NZ reign in George

New Zealand beat Fiji 21-12 in the cup final at the George Sevens on Saturday while the Boks faltered.

New Zealand controlled most of the first half and went into a 7-0 lead at the break.

The Fijians did well to get back into the game in the second half, but the Kiwis’ three tries to Fiji’s two sealed the win and secured the main prize.

New Zealand now have a healthy lead at the top of the World Series log with 48 points after consecutive cup wins, with Fiji second on 36 points.

Meanwhile, the Boks’ unimpressive World Series title defence continues, as they find themselves eighth on the World Series log on 16 points.

They had a bad opening tournament in Dubai as they finished second in the plate section and suffered the same feat in George.

After recording a 10-7 win against Samoa in a scrappy semi-final, Paul Treu’s men then produced a tired effort against England in the final, losing 21-7.

England had the clear upper hand in the first half as they easily outran a poor Bok defence and scored two converted tries for 14-0 lead at half-time.

The Boks continued to disappoint in the second half as they found themselves 21-0 behind when England scored another seven-pointer against the run of play.

Shaun Venter grabbed a consolation for the home side as he scored a last-minute touch down.

Earlier on day two, the Blitzboks suffered another cup quarterfinal exit as they lost 21-17 against Fiji.

Their inability to secure possesion at the breakdowns and lack of compsure in attack cost the home side as Fiji scored most of their tries thanks to errors from the Boks.

The home side dominated possession in the early exchanges and did well to work themselves into Fiji’s 22, but were unlucky when William Ryder scored against the run of play after an intercept break.

Marius Schoeman brought the home side back into the game with a good run into space, but Fiji extended their lead with another converted try and went into the break 14-5 ahead.

Early in the second stanza, it got worse for the Boks when Fiji broke through down the touchline to cross the chalk after stealing the ball from the set-phase in their own half.

A late brace from MJ Mentz created an intense finish as they Boks trailed by four points with a minute remaining.

South Africa, however, struggled to keep possession and conceded a penalty at a breakdown on the full time mark. Fiji cleared the ball into touch for a hard-fought victory.

The next tournament is the Wellington Sevens in New Zealand on 5 and 6 February.

George Sevens day two final results:
Shield final: Scotland 28 France 19
Bowl final: Wales 14 Russia 5
Plate final: South Africa 7 England 21
Cup semi-final 1: New Zealand 17 Kenya 14
Cup semi-final 2: Fiji 19 Argentina 14
Cup final: New Zealand 21 Fiji 12

For more fixtures and results click here

415 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 101.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Rage: No, it’s not. George is snoozeville 365 days a year. For a vibe, watch Wellington. Now that’s how to party around rugby sevens!

• 102.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler:

Wellington?

The Cuba Street shps/pubs etc and Matterhorn Bar are cool places – otherwise not much going on.
    Landing at the Airport during a crosswind is a nightmare
    Customs are very bad and so slow and too suspicious.
    The air is quite fresh, I admit
    And the place is safe.
    But the wind…

George?

Oh well, the right handers at Vic Bay are great on a good day.
    The town itself sucks, I agree with u.
    Too many retired Vaalies driving old BMW’s and no parking during December/January
    Traffic cops and meter maids have a bad attitude
    No live music

Verdict? Too close to call.
    Thank god for Cape Town.

• 103.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

amen…

• 104.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

It’s Wellington and it’s windy — no different to Cape Town. NW gales in winter, SE gales in summer. (It’s the bits in between that are great.)

But this isn’t about the weather, is it? It’s about vibe and atmosphere around the Sevens. Wellington has it; George simply doesn’t. Never has, never will. It’s a stodgy, sleepy totally b-o-r-i-n-g large dorp.

And buzzy Wellington isn’t. Even when the Sevens aren’t on.

• 105.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@gunther:

Howzit Gunther,

I see the Stormers beat the Bulls at cricket today.
    Hopefully it is the sign of things to come :)

• 106.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler: just answer me one question.why is it thatyou disappear from this blog for days when the kiwis lose but then you make a nuisance of yourself here when the kiwis win whether it’s sevens or test rugby?

• 107.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: the quota boys from the cobras really feasted on those boertjies from pretoria down there in paarl today!

• 108.Robzim: Reply to this comment

They complain that the pitch played a bit up and down – probably a quota groundsman as well :)

• 109.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

its called winning the battle and losing the war….a province speciality…

• 110.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

this 7′s side suffering same fate as the bok 15 side. You can only ride yr luck so far, then the cracks in the plaster job start to appear and before you know it you have to start all over again from the foundations.

7′s isn’t what it was 5 or 6 years ago, you could send 2nd rate 15′s players back then and come away reasonable well covered. Its become a highly contested power game now where physicality, speed and endurance is a must. I reckon for 7′s you almost have to be more at peak fitness and able to sustain consistent endurance than in 15′s. Most 15′s players wouldn’t cut it in this discipline it requires intense levels of sustained fitness throughout a tournament, the team cannot afford to slack off for half a second and gaps in defence open up like a can of worms. Its those teams that can string together consistent sustained physical effort throughout the tournament that comes away victorious. One needs to have speed, power, strength, endurance and motivated team work to seriously challenge for top honors here, and any little chink in the armory or morale of the team will get exposed quick sticks. As it has been in our 7′s bok side lately. Perhaps the senior 15′s side showing similar strains of creaking at the seams if Eoyt was anything to gauge matters on.

Better get down to fixing it cause it sure looks broke to me.

• 111.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Rom..Rom..Rom… die All Blacks kom!

Be afraid. Be very afraid!

• 112.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

What on earth is there to fear, a bunch of pansy performing prima donna’s pulling tongues, what the hell has anyone got to fear of anyone or anything?

• 113.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Too many orks in this Bok 7′s side to deal with the might of the Fijians, AB’s, English and to a lesser extent Samoans on a regular basis… even the larger Kenyans are proving to be a new bogey-man…

• 114.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Does 7s even deserve an article?

• 115.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: yeah skop, your luck will run out if you don’t have continuity in your team selection, any team that has lost mapoe, ebersohn, gio aplon, snyman (s14), zangqa, delport (injury) and benjamin through suspension is bound to struggle.

One of the commentators made an interesting observation, that new zealand & fiji are the only 2 teams in the competition to have retained squads from last season & only added one or two new guys, they’ve been in both cup finals so far, coincidence?

• 116.Rage: Reply to this comment

@tackler.You enjoy Wellington,Ill enjoy George,oom.

• 117.babubunu: Reply to this comment

Ebersohn was such a play maker last year. Why isn’t he in the team this year?

• 118.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@babubunu: something about s14 contracts being more lucrative than sevens contracts…he’s gone back to the cheetahs…

• 119.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation:

Last year he said he felt he was not ready to make the step up to S14… and would give it another year with the 7′s team…

The time has come…

• 120.Puma: Reply to this comment

Congrats to NZ on their win.

Our Blitz Bokke not up to it really. A few missing from last year too.

• 121.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz: yes bryce i’m quite aware that magic had those intensions.

• 122.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

AB’s and Fijians got the big boys,the pace and the game plan.
    Bokkies lacking in size,first time tackling and overpowered at the breakdown…2 ou’s don’t make a sevens team :(

• 123.Mary Lynn: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler:
    Yup I must agree, I’ve been to George 7′s twice and there really is no buzz,crowd only get into it when SA play. Just not good enough, you can’t just support the local team.

• 124.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

Tiger Woods. And another one falls down. If there was ever an overvalued sportsman.

All that money for hitting a little ball into a hole?

Not worth it.

Put a cap on personal wealth. IMHO nobody on planet earth is worth more than 100 million Rand.****, make that 10mil.

And any artist that appears in the media advertising anything is nothing more than Satans little c@cksucker.

• 125.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty: Kobus, you are a friggin joke mate… you were more then willing to list SA as 7s champs a few weeks ago, now they havent done so well you are complaining about there being a thread on sevens…

you are absolutely pathetic!!!

• 126.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: And again, I apologise for my fellow countrymen.

• 127.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

Congratz NZ. Well done.

• 128.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Karoolander: no need to mate… Ive met a lot of good ones on here, even though I can be quite caustic when defending my teams…often going too far myself… there are plenty Id love to share a beer with…

• 129.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Ever since I brought up your racist remarks you have been attacking my every comment, grow up rascal the racist.

All you’re here for is to defend your teams, you are the defender of thy holy All Blacks. You don’t have a god given right to win any games, thick kiwi.

@Karoolander:

That’s cool, big guy. Keep sucking up to the New Zealander.
    “I LOVE YOU NEW ZEALAND”

• 130.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty: hahaha shows how little of a “man” you really are…

AT least I dont drop my teams the moment they lose, like you do… and the fact you go on about ONE comment made while drunk that occurred 5 months ago really is absolutely pathetic… The fact I came back and showed contrition, remember, you even quoted my contrite reply, “if I said that in front of my grandfather he would have smacked me” … your quite quick to bring it up over and over and over again…

seems you have no recourse in an argument, were you lonely as a kid and are you lonely now????

• 131.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty: bwahaha where did I say we had a god given right to win games? run away now Kobus, I dont need to argue with you, your making yourself look an absolute fool as it is…

• 132.Puma: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: 127 – Howzit Poppa,
    Hope you well mate.

See your 7′s team are playing superb. Won both tourneys so far.

Congrats to them mate.

Boks 7′s just not playing well this year. It will be a lot of catch up for us. Just don’t see this team doing well this year. Some have left and will play in the S14 next year.

It will be between ABs, Fiji and probably England.

Good to see Kenya playing well too.

Are you still doing night shift Poppa?

• 133.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: you are nothing but pure racist kiwi trash.if you had a wife she would probably wish that she’s rather dead than having to live with racist kiwi and sheep shagging scum like you!

• 134.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty: Ja jong.

Dis nie nodig om altyd die laaste woord in te kry nie, al is jy reg of nie.

So moenie so kwaai raak nie.

• 135.Transformation: Reply to this comment

eish guys, poppa is no freaking racist, he lost his marbles that day and said something out of turn about old south africa, he apologised for the nasty remark that’s all.

Now a raving bigot like hondo is someone you need to be mad at, not poppa

• 136.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@Karoolander: pietman,no more potjiekos recipes to exchange on rt?

• 137.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: yeah right!giving that old alcohol excuse the blame…classic!

• 138.Pearl Rose: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: you are right transie it was after either the bloemfontein test or the durban game, he said something about the springboks not being in the first world cup because the whites were busy killing the blacks in this country. the comment is in bad taste but not racist.

• 139.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

the reason why kiwis can’t win another world cup since 1987 is because white kiwi men are too busy raping maori women and children as well as their beloved sheep…oops,sorry for my outburst,i am a little bit under the influence of alcohol this afternoon!

• 140.Sproete_Gibbs_is_strong_cause_he_moers_his_wive: Reply to this comment

Prison_XV :

Gibbs
    Benjamin
    Earl
    Mujati
    January
    Lobberts
    Ntini

• 141.Sproete_Gibbs_is_strong_cause_he_moers_his_wive: Reply to this comment

very good skelms for young black youth to look up at … no wonder the crime rate is so high … and also that Amla skelm …

• 142.Touchrugby: Reply to this comment

Ok boys and girls…..NKOTB I have been watching this site for a while now and have finally decided to get involved and have a say. Firstly… to all the expats and closet AB supporters i have the following. Do you not have any pride in your country??
    I was in George for the 7′s this weekend, and am disgusted by what i saw. Local population wearing their precious AB jerseys and shouting “All Blacks you lekker ding” during the game. As if they could understand you!!! It makes me sick. And dont even try to get involved in a bit of banter with them, cause thats just a waste of time and effort.

More to follow.

• 143.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@Sproete_Gibbs_is_strong_cause_he_moers_his_wive: prison xv and then you list only 7 names.what a stupid doos you are!probably no idea what roman numbers means!

• 144.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@Touchrugby: and so they all start off…’have been watching the site for a while now’.

• 145.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

What’s going on here?

• 146.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Seems like the agents provocateur are at it again! Ignore the trolls.

• 147.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@Sproete_Gibbs_is_strong_cause_he_moers_his_wive: research have shown in south africa that white males have taken out their families and themselves in times of economical and personal strife more so than any other race group in south africa.don’t start a thing whre you gonna come second, mate.just leave this nonsense man.

• 148.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@Valkyrie: You are going to feel like a real Dooos when you have to say, Sorry Karoo, i was wrong mistaking you for Pietman.

• 149.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@Valkyrie: 146

Stupid cnut.

• 150.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@Karoolander: whatever pietman!

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.