Treu trusts in youth

Paul Treu has included three uncapped players in his squad for the next two Sevens tournaments.

WP’s Steven Hunt and Free State’s Hoffman Maritz and Philip van der Walt join the Springbok Sevens side for the New Zealand and USA legs of the series. They replace Shaun Venter, Deon Helberg and MJ Mentz.

Renfred Dazel is also back from his leg injury as is Ryno Benjamin from his suspension. Mzwandile Stick will lead the side in the absence of Paul Delport who has an ankle injury. Neil Powell is unavailable due to a sore shoulder.

The first tournament begins on 5 February in Wellington.

Springbok Sevens squad -Mpho Mbiyozo, Chase Minnaar, Frankie Horne, Cecil Afrika, Kyle Brown, Renfred Dazel, Ryno Benjamin, Mzwandile Stick, Marius Schoeman, Steven Hunt, Hoffman Maritz, Philip van der Walt.