botha and various rugby journalists say his the best then i’m afraid your views dont count
18 Nov 2009, 00:50 am
Sabotage PdV!
haha, I think we should check you into a mental institution quick! Why would anyone want to sabotage little PdV?
Bizarre
18 Nov 2009, 00:50 am
#378 Langenhoven: I´m going to say this once and for all now… fark off Shaun. You dont know a thing about rugby. Earl was good, but honestly man. Deysel a quota? youre off your head.
18 Nov 2009, 00:51 am
#533 WP_: just a pity nobody wants to take low class rubbish like yourself,otherwise we would have shipped you out to old europe or perth a long time ago.
18 Nov 2009, 00:52 am
#540 Slumtown: Langenhoven believes oral *** is licking his hands after masturbation, how can you expect him to know anything about rugby?
18 Nov 2009, 00:53 am
ja nee that’s complete BS about Deysel, and i should image he and CJ were the only one;s capable of providing any heat in that pack.
534 FrenklyJ
Bravo boet. That piece of trash isnt worth talking to.
I lay the entire loss at Hougaard’s door. We were looking fine till he started this stupid box kick sh’t from scrum base, and if you try compare his service to Adam’s like chalk and cheese, no comparison whatsoever. Hougaard and Fdp as slow getting the ball off the base of the scrum as all hell. They are killing the backline with this idiotic bigger is better big booting scrum halves that don’t know how the f.ak to get the ball motoring down the back line. I am telling you the way to go is a east distributing scrum half that is half or 80% of the problem right there and Fdp and Hougaard don’t have it. Genia and Adams and Sarel Pretorius, these are the type of scrum halves you need if you want to develop a running game. Fdp and Hougaard and co. kill the momentum before it even starts. And M. Steyn just lets it whimper and die straight after with another deep in the pocket kick to nowhere.
Pretorius or Adams and Pienaar thats the way to go. The other option, pull your f.ng hair out watching this boring skop n trek kak till forever going absolutely nowhere.
18 Nov 2009, 00:54 am
#533 WP_: #534 FrenklyJ: WTF…how lame are you doose… Hows it to be on the wrong end of degradation… deal with it you twats… . Black Rugby players have to deal with it every day on the this site… Now go pee and go sleep… and don’t forget the diaper
18 Nov 2009, 00:55 am
541 Valkyrie
Thanks for that one. Who asked you? And why are you always having a go at me? What did I ever do to you? You have issues…
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All