Barry to face Lions

Frans Ludeke has selected De Wet Barry amongst the reserves for their Super 14 warm-up matches against the Lions on Saturday.

Barry told on Monday that he was training with the Bulls in Pretoria and was included in their draft system for the Super 14. It now seems that the EP captain is likely to play a role in their campaign this season, as he will feature on the bench for both warm-up games in Polokwane.

Meanwhile, head coach Ludeke will field his strongest-possible teams, who have been named the ‘White’ and ‘Blue’ team.

The ‘White’ team will include most of the Bulls’ second stringers, such as Tiger Mangweni, Stephan Dippenaar, Francois Brummer and Bandise Maku, and will be led by Wilhelm Steenkamp.

Victor Matfield will captain the ‘Blue’ side, which is considered the Bulls’ strongest line-up, as Zane Kirchner, Morne Steyn, Fourie du Preez and Gary Botha will all feature. They will, however, miss Bakkies Botha, Wynand Olivier, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Akona Ndungane, Pierre Spies, Francois Hougaard, Dewald Potgieter and Danie Rossouw due to injury.

Some interesting positional selections will see former Cheetahs pivot Jacques-Louis Potgieter start at inside centre in place of Olivier and Derick Kuün will run out at flank as speculated before.

The ‘White’ team will play the first game at 4pm, while the ‘Blue’ team will kickoff at 6:30pm.

White team – 15 Tiger Mangweni, 14 Sampie Mastriet, 13 Stephan Dippenaar, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Clayton Blommetjies, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Ruan Snyman, 8 Dries van Schalkwyk, 7 CJ Stander, 6 Okkie Kruger 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp (c), 4 Fudge Mabeta, 3 Bees Roux, 2 Bandise Maku,1 Jaco Engels.
Subs: 16 Henri Bantjes, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 Cornell Hess, 19 Devin Oosthuizen, 20 Danie Faasen, 21 Marnitz Boshoff, 22 Wynand Willis, 23 Rossouw de Klerk, 24 De Wet Barry.

Blue team – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Jaco Pretorius, 12 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 11 John Mametsa, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pedrie Wannenburg, 7 Derick Kuün, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Gary Botha, 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Jaco Engels, 17 Bandise Maku, 18 Bees Roux, 19 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 20 Ruan Snyman, 21 Francois Brummer, 22 Stephan Dippenaar, 23 Dries van Schalkwyk, 24 De Wet Barry.