Juniors suspended for steroids
8 Dec 2009
Two South African rugby players have been banned for use of anabolic steroids and another for recreational drug use.
Saru announced on Tuesday that Ryan Louwrens (18) of the Valke Rugby Union and Sonwabile Ntezo (21) of the Eastern Province Rugby Football Union have been suspended for two years, while Wandile Putuma (19) from the Border Rugby Union has been banned for three months for testing positive for cannabis.
Louwrens played in the 2009 Craven Week for the Valke, while he and Putuma represented their provinces in the U19 provincial competition during the 2009 season. Ntezo played for his province in the U21 competition.
‘This is a massive concern, especially the use of anabolic steroids amongst younger players,’ said Dr. Shuaib Manjra, a member of the South African Rugby Union’s Disciplinary Tribunal. ‘These are players on the cusp of their professional careers in rugby.
‘We have an obligation to release their names and send a strong message to everyone involved that such behavior is completely unacceptable – in South African rugby and sport in general. That is also why we’ve imposed serious sanctions on these players.’

68 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
10 Dec 2009, 13:26 pm
@poppa69:
That was my comment to him a couple of weeks ago.
See he has not taken my advice!
10 Dec 2009, 13:29 pm
Most saffas take Viagra….thats performance enhancing!
10 Dec 2009, 13:34 pm
@wallabie.:
mate, his hypocrisy knows no bounds… hes the first to give it to any foreign poster on here, yet remains silent when his own brethren overstep the line… I laugh at his insecurities, I mean dissing a country that provides you a safe haven… Ive never dissed Aussie, I love it…
but then I guess if you’re the sort of bloke that has 2 people point a gun at you, it must say something about the type of person you really are
10 Dec 2009, 13:37 pm
@wallabie.:
“Most saffas” – You can’t generalise like that: just because most men you’ve been with take Viagra does not mean most Saffas do!
10 Dec 2009, 13:39 pm
@WP Till I Die: hey WP, cmon mate, keo is full of generalisations… convicts, chokers etc etc etc …
10 Dec 2009, 13:40 pm
@poppa69:
Absolutely – why do you think I said it tongue in cheek?
Okes need to lighten up…
10 Dec 2009, 13:45 pm
@WP Till I Die: Im probably one of those that should lighten up haha I can admit it though, no shame here… Keo should start paying me for generating hits
the way I get whatever to bite is phenomenal
10 Dec 2009, 21:23 pm
@poppa69:
Hahah. If I bite you swallow whole dude!
11 Dec 2009, 00:37 am
@husky: Why bother responding to these poeps? They’re here just to wind up South Africans. They have a xenophobic dislike of us and like the English, can’t the stand the fact that a bunch of Africans, black and white, are playing rugby and are one of the best teams in the world.
I’ve never seen anything positive towards to SA come from these two prize poephols, so why bother to give them time of day?
11 Dec 2009, 12:13 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: ooohhh little boy with big talk, bravo… Ive said on here before that SA is the team we most respect, obviously your selective memory has forgotten it… also, I said SA thoroughly deserved their 3Ns title this year…
doooos !!!!
11 Dec 2009, 12:16 pm
@poppa69: also, Ive been watching rugby since before isolation, and Ive always admired SA… take a look at some of the poephols on here and their continuing tirade against my country… youre as bad as whatever, alright for you guys to put the boot in but when its returned you cry like the little baby you are…
11 Dec 2009, 12:23 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: amen to that brother crouchie!
11 Dec 2009, 12:25 pm
@poppa69: just going out to the movies to see how we kicked your xenephobic butts for a second time!
11 Dec 2009, 12:27 pm
@Valkyrie: hahaha another boy trying to do a mans job, have fun at the movie doos!
11 Dec 2009, 12:28 pm
@Valkyrie: so tell me, with a nic like that you must have serious man love for Tom… bwahaha
vatso katvis!
11 Dec 2009, 12:32 pm
@poppa69: will do so peosgesig!
11 Dec 2009, 12:34 pm
@Valkyrie: hahaha shows an intelligent man who insults in a language so the target doesnt understand… bravo, all class chump!!
11 Dec 2009, 12:41 pm
@poppa69: well you have been dishing out afrikaans words lately so i just thought you would recognise a peosgesig like yourself.ask your afrikaans teacher to translate it for you ,you peosgesig!
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All