A nation of champions

South African rugby’s trophy cabinet has never been this full.

SAR153 coverClick here to subscribe

While the Boks finished the year on a disappointing note, it didn’t change the fact that in 2009 they added the Tri-Nations trophy, Lions series trophy, Freedom Cup and Mandela Plate to the Webb Ellis Cup that they won in 2007. The Bulls, of course, claimed the Super 14 title for the second time while the Springbok Sevens team finally got their hands on the World Series trophy.

To celebrate these achievements, SA Rugby magazine assembled all of the above silverware and took a unique cover photo that makes its new bumper 150-page edition a collector’s one.

BekkerAndries Bekker on his injury nightmare, learning from Victor Matfield and why the Stormers are better off without Luke Watson

– Why selection and tactical blunders were to blame for the Springboks’ disastrous European trip

Jaque Fourie on shrugging off life’s disappointments, his contract dispute with the Lions, and mentoring Juan de Jongh at the Stormers

– Why the Southern Kings will only see Super Rugby if Saru makes some strong decisions and there is unity between the three provincial unions that make up the franchise

JeanOver a pint of Guinness, Munster centre Jean de Villiers talks about broadening his horizons, chirping Ronan O’Gara and his plans to return to South Africa in 2010

– A South African coach, South African businessman and a clutch of South African players have reversed the fortunes of Saracens

PLUS: Your ultimate guide to the 2010 Super 14 – all the teams, stats and facts

JP Duminy is on the cover of the new SA Cricket magazine. Click here for more

1,039 Comments

Pages: « 111 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 » Show All

• 851.Pearl Rose: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: to say Grant10 had a clash with that lowlife Pietman is wrong! The filthy bigot attacked Grant unprovoked, insulted his son and went on a major tirade about black people in this country. Daai hol borsel can stay on rt forever.

• 852.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: agree….2 wrongs never make a right…cheers blouste…enjoy the holidays ..

• 853.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Pearl Rose: My son pitys him as well…..those relics of a sad and distant past should really stay out of SA…..we do not need there type here….ever again.

• 854.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@Pearl Rose:

Like I said, I can’t comment on that because I didn’t see it.
    I’m just referring to the so called rivalry between the 2 sites.

And I must add that if what you say is true then surely that was uncalled for.

Having said that, I’ve been blogging on keo for quite some time, and of late a lot of comments are allowed on here that would not have been allowed 3 or 4 years ago. I believe Ig was still moderating. Not sure whether that has got anything to do with it though…

• 855.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@grant10:
    Thanks , you too… be blessed !!!

• 856.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Ai tog.

• 857.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@Karoolander:

Watse span ondersteun jy ?

• 858.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: Baie spanne wat ek ondersteun.

Wees meer spesifiek

• 859.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Grow a pair won`t you.

Or does the lady of the house wear the pants?

• 860.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@Karoolander:
    Rugbyspanne.

S14 span ?

• 861.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Goeie genade maar hier gaan regtig niks aan nie…

• 862.JL1: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri:

@grant10:

I blog on both sites seems to me there is a lot of backslapping going on here

@Pearl Rose: Pot? Kettle?

• 863.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Langebaan is vol gautengers! Maar die plek kook en ek gaan nou begin drink.

• 864.JL1: Reply to this comment

@grant10: I am sure SA can do with all the professional help they can get

• 865.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@Slappes:

For a second I thought you said gatnaaiers.

• 866.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Predawn: He said Gautengers not Cape Townians

• 867.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Predawn, I said Langebaan not Durban. :lol:

• 868.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

Wow, I don’t come on much anymore and I can see why. The site went from rugby to everybody with their Internet buddies and clicks. Get a life guys, and perhaps some real friends too. The fact that most of you sit on here all day and late into the evenings and comment on anything from your wives to your jobs to your careers is pretty sad.

Here’s a suggestion, why don’t you all get Skype, MSN, or a good Java chatroom and leave Keo to the real rugby lovers. I’m sick of reading about your little feelings or emotions

• 869.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Jammer ouens :-)

• 870.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Richie_7: Now that is something to agree about

• 871.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@JL1:

You guys are so nasty. I feel hurt now.

• 872.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Richie_7:

What about the real rugby lovers who also have “emotions and little feelings” – where do you suggest they should go or do you think real rugby lovers are all robots with no feelings or other interests they might like to chat about?

• 873.Pearl Rose: Reply to this comment

@Richie_7: hey richie…why don’t you take your own advise and register on RT where everything is done at the whim of the supreme leader Rudi Geldenhuys. When he says “jump” everyone says “how high?”

he even regulates when bloggers can have banter with “free for all threads” that still monitored!

• 874.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@Pearl Rose:
    Why do you have such an issue with individuals ?

• 875.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@Pearl Rose:
    See my earlier post regarding the so called rivalry between the websites…

Nobody is forcing anybody to go to either of the sites.

Think its poor taste to bad mouth someone when they aren’t around to defend themselves though…

• 876.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Which part of Keo being a RUGBY blog do you not understand? As mentioned, share your other interests on the relevant blogs

• 877.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

@Pearl Rose: Pearl, by the sounds of things you didn’t cop an invite to the new site so the rest of us have to sit here and listen to your bitterness.

Get over it, move on, and start talking rugby

• 878.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Richie_7:

My understanding is that Keo is predominantly a rugby blog but that Mark has no problem if other issues of interest are also discussed – in fact I am quite sure he wellcomes it – it has a huge impact on the number of hits and makes things in general a bit more exciting.

• 879.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: And by a bit more exciting you refer to racial comments, the usual endless fighting about cr@p, and now a group of bloggers moving to another site for “political” reasons?

C’mon, talk rugby, talk sense, and we’ll all end up dealing with a lot less stupid posts

• 880.John1976: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: The writers on this blog themselves do not always post articles that are strickly about rugby.

• 881.John1976: Reply to this comment

@Richie_7: On any blog you will always find diverse opinions and this can lead to fighting, that is a given. You must also remember for the owners of this blog it is all about hits. Therefore you will find controversial and opinionated articles/treads that are posted to illicit the responses and racial comments that you have seen on Keo.

• 882.Slappes: Reply to this comment

John1976, well said. Richie7 accept Keo as is.

• 883.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Anybody for a kreef braai?

• 884.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Robzim, your kitesurfing cousins are out in fullforce on the langebaan lagoon. Just those jetski idiots spoiling the day.

• 885.Pearl Rose: Reply to this comment

@Richie_7: quit your sanctimonious bluster man, it’s not funny. How much rugby can one talk on threads titled “disgraceful de villiers” “cheeky calls pdv a ba boon” de villiers – a national embarrasment”? Like i suggested earlier, you can go to RT & follow to the overseer’s instructions…

• 886.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

More and more of the same, it seems.

Some overinflated ego’s on here, as always.

Alas.

• 887.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Slappes:

#881 and 882

Yeah, those noisy clowns can turn a peaceful environment into a mini- Kilarney in no time.

Try and enjoy it anyway, the Kreefbraai sounds great. I wont say more on the subject – don’t want to make Richie de moer in with all the non-rugby talk :)

• 888.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

The first duty of a man is the searching for and the investigation of truth.

• 889.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Nemo enim fere saltat sobrius, nisi forte insanit.

Best wishes to everyone over this festive period. Let us never forget that gratitude is not only the greatest of virtues, but the parent of all others.

• 890.Slappes: Reply to this comment

WPTID, right you are. Robzim :lol: yeah they are class morons but hey Im on VACATION! (Richie7 just had a stroke.)

• 891.Spies_Is_King: Reply to this comment

Cmon, we can make 1000 comments.

• 892.mbaxman93: Reply to this comment

why’s this thread being brought up again ?? nothin to report keo?

• 893.Simon: Reply to this comment

I’m hoping you guys will give us some feedback on this issue of SA Rugby mag (which would go into the next issue)…

• 894.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

@Simon:

Is it just general feedback of the most recent issue you’re looking for? The one with Schalk on the cover?

• 895.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

@Yetirat:

Sorry stupid question obviously it’s the Trophy issue.

• 896.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl: The real Julius is no hero, and not a blogger here. So, do you equate all bloggers of colour with the caliber of Julius Malema? If so, would it be fair for be to equate you with the caliber of Eugene Tereblanche?

• 897.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Karoolander: Pietman. If you hate it here, why not stick to your RT. Aparently you indulge in some mudslinging yourself there. Same story as always with you. Can dish it up, but just can’t take it.

• 898.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@JL1: Did Pietman call you for back up like he always does?

• 899.Pearl Rose: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri: hello red&black, how are you doing? Are you on holiday?

• 900.Werner: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri: Jy is ‘n ou pisvel. Nou dat almal slaap kom praat jy kak.

Pages: « 111 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.