Boks draw Kiwis

Paul Treu’s side have drawn New Zealand and Wales in their pool for the Wellington leg of the IRB Sevens Series.

The Blitzboks have got their title defence off to a poor start, bowing out in the Cup quarter-finals in the first two legs in Dubai and George. In their current form, they’ll struggle to progress to the knockouts ahead of the series log-leaders or incumbent Sevens World Cup holders.

Both quarter-final exits have come at the hands of Fiji, and to avoid another play-off showdown with the islanders, the Boks will have to win their pool.

Pool A: New Zealand, South Africa, Wales, Niue
Pool B: Fiji, Australia, Scotland, Papua New Guinea
Pool C: England, Kenya, USA, Tonga
Pool D: Samoa, Argentina, France, Canada