PdV: ‘I am the boss’
7 Dec 2009
SA Rugby magazine’s hard-hitting interview with the Springbok coach.
Your critics say that your technical knowledge of the game is poor, and that all the technical stuff surrounding the Boks’ game plan comes from your assistant coaches and the senior players. What’s your response to that?
I went to Wales to do my level-two coaching course, and paid my own way. The way it works is that you do the course and then go coach for another two years before you return to do the level-three course. I had just come back to South Africa when the Welsh Rugby Union called me and said they were so impressed by my technical knowledge of the game that they wanted me to do the next course straight away. I chose to do those courses in Wales, because I’ve always admired the great players they had in the ’70s, like Gareth Edwards and JPR Williams. I knew I would be working with equally talented players back in South Africa.
So you do make technical contributions in the Bok set-up?
Of course. When I said the All Blacks were scrumming illegally in last year’s Tri-Nations, I had video footage to back it up. No one else in the Bok squad had spotted it. The same thing happened when I questioned the Wallabies’ scrumming methods this year. I was the only person who saw what they were doing. I also make technical observations about other areas of the game, like lineouts and attack.
Do the senior Boks run the show as some have suggested?
Let me make one thing clear – I am the boss, I am the CEO of South African rugby.
In John Smit’s autobiography he explains how the coaches and the senior players meet the day after a Test to plot the way forward for the week ahead. Why did you decide to have such a democratic process?
A good CEO doesn’t make every decision on his own, he consults with other senior people in the company and gets their input. Why would I not want to listen to my assistant coaches and senior players like John and Victor [Matfield]? They all have something to offer. But the final decision on how we play rests with me.
There’s a rumour going around that Dick Muir made those controversial substitutions against the Lions in the first Test in Durban. True or false?
Let me explain. My voice isn’t suited to the radio we use [to communicate with the staff on the sideline] as I talk too quickly and my voice goes high and then low. Why would I want to talk when I can make use of Dick’s strong voice?
But does the message to make the substitutions come from you?
Yes.
So why did you make all those changes when the Boks were 19 points ahead and in complete control?
You know, if I could have done it over again, I would have made them earlier, because I could see the guys were getting tired and went into a defensive mode. By the time I brought the fresh legs on we couldn’t get out of that defensive mode.
Smit believes the Boks would have won by 25 points if those changes had not been made.
No, I don’t agree with him.
Do you regret the way you handled the Schalk Burger ‘eye-gouging’ episode after the second Lions Test in Pretoria?
No, I don’t.
Why didn’t you just tell the British and Irish journalists at the post-match press conference that you couldn’t comment until you had watched the video? In the end, Smit had to step in and say that.
Why should I have had to do that? The South African journalists in the room should have asked me what it was like to have beaten the Lions in a series. But you sat back and let them ask me those questions [about Burger]. You wanted to see me fail.
But you could have stopped their line of questioning yourself. Why rely on the local media?
No, you should have stopped them. You were all intimidated by them. I saw the look in your faces.
So you have no regrets at all about that press conference and the following one on the Monday?
I regret confusing the words ‘condone’ and ‘condemn’. If I had spoken to [the foreign media] in Afrikaans, I would have won that battle easily.
Then why didn’t you?
No, why man? I just got one word wrong.
Were you given a dressing down at that meeting with SA Rugby after the Lions series?
No, it was just a meeting to discuss the progress of the team. We had a similar meeting at the end of last year.
But you seemed to choose your words far more carefully at press conferences after that meeting. You were a changed man during the Tri-Nations.
I didn’t change. You [the media] changed because we were winning. I will never change. That’s why I say ‘I am who I am and I don’t give a damn’.
Why do you think the South African rugby media want you to fail?
Because your man didn’t get the job.
Who? Heyneke Meyer?
You said it, not me.
Do you think some of the media are racist?
You said it, not me.
Do they irritate you during press conferences?
I know that most of them have played rugby before, but I can tell by their questions that they haven’t played at a very high level. If it hadn’t been for apartheid, I would have played for the Boks.
Let’s go back to the beginning of your stint as Bok coach on the day you got the job. How did you feel when [Saru president] Regan Hoskins said your appointment was ‘not for purely rugby reasons’?
I don’t let the bad things in life affect me.
But how did you feel when you heard those words?
I felt nothing. Regan is entitled to his opinion and it didn’t bother me at all. I know I’m a good coach and that I deserve to be where I am today.
The Boks finished last in the 2008 Tri-Nations after starting the tournament as favourites. Why did you choose to abandon a structured approach for a more expansive one?
What laws were we playing under? We had to adapt our game because of the ELVs. I never said that I didn’t like structure, I said we would play total rugby. When I got the job as coach I said I wanted to take the Boks to the next level.
So you don’t regret adopting the game plan used last year?
No.
Then why the return to a more structured game plan in this year’s Tri-Nations if total rugby was the way to go?
The message came from me that we should kick more this year. Then because we had kicked so much [in the three home Tri-Nations Tests], we were able to surprise the Wallabies in Perth with a running game that resulted in four tries.
What was your lowest point of that somewhat difficult 2008 season?
The sex-tape story, which wasn’t true. I had to watch my 82-year-old mother cry.
Before you were appointed as Bok coach, there was talk that you’d pick 10 black players in the starting line-up if you got the job, yet you finished the Tri-Nations with only two black wings and a black Zimbabwean prop who wasn’t eligible when Jake White was coach. Have you failed in terms of transformation?
If a racist white guy voted for the National Party, but then changed his views after 1994, that is transformation. The Springbok team has been transformed because the colour of a player’s skin doesn’t matter anymore. I’m not going to pick black players to make up the numbers, because I will do them more harm than good.
But there were still only three players in the Bok starting XV. Isn’t that a concern?
Look, I think Adi Jacobs is the No 1 centre in the country, but he got injured and by the time he was fit Jean de Villiers and Jaque Fourie were doing well together so I couldn’t drop either of them. Ricky Januarie is an excellent scrumhalf, but I can’t drop Fourie du Preez. And Conrad Jantjes broke his leg earlier this season. We could have had six players of colour in the starting XV in different circumstances.
But you only had three which is why you were slammed by that transformation committee.
What have they done for the good of this country? What contribution have they made?
You’ve said that the Super 14 coaches are to blame for the lack of black players coming through. Do you stand by that?
Yes, they don’t think black players can make it at that level.
Would the situation be different if three of our five Super 14 coaches were black?
You said it, not me.
Do black players and coaches have to work twice as hard to get the same recognition and plaudits as their white counterparts?
Of course! I’ve had to work 10 times harder than any other white coach to get to where I am today. Why wasn’t I ever offered a coaching job at Super Rugby level?
Is there something wrong with the system when someone like Frans Ludeke, who failed dismally with the Cats/Lions, gets the Bulls job?
You said it, not me.
You have a high profile as Bok coach and earn a big salary. Has that changed you as a person?
I haven’t changed. I still live in the same house in the same area [in Paarl]. It will be hard for me to leave because I want the people in my area to be proud of the fact that they are living near the Bok coach. I still drive the same car that I had before I got the Bok job. It just needs to get me from A to B.
Do people you know expect more from you? Do they ever come and ask you for money to help them buy a car or pay off a loan?
No, do I look like a charity?
By Simon Borchardt
– This article first appeared in the November issue of SA Rugby magazine

494 Comments
7 Dec 2009, 08:04 am
Shame, poor guy. Easy on the Snor!
7 Dec 2009, 08:23 am
snoring Dragon
7 Dec 2009, 08:28 am
PDV…my advice….for what its worth….
Stamp your authority ….this player power has gone too far….the complacency and Boys club needs to be shook up.
Begin by moving Smit to 2…never again weaken our scrum, the domino effect hurts our loosies and backline, everyone suffers because you trying to accomodate Smit….its bull ****! Either Smit cuts it at 2…or becch…or retirement.
Start making all the calls and decisions, consult with the Assistant cpoach and skipper but this ‘senior boks’ committee meetings are poison!!
PDV has to prove these rumours wrong….if he is the boss lets start seeing it in practice….i am not convinced that there arent some substance to the rumours…..
7 Dec 2009, 08:41 am
What authority?
Helium snor is always good for a laugh.
I’ll tell you a secret Grant, the “player power” is keeping him his job. He is way out of his depth otherwise
7 Dec 2009, 08:51 am
Way to go PDV. You may yet prove to be our best coach ever. Nothing can be coached to players playing at international level. They have to be man managed and you are absolutly the best at that. The results show.
7 Dec 2009, 09:04 am
Wow.
So in one interview Snor has insulted the following people:
Heyneke Meyer
Frans Ludeke
Everyone who voted for the National party before (hence most of the white, rugby supporting public)
All of SA’s rugby journalists
Seems to me Snor has Heyneke Meyer and Frans Ludeke to thank for his recent successes and should be a tad more grateful in that regard.
And I see he thinks he would have played for the Boks if not for apartheid. Just like Cheeky Watson, I guess.
Massive Chip on this guy’s shoulder…
7 Dec 2009, 09:12 am
Huge Tac
In his responces in this interview it shows how much of a wanker PdV. And arrogant and rude.
And it’s hilarious when people are arrogant when they really have nothing to be arrogant about. Priceless. Top laugh. Surely helium cannot be serious with most of the drivel he sprouted here.
Deluded character. hahaha
7 Dec 2009, 09:13 am
This guy is letting his distaste of the media spill over into his public image. I can hardly believe SARU are still allowing this – he should rather just refuse all one-on-one interviews.
7 Dec 2009, 09:13 am
@Tacitus:
Insulted?
Really?
I see it as:
* Heyneke was their man (as he was mine) to take the job and there was a lot of pissed off people when he did not get it, and there was, still is, people who want to see him fail.
* Frans was damn lucky to get the job at the Bulls given his record at the Lions which was even worse than Chester’s if memory serves.
* He has taken a very simplistic view on transformation. I grew up in a white, predominantly Afrikaans speaking family during the 70′s and 80′s. I can say without a doubt that 99% of my family and extended family were racist where they, and even people in our school kept on warning us against the ‘Swart Gevaar’.
Since 1992 and the elections in 1994, I personally found that most of what was said, was absolute bullshit. So did I transform? Perhaps, perhaps not, but I certainly, with other members of my family, do not hold the same views as those held before 1992.
* Most SA journalists deserve the criticism they receive. You saw the reported articles and the transcripts that ran earlier this year and the difference between the two.
7 Dec 2009, 09:15 am
wow, don’t pull the race card much.
Adi Jacobs the No.1 center in the country?
You see, it’s belief and arrogance like that, that have people questioning your ability.
blaming the south african media for not helping You out at the post match press conference vs the Lions? Laughable pal. There weren’t only “white” journo’s there. There were black ones, and even, can you imagine….coloured ones too. Maybe even from Paarl? everyone was probably ducking the hottest topic which was the burger eye gouge unfortunately, right in front of the telly cameras and indefensible…..until you opened your trap.
question: if black players(blacks) have to work twice as hard……then why is the south african labour force one of the most unproductive on the planet?
….that is just a very convinient myth that makes people sleep better and provides an escape to accountability.
7 Dec 2009, 09:16 am
I see KEO needs hits again. Anyone who believes this **** needs serious help!!
7 Dec 2009, 09:17 am
Is this interview for real?
As I was reading it, i was thinking it was a satyrical take on PdV’s ridiculous interview skills.
7 Dec 2009, 09:18 am
OK, I’m out of here. This one could get ugly.
7 Dec 2009, 09:20 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl: “people questioning you ability” who are these people? the media?
7 Dec 2009, 09:22 am
@Tacitus:
You know what I am actually with you.
Dont have time for rubbish like this to be honest.
7 Dec 2009, 09:22 am
to misquote the infamous Julius Malema…
“we do not need the non-whites to think for us”
7 Dec 2009, 09:25 am
@theOracle:
anyone who has heard him speak or watched the Boks in 2008 tri-nations home leg.
7 Dec 2009, 09:25 am
@Tacitus: you’re halucinating again..ha ha ha go back to bed, dinosaur.
7 Dec 2009, 09:34 am
Again… I don’t know why posters are taking this so personally…
PdV was giving honest answers to questions… many of them loaded and aimed right at him…
So you disagree with his answers… then just say so… but all the insults and hate towards this man is crazy… maybe the posters do protesteth too much…!!!
Sure his answers may make people feel uncomfortable… but our past is an ‘uncomfortable’ one and to deny it is being dishonest… It’s is only by acknowledging the past that we can work towards a more just and positive future…
Of course PdV has had to work twice as hard as any white coach before him to gain acceptance from white supporters… Just look at the facts… we’ve just had perhaps our most successful year ever and people are still questioning his abilities or lack of them… What does the guy need to do? It may not have always been pretty but… under PdV we won a Lion’s Series and white-washed the all blacks…!! Look at the record of some of his predecessors … who never faced this sort of hateful criticism…
I think posts here ridiculing PdV and insulting him say way more about the posters than they do about PdV…
But hey guys… if the cap fits…???
7 Dec 2009, 09:36 am
@Tacitus: @PissAnt: I don’t think it will get that bad really… only fools will take the bait and I don’t see any around here.
7 Dec 2009, 09:36 am
Oh please . You said it, not me is just a thick and immature way to respond.
How childish… I though you yes above that Transie
7 Dec 2009, 09:41 am
I think PdV has only worked half as hard. The players run the team after all.
7 Dec 2009, 09:44 am
Anyway, PdV didnt show much brian capacity in this interview.
I thought he was wiser than that. Clearly I was wrong.
I hope this thread doesnt get out of hand. It shouldnt but you never know on here.
Anyway i’m outta here. Play nice kids
7 Dec 2009, 09:58 am
@WP_: @ 21, please look who is talking, check you first post & the one subsequent to it and you want to front on me about being “above” things. gtfoh, you don’t like the man’s answers then stew in you own personal quagmire, you have no steed to get perched on…
@ufo: well you know with Invictus on circuit everything that was sinister & vile about springbok rugby got “washed” during that ’95 “moment” so pdv’s answers are really un-PC for some.
7 Dec 2009, 10:06 am
@Tacitus: @PissAnt: Well spoken , How does Div HAve Meyer and even funnier ludeka to thank ? What next ? Please , dont be a d00s , First it was the players , Then Jake now Meyer and Ludeka ? Sorry to say this but it smacks of plain racism.
Get a another perceptive , take of the pre 92 tainted glasses !!
As a matter of interest , Does coaching certificatiosn/credentials does Ludeka have ?
LAstly , Simon is a &*^%$ . Div 10 – Simon – nil !! LOL
7 Dec 2009, 10:07 am
Trying to generate hits again KEO…what a chop. As mentioned earlier, we have a sordid past and PDV was expressing his views on it, no problem there since we all have our views on the past, some more blinkered than others.
As for the “if it wasn’t for apartheid…I would be a bok” quote, any idiot can see it was taken completely out of context and inserted into that answer because it had nothing to do with the question asked…again, idiot journo’s trying to sell copies of toilet paper masquerading as SA Rugby.
Those of you questioning some of the answers given should perhaps look more closely at the questions asked and see that he replied to those questions put to him. What more do you want him to do?
And finally…yes KEO and co…he is the boss…live with it.
7 Dec 2009, 10:08 am
@WP_: Must be that open secret reading between the line k@k u talking about hey !! Bet u like Steve Hoffmeyer as well.
7 Dec 2009, 10:11 am
“My voice goes high and then low…”
I’ve never heard the low part. It must be audible only to whales, I suppose?
7 Dec 2009, 10:14 am
@TheTackler: Bet you never saw the 3-0 part coming as well !!
7 Dec 2009, 10:24 am
You said it, not me.
7 Dec 2009, 10:25 am
@TheTackler: Thats a good one
7 Dec 2009, 10:27 am
Simon,
Who interviewed PdV?
On its face it looks a cheap fabrication for the following reasons:
PdV English language is poor, a grotesque dialect, and the interview’s stenogram certainly not Pdv’s vocabulary!
So please, could you enlighten us?
7 Dec 2009, 10:33 am
What was your lowest point of that somewhat difficult 2008 season?
The ***-tape story, which wasn’t true. I had to watch my 82-year-old mother cry.
LOL! … i’d also cry if i was this puz’s mother .. imagine the sounds he makes! ….
7 Dec 2009, 10:35 am
@Xhosaskid: Not even funny mate.
7 Dec 2009, 10:35 am
Pretoria – A man from a farm in the Roossenekal district in Mpumalanga has been “executed” with his own firearm in a revenge attack.
Gawie Hough, 42, was attacked two months after a former employee of his brother Deon, 41, threatened him with the words: “I’ll show you what I can do with a white man.”
This country is in its moer … Racism from my side only my ***! …
7 Dec 2009, 10:37 am
@WP_:
You don’t even know how to spell brain.
@Dantalian:
Yep, you said it, not me!!
7 Dec 2009, 10:39 am
stick it to these white d.ck heads Pdv, all of them, especially these little snot nosed prick journalists who think the sun shines out some white ******* between their legs. And he’s quite right, a black player or black coach needs to perform 100 times better than his white counterpart just to get the same recognition. Guess what, racism is still alive and well in post apartheid South Africa and especially in rugby circles. It breeds and infest’s itself in some twats who still can’t shake it, and its these same twats who still believe they better or superior due to some trick of nature which have them a white skin instead of a black one.
Yeah I.m talking to the likes of WP and the rest of those on here which list of names is just too long to mention. Your outright racism sticks out like one emaciated elongated indoctrinated fat white sore thumb.
7 Dec 2009, 10:43 am
These questions by SA rugby magazine are so disrespectful bodering on Racism.
This guy should be reported!!
The interviewer should be fired…in any first world country anybody asking stupid questions like this would have been fired.
7 Dec 2009, 10:43 am
I believe the fabricated interview was written by Kevin McCullum, the former rugby columnist of JHB’S The Star and now a SARFU Media advisor.
Interesting
7 Dec 2009, 10:46 am
pdv why you think them cats is hating on you? Cos they mans didn’t get the J.0
who, heyneke meyer?
You said it, not me!
@wallabie.:
@Hondo:
Simon did it.
He’s practising for his new appointment at Die SON.
This was an interrogation and if I was PDV I would have walked out after the first question.
what gives this pea brain interviewer the right to question someones own ability when they themselves cant do their job properly.
Shameful!!
7 Dec 2009, 10:47 am
I don’t understand what the point of the last question was?
@skopskiet: you said it, not me!. Seriously Skop, take a deep breath and just chill… no need to add fuel to the garbage some people are already spewing…
@wallabie.: you said it,not me!
“Do people you know expect more from you? Do they ever come and ask you for money to help them buy a car or pay off a loan?
No, do I look like a charity?
What the hell kind of a question is this.
Along with all the others.
My moer is already stooting this morning.
I’ve just been pushed over the edge.
7 Dec 2009, 10:51 am
This interviewer comes across as ignorant and arrogant. regardless how th show is being run the Boks are producing the results.
Much better than Jake White outside the RWC.
I would suggest this thread is removed.
7 Dec 2009, 10:51 am
@Dawn:
That’s #2 option, however, our Simon isn’t so knowledgeable in the art of PR, articulated PC, liberal writing of the The Star’s mold.
The stenogram is too meticulous and too professional to be Simon’s, I’d say it’s Kevin
7 Dec 2009, 10:52 am
This whole thing is such kuk.
I’m going over to the Keoling office and blow it up.
I know where they are.
7 Dec 2009, 10:53 am
@wallabie.:
Exactly Wallabie…then the press wonder why he dislikes them…IMO he actually put up with quite a bit of BS from his own press and he has handled it quite well recently.
Most of those questions are absolutely rubbish and they are there to bait the man.
7 Dec 2009, 10:53 am
These questions comes across as ‘you are just the tea boy you obviously couldnt have got these results’.
This is really shameful and I am surprised Keo allowed this to be put up.
This was a human being denigrating another!!
7 Dec 2009, 10:54 am
@Dantalian: the last question was distasteful to say the least..
7 Dec 2009, 10:55 am
@wallabie.:
We in the Republic have no expectations nor we set any acceptable standards for the like of PdV, Skop and the rest of the shebin brigade, this is a democracy at its purist state!
7 Dec 2009, 10:57 am
@Dawn: @theOracle: Agree.
7 Dec 2009, 10:58 am
@wallabie.:
For once I agree with you.
Dump the whole thing.
7 Dec 2009, 10:59 am
Just drop any of these manipulative senior bok’s if thats whats required to get fresh thinking into the setup, who practically have encrusted any hope of progress with their stuck fast attachment to staid old dead end rugby and move on. If they can’t step it up past this kick and chase dead beat dross then leave them behind and move on. And stop consulting them. Stamp some authority. If you want Pienaar at fly half or Jacobs at center stick with your decision, the committee consultations is probably whats confusing the whole setup. John Smit maybe got too much say and too much control over game plan and selections, if thats the case then the tails wagging the dog. Simply play best player in your mind per position no matter how deep or thick the pedigree or reputation runs, if its finished its finished.
7 Dec 2009, 10:59 am
I’m sending a mail now.
7 Dec 2009, 11:01 am
@Dawn:
Ask them while face the Keos where, when and by whom this interview was conducted!
I know a fabrication when I see one,
It does however serve to sort out the guys on this blog by their education and class, educated people will not buy such a publication without minimum ceredentials to go with it.
7 Dec 2009, 11:04 am
These questions show an inherent disrespect for PDV. In fact if it was me I would have sent Simon “in his moer”. Simon you phucking racist!
7 Dec 2009, 11:09 am
@wallabie.: Yeah, they provoked him, but he stepped right in it. I was shocked to see how deep seated PdV’s racism lies.
7 Dec 2009, 11:10 am
imagine if saru had appointed a “coconut” for a coach, dang he would’ve set us back a good 30 years! Thank goodness for the “God given talent that is pdv, (who) doesn’t give a damn”
7 Dec 2009, 11:11 am
@Xhosaskid: I’m sorry for what happened to Gawie Hough and his family…and I’m sure PDV would feel the same way if he knew what happened (I bring up PdV because I don’t think what happened to Gawie justifies your attack on PdV…or your understanding of PdV’s use of the word RACISM).
7 Dec 2009, 11:13 am
to all imperialists, colonialist and sorry ***, jealous white faces, who cant stand the fact that a black man is running sa rugby, up yours, eat it, digest it and may it never leave your body and mind. we as blacks are here to stay and we will usher in the new era and teach your morons how the game should be played. pieter is a mastermind, and the one thing i like about him is that he says it like it is and does not take sh@t from pale faces. open your racist brains, keo and all who feels the shoe fits you, i suppose suddenlly everbody wears one shoe size smaller now. i just love this interview, it just showcases the shallow and petty mindedness on these colonialists and how they cant stand the bog shot big boss comrade pieter. eat this your sorry asses!!!! LEKKE NE, WHEN POWER SHIFTS AND THERE IS NOTHING YOU CAN DO ABOUT IT!!
7 Dec 2009, 11:14 am
@King Shark:
There is no excuse for this interview it should not have happened at least with these questions.
Regardless of PDV answers it was poor from the interviewer…the interviewer is wrong here and not PDV answers.
7 Dec 2009, 11:18 am
@graeme1:
Gloating will get you nowhere + it tends to show ones inherent racism…pot, kettle?
7 Dec 2009, 11:19 am
@Graeme1 .. you po3s …. 95% of the Bok side is white …
95% of the Bull players are white ….
How do you get :
we as blacks are here to stay and we will usher in the new era and teach your morons how the game should be played.
Its guys like you that makes one see why there was apartheid.
Racist d00s
7 Dec 2009, 11:19 am
If Matfield and Smit are controlling the team then fire them. Them controlling the team is a sign of arrogance and them thinking they are bigger than SA rugby.
If this is their attitude they would have been gone in Mallets team in fact most other teams.
7 Dec 2009, 11:21 am
punk *** little whiter than white prick’s pulling this little White illustrious rugby wagon thinking they got some insight into this individual or this game they hold so religiously sacred to their lily white hearts.
Maybe the better thing to happen is Pdv just go ahead and pick a purely transformation side, 100% politically inspired. Then let the rest sink or swim by the wayside. They can all go play for top Euro’s in the top 14 or pounds sterling in Her Majesty’s Secret Service.
Beast
Maku
Nel
Bekker
Raubenheimer
Brussow
Moyiso
Johnson
Adams
Rose
Habana
De Jongh
Mapoe
JPP
Kirchner
Maybe thats a bit closer to true representation, maybe thats what all these ideologically driven rugby fundi’s and scribes like Gavin Rich and Simon Borchard would prefer to see. Maybe thats just what Pdv should do. Stick it to these dose where it hurts most and let them suck it up good.
The heading tells it’s own story.
“SA Rugby magazine’s hard-hitting interview with the Springbok coach.” and by lined by Simon.
That must be one of the most arrogant and vindictively patronising interviews I’ve ever had the misfortune to read. Hard hitting, it wasn’t. Amateurish and insultingly condescending is closer to the mark.
@graeme1: Eish boet! Calm down will ya?
7 Dec 2009, 11:22 am
@graeme1:
Seems like it’s just not the white colonialists that are racist then ?
You any better ?
7 Dec 2009, 11:24 am
@Hondo:
What you are witnessing is not a democracy…at least with the interview.
A democracy is first treating and respecting each other as equals and then allowing a person to speak their mind.
When that person speaks their mind they must first understand that they are speaking to an equal.
That is a democracy!!
Democracy is not loosing your views without caution and tact.
7 Dec 2009, 11:27 am
Has this edition of SA Rugby magazine already been printed.
7 Dec 2009, 11:27 am
@graeme1: Bet you think good old Julius will make a great President too?
7 Dec 2009, 11:28 am
@Xhosaskid: “Its guys like you that makes one see why there was apartheid.”
you must love the ANC government don’t you?
7 Dec 2009, 11:28 am
i was also wondering about this “hard-hitting” business, who got more hits, and who got in the harderst hits?
pdv = manny pacquiao, simon “nick armstrong’s *** lover” borchardt = ricky hatton
7 Dec 2009, 11:30 am
@Transformation: Transie, do me a favour…keep Rassoneri (forgot spelling) away from this thread..
7 Dec 2009, 11:31 am
I am not a big fan of PDV but am willing to give him credit . We must avoid simplistic thinking where things are good or bad . Like everything in life things are not black or white but varying degrees of grey . As a coach has PDV been a success ?
Yes .
Has he made good decisions ? Yes most of the time .
What good decisions did he make ?
Bring Smit Back
Having **** in the coaching mix
Having Percy as kicking coach
Selecting Morne even though he wasn’t his favorite
Going back to a conservative plan even if he thought otherwise shows he is pragmatic
Has he made some **** ups ? Yes
In the bigger scheme of things he is a good man manager . I just think his greatest area of weakness is his PR .
Every coach has weaknesses . Even the great Nick Mallet was a bad man manager .
7 Dec 2009, 11:35 am
I bet Simon has never asked Jake White if needy white folk back on the wrong side of tracks expected more of Jake and asked him for money because he’d become a rich man…!!
Simon’s question doesn’t just reveal his inner feelings about PdV but his inner feelings about the good folk of Paarl who are PdV’s neighbours and friends…
sheesh Simon… why don’t you just put a noose around your credibility… and jump!
Awesome thing about PdV is that he still lives in his same house, and drives the same car, as he always did… That is someone who is truly comfortable in his own skin and truly doesn’t need to imppress anyone… Kudos to PdV!!
The only other coach to do that was Harry because he was so rich beforehand he already had the best of everything…
Nothing was ever mentioned of the little boy from Jeppe who now hob-***** with the glitterati of the Winelands…
7 Dec 2009, 11:37 am
No Wallabie its good they pose these farce interviews and get it right off their chests, because this is what the majority of white rugby supporters in this country are actually thinking, so let them ask the leading questions and when they get the dead pan answer of ‘you said it not me’ its obviously where they been leading the inquisition anyway, looking to set a trap of superiority vs inferiority racially motivated over tone.
Pdv must just let em have it, any which way they choose they not going to get given their holy white empire back on a platter again. And keep all these holier than thou know it all’s like White and the rest of em, Meyer included if the shoe fits, far away from anything to do with Sa rugby again. Either these scribes and supporters realize the reality on the ground or they get taken to the cleaners kicking and screaming like the dead beat cromagnon species they are.
7 Dec 2009, 11:41 am
If PDEV acts decisevely and bravely iro selection and game plan 2010 could be the year PDEV can say he did it “his way”.
Time to be bold PDEV !!
7 Dec 2009, 11:45 am
I wonder if Simon would ave had the gall to ask these quesions to Jake, Harry or Mallett?
I reckon Mallet would have given Simon a snot klap so hard that he would be eating his bacon and eggs through his *** and crapping out of his ears.
7 Dec 2009, 11:46 am
@justrugby:
He has already done it his way!!
7 Dec 2009, 11:50 am
@wallabie.:
Some would have you believe that he has done it the senior players way, irrespective of what has been said in the interview !!
7 Dec 2009, 11:52 am
Seesh guys, how about giving PdV a break! This has been an amazing year for the boks – even if you include the EOYT. We beat the Lions and totally dominated the TriNations. Snor has made some mistakes but he deserves more support from all rugby supporters, journos included.
For all the mistakes he’s made he’s also proven flexible – picking Steyn and Brussouw, sticking with Fourie when Adi got over his injury, getting BJ & CJ into the mix and moving Smit back to hooker even though Bismark & Strauss were available.
7 Dec 2009, 11:54 am
@skopskiet:
ah. the irony of it all….”Simply play best player in your mind per position no matter how deep”
…and sorry to inform you, but Bekker, in your transformation only side….is actually a white afrikaaner.
It still boggles the mind how the far left are still lost withregards to this blog and the freedom of speech afforded to them.
it’s like the middle, right and far right can’t venture an opinion?
7 Dec 2009, 11:57 am
@theOracle: ha ha ha ha unfortunately she works on the other side of the baakens river so i can’t even distract her away from her laptop. i think she might be in court this morning so some respite for you…lmao
7 Dec 2009, 11:57 am
In one respect I disagree with PdV.
“I am the Boss!!”
Think Bruce Springsteen may have something to say about that!!
but Pdv… YDA!!
You Da Man!!
7 Dec 2009, 11:59 am
@ golden boy: malema will make a great prsident, because he will eradicate this kind of interviewing and thinking patterns all together, i would vouch for him to be the coach of the rugby team also, if i must take the standards by which the old goverment did things, putting poeple in postitions that dont know anything. now you think we blacks do the same, not so. we appoint competent people, the best. that why peiter got the position. becuase to your prejudice preconceived dull minds a black man is incompeten end f story. but boy we will brainwash you until you worship us, you aint seen nothing yet. we will hit your brain against the wall and take out all the **** that you believe. in fact malema is my hero, just as heyneke meyer is probably yours. now shut up and leave politics out of rugby. let the black man do his thing just as you have been for the past 40 years, you had your turn to bad you will never get one again!!! politics and rugby are not synonomous, but you whites fail to see this, since you suffer from a mental illness calles a superiority complex even in the face of earthshattering evidence that your time are long gone. wake up buddy, and let rugby be rugby !!!!!
7 Dec 2009, 11:59 am
heyneke meyer…still the best coaching vision in the country.
and a 1st class man to boot, never felt the need to bad mouth anyone even after being continuelly shafted by saru.
7 Dec 2009, 12:03 pm
sheesh ufo…
YDM…!!
You Da Man!!
7 Dec 2009, 12:06 pm
@graeme1:
dude, seek help.
africa, and in particular southern africa,has historically been the slowest to develope civilizations in the history of the entire planet.
care to venture an astute opinion and reasoning on this fact?
for my money, it’s because to many plonkers like Malema are given status. Is a std 8 pass the best the ANC youth leadership can muster up these days? Just you be grateful for the colonization of africa, the wheel wouldn’t have been invented here yet with Malema’s running the show for the past 400 years.
7 Dec 2009, 12:07 pm
@graeme1: Five exclamation marks is a well known sign of insanity
7 Dec 2009, 12:08 pm
@graeme1:
LOL….mfwete I’m blacker than you will ever know. However, unlike you, I don’t feel the need to bring my color in to a rugby topic, which makes u a fool…a prime one at that…It’s idiots like you that give racist fools ammunition.
Do yourself a favor and get back to the Youth League blog so that you can hero worship your leader.
F@ckin ****
7 Dec 2009, 12:09 pm
@graeme1:
Dude you are winner, lol.
You can polish my tyres anytime.
Just try not to necklace me.
7 Dec 2009, 12:10 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl:
Eish!
7 Dec 2009, 12:15 pm
@graeme1: comrade. There’s no need to generalise and there’s no need for all the diatribe. Remember we all are in pursuit of a non-racial country/society so curb your enthusiasm for rhetoric before any semblance of sense in what you’re trying to convey gets lost. It’s easy to be angry and fired up but try and articulate your points well so that even your opponent has no choice but to be floored by the logic in your argument.
Not every scenario needs a populist response.
7 Dec 2009, 12:15 pm
Well,well.
About 4 months ago, here on Keo, I read that the SARU had told Peter to put a sock in his cakehole.
Looks like he spat it out.
7 Dec 2009, 12:19 pm
50. wallabie. :
For once I agree with Wallabie.
Give the guy a break, whether he is man managing or coaching or a mix of both (more likely)even FDP says the bok setup has one of the best working environments ever. (As some said by other bloggers he might need to shift them out of their comfort zone as well sometimes)
Like any good leader you listen to the people with knowledge around you and then make the final decision. (exactly as he answered).
I still rate JW a better coach, he built something from nothing, PDV still needs to prove he can do that. But PDV is doing a good job and I wish people would give him more due. Poor chap, no wonder he is arrogant, if he doesn’t back himself who the hell will it seems
7 Dec 2009, 12:23 pm
this graeme1 character can only be a troll.
don’t think that anybody still harbours such dark thoughts.
could be wrong i suppose – maybe i am naive.
7 Dec 2009, 12:26 pm
@Mike H:
me…!
7 Dec 2009, 12:28 pm
@graeme1:
” malema will make a great prsident, because he will eradicate this kind of interviewing and thinking patterns all together…”
You are so right…he will eradicate ALL thinking, PERIOD!!!!
“…i would vouch for him to be the coach of the rugby team also…”
Kinda like Mad Bob being the President of the cricket team.
Hey, you said it, not me.
7 Dec 2009, 12:33 pm
I actually think Julias is a good guy trying very hard to be a bad guy…!! Because it’s his job… And he does his job very well.
He keeps the youth behind the ANC and neither the DA or COPE have a hope in hell of changing that while Julias is President of the ANCYL…
7 Dec 2009, 12:36 pm
The interview, by virtue of the line of questioning,is racist. Simon is a phucking racist. We can go back to the questions posed to previous bok coaches as a yardstick. The anti PDV brigade (i.e.most of our fellow bloggers, what do you make of these questions posed?
7 Dec 2009, 12:38 pm
@Mike H:
I dont think Jake built something from nothing.. I believe he was poor why?
He had terrible results leading up to the RWC. wooden spoon in the tri nations for a couple years. Eddie came along and the Bok fortunes changed. This is the same side PDV took over
PDV inherited the side and without eddie he has produced the goods.
Sure he maybe a bit loose in the media but surely if h was bad the Boks would have done terrible.
7 Dec 2009, 12:41 pm
@wallabie.:
If Aussie supporters can see the obvious and support our Bok coaches before our own countrymen do then you know something is terribly wrong in SA rugby.
7 Dec 2009, 12:49 pm
@Shakes:
I think most of us here agree with you re: Simon.
For a journalist he shows a distinct lack of integrity and like KEO, he fails to hide his dislike for PDV, which further illustrates his lack of professionalism and poor work ethic.
Throw in a serious lack of objectivity and you see what it takes to become a scribe here on KEO.
7 Dec 2009, 12:51 pm
Is this the full interview or a selective cut and paste job? I cannot believe this line of questioning a). Came from a professional sports writer, and b). It was allowed to go on print.
7 Dec 2009, 12:52 pm
@Tacitus: Snor is right. All those people deserve to be insulted. Go Pdv, tell those crackers what they really are.
7 Dec 2009, 12:52 pm
@PissAnt: Well said but you are too diplomatic. The unfortunate reality is that those who want him to fail (and let’s be honest it is there for all to see, including media) stems from the fact that he is not White or wants him to fail cos HM did not get the job. Just look at his management style. You can choose to put positive spin i.e. seeking advice from all quarters or negative spin i.e. players and assistants run show. We know what line KEO and his plonkers adhere to. In any event I would have been worried if more of the decision making was autocratic and less collaborative. That would be a clear indication of pulling in different directions and not having a common vision.
7 Dec 2009, 12:54 pm
great interview by The Greatest.
“No, you should have stopped them. You were all intimidated by them. I saw the look in your faces.”
How very true, the saffas need to grow some balls.
7 Dec 2009, 12:54 pm
1000 posts to this article by the end of the day. And it’s gonna get U-G-L-Y…
7 Dec 2009, 13:07 pm
@Golden Boy: Then the press wonder why we do not respect their views or them at all. This is the same Simon who said the 7′s players must not be called Boks because they are mostly black.
It’s disgraceful and sick. There can be no doubt that Keo and his trashy journo’s are nothing but filthy racists.
7 Dec 2009, 13:07 pm
Its actually an astonishingly good interview.
Apart from the ‘i would have been a springbok chirp’, its actually nearly flawlessly brilliant.
the wee maestro is now even mastering the art of politico speak, he is outdoing the journalist and giving it to the foreign media in the process.
Great stuff – make the man president.
7 Dec 2009, 13:12 pm
@cab:
SA Journalists intimidated by the scum of Fleet Street!
Surely not.
7 Dec 2009, 13:13 pm
simon borchardt is a real unconstructed bigot! Fyi simon people whatever their class still have dignity and pride and just want to make an honest living! It’s @rsh*les like you with your “do people come to you now to ask for loans” type drivel that are going to bring about the biggest revolution in this country. What a chop!
I can’t imagine any other coach in world entertaining such nonsense but if peter de villiers does not answer he is arrogant!
7 Dec 2009, 13:14 pm
when will everyone learn that the polarization of our people in south africa is a direct strategy aimed at destabilising all thoughtful, meaningful discussion in order for control and power to shift to the select few, black or white?
this article is toilet, much like many of simons articles, but it has a far greater purpose than just to show simons antipathy and disregard for PdV.
we all know keo is aligned with jake white, and the continual belittling of any achievement PdV makes is a direct attack on PdV in an attempt to force public opinion into a narrow corner of complete hatred for PdV and thus create the space for a “di-****** of rugby” poition for jake.
the seeds are being sown but PdV has dodged all the arrows by being so successful.
remember that the vast majority of stakeholders (people who pay for things)in sarugby are white due to the historical realities of our still fractured country, and are able to wield enourmous pressure on saru.
its all about control people, and sadly the people who you think you are supporting may just turn out to be exactly what you professed to despise.
i urge you all to debate rationally and remain calm.
7 Dec 2009, 13:15 pm
@PissAnt: I’m also worried about us saffas when an Aussie will stand up for our coach before we do…
7 Dec 2009, 13:16 pm
when will everyone learn that the polarization of our people in south africa is a direct strategy aimed at destabilising all thoughtful, meaningful discussion in order for control and power to shift to the select few, black or white?
this article is toilet, much like many of simons articles, but it has a far greater purpose than just to show simons antipathy and disregard for PdV.
we all know keo is aligned with jake white, and the continual belittling of any achievement PdV makes is a direct attack on PdV in an attempt to force public opinion into a narrow corner of complete hatred for PdV and thus create the space for a “di-****** of rugby” poition for jake.
7 Dec 2009, 13:17 pm
@Xhosaskid: You must be joking. I am terribly sorry for that family, but if you wanna list stories about brutality , there are far more about brutality against black people. And you know that, so let’s not walk that path. People whose testicles were electricuted and thrown off buildings, 1000′s. Women who were raped and beaten. 1000′s. We still do not know where most of them are buried.
7 Dec 2009, 13:17 pm
this article is toilet, much like many of simons articles, but it has a far greater purpose than just to show simons ant@pathy and disregard for PdV.
we all know keo is aligned with jake white, and the continual belittling of any achievement PdV makes is a direct attack on PdV in an attempt to force public opinion into a narrow corner of complete hatred for PdV and thus create the space for a “di-r’ctum of rugby” poition for jake.
7 Dec 2009, 13:18 pm
@cane:
yeah, its that ridiculous, most of our journos get intimidated by the big words of the fleet street dandies, and are embaressed by Div rather than supporting him – weak.
But the good thing is The Greatest has none of these issues and tears these poor fleet streeters a new one – hilarous – am sure they love it too – poms love a good flogging.
7 Dec 2009, 13:19 pm
@mozez22:
If we are sentient beings, we would all IGNORE this thread and not give them the satisfaction nor the income.
WHO’S WITH ME !!!!!!!!!!!!
7 Dec 2009, 13:19 pm
@mozez22:
I think it’s great that an Aussie (even if it’s ‘only’ Wallabie
Wallaby…) is standing up for our coach WITH many Saffas on this site…!!
Don’t flush the baby with the bath water… (to put it really sweetly…
)
7 Dec 2009, 13:20 pm
the seeds are being sown but PdV has dodged all the arrows by being so successful.
remember that the vast majority of stakeholders (people who pay for things)in sarugby are white due to the historical realities of our still fractured country, and are able to wield enourmous pressure on saru.
its all about control people, and sadly the people who you think you are supporting may just turn out to be exactly what you professed to despise.
i urge you all to debate rationally and remain calm.
@rossoneri: I did not say that the Bok Sevens team shouldn’t be allowed to wear the Bok jersey because the players are black (there are white players in the squad too). I said they shouldn’t be allowed to because none of them are good enough to play in the Super 14 (ie they are not among the top 150 players in SA). I am glad to see that they are playing in a different jersey this season.
pdv is the supreme ceo and boss.all racist ***** like simon,wp,hondo and others please address the god-given talent as ‘boss’ from now on.
7 Dec 2009, 13:21 pm
@Dawn:
always with you Dawnie…!!
just had to stand up and be counted on this one…!!
Bye…!!
7 Dec 2009, 13:23 pm
@Simon:
Don’t start something you can’t finish.
You said it.
7 Dec 2009, 13:23 pm
@Simon: lol.so you actually think they listened to a *** twat like you?remove that superior chip from your scrawny shoulder please!
7 Dec 2009, 13:24 pm
@Simon: You still a piece of **** racist and the truth is you hated them for succeeding last year under Treu, like you hate Pdv for succeeding with the Boks.
You are disgusting and a joke for a journalist. Where is your boyfriend to back you up today? Buying Dove?
7 Dec 2009, 13:24 pm
@Dawn:
I changed my mind.
He’s here.
Give him hell.
7 Dec 2009, 13:25 pm
@Simon:
Still a Bok jersey though.
7 Dec 2009, 13:25 pm
@Simon:
Screw the 7′s article. It is not at issue.
This **** piece of drivel is.
It is indefensible.
7 Dec 2009, 13:26 pm
I have no more time for this thread. Just read the article again, and I’m not convinced it’s the full thing. Just what Simon wants us to read.
7 Dec 2009, 13:27 pm
@Simon: Hey Simon now that you are a Keo journo writing trash, are people asking you for money to buy drugs?
7 Dec 2009, 13:28 pm
the sevens bokke are just that, bokke.
they are at the pinnacle of their FORM of the game, which is clearly completely different to 15 man rugby.
just like test cricketers, t20 cricketers and odi cricketers ALL get protea colours for representing south africa.
simon, care to comment my good man?
7 Dec 2009, 13:28 pm
@Mike H:
+ 1000
7 Dec 2009, 13:29 pm
@mozez22:
It doesn’t matter if it’s full or half.
It is so badly and disrespectfully put together that it’s jaw-dropping.
7 Dec 2009, 13:31 pm
@rangerman:
You tell him, sexy.
7 Dec 2009, 13:31 pm
@rangerman: I agree with New Zealand, who don’t call their sevens team the All Blacks because that honour is reserved for the Test team. And only the Test team gets to wear the all-black jersey.
7 Dec 2009, 13:32 pm
@wpw:
So what.
It’ll be a 1000+ telling this twat just how useless he is.
Tears at the Borchardt household tonight.
7 Dec 2009, 13:33 pm
guys, lets stop with the “racist!” shrieks.
really, we are all motivated to some degree by our perception of race so we are all a little guilty.
lets rather let simon engage with us and tell us what his motivation was for treating our national lions-beating, tri nations winning SPRINGBOK rugby coach like he was the gardener appointed to a bee company board simply to make his cross where the baas told him to.
if it was one of the ooms, or jake white, would his tone have been different?
probably.
because simons galsses would not sit so nicely on a nose pushed through the back of his head.
i am not advocating violence at all simon, you understand? but merely suggesting that you were slightly more brave in this interview than you would have been with some of the manne.
now what does that mean?
7 Dec 2009, 13:35 pm
@Simon:
7s is a different game to the 15 man one. Some players will be more suited to one than the other. I could venture that Bakkies and JS are not good enough to play 7s. Or is it a matter of backtracking on the use of the Springbok emblem, that only the national 15 man rugby team should be allowed to use it?
7 Dec 2009, 13:37 pm
@Dawn: What is disrespectful about it? I told De Villiers before the interview took place that I was going to ask him some difficult questions in order to give him an opportunity to answer his critics once and for all. He agreed.
@Simon: Yeah, but your reasons are racially driven. We all know that. Read that **** you posted on top. Proof!
Guys like you destroy the greatness of our country. You remind us of the hate, because you are infected with it. SA doesn’t need trash like you.
@rangerman:
I never shriek.
My normal tone of voice alone is enough to chill a Keoling’s blood.
7 Dec 2009, 13:38 pm
@Simon: the nz 7′s team jersey looks pretty black to me.
but who cares what they call their team anyway?
i despise the mullet, calling the ball “the pill”, a grubber being called “a wee nudge”, the changeroom “the shed” and various other terms that our esteemed journos fawningly adopted recently.
we have our own rugby culture and heritage and we make our own history.
merely agreeing with nz is not an answer as to why odi, test and t20 cricketers get colours for south africa. which of those would you leave out?
better yet, how does nz do it?
7 Dec 2009, 13:38 pm
@Simon: Oh. Did you tell him that you are a KKK card member that you hate his skin?
7 Dec 2009, 13:39 pm
You guys are a joke, incapable of conducting a decent debate. Firstly, please learn to spell and secondly, refrain from resorting to homophobic comments, ie ‘You are disgusting and a joke for a journalist. Where is your boyfriend to back you up today? Buying Dove?’ And you have the gall to refer to Simon as a bigot and accuse him of being disrespectful?!!
KEO.co.za 3 – PDV & his followers 0
@Simon:
Your questions aren’t “difficult”
They are blatantly stupid.
Did you ask him that last question, or did Ryan throw it in as a joke?
7 Dec 2009, 13:40 pm
This article is really shameful
@Simon:
How many players have played Sevens and became Springboks nevermind playing Super10/12/14?
That is a bullsh@t statement that they should be called Springboks. Did they not represent their country??
7 Dec 2009, 13:41 pm
@PhilippaB: That was in reference to the other day, when his lover posted. You need to read every thread.
7 Dec 2009, 13:42 pm
wtf … PDV is the biggest racist since Eugene … now you cry rape for a few simple questions? …
@PhilippaB:
I never said that.
I deny everything!
@Simon:
when are we gonna grow up and do things our way because it is our way… If New Zealand want to devalue their Sevens players, that’s their problem…
think you’ll find most supporters are for the Bok Sevens being recognised Boks…
They certainly haven’t devalued the brand…
anything but…!
7 Dec 2009, 13:43 pm
@Dawn: Those questions were asked in order to establish whether becoming Bok coach had changed him as a person or affected his home-town life. His answers showed that he is still the same person he was before getting the job.
7 Dec 2009, 13:44 pm
@Dawn:
simply put, you used to be able to get sprngbok colours for ANY sport that you reprented south africa at.
since when is the bok now so sacred that only the 15′s can have it?
is it akin to the medal of valour or the victoria cross all of a sardine?
no, it is an emblem representing the fact that you have reached the pinnacle of your form of the game and can proudly represent your country as the best we have to offer at that FORM of the game.
this is not rocket science really.
7 Dec 2009, 13:44 pm
History will show you the Springbok emblem was adopted by just about all sporting codes, including athletics even.
It was what our athletes who competed on the national stage was known as, I do not see why the Sevens cannot do the same.
7 Dec 2009, 13:46 pm
@Xhosaskid: You know there is a blog for guys like you. RT. There you can talk about how you beat your domestic, and your fantasies of murdering black people and new uniforms for the AWB. They will welcome someone like you and you may feel more comfortable to be yourself there.
@rossoneri: If they’re anything like this, I’d rather not.
@Xhosaskid:
Who are you?
7 Dec 2009, 13:47 pm
Simon, I see that you’ve decided not to use your “friend” Nick Armstrong this time to spew some tripe here in order to generate hits. Good on you.
What I don’t understand is why you guys are so intent on alienating the Bok coach from you. Rugby is a source of your income. Don’t you think it would be better to have a good relationship with the premier coach in the country? This by no way means that you have to “gatkruip” or not criticize him. A decent relationship with PdV will allow you guys to bring us, the bloggers, first hand accounts of what is happening in the Bok camp, don’t you think? Then you won’t have to rely on “inside information”, “open secrets”, “reliable sources” etc to bring us stories about the Boks which in most cases prove afterwards to be false.
This interview is so biased and derogatory that it is not worth commenting on it. You should hang your head in shame.
@Graeme 1:Xhosakid: I think the two of you should get together and organise a braai where you can beat the **** out of each other. Maybe both of you will feel better afterwards.
7 Dec 2009, 13:48 pm
@Simon:
Sevens suggestions
This entry was posted on Friday, December 12th, 2008
As some of you on this site know, I have always had a love-hate relationship with Sevens. I love the fact that the game, like T20 cricket, provides fans with plenty of action in a short space of time and allows minnow rugby nations, like Kenya and Portugal, to be a lot more competitive than they are in the 15-man arena.
However, I hate the fact that the best players do not take part. In South Africa, only those who aren’t good enough to play Super 14 rugby (with the exception of the talented Robert Ebersohn) are picked for the Sevens side. And while these guys tell everyone how much they love Sevens, it’s obvious they’d rather be playing 15-man rugby. Hell, even Fabian Juries, our greatest-ever Sevens player, turned his back on the abbreviated game this season when the Cheetahs included him in their Super 14 training squad. So much for him being a Sevens specialist.
The reality of the situation is that the SA Sevens team consists of Vodacom Cup-standard players, and because of this, I think they devalue the Bok jersey. Let’s be honest, do the likes of Mzwandile Stick and Marius Schoeman really deserve to wear the green and gold? My answer is a resounding no. I think the SA Sevens side should play in a different jersey, perhaps with gold being the dominant colour, and be called the Proteas. This would give the team its own unique identity and prevent the Bok jersey from being cheapened.
Finally, I think SA Rugby should be doing everything in its power to get Sevens rugby televised on the SABC. Our Sevens team is full of black players, and black South Africans — many of whom do not have access to SuperSport — should be able to watch them throughout the year. Sevens is also a great way to introduce people to the sport, and they’d soon become fans of the 15-man version too. Hopefully, SuperSport would consider the bigger picture and share their TV rights with the national broadcaster — starting with the Sevens World Cup.
By Simon Borchardt
This entry was posted on Friday, December 12th, 2008
7 Dec 2009, 13:48 pm
@Simon: No. Those questions were posed to show what a racist cnut you are. Full stop. Pdv has achieved more than many other coach has. You can’t stand it.
7 Dec 2009, 13:49 pm
@Simon:
Simon my man
I am prepared to stop brawling with you .. IF ..
you allow me to interview you and the story is put onto this site.
7 Dec 2009, 13:50 pm
@PhilippaB: His name is Nick Armstrong. Look out for him. He’ll join us soon enough.
7 Dec 2009, 13:53 pm
Simon have you ever asked Jake White what it feels like being a ‘kept man’ on the Winelands and how he must feel at get-togethers as a poor white guy from the wrong side of the tracks and boarding school fitting in with the fast and fabulous…??
just to see how being Bok coach changed him or not…???
7 Dec 2009, 13:54 pm
@Xhosaskid: always find it funny that whites so easily calling black people racists nowadays.when black people don’t agree with white view points or challenge their racists views they are suddenly called racists.very funny indeed to be called a racist by sons,grandsons,daughters and granddaughters of cold-blooded killers.leaves me cold!
7 Dec 2009, 13:55 pm
First off – about this interview – wow. That’s all I’ll say.
As for the rest – it is just as bad to now start shouting “racist” and fighting fire with fire. Let us debate constructively without resorting to insults.
In this respect, please refer to rangerman who has indicated on this thread how to conduct yourself.
Finally, please do not confuse “Xhosaskid” with the real Xhosakid. They are completely different persons.
And don’t feed the trolls.
7 Dec 2009, 13:57 pm
@Transformation: #162
eish Simon… then they went out and won the world championships…!!
@ufo: Or how long it took him to realize he was a drunk and how many times he cheated on his wife. Bet Simon didn’t ask Jake those questions.
@Valkyrie: to be fair, if you are a zulu you are descended from some pretty violent people.
we all are actually.
thats just inescapable.
my folks werent even hippies but my dad did listen to pink floyd’s seminal work, the wall, when it was banned in south africa.
Today, yet again, I am ashamed to be a South African.
Reconciliation? Clearly a myth, judging by the comments on this blog.
It is pathetic. Some of you really need to grow up.
rossoneri … ja lekker, soos hulle ons moor, moor ons terug …. d00s
7 Dec 2009, 13:58 pm
@ufo: Simon must have really gotten angry about their success. “How can these “Vodacom” players do soooo well!” He said, tearing his hair out!
7 Dec 2009, 13:59 pm
@Simon: simon you are talking nonsense, go and google any image of dj forbes the new zealand sevens captain and tell me what the colour of his jersey is? you’re such a liar man!
7 Dec 2009, 14:00 pm
@Xhosaskid: RT my friend. You will find freedom there.
Jy kan vir hulle vertel hoe jy vir my ook wil moor, as dit vir jou lekker sal laat voel. Daardie mense weet wat jy nodig het. Moenie langer wag nie! Go and be free!
7 Dec 2009, 14:02 pm
@WP Till I Die: howzit man.
funny though, you get guys like graeme and others like golden boy.
one makes my stomach turn, the other gives me major pride and hope.
the reality is that south africa will never be a happy country until our resources are equitably distributed, hopefully by the capitalist system constrained by a dollop of socialism.
and yes you feckin capitalists, it can work if we get it right.
hell man, we can be the costa ricans of africa.
7 Dec 2009, 14:02 pm
@rossoneri: #170
of course not… it was all nudge nudge wink wink stuff…
but you see Jake White isn’t PdV or Tiger Woods… white people in high places can cheat on their spouses etc but black people have to take a beating in the press… The press will even manufacture ‘videos’ to embarrass the Springbok Coach…
7 Dec 2009, 14:03 pm
@WP Till I Die:
Since when did you start listing instructions here.
7 Dec 2009, 14:03 pm
@Transformation: The NZ Sevens team has the three white adidas stripes, which the Test team does not.
7 Dec 2009, 14:05 pm
@WP Till I Die:
For goodness sake grow some balls and start addressing your whining to specific people.
@Simon: #142
Not one question on his achievements this year though.
Winning a Lions series.
Winning the 3Nations.
Becoming the first coach since unification to beat the AB’s 3 times in succession.
The first unbeaten EOYT in 2008.
Having a better record as international coach than Deans.
How does he feel about all of this?
I agree that the difficult questions need to be asked but really, even you ought know that a balanced interview requires you to ask about the positives and the negatives.
@Simon: # 180
but they have the Silver Fern on their chests…
7 Dec 2009, 14:06 pm
@ufo: thats not really true man.
high profile chappies who get caught are……high profile chappies who get caught.
ask joost or japie mulder or dalton etc etc.
or steve.
7 Dec 2009, 14:07 pm
You cannot compare the Proteas Twenty20 team to the Bok Sevens side, because the best cricketers in SA are available for T20 selection. Imagine if the T20 coach wasn’t allowed to pick players from the Test and ODI teams, or from any of the six franchises for that matter.
7 Dec 2009, 14:07 pm
@Xhosaskid: ja pietman.kan nie wegbly nie ne jou doosgesig.waar is jou namakwalanner nick vet gat?bietjie ingeloer daar op rt nou die dag en toevallig lees ek dat jy aan die ander dose se dat jy op keo geblog het na n lank tyd.dit was toevallig die dag toe die karoolanner en namakwalanner nicks skielik uit die lug geval het asook die hi-jacking van nicks.
7 Dec 2009, 14:08 pm
Then to chuck in my R0.02 – why should our premier rugby union XV be exclusively called the Springboks?
The Springbok is very dear to my heart.
Firstly, I was born there.
Secondly, it makes great biltong.
Thirdly, the Springbok is still South Africa’s national animal. Surely teams at the pinnacle of their sport or field in the national sphere deserve to be equated to our national animal?
Fourthly, the Springbok emblem was the mascot of almost every single sporting discipline at one time or another.
Why must it now only refer to the rugby union team, and not the Sevens?
7 Dec 2009, 14:08 pm
@ufo: It’s pathetic and sick. Really sick.
7 Dec 2009, 14:09 pm
@nama1: De Villiers had answered those questions to death in newspapers and on websites. The point of this interview was to ask him the questions that other media outlets had not. As I said, I told him that before our interview, and he was happy for us to continue.
7 Dec 2009, 14:09 pm
@Simon: ag, are you still banging on about what nz does?
why?
why the hero worship for them?
simon, seriously buddy, you are so out of touch on this one.
@nama1: not one mention of his achievements.
pdV is clearly a better man than me.
7 Dec 2009, 14:10 pm
@WP Till I Die: Because our best players (like Bryan Habana) are not available for Sevens selection.
7 Dec 2009, 14:10 pm
Apologies Xhosakid. I was referring to Xhosaskid in my post 161.
7 Dec 2009, 14:13 pm
@Valkyrie:
Is it Pietman???
7 Dec 2009, 14:14 pm
@Simon: simon, again you embark upon a specious line of debate mate.
the t20 game WORLDWIDE has seen the emergence of cricketers with a completely specialised skill set, the “soek en moer” brigade.
these players dont play for their nations test side or the odi side, they are SPECIALISTS!
as the game is refined, expect this to occur more and more often.
for instance, morne morkel vs albie.
up your game please.
7 Dec 2009, 14:15 pm
@rangerman:
of course you’re right Ranger… but none of the Keo guy’s ever published any questions to Jake White about not only cheating on his wife while all the players and journos knew about it… (imagine how she must have felt…?) but never questioned Jake having a squeeze in every port of call… three or was it four at the same time…??? In this day and age of AIDS and 16 Days of Activism etc… What sort of example was Jake’s to the youth of the country in terms of responsible sexual relationships and about respecting women…??? And yes… Jake is a role model…
Phillipa…? Anything…???
Yawn at all you people. Why is everyone so up in arms? As Simon said, PdV agreed to answer. Even if you feel the interview was done in bad taste, it is a good representation of what many people are thinking, it needed to be done. I’m glad you people get to vent you’re anger on this thread, hopefully you won’t kill the next person of differing race you see.
2 things I’ve learned from this thread. PdV is a man, not a mouse. There are so many racist on this blog, black and white.
@Simon: no matter how much spin you are gonna put on this issue it’s not gonna help you because your hatred for coloured people are legendary on this blog,a blog that was started to pander to white supremacists!
7 Dec 2009, 14:16 pm
@Simon:
My offer stands.
Stand up and be interviewed by me for this website.
7 Dec 2009, 14:18 pm
@rangerman: You are missing the point. Someone like Kallis, for example, can play T20 cricket as well as ODIs and Tests. Someone like Habana, for example, can’t play Sevens even though he would be sensational in it.
7 Dec 2009, 14:19 pm
@Simon: #189
And kudos to him for going through with it…
now THAT says something about the man…
Simon… completely different topic but… where the heck have the reference numbers gone when replying to comments…??? very frustrating without them…
@Simon: @Simon: You mean other media are not racists? Only you carry that distinction.
So the three white addidas stripes made you feel better. Not totally black then.
@Nanashi:
I must be an exception. This interview is NOT a representation of what I’m thinking.
@Valkyrie:
7 Dec 2009, 14:20 pm
@ufo: What is your point? I didn’t ask De Villiers about his *** life in this interview.
7 Dec 2009, 14:21 pm
@Dawn: it’s our beloved friend!he was on the blog last week and actually reported back to his mates on rt that hater/lilith was back on keo.had a few choice words to say about hater/lilith.
7 Dec 2009, 14:23 pm
@ufo: I’ll drop our webmaster an e-mail…
7 Dec 2009, 14:24 pm
@rangerman:
I tend to agree with a “third way” approach – tempering a market liberalist, capitalist approach with aspects of state socialism.
Look up some of Anthony Giddens’s work.
And if my support for a system that rejects top-down socialism but also rejects traditional neo-liberalism makes me a pinko lefty – so be it.
7 Dec 2009, 14:25 pm
@Simon: #203
Point is Simon, you asked PdV the questions ‘no other’ media had asked… but people ‘wanted to know’… why not afford Jake the same courtesy…???
7 Dec 2009, 14:25 pm
@Simon: #203
Thanks…
7 Dec 2009, 14:27 pm
@Simon:
So that is why Loots Bosman can’t play 50 over cricket.
7 Dec 2009, 14:29 pm
hey simon…
good on you for fronting up here… seriously…
dawnie…
really gotta fly now… you’re on your own (for now…)
@ufo: I asked De Villiers rugby-related questions that people wanted to know.
Cant manage a Bok team by committee PDV….cut the player power…thats the first step my man…
7 Dec 2009, 14:30 pm
@ufo: Uh, no. Still can’t get over the drivel that is being posted.
@Simon: #189
What was the atmosphere like during the interview? Did you get the feeling that PdV was getting agitated by your line of questioning or was he open and friendly throughout the interview?
Valkyrie …. life’s a ***** chaka zulu
@Dawn: Who says he can’t? In my opinion, Bosman should be in the ODI side.
7 Dec 2009, 14:32 pm
@Simon: who are these people that you are referring to?
7 Dec 2009, 14:32 pm
sorry simon one last one…
People really wanted to know if people were asking PdV for money….??? And that’s rugby related…???
C’mon Simon…!!
7 Dec 2009, 14:33 pm
@Valkyrie: Good to know I can still rub them raw.
7 Dec 2009, 14:33 pm
@Simon:
May I ask you a question?
Keo.co.za has a byline, “An independent look at South African rugby.”
How independent is that look still, given HSM’s affiliation with Jake White’s Winning Ways?
7 Dec 2009, 14:34 pm
@WP Till I Die:
Re your “third way” approach … oil and water don’t mix.
Weeny capitalism and castrated socialism don’t get on.
7 Dec 2009, 14:34 pm
@Simon: i’ve got no interest in wanting to know whether his coloured neighbours are asking him for money to pay off car or house loans!
7 Dec 2009, 14:37 pm
@ufo: It was rugby related because I wanted to know if being Bok coach had changed him as a person, or changed the way people in his community (who knew him well before he got the job) interacted with him.
7 Dec 2009, 14:37 pm
@Simon: #211
Next time you have a chance to interview PdV again you should maybe ask the bloggers to submit some questions beforehand. Then you can really claim that you asked “De Villiers rugby-related questions that people wanted to know.”
I would for example like to know what his plans are at No.6 with both HB and Schalk there? What is his plans with JS: 2 or 3? Succession plans regarding the lock position?
I hope it is rugby related enough for you to consider next time you sit down opposite PdV.
7 Dec 2009, 14:38 pm
@WP Till I Die: We are still 100% independent.
7 Dec 2009, 14:38 pm
@Simon: Did it even cross your mind to say:
“Congratulations Peter on an amazing year and winning SA rugby coach of the year, with your successes with the trinations,and B and I Lions!”
Are you so bitter that you could not even say that.
Did you even shake his hand in the interview or were you disgusted by his skin?
7 Dec 2009, 14:39 pm
For the record I do not see much wrong with the interview.
When I first read it in the magazine a couple of weeks ago I actually had a big smile on my face.
Thought PDV handled this one nicely.
7 Dec 2009, 14:39 pm
@rossoneri: he can’t stand your guts.no surrender!no retreat! aluta continua!
7 Dec 2009, 14:40 pm
PDV….said it for the last year…..go with your gut instinct….all these voices around you gonna dissapear like mist on the Clifton Beach whan the going gets tough…..
Make the hard calls…..you have to…start on jersey no 1 ….and end on 22….be ruthless….too many accomodation selections…..
Tell G Gold to start developing respect for the scrums….total rugby a non starter if scrum in turbo reverse…..tell Smit to stop contradicting you….pi sses me off
7 Dec 2009, 14:40 pm
@Simon: no simon, you are missing the point mate.
if bryan chose to be a sevens SPECIALIST, he would walk into the team tomorrow. but he has not chosen to SPECIALISE and therefore he is playing s14 and cc and for the 15 man boks.
what exactly are you asking anyway? for bryan to add 7′s to his sporting calender?
ja, and why dont you just add another 1000 WELL WRITTEN, WELL RESEARCHED articles to your output every year?
oh ja, quality would suffer. apparently. you might even suffer from fatigue.
7 Dec 2009, 14:41 pm
@Simon: You mean black people! Say it! So you asking whether black people loaf on Pdv? Is that it!
7 Dec 2009, 14:41 pm
@nama1: AMEN !!!!!
7 Dec 2009, 14:42 pm
@rangerman:
Hehehe…
7 Dec 2009, 14:42 pm
@Xhosaskid:
Pietman!
You white supremacist.
7 Dec 2009, 14:44 pm
@Valkyrie:
I am gonna ask PdeV to help me pay off my bond!!!!!!!!!!!!
@Simon: simon are you stupid? what part of paul treu’s answer (below) says habana won’t play for the Sevens Springboks? This article is carried in this month’s SARugby mag, yet you’re here spewing nonsense!
Gareth Duncan: Considering the importance of Olympic glory in 2016, would you select the strongest possible team or will you show your loyalty to the sevens specialists?
A sevens coach won’t be able to exclude the best players in the country – he would be stupid if he did. There’s no doubt South Africa will need our best possible team at the Olympics if we want to win a gold medal. Springboks such as Heinrich Brüssow and Ryan Kankowski have been involved in sevens before and they know how to win tournaments. We are also starting to identify players from the High Performance Programme – at the U16, U18 and U20 levels. These players will be future Springboks and the programme will help develop their game with the necessary skills to excel in sevens rugby.
you’re even on record lamenting the fact that the Sevens’ Springboks get paid the equivalent of a S14 contract, what is your problem bra?
@Valkyrie: Glad to hear. No mercy. And the ******* dug a hole so deep for himself that he knows he will look like the ultimate D00S, if he returns after his racist tirade exit.
@Simon: Talking Kak. But I actually cannot blame you. It’s hard to speak anything else when you up JW arse.
7 Dec 2009, 14:45 pm
@rossoneri: You clearly have no idea how interviews are conducted. There is always a handshake – and informal chatter – before an interview takes place.
7 Dec 2009, 14:45 pm
I cannot understand why it is so important to Simon that PdV must fail.
How will we bring an end to this violence and hatred?
7 Dec 2009, 14:46 pm
@WP Till I Die:
And finally …
I really though you had a spine, but you take instruction from that insane chemically-dependent Sheriff about not talking to me.
Get some backbone!
Good grief.
7 Dec 2009, 14:48 pm
@Simon: So you washed your hands immediately after. Is that it? Right at the end when you insultingly asked that racist question about black people loafing.
@Tacitus:
“So in one interview Snor has insulted the following people:
Everyone who voted for the National party before…”
i have no problem with this
@WP Till I Die: i reject wholesale capitalism outright.
but really, i am a ranger, not an economist so i listen, i learn.
simon, i appreciate the discussion anyway man. i may disagree with you and i do feel that the continued refusal of keo and the journos here to congratulate PdV on the successes he has had, is a little churlish.
but again, i appreciate the input. there was a time when you guys were around more often.
@rossoneri: When someone – black or white – wins the lottery, they are often hounded by ‘friends’ who come out of the woodwork, are they not?
7 Dec 2009, 14:49 pm
@PissAnt:
sheesh, i can be an irrit sometimes lmao!
@Simon:
Ons kleurling help mekaar.
Please gimme PdeV’s contact details.
I wanna give him my bank account number.
@Dawn:
What are you talking about?
Nobody told me not to talk to you?
Sorry, I’ve been very busy of late and hopping in and out of keo, so don’t have time to hang around to read all the comments?
7 Dec 2009, 14:50 pm
Should’ve asked him wether he thought Nick Mallett did a better job coaching his Boks on this EOYT
7 Dec 2009, 14:51 pm
@Sheriff: It’s important to Keo that Pdv fails, because he and Simons and the rest of these clowns have invested their credibility and souls with JW.
JW wants the DOR job with SA Rugby and piling on the pressure, hence why the articles are becomming more particularly nasty and condescending.
@rangerman:
You are on the wrong side.
One day, we will all be wholesale capitalists.
Mark my words.
PDV het my nuwe tande betaal en 20L papsak gekoop vir xmas.
7 Dec 2009, 14:52 pm
PDV…watershed year….so many really kak sad saffas want you to fail….some like the guys back on this blog that ran like that Clifton Mist before the real Saffas…..
PDV …dont let us down…take control….
Jake gets that job back i may have to support Kenya….
7 Dec 2009, 14:53 pm
@WP Till I Die:
Then Transformation is lying?
@Simon: @244 who won the lottery between Jake en Keo…and how many “friends” came out of the woodwork to come and pretend to be journalists?
@Simon: Oh! So Pdv won the Lottery? When. That’s news!
As for shaking his hand. I asked because that is the standard, but I didn’t think you applied something as basic as good manners to Pdv, him being a black coach and all.
@Klaas: So see through its scary……the KKK are back in town.
7 Dec 2009, 14:54 pm
hmmm….so paul tells it treu again eh?
will those olympics 7′s players be good enough to wear the bok?
or will they be like the brother of the 1st team player, who plays in the 3rds?
7 Dec 2009, 14:55 pm
@theOracle: What Simon is trying to say is that in his view, when a black person gets a good job, all their neighbours and family loaf on them. Isn’t that what you were trying to say Simon.
7 Dec 2009, 14:55 pm
“244. Simon :
December 7th, 2009 at 2:48 pm
@rossoneri: When someone – black or white – wins the lottery, they are often hounded by ‘friends’ who come out of the woodwork, are they not?”
This is so funny, it’s not funny!
7 Dec 2009, 14:56 pm
@rossoneri:
I know why he wants PdV to fail.
I merely put it there to try and help him to reflect on this.
English speaking Cape based whites are not yet used to success by other parts of SA community.
7 Dec 2009, 14:57 pm
@rossoneri:
Exactly.
It’s a cullart thing.
7 Dec 2009, 14:57 pm
@Dawn: wholesale?
i prefer retail.
and no, i dont eat giraffe…often. but it does end up in processed wors and the like.
protein is protein dawnie.
7 Dec 2009, 14:58 pm
Fark me….i would love a 10 minute chat to PDV….sort a few things out easy peasy…..
7 Dec 2009, 14:59 pm
@Sheriff: Hey….dont generalise!
i think the papsak and nuwe tande comment was hilarious.
i like to laugh.
it heals.
@rossoneri: so that means my question does not apply to Keo the former spin doctor& Jake the former schoolteacher?
The black man is boss and if he tells the white boy: Run, tackle, kick… YOU DO IT! Or you wont get a boerewors at the annual kkk braai
7 Dec 2009, 15:00 pm
@grant10:
Want his number?
Simon…as Nama said….interview PDV again….ask some real rugby questions….2010 such a hugely important year….can think of a dozen questions i would love to ask…..
@Simon: #244
Does the same happen when someone – black or white – lands a job with a better salary?
That’s all that happened here. That question was offensive to the community in which PdV lives. No matter how you’d like to spin it.
@grant10:
I should have said white journalists.
My apologies Grant.
7 Dec 2009, 15:01 pm
@Simon: lol.you probably had a bottle of ajax jik on standby to wash-off the brown after that handshake!
@Sheriff: what about the english speaking highveld cullarts?
@PissAnt: Seriously would love to have a chat to PDV….and i promise i would not waste his time with any kak either.
@Sheriff:It’s sad when they are afraid of the success of another South African only because he is black. It’s frightening to think that Simon would be more comfortable if Pdv was a drunk, not a success. How farked up is that.
7 Dec 2009, 15:02 pm
@Sheriff: cool
7 Dec 2009, 15:02 pm
@RaynoG: hey raydog.
wassup.
boss.
7 Dec 2009, 15:04 pm
@grant10: if you had a 40 min call, you would run out of time after repeating “turbo reverse” for the 626th time.
@nama1: And to Pdv.
276 hits & counting …. well done Simon. Xmas bonus for you.
7 Dec 2009, 15:05 pm
Just hope PDV doesent allow this Management by Senior Bok Committee to continue if, indeed , it does exist in the 1 st place.
Seriously that is looking for major strife.
Anyway….PDV…show these okes what you made of…be bold my man!!!
Beach calls…..
@rangerman:
Harry the Beachwalker’s views must be taken a handful of salt.
You can check out his pic on that other social network; sits there like a hunter who have had no success all day long.
@grant10:
Unfortunately other journalists ruined it for all of us, he does not talk much to people anymore…
7 Dec 2009, 15:06 pm
@Valkyrie:
there is some funny **** going on here today i must say.
i think the thread has run its course and the poison has been drawn from this wound.
isnt it nice to have a place like keo where we can all meet and vloek each other.
south africa needs more places like this i tell you.
7 Dec 2009, 15:06 pm
@rossoneri:
Simon’s problem is that he wants to feel better about himself and therefore delights in others failures.
Not the way to go.
7 Dec 2009, 15:07 pm
@Sheriff: harry hasnt been around for so long it feels like another lifetime since i saw him.
7 Dec 2009, 15:07 pm
I am the Stig.
7 Dec 2009, 15:09 pm
Before I leave, I would like to say to Simon and co.
PdV is here to stay.
And since rugby is not politics(tongue in cheek) he will probably be a COACH FOR LIFE! Having served many “terms in office” as long as he delivers the goods! and in the process he will generate quite good income for Keo so that you can get paid! He is your cash cow…respect my man, respect!
7 Dec 2009, 15:09 pm
“I am the Boss” sounds like ‘short man syndrome to me’:lol: umshmiwami…!!!
7 Dec 2009, 15:10 pm
Range
I speak these languages:
1st Afrikaner
2nd Cape Kullid
3rd SA English
You will therefore appreciate my limitations on a blog of this nature.
@rangerman:
Sheriff is obsessed with Harry.
Harry couldn’t give two flying f(&*(ks about him!
@rangerman: Absolutely.
7 Dec 2009, 15:11 pm
@rangerman:
He needs to pop in here otherwise I’ll have no choice but to call him a loser
When you have a look at JPP, Habs, Pdev’s ID book what do you see ???
When you look at Vic’s , Schalks, Smitties Id Book what do you see ???
Answer is a South African !!!!!!!!!, not a white, not a black, not a coloured but a freekin South African !!!
Geez …..parties from both sides , get over it man !!!! we are all South Africans , let’s take on the Aussies, the AB’s, the Poms………..time to find solidarity with ourselves as Saffas.
Simon your interview has done a lot to undo any bridging that has taken place !!!
Stick to the rugby boet, the line of questioning is designed to fuel racists appetite…..not cool !!
@Dawn: Transformation lied about what? I never said wptid takes orders from sheriff!
Where is simon now? I provided you pau treu’s view and then you scurry away like the weasel that you are!
7 Dec 2009, 15:14 pm
simon would have felt better if pdv was a drug dealer and not a bok coach earning those millions.how the hell can a coloured make millions being a bok coach!elke nag skrik simon wakker,natgesweet en skreeu’fw de klerk,fok jou,jy was n groot doos’
7 Dec 2009, 15:15 pm
@Sheriff:
Ja. You are limited alright.
7 Dec 2009, 15:16 pm
Dawn praat jy wat tande het!
7 Dec 2009, 15:16 pm
@Transformation:
You must remember that with characters like ______ any statement becomes an accusation.
Even an arbitrary statement like “the sky is blue” will be transformed into some kind of paranoid allegation.
I think its a case of chronic claustrophobia – the mountain and the sea. Some constantly feel trapped.
7 Dec 2009, 15:18 pm
@Transformation:
Then I misunderstood you.
WPTID I apologise.
7 Dec 2009, 15:19 pm
@Klaas:
Ja ek het nogal.
7 Dec 2009, 15:21 pm
@Klaas:
False people I can still tolerate.
But false teeth!! Hell, no!
7 Dec 2009, 15:24 pm
I cannot wait to see who I will link up with when Im in CT!
7 Dec 2009, 15:24 pm
@rangerman: you are absolutely right.keo is addictive and you can’t stay away, just ask pietman.fair play to simon for staying around and answering some questions.
7 Dec 2009, 15:26 pm
@Simon:
Simon,
I asked before, I am asking now
1. Where and when was this interview conducted?
2. What language did PdV use in interview?
3. The English used is well above PdV’s language – and most of the current Boks in the squad for that matter – how come the guy suddenly is a master of the lingo? his afrikaans to start with is poor, according to those who know it’s a gutter dialect used in the Cape Plains
7 Dec 2009, 15:29 pm
@Valkyrie: Fair enough. We certainly know him better after his participation.
7 Dec 2009, 15:30 pm
@Valkyrie:
Ryno Benjamin was involved with some trafficking charge 2 years ago, PdV is more at a bottle store affairs (” talk are cheap, Money buys the whisky”)
7 Dec 2009, 15:33 pm
@Hondo:
Simon is an editor.
He would have filled in the missing words for thr purposes of writing an article of a certain length.
The words used that can potentially be misinterpreted he used verbatim.
The key is to look for his intention.
7 Dec 2009, 15:34 pm
@Hondo:
“according to those who know it’s a gutter dialect used in the Cape Plains”
WHHAAAAATTTTT?????????????????????
How dare you speak thus about Afrikaans.
You twit.
7 Dec 2009, 15:35 pm
Gutter dialect used in the Cape Plains ….. indeed.
7 Dec 2009, 15:36 pm
Does anyone have the winning percentages between PdV and Jake White so the stats can actually tell us who the better coach is? The Lions tour and 3N have not convinced the majority it seems…
7 Dec 2009, 15:36 pm
@Hondo:
Yes.
We all traffic, we all hang out at bottle stores.
You white supremacist. (Lekker phrase)!
7 Dec 2009, 15:39 pm
Tackler is a puppeteer.
As we speak he is busy pulling the wires there in the background.
7 Dec 2009, 15:40 pm
@Hondo:
Come on, you fool.
I’m waiting.
Me and all the Afrikaans-speaking big guys who drive big bakkies … we are waiting ….
7 Dec 2009, 15:41 pm
A gatsby a day keeps the doctor away.
7 Dec 2009, 15:44 pm
IMO this is one of the most negative interviews I have seen. Never done it before but I actually feel sorry for PDV. The guy has never been given a fair chance and has been written off since the start. When the team loses he is KAK, when the team wins, it is ’cause of senior players.
Well done PDV on a great year. You have one of the hardest jobs in the world and are doing a fine job.
Good day!
Can I please have 2 chip rolls pls?
@Dawn: Yep…and even the english speaking guys with big Bakkies
7 Dec 2009, 15:45 pm
@Dawn:
supremacist = supermarket pharmacist
7 Dec 2009, 15:45 pm
Do they serve gatsby at the Avontuur restaurant between Stellenbosch and Somerset West?
7 Dec 2009, 15:47 pm
Apparently Saaimin and Raai-aan hulle kry vis en chips vouchers om by die Avontuur restaurant te eet.
7 Dec 2009, 15:47 pm
DJY!!!
7 Dec 2009, 15:49 pm
@charo: I’ll bet that’s where Joost,Ricky and Earl score it…!!
7 Dec 2009, 15:54 pm
Eish this blog has gone out of control.
Looks Simon faced the heat and good on him for showing face but this interview was really in poor taste and Simon has got the public sentiment horribly wrong.
Simon what some of the public wish to think who is pulling the strings is not necessary what the majority is thinking.
Tact in the questioning should have been used.
If my Boss was asking these same questions I would have said thanks for the job but no thanks mate.
Just very poor Simon I think you had the opportunity to side with your coach and angle your questions that way just maybe he would have expanded on your meeting.
If somehow this thinking is emanating from the bok camp as coach I would find out where it is coming from and kick the ******** out regardless if they are senior players.
There seems much arrogance from the senior players coming from the bok camp.
I dont hear that Habana is a senior player and that he is pulling strings…why not. But we hear Matfield and Smit…get rid of these as they are dispensable.
I hear **** Muir….lets see if it was him who should be lauded for the Bok success….with all his experience controlling the boks what did he do against Leceister?
Look at the Brumbies they thought they were too good they got rid of their coach…blunder….they have received a spanking ever since.
7 Dec 2009, 15:54 pm
if some on this site are to be believed, there are truly very few “world class coaches” ie those who like jake white built a team from shambles and took it to a world cup triumph!
Pdv= k@k, Graham Henry = k@k, Declan Kidney = k@k (BoD, o’Connell & O’Gara are coaching that Six Nations winning team) Deans…hhmm still k@k, hasn’t won zilch yet, let alone a world cup, Warren Gatland = k@k…etc…
That leaves me with only Jake White & Clive Woodard…hhmm?
7 Dec 2009, 15:59 pm
PDV has his moments but one thing is for sure he has done well with this side.
He should be given credit who cares what he says in the media….maybe thats his weakness…but he sure reserves his strength for Boks winning ways.
I like to banter about PDV its because he has done well.
Good on him!!
7 Dec 2009, 15:59 pm
Pretty hard hitting and PdV didn’t exactly hold back. I do think that some of his comments in the lions series was a bit daft, but the line of questioning from the journo’s seem pretty disrespectful.
I doubt this kind of questioning would have seen the light of day against Nick Mallet / Jake White.
No matter how you want to swing it, The Springboks have been really good under PdV. I was skeptical to start of with, but 3-0 against the All Blacks this year? Come on, that’s not lucky.
7 Dec 2009, 16:04 pm
@Hondo:
“The English used is well above PdV’s language – and most of the current Boks in the squad for that matter – how come the guy suddenly is a master of the lingo? his afrikaans to start with is poor, according to those who know it’s a gutter dialect used in the Cape Plains”
Given the number of grammatical errors that you managed to squeeze into the above-quoted passage, I find your complaint about PdV’s command of the English language somewhat amusing.
En terwyl ek nou hier is … die bewering dat PdV ‘n “gutter dialect” praat vertel my aansienlik meer van jou mentaliteit as van sy dialek.
7 Dec 2009, 16:13 pm
@Transformation: It’s crazy I tell you. Just crazy.
7 Dec 2009, 16:19 pm
@Thucydides:
That’s what I said.
Then the idiot vanished into the ether.
7 Dec 2009, 16:22 pm
@Transformation:
I can’t believe I got your story wrong … now WPTID will REALLY never speak to me again.
7 Dec 2009, 16:24 pm
@Dawn:
Yes, I will.
7 Dec 2009, 16:25 pm
@Dawn:
Even if I am “spineless”
7 Dec 2009, 16:25 pm
@WP Till I Die:
Sweet!
7 Dec 2009, 16:27 pm
@WP Till I Die:
Jammer man.
They lied to me.
7 Dec 2009, 16:30 pm
Now wheresat Simon.
I want to interview him.
7 Dec 2009, 16:33 pm
Dawn: “Your critics say that you have no real rugby knowledge, and that you have bullshitted your way into a job at HSM, and that you get all your information from Die SON. What do you say to that?”
Simon : “You said it, not me.”
7 Dec 2009, 16:35 pm
@Dawn:
7 Dec 2009, 16:35 pm
@Dawn: he will talk to you, he sounds like a pretty solid guy. He won’t be phased by your little irrational behaviour…you’re dawn for crying out loud…
7 Dec 2009, 16:40 pm
Dawn: “So does Mark Keohane run the show, as some have suggested?”
Simon : “Let me make this clear. I am the boss. I am the CEO of HSM.”
7 Dec 2009, 16:41 pm
@Dawn: HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! DIE SON! I recon that Simon and esspecially Ryan would fit in perfectly over there.
7 Dec 2009, 16:46 pm
Dawn : “What was your lowest point of that somewhat difficult 2008 season?”
Simon : “When the delivery boy forgot to bring me Die SON two weeks ago. I cried like a baby, I tell you.
7 Dec 2009, 16:48 pm
@Transformation:
Listen boet.
You can call me anything you like, but don’t call me irrational.
I know what you said, and I have been nagging you for proof for two weeks.
You wanna see me moer you, call me irrational.
7 Dec 2009, 16:54 pm
I’ve just logged in then I stumbled upon this article.
The standard of journalism has really gone down the toilet drain.
Simon you my dear friend are the official patron saint of assh0les. Well done.
All the journos on this site do more to fuel the divisions on this blog than anyone else.
I think you should actually stop writing rugby articles and go back to eating crayons, soiling yourselves or doing whatever people of your mental capabilities get up to.
Oh and when you’re finished down there remember to zip JW’S trousers and to wipe your mouths and yes you can swallow.
F#ck I’m really pissed off now…really. Have they got no respect for PDV.
What the fu#k did he do to them to deserve being treated like this?
Go and reflect on this: “If we uncritically swallow every criticism of people. We participate in a mob attack that undermines the individuals and their efforts and gives comfort to our enemies that demeans and cheapens us all. We need to think more carefully before we accept every confirmation of our own darker preconceptions.” ( I can’t remember the author of this quote.)
7 Dec 2009, 17:44 pm
@Dawn: relax dawn…
7 Dec 2009, 17:56 pm
@Xhosaskid: and you are still a fcuken idiot
7 Dec 2009, 18:02 pm
@XhosaKid: no one took the bait mate.
by now, everyone has spotted his little ruse.
7 Dec 2009, 18:11 pm
What a waste of time . Really pathetic questions
7 Dec 2009, 18:12 pm
@Sheriff:
But how do we establish the matching of the text to the interview stenogram? no newspaper published this interview and no TV shown it yet
The paragraph about JS is WELL edited, it’s no secret that JS, VM and VdP ran the Boks in 2009, the story was published in Aus, NZ and the UK, last week Keo himself reiterated it!
@Dawn:
Waiting for what girl?
I haven’t said anything offensive about the Boykies, I merely questioning the validity and the authenticity of the PdV ‘interview’ by Simon, I believe it’s a fabrication handed down by a SARU PR
7 Dec 2009, 18:17 pm
@Hondo: Yep…this is how we do PR in SA ….all behind the scenes with all the right words so we don’t **** it up in front of the camera…I Believe…
7 Dec 2009, 18:22 pm
@Dawn:
For your eyes only:
(source: saruby.com, just punch in your search engine: ryno benjamin and drug charge)
“Rose and Benjamin to appear in court
From the press 9/9/2008
Golden Lions rugby players Earl Rose and Ryno Benjamin will appear in the Randburg magistrates court today on alleged drug dealing charges.
The two Lions players will appear in the dock alongside two other co-accused in charges relating to their arrest on 31 January of this year.
Rose and Benjamin were arrested in January after being found in a flat in Fontainebleau, Randburg which contained a significant amount of illegal substances.
The amount of drugs found in the flat has prompted the state to prosecute the players on intent to deal charges.
A Golden Lions representative claimed that the drugs had been “planted”.
“We are aware of the charges against them. But according to our own lawyers’ investigation into the case, the drugs were planted on the players,” GLRU chief executive Manie Reyneke told the Beeld newspaper on Monday.
“We are convinced the case against them won’t continue.” he said.
With thanks to the Beeld. “
7 Dec 2009, 18:50 pm
Let`s take snor`s appointment of bok coach and put it into perspective.He is nothing but a QUOTA coach who happened to be at the WRIGHT place at the WRONG time as far as SA rugby is concerened.I wonder if snor had been a white person would he have got the job as bok coach before HM i think not,and if i am wright in what i think then the only reason he got the job of bok coach was in the eyes of the ANC RUN SA RUGBY BOARD he was the correct political choice for the non whites in sa and he would help to make them look good in the eyes of the electorate at election time.Snor will be nothing other than a QUOTA coach and he was lucky that he had inheritted JAKE WHITE`S world cup winners to help him.I would like to see how he would cope with what jake white had to put up with from the SARB and still his team became world champions.I wonder if he could build a team from scratch and win a world cup i think not.If he is so proud of being non white why has he not got two white coaches instead of two non white coaches to assist him.Snor`s appointment was nothing less than disgraceful and a real slap to HM any decent rugby coach IN SA.I hope any future appointments as bok coach will go on experience and not along racial lines as this appointment did.
7 Dec 2009, 19:22 pm
@blueboy: feel better now?
7 Dec 2009, 19:33 pm
@blueboy:
Snor is a good exponent of bottle stores though
7 Dec 2009, 20:08 pm
@ blueboy 352: Any new observations or are you just hopping on the “I hate PdV” bandwagon like the other hillbillies?
7 Dec 2009, 20:18 pm
Actually i hope the greatest goes on to even greater things and actually having seen some of these comments i hope he actually picks some new players and goes on with that lot…cos there going to be some redfaced when this fella lifts the cup in 2011.
what more you want, we;ve just had a better year under PdV then we;ve ever had with the same players under white or with any other team for that matter?
7 Dec 2009, 20:48 pm
@blueboy: Grow up.
7 Dec 2009, 20:57 pm
Blueboy, I was not aware that Jake White had issues with the SA Reserve Bank? Did he violate the Exchange Controls? Exceed his travel or investment allowances?
7 Dec 2009, 21:28 pm
WPTID,
lmga.
7 Dec 2009, 21:31 pm
Hope you win us a 2nd tri nations Pieter. All good coaches must have a bad day. At least we did what was important. The all blacks will be back though. Its the bloody air new zealand cup. Eventhough alot of the all black big names were missing they still had an abundance of talent.
7 Dec 2009, 21:45 pm
it surprises me that if black people discriminate against coloured, white and indian people then it seems all ok, like the South African Government’s Affirmative Action Policies which are run along exactly the same lines as the apartheid governments policies i.e discriminating on the basis of colour in our case against anyone who is not black and when i talk of ‘black’ this excludes coloureds and indian folk. it seems the current racist policies promolgated through various discriminatory statutes are a flip side of the previous apartheid govt laws when it comes affirmative action. Affirmative action is just a pretty phrase used to disguise racist actions.
7 Dec 2009, 22:02 pm
Go to u tube and watch the following:
a. Jake White appointment as coach 2004
b. Jake’s new boss
Check out especially b if you want to understand the definition of bullsh*t
7 Dec 2009, 22:03 pm
@byoboy: well DUH…
where have you been sleeping for the last 14 years?
Jy moet slaap by die nag…
7 Dec 2009, 22:04 pm
@byoboy: hey “suprised” einstein! How bout you propose an innovative way to redress the imbalances brought about by a systematic and deliberate disenfranchising of the majority of the people of this country that handed a racist minority a +/- four decades long head start!
Do you have a quick fix solution to the man-made human wastelands that are the townships, i can go on. If you don’t have valid & practical solutions then shut your “chip on the shoulder” trap.
7 Dec 2009, 22:13 pm
Its quite strange how the same bloggers appear here when its an allout anti-pdv war. They only incite for fun I hope, but if they seriously believe their deluded ideas? EISH
7 Dec 2009, 22:16 pm
@Transformation: my solution would be a “partnership” between the holders of knowledge and the thirsty for knowledge.
you and i both know that it should have been done 15 years, no, 50 years ago!
but the anc missed the boat. so many reasons though, i will admit.
but ja, it can still work and it cant be more expensive than the stop start, non delivery due to lack of practical experience/training than we have endured the last 14 years.
partnerships.
they are the only hope for all of us.
7 Dec 2009, 22:20 pm
Rangerman, you looking for a partner in your illegal warthog meat business? Scaly b@stard!
7 Dec 2009, 22:22 pm
@Slappes: haha, i got asked to find someone a warthog for christmas today.
hehe….tasty little pigs.
7 Dec 2009, 22:24 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: in SA currently black people have to work half as hard and still get promoted despite their white competitiors overachieving – look at our man Heyneke…
7 Dec 2009, 22:27 pm
@Slappes:
the shallowpig is the (silent) partner…unfortunately it suffers from a lack of empowerement
7 Dec 2009, 22:28 pm
Rangerman, you serious? Thought the meat would tough and fatty? OK, how bout skunk meat then.
7 Dec 2009, 22:29 pm
@SjamBok: not strictly true sjambok.
the vast majority of black people have no access to resources, contacts (political or otherwise), quality education, broadened horizons, or even the internet, to take advantage of the opportunities available due to government policies.
so we have a black elite instead of a black middle class.
a tragedy.
7 Dec 2009, 22:31 pm
@Slappes:
the shallow pig has a delicious, slightly gamey flavour…especially when it has been eating the lucerne of the safari suit…
@gunther: i empower it by giving it equal access to my weber.
i am no specist.
@Slappes: skunk? not often available unless you import.
i will deposit one in your car heating system, lets say next july?
@Slappes: are you saying ranger is the real crocodile dundee?
dundee: the town in kzn…
7 Dec 2009, 22:33 pm
Gunther,
yeah ol Rangy always looking to be shallow, esp when he sells warthog meat as kudu steaks.
7 Dec 2009, 22:34 pm
Hows all… I see Keo has decided Low is not low enough.. Simon is proof enough that Black journalist have to work 100times harder to get a job… How does this doos manage to keep his job in a competitive job market… Still good to be white??… I think that Keo is actualy a devious black man looking to degrade black people. How else do you explains his employment of Simon. He wants to show the world that most White people are twats and white supremacy is a myth
Wow comrade Keo.. Long live
7 Dec 2009, 22:35 pm
is wartie good eating?
7 Dec 2009, 22:36 pm
@rangerman:
i’ll go along with that, the internet has broadened my horizons considerably….
the hardest thing about preparing game meat is avoiding drying it out completely. this is because the meat is usually extremely lean.
a lot of people who have tried venison once will never try it again because it is badly prepared.
contrary to popular belief, it holds no pungent smell and the “gamey” flavour is referred to as “taste” in all other meats.
very healthy too.
but warthog?
because warthog has more fat than other game meats, it is far easier to prepare and much harder to botch, for the average person who isnt familiar with preparing venison
potjies are another option.
This should read: ( Small error in my last post)
Hows all… I see Keo has decided Low is not low enough.. Simon is proof enough that Black journalist have to work 100times harder to get a job… How does this doos manage to keep his job in a competitive job market… Still good to be white??… I think that Keo is actualy a devious black man looking to degrade white people.
How else do you explains his employment of Simon. He wants to show the world that most White people are twats and white supremacy is a myth
Wow comrade Keo.. Long live
7 Dec 2009, 22:38 pm
Rangerman,
eish that ought to smell nice. Transformation , yep only difference is Rangerman specialises in roadkilled meat.
@rangerman:
not true judah sells me excellent skunk from the transkei…
@Transformation: i dont go to dundee often.
@cab: great eating.
@gunther: ja, i am sure. you visit ukraine every night eh?
7 Dec 2009, 22:40 pm
volstruis has become huge in Sa.
if ou doos had his way, we;d be braaing herbed cactus or somthing.
7 Dec 2009, 22:40 pm
@Slappes: so much easier to stew when it is already falling off the bone
@gunther:
hahaha! excellent. i had some skunk in the transei not so long ago…round transies old stomping grounds of mtentu.
paradise. desmond the rasts be showing me round mon.
7 Dec 2009, 22:41 pm
@rangerman: is it similar to the bigger wild pigs Ranger?
7 Dec 2009, 22:41 pm
@cab: worked for a while in mexico. then they went off their rockers
give me a good steak anytime.
7 Dec 2009, 22:43 pm
Ranger, what about warthog bacon?
7 Dec 2009, 22:43 pm
@Slappes:
roadkill is listed under rangers menu as “dry aged” meat….
7 Dec 2009, 22:45 pm
So a white coach that jumps ship when he realizes the writing’s on the wall is over achieving? Takes five years to win the S14 (by luck it must be added)? I say let pDV not be judged by such mediocre standards. Mind you he has really set the bar 3N (5-1);BIL (2-1) ABs (3-0).
@Slappes:
it is not easy to make bacon from the shallow pig…you have to get lucky and find one that has been run over by a combine harvester…
@rangerman:
really? volstruis in mexico. i heard they introduced some tigers into SA and taught them to hunt.
talking of bush big and the ukraine, apparently the eatern europeans get these monster boar of around 200kg plus, hell its bigger than a leeu…and thats just the vrouens.
I see my biltong recipe has everyone’s taste buds going.
Full on Home Economics class here led by Bushy.
7 Dec 2009, 22:46 pm
@poppa69: warthog is a little less fatty than a wild boar.
i am assuming here poppa. we have two wild pig species in south africa, a bushpig which is nocturnal and a warthog which is active during the day (diurnal).
the bushpig is a lot like a wild boar whilst the warthog lives in burrows at night and is the chappy with the curly, prominent tusks (they are adapted canines unlike the tusks of eles that are adapted incisors).
both are mmmmm good.
cheap as chips too, if you can get them (which makes no sense i think).
@rangerman: that is assuming the so-called holders of knowledge come into the partnership with genuine intentions…
I’ve seen gardeners & domestics registered as shareholders by the baas to exploit government resources…i know we can cite examples of corrupt behaviour until the cows come home…
I only eat THA CHICKEN!
7 Dec 2009, 22:47 pm
@cab: I ate herbed cactus in Sedona Arizona. It must be said that it was kak. Had to drink quite a lot to get over it.
My son had rattlesnake, that was not great either.
7 Dec 2009, 22:47 pm
@SodaJoe:
it sounded like something from the silence of the lambs…
it rubs the lotion on its skin or else it gets the hose again …
7 Dec 2009, 22:48 pm
@PissAnt: Honestly if Nando’s could get their act together despite the dofness of insurance moguls and their offspring they would be huge in US.
7 Dec 2009, 22:49 pm
@SodaJoe:
He should have flossed first.
@rangerman:
have you ever seen the red-haired bushpig? serious, i think its from KZN? did not even know it existed, i only thought we got the dark-haired one.
@rangerman: Fk me. That was good – from Home Ec to Biology.
Podnership coming up. Just give me a bell.
7 Dec 2009, 22:50 pm
@PissAnt: Boet, awesome.
This one is winding up.
@Slappes: havent tried bacon but i have got smoked and pickled warthog gammon in my freeer for christmas.
@cab: no cabbie, not volstruis, i was talking about peyote
i have swum in the sea and run up and down the dunes with those tigers that are now in tiger moon, nfreestate.
that project is ongoing with john varty. at the time, on the beach, gillian van houten just happened to be there.
in a bikini.
hold me back! i am a tiger!
@SodaJoe:
Problem is that in the US people think chicken is salad or a side dish – cultural thing.
@cab: I have seen a red-haired bush.
@cab:
I’m not sure, I think I bedded one at varsity…
7 Dec 2009, 22:51 pm
@SodaJoe:
adventurous eaters i see, you did not down the worm in the bottom of the tequila?
7 Dec 2009, 22:52 pm
@SodaJoe:
I am out though dude, sorry!
My baba is crying and daddy needs to give some TLC…
Enjoy gents.
7 Dec 2009, 22:52 pm
@cab: Rhodes destroyed all semblance of me ever drinking any form of Tequila again, including these so called fkn “sippin ones
7 Dec 2009, 22:53 pm
@rangerman:
ja john varty thats it, ja gillian was a cracker, alsmost as good as ruda landman…
@SodaJoe:
easy tiger … i dont want to hear your predilictions, we talking game here.
7 Dec 2009, 22:55 pm
@cab: My bad. Lost my head.
Haha.
@SodaJoe:
were u in the drinking club? my boet was apparently president…i;ve never heard of a more ridiculous society in all my life…sounds like all you okes did in the eastern cape was drink, puff doob – no wonder you were hopeless at rugby.
Big deflection off the topic… I understand.. This is embarrasing.. But let me add my stuk.. I once bought a pig to spit Loads of meat. I could have fed 100… I cut/boiled the head up and made a Curry Potjie.. Totally devine.. Those who did want pork ate the curry
7 Dec 2009, 22:56 pm
@cab: Honestly dude, I can see you and Ruda.
You’ll have to take off your beret.
7 Dec 2009, 22:56 pm
adieu
7 Dec 2009, 22:57 pm
@SodaJoe:
he will have to keep his boots on though ….. that lady is tall…
7 Dec 2009, 22:59 pm
@Transformation: transie, BOTH sides have seen the wrong way, lets see if they can start to see the right way eh?
partners?
@cab: hehe, cab, where did you hear about the red haired ones?
i feel awful when i hear you talk about it
zululand has really red clay soils in some areas (it is basically Fe(2+) or oxidised/rusting iron in the soil that gives it the red colour as the soil is mostly the result of volcanic igneous rock being broken down over millennia.
so the warthogs, when they enter and leave the burrows or wallow, get coated in red clay.
we used to tell guests that they were a different species, the “maputaland/spanish/scandinavian/south american etc etc russet hog” as a joke. long tales of how they swam aboard from ships that ran aground blah blah blah.
i always told the guests it was a joke, looks like someone else didnt
@SodaJoe:
7 Dec 2009, 22:59 pm
@Langenhoven:
i think u just cooked your goose (and pig) with skoppie…wait till he sees that one.
7 Dec 2009, 23:00 pm
Damn.. I am useless with the keyboard tonight..
should read: Totally devine.. Those who did NOT want pork ate the curry
7 Dec 2009, 23:01 pm
@SodaJoe: cheers soda.
@Langenhoven: so you are saying the pig ends at the neck?
7 Dec 2009, 23:02 pm
@Langenhoven: divine.
7 Dec 2009, 23:03 pm
@rangerman:
was reading some story about a kid in the us who popped some monster hog in some hick back woods and got to researching the different species of hog, swine and boar around the world – SA got the wartie, the cool ugly one with the tanne, but also the two species of bushpig i think.
we stayed with some folk who had a warthog as a pet, slept on the couch and farted alot, wonder if its related to my toppie, bladdy funny animal actually, they reckon it was the best pet they ever had.
7 Dec 2009, 23:04 pm
ok, i have to go and catch some sleep.
have a pleasant night all.
tjorts!
7 Dec 2009, 23:04 pm
@cab: I know that Skop likes veggies… but I almost became a vegetarian after that Braai… and everybody spoke about the lovely curry ( Varkkop)
7 Dec 2009, 23:06 pm
@rangerman: Had varkkop curry… and since when have you been checking on spelling lol
7 Dec 2009, 23:07 pm
@cab: ja, my partner has a bushpig as a pet. the thing is very chilled.
there is another pig species in africa, the giant forest hog which is found around uganda and is HUGE. they can weigh in at 200 kilos.
but in south africa we have only the warthog and the bushpig.
two species. both tasty.
7 Dec 2009, 23:08 pm
Cheers all… I need to sleep too.. woke up at 4 this morning… fkdup tired..
7 Dec 2009, 23:09 pm
@Langenhoven:
hehe…yeah, some strange stuff, the frenchies eat the lot, from the head to the trotters and gat.
actually the kiwis have the kakapo, biggest parrot in the world, only about 100 of them and 80% are males, and if life cant get any worse the poor buggers smell like ****.
7 Dec 2009, 23:09 pm
@Langenhoven: just being my usual helpful self man.
varkkop curry is something i will still have to try one day.
but now, i am truly off.
have a good one guys!
7 Dec 2009, 23:10 pm
@rangerman:
**** thats inteersing, will have a look for that ugandan bugger.
7 Dec 2009, 23:17 pm
Grant would love a new speedo, made from warthog fur. I wonder if Ranger would leave the resident parasites in the fur?
7 Dec 2009, 23:22 pm
they’re showing the saracens vs sale sharks game on S1, liefling doing all the kicking…
I wonder where is the Turbo Reverse Specialist tonight…
7 Dec 2009, 23:52 pm
What’s up with all this recipe-swopping? Missing Pietman and the rest of the Potjiekos Kommando?
7 Dec 2009, 23:55 pm
@Slappes:
Didn’t I warn you? lol
@Transformation: what about Melck and Brits?
8 Dec 2009, 00:12 am
yeah well can’t say I haven’t tried with this lot. Lord knows how I tried, but like Jake and His Majesty HM I reckon I know when I’m beat so looky like is better I just hand in my resignation and retire quietly from this tory association.
Good luck
Oh and Ps, I don’t think I’m gonna be around when the big red giant goes boom to pick up all the pieces, no Sirree, I.ma outa here on a my bicycle. Flat out the window. Whoopie.
Only fools that keep trying to put humpty together again. Fini.
8 Dec 2009, 00:26 am
Is that your resignation speech Skoppie?
You know I have trouble at understanding your posts at the best of times!!
Anyway you can’t leave…..Keo would be wierd without you!
“F*cadilly”, no one says it like you do!!
8 Dec 2009, 00:39 am
just watch me disappear like a puff of smoke, kiddo, thats if you can train your eyes that far into the distance.
8 Dec 2009, 00:43 am
@skopskiet: That reminds me I must get my eyes tested again soon…….!!
You off fishing or something?
8 Dec 2009, 00:58 am
Yawn…….
8 Dec 2009, 04:51 am
Why do you think the South African rugby media want you to fail?
Because your man didn’t get the job.
Who? Heyneke Meyer?
You said it, not me.
Do you think some of the media are racist?
You said it, not me.
Hmm Adi, JPP and Ricki are from the same tribal group?
Ok, we do still have big perspective issues in SA. One, is peoples victim complex. Secondly, waiting for people to fail, then blame the colour.
Colour has fokol to do with performance but culture does, the culture to win.
All men are born equal.
8 Dec 2009, 06:12 am
With the exception of the last question, I thought the questions were quite insightful – especially looking at the answers to the transformation ones.
PdV was just being hardegat all through the intervioew process and no honest answers were forthcoming.
He does not regret the way he handled the eye gouging interview…. yeah right!
He would have made the changes sooner in the first Lions test if he could do it again … yeah right!
The Boks changed their style of play for the “law changes” and not because tehy were losing… yeah right!
All his answers were just a big F#%$-you anyway.
He is in “defensive mode”, and this interview was an opportunity for the public to gain some personal insight into a man and his sturuggles to get recognised, but turned into a sour-assed blockade session.
He was quite smart about turning loaded questions around with the “You said it, not me” answers…
“So you do make technical contributions in the Bok set-up?
Of course. When I said the All Blacks were scrumming illegally in last year’s Tri-Nations, I had video footage to back it up. No one else in the Bok squad had spotted it. The same thing happened when I questioned the Wallabies’ scrumming methods this year. I was the only person who saw what they were doing. I also make technical observations about other areas of the game, like lineouts and attack.”
FFS if that is all the technical contributions he puts in, we are in for some kak next year when our style of play becomes stale.
Snor – Can you at least manage your players to vary their game DAMMIT!! I LOVE the Boks, but I HATE their style of play right now – and they are not even winning with it FFS.
8 Dec 2009, 06:31 am
@KevinRack:
We all saw what happened when a ‘representative’ Boks team took the field in last Novemebr, didn’t we?
It’s a pro sport with a huge TV and sponsors’ revenues, if you drop in ranking your income drops too, that’s why JS, VM and FdP got the mandate to run the Boks and call the shots, Keo admitted it last week but that has been a well known secret since the B&ILs tour
8 Dec 2009, 06:33 am
@SjamBok:
That interview never took place, a SARU PR Officer Andy Cullough handed it to Keo.co.za for publication
8 Dec 2009, 07:23 am
@KevinRack: yes all men are born equal, but some are more equal than others, when they royally **** up in super rugby yet they get multiple opportunities to coach and are provided with the best resources money can by to finally get it right and now they go around sulking because they are not put on the pedestals they think they deserve. sure that is the south african version of equality!
8 Dec 2009, 07:54 am
DAWN lets be honest for a while : You got your job cause of your colour, I got my job cause of my colour, PDV got the job because of his colour. Black CA’s becoming CEO’s because of their colour. We all know its not because of skill or what ever, but to make things right because of apartheid. And it will happen again. Allaister Coetzee will prob. become the next Bok coach – eventhough he is useless. Now while all the bitching and moaning? Why playing the racist card? Surely you are a better person than that! aren’t you?
8 Dec 2009, 08:37 am
@KevinRack: This interview was flat out disrespectful, and there is no other way to view it. If this was Sir Alex Ferguson or Jose Mourhino, or Joe Kinnear, he would tell Simon to go **** himself and walk out.
8 Dec 2009, 08:45 am
Impostor @ 447
8 Dec 2009, 09:12 am
An interview with one of the most succesful coaches in world rugby required a little more thought than that! I thought some of the questions were vulgar to say the least. PDV was not my first choice as Bok coach but then neither was Jake White at the time. Who are we after one of the most succesful seasons in Bok history to adopt this line of questioning. I would have thoguht questions regarding next season’s tactics, player conditioning, smit at 2 or 3 etc etc would have done this coach justice. There is really no rugby rationale behind the interview and it is sad day for this website and SA Rugby magazine that that it actually got published in the first place. Some respect please. Read Smit’s book on PDV. Yes they have their healthy differences but at the end of the day Smit and no doubt all the other Boks have nothing but repect for ther coach – why can’t journalists.
8 Dec 2009, 10:00 am
Interesting to note that more than 36hr since the thread was entered by Simon, there’s STILL no reaction whatsoever to the interview in ANY SA websites, i.e.: IOL Rugby, Sport 24 Rugby, Rugby 365, and SuperRugby.
All the rugby columns from Cape Argus to the Beeld, Raaport and Pretoria News hasn’t mention the existence of such a sensational interview either!
This isn’t a characteristic response usually associated with Snor’s gems
Guys, you have been pumped up and hyped by a hoax I am afraid!
8 Dec 2009, 10:05 am
Much ado about nothing! Let us all be grateful Piet
is not a guest on the BBC’s ‘HardTalk’.
8 Dec 2009, 10:08 am
@kesbok: they’ll tell you that respect is earned! Keo and his minions believe that jake white “made his mistakes, suffered because of them, sacrificed the normality of being at home when his kids eat dinner and fought incredible forces within the south african game. That jake is “an extraordinary character who negotiated the kind of social and political obstacles no other coach in world rugby can comprehend”
Now they see pdv as an impostor who has no place being a springbok coach and have thus vowed to replicate the kind of turmoil, intrusions to personal life, torture through print & dergatory environment that SARU and all these other “forces” in the game , and subject pdv to all of it because they believe saru is treating pdv with kid gloves and no springbok coach deserves kid gloves!
So from that perspective, these kind of interviews and articles are all par for the cause and if you’re bok coach you have to handle them whether you’re black or white or green!
8 Dec 2009, 10:14 am
PdV: ‘I am the boss’ and he has got his wife’s permission to say so!
8 Dec 2009, 10:46 am
Aw not this kak again! I think PdV handled a tough interview well. We should not cower about affirmative action – bring it out, let’s discuss it. PdV did fine there. SA guvment currently requires that an AA coach be seen; SARU appointthe best one they can find and he’s done OK, hasn’t he? Sure, just maybe Mullet or Meyer would have been better but maybe not. PdV’s made mistakes, what SA coach hasn’t? He needs to improve, that is clear, but most SA coaches had their hopeless moments (definitely Mullet & Meyer). Jeez, and Gwant 10 wants the Boks to have a dominant lineout & scwum and probably everything else too. It’s possible bru but think for a moment; very hard to achieve. Against Ireland we had a dominant scwum and finished second. Think bru, think.
But to squeal the race card like Malema or Terreblanche (or Snotskiet) is just as stupid as these clown. Grow up, take it on the chin, speak out, don’t cower behind race.
8 Dec 2009, 11:06 am
@husky:
There hasn’t been the slightest evidence so far that the interview actually took place.
All websites and the media included Keo’s ‘Business Day’ column are totally unaware of the PdV ‘interview’
Hold fire until the interview’s credentials are verified. that is my advice to all
8 Dec 2009, 11:21 am
@Hondo: I can assure you the interview took place, but you are welcome to confirm this with Saru. The reason no one is reporting on it now is because it appeared two months ago in SA Rugby magazine.
8 Dec 2009, 11:48 am
@Simon:
Simon
Your day will come my friend. What you sow you will reap!!!
8 Dec 2009, 12:04 pm
@wpw: Ag don’t worry about simon he was a geeky, scrawny, bespectacled little choir boy who had a girly voice and warts on his nose.
He couldn’t get into the rugby team and he wasn’t a hit with the girls either.
He was probably bullied by all and sundry (girls included).
After school he would write his “dear diary” entries telling of how unfair life had been to him.
Hence all this bitter twistedness that we see from him on this site.
8 Dec 2009, 13:52 pm
We all know its not because of skill or what ever, but to make things right because of apartheid. And it will happen again. Allaister Coetzee will prob. become the next Bok coach – eventhough he is useless. Now while all the bitching and moaning? Why playing the racist card? Surely you are a better person than that! aren’t you?
@ LANGENHOVEN: This comment is stupid to say the least. stop patronizing black people, this is a classic example of how you whites think. you make comments like this becuase you are inherently racist and when a black man accuses you of racism and prejudice towards them, you try to tell them that it is all in their minds. how stupid do you think we are. dont answer that question you may just expose your lack of brain capacity even further, you racist twit. i submit to you that dawn has more brains then you. look at all the stupid whites all over the world especially the racist ones, they look just like you!!!!! powder face!
8 Dec 2009, 14:17 pm
Biggest `mistake` the Apartheid government made was to hand over all power to the ANC.
Should have been a power sharing government.Now the ANC controls, or try to control, everything.
Well this is how it may seem to any right thinking person.Problem is that there is something more sinister going on in the world.
North American Union ( USA, Canada and Mexico )process already taking place
European Union
African Union
Asian Union
All these will combine to form a One World Government. Read British Rule.
I don`t doubt for one second that the British is more responsible for many of Africa and the world`s woes.It`s not over until it`s OVER.
This is not a Conspiracy Theory, but a fact.
So look past the ANC and Mugabe and the so called savior of America, Obama. Why is he sending more troops to the middle east? Obama is nothing but a Puppet.
Some serious questions that need to be answered.
Ok, so back to rugby then
8 Dec 2009, 14:28 pm
461@Karoolander:
what will you call the movie?
8 Dec 2009, 14:30 pm
@ashley: How the Queen got her groove back….
8 Dec 2009, 14:48 pm
463@Karoolander:
how about
“the emperor’s new groove”?
8 Dec 2009, 14:53 pm
Graeme1 , as jy klaar is daar, kom maak my tuin skoon boy
8 Dec 2009, 14:57 pm
and by boy i mean little man – cause your acting like a kid … btw i’m coloured you dom puz … go back to school & finish grade 10 .. sommer saam Malema
8 Dec 2009, 15:04 pm
457@Simon:
oooooooooooooooh
i’m important
i work for sarugby magazine!! $^%$$^$^%$
8 Dec 2009, 15:25 pm
@langenhead: i dont car if you are coloured same difference you probably vote DA also, i think you should go and wash Helen zilli’s floors, you hottie. ai man when will you free your minds from this mental enslavement brought on by the colonialists, that is if you are coloured at all, cause i get the feeling the whites on this site are becoming clever and acting black when the heat comes there way. if you are in your job because of your color than you must go and finish school because then by your own admission you are an unskilled idiot. i feel so sorry for you right now, you fake colored/white whatever you are, or want to be.
8 Dec 2009, 15:37 pm
468@graeme1:
uhm
sooooooooo
when, according to you, have someone successfully freed his mind from “mental enslavement”?
8 Dec 2009, 16:43 pm
@graeme1: @LANGENHOVEN!: this is probably the most hilarious exchange in the history of keo.
so few will witness it unfortunately as it is on a dead thread.
graeme, you a a cnut of note. stick your rhetoric right up your *** and find another saviour boykie, no one gives a **** about you and the people you think of a messiah’s prefer to be called massa’s.
8 Dec 2009, 17:18 pm
@graeme1: jeppers bra, what is the matter with you? Why come on this blog and display such ignorance and the worst thing about it you’re doing it in supposed defence of black people. From now on speak for yourself. If you feel patronised by langenhoven or anyone for that matter, make it a personal matter black people don’t need no advocates especially obtuse ones like yourself.
comment on rugby for a change, let us hear what you know about the game rather than whose @rse you would like to be president and how much vitriol you can spew at pie-in-the-sky racists.
Hao batong!
8 Dec 2009, 17:23 pm
@Pearl Rose: well that was far better than my response
he is still a cnut though.
8 Dec 2009, 17:25 pm
“you hottie” is about as racial a statement as you can get.
8 Dec 2009, 17:31 pm
There is no way Langenhoven! is Langenhoven.
So Graeme got punk’d.
8 Dec 2009, 18:07 pm
@SodaJoe: i agree with you CooldrinkJoe, Graeme1 here got ashton kutcher-ed…plus i’m suspcious of this graeme character, he seems to be a fabrication!
8 Dec 2009, 18:23 pm
@Transformation: Well in one way it’s quite funny, in another quite sad – why would anyone bother?
8 Dec 2009, 18:30 pm
Ah, the stealing of nicknames. It continues…
8 Dec 2009, 18:35 pm
@SodaJoe: don’t underestimate the depravity of those that want to see this blog disrupted and dysfunctional because their ventures haven’t panned out as they imagined. this graeme1 is a fraud created to sow division and to spark racial discord nothing else.
8 Dec 2009, 18:39 pm
@Simon:
Thanks Simon, at least we are candid at last and that’s mitigation.
In fairness, you had to mention it up front that this is not a current interview, that would help to keep perceptions.
When respectable rugby commentators such as Paul Auckford from the UK’s D Telegraph, Spiro Zavos from the Sydney’s Morning Herald, Peter Bill from Auckland’s NZ Herald and Stephen Jones from the Times all reported that the Boks were ran by 3 senior players within the squad, that tells the educated person SOMETHING about the reality of PdV’s coaching and control
Keo himself admitted so last week, hell, this is no state secret?!
8 Dec 2009, 18:39 pm
@Transformation:
I tend to agree Trans !!!
8 Dec 2009, 18:42 pm
@Hondo: “educated” you sound exactly like simon’s *** lover “nick armstrong” with his 75+ oIQ claims…
8 Dec 2009, 18:48 pm
@justrugby: the same way this new langenhoven is nothing but a mole…it’s stupid really because it is so blatant…
8 Dec 2009, 18:56 pm
@Transformation:
Well,
Educated person would have spotted the huge discrepancies in that 2 months old interview, also the educated person will conclude it’s an hoax because PdV doesn’t command the English language, so it’s merely an edited fabrication
I spotted it, you didn’t
Right?
So much so for education
8 Dec 2009, 19:00 pm
@Transformation:
Can you believe that a rugby blog can degenerate into this ?
I have met the real Langenhoven, this mole is way off base !!
8 Dec 2009, 19:02 pm
@Hondo: whatever man…keeping patting urself on the back…you think rattle off names of oversees journalists you’re all that? mnxim ha ha ha
8 Dec 2009, 19:14 pm
@Transformation:
So you turned ignorance into a profession?
I got the EOYT betting perfectly all five tests, included the spreads!
The power of education vs the brandy and coke style,,,
8 Dec 2009, 19:19 pm
@Hondo: hey mate, let’s go back to ingoring each other’s posts. i have no time for the likes of you, really.
8 Dec 2009, 22:32 pm
@Transformation:
A pleasure, really
You started it, kindly reminded!
9 Dec 2009, 08:17 am
This Hondo dude is a real cnut isn’t he?? What a prick!!!
9 Dec 2009, 08:35 am
get real ladies, and face the truth this blog is nothing but a joke anyway!!! Just proves…!! anyway i hope next time i come back here you ladies are more real and tranparent and less fakelicoius… One can only hope, if you think about it my mission is accomplished…. just really think about, really think about what i mean by that. Over and out. sorry if i came over to crass at times, sometimes it is what is needed, if you at all know what i mean….??????????
9 Dec 2009, 08:57 am
@graeme1: Cheers! Have a nice day.
9 Dec 2009, 14:22 pm
I am starting to like this guy more and more