Restoring the pride
4 Jan 2010
The Lions are the fallen giants of South African rugby, but CEO Manie Reyneke tells SA Rugby magazine that they will rise again under Dick Muir.
A photo of the triumphant 1999 Currie Cup winners greets you upon entering the Golden Lions Rugby Union offices. Jannes Labuschagne and Hannes Strydom and co lifting a trophy – the last time a Lions side managed to do so. Ten long years – an eternity in professional sport.
With Louis Luyt as president during the ’90s, the Lions were the dominant South African team. In a period from 1992-1994 under coach Kitch Christie they held virtually every title on offer – a pair of Currie Cups, three Lion Cups, two M-Net Night Series titles, and the Super 10 trophy in 1993.
How things have changed. Results in the past couple of years across all teams make for unpleasant reading. The Lions came last in the 2008 Super 14 and 12th in 2009, and while they made the Currie Cup semi-finals last year they finished sixth in 2009. Dig a little deeper, and the Vodacom Cup, U19 and U21 sides haven’t yielded any silverware either. The U19s reached the final this year, but were walloped 45-13 by Free State. The University of Johannesburg have failed to make the play-offs in the Varsity Cup for two years running, and the Craven Week side hasn’t produced. From the senior side to the schoolboys, the Lions are losers.
Lions CEO Manie Reyneke is always positive, but by late October he looked a jaded figure. More poor results, the departure of coaches Leon Boshoff and Loffie Eloff, and the Jaque Fourie contract saga will do that to you.
‘It’s a stressful job, there have been many problems that I’ve had to sort out over the past two years,’ says Reyneke.
Those problems in the union came to a head with the axing of Eloff after the Super 14. After his three-year plan had failed, Jake White’s Winning Way company was employed. The Lions didn’t make the Currie Cup play-offs, but their last match of the season against Western Province provided some hope.
Now Lions supporters will wait to see if this was yet another false dawn.
The third intervention in three years came when Dick Muir was appointed as director of coaching, which includes leading the Super 14 team. He says claiming that title is the goal by the end of his three-year contract.
How?
Various changes were implemented under White, but Muir has a different rugby philosophy. While White favours a structured, defence-orientated game (the Lions scored the sixth most tries in the Currie Cup but had the third best defensive record), Muir prefers a more expansive style.
‘We also had an expansive game plan during the Currie Cup,’ says Reyneke, ‘and we scored some good tries. I don’t think it will be such a major change.’
Reyneke stresses the involvement of Winning Way and the positive structures that were introduced in those five months – such as implementing player support systems – will not be wasted.
‘When we brought in Winning Way, we were really down and out. I would tell the coaching staff every Monday that the players were unconditioned, but we needed someone from the outside to do those tests and look at our structures. Jake brought value. He introduced many things to the union – not things we didn’t know, but things that needed to be changed. We need to be at the top again, so it was vital for this union to be cleaned out.
‘The structures were there, they were just never used properly, so we’ve reinforced them. We knew exactly what needed improvement and all those things are up and running. All we need to do is maintain them. I’ll make sure whoever is responsible for certain things does their job.’
Muir is going to be an extremely busy man, juggling not two jobs, but three. You would expect the director of coaching role to be an all-year-round job, but Muir will continue as Springbok assistant coach as well as the managing director of the International Rugby Academy in South Africa.
‘It’ll be quite easy for Dick,’ says Reyneke. ‘He’ll be Super 14 coach and director of coaching, and will look at all the structures at the union. He’ll make sure that the coaches who take the Vodacom, U21, U19 and Craven Week sides are competent. He was busy looking into all that before the Boks’ November tour. I’m confident he can manage it.’
Fellow Bok assistant Gary Gold had also worked with the Stormers, but is now set to focus solely on the national job, posing further questions around whether Muir will be able to negotiate all three roles. His former employers at the Sharks even lodged an official complaint to Saru, as they felt it would be a conflict of interest as he could entice players away from them to his current team. Muir denied this would be the case and stressed that he would manage to juggle all three jobs.
‘The Lions appointment is a natural extension of my other roles. I believe that the dual role – as the Springbok assistant coach and Lions Super 14 coach – will further enrich my position as the facilitator of the academy.’
Muir was selected ahead of 16 other applicants from across the world, beating off the challenge of his nearest competitor, Heyneke Meyer. Meyer was viewed by many as the ideal candidate to do a similar job at the Lions to what he’d done with the Bulls at Loftus – making them the all-conquering union they are today. However, he wanted an entourage of support staff.
‘The main reason we didn’t want Heyneke was because he wanted to bring a complete new structure,’ says Reyneke. ‘He wanted different personnel in a package deal of himself and seven other people. With Winning Way we evaluated our staff and there are competent people here.’
While Reyneke stresses that the structures are in place to return to the glory days of the early-90s, the main ingredient missing is quality internationals. The Lions’ only Bok of 2009, Fourie, has left, making them the only big-five union without a regular Test player. The Lions have haemorrhaged talent, but both Reyneke and Muir believe another rebuilding job is not impossible. Most of the recruiting was done in the months prior to Muir’s appointment, but Reyneke isn’t concerned.
‘Yes, a coach does make a difference in terms of who will be recruited – he does favour certain players before others – and Dick looked at all the lists. He gave input and we took his advice. There is a committee that does recruitment, where we evaluate each and every player, so it’s not just individuals’ choices. We have sent offers to overseas players, although we’re limited in the number of foreigners we can recruit, but there are also excellent South Africans in Europe.
‘The fact is there are not many Boks around who don’t have contracts. But players follow coaches, and although it won’t have an immediate effect as we are one of those unions that honour contracts, there will be players coming our way. We’ll strengthen our side and become a force.
‘We also have an abundance of young talent in this country and we’re doing many of our players an injustice by contracting them and not giving them game time.’
Another challenge facing the Lions is the pitiful crowd attendances at Ellis Park due poor results and safety concerns. Some have suggested relocating to a ground outside the Jo’burg CBD, but Reyneke believes the ailing Lions brand will only get a much-needed injection once the team starts producing.
‘You must remember this is a cosmopolitan area, it’s not as easy for us to have the same homely atmosphere as the Sharks or Bulls. There are many Stormers supporters staying in Jo’burg making their money here, and the same goes for the other teams’ fans.
‘We have excellent projects; we’re the only union in the country that gives all U7 to U18 registered rugby players in the province free season tickets. There are many good projects on the go, but once we start winning, it will change overnight.
‘The fact is I could spend R20 million on marketing and it would all be wasted if we don’t start winning on the field. Winning is marketing.’
By Grant Ball
– This article first appeared in the December issue of SA Rugby magazine. The Jan-Feb issue is on sale now.

231 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All
4 Jan 2010, 15:23 pm
@Papoose: @blogger
i still maintain he needs to put on at least another 10kg to reach his full potential
4 Jan 2010, 15:31 pm
Umlungu read the article. Manie said: IF I HAD R20 MILLION for a marketing budget.
4 Jan 2010, 15:37 pm
Papoes since when is Darren a rugby genie? … Boks played k@k in the warm up games, We played Tigers C team … Earl did nothing wrong, but also did nothing spectacular.
4 Jan 2010, 15:48 pm
@lion4ever:
Another champion 4 the Lions
They will continue to lose with a loser at the head of admin
More of the same old same old and that is a pity
4 Jan 2010, 15:57 pm
@Umlungu: You are the loser Umlungu. Who do you support in the S14? The queensland reds???? Go blog on a soccer website if all you can do is talk ****.
4 Jan 2010, 16:28 pm
@cane:
Cane my old friend.
Transvaal will alwaya be Transvaal to me. My heart says soo.
As to the current state of the side. As has being repeated here already. What matters most is the scoreline. What brings people in is scoreline. What brings star players is scoreline. what builds dynasties is teh scoreline. What brings headlines is scoreline.
to see Johan Ackerman(NTvl) in coach setup is major plus. **** Muir is a good coach. Heinkie vd Merwe must be praised for staying loyal during hardtimes.
Transvaal are going through bad patch similer to NTvl did in mid 90s. They will rise again. As will OP!!
4 Jan 2010, 17:07 pm
@greatest13gerber: The Transvaal doesn’t exist any more. Neither does Northern Transvaal. Gerber was, if the greatest anything, then the greatest douche in SA sporting history. Eastern Province will not rise again. **** Muir is a mug.
I am flabbergasted by how universally wrong you are.
4 Jan 2010, 17:31 pm
Twig,
4 Jan 2010, 18:11 pm
I still cannot believe that they didn’t hire Heyneke Meyer just because he wanted his own support staff. Didn’t they plan for this possibility?
It is their refusal to be professional, and their willingness to settle for second best, that is causing all their problems.
4 Jan 2010, 19:33 pm
The main reason for the lions being a poor team is simply the majority of players the lions have are currie cup standard,and not super14 or bok standard.You cannot play at super14 level with currie cup level players,it just does no work out.The bulls are living proof of that,when HMtook over for the first time as super12 coach the players were of such a poor standard they lost every log game.I remember those dark days at loftus,we had players who would just about make a vodacom cup team playing super12 and we were getting whacked.Who remembers jaco espag at prop he was good enough for eastern transvaal but to play for the bulls at super12 level no f#####g way,and we had a team full of jaco espags so the only way for the lions to improve is to improve their standard of player just like hm did for the bulls and we all know how the bulls turned out.
4 Jan 2010, 19:52 pm
Not taking anything away from Muir as a damn good coach but Lions should have chosen Meyer over Muir even if Meyer arrived with a bunch of support staff.
4 Jan 2010, 20:04 pm
heyneke blah blah blah.
muir had two seasons with the sharks and took us to the s14 final which the bulls CHEATED us out of.
i am not bitter but heyneke was 1 minute away from being an almost ran after what? 6 years?
muir has also been involved in probably one of the most successful seasons for the boks since….well, ever.
heyneke is a good coach, make no mistake, but the fawning and blue bulls bs about muir being a kak one is just that, kak.
lets see how the lions do but i suspect their problems run far deeper than coaching.
4 Jan 2010, 20:04 pm
@byoboy:
Muir must not be underrated.
@blueboy:
The same goes for the overrated Cheetahs. Currie Cup heroes but Super 14 chumps.
4 Jan 2010, 20:10 pm
@greatest13gerber:
Ja nee, die Ou Transvaal. Aaaaahhhh for the good old days when we lived like civilised human beings and everyone had their place.
Now we are governed by a corrupt bigamist that sleeps with an HIV woman, has five wives and shoots slingshots at birds in front of the media. Vorster is turning in his grave.
4 Jan 2010, 20:14 pm
@rangerman: aye
4 Jan 2010, 20:14 pm
@Predawn: Time to get back in your cage and eat a banana.
4 Jan 2010, 20:16 pm
saw Habana and J Fourie training with the Stormers today…..A Coetsee reckons the squad well balanced and ready to make an assault on the title…..
Personally feel we a quality prop and 1O away from the real deal.
4 Jan 2010, 20:17 pm
@grant10: Hello boet.
4 Jan 2010, 20:19 pm
On the Muir issue i probably would also have gone with H Meyer….no doubt Muir knows what he is up to….but the focus may be found wanting.
And Lions need some quality in that squad.
1st game at home to Stormers…i am kakking myself already….we always sukkel at Ellis Park.
4 Jan 2010, 20:21 pm
@SodaJoe: hullo young man…brilliant day in Cape Town today….going to the cricket on wed….worked again today….beaches full…Brazilian ladies have not returned though.
4 Jan 2010, 20:25 pm
@rangerman: I dono if your comments were directed at my para, I’m not saying Muir is kak, just think he’s got a lot on his plate and Meyer would have been better suited to the job.
4 Jan 2010, 20:27 pm
@Predawn: hence my qualified statement..”not taking anything away from Muir as a damn good coach”. He’s got a lot on his plate will he really be able to give 100% to the Lions?
4 Jan 2010, 20:28 pm
@byoboy: i agree with those sentiments….to me a D O R is a 24….7 type job….hence rassies new position….cant be easy to run 3 x roles ….no matter what Muir says….something suffers….
4 Jan 2010, 20:29 pm
@Umlungu:
The Lions are still the only union that owns their own union 100%. All other unions have shareholders. Sharks and Cheetahs = Supersport. Bulls and WP = Sale.
The GLRU owns Ellispark stadium 100%.
The only thing that the GLRU shares is Ellispark World of Sport. The company running the stadium. That is shared between the GLRU(49%), INZA(30%)and Pirates(21%).
But the rest the GLRU owns 100%. Now, you tell me. A Union doing that, do they have money problems? The GLRU offered BOD 5.7 million rand for one season. Do you think that a union with financial problems can do that? Unfortunately he couldn’t get out of his current contract.
The financials people see in the red, is that of Ellispark world of Sport included due to the GLRU owning 49% of that company.
Independantly, the GLRU is doing rather well financially. They’re now in the process of selling to shareholders for an ownership of 49%. A HUGE financial injection.
No money problems there mate.
4 Jan 2010, 20:30 pm
@WilladieLeeu: hi there.
Any news on the player recruitment front Willa
4 Jan 2010, 20:32 pm
Belated greetings from RIP Van JimT.
2010??? What? When did that happen? You turn your head away for a minute & they change the year. I’ve been signing my cheques 2008.
And what’s all this cricket about? It’s winter people & it’s -3 C. Who plays cricket in these temperatures?
I think I’ve entered a time warp, help me someone.
4 Jan 2010, 20:37 pm
@grant10:
Hey Grant. Happy new year to you and good luck to your side for 2010. Nervous as hell already for that game on the 13th Feb.
There might be 2-3 players still joining us from tomorrow on when the squad re-assembles. No names as yet.
But some high profile players interested in joining the Lions. Problem is that all those players are contracted till end of 2010.
4 Jan 2010, 20:41 pm
@WilladieLeeu: yeah….i am scared of that Lions side….they will try and outmuscle us and with Muir there perhaps the backs may have a go too….all the best for 2010 Willa….do hope your Lions have a cool season….a lot may depend for bth our teams on that 1 st game….confidence is crucial.
4 Jan 2010, 20:42 pm
Willa…Jim…happy 2010…sorry…manners gone for a while there.
4 Jan 2010, 20:44 pm
@grant10:
Yeah, we need to win. Being a home game. We then play the Chiefs after that at home and head o/seas. Tough draw.
Well one thing is for certain. Fitness won’t be an excuse. The guys are between 70-80% fitter and stronger compared to last season the same time.
Ackerman has been drilling the guys. Scary how big some of them are.
4 Jan 2010, 20:46 pm
@WilladieLeeu: Howzit Willa. Happy New Year boet.
Seriously, I think that we are in for a tough year, if not a kak year. We are pretty much rebuilding the whole squad from scratch, and I’ve seen nothing exciting at all, nada.
We are going to have to give **** this year as a mulligan if you ask me.
But hey, we live in hope.
Not sure what your source of optimism is, but my cup is pretty empty.
4 Jan 2010, 20:46 pm
@WilladieLeeu: Ja….Stormers also back today….Habana and J Fouries first session with the okes…
Stormers seem a prop and a 10 away from a real contender….but there is a quiet confidence here in Cape Town…..
4 Jan 2010, 20:47 pm
@WilladieLeeu: Give me your starting S14 22. Maybe you know something I don’t (which would not be unusual).
4 Jan 2010, 20:47 pm
@JimT: Howzit Jimbo.
4 Jan 2010, 20:48 pm
Willa…please tell me that Heinke is going back to loosehead!!?
4 Jan 2010, 20:49 pm
@grant10: 69. Bugger it, that sounds great. Are you going to be at the cricket at all?
4 Jan 2010, 20:50 pm
Hi Grant & Soda Joe, happy new whatever.
You guys getting ready for the new rugga season?
Took my boys out for their first run out this year. A bit chilly at 0C though.
4 Jan 2010, 20:50 pm
@SodaJoe:
To you too Soda.
I’ve been speaking to some of the players and management. The guys are fit, strong and the preperation has been hugely proffesional.
I’m not saying we’ll win or even make a semi, but the bottom four will def not happen. And the matchday 22 we can put on the pitch is not gonna be a bad one at all.
We’ll def be more competetive already.
4 Jan 2010, 20:52 pm
@JimT: Jimbo, I am dreaming of 0C. Geez it’s been cold, beyond freeze the balls off a brass ******.
Good luck this year with your teams. My son is in serious training – running, weights. At least he won’t get injured easily. Unfortunately he is only in his second year of teh game, but he does love it, but I wish he started earlier.
4 Jan 2010, 20:53 pm
@SodaJoe: Soda I hate to ask you what your temperatures are today. Pretty much the same as Atlanta I suppose, but I wouldn’t bet on it.
When does your son start to play rugby again?
4 Jan 2010, 20:53 pm
@WilladieLeeu: Obviously being fit will help, but we need some talent too.
4 Jan 2010, 20:55 pm
@SodaJoe:
Ya, rumour is that John is going back to hooker, this means the experiment with Heinke is over. He’ll go back to LH with monster Buys at TH.
1 Heinke
2 Shimmie (He’ll make it)
3 Kevin Buys
4 Wouter Moore
5 Jannes Labuschagne
6 Bizkit van Deventer
7 Franco vd Merwe
8 Mokuena (C)
9 Jano
10 Ruan Boshoff
11 Johan Jackson
12 Walter Venter
13 Alwyn Hollenbach
14 Chavanga
15 Earl Lewis
16 Sephaka
17 van Dyk
18 Lombaard
19 Minnie
20 Chris Jonck
21 Earl Rose
22 Dusty Noble
My personal 22 choice.
4 Jan 2010, 20:56 pm
@JimT: They will get in to the gym in about Feb only. Then games in April I think.
This morning was -11F/-24C. Madness.
4 Jan 2010, 20:56 pm
soda,
as a lifelong man u supporter, i have to say i was desperately disappointed with losing in the 3rd round of the fa cup.
however, would rather lose to a resurgent leeds than a shonky arsenal or chelsea.
well done to your team and good luck against spurs.
4 Jan 2010, 20:57 pm
@SodaJoe: i will be at cricket for the 4 th day….with justrugby and our 2 daughters….both 13.
My birthday wed so its the cricket and then the blonde taking me to dinner….so thats cool…
4 Jan 2010, 20:57 pm
@SodaJoe:
We do.
And all will realise it this season.
Even Muir himself said that he’s surprised with the players. He said that by the end of the season, there will be at least 4 Springboks coming from the Lions.
4 Jan 2010, 20:58 pm
@JimT: cant wait for the rugby Jim….really miss it desperately.
4 Jan 2010, 20:58 pm
@WilladieLeeu:
1 Heinke
2 Van Dyk
3 Kevin Buys
4 Wouter Moore
5 Jannes Labuschagne
6 Bizkit van Deventer
7 Franco vd Merwe
8 Mokuena (C)
9 Jano
10 Dusty Noble
11 Johan Jackson
12 Walter Venter
13 Alwyn Hollenbach
14 Chavanga
15 Earl Lewis
16 Sephaka
17 Shimmie
18 Lombaard
19 Minnie
20 Chris Jonck
21 Earl Rose
22 Boshoff
4 Jan 2010, 21:01 pm
@SodaJoe:
Dusty at 10 is probably a mistake?
4 Jan 2010, 21:01 pm
@charo: Miss Ghana 2009. Merci beaucoup.
All I want is to get in to The Championship. Then get in to the Premiership.
But to be the Red Rose is always always great.
Happy New Year, hope the equatorial adventures pay off.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All