Schalk’s set on six
26 Nov 2009
Openside flank remains Schalk Burger’s preferred position.
Injury and suspension limited Burger’s involvement with the Springboks in 2009 before the end-of-year tour, and in the interim, Heinrich Brüssow made that openside position his own. With Juan Smith injured, Burger started at No 7 for the Boks against the All Blacks in Hamilton and France in Toulouse, but in an interview with SA Rugby magazine he admits he’d far rather have No 6 on his back.
‘I haven’t really got going this year and Heinrich was the incumbent at the end of the Tri-Nations. It’s not easy to accept, but I think I’ve pretty much had it my own way for the past few years. There is some competition now and I’m not afraid of that challenge.
‘I was asked to play 7 while Juan is injured, and I took on that challenge. It’s very different to 6, you tend to be in more ball-carrying positions. At 6 you tend to be more involved and make more contributions, which is what I love most.’
Burger also talks about the eye-gouging episode against the Lions, his tackle on Fourie du Preez in the Currie Cup semi-final, and captaining the Stormers next year.
– Fourie du Preez: Inside the mind of a rugby genius
– In an extract from his book, Captain in the Cauldron, John Smit reveals how Luke Watson disrupted the Springbok camp in 2008 and how the team recovered to thrash Australia and England
– We ask Regan Hoskins the hard questions about his Saru presidency, the Southern Kings and transformation
– Robbie Deans on what went wrong with the Wallabies this year, the rift between him and certain senior players, and why Australia needs to have five Super Rugby sides
– The Bulls are the undisputed kings of the southern hemisphere after winning the Super 14 and Currie Cup this year. We find out how they bounced back from a disappointing 2008 and whether they can continue to dominate
– The Lions are the fallen giants of South African rugby, but CEO Manie Reyneke believes they will rise again under Dick Muir
– Deon Kayser relished the opportunity to coach the Sharks backs in the Currie Cup
– A Springbok snub hasn’t dented the confidence of Cheetahs wing Lionel Mapoe
– De Wet Barry on trying to get Eastern Province into the Currie Cup Premier Division, his stint with London Harlequins, the disappointment of missing out on the 2007 World Cup, and his future plans
– Springbok Sevens coach Paul Treu on their World Series title defence, how the game has evolved, and why he would select his best possible side for the Olympics
– Brive loose forward Antonie Claassen, son of former Springbok captain Wynand, will qualify to play for France at the end of 2010. He explains why he left South Africa two years ago and why he would accept an invitation from Marc Lièvremont
Click here to subscribe 
91 Comments
23 Nov 2009, 07:03 am
In that case he is the second best Dragon at 6 for the Boks. Imo.
23 Nov 2009, 07:19 am
Another story on FDP. I can’t see Skoppie subscribing to this mag! And their is always a Jake White column. Lol
23 Nov 2009, 07:32 am
this magazine is like some sort of soviet propaganda pamphlet! All the nonsense printed in it is just regurgitated ****…how many times must we read about fourie du preez? Next month i predict a “francois steyn @ racing metro article”, a “mossie opens up about breaking his contract”, a “ruan pienaar prefers srumhalf” and the bolter might be “nick koster is BACK”
23 Nov 2009, 07:35 am
And maybe even thethirdd best end of 2010…..
There is a young man called Stegmann…. Hou dop!
23 Nov 2009, 07:36 am
Yep. FDP has been done to death! What about Danie Russouw or John Smit playing th etc.
23 Nov 2009, 07:49 am
Hey Transformer # 3. …. you are maybe the most negative guy on this blog…. what’s wrong broer?
23 Nov 2009, 07:51 am
Schalk is as much an opensider as Smit is a tighthead.
Even Stormers got him earmarked for 7 or 8…..
Schalk…..embrace it or go overseas…..
Brussow ,Steggmann far better.
23 Nov 2009, 08:00 am
Schalk can still play openside if he gets his best form back.
23 Nov 2009, 08:06 am
yeah. at his best his work rate was huge. he should just sharpen up his technique a bit. But honestly, I think in todays game you must have a specialist fetcher in the team, and he just isn’t one. 8 might be his best option now.
23 Nov 2009, 08:54 am
Schalk is still not a fetcher and is not as good as Brussow on the ground – 7 or 8
23 Nov 2009, 08:56 am
First he needs to acknowledge he is way off form in 2009.
Secondly he needs to realise it is up to him alone to claim anything back.
Schalk has had no serious challengers in about 4 years. It can only make him a better player now.
23 Nov 2009, 09:02 am
10. you don’t need to be a fetcher to play openside
and keo fix the damn quote button, this is annoying!!
23 Nov 2009, 09:06 am
The only good game Schalk played this season was against the Lions (CC champs in 2010 =) ) in the S14. He was below par this year. Also for some of you who critize the mag… really now. If you don’t like it don’t buy it. Geez.
23 Nov 2009, 09:08 am
LOL! Most guys who received the International Player of the Year award had their form problem the year after. Schalk seems to be so slow upstairs.
Please Schalk… the way back to 1st choice is form, which should be showed on the field. Please don’t follow Watson’s example and try and push yourself in via the media. That trick usually backfire, doesn’t matter how good you are as a player. See Watson and Skinstad for reference.
23 Nov 2009, 09:09 am
Grant…
I think Schalk knows a bit more about where he can play than you boet…
23 Nov 2009, 09:09 am
12. BH,
Mate you are going to lose 80% of bloggers with that point you made…
23 Nov 2009, 09:17 am
Schalk at fetcher….that debate long time proven stupid.
Everytime Brussow turns a ball over and saves the Boks asses it is proven ad nauseum….
I am not going to rehash this old debate.
Deysel,Dewalt ,Spies, Steggmann, Vermeulen, Watson and Joe Van Niekerk….
Thats the future.
Not gonna crusade this….still tired from having to point out the folly of Smit at 3…
23 Nov 2009, 09:20 am
staal draad @ 6: what constitutes “negative” to you? If i don’t agree with the hsm agenda it doesn’t mean i’m negative…simon said on this blog just last month that guys like juan de jongh, naas olivier don’t sell copies, that’s why they’ll have spies, mossie, habana, fdp, victor on the cover all the time!!
Now if you want “negative” look @ guys like puma, hondo, thetackler, wakanathan etc
23 Nov 2009, 09:27 am
@transformation post 3: Good one. That is why I will never buy that ****. It’s like pressing repeat on a Britney Spears song all day long. Painful ****.
23 Nov 2009, 09:28 am
Schalk is just as good as Brussouw when he is on form. He’s a different type of player but just as good. My only problem is that whenever a ref sees his blonde hair at the base of a ruck they penalise him for hands in or not rolling away even if he’s on the right side of the law. He has really unfair bad reputation for some reason.
23 Nov 2009, 09:42 am
15. Pissant: he is playing right up your alley, yourself not being a great fan of “deck rugby”…peas in pod
23 Nov 2009, 09:42 am
What do you guys think of the cover? Come on, I need some of your feedback for the next issue.
23 Nov 2009, 09:43 am
Mc Caw,G Smith,Deans and Henry will crack the champagne they see schalk back at 6…..
But how is he even gonna compete….Rassie says he is a 7 or 8 for Stormers….
I get heartburn just thinking of a bok team without a Brussow type…
23 Nov 2009, 09:44 am
simon…any talk of schalk at 6 makes me wanna puke….on the cover!
23 Nov 2009, 09:45 am
Trans,
If people actually just realise both sets exist its a start!
23 Nov 2009, 09:46 am
Simon,
The Mother Theresa look does not work for me, sorry.
23 Nov 2009, 09:51 am
This is Monday.
I lost my blocks to respond to comments.
But, nevertheless, I remain a Scot.
SIMON
You don’t need us for your next issue. Pray like Schalk.
Pray.
23 Nov 2009, 09:53 am
No rugby lover with a boep and a Bok knock-off shirt is gonna buy this mag.
But, should the Pope come across one during his daily walk through the Vatican, he’ll snap it up.
Blessed be.
Viva Scotland!
23 Nov 2009, 09:55 am
Grant #17
That scrum turned for the better when Smit moved to prop on Saturday.
23 Nov 2009, 09:56 am
Strange.
I’m hearing choirs of angels singing.
23 Nov 2009, 09:56 am
Pissant/Dawn: He’s pondering, not praying. Which is why his eyes are open.
23 Nov 2009, 09:57 am
Simon
Just me and you, I guess!
23 Nov 2009, 09:57 am
I wanna see cheerleaders in g-strings so we all can get into the spirit of summer. Doesn’t matter what team they’re from… Im not prejudice!
23 Nov 2009, 09:58 am
Must say that this tendency of SA Rugby mag is getting old. Bulls, bulls, bulls. I remember when the Cheetahs won the CC in 2005, the mag had 3 full articles on Bulls players as well as a full article about how wonderful the Bulls are. One page with a few pics, and nothing to say, was given to the Cheetahs as champions.
Same last year with the Sharks. More about the Bulls than anything else.
As for the cover, gotta say that pose of Schalk isn’t very appealing, so I most probably won’t buy the mag. Start using nice action shots… it is about rugby after all, not modeling.
23 Nov 2009, 09:59 am
Dawn…hi….you werent at the Firemans….it was cool….
Yes, i think you mean the scrum improved when Smit went to hooker?
But for sure….now PDV must keep him there!
23 Nov 2009, 10:00 am
Like the action shot of Du Preez, that would have been a better cover pic.
Simon #31
He’s not exactly in the league of Henry Moore’s “The Thinker”.
He’s a rugby player not one of the great philosophical thinkers of the day.
What’s he pondering?
hope schalk not praying that Brussow gets injured!
23 Nov 2009, 10:01 am
Transformation: Give me a list of eight story ideas that you would have included in this issue, giving a detailed description of each (reason for it’s inclusion, angle etc), as well as your cover choice.
23 Nov 2009, 10:02 am
RE: The last line of the article above ……………..
I, too, would not think twice about accepting an invitation from Marc Lievremont.
To anything and everything.
23 Nov 2009, 10:08 am
Simon,
Cant see his eyes much, but even so, I pray with eyes open…
Especially when I watch rugby on TV.
I actually enjoy covers ‘caught in the moment’ type of angle, not posing…
Rugby players aren’t really catwalk models, capture them in what they do best, in the moment, action poses.
23 Nov 2009, 10:09 am
Dawn 37: What he needs to do to get his jersey back.
23 Nov 2009, 10:11 am
Pissant 41: Then you okes would complain that you’ve already seen those action photos in newspapers and on websites.
23 Nov 2009, 10:18 am
SIMON
You ask for feedback then when you get it you get all shirty!!!
Take it in good spirit man!
Dammit!
23 Nov 2009, 10:19 am
Simon I am not really talking about action photos taken on the field when they are actually playing, I am more referring to your photographers catching in the moment shots, like during shots the interview, or like a wedding photographer not only relying on still poses all the time but in the moment shots.
Surely his desires on the topic during the interview will best capture the player in the moment and project a stronger image of the topic, and the player?
23 Nov 2009, 10:20 am
And please not the strip you guys did on Marius Joubert a couple of years back when it looked like the interview should have been a Men’s Health of FHM arti!!!
23 Nov 2009, 10:21 am
Speaking of weddings …
We want more personal behind the scenes stories about players.
Why should we buy the YOU magazine to see our manne getting hitched or ditched.
Or, Die SON.
23 Nov 2009, 10:21 am
like during shots the interview,
WTF???
should read like TAKING shots during the interview…
23 Nov 2009, 10:22 am
Pissant #46
Wasn’t that one Bob shirtless?
23 Nov 2009, 10:22 am
Okay that just sounds like an interview with Loslyf now, shots during interviews!
You get what I am saying though.
23 Nov 2009, 10:25 am
Pissant yes I was especially impressed with joost’s “caught in he moment” type photos…
23 Nov 2009, 10:25 am
Simon, As you are probably aware by now, “Everyones a critic after the event”(or publication). Its your mag do what you want, They can vote by not buying it. No need to defend your angles.
23 Nov 2009, 10:28 am
There was one with Marius Joubert also with his shirt open and posing like an FHM model wannebe
23 Nov 2009, 10:30 am
I want Sean Lamont on the cover in full Scots regalia.
Nay. I DEMAND it.
23 Nov 2009, 10:31 am
Hidden camera shots dont work for me that much Gunther.
23 Nov 2009, 10:31 am
Shalk give it up, the game has moved on and there is a younger man playing better than you at 6.And others at your own club filling the pure task of a 6.
Do I hear correctly that Shalk doesnt gym ? If so he is in for trouble as he is getting “older” his body wont take the punishment without muscle cover.
23 Nov 2009, 10:54 am
39. Simon: are you assigning me as a freelance journalist?
23 Nov 2009, 10:55 am
Pure class. He’ll be back to his best sooner rather than later.
23 Nov 2009, 11:03 am
Simon, how about an article on the keo bloggers. Or an article about bulls fans and their manic behaviour and their incestuous manners?
23 Nov 2009, 11:09 am
or an article on stormers supporters and their fondness for pastel clothing and their annual refrain that this will somehow be “their year “….
23 Nov 2009, 11:26 am
@gunther:
And the Bulls supporters are the absolute leaders in the fashion stakes !!!!
Two toned shirt , kahki pants and veldskoene (red or otherwisw )……lekker man !!!
23 Nov 2009, 11:31 am
JR
yeah and dont forget their safari suits.
23 Nov 2009, 11:32 am
52. bananaboy: how else can it be? We don’t get pre-publication drafts of the mag now do we? Simon & them are the journos, they’re charged to pique my brain with thought provoking, entertaining & informative articles.
I’m not for a second suggesting that they pander to my whims…i’m just using the platform available to give feedback…
23 Nov 2009, 11:33 am
@Slappes:
23 Nov 2009, 11:36 am
@gunther:
Pastels.
Is that what you wear during Pilates.
23 Nov 2009, 11:39 am
I dont think Schalk should limit himself, Brussow has also been phenomenal at 6, i think schalk should play 8.
23 Nov 2009, 11:41 am
@cab:
Agree, also think that Rassie wants him to play there.
23 Nov 2009, 12:30 pm
SIMON
just a bit of feedback or my two cents worth, if u will.
as for the cover, it seems opinionated or biased in schalk’s favour, seems as though the mag supports the view that its his rightful jersey and now plans to take it back, because he only planned to play at 7 while Juan was injured.
Now if HB (heinrich brussow, although it should stand for Honey Badger) didn’t constantly produce a phenomenal and courageous performance then I’d say fine, but it seems unfair.The jersey belongs to the best man and nobody is entitled to it.
As for the articles, readers on here scour through the sports section of the papers daily to satisfy their thirst for new interesting rugby-reads.
Its a treat when an informed rugby mag comes out once a month but it is a pity when information taking up its pages is the same stuff Ive read in articles in the papers.
A guy like FdP, is constantly being written about in the papers because he is the star and so we all know what he’s about.
But what about a bit of background info on guys who have made a big contribution and perhaps aren’t in the limelight anymore.
I’d love to read what the locals in the small end of Os’s hometown feel about going to church with a legend or perhaps interesting old springbok stories (i’m sure there have been some fantastic tales) that perhaps would’ve become forgotten and are worth bringing.
Thanks to the internet and newspapers were kept pretty informed on the mainstream stuff…but whats kept hidden behind the dust in the corners?
23 Nov 2009, 13:01 pm
@Big Hit: Why in the modern game would you play an openside who was not a fetcher ? Are you suggesting No 8 being the fetcher or do you not believe in fetchers ?
23 Nov 2009, 13:29 pm
I think Schalk should consider playing at 6 ……… for Toulouse.
23 Nov 2009, 13:50 pm
@Simon: I don’t mind the praying pose. In fact, I think a shot of Schalk asking forgiveness for the gouging incident can only help his reputation. But from a pure design point of view, I don’t think this is your best cover. If you’re going to play with the jersey number on the image, then you need to do it right. Sticking it down on his tummy is just visually confusing – it doesn’t look like a jersey number and it doesn’t look like a headline. Also, you’ve obscured way too much of your masthead. You can get away with blocking a bit, but not the whole thing. That’s just arrogant and presumptuous.
23 Nov 2009, 13:58 pm
@Simon: Cover choice: Heinrich Brussouw (Pic of him ‘stealing’): The art of fetching and why its made such a difference to the SA teams dynamic.
Articles:
Lionel Mapoe – Well done
Lions rugby – well done
Freddie Michalak? Update
Francious Hougaard – Introduction
Looking for Bakkies successor – Whos the back-up enforcer?
Robbie Deans – Well done
IRB Player of the year – Past winners and info on Fourie and why he should win it – Slightly different angle to yours
Thanks I will be buying this issue but didnt see anything worth it in the last issue
23 Nov 2009, 14:12 pm
Nothing in this magazine says I should buy it. I would like to hear a bit about Grey Bloem: Ratel and Stegman playing in the same schoolboy side! Awesome lets find out how their season went. Also some of the new faces would be nice, I know a LOT about Pottie and am surprised SA rugby didn’t churn out an article about the ‘next bok captain’. Personally I would like to learn a bit more about new caps Wiaan and Deysel.
23 Nov 2009, 14:13 pm
@Bok fan: I would rather buy your mag. I mean at least I would learn something.
23 Nov 2009, 14:41 pm
@stew: I don’t think your openside absolutely has to be a fetcher, but an in-form Schalk can fetch with the best of them.
23 Nov 2009, 14:41 pm
Schalk should retire for the benefit of his health and SA Rugby
23 Nov 2009, 14:44 pm
@Bok fan: Robbie Deans, well done?
23 Nov 2009, 14:50 pm
Robbie Deans – Well done as in well done for including an article on him. I want to know what his thoughts are on the year and how different it is coaching the Aussies compared to the Crusaders. Hes coached the Aussies now for long enough to give an interesting view point and Im curious to know why the Crusaders can be so brilliant and the Aussies so average. How much is it just the players and how much is it the coach?
23 Nov 2009, 14:59 pm
@Bok fan: ok cool, understood. Robbie getting it tough.
23 Nov 2009, 15:00 pm
@Bok fan: his team can scrum now but can’t win, let that be a lesson to grant10!
23 Nov 2009, 15:04 pm
@Big Hit:
yep, spot on, and about schalk too.
23 Nov 2009, 15:05 pm
@Big Hit: Yip I suppose thats the only big turnaround hes made with the Aussies. Maybe he’ll focus on the rest of the Aussie game next year which would be a scary prospect
23 Nov 2009, 15:17 pm
The worst thing about the hype surrounding Heinrich is that if he dares to put in a 60% performance he will be absolutely drilled on this site and general media…
23 Nov 2009, 15:39 pm
@Big Hit: Unfortunately an in form ‘fetching’ Schalk was before all the yellow cards and Neck injury. Not sure which was to balem more but it was a long time ago. His best position is def no.8
23 Nov 2009, 22:10 pm
68 Baller Canready:”The jersey belongs to the best man and nobody is entitled to it” You also imply that we would like to know more about the “unknown” stories about the rugby legends. Yes, yes 100%
72 Bok Fan: Heinrich Broussow: The art of fetching and why it’s made such a difference to the SA team dynamic. Yes, I agree that HB has made a BIG, BIG difference.
There was a time when we had absolutely no answer to Richie Macaw, George Smith and Phil Waugh. Now that we can compete with at least parity with HB, why would we want to give Schalk the job? Does Schalk honestly believe that when Juan Smith recovers from injury and reclaims the 7 jersey, and Spies takes over at 8, he should play at 6 and heinrich should warm the bench????
HB has done absolutely nothing to warrant losing the 6 jersey. (I was worried when I saw that he was selected to play against Leicester. I thought that PdV had some other ideas for him!)
I also hope that Pdv realises that JS belongs at 2. If I recall correctly, Bissie was playing so well that he couldn’t be left out of the starting line-up. The thought was that JS also couldn’t be left out because of his leadership qualities. He could then, at 3 take us to the world cup. This has obviously proven to be a pipe dream.
When Bissy is fit, I suggest that JS plays for 60 mins at 2, bring Bissy on for the last 20 mins with his special qualities when the opposition is beginning to get tired
24 Nov 2009, 04:05 am
Sorry Schala but you have rested on your laurels and not bought anything new to your game. You need to pass the ball and stop acting like you are the best. Heino is 6 for the time been. This is what we have always missed, a good fetcher, instead of Jake always going for height.
24 Nov 2009, 05:26 am
@Bok fan: true, he should focus on blindside
24 Nov 2009, 12:34 pm
Please guys, let’s join the rest of the world.
Of course Schalk is #6 – i.e. BLINDSIDE flanker. He’s NVER been a #7 like Ritchie, Geo Smith etc.
Heinrich is #7!!!
Remember when Luke was brought to WP from the Sharks he was tp be on the openside and Schalk was to move to the correct side for him. Various injuries eventually meant Luke moving to #8.
26 Nov 2009, 11:22 am
SA reverse the numbers — a #7 opensider in the AB jersey is a #6 opensider in the Bok one. A #6 blindsider in the black jumper is the #7 blindsider in the green-and-gold (now with those postmodernist white collar frills and the odd yellow skinny spaghetti lines around the belly-paunch region…)
26 Nov 2009, 18:48 pm
Looks like a BRILLIANT edition, cant wait to get it. Especially Claassen wanting to play for France.
27 Nov 2009, 05:15 am
@cab: It makes sense for thebest fetcher to play at 6, and the next best at 8. Pure physics. Notsure Schalk has bakline linking skills for 8 though. he is not exactly known for handling skills or passing at all..
@williforde: it would be better to have Smitty there at the end to keep cool heads to close out a game. Maybe the other way around?
there have been reports that perhaps bissie si not a great scrummager either. It would be intersting to see teh difference that changing them makes if the props stay the same.