NZ reign in George

New Zealand beat Fiji 21-12 in the cup final at the George Sevens on Saturday while the Boks faltered.

New Zealand controlled most of the first half and went into a 7-0 lead at the break.

The Fijians did well to get back into the game in the second half, but the Kiwis’ three tries to Fiji’s two sealed the win and secured the main prize.

New Zealand now have a healthy lead at the top of the World Series log with 48 points after consecutive cup wins, with Fiji second on 36 points.

Meanwhile, the Boks’ unimpressive World Series title defence continues, as they find themselves eighth on the World Series log on 16 points.

They had a bad opening tournament in Dubai as they finished second in the plate section and suffered the same feat in George.

After recording a 10-7 win against Samoa in a scrappy semi-final, Paul Treu’s men then produced a tired effort against England in the final, losing 21-7.

England had the clear upper hand in the first half as they easily outran a poor Bok defence and scored two converted tries for 14-0 lead at half-time.

The Boks continued to disappoint in the second half as they found themselves 21-0 behind when England scored another seven-pointer against the run of play.

Shaun Venter grabbed a consolation for the home side as he scored a last-minute touch down.

Earlier on day two, the Blitzboks suffered another cup quarterfinal exit as they lost 21-17 against Fiji.

Their inability to secure possesion at the breakdowns and lack of compsure in attack cost the home side as Fiji scored most of their tries thanks to errors from the Boks.

The home side dominated possession in the early exchanges and did well to work themselves into Fiji’s 22, but were unlucky when William Ryder scored against the run of play after an intercept break.

Marius Schoeman brought the home side back into the game with a good run into space, but Fiji extended their lead with another converted try and went into the break 14-5 ahead.

Early in the second stanza, it got worse for the Boks when Fiji broke through down the touchline to cross the chalk after stealing the ball from the set-phase in their own half.

A late brace from MJ Mentz created an intense finish as they Boks trailed by four points with a minute remaining.

South Africa, however, struggled to keep possession and conceded a penalty at a breakdown on the full time mark. Fiji cleared the ball into touch for a hard-fought victory.

The next tournament is the Wellington Sevens in New Zealand on 5 and 6 February.

George Sevens day two final results:
Shield final: Scotland 28 France 19
Bowl final: Wales 14 Russia 5
Plate final: South Africa 7 England 21
Cup semi-final 1: New Zealand 17 Kenya 14
Cup semi-final 2: Fiji 19 Argentina 14
Cup final: New Zealand 21 Fiji 12

For more fixtures and results click here

415 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 201.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Touchrugby:

You are not a newbie as you claim to be…because then why would you declare yourself as a newbie!!!

Who are you really….what was your nic in your past life??

• 202.Porto: Reply to this comment

@Valkyrie: Silenced by incisive repartee! I’m off bye bye luvvy

• 203.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: same to you wp.one day we might have a chat over all these things blue but not on an open website.

• 204.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

Ok chaps its been fun.

Valkierie you need to stay in the corner until i say when you can go.

Luister die slag ou boeta.

• 205.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Valkyrie:

Who are you….really???

• 206.Porto: Reply to this comment

@Valkyrie:@202 Suck up, you don’t have many friends. Bye now poopsie.

• 207.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@Karoolander: are you leaving pietman?pressure too much for you whitey?don’t go shoot your family now!

• 208.Porto: Reply to this comment

@Valkyrie: Tut tut tut! these natives are shocking!

• 209.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@Porto: cheers ********

• 210.Porto: Reply to this comment

@Valkyrie: @208 Thats your most sensible comment today! bye now, missing you already!

• 211.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@Porto: losing your touch now or has your peanut brain reach its capacity?

• 212.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@Valkyrie: You lost.

The deal is still on the table. I will make an exception for you.

You are special you see.

Bye bye Bang gat.

• 213.Porto: Reply to this comment

@Valkyrie: This is peanut brain, over and out!

• 214.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@Porto: just shows the doos you are or is it that it’s difficult to go!you may leave ******** or are you one of those chaps that feels they have to get in the last word to feel better about themselves.you are no match for me, so adios ********!

• 215.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@Porto: ffs at last.go in peace brother!

• 216.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@Karoolander: this is getting tiresome now mate.i’ve got no interest in your personal details and for me you will from now on always be pietman whether you the real one or not.please move on moron!

• 217.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.: i am the one that keeps white racists like hondo,karoolander/pietman.porto,wp and others in check here on keo so that they don’t have free reign here,in other words i am their conscious ready to knock them back when they step out of line!

• 218.Bokke: Reply to this comment

animals!

• 219.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Valkyrie:

• 220.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Valkyrie:

Think you might be pissing in the wind mate, they don’t give a shite and neither should you its rugby site or it used to be.

• 221.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Jingle bells Jingle bells Jingle all the way…… oh f@rk wrong site. No Xmas spirit on keo today I see.

• 222.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@Valkyrie: Then listen **** for brains.

Do not accuse someone if you can`t back it up.Simple really.

You chicken ****, i see you`re really grasping at straws now. Give it up.

YOU GOT OWNED BY KAROOLANDER.

FACT. YOU MAY STOP YOUR INTERNAL DIALOGUE.

YOU LOST. GET OVER IT.

• 223.grant10: Reply to this comment

Karoolander….biggest racist ,insecure, twat in existence.

Not happy on RT so trying to make a racist comeback…..plonker.

Cannot stand the little fat man….gutless….i am sure even the RT manne are seeing through this KKK wally now…probably sick of him, so he got to try and spread his poison here…..

Sad little KKK FAIRY!

• 224.grant10: Reply to this comment

worst is the see through nic stealing…gotta be the most cowardly of all acts….really, senior blogger indeed…..at least the rest of us never stole nics and tried to cause dissent behind masks….

Some of us brave to stand up and be counted for our views and opinions….not like the little dogs that ran like cowards when they were exposed for what they truly are.

• 225.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

You wouldn’t have enjoyed seeing the victory Haka on SA soil Grant?

• 226.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Hahahahaha.

You need some professional help buddy.

FYI I am 1.96m tall and 110kg.

You would never say anything like that to my face.

I dare you.

• 227.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@grant10: And i am 33 years old.

Watch your little vuilbek mouth when you adress me mmm kay?

• 228.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Karoolander:

Since your telling the whole world your impressive “stats” what’s your IQ i’m guessing its lower than your weight?

• 229.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: Guess again.

• 230.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Karoolander:

• 231.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@grant10: So you are calling me a racist?

Explain.

• 232.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: And mind your own business mmm kay?

You do not want to get owned by me like that little pathetic chicken **** Valkie.

• 233.Rage: Reply to this comment

@touchrugby.A bit on the subject of NZ supporters at the game: In my area,2 in 10 people are NZ fans.Most of these guys support have been supporting the AB since before 94/95,for reasons known to us all.BUT theres also a (younger) crowd within the group that support NZ for rugby reasons,i.e.their particular brand of rugby,the haka,the Lomu factor of 95,etc.So whilst many people regard them as traitors,you must know that many people support NZ’s rugby team and not NZ the country.Consider this: Many Saffas do not shout for Bafana because they play k*k; instead you’ll find people supporting England,Brazil,Italy,France,etc (That SHOULD change next year,but maybe it wont).

• 234.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Karoolander:

A large number of white South Africans are racists is this news?
    Recall the 96′ super 12 finals when one of the Natal boys was caught on camera clearly calling the AKL Fijian winger a Kaffer while playing at Eden park.

• 235.Springbokvel: Reply to this comment

“Many Saffas do not shout for Bafana because they play k*k; instead you’ll find people supporting England,Brazil,Italy,France,etc (That SHOULD change next year,but maybe it wont).”

True, but it`s not good to shout for the other team when playing against your own country (in front of your own people). Very unpatriotic and pisses off a lot of fellow countrymen (and rightly so).

• 236.Bokke: Reply to this comment

Racism goes both ways … black on white & white on black @ NZ my china

• 237.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Bokke:

Couldn’t agree with you more but that doesn’t change the fact that racism hasn’t hasn’t really changed in SA despite the change of govt, why would it?.Its just gone more underground and is just itching at times to come out on this site, some of them should just go ahead and say it. A few years ago I went to a match at Loftus and was invited to a braii in Pretoria afterwards, ****** I thought I was at a KKK / gun club meeting quite scary to be honest.

• 238.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@grant10: `Some of us brave to stand up and be counted for our views and opinions….not like the little dogs that ran like cowards when they were exposed for what they truly are.`

Why you talking about Valkie that way? I thought he was a friend of yours.

Hehehehehehehe :lol:

• 239.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: And what?

In my view it is impossible for anyone not to be racist. Racism is just a convenient excuse for the weaklings of society.

The word Racism is used too widely these days.

For me its all about culture. I do not like the English culture. Eating cucumber sandwiches when you are busy molesting a young boy doesn`t really go down well with me.

The Xhosa culture also not on.I Like the Zulu culture though. They respect themselves.

Why did a Zulu man who was asking me for a handout point out that he wasn`t a Xhosa? Why?

Why do the colored people curse the black man in ways that would make your hair stand on end?

It`s all about culture.

• 240.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Karoolander: You are sick to the core…….

Scum of the earth…..

Worse than anyone i have ever encountered…really sick…i do hope your friends read this and see through the facade….

Please dont come back to SA….we certainly do not want your poison baxk here…

• 241.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Huh?

I am in South Africa. Like i have been all year long.

You are confused pappie.

I will make the same offer to you like i did to old Valkie.

Up for it?

• 242.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Oh! I think i have struck a nerve with the English comment.

Hehehe

My bad!

• 243.grant10: Reply to this comment

Piet….you are ill …seriously…..

Better things to do with my time than converse with a KKK lunatic…outta here…

• 244.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Karoolander:

Actually this is way of the topic of NZ’s glorious 7′s victory and not being South African its really none of my business. I’m sure the Zulu’s are wrapped though that you like their culture, would be intersting to know what they think of yours?

• 245.grant10: Reply to this comment

Congrats Kiwis….seem unstoppable…well done.

• 246.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Grant, ignore mate. Not worth it. Rather enjoy that beautiful sunset you lucky b@stard.

• 247.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Run Chicken **** run.

• 248.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: There is a mutual respect.

• 249.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Karoolander:

Thats good to hear, so my earlier comment about racism still being prevalent in SA is misguided?

• 250.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

culture schmulture, please lets not confuse outright racism with culture, thats just a bs smoke screen to hide the fact that some of us believe we are superior to others based on ethnicity or skin colour.

However Grant this Karoolander is not Pietman I’m sure not. So it would not be wise to call anyone anything in such a non conclusive environment such as this one. Firstly you probably way off beam and secondly its hardly worth anything to create stupid conflict over something that is hardly within ones control let alone if its at all accurate.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.