A nation of champions
23 Dec 2009
South African rugby’s trophy cabinet has never been this full.
While the Boks finished the year on a disappointing note, it didn’t change the fact that in 2009 they added the Tri-Nations trophy, Lions series trophy, Freedom Cup and Mandela Plate to the Webb Ellis Cup that they won in 2007. The Bulls, of course, claimed the Super 14 title for the second time while the Springbok Sevens team finally got their hands on the World Series trophy.
To celebrate these achievements, SA Rugby magazine assembled all of the above silverware and took a unique cover photo that makes its new bumper 150-page edition a collector’s one.
– Andries Bekker on his injury nightmare, learning from Victor Matfield and why the Stormers are better off without Luke Watson
– Why selection and tactical blunders were to blame for the Springboks’ disastrous European trip
– Jaque Fourie on shrugging off life’s disappointments, his contract dispute with the Lions, and mentoring Juan de Jongh at the Stormers
– Why the Southern Kings will only see Super Rugby if Saru makes some strong decisions and there is unity between the three provincial unions that make up the franchise
– Over a pint of Guinness, Munster centre Jean de Villiers talks about broadening his horizons, chirping Ronan O’Gara and his plans to return to South Africa in 2010
– A South African coach, South African businessman and a clutch of South African players have reversed the fortunes of Saracens
PLUS: Your ultimate guide to the 2010 Super 14 – all the teams, stats and facts
JP Duminy is on the cover of the new SA Cricket magazine. Click here for more
Click here to subscribe
1,039 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 » Show All
22 Dec 2009, 20:57 pm
@skopskiet:
You are a stupid boy, spouting your sanctimomious “I’m a darkie with a chip on my shoulder” crud.
It’s brothers like you that make brothers like me look good. Please go and play in the traffic for a few hours. Tell us how many taxis tried to run you down.
Go along, be a good boy..boy.
22 Dec 2009, 22:14 pm
@cab: 780 – Cabbie, Hope you read this mate. This is a old thread so not sure why it is put up again. Never read most of this thread actually, just came on to see what is going on here at keo and noticed you saying you going to quit here. Cabbie you are one of my favourite posters here along with a few others. Just blog with us in the New Year when the rugby comes back. Do like me mate and just ignore the trouble makers. I mostly just scroll down and only read the posters post I want to read.
Enjoy the festive season Cabbie. Hope to see you back here when the rugga is back.
22 Dec 2009, 22:45 pm
My,my,my, Kickshoot, you are a complete misery. What a negative chip you have. You are the dullest grandpa on planet earth. Many have left this blog because of you. Some went to the other rugby blog and some just left Keo altogether because you are the most opinionated egotist around. You are heavy going and have no sense of humour. How sad?
22 Dec 2009, 23:27 pm
@Big Hit:
Yes, definitely a little too ugly for an innocent rugby supporter such as myself. This is what happens when the season ends…people start to lose their minds and make all sorts of crazy threats.
22 Dec 2009, 23:28 pm
@Slappes:
No one can resist the lure of the daily soapy that is keo.co.za
22 Dec 2009, 23:49 pm
@skopskiet:
Skop,dont go.You are one of the most interesting characters on here,interesting in a good way as well.
23 Dec 2009, 00:14 am
Don’t know what the purpose of bumping this thread up to the top of the front page is other than to rub some noses in their own ****, namely my own. I apologised once before to the general keo.co.za public for having been exposed to this fall out between 2 supposedly adult individuals out here on an innocent rugby site, and I’m apologishog again. This ugly war of words and diametrically opposed views should never have erupted out on this site, but it did, for better or for worse the dirty linen got aired out in public and the damage done. So for that you have my unreserved apologies for my part in the fiasco. I had already intended to participate less here before it happened and pity I didn’t heed my own conviction when the philosophically couched challenges took place and the consequential responses erupted. This was a personal and private altercation that should never have erupted or been exposed out in an open public forum such as this. However it did. Such are the consequences of airing personal views in public. Perhaps there’s a lesson out here for others as a result. Happy blogging. Leave your stepping stones behind something calls for you, forget the dead you left they will not follow you. Strike another match, go start anew.
23 Dec 2009, 00:43 am
@skopskiet: think they just wanted the ‘A Nation of Champions’ to be the top headline over Christmas and the New Year. I could be wrong but I doubt they read too many comments.
23 Dec 2009, 00:44 am
@skopskiet:
Aggg…happens to the best of us dude.
The important thing here is we all love rugby and the majority of bloggers on this site love the Springboks. As long as we can all accept that many of us will have differing views, we can for the most part, enjoy each others’ company and the discussions that take place as a result.
23 Dec 2009, 00:46 am
@Big Hit:
I’m sitting in your homeland freezing my nads off by the way. It’s been snowing intermittently the entire week! The snow is now frozen and the roads are like ice-rinks!
23 Dec 2009, 01:04 am
@Yetirat: tell me about it, still can’t beat a white Christmas though, built a huge snowman yesterday.
23 Dec 2009, 01:08 am
@skopskiet:
Hey Skop, you and I have had a few run-in’s, but at the end of the day most of the stuff on here you gotta take with a pinch of salt. For me it’s a laugh and a stress release with some rugger thrown in for good measure. Don’t take it too seriously.
)and your classic rants were missed! Stick around bud.
You left before (although not sure if it was self imposed?
23 Dec 2009, 01:21 am
@Big Hit:
Still got to sample a good ol white Christmas one day! Have a good one BH.
23 Dec 2009, 03:18 am
@skopskiet:
Kickshoot, you demand so much attention for yourself and you have very bad people skills. This blog is not about you and your righteous anger and your consistent need to have others conform to your truth. In essence, you don’t share, you ram your garbage down out throats. The archetype of the dictator is strong in you. You refuse to see your own lesson on the matter. You lack self respect. You don’t know who reads this blog. You treat this blog as your free therapy session.
You like to set yourself up as the one that few understand, the outsider, but even that “pose” comes from a very egotistical, self indulgent and self important view of who you think you are.
You will never leave Keo. Don’t fool us. You are addicted to this blog. It is your drug, your fix, your mainstay. You have no idea that less is in fact more. You don’t get it. You are mainlining on Keo. The Skopskiet Show. You just can’t see it. So deep is your denial.
You have to be at war constantly needing to “prove something”. It’s so tiring and immature. It’s pathetic.
So now you will come back guns blazing, justifying this and that. Good luck to you but sometimes you should see that life is to be lived.
23 Dec 2009, 05:35 am
Kick-shooter, dip stick, what you know and what you think you know are two distinct opposites, basically I’m telling you that you don’t know all that much at all. So Mr Psychoanalyst, rather you psychoanalyse yourself, you’d be achieving far more for your own well being than trying to analyse me and getting it all totally wrong in the process. You wouldn’t and couldn’t know the beginning or the end of the tale so give it up as a poor effort at psychoanalysis, you might very well turn your attention on yourself and you might gain something out of it, concerning yourself with me gains you absolutely sweet f’all, or didn’t they teach you that much at psycho school?
23 Dec 2009, 07:45 am
THIS JUST IN, BAKKIES BOTHA IS TO SIGN FOR IRISH CLUB ULSTER NEXT YEAR FOR A 1 SEASON. I look forward to seeing him in the Magners next year.
23 Dec 2009, 08:09 am
@jockstrap: more detail boet…please.
23 Dec 2009, 08:23 am
judging by some of the posts on this thread and this site in general, the headline might more rightly read ” A NATION OF W@NKERS”
23 Dec 2009, 08:29 am
@the peanut gallery: LOL
23 Dec 2009, 08:35 am
Jeez…. I see everybody realy caught on to the festive spirit…
23 Dec 2009, 08:42 am
@Blouste: LOL, you’re right there’s a lot of love in here……..self love that is.
Ag it’s just another day on Keo…….sometimes entertaining, sometimes chaotic but it’s all fun. I wouldn’t have it any other way. That’s why I live in Joburg.
23 Dec 2009, 08:51 am
they say all fair in love & war mos…good morning to all…
23 Dec 2009, 08:54 am
I must admit… I aleays wonder how these people’s conversations will go when say everybody are together at a braai…
I bet you alot less hostile… he he he.
Easy to blow your trumpet on a blog though…
23 Dec 2009, 08:57 am
Cab,never has truer words been spoken on this site…
“its been hijacked by the left rather than the right. The only thing is the right knows their rugby, the left have no farking clue.”
truth be told, only 2 people need to be shown the door on this site. Not because of their often skewed views in my opinion, this is after a blog for everyone with an opinion… with freedom of speech at its very core.
but because of their foul mouths and absolute hatered of anyone not conforming to their opinions.
hate speech is against the law in this country so i am lead to believe.
23 Dec 2009, 09:01 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl:
Brigadier as a freedom fighter I defy your views.
Do not instigate the party elite into a war. We will not tolerate such thinking. Big brother is watching you stupid boy.
23 Dec 2009, 09:06 am
@Malema: the transparent cowardly senior runner at it again….always looking to stoke up racial hatred…..shame on you .
23 Dec 2009, 09:07 am
What a year. It wasn’t always pretty, not always easy but bloody exciting! Imagine the expectation for next year..
23 Dec 2009, 09:08 am
@grant10:
I am deeply offended at your words. I’m walking out now.
23 Dec 2009, 09:13 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl: Skop must go nowhere. He adds to this blog.
As for the left high jacking the blog, rubbish! When I started blogging here it was like being in the heart of the AWB camp, with no rugby being discussed. Check RT for back slapping and braai recipes for proof. No rugga. So please! The sad part is that you see left and right bloggers. Not just bloggers period.
And talking about foul language. Your so called Right wing bloggers were the one’s that changed their nick to “skop skiet is a doos” and I myself have been subjected to the most disgusting things. Hands down. Filthy language goes to your so-called right wing bloggers.
You forgot the times when those same blogger used to threaten peoples jobs and threaten the moderator to ban certain people whose views they did not agree with. In addition, they called themselves the senior bloggers and would e-mail Roy privately about whom is next on their list. I even received private e-mails when I had never given the said blogger my information.
So. These days, everyone has a view and it can be expressed. No bans and no bullshit, no personal threats. If you cannot hack it in the argument, then you don’t get to threaten the moderator, or fellow bloggers.
I think it’s great that you only have drama with two bloggers that you feel ought to go. When I blogged here I could list far more, and believe me I’ve been subjected to real filth here.
Keo is a better place than it was, trust me. And the real garbage left and went to the RT.
23 Dec 2009, 09:14 am
@Malema: i wish you would….but like the coward you are you will be back to stoke up the hatred….its just the way you are wired. I have 1 quetion….if you hate your country and your fellow countrymen so much…..if you hate this site so much….why dont you stay living outside of SA and stay on your new site?
It is strange that you feel fit to have to pop in here under all those nics? Are you a bit of a nutter??
23 Dec 2009, 09:17 am
@rossoneri: i agree 100% with those sentiments…..
23 Dec 2009, 09:19 am
@grant10:
I will not talk to you brother. You have the rage in your soul.
23 Dec 2009, 09:20 am
@Malema: for the likes of you i have nothing but pity…..and a sense of shame that we are both saffas….
23 Dec 2009, 09:25 am
I am a proud Azanian freedom fighter.
23 Dec 2009, 09:25 am
@grant10: I know you’ve had your fair share here Grant. Good on you for keeping your head high and sticking around.
You used to think I was a perpetually angry blogger, but the place has finally became an open forum for discussion, not that rigged rubbish it was. I love the fact that I will not agree with some bloggers, and can express my views freely.
23 Dec 2009, 09:30 am
@rossoneri:
The party elite will not stand for this ill discipline.
23 Dec 2009, 09:33 am
@rossoneri:
Keo.co.za is certainly not “a better place”.
it may have a larger audience….but that just translates to more idiots in my opinion.
long gone of the legendary debates of 2003/2004 with Rasputin,Redrum,Henry,Cab,etal.
the bloggers that went to Rugbytalk….they certainly were not “senior bloggers” in the greater scheme.
And believe me, the filthy mouths, they are predominately far left. (and as an a-side, you can get daily evidence from the real Julius Malema)….You just point out 1 person spewing more foul mouth name calling and hatred on a daily bais than you-know-who.(and his chommy who shows up later)
23 Dec 2009, 09:39 am
@rossoneri: Exactly…..and i commend you for the struggle and victory you fought so hard for…..
The day the ‘new ‘ site was originated was testimony to the validity of the fact that a refusal to accept racism at any level is the only way to go…..and your continued exposing of the sickness on this site proved too much for the right wingers…..i am eternally grateful!
@Brigadier Van Zyl:
I agree 100 %
@Brigadier Van Zyl: left/ right/middle centre whatever you want to call it. it was referred to as keo night owls and all it was, was a geriatrics flirting session with carol being the centre of attraction receiving xoxo into the still of the night. I don’t know how much rugby that was
what yourself and cab need to remember is that, there was a keo.co.za before the rt defectors logged on and there is still one now after their exodus!
The problems arose when they started when people like yourself started complimenting them on their astute rugby knowledge and all of a sudden they saw themselves as incomparable rugby fundis when infact they are nothing but people with opinions.
23 Dec 2009, 09:40 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl:
)….You just point out 1 person spewing more foul mouth name calling and hatred on a daily bais than you-know-who.(and his chommy who shows up later)
“Qui ignorabat, ignorabitur”
23 Dec 2009, 09:42 am
@Pearl Rose:
My sentiments exactly. I was banned from there for calling them a lonely hearts club.
23 Dec 2009, 09:45 am
All i see is spoilt righteous little brats on this site. Why the constant mud slinging to the other site?
This is exactly how children behave.When one child get to do something and the other not, toys being thrown out the cot.
23 Dec 2009, 09:47 am
@grant10: Grow up little man
23 Dec 2009, 09:49 am
I shall depart now. There is a meeting today in Polokwane and I have to oversee a bull slaughtering. I have much important business to attend to than meaningless insults from other brothers.
23 Dec 2009, 09:50 am
@grant10:
I understand from previous posts that you had a clash with Pietman, that I can’t comment on, cause I’ve missed it.
But the generilization of the other bloggers who mostly left as racists are a bit harsh.
I tend to agree with Brig v Zyl.
There are a lot of people on here spitting just the opposite at the moment.
The funny thing is they never actually mention anything aout rugby apart from gettin into discussions that has a flavour of colour/race involved.
I can’t understand what the issue is between the so called two site’s in any case.
I visit both quite regularly, doesn’t comment a lot. Time a bit restricted.
But never the less I find articles on both sites that are quite interesting from time to time.
I honestly don’t understand the competition mode created between the two sites ( keep in mind, by bloggers mainly ).
Bloggers like Carol, I see on both sites frequently and she doesn’t harm or spit rubbish between any of them.
The people going on about it are the one’s with the chip on their shoulders if you ask me…
23 Dec 2009, 09:54 am
This thread has been put again, because it`s the only way Keo will ever get a 1000 posts on a single thread again.
It`s been a long time.
23 Dec 2009, 10:01 am
@Karoolander: go back east and leave us proud saffas alone…please.@Blouste: Agree….somevery cool guys on the other site…..the 1 bad apple brings the rest down …
23 Dec 2009, 10:04 am
@grant10:
I see your thinking, but it’s the same on both sides of the coin hey…
23 Dec 2009, 10:04 am
with malema and Karoolander around….aka the pieman of the east….i have the urge to go walk on the beach, even though it is raining…..
I feel dirty even being in the same cyberspace with this racist chameleon that is so ashamed of his real persone he chooses to hide behind masks.
And he calls me a ‘little man’?
I have never hidden or stolen nics…ever!
Pages: « 1 … 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 » Show All