Fourie up for top award

Jaque Fourie’s try against the British & Irish Lions has been nominated for the IRB’s Try of the Year award.

Fourie’s effort as a substitute in the series-clinching second Test is the only Springbok try nominated, while two of the Lions’ scores from Shane Williams and Rob Kearney are up for the award.

IRPA representatives narrowed the field to the final 15. France and New Zealand have three tries each with Williams the only player to have two tries featured in the shortlist, one for Wales and one for the Lions.

Brian O’Driscoll won the inaugural award last year, and the general public can vote online at

The online poll will close on 31 December 2009 and the winner will be announced in early January. Votes for IRPA Try of the Year should be sent to [email protected].