Boks draw Kiwis

Paul Treu’s side have drawn New Zealand and Wales in their pool for the Wellington leg of the IRB Sevens Series.

The Blitzboks have got their title defence off to a poor start, bowing out in the Cup quarter-finals in the first two legs in Dubai and George. In their current form, they’ll struggle to progress to the knockouts ahead of the series log-leaders or incumbent Sevens World Cup holders.

Both quarter-final exits have come at the hands of Fiji, and to avoid another play-off showdown with the islanders, the Boks will have to win their pool.

Pool A: New Zealand, South Africa, Wales, Niue
Pool B: Fiji, Australia, Scotland, Papua New Guinea
Pool C: England, Kenya, USA, Tonga
Pool D: Samoa, Argentina, France, Canada

17 Comments

• 1.Jozi: Reply to this comment

I smell a anzac conspiracy to subbotage the blitz bokke :mrgreen:

• 2.Puma: Reply to this comment

Well that is us done before we even start. Boks 7′s just not playing well at the moment, cant see them beating NZ.

Well you never know but NZ are playing superb at the moment.

• 3.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

Lekker. :cool:

• 4.WP_: Reply to this comment

We can beat them. Probably wont tho.

We’ll meet Fiji in the quarters again and lose

• 5.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Time to step up to the plate… but the current team without any real ammo… will need some luck to make it past the 1/4′s…

• 6.Mfwethu: Reply to this comment

Watch out for Niue okes!

• 7.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Niue (total population of just a tad over 1000 people) offers all its residents FREE broadband internet. The entire country has only 90 hotel rooms. Fantastic tropical paradise! And they have an international sevens team too? Tremendous! Probably consists of the hotel barman, the local barber, the skinny taxi-driver (the other fat one will have a monopoly for the week), the fit farm-worker, the drivers licence issuing guy and a few fishermen. Off to the wonderland of Wellington to play some international footie. How good is that?

• 8.Johan Fourie: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler: Cool! Where is Niue? Close to Samoe, Tonga etc?

• 9.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler: Aint that the Island where bird poop made everybody rich?

• 10.Johan Fourie: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler: Just a pity they can’t get 15 together!

• 11.Nils: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler: Niue may give a surprise. If not in Wellington, then someday soon.

@Johan Fourie: Niue is in the middle of a triangle Samoa-Tonga-Cook islands. A very tiny spot in the ocean.

• 12.Kiwisamoan: Reply to this comment

looks like it’s going to be another blitzing for the blitzbokke. Still think its the worst sport team name ever. Espically when that bokke are the ones being blitz

• 13.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Johan Fourie: Not too far from Tonga and Samoa.

• 14.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Kiwisamoan:
    You are funny.

Blitz here means fast, as in sevens is a fast game of rugby.

• 15.nama1: Reply to this comment

Pool A: New Zealand, South Africa, Wales, Niue

The current leaders of the 2009/2010 series vs the winners of the 2008/2009 series vs the World Champs vs the We Also Take Part.

My money is on Niue to win this group.

• 16.Kiwisamoan: Reply to this comment

@nama1: dude I know what blitz means, it has the same meaning here too, the only problem is that “fast” is one of the things that the bokke are lacking at the moment :)

• 17.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Go, Niue! (pronounced “new way”)

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.