Another injury for CJ

CJ van der Linde has been ruled out of Leinster’s Magners League clash with Ulster on Saturday.

Van der Linde struggled with a foot injury for large periods at the end of last season and the beginning of this one, and now a calf strain has kept him out of the Boxing Day clash with Leinster’s Irish rivals. Van der Linde was recalled to the Springboks for their disastrous year-end tour, but again suffered a hamstring injury early in the Saracens match.

The severity of the latest ailment hasn’t been confirmed, but it is yet another frustrating setback for the Bok prop as he seeks to regain full fitness and play for an extended period.

49 Comments

• 1.grant10: Reply to this comment

come home CJ….Stormers await!

• 2.Malema: Reply to this comment

If CJ stayed away from the burgers and beers and went to the gym more often as a disciplined soldier should do he would not be injured so often.

Soft Afrikaner with a big presence and a small heart.

• 3.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Malema:

At least CJ won’t fail the ‘pencil test’ like you!!!

• 4.Malema: Reply to this comment

Hawu! Such insubordination froma lower ranked comrade.

• 5.mossel: Reply to this comment

seems like most european teams have SA player or 2…or at least on the bench (like Jean Div)

• 6.Puma: Reply to this comment

CJ seems to be injured a lot lately. Wonder if he still wants to come home?

• 7.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Hell,
    CJ just came back from an 8 months injury in October?
    His numbers getting scary now, he gets injured almost as often as Chiliboy,
    OK, he must be collecting much more.
    Seriously, both BJ and CJ were mostly match fit while based in SA, BJ had a year hiatus in 2006 and CJ was on and off but generally speaking they were both available.
    Is it possible the scrums and rucks both sustain in the Magners and Heineken leagues are more vigorous and demanding than at a Test level?

• 8.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Puma:
    CJ is under contract, would be unfair if he ditched Leinster after collecting 15 months of pay for producing virtually nothing
    I would imagine
    @Malema:
    Not likely, more the case of oncentration lack at the tackles or the scrums.
    Wiam, Blaawu and Heineke v.d Merwe ALL cemented their LH positions in SA, CJ will struggle to depose any of them, he is of course miles ahead of the Beast and Steenkamp but those tokens aren’t touchable now.

• 9.Blue Nine: Reply to this comment

I got a signed white Stormers jersey as a gift. I guess it might be the 2004 Stormers team that signed it, Krige was still captain. Other big names on the jersey include Breyton Paulse, De Wet Barry, Joe van Niekerk, Adri Badehorst ect. Anyone have an idea what it might be worth?

• 10.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@Blue Nine:

My boet living in the Cape got me an early Christmas gift..a Province rugby jersey. He always had a kak sense of humour.

• 11.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@Blue Nine:
    Depends what you are prepared to pay someone to take it :lol:

• 12.Blue Nine: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: Was thinking about it! LOL.

Ek sal dit enige dag eerder ruil vir n getekende Bulls trui!

• 13.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@Blue Nine:

Nou praat jy !!!

• 14.grant10: Reply to this comment

CJ s contract ends May this year….by all accounts he will be back in SA for the CC….for who he will play is the big question.

• 15.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Hondo: 8 – Hondo,

I was just wondering if he still wanted to come home after his contract ends with Leinster.

• 16.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

Rumour has it Rassie has finally seen the light and is trying to lure CJ to the Cape once his stint with Leinster is over.

If it does happen, WP will have a pretty strong line-up for the Currie Cup and for once we’ll have a very decent front five again.

• 17.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Just popping in to whish all the bloggers that celebrate Christmas a wonderful and peaceful day on Friday and for those that do not celebrate it, a wonderful, peaceful and restful festive/holiday season.

Rangerman if you by chance happen to read this…….. congratulations on the birth of your daughter !!

Cannot wait for the rugby to start 2010.

My last comment of 2009, is that we continue to argue, debate and discuss all matters in 2010 without hatred or prejudice ……looking forward to the banter !!!

• 18.Puma: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: 17 – JR, Same to you mate, Have a great Christmas and New Year.

To all the other bloggers here too. Have a great Christmas and New Year.

• 19.Puma: Reply to this comment

This is the festive season but guys please drive sober.

Enjoy. Catch up next week before the New Year.

Cheers All.

• 20.grant10: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: indeed that would be great news….

• 21.grant10: Reply to this comment

anyone wanting to catch up with some rugby news….go read Tank Lannings Front Row Grunt latest offering…..especially New dad Rangerman and Ratel Brussow.

• 22.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma: Puma good day boet , hope you are doing great

I havent had much time to chat lately in here , but i would like to wish you and your family one heck of a great xmas and prosperous new year

so if i dont catch you online before xmas , have a good one bro ^5

• 23.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: Cheers brudda, Thanks. Just came back from a hectic day. Now off to the airport.

Have yourself and your family a great Xmas and all the best for the New Year.

I sure will have a good one mate. You too.

Now have to dash to the airport.

Cheers hope to catch up with everyone before the New Year.

• 24.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Puma:
    You can’t really say, he is a Pro rugby player and will sign with the highest bidder, although he said all the right things in November after his Test recall, don’t get fooled
    Such an injury prone front row player will have hard time to secure a Pro contract in Europe, so it’s a wait and see for now.
    Gary Botha resided in London, not exactly the cheapest place on earth even for a pro player, and he wasn’t the 1st choice hooker for the Queens most of the time, so his decision to take the offer from the Bulls made sense
    My guess CJ will be back for lack of adequate offers abroad.

• 25.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@grant10:
    Lannings called BJ a ‘shrimp’, that must serve as an indictment of Lannings’ knowledge and understanding of a front row basics.
    At 117 kg, BJ is heavier than Kempson, Garvey and Dalton, the most successful Boks front row ever.
    To say CJ’s foot injuries are a ‘concern’ is interesting too: CJ is the perennial injury prone prop, it’s a certainty!

• 26.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

CJ is a poor powderpuff as a scrummager and he clearly carries some of that Wilko sicknote gene in his DNA. He should get a real job.

• 27.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

What do you expect. At his age he will pick up a niggle here and there.

• 28.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

The best Bok front row ever would have to be Chris Kock, Jorrie Jordaan and Okey Geffin. They whacked the 1949 All Blacks to a 4-0 whitewash. (Well, Koch only played three of the four because the selectors foolishly chose Hoppie van Jaarsveld for the first test. But, after correcting their error, Koch — then only 21 years old — went on to do such great work that NZ dragged their retired tough-guy prop and ex-heavyweight boxing champion, Kevin Skinner, back into their 1956 team to “soften up” the yarpie front row of Koch, Bertie vd Merwe and Jaap Bekker. And NZ then won their first test series against the Boks.)

• 29.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Koch, not Kock, in line 1 above — obviously.

• 30.whatever: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler:

Obviously :)

• 31.whatever: Reply to this comment

CJ is starting to sound like a liability rather than an asset.

He has only ever been a 60 min player anyway, and that was when he was not yellow carded or carried off.

Leave him in the UK!

• 32.bloubulpiet: Reply to this comment

Blue nine. I am sorry to hear that you got punished like that, but if you pay me , I would gladly burn the jersey for you!

• 33.bloubulpiet: Reply to this comment

CJ is a good player, but it is difficult to manage him thru all the injuries. I think we have enough young props to look at for the future. I have to admit that I do think the cheetas had a good front row this year.

• 34.grant10: Reply to this comment

some interesting news in Beeld this morning….Johan Muller ,Sharks lock, set to go to Ulster at end of super 14….

And my favorite news…..ihave prayed for this…..

Smit to revert to 2 for sharks and resume captaincy….

• 35.grant10: Reply to this comment

Re the CJ comments….the injuries are a problem, but WP are very ,very keen!

• 36.grant10: Reply to this comment

1 thing is for certain…..if Smit is destined to revert back to 2 for Sharks and Boks, a deal must have been made with either CJ or Bj to come home in May, perhaps both.

• 37.Predawn: Reply to this comment

He’s not in the greatest condition. If he was he’d not pick up so many injuries. Go to gym vetsak.

• 38.wpw_: Reply to this comment

He has the record for the player to bench the most ever …. i.e he is moer strong …. maybe do some cardio yes

• 39.bok1906: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Its a pitty he’s injured. But the Boks need him and even more so they need Botha. BJ is one of the most underrated scrummagers (his height, or lack thereof is big plus) cant see how PdV can keep ignoring this Tighthead issue.

• 40.whatever: Reply to this comment

Condolences to Graham Thorne on the loss of his son Bruce. Very sad indeed.

• 41.kwas: Reply to this comment

@grant10: If Smit starts at 2 for the Sharks, Bismarck will leave.

• 42.grant10: Reply to this comment

@kwas: not sure that the workload cant be shared between the 2 of them ? Long season ahead in 2010 and lots of rest reuired so lets wait and see…..but i have heard Bissys contract gives him the main man status at 2 for Sharks…..

Plumtree may have his hands full….the big loser may , in fact, be Craig Burden, who by all accounts turned down an offer from the Lions ….

• 43.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10: who is the premier tighthead for the sharks, j smit, jannie “pap” dup or deon carstens?

• 44.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: Jannie Du Plessis and Wiehahn Herbst ….Carstens can play there but a more effective loosehead imo….

• 45.wpw_: Reply to this comment

as long as its not Eddie Andrews that old Stormers prop …. sheesh I think little Paulse was stronger than him

• 46.nama1: Reply to this comment

@kwas: #41
    If Bismarck threatens the Shark to leave if JS is #1 hooker, than they should just let him leave.

No one individual is more important than the team.

• 47.Hillcrest Shark: Reply to this comment

I have read a few comments on this blog , but i’ll leave my thoughts until I get some abusive comments. I will say this though you’re on the wrong website if you want to argue politics,race and creed , despite what our politicians are calling for.NAMA1 lets start with this last comment of yours which is naive and childish. Do you not think that the Sharks could do with Bismarck when smit gets injured. I say when, as smit is not 21 anymore, trust me he will get injured again and besides how does Bismarck prove that he should be springbok hooker if he cannot replace smit in the sharks side.It’s no secret that smit was exposed as a tight head by the lions , time you started taking in facts before commentating ou boet.
    Anyway as its the festive season ‘kom ons wag en sien wat gebeur ‘

• 48.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@whatever: Grahame’s other, younger, son — the one in NZ — was badly injured in a club rugby tackle some years and suffered very severe brain injury and is now paralysed and completely unable to talk or walk.

Poor Grahame has had the most dreadful luck as regards his very fine young boys.

• 49.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Hillcrest Shark: #47
    If you read my comment again you will see that I am actually saying that the Sharks should not bow down to Bissie if he threatens them with leaving because he does not want to be no.2 behind JS. With JS as captain it is obvious that he will have to be first choice hooker and Bissie on the bench although Bissie is the better hooker.

“I have read a few comments on this blog , but I’ll leave my thoughts until I get some abusive comments.”

This is a very funny way of introducing yourself to a blog. Why do you believe that you will be abused? Then to go ahead and single me out without properly understanding what I was saying.

I repeat: No one individual player is more important than the team. Just ask Luke Watson.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.