Boks up for final fling

Fourie du Preez writes off the Toulouse defeat as a bad day at the office and truly believes the Springboks will bounce back at Croke Park.

There was a clamour of concern before the Boks departed South Africa. Medical experts claimed they had endured too much rugby, and a three-Test tour could only end in disaster.

The Boks looked tired in their loss to France, and have been paddled in the two midweek games against Leicester and Saracens. They managed a win over Italy last Saturday, but there are still doubts of their ability to front against the Six Nations champions.

‘The French caught us off guard in Toulouse, but that’s just one game,’ Du Preez told keo.co.za. ‘If you think about the success we’ve enjoyed this season, you can’t say we’re vulnerable after one loss.

‘We weren’t up for what was a very passionate performance by the French, and they were better than us on the day. We showed what we’re capable of against Italy last weekend.

‘We can’t take responsibility for the two midweek losses, so you have to look at things in perspective, we’ve only had that one loss.’

Du Preez injured his hand in the Italy Test, but is confident he’ll start in South Africa’s final fixture of 2009. The Boks scrumhalf came through training on Tuesday with no complications, and coach Peter de Villiers will be relieved to know his star player is available. He delivered a solid showing in Udine, even though his forwards were backpedaling.

‘Most of the year the pack has been going forward, so that’s made it easier for me,’ he said. ‘There have been occasions on this tour where the forwards have struggled, but this Saturday they’ll have another opportunity to show what they’re made of.’

Ireland are full of beans ahead of this clash, their media claiming the Boks are there for the taking and young players like Keith Earls also underlining the tourists’ vulnerability.

Characteristically cool, Du Preez had a subtle dig at Ireland’s presumption.

‘They’ve done well over the last two years if you think they didn’t make the quarter-finals at the World Cup,’ he said with a deadpan expression. ‘They’ve done very well at club and international level and have some great individuals.

‘They’re a very physical side, a well balanced side and I’m sure they’ll play with plenty of passion.’

The two teams will meet for a formal dinner on Saturday where the IRB Player of the Year is set to be announced. Both Du Preez and Brian O’Driscoll are in the running, but the South African said he feels no pressure to outdo the Irish captain on this particular occasion.

‘Brian’s had a great season, and to be honest, I had one of the best seasons of my career. But it’s just another Test and won’t be about personal battles.

‘It’s not about personal accolades for me, it’s about the team. We really want to win this Test and finish the year on a high.’

By Jon Cardinelli, in Dublin

139 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

• 101.charo: Reply to this comment

@Just Another Paddy:

“soldiers who go on for months without a wink of sleep” ??????

nobody could ever accuse you of exaggeration

• 102.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

@Puma:

‘rested’ = no games. I certainly didnt mean feet-up’n'cocktails time.

No, this fatigue excuse is merely a ruse invented to disguise the France loss and, to a lesser extent, the losses to Saracens & Leicester. Its as if to say ‘the only way the best-ever Boks could lose is if theyre fatigued……in no way were they bettered’.

Fatigue is an excuse only previously mentioned by the Brits when they venture down south in June. Soft !

• 103.rangerman: Reply to this comment

imagine being a fan of a country that got paddled by the almoghty bokke! and insistently spending time trying to put the bokke down, day after day, night after night…….

what a loser you would have to be right? :lol:

• 104.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@charo: howdy charo.

lets not fight the paddy’s. they are a great bunch.

they know the world champion, best team in the world bokke are in town and they are full of respect and excitement.

its not like they are playing anyone but the 3n champs this weekend is it?

• 105.charo: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

reckon he grinds his teeth in his sleep fretting about it

• 106.rangerman: Reply to this comment

mils muliana (a rugby gent if ever there was one) said this year that fatigue was an issue after having to return to sa for the super 14 final.

he is a player though, not some armchair warrior who thinks his national side represents his ***** :lol:

• 107.charo: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

hi ranger.

agree on the oirish – good bunch generally and dublin is a fun city.

hell, even most kiwi’s are good lads.
    get the odd git though

• 108.Puma: Reply to this comment

@WakaNathan: Boks have been playing since Mid Feb right until end of October and straight into training right after the CC final. Bulls had 10 Boks in that side and Brussow from Cheetahs. So 11 Boks with no rest. Can never play your best with no rest.

French beat us they were better than us on the day. We also had 4 players missing. Juan, Spies, JdV and Fransie. Huge players to lose and not just one but losing four is a huge loss to the team. The players that replaced them are not at the same standard.

Waka our mid-week team were development players nothing more. Our 2nd best side sat at home like I have told you. You need to be a Saffa to really understand that. It is true mate. About 10 players should have been on that tour and were not. Sad actually now we have learned nothing who could step up into the Bok squad. Except the ones that were called up when injuries came. Like Deysel who should have been selected first up not from someone gettinga injury. WdP and A. Strauss also got a call because there were injuries. Both should have been there to start with and many more. Maybe we learn from this and make sure we select the best always. Selection is key always.

• 109.Puma: Reply to this comment

@charo: Howzit Charo, I met some great Irish okes here during the Lions tour. Most sat next to me in that first test. Had a great time with all of them.

Some told me that this was their 7th trip to SA. They love the bush and wild life we have. Some were off to the gameparks after. Good bunch of Irish okes I met that day. Had a good laugh with them.

Tell you what those Irish supporters I spent some time with after that game. Took losing well. Not sure if I would have if the Boks lost.. :D Then that was the Lions tour and a mix of the 4 nations. We playing Ireland now so not sure. Just know the Irish I have met have been fun okes and not like we are reading here.

• 110.charo: Reply to this comment

@Puma:

hi puma – yeah, they have the gift of the blarney that lot.

just a warning on waka – his dislike of the boks is very deep seated so trying to explain things to him will fall on deaf ears

• 111.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@charo: like any nation i suppose.

many saffas make me cringe i must be honest.

tackler for instance :lol:

how goes it in ghana?

• 112.charo: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

just arrived home from the “hell run”.
    at least an accident a day on the motorway.

locals are lovely people but most not evolved enough to control a motorised cart.

• 113.Flametop: Reply to this comment

@Puma:

Yep…. on the net we’re all hard men!

Rugby has always had a bit of banter between fans.
    Lately it’s been a humourless pi€€ing contest.

FDP should have learned from Jake White though.
    The Irish love people talking trash before games.
    Really winds the team up better than any haka

• 114.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

@Puma:

fella,

dont get me wrong, I think all of the TriN touring teams – but partic their 22man 1st teams – must be feeling it. But its lame to use the fatigue excuse. The Boks have most certainly not had longer seasons than the ABs, nor have they had longer seasons than NH teams when they land in our countries in June – in fact, NH players have played significantly more. And, for a fact, if Engl/Wales/France land in Pretoria/Auckland/Sydney saying theyre ‘fatigued’ then they, too, would be criticised.

So the ‘fatigue’ excuse is a nonsense. Its no different than Sir Alex Fergusson focussing on the ref or the opposition players after ManU have lost, its a way of deflecting attention from the misgivings of his own team. And also serves to diminish the achievement of the opposition team. Thats why we’ve heard it after Toulouse.

As for you missing impt players, well ALL teams do. How many bloggers here have hung up their ’3-0′ signs since the season ended, and funnily enough, more so after the Boks lost their no1 ranking ? well I dont see any acknowledgement for Dan Carter being out for 2 of those matches, or ABs being on their 5th/6th-ranked locks thru injury, or Hayman being unavail, or……

No. Anyway, I see the domestic-only Bok policy fell over at its very first hurdle and JdV has been called in to the squad for Croke Park. So much for that huh….SA players will be even more incentivised to leave now.

Also, your squad most certainly does contain some leftfield selections. But every 35man team inherently does, therein lies the opportunity factor. Toeava was 1st selected as an 18yr old that noone had heard of. Noone had picked Ben Smith for the squad – noone ! As for alot of these great players and others not being so great, funnily enough the proof is in the pudding and some of these so-called Bok ‘quotas’ look better than the so-called stars of tomorrow.

But noone, other than UK commentators, has in any way insinuated that the wins by Saracens and Leicester were over the ‘World Champions’ but they were most certainly ‘Springboks’ no matter how much distance youre trying to put between you.

There are some exciting ones too albeit a bit rough around the edges.

@charo:

You really are a complete imbecile but carry on with your sweeping statements as if they were fact. It doesnt change a thing.

• 115.Shakes: Reply to this comment

@WakaNathan: There is no obvious replacement to fill the bench. Calling someone from SA is just plain stupid considering the time constraints. ***** you just need something to moan about.

• 116.charo: Reply to this comment

@WakaNathan:

waka,

you probably don’t realise how hard it is for me not to follow the herd and refer to you as w@nker or whatever other name you are called here.
    you are a thotoughly despicable person and an embarrassment to good kiwis.
    oh, and that chop chaz as well

• 117.charo: Reply to this comment

thoroughly – of course

• 118.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

@Shakes:

so no replacement from a 35 man touring squad. Yeah, right.

Atleast its a sign that PdV, in going back on his own policy from 5mins ago, is giving Ireland a bit more respect than Jake White did.

• 119.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

@charo:

Cussing is an easy option but moronic imbecile with paranoid tendancies still does fit you perfectly. You are the Safa version of Chaz, he’s a moronic imbecile with a chip on his shoulder too.

• 120.charo: Reply to this comment

@WakaNathan:

no cussing from me and no chip either.

perhaps a glance in the mirror might do wonders for you mate

• 121.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

@charo:

Chippy Charo van der Chiphuizen from Johannesschip

• 122.charo: Reply to this comment

@WakaNathan:

give it a break will you.

you are talking to an empty room

• 123.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Shame guys! don’t be nasty to BOD! Don’t you think he’s suffered enough? I mean, he’s never beaten the All Blacks – neither have Ireland and he’s never won a Lions series. And lets not forget what Tana Umaga did to him.

Kobus Kitty’s IRB player of the year Nominations

FDP
    Brussow
    Matfield
    Morne
    Botha
    Habana
    Jaque Fourie

• 124.ed zachary: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty:

also missed out on the lions captaincy – last chance saloon gone

• 125.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Hahaha
    The French caught you off guard?? And yet France have beaten SA more times in the last 7 years that SA have beaten France. Why would a team that have constantly beaten you catch you off guard? The French team came to NZ without a few of there main players missing and yet they beat us at home. This is another excuse along the lines of fatigue. NZ have played as many internationals,super 14 and provincial games as you SA have. Its the same ole story,you have problems admitting France are the better team,take it on the chin and carry on.
    The Boks this year are the better team when comparing to NZ and the Boks,we all know that.But certain teams can play a different style which is harder to combat for certain teams.
    All in all,man up,admit the loss without the excuses of missing players,the weather and fatigue.

• 126.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:
    Well you would know,NZ have been the top for many years and you for one are the quickest to put down the ABs and the country,so you would not even have to imagine,you know what its like to be a loser like that
    OH smiley face :-)

• 127.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty: bod should not feel that bad!take a look at the kiwi shaggers and you will see that not one the their sq

• 128.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@Valkyrie: take a look at the kiwi shaggers and you will see that no one in their squad have ever won a world cup and they might not win it in their rugby careers.

• 129.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane:

How’s Capetown?

• 130.phalanx: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty:

You have an inferiority complex. BOD, New Zealand, France etc are all coming under attack. It seems if a team has even a chance to beat SA the inferiority complex comes rushing to the surface and everybody has to know that SA are the best.

• 131.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty:

Dont Know really,i googled Capetown and i got jumped to a website called living in Crime.

• 132.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@phalanx:

Don’t tell me what I have.

• 133.whatever: Reply to this comment

Oh dear, I see the loser anti SA brigade is in town again. Don’t worry boys, let me do the cussing. No skaam my side…….. wakadoos and Hurripoes need to get a life. Imagime what it must be like if all you have to do is to try and boost your own ego by making out you have the best footie team in the world when deep down you know it ain’t so. And on an SA site nogal!! Just a bunch of small willy wankers of note. Faaken smiley :)

• 134.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane:

Why do you not practice what you preach??

• 135.poppa69: Reply to this comment

“We can’t take responsibility for the two midweek losses, so you have to look at things in perspective, we’ve only had that one loss.”

bwahahaha yeah right…

so whose responsible for that loss FDP ??? your arrogance is astounding…

• 136.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: The second and third stringers who played in those teams.

Watch what you say FDP! Poppa69 is now angry and he may tell you to “go string up some more black men”….

• 137.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty: wow, hold a grudge Kobus, still waiting for you to turn up in Sydney, all talk huh?

nice excuse, 2nd and 3rd string…take that out of Big hits book did you? doesnt matter, they still were representative of your nation werent they? going to be a big fall for you guys when players like FDP, Bakkies, Matfield and Smit start retiring…

• 138.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Yeah, it does matter actually. It means FDP and the main guys weren’t responsible for those losses. They weren’t even playing.

I’m sure you’re looking forward to when they retire, too bad it will be after they win our third World Cup.

• 139.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@whatever:
    Why dont you go and collect your dole. I know i am paying your way through life here in NZ

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.