Kempson cleared
10 Dec 2009
Robbie Kempson has been cleared of abusing a ref, while a club player has had his four-year ban for biting overturned.
Kempson was EP’s assistant coach in the Currie Cup first division and was charged with physically and verbally abusing Pro Legoete after their match against SWD in George on 9 October. Advocate Jannie Lubbe SC, who chaired the hearing, took evidence from Kempson and the match officials.
He ruled that he was unable to find evidence to support the charge and dismissed it accordingly, finding Kempson not guilty.
Meanwhile, Rawsonville player Hayne Anthony, who was suspended for 208 weeks for biting Pukke scrumhalf Andries Mahoney during the National Club Champs, has had his charge dismissed on appeal. Anthony was tried in his absence on 22 October and found guilty after which he appealed against the sentence of four years.
Mahoney had to have 14 stitches placed in his ear after the incident, but Lubbe said the video evidence was inconclusive. Lubbe added that biting was a very serious offence that merited the heaviest available sentences.
But reluctantly, in view of the injuries suffered by Mahoney, the available evidence in this case did not allow for the conclusive identification of the culprit and he had no choice but to acquit Anthony.

28 Comments
10 Dec 2009, 07:42 am
Kempson…..always controversial
10 Dec 2009, 11:05 am
I hate Robbie Kempson, and i also hate Pro Legoete. I hope they both moer each other stukkend, and that the fight is an ugly draw !!
10 Dec 2009, 11:12 am
Kempson… Now there’s a blast from the past! Most dirty Springbok ever (Dalton close 2nd); what more proof do you need.
10 Dec 2009, 12:48 pm
Kempson is an uneducated thug. Absolute idiot. Total Loser
10 Dec 2009, 14:21 pm
I like Robbie Kempson.
10 Dec 2009, 18:14 pm
what was the bok game where kempson hit the opposing player when the guy wasnt looking? Im sure it was under straeuli …
10 Dec 2009, 18:31 pm
@WP_: Absolutely false. Very fine Eastern Cape education. And that be da finest edukashon in da land.
10 Dec 2009, 18:47 pm
Robbie K is a prince amongst men….he was bakkies before bakkies was bakkies….
10 Dec 2009, 18:56 pm
@gunther: Actually other than a slight predilection for a late tackle from behind, Robbie seemed pretty mild to me, and certainly never blew kisses at the opposition.
This maligning of a softly spoken Eastern Cape educated lover of labradors has to stop.
Or I am disappearing in to the land of Skopskiet, or at least the land of long white clouds.
Enough I say. Enough.
10 Dec 2009, 20:04 pm
Kempson is a brutish thug.
Maybe, maybe he learnt a thing or two at school but I doubt it. He probably cheated in his exams anyway. Piece of trash
10 Dec 2009, 20:29 pm
kempo is actually a very fine pianist…
10 Dec 2009, 20:34 pm
@WP_:
He was also head boy at Queens college – a very respectable school.
I am sure he is no trash.
10 Dec 2009, 20:51 pm
wish Kempson was scrumming for us now.
10 Dec 2009, 22:09 pm
Robzim
The things he has done since school mate. Thats whats makes him trash. A bit too keen on his alcohol for his own good
10 Dec 2009, 22:47 pm
Ah, give it a break WP_. He’s a good bloke, played hard, took no shite…………. where does this thug bit come from?
10 Dec 2009, 22:49 pm
@WP_:
I don’t know about that, so I cannot comment.
Met him on a flight between CT and George a few months ago – he was travelling with Rob Louw – he coached at Rondebosch BH at the time – seemed like a nice and cool guy to me.
10 Dec 2009, 23:04 pm
Ya just know he got into a brawl at a 21st. How old is he now?
He was smashed and walked up some lightie who had never met him before and punched his lights out. Sent him to hospital.
What kind of loser does that?
Make your own assumptions about that…
10 Dec 2009, 23:30 pm
Back in the day ….When Murray Mexted was playing in S.A. I witnessed him slapping a kid at a party. Heated words,beer involved and his club side not performing well that Sat. apparently does not make a good combination !! Kid was MANY years his junior ….and word was this snot-clup totaly unwarranted .He never had a reputation as a particularly tough player,BUT, from that day forth he was always “the cheap shot artist “.Not to be confused with his skill on the field .I was always impressed with his rugby playing skill level but never earn my off the field respect ..!!! Funny sort of fellow quite frankly !!!
10 Dec 2009, 23:56 pm
Yeah Murray comes across as a funny, almost weird sort of character. Comes up with some pearlers in the commentary box.
But you cant condone needless, stupid violence.
10 Dec 2009, 23:58 pm
This was recently by the way
11 Dec 2009, 01:22 am
This is just another pan of the forced introduction of inept, hopeless people into the systems of rugby, this time it’s the not so funny clown Legoete who is pretty much clueless of all rugby rules nevertheless the power that be appointed him to be a rugby referee, the citing of a white coach’s the expected repercussions.
The Sanzar refereeing committee rejected Legoete dud from their 2010′s 9 referees’ panel, but he is on the reserve pool, I am sure some heavy guns pushed his case
11 Dec 2009, 09:06 am
Are some of you guys not mixing up Kebble with Kempson? Kempson was a hard player but not really dirty; small for a prop (bit like BJ). I see him and Wayne Fyvie quite regularly in mountain bike races; always well behaved – not taking out other riders etc.
11 Dec 2009, 10:37 am
@husky:
Yip, Robbie also completed the Cape Epic MTB tour during 2008. It is one hell of an achievement for a 100+ kg person who at the time did not have much of a background in endurance sport of that magnitude.
11 Dec 2009, 11:22 am
Nope it was definately Kempson
11 Dec 2009, 11:35 am
Wasn`t Kempson invovled in some molestation/rape case? I know it was a prop from WP.
11 Dec 2009, 17:15 pm
Wouldnt be suprised if it was
11 Dec 2009, 21:02 pm
I played cricket with Kempson once, a totally social chilled out game, and he lost it a few times, swearing at the ‘umpire’ and generally behaving like a ****. He then got stuck into the brandy and cokes and started abusing a mate of mine who was minding his own business – the oke is bipolar, he can’t hold his booze and he is probably one of the biggest chops I’ve ever met.
11 Dec 2009, 22:20 pm
@joulekkading:
sure sign of steroid abuse.
steve atherton was similar