Top Boks have NZ’s number

Barbarians captain Victor Matfield says it was an ‘awesome’ experience to beat the All Blacks at Twickenham.

For Matfield and other senior Boks in the Baa-Baas outfit, it was the fourth time this year that they had been on the winning side against New Zealand.

‘It’s an amazing feeling,’ Matfield told stuff.co.nz. ‘This whole week we heard about the tradition of Baa-Baas’ rugby and we watched a bit of that game [from 1973, the only other time the Barbarians have beaten the All Blacks].

‘We said before the match it was one of the best weeks we’ve had as professional rugby players, having a lot of fun getting to know each other. Then the guys went out and played like professionals. They put their bodies on the line to play for the traditions the Baa-Baas stand for.’

Bok wing Bryan Habana was the Barbarians’ star player, scoring all three of their tries.

‘I’m not going to lie to you, they were probably some of the easiest tries I’ve scored in a while,’ he said. ‘It’s good, the All Blacks haven’t conceded one try in the last seven weeks, so to go out and score three was a real bonus, to cross the chalk three times is pretty special.’

Barbarians coach Nick Mallett said the South Africans had worked out how to beat the All Blacks, and it had nothing to do with kicking.

‘The All Blacks are big strong boys and they love momentum, but if you can take that away from them, especially with your defence, then you have a chance.’

172 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All

• 151.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Kiwisamoan:

Only thing the brothers smash are their kids dude!

• 152.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

I am still luaghing at the Kiwis suddenly calling it a AB second team. Your team with Joe the Fijian Rockoko is not a second team.
    Your performance is still off and will get drilled again next year trinations.

• 153.Kiwisamoan: Reply to this comment

@whatever: you guys are kids to us :)

@KevinRack: Joe was playing for the baabaas not the abs.

• 154.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Kiwisamoan:

Not this year mate. We grew up :)

• 155.marvinb: Reply to this comment

I would have to agree with the Boks having the wood on us, the forwards are too strong right now but I think come 2011 we should be ready when Hayman and Ali Williams return to help the All Black forwards.I am too worried with what really happens now more so 2011.

• 156.husky: Reply to this comment

NZINCHINA – Good one – year of the Boks but few and far between. Snotskiet, I do not believe you sed Mallett is wot is needed. Where is your pal PdV? Sure mallett is a good coach but plenty flaws. If he wasn’t such a twat with his chum Snollymons, SA would have 3 RWC’s. And his stint at WP – useless.

Wot the BB’s game showed is not that PdV is a bad coach but that he desperately needs some really good help.

• 157.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

The Baabaas game as always showed………. NOTHING. What it did do however was stopped the kiwis giving us such a hard time about our ‘B-side’. A test match is not a test match is not a test match.

• 158.Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: If you like it mate then don’t read it. Simple as.

• 159.Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Reply to this comment

@cab: Eish did you actually bother to read my post? I was climbing into Kiwi bloggers for dredging up apartheid just to wind us up – I wasn’t saying we weren’t racist but rather calling them hypocrites for even having the audacity to accuse us. Not sure about you but I think its very poor form to bring up apartheid to try and wind us up on a rugby blog all because their beloved team lost.

I’m not so bloody ignorant to think apartheid was all sweetness and light, far bloody from it! I visited Langa and Gugulethu in Cape Town a few weeks ago and was appalled seeing the conditions people were forced into living in the hostels and the assasination by the NP that went on, what happened was an absolute disgrace. The only reason why we’re talking about it now is because some beligerent Kiwi brought it up as it’s the only way he can deal with the ABs losing is to hit out at us Thanks for being so patronising Cab, maybe next time try reading the whole post first.

• 160.Limerickbluebull: Reply to this comment

@SexyTime:

Kanko will have to find his form again for 8th man, maybe Duane then to No 6/7 – Think its a good idea to try Beast at hooker Smit must play No3 90% of the time now and use him for the line outs. Bissie is a hooker only and can be back up to Beast or if Bissie starts then have the Beast coming on later, Smit must be at prop then. I think Smit is doing fine at tight head and holding his own. Beast to me is the weaker link at Loose Head but is getting better each game thou,his open play is top notch and we need that. With him at hooker CJ and Smit props it would be a good front row combination just to try out a few times, who knows it may just work well – Bissie on bench for that game and to come on after 60min then Spies to the wing and Habanna at fullback with both of them running attacking from all angles…..

• 161.Pencil: Reply to this comment

Plenty of hostility around these parts!

I thought it was a good game, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I’m not sure about the Bok’s having NZ’s number, but they sure got the better of them this year. Who knows how its all going to pan out, I can’t wait.

• 162.Kiwisamoan: Reply to this comment

@whatever: finally :)

• 163.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

The sr Boks got the AB’s number! Period! Kinda like the AB’s had their number for some other ‘number’ of yrs. How else do you explain losing a game you’ve lead 22-20(?) in the dying SECONDS? The Boks know they can beat them…anytime, anywhere! The AB’s knows the Boks own them…anytime, anywhere! Homeground advantage means ***** nowadays, as far as a Bok win is concerned . And all y’all knows it! You don’t agree? AB’s/Baabaas game…Hore got that same ‘rabbit-in-the-headlights’, I think they called it during the 3N’s, look in the eyes everytime he had to throw into the lineout. Why was that? Because Giteau is playing 10? Yeah right! We all know why. If Victor was English, he would’ve been knighted by now!

I’ll admit, a lot can happen in 2 yrs, but right now, if it came down to a AB-Bok WC final, that game might as well have been on Ellispark! And again…YOU ALL KNOW IT!!!!!! OR FEAR IT! Depending on where your allegiance lie.

• 164.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

And to top it all…Victor isn’t even our MVP! Bekker is a more than usefull replacement for him. Funny then that they always substitute the real MVP of the Bok-team for Bekker, and not Matfield. Whenever Bakkies isn’t there, I know it’s gonna be a looong afternoon…and we might not even be winners at the end of it! Who would like to speculate that Croke Park would’ve yielded the same result, were Bakkies in his usual spot? Takers anyone?

• 165.whatever: Reply to this comment

@BokiNZ:

Agreed Bokinz. When Bakkies leaves the park or does not run onto it, there is something missing. A presence :)

• 166.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Kiwisamoan:

hehe, when you boys gonna say that about the WC? Think about that one, it’s a trick question, then again maybe not!

• 167.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

@whatever: Exactly what the AB’s been missing the last yr. Thorne went AWOL. Not his really, as he was never Rugby UNION Intn’l quality anyway! Despite what the Sky commentators want you to believe! They making this big fuss about Ali returning soon. Why I dont know ’cause their real problem is the throwing… not the catching. THEY NEED A NEW HOOKER! Judging by their NPC, they won’t find 1 by 2011. Their lineouts is gonna suck for at least another 4 yrs. That for sure!!!

• 168.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

Not Thorne’s FAULT…

• 169.Kiwisamoan: Reply to this comment

@whatever: I guess once we win the bloody thing hahaha, wouldn’t want to be the abs if they lose in 2011 there’s no where to hide. I’ll be there waiting with my machetti if they lose.

@BokiNZ: your talking out of you b hole. 2009 was a great year for the boks no doubt but everyone knows that no one will ever own the abs just like the boks, during 2001 – 2004 when the abs won 8 games in row, they didn’t say they owned them because the abs respected the boks too much. I heard the sametime in 2004, after that the abs won 4 years in a row. 2009 was the year for the boks but don’t try and say they own them now anywhere anytime. Come next year you’ll be eating your words.

• 170.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

Kiwisamoan…I take it you’re the living testament that NZ don’t poach the PI’s.That it’s realy 2nd, 3rd…nth generation NZ’ers. If not, I must apologise for the generalisation/stereotyping/compartmentalising. OK! Now that we’ve got the introductions out of the way…

So, now that you’ve established that I’m talking out of my B hole and not my A hole (thx for the courtesy btw!), I’ll let you explain why the AB’s of post 2008 is of a definite inferior class than their predecessors. Yes…we know they’ve won the ’08 3N’s , but that was to everyone’s amazement… even your own! Admit it! And while you ridding yourselve of that conscience of yours…explain also why it is highly unlikely that you’re gonna see that same “pre 2008″ heights again . Or maybe you will, ’cause your junior AB’s looked pretty good the last 2 yrs., but they’re not gonna pick them within the nxt 2 yrs , are they? Now, once you’ve done that, THEN…maybe you can own yourself the right to call which hole I’m talking out of! Capise! :shock:

• 171.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@BokiNZ: correct me if Im wrong, but didnt Flynn play hooker against the baabaas ??

and as for homeground advantage, youve won in NZ twice in the past 11 years ?? how that equates to home ground advantage meaning nothing I’ll never know..

nah, your still talking out the wrong hole, perhaps if you actually had facts on your side you may have a point :lol:

• 172.Wezzo777: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

I cant hep but jump on the band wagon here your country new zealand I would says just like any european settlers arrived
    and conquered the land to say us as Saffers are more racists
    is bull we just got more publicity its human nature not to trust or fear what you dont understand

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.