Boks fly into quarters
4 Dec 2009
Ryno Benjamin scored four tries on the opening day of the Dubai Sevens as South Africa finished at the top of their pool.
The Sevens champs beat Australia 29-0 win to set up a quarter-final clash with Fiji. Benjamin scored a brace in the first half while captain Paul Delport rounded off a great period of play where South Africa displayed their great ball retention and innovative attacking skills.
At 19-0 down at half-time, the Aussies were dead and buried. Mzwandile Stick crashed over from close range early in second period, and added his second just a minute before the final whistle.
In their second pool match, Chase Minnaar scored a brace in South Africa’s six-try demolition of the Arabian Gulf. The Bok Sevens outfit emerged 36-7 victors in their second pool match where they were dominant across all facets of play. Minnaar showcased his speed and skill to beat the defence for South Africa’s first try, a score which was quickly followed by a five-pointer for Delport.
Their strength at the breakdown, where Kyle Brown was particularly prominent, resulted in a number of penalties. Delport’s vision and acceleration helped the Boks immensely, as he spun a long pass to MJ Mentz who in turn found Benjamin for South Africa’s third try.
Neil Powell and Brown got on the scoreboard while Minnaar added his second to round off some sparkling interplay. Arabian Gulf were denied by some fantastic defence early in the match, but Marcus Smith did manage to crash over for a consolation score right at the death.
In South Africa’s first match on Friday, the Blitzboks began their defence of the Dubai title with a 28-14 victory over Wales.
Benjamin opened the scoring when Delport opted for a tap penalty. Delport was involved again just a moment later when he intercepted a Welsh pass and cantered over the tryline.
Mpho Mbiyozo bashed his way through some feeble tackle-attempts to extend South Africa’s lead, but Wales scored an important try through Alex Cuthbert right on half-time.
The Blitzboks were far less clinical in the second period, spilling the ball in contact on a couple of occasions when they had the tryline at their mercy. Cuthbert sparked Wales’ second try when he sprinted down the touchline and found Lloyd Williams for the finish.
Wales attempted to level the scores in the dying seconds, but Stick turned defence into attack when he beneffited from a loose Welsh pass. Stick chipped and had the pace and skill to beat the cover defence for the regather as South Africa finished a mediocre second-half with a flourish.
For the latest results, click here.

263 Comments
4 Dec 2009, 09:09 am
7 dragons 7
4 Dec 2009, 09:13 am
Lol. 7eleven dragons. Its refreshing to watch rugby without the endless up and unders
4 Dec 2009, 09:18 am
Good draw for the Blitzbokkies
4 Dec 2009, 09:57 am
Good if unconvincing start.
Stick is amazing.
4 Dec 2009, 11:02 am
4000th article for JC. is it worth congratulating him?
4 Dec 2009, 11:15 am
@KC: No. The journalism from him is one of the worst. Simon B take the cake though.
4 Dec 2009, 11:37 am
I quite enjoy reading Tank Lannings blog on news24 and was interested to see his take on the Irish game last Saturday. I’ve been saying all along that the Boks players cough up possession too easily in contact and lack the upper body strength of their NH counterparts and the AB’s and the Ozzies are certainly improving in this area. Anycase here is Tanks view:
actually cannot put into words the frustration I am feeling right now … it was anger on Sunday morning, but once the hangover subsided and I had had a chance to take in the game again, it turned into just plain frustration …
I still truly believe that the Boks had the game in the bag at half time. Sure the lineout was a bit of a shambles – Gert Smal had obviously done his homework and told the Irish the Bok lineout calls and moves, and according to Matfield, even given them some lessons in Afrikaans! But for the first time in a long time, the Bok scrum was on fire, and this in turn, was powering the Boks to a more than solid performance.
So what does coach P Divvy do? He changes the one thing that is working, and goes back to Bismarck at hooker and John Smit at tighthead. And the result: The Bok scrum crumbles, as does the Bok game. And Bismark certainly did nothing to rectify the lineout woes …
The second half saw the visitors coughing up possession in contact – a real theme (and worry) of the tour. All of Jaque Fourie, Victor Matfield, and Danie Rossouw made very public cough ups …
What else does the almighty coach do? He pulls his number one goal kicker from the field … Sure Steyn did not have a great day at the office, but his kicks at goal were pretty long, and when Pienaar hit the post with first attempt, it could only have knocked the confidence further.
I always knew the Bok’s bench management, or lack thereof, to be precise, would come home to haunt them. And haunt them it did on Saturday. Just bloody pathetic …
This is not to say the Boks would definitely have won the game had they not had such a monumental bench brain ****, but they would have at least given themselves a chance.
It’s no bloody wonder the coach lost out on “Coach of the year”. It would have been a travesty had he taken that award …
Speaking of awards. Take a gander through the following two lists and see if you can spot a trend that was destroyed on 2009:
Previous winners of IRB Coach of the Year:
2001 – Rod Macqueen (Australia)
2002 – Bernard Laporte (France)
2003 – Clive Woodward (England)
2004 – Jake White (South Africa)
2005 – Graham Henry (New Zealand)
2006 – Graham Henry (New Zealand)
2007 – Jake White (South Africa)
2008 – Graham Henry (New Zealand)
2009 – Declan Kidney (Ireland)
Previous Winners of IRB Team of the Year:
2001 – Australia
2002 – France
2003 – England
2004 – South Africa
2005 – New Zealand
2006 – New Zealand
2007 – South Africa
2008 – New Zealand
2009 – South Africa
So should Div have got the coaching award, or should Ireland have got the team award?
And I am afraid I do not buy this “The players are exhausted” **** from Div. Anyone seen the All Black results from their end of year tour? Anyone seen the amount of SA players playing in the Baa Baa game on Saturday? Nope, the problem runs a lot deeper than the flippant “exhausted” excuse I am afraid …
4 Dec 2009, 11:40 am
4000 articles later and the journalism sucks.
Shall we call you an electrolux?
4 Dec 2009, 11:43 am
@bananaboy: Great telling it like it is. In the same manner it would have been a travesty if FDP took player of the year after such a k@k EOYT.
4 Dec 2009, 11:51 am
@bananaboy: ja….we could of won that test….BJ off and it was all over rover….
No brains…..no bloody brains!
4 Dec 2009, 11:55 am
@grant10: G10 I would have liked to see BDP with BJ to see how that goes. My guess is it will not be the same as with JS at 2. IMHO Bissy only about 4th best scrummager. Lost opportunity indeed.
4 Dec 2009, 11:59 am
@Shakes: yes….woul#d like to see that as well….
BJ and CJ are far better options at 3….gives the Boks stability and even at times an attacking weapon…..
Some bloggers still saying scrums not that important.
They must be as blind as bats!
4 Dec 2009, 12:05 pm
@grant10: What about those Man U youngsters then on Tuesday night. My boet is a big Spurs supporter and its always a keen rivalry so it was great to put one over them. Fergie needs to think about using them more this year even if it means not winning the league. With these youngsters he can build a great team for the future.
4 Dec 2009, 12:06 pm
@bananaboy: my ex a big Spurs fan so it was awesome beating them!
Great to see the youngsters coming through…..
Chelsea also knocked out so thats a bonus too!!
4 Dec 2009, 12:08 pm
@Shakes: Shakes both BJ and JS are too high in the scrum as hookers but JS compensated a little with his scrummaging ability. If you watched the hits on Saturday in the beginning you will have noticed that JS was initially a lot higher than the opposition hooker on the hit but then was able to use his bulk and power with BJ to put pressure on him.
4 Dec 2009, 12:10 pm
@grant10: Looking ahead to potential NZ weather a big scrum will always be a bonus. Let’s hope PDV learns quick as to the best combos. I know some have said why we lost with that big scrum but it is actually the biggest pointer to our gameplan where we gift possession to our opponents. We were lucky to win with so little ball this year. Cheers chat later.
4 Dec 2009, 12:11 pm
@bananaboy: that scrum with beat…smit and bj was the best i have seen from a saffa team in years….BJ says he wanted to prove a point and did he not just do that!
BJ has learned a lot from europe, and no doubt cj too….
Looks like they will only be back in may though.
4 Dec 2009, 12:11 pm
beast…not beat!
4 Dec 2009, 12:12 pm
@Shakes: cheers mate!
4 Dec 2009, 12:12 pm
@grant10: G10 scrums are only important if you know what to do with the possession you get from the go forward that creates. We couldn’t even use the ball from a 3 or 4 meter advancing scrum not to mention the fact that Heaslip was able to advance 20 meters off the back of a retreating scrum.
But then my other point is that the Ozzies did the same thing to the Irish yet couldn’t beat them. The Irish defence and commitment to the ruck as well as the upper body strength (Paul oConnel) was enormous. Interesting point that in both games the Irish came back from a deficit as well.
4 Dec 2009, 12:18 pm
@bananaboy: You are correct….i think the boks were shell shocked with the quality ball…
A nippy scrumhalf like Jano Vermaak and a class 8 th man like spies would heve had a field day…..we were simply ill prepared for such scrum domination.
I still maintain the cancer sets in when the scrum under pressure….we have to play a specialist tighthead at all times….for me its not even a debate ….Gary Gold can stick his head in the sand, but he is no fool, he knows that tough choices need to be made.
4 Dec 2009, 12:27 pm
@grant10: Your tighhead is absolutely crucial.Putting pressure on the opp. loosehead on their put in is critical as the hooker is concentrating on the strike so cannot help and on your own ball putting pressure on the opposition hooker makes the opposition tighhead focus more on supporting his hooker rather than dominating your loosehead enabling a better strike for your hooker.
4 Dec 2009, 12:32 pm
the total dissolution in that test match started from first kick off already. I saw it coming clear as day as Fdp and M. Steyn started kicking the ball into the heavens. I could see it coming from the 2nd minute already, and when they finally got it right to spin it wide, just once, we scored a try from the move.
I thought then perhaps they woke up and now the flood gates will open we’ll run them ragged. But no. Straight after the try we clam up like a bunch of chicken coward clams and start kicking it away again. Can you imagine the All Blacks having just scored a try clamp up like cowardly nervous conservative twats and start kicking the ball down the full backs throat?
Nobody seems to understand the very simple damn problem. Its in the g.damn useless kick and chase idiotic game plan that these *** hole palooka’s have adopted brought about by this kak rubbish play to our strengths kick and chase play without the ball idiocy.
Go and watch that game again, especially the first half and see just how damn easy it would have been to annihilate Ireland by simply keeping the ball in hand. We did it once in the first half and scored a try from the simple obvious ploy, and we did it in the last 5 minutes and nearly scored again. So where in heavens name did these twat fool idiots get their ignorant brains from to go kicking 80-90% of our possession away through the rest of the game.
Fdp is too slow behind the scrum and M. Steyn cannot get his line away. Both those 2 have succeeded along with this dumb *** delinquent idiot ou doos game plan we have now enshrined as our stupid strengths to practically disintegrate any hope of any kind of attacking creativity into an absolute dismal and ridiculous shambles.
With the ascendency we were finally enjoying in the front row that game was open for the taking, and what did we do, we kicked it in its moer in.
If Adams and Pienaar would have started that game we would have won. Guaranteed.
4 Dec 2009, 12:36 pm
@skopskiet: Skoppie after the try we had another 3 occasions to score through the backline in the first half, one was messed up by WO and the other two by none other than the famous WP outside centre Hennie Bekker.
On all 3 occasions the ball should have gone through the hands to allow diagonal runners to take it on. Had we scored on 2 of those occasions the rest of the game would have been different.
4 Dec 2009, 12:41 pm
John Smit, Victor Matfield, Fdp and Morne Steyn lost us the test against Ireland. If we’d have started with 4 others in those crucial positions we would have won. And Danie Roussouw is not an 8th mans back side, neither is Kanko.
Get shot of the dead wood if anyone hopes to stand a chance at next WC.
4 Dec 2009, 12:46 pm
@skopskiet:
Hi Skop
Ther’s lots of merit to what you are saying !!
Agree that we should of changed tactic in that game……no doubt.
I do not believe that playing Adams and Ruan woul have been the answer, I don’t share the confidence you have in Ruan.
I was saying to Grant 10 that for FDUP to get to the breakdown and clear quckly is not a difficult thing for him to do, geez if you are asking for a scrummie to be a link only and get the passes out quickly, easy peasy……any scrum halfs dream to get that as job description !!
However the job (as you know)encompasses a lot more than that.
FDUP is playing under instruction (not sure whos) but he is being told what to do.
If, as many would have us believe JS was/is calling the shots then he needs to take responsibity for the loss. Failure to change the game plan and taking BJ off were the primary reasons for the loss.
I agree with you we need to change our way of playing, but also believe that if we want a quicker, high tempo game that FDUP is quite capable of playing that way.
4 Dec 2009, 12:48 pm
Hen-nie Bekker jnr must get out of the backline absolutely. But watch how many times that ball was hoisted onto Kearney or Bowe and every time we succeeded in losing possession and giving away territory. Every single time without fail.
This stupid numb skull idiot game plan must stop or else we going to get absolutely drilled from here to kingdom come. If Fdp and M. Steyn don’t know anything else get them out and get someone in who does.
4 Dec 2009, 13:03 pm
hi JR
If you watch the difference in speed of delivery between Fdp and Adams for instance from base of scrum there is not even an argument. Adams is twice as fast. Fdp’s strengths are his experience in big matches, his size and strength, his kicking game and his occasional opportunism which usually results in points, usually but not always.
The thing is Fdp’s game like Morne’s has become so slow and predictable there is no urgency and no speed through the distribution and thats why our entire backline has become a stagnant door mat for most oppositions to wipe their feet on.
The first half of the Saracens game with Adams at the scrum base was the only time the Bok backline looked like they were capably of playing any rugby on the entire tour. The rest of the time like a bunch of one dimensional deer’s caught in the headlights. When Hougaard came onto the field second half and started this slow clearing and box kicking nonsense that Fdp is also famous for, is exactly where we coughed up that game as well.
Its a sad malady in our game and we better get it right or expect a lot more hidings in the near future.
4 Dec 2009, 13:09 pm
Skop….you are correct, we cannot kick it away all the time…it is patently stupid, as was the Schalk at fetcher debate and the Smit at 3, simply makes no real sense.
FDP needs to recieve very firm instructions to vary his game a lot more. And MS must allow the natural instincts to take over too!
Gonna be a watershed 2010…thats for sure.
PDV must stamp his authority, he allows this player power to continue he will be the loser!
4 Dec 2009, 13:17 pm
@skopskiet:
Yip, we need a hybird of what we curremtly have, there is definetely a role for playing a kcking gane, when required, also a running game when required.
FDUP is best suited to look after the “hybird” style , he definetley needs to sharpen his speed of delivery. He is looking to be the role player all the time rather than just being a scrumhalf, something he is very good at doing.
Going to interesting to see how it all pans out ,but to continue with the one dimensional style will be suicide.
PDEV time to stand up !!
4 Dec 2009, 13:21 pm
@skopskiet: Skop I thought that in the first 30 minutes or so we played a lot more with the ball in hand than in previous games and perhaps it was indicative of confidence coming from the scrum dominance, but then when that disappeared in the latter part of the 1st half and in the second half we resorted to the up and unders. Thats why I was suggesting that if we had converted the earlier opportunities it may have played out differently. I agree with you about it being idiotic to revert back to the kicking game. Perhaps its the old fear of failure mentality in SA coming to the fore.
4 Dec 2009, 13:28 pm
@justrugby: JR I laud PDV’s idea to get the players to play the situation as it presents itself on the field. To do so however they have to have a lot more in their armoury and to be honest SA players just don’t have that. I remember Robbie Fleck saying that he first learnt to offload a ball in the tackle properly when playing in Wales of all places. Our players don’t only need confidence to play the situations they need the skills. At the moment they place their confidence in the skills they have honed as Skoppie quite rightly puts it in the Bash it up type rugby. They don’t run around opposition or look for space they try to run through them and gone are the days when we could that easily.
4 Dec 2009, 13:38 pm
@bananaboy:
Agree, yet at times (obviously weaker competitions)in the S14 and CC our teams deliver some wonderful running rugby.
4 Dec 2009, 13:49 pm
They have fed this nonsense into Fdp’s head that he is the brains and the pivotal player in the backline and he manages the game plan behind the scrum. They’ve made him into this absolute genius of a game reader that can do no wrong. Well let me tell you for all his so called brilliance it was Fdp that stuffed up our go forward game in 2008 along with Butch, and apart from some well drilled set piece breaks from lineouts or scrum’s where he’s created tries in Pretoria or Perth this year he has recently become increasingly slow and directionless without much clue as to what exactly to do behind the breakdown ball, usually either popping a nothing pass to a lumbering runner who gets isolated or turned or he puts boot to ball, or else a telegraphed pass to fly half with no variation whatsoever.
His predictability and lack of speed in making decisions or in getting the back line away is what is fundamentally getting us totally mesmerized and caught flat footed on attack with no incisive pace or distribution or shape in the backline at all.
I play S. Pretorius or an Adams type 9 unless Hougaard can up his tempo and distribution skills with a running fly half like Pienaar or Grant or JL Potgieter, if Fdp and M. Steyn can’t up the anti. Between the both of them we getting so dismally one dimensional and easy to read and and plain boring its hardly even a joke. They’re stifling our game to hell.
4 Dec 2009, 13:58 pm
Otherwise play Pienaar at 9 and JL Potgieter at 10. Damn sight better than these other two overrated one trick pony’s who kick everything they get to Timbuktu and get absolutely zero go forward reaction into the backline whatsoever.
4 Dec 2009, 14:11 pm
To be honest guys I thought Steyn got his backline away surprisingly well in the first 30mins. He has a lovely long pass which created space on the outside several times – 1 for the try and at least 2 for bekker’s runs. For some reason we just went into our shells after that. If SA had learnt anything from the BIL tour it should’ve been that Kearney has no problems under the high ball.
JS is a great captian imo but he should’ve taken control on the pitch – that’s his job! Snor still makes surprising subs but hopefully he’ll learn – eventually.
FdP needs some competition for his jersey. I rate Jano as the best scrummie in the country before his injury. Great pass, devastating around the fringes and an intelligently varied kicking game (little short chips over the top not just bombs) and this all in a LIONS team!!!
4 Dec 2009, 14:25 pm
if we were playing with so much ball in hand, how did we end up with only 35% possession in the 1st half? Again how did we end up making more than twice the tackles they did?
4 Dec 2009, 14:34 pm
“Minnaar showcased his speed and skill to beat the defence for South Africa’s first try”
What rubbish. I watched this game over lunch and Minaar simply received the ball and scored after some good work on the inside from Benjamin. Speed and skill? Come on.
4 Dec 2009, 14:54 pm
@Transformation: the answer to the question i posed lies in the following paragraphs, that our players have internalised as our “traditional strengths”
“Had De Villiers continued with the naive notion that the guys play what is in front of them without any structure or framework the results this year would have been very different. The Boks may have scored more tries, but so too would the opposition.
The dynamic of this Bok side feeds off structure and knowing who does what and when. They rely on brutal defence, the most imposing lineout in the game and a halfback kicking game that can’t be matched at the moment. The Boks are at their most potent when they keep it simple on attack and play risk-free rugby. They are a side blessed with the players who can turn defence into attack.
The team’s greatest attribute is its physicality, but what this side has more than any South African team since readmission is experience and rugby intelligence to go with the physicality. Each guy knows what to do and that is the result of most of them being together for six years.
Neither New Zealand nor Australia wanted to look foolish on attack but incredible defence and the most accurate field-kicking game turned these professionals into bumbling schoolboys. Defence is a skill, as much as attack is, and one of the most difficult skills to master is the line kicking game.
It may not look pretty, but it is effective, and I for one want a Bok team that wins consistently playing to its strengths rather than one that appears to entertain, but merely plays into the grateful and winning hands of Australia and New Zealand.
Fourie du Preez’s ability to read the game and Habana and JP Pietersen’s chase of the kick spells intelligent rugby and not boring rugby. If New Zealand and Australia had players with those skills they’d be playing it exactly the same way.”
4 Dec 2009, 16:44 pm
Minnaar shows how to kick Karoo dust into the faces of the desert-dwellers
4 Dec 2009, 17:56 pm
Lovely to watch the Boks hammering the Wobblies.
4 Dec 2009, 18:05 pm
@David: 41 – Have to agree David. Our 7′s Boks were on fire there. Really enjoyed watching them beat the Aussies.
4 Dec 2009, 18:16 pm
Well done to our Blitz Bokke.
4 Dec 2009, 18:22 pm
@Puma: Yep, and they did it without kicking away possession.
4 Dec 2009, 18:27 pm
@David: If Paul Treu had Fourie du Preez in his team, they’d be playing to our “traditional strengths”
4 Dec 2009, 18:29 pm
@Transformation:
I would love to see Delport back in the 15 man game as backup for FdP.
@David: 44 – They did too. 15′s Bokke could learn from them.
Actually drove back to Umhlanga today from Joburg. Drove through so much fog and thought about that game against Ireland.
Not even sure if they saw the ball coming down……hehehe. Through that fog. Today I could hardly see the car ahead of me. How they could see a ball coming down through the fog would have been very, very difficult. Should just have kept ball in hand more and attacked. We looke good when we done it near the end and when Burger got that try. Could never do the kick-and-chase in that weather. Never.
Ag, we will learn.
@Transformation:
4 Dec 2009, 18:39 pm
@David: in this country we’ve got traditional weapons as well as traditional strength…we just like carrying & doing things just out of tradition. traditional leadership, traditional wrestling of & moer-ing of live bulls…i’m getting carried away here
4 Dec 2009, 18:48 pm
@Transformation:
No comment. Some of my friends are Zulus.
4 Dec 2009, 18:58 pm
some of the best zulus are my friends.
4 Dec 2009, 19:11 pm
@rangerman: some of my ex’s are zulus…
4 Dec 2009, 19:47 pm
@Transformation:
will all due respect but people must chill otherwise as us Zulu’s would say- “niyas’jwayela kabi/niyas’nyela”!!
come talk to me when the same vocal opposition is directed towards:
Running of the Bulls
Bull fighting
Rodeo
etc
And even then,cant do sh*t.Court overturned the application.Thus the Ukweshwama festival shall continue.And i shall be present.As always.
4 Dec 2009, 19:58 pm
@mshiniwami: Don’t let’s get into this now. I’m busy watching the WC draw progamme. It’s a moment to enjoy.
4 Dec 2009, 19:59 pm
@mshiniwami: hawu ndoda, kade ngikumele…
batshele mshini batshele bayeyisa labantu!!!
4 Dec 2009, 20:05 pm
@Transformation:
hahaha lol, i know ndoda. i know
Bayangicasula nje
@David:
Nobody is stopping u from enjoying it mate.
I will have to catch the repeat.am at the office still.
but it is a pertinent issue.
Enjoy the draw
4 Dec 2009, 20:11 pm
****, we’ve just drawn Mexico in our group and opening game.
4 Dec 2009, 20:12 pm
@mshiniwami:
Only one of your examples is pertinent.
4 Dec 2009, 20:20 pm
Now we’ve also drawn Uruguay. Damn.
4 Dec 2009, 20:24 pm
We’re dead. We’ve also drawn France in our group.
4 Dec 2009, 20:27 pm
Sa
Mexico
Uruguay
France
Not much chance progressing through there but anythings possible. Now this coach gonna have to get his act together and get Bafana up to scratch
4 Dec 2009, 20:30 pm
@David:
Mexico are a yo-yo team and can be between by a lot of teams.Their lofty fifa ranking status is misleading at best.
Uruguay not known to do well outside South America,plus also not consistent.Not easy but not impossible.
All the examples are pertinent if we are dicussing animal “cruelty” in isolation and in sport/cultural/traditional rituals.Just that only in Bull fighting do the Bulls often die/killed.
But anyway whether it 10000 or 0ne-still pertinent mate
Eish…France….ok rough
Group D is group of death-Brazil/Portugal,Ivory Coast/Korea
4 Dec 2009, 20:30 pm
@skopskiet:
England and Germany have a guaranteed path.
4 Dec 2009, 20:34 pm
My prediction:
First round: draw against Mexico (adrenalin will do it for us)
Second round: draw against Uruguay (they are not THAT good)
Third round : 1 – 0 win against the cheating frogs (justice will be served)
Then we are through.
4 Dec 2009, 20:36 pm
so much for an easy group, **** only group d and h tougher.
4 Dec 2009, 20:38 pm
@mshiniwami: Usuthu!! Usuthu olumabhesh’ ankone!!!!! Bayadlala, babhubhudl’ imilomo nje!!
4 Dec 2009, 20:39 pm
Well John Smit reckons good practice in the group stage for when we have to face semi’s and finals
Charlize Theron totally out of place, who decided to choose that Tinseltown bimbo with her Hollywood twang?
4 Dec 2009, 20:44 pm
yeah not sure why charlize is thought to be such a cracker.
the health minister is pretty ordinary looking tho, esp after the lung op.
4 Dec 2009, 20:45 pm
@Transformation:
Usuthu!!! Bayede!!!! Yena weNdlovu!!!! Ndabezitha!!!
Bayadlala ngempela!!!
Bayakhohlwa kodwa ukuthi abadlali nezingane la.
Bangazos’dakelwa
4 Dec 2009, 20:45 pm
Skop, I love Benoni-Americans! Bimbo or not in die slaapkamer praat sy Afrikaans
4 Dec 2009, 20:48 pm
@mshiniwami:
@Transformation:
Ja v#k,
Deutsch sieht gut aus für einen Sieg.
Very easy.
4 Dec 2009, 20:50 pm
@Slappes:
Charlize was the best, did you see Beckham’s face when she greeted him with a “hi sweatheart”.
Posh might wait for him with a golf club.
4 Dec 2009, 20:52 pm
beckham might lay enough pipe to complete the cape to cairo railway.
4 Dec 2009, 20:54 pm
@Robzim: well they’re both Tinseltown residents with Becks @ Galaxy…
4 Dec 2009, 20:55 pm
@skopskiet:
I concur.Skop,why is she there?She’s totally irrelevant there.
Stick to Sun International glamour ads with Sol Kesner drooling over her etc
but here thanks…If one had to add Hollywood glitz why not get Mr Vosloo(from Mummy movies)-at least daai ou praat nog afrikaans…
4 Dec 2009, 20:56 pm
Nooit you can have your Benoni twanging bimbo. I’ll be much happier with our own little miss princess of ceremonies. Charlize can go back to Tinseltown. Can’t come close to real African beauty.
4 Dec 2009, 20:59 pm
@mshiniwami:
Are u referring to the oke from “Boetie gaan border toe”
It was a cool movie – might have got an oscar if it was not for the cultural ban at the time.
4 Dec 2009, 21:01 pm
what happened to ruda landman? yessus, lekker.
4 Dec 2009, 21:03 pm
one thing for sure those pomgolans got a bladdy easy draw, mind you so did the italians – leather jacket syndicate?
@skopskiet:
C’mon Skoppy, she is a knockout, our only Oscar ever.
She also did it the hard way – from the back streets of benoni to the Hollywood A team.
Give the girl some slack.
@Robzim:
???? dont know that title
know him from the Mummy,Hard Target(van Damme nonsense i kno-lol)
4 Dec 2009, 21:10 pm
i think the Killers are in SA, not bad,
there;s a decent group for the Ou Doos’ to sink their gums into, forget bob dylan, time to evolve and adapt.
4 Dec 2009, 21:10 pm
@mshiniwami:
“Boetie gaan border toe” put him on the map in SA, before he “upgraded” to the Van Dam nonsense.
“Mummy” was probably his biggest moment though.
I wonder what he is doing for a living these days? Probably not acting anymore.
4 Dec 2009, 21:14 pm
Soccer???
What utter kak
4 Dec 2009, 21:16 pm
she’s a decent actress our little Charlize and as bimbo’s go not too shabby, but she don’t feature on my radar sorry. I’m an African is beautiful proponent, and yeah it sure is.
You reckon Cleopatra or Queen of Sheba had a tinseltown twang, nah, don’t think so.
4 Dec 2009, 21:18 pm
SA got some big stadiums
Soccer city is about the size of the biggest stadium in europe.
Ellis park is not far off that.
There’s another two that are 70K+ in durban and coka cola park, then there are all the rugby grounds – cant be many better venues actually.
4 Dec 2009, 21:19 pm
@Karoolander:
Wie loop tans voor in die wes karoo toutrek liga?
4 Dec 2009, 21:22 pm
@Robzim:
Oscar dont mean sh*t,even Cher has got one…jeez even Mira Sorvino…sheesh
Sorry but she aint no belter,before or faster the Oscar.Just a blonde poppie with a twang.have no problems with her,average actress,best movie she did was Devil’s Advocate.Monster was toilet.Just like Halle berry in that movie with Billy Bob.
4 Dec 2009, 21:25 pm
@Robzim: Sir Gallahad….Charlize thanks you for your support!!
4 Dec 2009, 21:25 pm
@cab:
True that…
I live in Durban,Windermere about 2 roads from Moses Mabhida Stadium.75000 seater…Its a masterpiece.
Cant get better venues…
4 Dec 2009, 21:28 pm
I left a note for you on Brians site earlier cab, don’t know if you read it before the chicken wiped it off.
4 Dec 2009, 21:29 pm
@mshiniwami:
How old is it Mshini?
There are some big buggers.
Been to soccer city as a kid and that was a monster, even compared to ellis.
4 Dec 2009, 21:30 pm
@skopskiet:
Elizabeth Taylor?
@Robzim:
nothwithstanding the abusive father…
4 Dec 2009, 21:30 pm
@mshiniwami:
I admit the twang is phoney, but for her it is essential and good business – god, the benoni accent would not have won any accolades never mind an oscar.
Cher is cool, she survived Sonny and still looks like a 40 year old although she is probably 72 by now.
I agree, “Devils advocate” was much better than “Monster”. The genius of Al Pacino and the brilliance of Keanu Reeves helped to build her career.
I still admire her – she came from nowhere.
4 Dec 2009, 21:33 pm
lol, he;s probably wiped it.
4 Dec 2009, 21:33 pm
Soccer city 90,000
Green point 80,000
Moses Mabhida 75,000
Ellis Park, Loftus, Bafokeng, Bloem all around 60,000
If they fill those venues going to be quite some moola floating around.
4 Dec 2009, 21:34 pm
@cab:
Its one of the new stadiums.Directly next to Kings/Absa Park-Sharks Stadium.Makes it look like a relic..ANCIENT..
Soccer city is if Im not mistaken is the biggest stadium in SA.One of the Top 10 largest soccer stadiums in the world(accredited ones)…Capacity….95000…ridiculous
4 Dec 2009, 21:36 pm
@carol:
If you know her please tell her about her supporter from Durbanville.
Nearly time for u to meet the London fair.. sorry keo’s?
Should be a good day for you!!
4 Dec 2009, 21:39 pm
Ja he wiped it soon as he woke up. Never met a bigger two faced coward in my life. Everything he can’t deal with straight up he wipes its all one sided propaganda that setup. Anyway enough of that now. My youngest son just finished his Matric exams today. Reckons he did ok.
4 Dec 2009, 21:41 pm
she actually seems like quite a nice tannie does charlize and quite down to earth all things considered, done pretty well, she is quiet friendly with madiba i believe.
4 Dec 2009, 21:43 pm
@skopskiet:
yeah he is a bit, i just like stirring actually.
good luck to junior, tough times that matric – ridiculous pressure.
he going oat-sowing on year out like pa?
4 Dec 2009, 21:44 pm
@Robzim:
Granted…BUT
Accent maybe “good business” principle as you put it but I dont by that mate.the likes of Penelope Cruz have won Oscar’s,dated Tom Cruise but no fake accent.Antonio Banderas has been in Hollywood for over 20 yrs and still no phoney accent.Gywneth Paltrow,Judie Dench etc they have never struggled to get “business” with their English accent.Ditto Irish boy Colin farrell.
But she must be commended for her success.
But thats where it ends with me.
4 Dec 2009, 21:49 pm
@cab:
Everyone claims to be friendly with Madiba…Even Naomi Campbell annointed herself his “granddaughter”…lol
4 Dec 2009, 21:52 pm
@mshiniwami:
lol, yeah thats true also, guess there are’nt many bigger figureheads.
4 Dec 2009, 21:56 pm
F#koff man, she is not a tannie!
Rhuda Landman and Dlamini Zuma are tannies.
I must further add that tannie Zuma is the best minister we ever had.
She f#cked up the smokers once and for all – today we can go to any restaurant and enjoy ourselves without having to inhale their poison.
So, some tannies are great.
4 Dec 2009, 21:56 pm
WP !!!! ooops bokke
4 Dec 2009, 21:58 pm
@Robzim:
ok out, mr zim, good weekend. no desperate housewives, very funny that.
4 Dec 2009, 21:59 pm
colin farrel has been irish in about 3% of the schlock **** he puts out.
in bruges was good though.
but ja, loads sell out, not just the poppy.
i dont even know why you people are so judgemental about a woman clearly comitted to helping fight rape, poverty etc?
4 Dec 2009, 22:00 pm
@mshiniwami:
erm Paltrow is american
Colin Farell in Miami vice ?
what would you call that accent?
JZ’s daughter worked for me a few summers ago…I thought she was american when I first interviewed her…
4 Dec 2009, 22:01 pm
@mshiniwami:
I see your point, but she is Afrikaans, so I do not know whether that accent would have worked for the type of movies she targeted.
awesome… maybe THEY’LL win this thing
@rangerman:
zigactly…
and ALWAYS a proud south african…
4 Dec 2009, 22:02 pm
dudes ITS HOLIDAY!
4 Dec 2009, 22:03 pm
@mshiniwami:
also a spanish accent is quite sexy
I don’t know if you can say the same for a benoni drawl…
with apologies to soda joe…
Perhaps inkosizana is our solution at TH?
@cab:
Take it easy Cab, i always enjoy your input.
4 Dec 2009, 22:04 pm
@gunther: true, why so many wannabe americans in south africa.
ek grill when i hear the fake ‘mericanese accents used for advertising. for instance, that chappy doing the cider advert.
where is he from? maybe he doesnt even know OR he wants to forget?
either way, charlize at least lives there. she is more entitled to ebonics than anyone in south africa.
out for now.
tjorts.
4 Dec 2009, 22:07 pm
@rangerman: amen boet , and like it or not , the idiots in here callijng her a bimbo because she has made it great in the world should look at their mothers and see a real BIMBO
arrogant pricks
4 Dec 2009, 22:07 pm
calling*
4 Dec 2009, 22:09 pm
Whats all that goody goody stuff got to do with the fact that she’s totally out of place in an African setting, she’s hardly African and didn’t fit in this 2010 draw thingamajig, she’s a Hollywood tinseltown bimbo and whoever organized that shindig should have realized she’s totally out of place as the MC. Should have been a proper SA girl not a Hollywood glamour queen. Plus she was nervous as hell and didn’t ride the occasion well.
4 Dec 2009, 22:12 pm
jeez she is a world famous star and one of sa’s great success stories o the world stage… I have no idea what she was doing there…
4 Dec 2009, 22:13 pm
omw you can’t be serious. You sound like the girls at my school. NOT a compliment.
@rangerman: @gunther:
Never said that here accent must be Afrikaans in her movies.She is an actress who has to adapt to the role and its requirements.
My problem is when her accent is PERMANENTLY in that annoying fake twang even outside the silver screen.HWen she speaks on interviews,SA events etc its also in that shiitty accent.
Quite the cintrary with:
Dench
Farrell
Cruz
Bana
etc who when not in character revert to their normal accents.
Charlize doesnt.even amongst her own people
@skopskiet: Relax, Safricans are all over the world and we are all keeping the flag flying high
4 Dec 2009, 22:15 pm
@skopskiet:
No man, she was not nervous at all.
She cracked jokes all the time, even calling the idiot Beckham “hi Sweetheart” and he nearly fainted.
The marathon runner with the funny clothes was out of his depth imo.
Great runner, but not good in front of the camera’s with 200m people watching.
Charlize rules for me.
4 Dec 2009, 22:17 pm
@mshiniwami: and you care?
4 Dec 2009, 22:17 pm
@mshiniwami:
she has lived there for more than 15 years cut her some slack…
I know people who have never set foot in the states who speak with an american twang…
who would you have chosen?
4 Dec 2009, 22:18 pm
one wonders what the pessimists are on about now? It’s here fellas “ke nako” it’s time.
If you missed the boat to cash in you’re kinda late now…bring on the world…gotta make this dough y’all
4 Dec 2009, 22:19 pm
moenie worry nie I’m quite relaxed its all these other south africans that can’t handle me calling their Benoni bimbo a bimbo. Sorry but Charlize I’m sure is a nice chick back at the ranch but she’s like living in a figment of her imagination if she’s calling this home and being all patriotic because it isn’t.
4 Dec 2009, 22:20 pm
cheers ladies
4 Dec 2009, 22:20 pm
@Robzim: I actually cannot believe that I am going to agree with you
4 Dec 2009, 22:21 pm
@JL1:
I don’t believe it. We agree on something. At last.
4 Dec 2009, 22:22 pm
@JL1:
OK, tell Carol I say cheers!
4 Dec 2009, 22:22 pm
@skopskiet: It will always be “home”
4 Dec 2009, 22:24 pm
@skopskiet:
you are a bimbo in short pant…
4 Dec 2009, 22:24 pm
@Robzim: On a woman of all things, I will tell Carol that you say hi
4 Dec 2009, 22:26 pm
The little black girl asked her if she really supported soccer, and she almost did a back flip before she caught herself, seriously what she know about soccer? I reckon even Haile Gebreselassie probably supports soccer little more though he’s no Hollywood film star so he don’t have the gift of the gab to get himself out of trouble. John Smit did fine. Beckham was nervous. Charlize held it together but she was the wrong choice for that gig.
4 Dec 2009, 22:29 pm
Johannesburg – Prepare to be disappointed, South Africans. One of the world’s leading sports economists says you’re not going to get rich hosting next year’s World Cup.
There’ll be no economic bonanza, according to a new book, and if experience matches the last World Cup in Germany, spending by visitors will be much less than the South African government shelled out preparing for the tournament.
“The next World Cup will not be an airplane dropping dollars on South Africa,” authors Stefan Szymanski and Simon Kuper write in the book “Soccernomics.” The caveat comes just ahead of Friday’s World Cup draw in South Africa, six months before football’s showpiece tournament.
Using data analysis, history and psychology, the book debunks dozens of myths about what it takes to win, and who makes money in football – and in sports in general.
“The problem for South Africa is that they have to spend quite a lot to build stadiums,” Szymanski said in a telephone interview from London. “Germany could afford this, and it had stadiums anyway. But South Africa is a nation that can ill afford to fritter away a few billion on white elephants.”
Following the 2002 World Cup, for instance, South Korea’s K-League had difficulties filling the 10 new stadiums built for the tournament at a cost of more than $2bn.
The book’s argument is that hosting a World Cup or Olympics is an inefficient way to revitalise a city, or enrich a nation – especially one like South Africa, where a third of the population lives on under $2 a day. It can boost a nation’s morale or image, but not much else.
“If you want to regenerate a poor neighborhood, regenerate it,” Szymanski and Kuper write. “If you want an Olympic pool and a warm-up track, build them. You could build pools and tracks all across London, and it would still be cheaper than hosting the Olympics.”
from news 24 interesting…
4 Dec 2009, 22:29 pm
@JL1:
Cool, tell her to stop supporting the bulls as well.
Maybe she will listen to u.
I have tried hard but failed.
Even Grant has failed.
You are our last hope.
4 Dec 2009, 22:30 pm
How was Schuster? Another famous celebrity. He was always a bit dodgy, but started moving into some really avant guarde territory when he used that wee black dwarf as a sidekick.
@skopskiet:
I beg to differ. She fits in anywhere. She’s down to earth and just is herself.
You always are so judgmental of any Saffa that goes abroad and makes something of their life. You’re the ultimate Mr.Pull ‘em Down.
The irony is that you have more of a laager mentality than you realise. Check in the mirror.
You will never let things just be. You have a better way. Leave your ego at the door and people may just like you.
Ohhh, but you don’t want that. To be loved and accepted??? Nah, you want your form of victimhood forever and the need to justify and condemn. It makes you feel “safe”.
Get a life granddad. Your kids must have had a hard time with you.
@skopskiet:
who was the right choice know it all?
4 Dec 2009, 22:31 pm
poor Gunther I’ve gone n slated his pin up idol goddess
4 Dec 2009, 22:33 pm
@skopskiet:
not at all its just that you always seem to know better …. whilst knowing nothing at all… the ultimate backseat driver…
4 Dec 2009, 22:36 pm
@gunther:
Its irritating,I lived there for 3 yrs and i aint got one.Spoke Zulu in doors all the times
My Aunt has lived in the states for 25 yrs and is married with kids with an American and she has no accent.Maybe a few words but no accent.All her kids know isiZulu,they speak it at home.
Vosloo has lived in the Sates for over 15 yrs as well….ummm nada fake accent.
Would have gotten Lucas Radebe to be MC
No need for supposed “eye candy” to be MC
4 Dec 2009, 22:38 pm
whats with you poor freaks. charlize Theron was totally out of place in that African World cup setting you got your pipe *** knickers in a twist about f.all. Can’t stomach a little objectivity cause the poor Benoni bimbo is white or whats your beef exactly. I’m sure she’s a sweet little lassie from the East rand but she was out of place in that setting and she was embarrassing with her yankee drawl.
4 Dec 2009, 22:39 pm
yeah good point, where was radebe, he captained leeds.
gary bailey, the cat, was one of man u’s best goalies.
even that mass-*** zimbo liverpool goalie would have been a card.
or they could have got the godfather, the wahl bartman of SA soccer, jomo sono.
4 Dec 2009, 22:41 pm
jomo in his prime had a boep like flippie van der merwe, but he had skills.
4 Dec 2009, 22:41 pm
@mshiniwami: MShini, Lucas could never have appealed to overseas audiences like Charlize did.Go onto the BBC website blog or any other covering the draw and read the plaudits for her. Man she even had a great stab at the French in the practice draw when she drew France and called out Ireland.
4 Dec 2009, 22:42 pm
@cab: And give credence to the Saffer image of being boring and conservative.
4 Dec 2009, 22:43 pm
Charlize towered above all the pretenders
No reason to fight about it – she is one of us after all.
We should be proud of her.
Anyway before I get too involved I had better get a good nights sleep for rugby tomorrow.
@Robzim: Yes that sht must stop immediately
4 Dec 2009, 22:44 pm
@bananaboy:
who Lucas? the poms loved him, great captain.
4 Dec 2009, 22:45 pm
aaghhu know what,keep your benoni starlet on that misguided pedestal.
simple fact is that she didnt come off well in the hosting(the little bit ive seen) plus many times before today she hasnt.
Great actress,great life in the States,great for her.
but Patriotism to SA aint high on her agenda,neither is speaking Afrikaans or perpetuating anything African.
Otherwise seems like a nice lady.
4 Dec 2009, 22:46 pm
@cab: Only Leeds supporters loved him and have you ever been to Leeds? – where are they now by the way, fell 3 divisions in 4 years.
4 Dec 2009, 22:46 pm
@mshiniwami:
there are always examples and counters… I sat next to Miriam Makeba once on a plane from Paris….no sa accent there….
nextr time I am sure that fifa an the loc will ask for your input…
@skopskiet:
its the world cup draw ….its about showbusiness…the soccer comes later…
almost half a billion people around the world watched it..
how many of them have heard heard of Lucas?
I am sorry if thist upsets you…
4 Dec 2009, 22:47 pm
goodnight folks
4 Dec 2009, 22:48 pm
A proper African would have been the right choice not an American Hollywood tinseltown candy floss bimbo that knows very little about soccer. Our little black girl that opened the show was a whole lot better than her by miles and then some, and she don’t have all her fancy acting pedigree neither.
Now this unimportant discussion has really gone over the edge of any significance at all. They chose Charlize and I found it a poor choice, she didn’t fit the bill. Klaar.
4 Dec 2009, 22:48 pm
@Robzim:
it seems she is not african enough…although she is proudly south african…
4 Dec 2009, 22:49 pm
hell everyone in the soccer world knows who lucas radebe is.
go into any roundball pub and ask the pissed yobbo betwee pie bites, and he’ll know all about lucas, charlize they’d have no idea other than ‘phwoar cracker, show us yere baps’.
4 Dec 2009, 22:51 pm
tinseltown candy floss bimbo that knows very little about soccer. Our little black girl that opened the show was a whole lot better than her by miles and then some, and she don’t have all her fancy acting pedigree neither.
yes lets choose her for a global audience of half a billion people..
I am done with this….
4 Dec 2009, 22:52 pm
look, its worth fighting over the rugby, but not charlize, i’m off…
4 Dec 2009, 22:54 pm
@gunther:
Hhhayi cha,unamanga.Utter rubbish.
The late Mariam Makeba was as African as they come,still had a deep set african accent to a large extent and spoke Zulu,Tshwana,Pedi fluently.Plenty of her songs were in native languages.
last line of ur reply is petulant behaviour/response at best.Nobody is belittling Theron’s success etc,she just didnt fit in today and in many other instances/events.
Its an opinion
4 Dec 2009, 22:56 pm
@gunther:
Yip, it pisses me off too – our only true real international star but still not good enough?
Nothing u can do about it?
4 Dec 2009, 22:59 pm
@mshiniwami:
I am not sure what you said there…but maybe your conversation with her was different…
I am aware of her reportoire…imo she is the greatest south african musician of all time..
Its an opinion ….agree to disagree…
4 Dec 2009, 22:59 pm
Hows it gents… They did’nt invite me to the draw but watchout for 2018… and who the Fck is Charlize Theron ( Racist Twat who refused to kiss Will Smith) and John Smit…compared to a real SA hero.. The Almighty, the most tenacious Mfker to walk the Earth… Shaaaaun Langenhoven
4 Dec 2009, 23:01 pm
@Robzim:
what can you do… like turbo reverse grant says….when is bing south african enough…I must say i would have loved to have NZ in our group …
all blacks by 15 tomorrow?
4 Dec 2009, 23:04 pm
@gunther:
Agree to Disagree
Fair Enough
4 Dec 2009, 23:11 pm
@gunther:
Yip, I miss the Kiwi’s, lovely people, I take them any time before mexico or the flipping frogs.
They will demolish the poor barabarians tomorrow as well.
But it is rugby?!
4 Dec 2009, 23:12 pm
@gunther: After two of you said AB’s by 15 that is what I went for on superBru, but will be shouting for your Saffa Barbarians at Twickenham tomorrow!
@Robzim: Heheheheh – “Maak die Bulle almal Bokke” – I am a Bulls Girl now, unless Percy is drafted back to The Stormers!!
I could change my position if that were the case!
Any news of Percy these days?
4 Dec 2009, 23:13 pm
@Robzim: I see Nick Mallett is a bit “worried” !!
4 Dec 2009, 23:15 pm
@gunther: Lucas who????
4 Dec 2009, 23:21 pm
SA should remember that the world cup is 90% party and 10% football… The conventions centres should be pumping out the jams… night clubs and hostess clubs should prepare for an absolute windfall…
4 Dec 2009, 23:22 pm
@carol: Die Bulle like the current Boks will regress over the next couple of years. Unless gameplan is modified remember Habana was half of the kick ‘n chase strategy.
@carol: Selective Amnesia..??? as usual
@carol:
Pertaining to Sa
go ask 30 million saffas who dont have DStv who Charlize is,theyll say who u talking about??? Ask them who Lucas Radebe,theyll tell how many caps he captained bafana
4 Dec 2009, 23:23 pm
@Robzim:
the babas will have been pissing it up for the whole week..
they will be worse than useless..
4 Dec 2009, 23:24 pm
yeah but carol lets face it…there cant be too many gooners in cheltenham.
4 Dec 2009, 23:26 pm
tho i suppose who knows, could be a veritable knees up on weekends, lock stock*3smoking barrels, oi geyser, oi oi oi, oi….
4 Dec 2009, 23:27 pm
@mshiniwami: Carol has never met a black Saffa… SHe does not believe that we exist..lol
4 Dec 2009, 23:28 pm
Charlize actually admitted on the show she knows fckall about the game. At least she should have done a little research on SA soccer and the wc.
4 Dec 2009, 23:31 pm
By the way people why is the BaaBaas game so important. I always thought that it wwas never about the result but the actual rugby played (in festive spirit). Am I missing something?
4 Dec 2009, 23:35 pm
@Shakes:
nope, you right, its the spirit, but a baabaas invite is always a pretty special thing where the best from different countries play together for the spirit of the game – should be intertesting tomorow = tho one suspects the ABs are too well drilled – might be alot bigger gap than it looks, but the baabaas team is pretty damn incredible.
4 Dec 2009, 23:37 pm
@Shakes: Typical of the twats that run Safa.. Still looking to affirm themselves next to white people..as if that is the ultimate. I do use the K word on people like that… Funny enough Irvan Khoza also described someone in that context. I believed he was justified in using the term when describing an idiot journalist… Me and the brother share a some views. Long Live
4 Dec 2009, 23:43 pm
@Shakes: Really!!
@Langenhoven: What did I forget?
@cab: Cab I have no idea what a ‘gooner’ is, care to explain?
@mshiniwami: Oh, Lucas is a soccer player!! Bet he has a better haircut than Beckham!!
@Langenhoven: I have met a black Saffa, really sorry to burst your bubble!!
4 Dec 2009, 23:45 pm
@Shakes: That is why I am going!!
If the players see it as an honour, that is great, how often would they get to share a changing room/beer/captain??
4 Dec 2009, 23:45 pm
@Langenhoven: I cannot agree with the use of the K word though. Not even in those circumstances just for what it meant and signified period. I would have given the job to either Vuyo Mbuli or Redi Direko.
4 Dec 2009, 23:47 pm
186. carol@carol: Care to share that experience???
4 Dec 2009, 23:47 pm
@carol:
lol, i guess thats my point, how you going to know who lucas is? you a rugby lass, not roundball.
a gooner is the colloqial term given to a supporter of the arsenal football team who enjoy the usual wide boy reputation and all that. not sure what the leeds lot are called actually.
4 Dec 2009, 23:52 pm
@Shakes:
agree with that…bullshit word that in SA usage under any shape or form.
4 Dec 2009, 23:53 pm
@carol: Why the shock Carol. It was plain for all to see who stuffed up our EOYT by kicking almost everything over the deadball line.
4 Dec 2009, 23:53 pm
@Shakes: I would be a racist if I believed that only white people could be twats… so there are a few black people that fit into a category that could best be decsribed by the K word…
4 Dec 2009, 23:56 pm
@Shakes:
She made it in the real world – no quotas or any priveleges involved, only her talent.
They paid her to do the gig, she is the star, what is your problem with her?
She own’s us nothing man.
4 Dec 2009, 23:56 pm
@Langenhoven: Even twats are not deserving of that label. It is best left in the archives mate.
4 Dec 2009, 23:57 pm
@Langenhoven: Not with you, you twist everything to a very wierd racial stance!!
Surely you have lived in England for long enough to know that we are not that fussed if someone is pink, white, black, orange (Gavin Henson)….whatever.
You are generally categorised by your personality here!!
Do you have any friends by the way ?
4 Dec 2009, 23:59 pm
@cab: I thought they were the ‘Gunners’- what do I know about football?
5 Dec 2009, 00:00 am
nah i dont see the problem with old charlize, but perhaps they trying a bit too hard to impress with glamour and should have just got old Des Tutu – Des can handle anything, tho am not sure he;s kicked a ball in his life, and it might take 12 hours to get thru his speech.
5 Dec 2009, 00:01 am
@Robzim: Robbo no problem with her personally, just my opinion that there is no fit. I see the theme as showcasing Africa and giving exposure to (hidden) African talent.
Give me a break. The only reason Africa is hosting a World Cup is the industry, engenuity, and vigor of Charlize’s ancestors. Celebrate the White Tribe of Africa.
@Shakes: Maybe you are right… we should just categorise them all as twats..and only twats.. There should be equality in Twat World
@carol:
LMAO – you worse than my sister. hopeless.
they are the gunners, but a gooner is a slang term for their fans.
What is wrong with you people
Charlize had to lose the accent for her career, she’s trained herself out of her Benoni drol and has lived in the states for 15 years now.
She makes regular visits to SA fronting anti rape drives and even dedicated her oscar to SA.
The world cup draw was watched by 250 million people, the target audience is not the 30 million black South Africans with no DSTV.
You fella’s get over yourselves, Charlize is a white, its no big deal.
5 Dec 2009, 00:03 am
@Shakes: Oh well, cheer up……You guys can now plan next season and give old PDV and his cronies some advice on how to improve the team!!
5 Dec 2009, 00:03 am
It’s possible to be white…and fully African.
5 Dec 2009, 00:04 am
@haribaldi:
you thinking albinos?
5 Dec 2009, 00:05 am
@cab: I did go and see Swindon Town play once…..
Once was enough, even though I went with someone I fancied!!
5 Dec 2009, 00:05 am
@carol: 22% of white Britons see the BNP as an option… you don’t read much do you… TRy and read a bit more than the Daily Mail darling
5 Dec 2009, 00:06 am
@Langenhoven:
Whatsup Shawn?
Carol is cool, give her a break, there is no racism there.
I bet you wish you were in CT tonight, downing beers with Grant etc in the best city in the world.
The cousin still ok??
5 Dec 2009, 00:08 am
@Langenhoven: You probably have never had the chanace to meet someone like me, so it would be a mistake to put me in your box ‘luvvie’!!!
Never assume!!
5 Dec 2009, 00:09 am
@carol:
Swindon Town, good god i think they were like 4th division.
yeah some of the games atmosphere are pretty good fun tho.
all i can say is that poor referee, you have got to be in a tight spot to want to be a roundball referee.
5 Dec 2009, 00:11 am
@Robzim: Rob, because I am English and white why does Shaun ‘assume’ I am a racist?
He is just SO narrow minded!!
5 Dec 2009, 00:11 am
@Waz: I did not have to lose my accent for my career.. but I accept that I probably sound a bit different because I am exposed to English accents all the time..but you certanly don’t need to change your accent. I have no problem excusing my accent when people cannot understand what I am saying… so do the Irish and the Welsh and the scottish and the Geordies
5 Dec 2009, 00:16 am
i think charlize accent has taken on such changes that its probably not put on, probably had to go to a voice coach and all that – dunno what is so fancy about the yankee accent in any case – its terrible and they mangle english. the boksburg/benoni accent is far nicer, i know, cos i have one.
5 Dec 2009, 00:17 am
@Langenhoven: Heres the thing… When Charlize went for her first casting sessions she was told that at all costs she had to lose the accent otherwise she had no future in her chosen career. Its actually not that big a deal, after all look at her now.
5 Dec 2009, 00:18 am
@carol:
You know, if you and Shawn must meet in real life the 2 of you will get along quite well.
Anyway, this place is a bit phoney, so don’t worry.
I even founded some common ground with JL1 tonight.
Charlize Theron!!
5 Dec 2009, 00:19 am
@cab: Perhaps Swindon Town was a bad introduction to football!!
The fans were ‘salt of the earth’!!
5 Dec 2009, 00:19 am
@Robzim: I watched the draw at a pub close to work..The vibe in London is always good.. I sense dishonesty with Carol… Remember I look at peoples choices rather than what they say..
I spoken to the cousin for a while.. she has sent me a few emails (Funnies).. I will give her call tommorow
@carol: I have met many people Carol.. You find that racist twats of RT entertaining.. that says a lot
5 Dec 2009, 00:21 am
@Langenhoven: Sorry, could you repeat that I did not understand a word!!
5 Dec 2009, 00:21 am
Cheers all out of here.
5 Dec 2009, 00:23 am
@Langenhoven: @Robzim: Sorry rob.. Meant to say… I have not spoken to the cousin
@Robzim: I’m sure if you met JL1 you would find a great guy, good sense of humour and very bright…..good company.
However, Shaun is determined to dislike me….!!
@carol:
i’m sure they very nice, was just pulling your leg.
i just found it amusing when you said you did not know lucas.
you getting quite serious these days, suppose the keo boys dont let up.
5 Dec 2009, 00:25 am
@carol: Excuse my accent then… Our choices defines us
5 Dec 2009, 00:28 am
@Langenhoven: Shaun, speak as you find…if you find me dishonest well that is your choice, you obviously are a poor judge of character.
Don’t slag off my RT friends either.
Tell me, this bragging thing you do……what is it about, it makes you sound such a to$$er??
@Shakes: See you…
@carol: YOu are dishonest Carol… I reserve the right to dislike dishonest people.
5 Dec 2009, 00:33 am
@cab: Cab, it is not me getting serious, the Keo Night Owls used to be such a laugh, then Hater and old Shaunie here managed to really mess the site up!!
You probably noticed!!
5 Dec 2009, 00:34 am
@carol: NOt bragging… just a display of confidence… Something that apartheid and racism had attempted to destroy…
5 Dec 2009, 00:35 am
@Langenhoven: Shaun, you have such a chip on your shoulder!!
Cheer up…..!!
5 Dec 2009, 00:38 am
@carol:
different strokes, besides i thought the night owls were chatting elsewhere these days, tolerance.
shaun and hater have there reasons but perhaps sometimes overkill and too many judgements allround, but who knows.
i’m off too. Soda should be around shortly, he knows about leeds. later.
5 Dec 2009, 00:41 am
@Langenhoven: 229 – aparthied and racism are hateful. It is terrible for anyone to live through or with this…….Glad you are out of it!!
Think before you speak to me though!
5 Dec 2009, 00:44 am
@carol: Chip on the shoulder??? A phrase redefined by apologist of racist behaviour???
Remember I am the one with the exaggerated ego???,, Bit of a contradiction??
5 Dec 2009, 00:44 am
@cab: The Night Owls are now split in two…..
RT very relaxed sort of site, still enjoy my Keo mates too!!
See you CAB….
I’m out too
5 Dec 2009, 00:47 am
@carol: YOu will never know… and I always think before I speak to you.. I do have a problem with you..
5 Dec 2009, 00:49 am
@Langenhoven: Shaun, stop being a misery guts….smile, count your blessings…….. You know your fantastic good looks, wonderful job, swooning women, shopping opportunities!!
Life is good, stop whinging at me….”I ain’t bovvered”!!
Oh yes good night…
5 Dec 2009, 00:53 am
I am out too… But we all should remember that this site was intended to illuminate white rugby players and degrade black rugby players… The owners of this site are confirmed racist twats who refuse to engage in open debate… Destroying their vision of white springbok team is my goal… While they try to sell white supremacy, I will always be around to counter them..
Long live the spirit of no surrender
5 Dec 2009, 00:54 am
@Langenhoven:
@carol:
You guys will get along quite well in real life, no doubt about about it.
Shawn, Carol is not the devil, she never experienced the sh#t we had in this country, give her some slack.
Catch a wave, it is cool.
5 Dec 2009, 01:06 am
@Langenhoven:
I dont think any of that is true.
Keo, the original designer of this site, was always very much in favour of transformation and blew the whole Geo-gate thing wide open. Not only do they allow open debate but they allow you, with no small measure of tolerance, your obvious baiting and crusading. In fact, they allow your denegradation and indeed alienation of others to such an extent that it affects their site. So i think thats a little rich to be honest.
5 Dec 2009, 01:12 am
@bananaboy: No blasphemy here tonight please.
And you to Shunter – the Benoni accent has serious pull with Cape Town girls.
5 Dec 2009, 01:14 am
@cab: Aye. Double aye. Fk gotta be the bane of Keo.
5 Dec 2009, 01:17 am
@SodaJoe:
WTF are u and the French legion talking about
5 Dec 2009, 01:23 am
@SodaJoe:
ahh the benoni bandit…
5 Dec 2009, 01:27 am
@gunther: @Robzim: Evening ladies.
5 Dec 2009, 01:29 am
shaun is a good guy, perhaps this tactic of shock and awe is as a social service provided by shaun to unmask the hidden racist lurking within, but sometimes ppl will give that just to piss another off and then some. It then just becomes silly, and there is no open honest meaningful discussion which has ever taken under those defensive conditions.
5 Dec 2009, 01:31 am
This is quite interesting. Especially for you Shunts. Gary Gold’s blog. Long read so you can save it maybe, his blog is rugbyIQ.com – kind of the opposite to Keo.
My take is this – bollocks – we need quality ball, not be saved by Spies’ good hands.
I wish we had more serious discourse about rugby instead of slating a true, beautiful, successful, intelligent woman.
But for all the near hi-jacking of Keo I do come back because you guys are here.
Facing the real problems
December 3rd, 2009
Good day to you, rugbyiq.com friends! What a year we’ve had… Unfortunately, it didn’t end too well for us with a defeat to Ireland, and there seem to be a few question marks over our side – in particular our scrum. This week, as promised, I will attempt to show you just where the Springbok scrum stands in relation to our opposition from 2009.
First up, it was obviously very disappointing to have come back from the tour having won just one of our three Tests in November.
It is post-mortem time, as it would have been had we come back with a 100% winning record, but we do now at least have the time to reflect on just where it went wrong for us – in particular in Toulouse and Dublin.
Hopefully, we will rectify those mistakes in our post-mortem process, and for that very reason I would like to respectfully disagree with those comments suggesting that we could not have learnt anything from this tour.
On the contrary, as painful as losing is, it is unfortunately when one tends to learn the most – possibly because we may tend to analyse our faults deeper off the back of defeats. On reflection, and I am sure Peter and **** will agree with me, we have certainly learned more from our two defeats out of two visits to the northern hemisphere in the last year, than we did from the four wins…
It would very naive and arrogant of us, as coaches and no doubt the players too, if we did not take away plenty of food for thought, from this tour. I can tell you that we have and – as I mentioned above – we will be looking to fix those errors next year.
In last week’s blog – in the build-up to the Ireland Test – I had a look at the various selections in our starting XV. I alluded to John Smit’s move from tighthead back to hooker, saying it was not because he had failed in the No.3 shirt, but rather because of the match situation (our opposition and because of injuries).
As promised, I intend to illustrate further this week just why his move to prop is certainly not the disaster made out by all and sundry and, at the same time, why I think the hype around the Springbok scrummaging abilities – or rather the supposed lack thereof – is slightly off the mark and is possibly being over-played.
However, before I get down to this, let me stress in the harshest way possible; I do not believe that our scrum is the most powerful in the world and I will admit that we have not been firing on all cylinders or certainly to the level that we would have wanted to. I have no doubt, however, that we can improve our scrum and that is something high on our agenda ahead of the 2010 international season.
Before we touch on the scrums, it is important that I share with you some facts from international matches that have taken place this year – in order for you to get an holistic view of what actually happens in modern-day Test rugby, and hence where I believe our serious coaching energy should be placed.
Here goes:
- On average, there are 60-70 breakdowns (i.e. rucks, mauls, etc) on attack during a Test match.
- There are, on average, 65-75 ball-carries per Test match. That means our players will enter a contact situation – where a player either passes, off-loads or goes to ground (and then has to recycle the ball) – sixty-five to seventy times in 80 minutes. (Well, actually the ball is in play for 40 minutes only, but let’s not get totally pedantic – I think you know what I mean!)
- Whether we like it or not, there are on average, 30/40 kicks in every Test match; kicks to clear our line, but also those that need to be chased and hopefully retrieved. Those kicks, in turn, play their part in ensuring we can have between 17-20 lineouts, on our own ball, per game.
- Also, on average, each team out there needs to make about 85 to 95 tackles per Test match.
- And, finally, when it comes to scrums, there are on average, some eight to ten scrums in Test matches at present.
Do you see now what I am getting at? Do you see which areas significantly affect the outcome of a match and those that do not have as significant a bearing, although all are still incredibly important?
Against France, for instance, our ball runners lost the ball in contact 10 times. TEN TIMES we just handed the French ball whilst we were on attack, so in turn our defence was totally disorganised. Ten times… that is more individual turnovers than scrums we had in that entire game (we had nine scrums against France) – clearly we need to improve that facet of our game. (In the 2009 Super 14, 50% of ALL tries came from turnovers – it makes sense why, it is when one’s defence is at its least organised.)
At the same time, in order to become a more consistent and world-class team we need to cut down our high penalty count. Against France, we had a penalty count of 5 v 13 (against us) – with 12 points coming from those 13 penalties in a game we eventually lost 15-20. Again, we have to be ruthless on our discipline, especially in our own 22m where most world-class kickers will punish you. This fact is also slightly skewed, because we thought Wayne Barnes was particularly harsh on us – but hey, cowboys don’t cry, and there was no way he got 13 penalties wrong.
We also need to take our try-scoring opportunities better. Points-scoring opportunities do not come around that often in Test match rugby – a world-class team needs to take its opportunities in the ‘red zone’ (in the opposition 22), as we did so regularly during the Tri-Nations, or at least convert 95% of the opportunities into points. An example of taking one’s chances came in the Test against France when we had a vital lineout five metres from the French line. I have no doubt we could have driven over from there, but we lost the lineout… and thereby the match.
As a coaching staff we are certainly not against criticism – as long as it is constructive and valuable and, most importantly, accurate and specific about where we are falling short.
Alright then, back to the scrums, have a look at the table below. The table, basically, is a summary of all the Test-playing nations we played against in 2009 (except the B&I Lions, as they are not a regular Test-playing country, and we all know how we fared at scrum time against them) – explaining how our scrum has progressed according to theirs.
Funnily enough, and possibly the most painful irony of the year, is it seems that most pundits out there thought our scrum was excellent against Ireland – yet we still ended up losing the match. How ironic that this should be the case in the week when I am attempting to highlight exactly how significant a dominant scrum is.
Again, before I continue, I have to stress once again – scrummaging is important in the modern-day game, but it is not the most telling facet of play. Yes, a strong scrum could certainly give you a psychological advantage during a match, of that their is no doubt.
The table below begins by showing the amount of scrums awarded (pack) versus ball actually fed (i.e. successful scrums that were not reset) and it also shows how much ball we were able to play off (ball out).
CLICK HERE for the table!
As you can see by the table we need to improve the amount of ball we actually play off – we need to get that percentage up to 92%+ at least (currently on 89.5). Interestingly, Italy have the best success rate in terms of the amount of ball they play off, 95.1%, but unfortunately had been winless in their last ten outings before beating Samoa this past weekend.
Significantly, however, we are second on the list in terms of actually getting the ball out – i.e. the least re-sets. Of course, it’s nothing to boast about, but it does show just how small the margins are in international rugby, yet it is significant that Australia are clearly the worst. This suggests, as has been suspected for years, that Australia are perennial scrum collapsers should they not get the hit they require, and have the most resets.
So as mentioned earlier, we have managed to play off 89.5% of our scrum ball, which means we have not off 10.5% of our ball, as I have already said this figure does need to improve by at least 3-4%, but it is also interesting to have a look at the same facts on all opposition ball; that is when it is our opponents’ scrum, and we are defending. That fact interestingly shows that our opponents, off 130 scrums against us, were able to play off 88.5% – which means we were able to turnover 11.5% of opposition ball. A memorable example was our scrum that turned over the All Blacks in Durban which led to Fourie du Preez picking up the ball and playing Morné Steyn who scored on the left-hand side of the uprights and, in turn, won us the game. Without getting too caught up in numbers, it is interesting that we can play off more ball than we allow our opposition to play off, albeit only 1%.
I do believe, however, that the quality of our scrum ball, which is not illustrated in any stats table, can improve significantly with an accurate set-up, quicker hit and a more powerful leg-drive. That improvement would then be able to give Fourie a better quality of ball for our backs to run onto and, in turn, will necessitate the opposition loose forwards being bound for longer – thus making our ability to break or penetrate the advantage line more significant. That, I concede, is not happening enough at present, and am the first to admit we really do need to improve that aspect, because quality scrum ball is great ball to attack off.
I hope these examples have allowed you some deeper understanding behind the perceived scrumming woes in the Bok side.
Some people might accuse me of being over-defensive… I am not. I have truly tried to be as honest and objective as possible, by using these facts, I hope one can now see that, although we need to improve, we are not losing Test matches because of our supposedly ‘dire scrum’.
Before I sign off this week, I must just add this: When we started our coaching website at the end of last year, our aim was (and still is!) to produce a coaching aid for aspiring coaches, players and supporters who want more in-depth information and, possibly – dare I say it! – even to assist the odd learned journalist who honour us by visiting this very website.
This site is a forum to debate the game at an intellectual level – dealing in hardcore facts, and not emotions driven by whether one’s team wins or loses, and not at all because we think we know more than anybody else – hence the name RugbyIQ.
To those of you who continue to visit rugbyiq – even if you do not agree with our views, which you are very welcome not to! – we humbly appreciate your visits to our site and hope you can share your views with us, whether you agree with us or not.
But we will do all in our power for this website to remain one where all of us rugby-lovers can debate the merits of the game without needing to be abusive, facetious or personal about any team or individual who loves this great game of ours, there are enough ‘Jerry Springer-esque’ websites out there for that…
Until next time,
GG
5 Dec 2009, 01:32 am
@cab: I think he is without doubt that most boring person ever to slobber pretentious self-inflated drivel on Keo. I honestly despise him.
5 Dec 2009, 01:33 am
@SodaJoe: Actually CHAZ is a close competitor.
5 Dec 2009, 01:35 am
You guys are all obviously reading the wisdom of Gary Gold. Or furiously visiting RugbyIQ – the site that is not the “Jerry Springer” of rugby websites.
5 Dec 2009, 01:37 am
Xkreni is the Chaz of SA.
5 Dec 2009, 01:38 am
lol, you old gentleman, never a bad word to say about the ladies hey?
Nice that you and Rob and Boerboel and a few others are still around to balance all the malarchy and keep it all steering straight.
5 Dec 2009, 01:41 am
@cab: Take off your beret. How was Normandy by the way? That is where you went to avoid persecution by jubilant French rugby fans?
5 Dec 2009, 01:42 am
@SodaJoe:
Beret my arse, closest i have is a bagette pointing out my trousers when charlize comes on. i am no gent.
5 Dec 2009, 01:44 am
@cab: That we know. Methinks a very small baguette. A mini little pointy end of un croissaint.
Bloody hell couldn’t believe the shite.
But The Chief – Cool Hand Luke – Lucas Radebe – he da man.
5 Dec 2009, 01:46 am
normandy was fine, but they were jubilant all over, a jubilant frog is not a pretty site, the one wee froggie i work with said they will kill the south africans, i laughed with *** abandon … unfortunately they did.
5 Dec 2009, 01:49 am
@cab: They really did. I always laugh when SA’s say we are going to “impose” ourselves against the French. They obviously have not encountered a bad tempered mean Frenck fkr down South. Big boys, stubbly, wide, Gitane and no grin.
5 Dec 2009, 01:50 am
@cab: Do you like cidre?
5 Dec 2009, 01:53 am
@SodaJoe:
you should not laugh, as soon as i saw him on monday, i imposed myself. but ja, the frenchies got some tough guys, there breakdown in their Top 14 is intense, got some good rugby this weekend, missed the game tonight.
yes cider is very nice, we had some traditional cider with a gallette or pan-cake like thing the other day, lekker, but soda there is not much i dont swallow.
5 Dec 2009, 01:56 am
@cab: Be careful bud, as your friend this may mislead an Australian “there is not much i dont swallow.”
I like cider too, must be nice and dry, and I like it over ice.
5 Dec 2009, 01:59 am
@SodaJoe:
yeah its actually very nice, as you say very dry – quite different from the crossbow and hunters back home.
5 Dec 2009, 02:00 am
@cab: Boet I have to go, and you’re up late. Au revoir. See you through the window.
5 Dec 2009, 02:02 am
@SodaJoe:
ja me too, talking kak, later.
5 Dec 2009, 14:29 pm
BaaBaa game? ;(