A nation of champions
23 Dec 2009
South African rugby’s trophy cabinet has never been this full.
While the Boks finished the year on a disappointing note, it didn’t change the fact that in 2009 they added the Tri-Nations trophy, Lions series trophy, Freedom Cup and Mandela Plate to the Webb Ellis Cup that they won in 2007. The Bulls, of course, claimed the Super 14 title for the second time while the Springbok Sevens team finally got their hands on the World Series trophy.
To celebrate these achievements, SA Rugby magazine assembled all of the above silverware and took a unique cover photo that makes its new bumper 150-page edition a collector’s one.
– Andries Bekker on his injury nightmare, learning from Victor Matfield and why the Stormers are better off without Luke Watson
– Why selection and tactical blunders were to blame for the Springboks’ disastrous European trip
– Jaque Fourie on shrugging off life’s disappointments, his contract dispute with the Lions, and mentoring Juan de Jongh at the Stormers
– Why the Southern Kings will only see Super Rugby if Saru makes some strong decisions and there is unity between the three provincial unions that make up the franchise
– Over a pint of Guinness, Munster centre Jean de Villiers talks about broadening his horizons, chirping Ronan O’Gara and his plans to return to South Africa in 2010
– A South African coach, South African businessman and a clutch of South African players have reversed the fortunes of Saracens
PLUS: Your ultimate guide to the 2010 Super 14 – all the teams, stats and facts
JP Duminy is on the cover of the new SA Cricket magazine. Click here for more
Click here to subscribe
1,039 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 » Show All
23 Dec 2009, 23:13 pm
@rossoneri: carol accused me of being you a couple of days ago, then she asked me to go on to RT and look for some racially offensibe comments and see if i will find any…how laughable
23 Dec 2009, 23:16 pm
@Pearl Rose: ag shame, arme pêrel kon seker niks kry nie.
23 Dec 2009, 23:16 pm
:shocked:

:angry:
23 Dec 2009, 23:21 pm
@Werner: hoe gaan dit werner?
23 Dec 2009, 23:31 pm
@Pearl Rose: I’m well thanks. Hope you are great too.
@Pearl Rose:The sad thing is that some bloggers feel that only I saw the racial evil that was Pietman and GBS and anyone who voices a similar view is automatically me. Crazy I tell you. As for proof. Ask Carol what their new friend Winston said about quota systems in cricket. Racist as ever and that is just one example.
@Werner: Thank you Werner for evidence as if we needed any. See everyone. The right wing racists are the “vuil bekke”. Werner here wins todays prize. Werner, ek is seker dat GBS sy gat gelek wil he. RT roep. Gaan doen jou werk.
23 Dec 2009, 23:48 pm
@rossoneri: Ag jy is so f’ked up. Ek is so bly ek is nie jou soort nie.
23 Dec 2009, 23:50 pm
@rossoneri:
Bud, do you really not see that you are no different from the people you are critisizing? Just left wing…..differnet side of the same coin. Get your head out of the sand dude.
24 Dec 2009, 00:42 am
Rosseneri,please get your facts straight. I did not make a racial statement,I was stating a fact, all I said was that there in an unofficial rule that there must be 4 players of colour in the National team at any one time. If you dont believe me,go and look at the stats on cricinfo.com,and I firmly believe that all 4 of those players in our side and there purely on merit. So before you go try pulling my name through the mud please get your facts straight.
24 Dec 2009, 03:46 am
@whatever:
well put Whatever
24 Dec 2009, 04:35 am
@whatever: she is very different from them, only you cannot see it because you are on the other side with them. Objectivity is a fallacy to you, you cannot even comprehend how it would be to be impartial. You lack the cognitive ability to see things as they are. Fairness is like a township school to you, you never went there!
24 Dec 2009, 06:46 am
@Pearl Rose:
Maybe you should re-read your post? Why is fairness in your book so slanted that you can rate it a “black” snowboard slope it is so steep? I’m on my own side, so I’m not sure whose side you are refering to? I’m merely pointing out your own bias and that of Rossoneri, cause you are so blind with your own prejudice you can’t see it!
24 Dec 2009, 06:47 am
oh and by the way a “black” slope in skiing terms has no racial conotation whatsoever! Just in case you wanted to try your luck with that card!
24 Dec 2009, 08:26 am
Cmon 1000!
24 Dec 2009, 09:49 am
@whatever: blind to what prejudice? you are fishing buddy! Just because someone calls you out for your ingrained bigotry it does not me they are the reverse of what you are… You seem to be in denial and looking for outlets to justify the indoctrination. You should be grateful for someone like Rossoneri, she helps you exorcise your demons…
24 Dec 2009, 10:06 am
@rossoneri: ???
Must i humiliate you too? Barking up the wrong tree again.
Take the deal or shut the f.ck up.
24 Dec 2009, 10:24 am
@Karoolander: what’s up steve, You good?
24 Dec 2009, 12:52 pm
Pitty this is an advert and not an article.
Congrats anyway to South Africa … an impressive period in rugby
24 Dec 2009, 13:52 pm
It’s now Christmas Day here in the land of chch and cane.
“Shall I play for you, pa rum pum pum pum,
On my drum? “
24 Dec 2009, 13:55 pm
Peace and Love to all,
But come February……….”It’s no more Mr Nice Guy”, or business as usual.
24 Dec 2009, 14:38 pm
@cane: merry christmas chch & cane, hope you guys are happy with your families. We are still on christmas eve over here in the Republic…enjoy
Come february, no holds barred again…
24 Dec 2009, 14:44 pm
@Simon:
Simon I chuckled at Jake White’s column.
He starts off giving a few reasons why he thinks the Boks did so poorly in the end of year games and he did have some good arguments. He then went on to say what was wrong with the team as a whole and how this could be rectified if the Boks had a decent Director…to which he promptly offered his services as the final paragraph.
The man gets to the point.
24 Dec 2009, 15:12 pm
@cane: @chch – welcome back Laulala: Merry Christmas to both of you.
Only 3pm here Christmas Eve.
24 Dec 2009, 16:36 pm
Merry Christmas Cane.
Merry Christmas to the rest of you shortly
First Christmas back home with family in 11 years.
I hope those of you who come over for the WC next year get to see a bit of NZ. Just did the drive from Westport to Christchurch via Greymouth and Arthur’s Pass again today. Amazing parts of the country, beautiful drive, good for the sole.
Rocked up at my brothers house and there was Rob Penny (Canterbury Coach) in the driveway. It is good to be back home.
24 Dec 2009, 16:47 pm
CHCH, Enjoy the festive season mate. Hope theres less name-dropping in the new year.
24 Dec 2009, 17:13 pm
@Predawn:
I noticed that as well. In the same article there were the usual not so subtle boasts as well as the customary “the senior players are now running the show” dig at PdV.
Although JW has some good arguments (as u also pointed out) he spoiled it with the constant self-idolisation and – promotion.
Thank goodness he is out of favour with the current leadership in SA rugby.
24 Dec 2009, 17:18 pm
@Robzim: hi rob
i read the magazine from cover to cover….to be honest i was shocked at Whites column….he really puts the boot in and the self promo is not cool imo….
Brussow must be petrified if White gets back in….poor bugger would never get a look in again.
24 Dec 2009, 17:22 pm
@Robzim: All the talk of the senior players running the show has got me concerned Rob…..the contention has got louder and louder and if true is not a good thing for our rugby …..it cannot continue in my view.
I hope 2010 sees PDV really stamp his authority on proeedings .
24 Dec 2009, 17:25 pm
@rossoneri: @896
What are you one about? You are one angry person! Chill!
24 Dec 2009, 17:26 pm
@whatever: Are you saying that all bloggers on RT have never made racially prejudiced comments ever? Please.
Ed the Lion can tell you how he called Earl Rose a “h0tn0t” and was proud of it, even had you blokes back slapping him for the comment.
Pietman’s hateful comments are well documented and GBS’s threats are legendary. Ask WPTID.
@Winston: Winston. Please drop the act. Your comment was that Wayne Parnell ought to be in the team, but in order for that to happen, they must drop Ntini, because “unofficially” ie read (all in your head) one black player must be in the team and 3 coloured ones, and you said it’s a pity that Ntini must be there because it in fact prevents Parnell from being sellected. What you really saying is keep it to only 4, and replace a black one for another of colur, but please SA cricket must not touch your lilly white boys. Why must Ntini, go and not a white player to make room for Parnell? Are you realy that blinkered or are you just one of those sports fans that can only cope with so many players of colour on the pitch before you freak out!
@Karoolander: Did you miss me Pietman. Why are you here and not in AWB Mecca, aka RT. You never scared me before what makes me think I’m going to listen to your stupid kak now. If you are not him, your are just his gat leker. No different from being the piece of **** yourself.
24 Dec 2009, 17:28 pm
@Slappes: lol…howzit Slappes?
24 Dec 2009, 17:39 pm
@grant10: howzit boet. You strong or the season ahead? Long time…
24 Dec 2009, 17:42 pm
@Transformation: hullo Transie. You still giving them stick mate? I’ve missed the entertainment of the pitched battles on Keo.
24 Dec 2009, 17:59 pm
Hey Transie, lekker mate and yourself. Im here on the West coast , you in EC?
24 Dec 2009, 18:52 pm
@Slappes:yeah i’m in the rural EC bra, whiling away time watching a repeat of the british & irish lions matches and sort of calmly analysing the games…you, where about are you?
@TASSIES:hey tassies, long time no see mate, where are you hiding these days.
24 Dec 2009, 19:19 pm
Hi Guys – Is this thread still running on……..!!
Seasons Greetings to you and yours…….
“Peace on Earth and Goodwill to all Men”
24 Dec 2009, 23:13 pm
@rossoneri: @Pearl Rose:
Where are you guys getting this “you blokes slapping backs ” from? I do not form part of any group and I do not blog on R-T?
Quit labeling people cause they have a different view point to you or because they point out your “blind” prejudices. “Blind” because you just do not see that you are just like the people you critisise! Eish!!
25 Dec 2009, 00:00 am
@whatever: you must be special.
Grant10, robzim, sodajoe, sheriff, slappes, dawn, blouste, transformation, sharkgirl, Ratel Brussow, crouching tiger hidden dragon, gunther etc, these are all people who more often that not have different views from mine. The only difference between them and the likes of you & Hondo is that their comments do not stink of the racial prejudice you were suckled on as an infant!
25 Dec 2009, 07:10 am
@whatever:
“Quit labeling people cause they have a different view point to you or because they point out your “blind” prejudices. “Blind” because you just do not see that you are just like the people you critisise!”
well spoken dooos, perhaps one should heed their own advice huh??
25 Dec 2009, 08:44 am
@poppa69: lmao
merry christmas to you Poppa. Good comeback.
25 Dec 2009, 09:20 am
This must go down as the quote/punch-line of the year:
“Fairness is like a township school to you, you never went there!”
25 Dec 2009, 11:09 am
And then it was Christmas. All the people rejoiced because a peacemaker was born.
May you and yours have the peace in your hearts.
Merry Christmas to all on Keo.
25 Dec 2009, 11:15 am
Xhosakid no you can’t cause no township school lasts for more than 1 month
25 Dec 2009, 11:16 am
breek mos f0kken alles, selfs ‘n atoom
25 Dec 2009, 17:07 pm
good Xmas/New Year and enything else folks, peace till February
25 Dec 2009, 18:24 pm
@Nils: Same to you Nils, Hoping you having a great Christmas Day.
To everyone else hope you all enjoying your Christmas.
25 Dec 2009, 19:43 pm
What the hell is wrong with this place I thought you’d have been over 1000 on this thread long time ago. . Happy Mithras Sun god birthday worship day.
26 Dec 2009, 01:30 am
Last year Jinxie wrote a great Christmas verse…..how do I find it again?
26 Dec 2009, 03:39 am
@rossoneri:
No one missed you… you ruin this rugby site…
You are one farked up female… I pity your children… do not breed!
26 Dec 2009, 07:58 am
@bryce_in_oz: talk for yourself Bryce.
26 Dec 2009, 08:42 am
@bryce_in_oz: yes speak for yourself bryce
Pages: « 1 … 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 » Show All