Blitzboks to face Fiji in quarters
5 Feb 2010
The Springbok Sevens disappointed with a 19-7 defeat against New Zealand in the final match of day one in the Wellington tournament.
Although both sides had already confirmed Cup quarterfinal qualification, South Africa and New Zealand faced each other in a crucial Pool A game. The winners would move on to an easier fixture against Australia, while the losers would meet an in form Fijian outfit.
Considering the Boks lost against Fiji in the last two Cup quarterfinals, it was important for Paul Treu’s charges to top Pool A.
However – not for the first time – the Blitzboks failed to perform when it mattered most as they went down to hosts New Zealand as they conceded two late tries.
South Africa had the upper hand for most of the first stanza, as they kept the Kiwis restricted in their half. However, poor defence from stalwart Mzwandile Stick allowed Sherwin Stowers to slip past for the opening try.
On the half-time mark, a late attack from the Blitzboks saw Ryno Benjamin through and Stick added the conversion to level the scores.
After the break, South Africa stole the early momentum again, but lacked the composure in attack to take the lead.
This cost the World Series champions as New Zealand went ahead two minutes from time through Zar Lawrence.
The result was confirmed when Chris Baker crossed the chalk in the final minute.
Earlier in the day, the Blitzboks impressed with two convincing wins against Wales and Niue.
In their second fixture of the day, Cecil Afrika’s hat-trick helped the Boks down Wales 38-5 to confirm a place in the Cup quarterfinals.
Afrika crossed the whitewash twice and Marius Schoeman scored a try as the Boks surged into a 19-0 half-time lead.
Afrika then completed his hat-trick after the break, while Ryno Benjamin and Hoffman Maritz crossed the line to seal the win. Wales only managed one consolation try through Ifan Evans.
In the Boks’ first match, Western Province speedster Steven Hunt grabbed a brace as they secured a 38-10 against Niue.
South Africa dominated the first half as they scored five tries to take a 31-0 lead at half-time.
Niue, however, produced a better overall performance in the second stanza as the Boks only managed to score one try.
Springboks Sevens results, Day 1:
South Africa 38 Niue 10
South Africa 38 Wales 5
New Zealand 19 South Africa 7
For more results and fixtures click here

485 Comments
5 Feb 2010, 02:33 am
What is “Niue”?
5 Feb 2010, 03:56 am
Predawn, are you serious you got kicked off a kiwi blog site for posting a picture of a sheep. LOL thats soo funny, considering what idiot kiwiwhinger bloggers we have on our site.
You hear the story about the attractive 19yr old kiwi student who sold her virginty? Sounds fishy: attractive, 19yr old virgin in new zealand?
I hope the blitzbokke can lift their game and some of the newbies can stepup!
5 Feb 2010, 05:05 am
Niue (say “new way”) is a tiny independent Pacific island nation with a total population of only 1300. So their sevens team probably consists of the nation’s only electrician, one of their two hotel waiters, the national barber, and the taxi driver.
5 Feb 2010, 05:08 am
Sevens job ’stunt’ draws swarm of applicants
By AMANDA FISHER – The Dominion Post
Jobs for “beer *****” and midget beer-server advertised by a blog group seeking assistants at the Wellington sevens have been filled – despite complaints about the stunt.
JP Tocker, who started the blog, said the group had received about 60 job applications after they advertised for a “midget” or a “large-chested woman” to be a food and beverage “runner” at the sevens.
The stunt was meant to promote the blog and was a joke, he said. “We were kind of waiting for negative fallout, but we actually got a lot of positive feedback from people sick and tired of all the PC **** that’s going on.”
Successful midget applicant Dan Morrah said people who had complained about the stunt were too politically correct.
“It’s time they just chilled out and relaxed. I have got no problem doing it.”
Mr Morrah, who would be dressing as an oompa loompa, or fictional creature, for the sevens, said he was selected for more than his small size.
“I think it’s the fact I’ve been to the sevens so many years before … and I’m also prepared to have a good laugh at my own expense.”
This would be Mr Morrah’s fifth sevens. As a result of coverage from the initial controversy, Mr Morrah now has an audition for Sir Peter Jackson’s new movie The Hobbit.
The job description for a “beer *****” was changed to a “beer delivery person” because of the complaints.
“We got guys applying asking for the rate of pay and whether the job was fulltime.”
Little People New Zealand spokeswoman Caela Brackenbury said Mr Morrah was entitled to apply for the job. “LPNZ doesn’t really condone behaviour where little people draw attention to themselves which isn’t necessarily in a positive way.”
Mr Tocker said this was the fourth sevens the group would attend together. “With the hype that we’ve created for ourselves and with small man Dan and [beer wench] Cassandra [Opie] coming … and the biggest group we’ve had coming this year, everyone’s pretty excited.”
Ms Opie was selected by public votes through the blog and radio station ZM, after she sent in a Top Gun-style video.
5 Feb 2010, 07:20 am
OK people get ready for Groundhog Day.Tickles is gonna harp on ad naseum about the 7′s and great atmosphere and party because wellington is kak.Pity he goes there with his mother.Sad life.BTW why are you posting?Should you not go and brush your mothers hair?
5 Feb 2010, 07:26 am
@TheTackler: Very funny
@Fern: Equally funny….
For what it is worth – South Africa downed the swine from Nuie 38-10. Now for the “world champs”….
5 Feb 2010, 07:29 am
@Cheetah Champs:
Its the truth,he stays with his mom.Spe put a filter on his pc so he cant type swearwords.
Hey tickles,umamma gulele!
5 Feb 2010, 07:30 am
@TheTackler:
Cheers. Hehehe good one!
5 Feb 2010, 07:30 am
wellington is kak,I have been there.Give me Christchurch any day.Even Auckland is better than that shytehole.
5 Feb 2010, 07:33 am
@KevinRack:
kiwi chick and the word “attractive” is a oxymoron.
Ugly as sin.
Go check the crowds at the 7′s this weekend.
brutal looking units they are.
5 Feb 2010, 07:37 am
“Brutal units” ……
Fern
5 Feb 2010, 07:37 am
@Fern:
Yeah I just came from a months holiday in kiwi land, stunning country, loved it, but absolutly zero hot chicks!
5 Feb 2010, 07:44 am
@Sonito:
Stunning place,awesome people.zero hot chicks
strangely the chiks arent chokers like their rugby team,they swallow.
I handed out a good couple of pearl necklaces when I was there.:-)
5 Feb 2010, 07:45 am
@Staal:
They can make blind children cry.
The current Miss NZ is a expat saffa…
5 Feb 2010, 07:47 am
Nice day to you all,gotta go and work.
BTW go check out the crowds at the 7′s this weekend if you dont believe me.
Sonito I have been from Christchurch to Auckland.
5 Feb 2010, 07:58 am
Boks 33-5 Wales.
Well played boys
5 Feb 2010, 07:59 am
Fern you are a piece of work…..
Need months of counseelling….no…screw that…you would kill the kopdoctor!
5 Feb 2010, 08:01 am
@Fern: Hahahahhahaha!!
5 Feb 2010, 08:12 am
@Fern:
Can you tell us one more time about how Wellington is kak we really enjoy hearing it year after year, just so interesting.
5 Feb 2010, 08:16 am
Fern, you are telling us how hidious the woman are in that neck of the woods….
then you tell us you had *** with them all….
huh?
my 2 cents..
5 Feb 2010, 08:22 am
Stop knocking Wellington – it is a lovely place. You have Cape Town just around the corner, and all those delightful Boland players residing there.
5 Feb 2010, 08:29 am
@Staal:
Yer he’s a big talker when it comes to the ladies, wonder why that is…
5 Feb 2010, 08:29 am
Weirdos
5 Feb 2010, 08:34 am
OK – i’m out. Chat later. Have a great day!
Go BIG.
You only live once!
5 Feb 2010, 08:44 am
Fern ‘nice one’ – EVERY country in the world has an amazing range of beautiful women – that’s just the nature of genetics. Anyone who has travelled a bit and has an open mind realises that. It’s true that SA woman doll themselves up hugely when they go out and so look attractive. Women in countries like Argentian and Russia follow a simlar trend. NZ women don’t much care for this dressing up to the nines and make-up etc, it’s more take me as I am.
And I think you found this approach not too bad judging by your comments above!
5 Feb 2010, 08:45 am
this thread is only 24 posts old and it is already very disturbing…
5 Feb 2010, 08:53 am
Lighten up people! Its Friday!
5 Feb 2010, 08:56 am
@Delek: Nope got to agree with Fern – why do you think the sheep are so attractive !
5 Feb 2010, 08:57 am
@stew: Why do you think we come to SA – to steal your women !!!
5 Feb 2010, 09:00 am
Anyhow there are hot chicks in NZ they just happen to be tourists!
5 Feb 2010, 09:03 am
@Sonito:
If they say something about us saffas it’s fine.
Jeepers I retract all my statements in this post and apologise unconditionally.
Bad karma.
Have already had a flat tyre and someone nearly throwing away a R45 000 piece of equipment!
Hectic.
Kia Kaha NZ!
5 Feb 2010, 09:12 am
Come on guys, surely you dont find the sevens tourny boring enough to rather talk about who has ‘vhe prittiest chickies’.
Blitzboks vs. NZ gonna be a good one, once again us, nz and fiji looking strong, hope blitzies can take the good form shown against wales forward to tomorrow and actualy do something with it.
If you dont win the cup final, nobody cares.
5 Feb 2010, 09:15 am
It is boring. No-one is man enough to admit it.
5 Feb 2010, 09:17 am
@Dawn: It is pretty boring wathcing the others play, but I’m on the edge of my seat everytime the Blitzies are playing, Cecil Afrika scored a hatric against wales, that guy got some serious wheels.
5 Feb 2010, 09:20 am
@FireStraeuli:
Did you see that Fiji winger? He has some serious gas also!
5 Feb 2010, 09:29 am
@gunther: hahahahahaha very funny Gunman
5 Feb 2010, 09:31 am
@Sonito: Fiji is looking prety good this year and if we loose to NZ in our last pool game we’ll face them again Fiji in the quarter finals for the third time in a row. But if we wanna be the best, we’ll have to be able to beat the best.
Seems our Blitzies are also finding it harder to stay at the top as apposed to getting to the top. Seems to be a SA problem, once our teams reach the top, they’re unable to stay their for a significant amount of time.
5 Feb 2010, 09:33 am
@Dawn:
sevens is boring unless it isthe knockout stages….
I have no interest in watching spain vs romania unless there are large calibre weapons involved….
5 Feb 2010, 09:36 am
@FireStraeuli:
Yeah we really struggle against Fiji. They are just to big and strong for us. Fiji are looking really impressive.
5 Feb 2010, 09:48 am
@Sonito: I think our problem when facing Fiji is we try to match them physically, which we clearly cant do.
We should actualy avoid a physical game altogether when playing them and use our speed. Keep the ball alive and do everything possible to starve them of posession.
5 Feb 2010, 09:50 am
@FireStraeuli:
maybe strooli for the new sevens coach with smit at 3?
5 Feb 2010, 09:55 am
@gunther: LOL, but i dont think it’s legal for the guys to play 7′s in the nude…and with Smitties larger than usual ***-ets it will cause an international incident…lol
5 Feb 2010, 09:57 am
@gunther:
G10 will tell you all about what he thinks about smit at 3. He rates Smit as the best tighthead in the world. Says he has posters of him in his bedroom and Smits No 3 jersey in his bar with 24 hour spot lights on it.
5 Feb 2010, 10:06 am
Well just watching some of the 7′s and I can tell you they know how to party there. We could learn from them. NZ and Hong Kong must hold the best 7′s tourney for sure.
George is dull compared. Maybe move our 7′s tourney to PE. The vibe there when we have the cricket is brilliant. Bands play the whole day and they sing the whole time the cricket is on too. Our 7′s tourney we have to be honest is just plain BORING compared to NZ. Let us be honest about that. They have something really special going on there. People really enjoying themselves.
Anyhow SA play NZ at 11am.
5 Feb 2010, 10:09 am
SA went 31-0 up in the first half against tiny Niue (pop. 1300) and then only added 7 points in the second half. Ran out of puff? Got complacent? Fact is, Niue score 10 points in that half to SA’s 7.
5 Feb 2010, 10:10 am
@Puma: Yep, they got the whole student life thing going there as well if i’m not mistaken, trust a bunch of crazy students to make a success of a party atmosphere.
George sevens kinda reminds me of saturday bowls. Definitaly needs an upgrade, and soon.
SA vs, NZ gonna be a tough one for us…Go BLITZIES!!!
5 Feb 2010, 10:13 am
@TheTackler: Blame complacency, it seems to be a South African problem I believe. That’s the same reason why we struggle to stay at the top once we get there.
5 Feb 2010, 10:22 am
@FireStraeuli: Howzit FS, Yip think we should move our tourney from George to a place where there is a bit more life about. George a beuatiful place but not for a tourney like the 7′s. PE maybe? Stellenbosch but think that time of year all the students are away on holiday. See plenty older people about in the stadium over there too. Even they are dressed up fancy dress..hehe. Must say everyone gets into the spirit over there for the 7′s. Good on them.
Think NZ should beat us we are rebuilding a new team. Many have left from last year now going to play in the S14.
5 Feb 2010, 10:25 am
@Puma: sorry typo there. beuatiful = beautiful
5 Feb 2010, 10:40 am
@Puma: Lekker and you P, I’m was very happy to turn on the tv this morning and find that the sevens has started again, my day has been made, and I’m currently getting my fix of rugby to keep me going ’till tomorrow.
I wonder if Goeorge also isnt a bit ‘rural’ for the average South African rugby nut, it’s beautifull and all, but that doesnt help the vibe. They should get a venue more accessible to the masses, and should rather go for a place that has a strong party vibe that time of year and give a festive party type feel as apposed to it just being rugby. PE could be the answer, maybe they should even consider moving it around the country each year instead of having it at just one stadium each year…you know, reach the masses.
Anyway, they’ll never do it though, so that’s us dreaming of the proverbial pie in the sky.
The rebuilding might be what we lacked at George and Dubai, new guys always keen to prove themselves, always good to keep a side filled with fresh youth, but NZ will be very tough, they want top spot.
5 Feb 2010, 10:42 am
@Sonito:
a sevens world cup would just about be the only thing barney hasn’t done in a bok jersey…
@FireStraeuli:
barney is well endowed in the trouser department? no wonder turbo has it in for him…
it wouldn’t suprise me at all though, the guy is a legend (barney that is…not turbo)…
5 Feb 2010, 10:48 am
@gunther: heheheh, yeah G10 might be suffering from a bit of ***** envy…lol
5 Feb 2010, 10:51 am
Blitzies up next…GO BLITZIES!!!!
5 Feb 2010, 10:57 am
Fiji looking very good.
Blitz Bokke up next against NZ
5 Feb 2010, 11:02 am
Damn should have had a try there, just never passed.
5 Feb 2010, 11:07 am
NZ get one chance and score a try. We had plenty chances but messed up.
Come now Blitzboks.
5 Feb 2010, 11:08 am
7-all at HT
Benjamin scored.
5 Feb 2010, 11:16 am
14-7 NZ
5 Feb 2010, 11:16 am
3 min left.
5 Feb 2010, 11:17 am
19-7 NZ
Game over
5 Feb 2010, 11:18 am
Once again SA faded away completely in the second half and NZ won easily by 3 tries to 1.
5 Feb 2010, 11:19 am
Final score: 19-7 NZ
@TheTackler:
Oh get your **** out your hand already.
must be time to change the heading on this thread..
@TheTackler:
Easily my ***.
They were camped on the NZ tryline for almost the entire second half, had them under tremendous pressure until they fluffed it.
5 Feb 2010, 11:20 am
Their defense is piss poor, and they cannot convert it seems.
5 Feb 2010, 11:20 am
@TheTackler:
Unfortunately you are quite correct.
5 Feb 2010, 11:21 am
@PissAnt:
Agreed much closer than the scoreline reads.
5 Feb 2010, 11:21 am
@NZINCHINA:
Yup, but NZ just keeps on producing the players…
Was a very good game.
5 Feb 2010, 11:23 am
@Dawn:
5 Feb 2010, 11:23 am
I’m looking for a man with cohonnes as big as mine.
5 Feb 2010, 11:24 am
@KevinRack:
NOw if you believe Predawn got kicked for that then good on you.
By the way if you think us Kiwis are the only ones whinge,then look on here after any SA loss.Loom on here even after a South African win,there will always be something from someone to whinge about,and Kevin you are one of those whingers.
5 Feb 2010, 11:26 am
@Dawn:
Cojones?
5 Feb 2010, 11:29 am
@Dawn: Well that kind of ruins the mental image I had of you.
5 Feb 2010, 11:29 am
Looks like Cipriani is in fact going to the Rebels.
£200,000 p.a. apparently.
5 Feb 2010, 11:31 am
Who is this Dirk Prinsloo who is living out of a movie and is locked up in jail in Belarus and is accused of making Anastasia cry.
5 Feb 2010, 11:32 am
@WP Till I Die:
Whoops! Sorry.
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Metaphorically speaking, of course.
5 Feb 2010, 11:32 am
It was clearly fatigue… The season’s been running since december. The guys are tired! It was a different ball, and we were food-poisoned.
5 Feb 2010, 11:33 am
@Fern:
You are an idiot, Wellington is party place of NZ. Wellington has the most nightclubs and Bars on one street than any place in ther Southern hemisphere,that may have changed lately.
Fern obviuosly you dont know how to enjoy yourself……actually that probably all you did by yourself in your Motel,enjoyed yourself.
@Fern:
So no hot chicks and yet you say,i think it was you that got the pearl necklace from a couple of Trannies down Cuba street
5 Feb 2010, 11:34 am
Attempted robbery, *** crimes ….
shoo!
Wat dink sy ma en pa van hom!
5 Feb 2010, 11:35 am
@Hurricane:
Goodness.
Cool your jets!
@Hurricane:
Wait…you have trannies in New Zealand?
@The Dude:
No the refs was against you and the moon was in the wrong place,with the famous e-mail going around about all refs pick on SA you really didnt have a show.Hang on,was the anthem played wrong?
I’m going to Belarus to visit Prinsloo in jail.
5 Feb 2010, 11:36 am
@Dawn: Sho, that’s better.
@WP Till I Die:
Trannies,oh i mean grannies
@Hurricane:
Yeesh you in a mood this morning.
@Hurricane:
You Kiwi’s are sensitive fellas.Do you need a shoulder to cry on?
5 Feb 2010, 11:39 am
@Sonito: Maybe Suzie can help them out!
@Dawn:
lol sorry Dawn
@Sonito:
Sonito,come on now,i hear the same **** from the same people,you sort of get sick of it really.
Anyway did you watch the sevens ?
@Sonito: nah. just an armband to wipe away the tears
5 Feb 2010, 11:40 am
@poppa69:
5 Feb 2010, 11:41 am
@poppa69:
Tissue?
5 Feb 2010, 11:41 am
@Hurricane:
I just watched a bit this morning before work but missed the SA v NZ game. Fiji are looking good. i am hoping for a NZ v Fiji final they are always classic.
5 Feb 2010, 11:42 am
Lemme go back to reading about Dirk and his disturbed life.
5 Feb 2010, 11:43 am
@Sonito:
Yeah,Fiji are looking awesome.
SA and NZ game was really good,a few breaks from NZ got us over the line,otherwise it was pretty even looking. Strange strategys from both teams for a bit there,bit of kicking for position,really odd.
5 Feb 2010, 11:43 am
Goodness!
He’s Advocate Barbie’s boyfriend. Now it all makes sense.
5 Feb 2010, 11:44 am
@Dawn:
Where have you been for the last 12 months? Been headlines for the last year.
5 Feb 2010, 11:45 am
@Hurricane: they havent quite been the same without Sireli though…
5 Feb 2010, 11:46 am
sjoe!
so much of anger and on a friday n’all! you all need a fiery vindaloo to take the heat out of your hands and put the burn on your buds.
i feel like eating a chops chutney at the britannia hotel. maybe that is a plan.
chops chutney…..mmmmm…….i think so.
well done nz by the way!
@Dawn: The oke’s a nutjob and a moron.
Who goes to Russia and robs a bank with a toy gun and your SA passport in your gatsak?
@Sonito:
Didn’t take much interest till this AM’s report on News24 about what he did to poor Anastasia!
Traumatised the green-eyed Russian beauty.
Come on man. You gotta admit this is the stuff of bad movies.
5 Feb 2010, 11:47 am
@poppa69:
Yeah but they are looking like the old Fiji. Got some really big fast guys in there forwards and they have the play maker in ryder and then they have that super quick dude on the wing. Last year they had no pace and no play maker.
5 Feb 2010, 11:48 am
@poppa69:
you are right,but its only a matter of time. So far in Wellington they are looking the team that we know they are.
@rangerman:
Hey Ranger
5 Feb 2010, 11:49 am
Andre Pretorius ruled out for the season due to injury
5 Feb 2010, 11:50 am
@A_Poc:
Your kidding right?
5 Feb 2010, 11:50 am
@A_Poc:
5 Feb 2010, 11:51 am
@rangerman: what do you make of the new tackle law refereeing interpretations ranger? apparently they’re being implemented in the 6N
@Dantalian:
Twat.
He obviously thinks Russians are fools.
@Hurricane: @Sonito: that super quick dude on the wing ? damn, our scouts that grab them when theyre only 2 years old must have missed him…
5 Feb 2010, 11:52 am
@rangerman:
I am dying for some buffalo fillet.
@Big Hit:
Oh don’t be so boring.
Wait till tomorrow and see.
@Dawn:
Yeah barbie and dirk did some really sick stuff. Would not like to watch that in a movie.
5 Feb 2010, 11:53 am
@poppa69:
Child abuse.
5 Feb 2010, 11:54 am
@Hurricane: howdy man.
i am trying to round up a few mates to eat one of the most famous curry dishes in durbs but having no luck.
aha, as i type, i have hit paydirt.
12h30 appointment sorted. my mouth is watering.
unfortunately it is a pukka hinnian dining hall so no tv showing rugby.
but there is a pub….so….uhm
5 Feb 2010, 11:54 am
@Sonito:
Banged up abroad. The Minsk Mess-up.
5 Feb 2010, 11:55 am
Andre out, check out the story on rugby365
@poppa69:
Dam Straight! Some heads have got to roll!
@poppa69:
yep sack our NZ scout that was in fiji in the early 90s,he didnt do his job.
5 Feb 2010, 11:57 am
@Dawn:
Far as I am concerned he is lucky he did not land up in a SA prision. I hope after his term is done they send him back to SA to face the music here also.
5 Feb 2010, 11:57 am
@rangerman:
You sound sorted there Ranger,you just cant beat a good curry in my opinion,with a pub close by = Heaven
5 Feb 2010, 11:59 am
@Sonito:
Apparently so.
13 years there, he’ll be well broken.
5 Feb 2010, 11:59 am
I’m not kidding about Andre Pretorius.
It will be in the news soon.
5 Feb 2010, 12:00 pm
@Big Hit: howdy biggie.
look, i think we are AGAIN in for some horrendous reffing whilst the new interpretations are pedantically followed by every ponce trying to spoon paddy.
rucking. its the only answer and it was used for 90 years. i think PA has analysed it best so far. teams with big strong forwards like sa and probably england and ireland will smash other teams off the ball.
but i expect musch misery before it takes effect and am personally sick of rugby changing things every year like a bunch of bored children.
@WP Till I Die: ja, that is good. i was offered 200 wildebeest at bargain basement prices but i am twyfelling on wether to continue the venison trade right now as i am involved in a technology business that is going very well.
@Big Hit:
I heard a rumour that England will be doing the Haka during the upcoming 6 nations as half the side is now from NZ, can you confirm this?
@Dawn:
13 Years in a overcrowded SA prison he would be more than broken.
5 Feb 2010, 12:01 pm
@NZINCHINA:
So there cricket team speaks Afrikaans and Rugby team does the Haka. mmmm…
5 Feb 2010, 12:01 pm
Bleeding Blitzies….time to fire the Treu-man show, he’s getting too old now…(if we beat Fiji tomorrow – Treu for president, Hoskins se gat)
5 Feb 2010, 12:02 pm
@Sonito:
13 years in a Minsk prison … wonder what that’s like.
5 Feb 2010, 12:02 pm
fark howdy biggy
i am sick of rugby changing all the time. typed a response but it was moderated. i think teams with big forwards will simply blow others off the park, PA analysed it nicely. but i expect anothe season of misery and miserable reffing.
wptid, howdy man. ja, buff is good and good for you!
5 Feb 2010, 12:03 pm
@NZINCHINA:
Silence is golden
5 Feb 2010, 12:04 pm
@Dawn:
He deserves he the pain he gets and more!
5 Feb 2010, 12:04 pm
@Hurricane:
and rugby on the bigscreen. this is what life is about really.
5 Feb 2010, 12:06 pm
@rangerman:
Buffalo fillet!
5 Feb 2010, 12:08 pm
@rangerman:
What about me!
5 Feb 2010, 12:09 pm
@WP Till I Die:
Stop making demands.
I have two words to counter your two words.
Famous Grouse. Where is it.
5 Feb 2010, 12:11 pm
@Dawn: hello dawnie!
hows things in the cape today?
durbs is barmy…uhm…balmy?
its good, real good. big rain on its way i think.
5 Feb 2010, 12:13 pm
@rangerman:
Barmy!!!!
Cape is brill as usual.
5 Feb 2010, 12:14 pm
Well done to NZ.
We messed it up. Could have won that game. Had a few chances to score a try and just knocked it on. Was on the NZ try line almost the whole of the 2nd half only to mess it up.
First half should have had at least two tries but messed it up there too.
NZ took their chances well and scored. There was the difference, so they deserved to win it. They are a good side and so are Fiji they looked very, very good this morning.
5 Feb 2010, 12:15 pm
@Hurricane:
Beautiful isn’t it.
5 Feb 2010, 12:16 pm
how do i join the keo superbru group?
is there one?
5 Feb 2010, 12:17 pm
@NZINCHINA:
Big Hit takes his rugby very seriously.
We are trying to talk as much rubbish as possible and he comes out with referee law interpretations.
He reminds of a Hugh Grant kind of character but not half as funny.
5 Feb 2010, 12:17 pm
@rangerman: Ranger, I GOT my 4 tickets to the Brazil/Portugal game.
Feel GREAT about that. Thought maybe I applied too late. Going to be a cracker between those two teams. Can not wait to see a game in that new stadium. It LOOKS BRILLIANT.
5 Feb 2010, 12:18 pm
@Papoose:
This website has become so half-cocked I wonder if there’s a keo anything anymore.
5 Feb 2010, 12:18 pm
@Papoose: You have to oficialy state that John Smit is the best TH that ever lived and G10 is a fool for arguing with it…..and then bobs ya uncle, keo will personaly invite you to join the superbru group.
No, sorry, have no idea.
5 Feb 2010, 12:19 pm
@NZINCHINA: 124 – Aslo half their cricket side are saffas
5 Feb 2010, 12:19 pm
@Puma: meant also
5 Feb 2010, 12:23 pm
this one just thru from a colleague:-
53,000 Blue Bulls meet at Loftus for a “Blue Bulls Are Not Dumb” convention.
Victor Matfield addresses the crowd “We are all here today to prove to the world that Blue Bulls are not stupid. Can I have a volunteer please”. To loud applause Steve Hoffmeyer gingerly works his way through the crowd and steps up to the stage.
Victor asks him “What is 15 plus 15?” After 15 or 20 seconds Steve says, “Eighteen!”
Obviously everyone is a little disappointed. Then the Blue Bulls start chanting “Give him another chance! Give him another chance!”
Victor says “Well since we have a capacity crowd, world-wide press and global broadcast media here, I think we can give him another chance”.
So he asks “What is 5 plus 5?” After nearly 30 seconds he eventually says, “Ninety?”
Victor looks down and just lets out a dejected sigh. Everyone is disheartened and Steve starts crying.
But then the 53,000 Blue Bulls begin to yell and wave their hands shouting “GIVE HIM ANOTHER CHANCE! GIVE HIM ANOTHER CHANCE!”
Victor, unsure whether he is now doing more harm than good eventually says, “What is 2 plus 2?”
Silence hangs over the stadium.
Steve Hoffmeyer closes his eyes, and after a whole minute eventually says, “Four?”
Pandemonium breaks out throughout the stadium as the Blue Bull crowd stand to a man, wave their arms, stomp their feet and
scream…
“GIVE HIM ANOTHER CHANCE! GIVE HIM ANOTHER CHANCE!”
5 Feb 2010, 12:24 pm
@Papoose: keo pool for 6 nations code is “jambthee”
for super 14 code is “wrenlest”
5 Feb 2010, 12:25 pm
@Black Panther: HA HA AH HA HA HA HA HA AH HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA….great one, gots to love it. LOL
5 Feb 2010, 12:26 pm
@Puma: yes please puma, i will be supporting brazil mainly because the porra who sold me chips and sweets from the corner shop when i grew up was such a cold hearted ******* and i think his sweets were all beacon rejects.
and i hate ronaldo.
gotta go to lunch, have a good one all!
5 Feb 2010, 12:27 pm
@Black Panther:
LOL…very funny…….
they might be percived to be slow but when it comes to rugger the boys north of the Jukskei are pure genius !!!
5 Feb 2010, 12:28 pm
percived = perceived
5 Feb 2010, 12:31 pm
@rangerman: LOL. Will support Brazil too.
5 Feb 2010, 12:32 pm
@Puma: hey Puma, no love for the “all whites” this year then?
5 Feb 2010, 12:35 pm
@FireStraeuli: hahahaha
doubt G10 will et me through with tht
Grants on his own crusade this days with regards to Smit anyways
dont comment tht often but read the comments daily
gets nauseating when a thread abt eg. Kallis’s technique can be hijacked abt why Smit needs to retire
eish
thx anyways
5 Feb 2010, 12:38 pm
@Papoose: Yeah that sure is hectic, oh well, more powa’ to Smit. G10 very quiet today though, he might be a bit skaam over yesterdays’ outbursts. LOL
5 Feb 2010, 12:38 pm
@Papoose: post 148 has the codes for superbru..
5 Feb 2010, 12:41 pm
“Met a freind the other day………….said he met the new white Pele………
I said oh who is he ……….he said he goes by the name Wayne Rooney……wayne Rooney…..wayne rooney” !!!!
To be heard chanted by 76 000 Man Utd supporters every game…..gotta love the way they suppport, really wish we had a culture of support like that !!!
5 Feb 2010, 12:46 pm
@justrugby: That’s one thing us South Africans suck at, chanting at games, singing…same old chatn song always rimging accros the fields….’olayyyyy olay olay olayyy, ooolay ooolay’ and we cant even do that well.
Sad realy.
5 Feb 2010, 12:48 pm
@poppa69: 154 – Howzit Poppa, Who are the “All Whites” is is NZ? Have no idea mate.
Going to support Bafana until they are out, probably go out in the first round but who knows may make the 2nd, doubt it though. Then will support Holland once they out will support Brazil.
Not big into football but cause it is the world cup I get into it and espcially cause it is held here. Going to be awesome I think. Can not wait.
5 Feb 2010, 12:51 pm
G10 never sad about what i said yesterday….ever!
Just been damn busy.
Smit….3???
Nuts
5 Feb 2010, 12:52 pm
The South African Rugby Union has announced a major new signing.
Bokkie made his first appearance at the launch of SARU’s Champion Tour and can be spotted at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2SPCxsLxDd0
The new character will become a familiar face around South African rugby as Bokkie will be used in a host of marketing, communication and commercial activities.
@FireStraeuli: 159 – Agree FS, Why can we not get a good song to sing and stick with it. Get to know the words proper. Remember in world cup 95 we all sang Shoshaloza think that was great that time. Maybe should start to sing that again instead of the insane Olay, Olay, Olay. Nothing in that just nothing really. We need to have a proper song to sing.
@grant10: Got to admire your tenacity ! LOL
5 Feb 2010, 12:54 pm
@FireStraeuli:
Agree boet…..just not in our culture……not what the “manne” do……huge pity !!!
5 Feb 2010, 12:55 pm
@justrugby: @152
“GIVE HIM ANOTHER CHANCE!”
5 Feb 2010, 12:56 pm
@grant10:
I had a dream last night that Smitretired….that’s what blogging does !!!!!
What happens…….. I wake up this morning and Smith announces his retiremnt…….close but no cigar !!!!
5 Feb 2010, 12:57 pm
@Black Panther:
LOL !!!
5 Feb 2010, 12:59 pm
@Puma:
@justrugby:
Well i actualy forgot about one song sung by the so callsed ‘manne’ at loftus, but lets noooooooot go back there again.
Next thing Koert Darren nominated himself to write the national sports chant…cotch no.
Brits are pretty darn good at it, singing and chanting, they blow us away every time.
5 Feb 2010, 13:00 pm
@Black Panther: 2 X Huge LOL
5 Feb 2010, 13:04 pm
@FireStraeuli: 169 – Yip they are the best at it. The Lions supporters I sat next too at Kings Park drowned us out with their singing. Also during the cricket here they sang non-stop.
We should learn some good rugby song or something closer to our hearts in SA and sing that, but that daft Olay, Olay, Olay is ssoooooooooooooo boring and it just sounds stupid really.
5 Feb 2010, 13:06 pm
@justrugby: @151
Im not as au fais with these SA provincial stereotypes to be honest, but you dont have to be to find that joke funny.
As for ‘genius’ well, yes, they are by a considerable distance the most successful SA team in the Super comps. And yet, still only 4th on the table of success. For the record:-
Team Wins Runner-up
Crusaders 7 2
Blues 3 1
Brumbies 2 3
Bulls 2 0
Sharks 0 3
Waratahs 0 2
Highlanders0 1
Hurricanes0 1
Chiefs 0 1
5 Feb 2010, 13:11 pm
bloody hell….Andre Pretorious out for season….thoght it was a joke…..cant believe the okes luck….
He looked slick against Sharks…..think its al over rover for Preorious now.
Justrugby, G Smith was a superstar of note ..29 only, big payday in europe i reckon.
Pocock is very good, but Smith will be missed .
5 Feb 2010, 13:11 pm
@Black Panther: Check my Sharks…3 finals and nothing to show for it, that’s just bad luck. Gonna take some doing to take those numbers away from the Saders…hectic…but doubt if the blue balle will be able to do the math on that one either..LOL
5 Feb 2010, 13:13 pm
smit will still be playing in a Zimmerframe….good bucks…and lots of sentimental sharks ladies on the site that would rather have a 1 legged smit on the field than not.
Dont you fellows know that Bok rugby cannot function without this man?
5 Feb 2010, 13:14 pm
@Black Panther:
With those stas the Crusaders are the professors , the rest really still just eager pupils !!!
5 Feb 2010, 13:19 pm
@justrugby: You said it my man …. and time for the professors to reclaim their title back from the usurpers
5 Feb 2010, 13:22 pm
@justrugby: @151
furthermore, on that subject of stereotypes and, in this case, Bulls players/supporters….
after EOYT’09, a couple of months ago, I got invited to John Smits Charity Dinner here in London (book launch + ‘most capped Captain ever’). It was great (esp being a freebie), ALL the Boks were there, a few ABs (incl McCaw, Nonu, sundry others) and a couple of Poms (Grewcock, wtf ?!). I sat at a table with a couple of Kiwi mates, all the others being Safas.
What struck us Kiwis was the reaction from our table when the Boks spoke. J.Smit was exceptionally eloquent, respectful and intelligent. But before him, Victor Matfield spoke (together with McCaw – the general ‘Smit is a great player/Capt’ lines etc). We Kiwis thought Matfield was very good, very relaxed, naturally witty, albeit not as sophisticated, perhaps, as Smit. But, to a man, the Safas at our table all held their heads in ther hands, cringing with embarrassment, saying how “dumb” the bloke is. Perhaps, because we know our own cultures very well, there are things that trigger these reactions – the joke above certainly seems to promote that. But it was slightly disrespectful and seemed out of place. And ‘dumb’ was the lest word we would have chosen, far from it.
Its funny these perceptions we can get of our own people differing from other cultures. I met most of these players during course of night, Bakkies was huuuuuuuuuge (BaXXies !) and seemed humble, Schalk with his 70′s porno ‘mo appeared so laid back as to be horizontal (funny guy too), and by far the most surly/rude ones were 1. Habana (sometimes its best not to meet yr heroes, me thinks), followed by 2. Bismarck (a permanent look of “I dont want to be here !”).
5 Feb 2010, 13:23 pm
@grant10: Whilst Province turncoats would rather axe our captain the year before the WC. Gee, I’ve watched this movie before.
5 Feb 2010, 13:36 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): 179
And the first young lady makes her appearance….
Hi ….dont worry….alls well…Smit is in team…dont stress now young lady.
5 Feb 2010, 13:45 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Province turncoats BBWWWAAAAAHHHH………..sentimental ***** cat !!
A Shark with no teeth !!!!
5 Feb 2010, 13:45 pm
@FireStraeuli: @174
what that Table also highlights is the craziness of the new S15 format from 2011 whereby each Conference (Aus/SA/NZ) provides 2 teams each for the Playoffs, presumably to make it more inclusive for the fans and not necessarily rewarding quality.
All 5 X NZ Super teams have reached the Final, 10 titles won out of 14.
Only 2 x Aus teams have reached the Final, only 1 team has won it.
Only 2 x SA teams have reached the Final, only 1 team has won it.
What started out as an ‘elite competition’ has now become simply a commercial exercise in squeezing the most out of broadcasters and sponsors as possible.
5 Feb 2010, 13:51 pm
@Black Panther: Precisely. Who are they really bowing to, when you consider the NPC and CC. Bloody convicts.
@justrugby: @grant10: Luke Watson is god, no wait he sucks lets boo him, wait wait wait he’s god again…….. Lets rather force our bok captain into retirement after probably our most successful modern season, so that Luke can return and lead the Proteas.
5 Feb 2010, 13:55 pm
@grant10: @justrugby: And just what exactly do you 2 clowns know anyway? Don’t worry ‘pundits’ the sharks are toothless cause Dollie is the best 10 we got, Beast is dropped for Jannie and Carstens is a better 3 than Smit! Keep reading the Argus enough and you’ll believe anything!
5 Feb 2010, 13:55 pm
Question – what will happen if the Bulls for example make top of the log for the S14 ( i know this is a pipe dream)
Will they be able to play the final at Loftus ??????
5 Feb 2010, 13:57 pm
@Black Panther: Why don’t we just cut the chaff and play the Super 9?
I can confidently say that 2 of these sides listed will contest the final. Why bother with the pretenders??
Crusaders 7 2
Blues 3 1
Brumbies 2 3
Bulls 2 0
Sharks 0 3
Waratahs 0 2
Highlanders0 1
Hurricanes0 1
Chiefs 0 1
5 Feb 2010, 14:00 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Scary to see
5 NZ sides
2 Aus sides
2 SA sides
5 Feb 2010, 14:03 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): @186
perhaps youre right (for once). So, in 2010 its the Mighty Highlanders and who else ?
5 Feb 2010, 14:04 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
If you aplied the same logic in the CC based on the competitions history you (sharks) would be palying with Northern free State and the Valke !!
5 Feb 2010, 14:05 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
What about the Lions?
You forgot that Transvaal won in 1993, and were in the final in 1995?
The Reds also, they won in 1994 and 1995?
5 Feb 2010, 14:08 pm
@justrugby: Um no clown. I applied the logic of dropping all the sides who have not contested a final. Correct me if I’m wrong but the Sharks have contested many CC finals and in fact won quite a few. Don’t they ever print the truth in the Argus?
5 Feb 2010, 14:10 pm
@WP Till I Die: Indeed. I guess we should look at the whole history including the S10. Pitty to have to include the reds and lions though. Maybe we should just keep it to the last 10 years. WP close to being under threat in the CC!!
5 Feb 2010, 14:12 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Contesting a final means squat…..zero……nothing !!! (well maybe a few bucks )…..it tells me you choke quite often though, even with the greatest leader of all time !!
Sharks have won squat !!!!…. they have finshed bottom on occasions though …..the Mecury or daily news not tell you ???/it’s in the archives I promise you !!!
5 Feb 2010, 14:15 pm
@WP Till I Die: @190
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): @192
Cmon, dont go incl the previous invitation-only amateur Comps. Certainly the criteria was polar opposite and the ‘franchise’ element did not exist. The only ‘Super’ comps to be considered are those from 1996- , we all know that.
5 Feb 2010, 14:17 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Canterbury/Crusaders 7 2
Auckland/Blues 3 2
ACT Brumbies 2 2
NTvl/Bulls 2 0
Queensland/Reds 2 0
Tvl/Lions 1 1
Natal/Sharks 0 4
NSW Waratahs 0 2
Hurricanes 0 1
Chiefs 0 1
Highlanders 0 1
One week to go – predictions
Blues
Brumbies
Saders
Stormers
Bulls
Chiefs
Tahs
@Black Panther: 182 – BP, Blame it on OZ. Pity it will come to that this great tourney.
5 Feb 2010, 14:18 pm
@Black Panther:
Nah. Super Rugby started in 1993…
5 Feb 2010, 14:18 pm
@justrugby: Ah yes, but then contesting a semi means even less. Easy on your high horse, all that silverware in your cabinet must of gone to your head. When last did you win anything? Oh yes the Neo-whateva cup, best season in the Cape since 2001.
5 Feb 2010, 14:19 pm
@stew: Stew for Semi, Said it yesterday.
Saders, Bulls, Tahs, Hurricanes, Stormers or Brumbies.
Hope my team can surprise though.
5 Feb 2010, 14:20 pm
@stew:
You have just ruined ratels weekend !!
5 Feb 2010, 14:20 pm
@stew:
Bulls
Crusaders
Blues
Sharks
With Brumbies pushing hard.
5 Feb 2010, 14:21 pm
@Puma: 200 – Well think the top for will come from that lot.
5 Feb 2010, 14:21 pm
@Puma: for = four
5 Feb 2010, 14:23 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): What about Hurricanes? They have so many ABs in that side. Think they will make the semi, maybe before Blues. Well just a thought.
Hope our Sharks make it mate. Just have my doubts this year. They they could we do have a good pack, just our centres and FH positions are a worry.
5 Feb 2010, 14:27 pm
@Puma: Ya and the Tahs looking good to. I just think you need 30 good players to do well in the S14 and I think the Sharks have that. Maybe not the best 15 this year, but we have amazing depth with 30 good players.
5 Feb 2010, 14:29 pm
@NZINCHINA: I heard a rumour NZ will be abandoning the Maori haka and doing the Samoan one instead, can you confirm this?
5 Feb 2010, 14:29 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Time for you sharkies to get a new coach , defianately got the depth
5 Feb 2010, 14:30 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): 206 – Ratel, This year we do have depth, the very thing that cost us last year with all our injury problems.
5 Feb 2010, 14:33 pm
@justrugby: g10 not around today?
5 Feb 2010, 14:35 pm
@Puma: Exactly. Got solid lock and loosie depth this season. Also 3 solid 10s. None of which are the finished product, but hopefully someone will put up their hand big time.
5 Feb 2010, 14:36 pm
@stew: @196
Blues ?
no locks, no ball.
no loosies, no turnovers.
midtable at best.
@WP Till I Die: @198
only for the lucky few unions who decided they alone were good enough.
Only since 1996 have ALL the best players been involved. You know it.
@Big Hit:
Lord Barry, I see Cipriani has ‘committed himself to Melbourne’.
Which means we were both……erm……wrong.
Cmon, swallow your pride.
5 Feb 2010, 14:37 pm
@Big Hit: He is chasing John Smit down the beach !
5 Feb 2010, 14:38 pm
@Black Panther: My predictions for the first weekend not the semis !!
My predictions for semis
Saders
Bulls
Brumbies
Stormers
5 Feb 2010, 14:39 pm
@Big Hit:
Nice comeback.
5 Feb 2010, 14:39 pm
@Big Hit: @207
Not sure about the Samoan Haka, it doesnt seem to get any press or amounts of pathetic criticism that the AB one does. Nor the Fijian one. Nor the Tongan one. Nor the Cook Islands…
Of course, its always a Maori that needs to lead a Haka in NZ. Which one of Engls do you think will now lead theirs ?
5 Feb 2010, 14:41 pm
Interesting, that SA tours for Aus/NZ teams always have 2 fixed packages: either Bulls and Stormers or Sharks, Cheetahs and Lions.
No one ever gets Bulls and Sharks in one go in regular season.
5 Feb 2010, 14:42 pm
@Black Panther: I’ve seen Richie leading it. Has he Maori ancestry?
5 Feb 2010, 14:43 pm
@Black Panther: Ya Ali was a big loss to them. But their front row and backline are awesome.
5 Feb 2010, 14:45 pm
So when am i getting my headline?
BJ TO STORMERS!!
5 Feb 2010, 14:45 pm
@Nils:
Only when a Maori is not in the match-22, otherwise youve seen Piri (waste of space) Weepu leading it in recent times.
I dont think Richie has an ounce of Maori, altho check out Paul Tito. The Maoris have mutated !!!
5 Feb 2010, 14:46 pm
@grant10: g10 what do you think of the new reffing interpretation?
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
You gotta be kidding me !!!!! 3 solid 10′s !!!!
That confirms it….pull the blinkers off , you will se everything is not black and white !!!!
I can never take you seriously again !!! About the clown statement, well need I say more !!
HEARD pdv ON MONDAY NIGHT TALKING ABOUT ‘when BJ is back’…..
Thank the holy angels of mercy!
5 Feb 2010, 14:48 pm
@Big Hit:
Why would a All Black team do a Samoan siva. It would be like an Irishman doing a Morris dance.
5 Feb 2010, 14:49 pm
@grant10: When you go down on your team again.
5 Feb 2010, 14:49 pm
@Big Hit: Big trouble….loads of penalties….a dark cloud hanhing over the future of the fetcher….
Again rugby shoots itself in the foot.
But 1 positive is the primary phase will be back in vogue….so Smit will have to go back to 2….or the retirement village.
Not sure as yet BH…all i can say is the defending teams were toothless in the 3 games i saw so far.
5 Feb 2010, 14:50 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): @220!
@grant10: Here’s a headline for you:
“John Smit to consult with national coaches and share the secret to his success at TH”
@Big Hit:
You still at it?
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): 211 – Yip we do have depth with the locks and loosies this year. With FH really not sure about the players we have. Have not seen Meyer play just heard here how he played in the warm-ups. From what I heard I think we should start with Meyer until Ruan is over that op. Think Ruan should then play FH, unless Meyer does really well there. Have to wait and see.
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): 226
sis man!
5 Feb 2010, 14:51 pm
@FireStraeuli: LOL
That must be 1 from Heat Magazine!
5 Feb 2010, 14:52 pm
@justrugby:”Also 3 solid 10s. None of which are the finished product, but hopefully someone will put up their hand big time.”
Is that not a fair comment? Ruan, Meyer and Monty? And oh yes and I’m forgetting the ‘best’ of the lot Dollie! Clown.
5 Feb 2010, 14:52 pm
@Nils:
From what I gather you don’t have to be Maori to lead a haka.
You wear the jersey, you lead haka.
5 Feb 2010, 14:53 pm
@grant10: interesting, the 6N is supposed to be adopting the new interpretation tomorrow, sounds like it’s a recipe for disaster. So annoying.
With regards to the scrum, it seems they’re replacing it with penalties and free-kicks. No re-sets anymore just a sanction.
5 Feb 2010, 14:53 pm
is the Dollie deal done Sharks ladies> SAnyone know?
Good player…better than Dumond.
5 Feb 2010, 14:54 pm
You know, I can’t take all this brawling on a Friday afternoon.
Why don’t you all just step away from keyboards and go get a beer.
5 Feb 2010, 14:55 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): 234
top being like n aggressive little PMS granny m man?
Not our fault your saint smit cant scrum….cmon now…start of a long season, beautiful day, all is well ,Recession lifting…
Smile my good lady, smile…
5 Feb 2010, 14:55 pm
stop.
Bloody laptop
5 Feb 2010, 14:56 pm
Cape Argus Headline:
BJ to Stormers – Grant10 goes beyond and above for his team once again.
Natal Mercury Headline:
Botha to return home – Bok Tighthead returns home to the Sharks.
5 Feb 2010, 14:56 pm
@Big Hit:
Without getting too technical … IT’S GONNA BE ****!
5 Feb 2010, 14:57 pm
@Big Hit: 236
Ja….the 3 games at Newlands was a nightmare….stop start and really the team defending was penalised mercilessly at the breakdown. Feel for Brussow, MC Caw and Pocock.
No wonder G smith said thats it!!
5 Feb 2010, 14:57 pm
@Dawn: you watched any of the pre-season games Dawn?
5 Feb 2010, 14:58 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): 241 – He is a Durban boy through and through. Think he will come back home to Durbs. Has a beautiful home there still.
@Dawn: Mithells at 13 hoo tomorrow Dawn….can you let WPTID know?
@Big Hit: Will that apply to the club games from now on as well or only 6N for now?
5 Feb 2010, 14:59 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): 241
Why will BJ go to sharks….?
You got Smit and Jannie Du Plessis?
5 Feb 2010, 15:00 pm
@Puma: Of course. What will Jannie do though? Do you think he’s seriously contemplating a move to LH or do you think he’ll leave when BJ returns?
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
You have just embarassed yourself again !!!!!….. have you even got a clue if Ruan is going to play 10, by all accounts he’s not…..anyway as a FH he is more up and down than a freeking yo-yo, Dumont is a plodder and that’s being kind, I will hold out on judgement of Meyer till I have seen more, did nothing to impress at Newlands, but i will give him the benefit at the moment !!!!
Hell I just realised Dollie is probably your best option……you really have no idea do you ???
@grant10:
Where’s Mitchells?
BH
I have poms by 5 tomorrow.
Is my money safe?
5 Feb 2010, 15:01 pm
@Dawn: V and A….
5 Feb 2010, 15:02 pm
@Dawn: I will call or sms to confirm tonight …
5 Feb 2010, 15:02 pm
@Dawn:
well summed up Dawn
5 Feb 2010, 15:04 pm
@justrugby: Dollie is a good player…creative…and a solid boot.
I will be happy to have him back, excelled at SA U 21 level…
Ruan Pienaar dont want the 10 jersey….
5 Feb 2010, 15:04 pm
@Dantalian: all games i think, dreading it.
5 Feb 2010, 15:05 pm
it is so cool to be on the verge of real rugby again….damn i hate the off season.
5 Feb 2010, 15:06 pm
every year the rules of the game change. This just ain’t rugby.Weren’t The Elv’s were suppose to make The tries flow but its not what the idiots at The Irb Wanted. I say keep The rules as it were at The 2007 world cup. These changes to The game is to overwhelming to The average rugby supporter. People dont understand the game thats why they dont attend. Why do you think Soccer has prospered so much, it’s because The rules have been The same since The 1800′s.
5 Feb 2010, 15:06 pm
@grant10: safe enough I think, but not helped by the late withdrawal to injury of Flutey
5 Feb 2010, 15:08 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): 249 – Not sure Ratel, but BJ is better than JdP. Good to have them all at the Sharks though.
@Big Hit: 260
Just saw that! What the hell is happening at those training sessions!!
A blow that.
LAST YEAR THIS TIME ALL THE TALK WAS ABOUT THE ELV’S. Where can a guy get some sushi now?
@Wezwp: 259
We actually agree on something!
5 Feb 2010, 15:10 pm
Wickus Blaauw…T Liebenberg…BJ Botha
You sharks can get JDV in return??
Deal??
5 Feb 2010, 15:11 pm
@Wezwp: it’s Paddy O’Brien in control of reffing, the Saffers are going to find it tough at the breakdown in the S14.
@grant10: not sure but I’m pretty angry, how hard can it be not to injure a key player in the week leading up to the big match. frickin idiots.
5 Feb 2010, 15:11 pm
JR you clown. Dollie is a better 10 option than Ruan. You really are a tool. Does any one agree with that statement? Doubtful considering Pienaar is the boks 2nd choice.
5 Feb 2010, 15:12 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): 267
Convince Ruan Pienaar to play at 10….failing which the debate is worthless.
5 Feb 2010, 15:13 pm
Anyway, I’m out of here. JR and Grant10 good chatting to you, always good for the confidence. Puma keep the faith.
5 Feb 2010, 15:13 pm
@Wezwp:
Same ***** different year.
5 Feb 2010, 15:14 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): 267
You seriously need to settle down, take some medication, go to some Anger Management classes? I reckon give Ruan a call, get a group discount at the local kop doktor!
5 Feb 2010, 15:15 pm
@Wezwp:
Only sushi available is shark.
Take it or leave it.
5 Feb 2010, 15:15 pm
@grant10: We will take JdV and still keep BJ
5 Feb 2010, 15:16 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Sure will do Ratel.
5 Feb 2010, 15:17 pm
Clown…tool….
Jeepers…
All that rage…
Just because BJ may rather come to Cape Town?
Dont be greedy …you got Smit and Jannie Dup….
We only got Brock and Kritzinger and the Argie…
Play fair now young lady!
5 Feb 2010, 15:17 pm
@Puma: LOL
Greedy bugger!
5 Feb 2010, 15:18 pm
@grant10: it seems when the Saffers do well the Aussies and Kiwis change the rules.
’07 – Two SA S14 finalists and SA win World Cup = rule change
’08 – SA struggle with rules
’09 – SA adapt to rules, SA S14 win and Tri nations dominance = rule change
2010 – ?
5 Feb 2010, 15:18 pm
also feel like some sushi…
Belugas…Blue Plate special
26pieces for R99
Brilliant!
5 Feb 2010, 15:19 pm
@grant10: You can have JdP.
5 Feb 2010, 15:19 pm
OK.
Here is my Zuma comment. Again.
I fail to understand how someone who looks like a cross between Sigourney Weaver’s Alien and a monitor lizard can father so many children.
——————–
5 Feb 2010, 15:20 pm
@Big Hit: 277
Kissing cousins….bad news….never ever trust them,Aussies in particular….always wanting this open play and 10 trys a game…more and more like league…boring.
@grant10: Got my confirmation with my tickets to the Portugal/Brazil game. Feel very pleased I got those 4 tickets.
Probably for the best if BJ goes to WP. At the Sharks he will only be warming the bench behind Smit.
5 Feb 2010, 15:21 pm
@Puma: LOL
You bloody wheeler dealer.
We will take Jannie…if kleinboet comes with!
5 Feb 2010, 15:21 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
My statement stands ……..you have no freeking clue !!!!
I see you are resorting to name calling again….. remove the blinkers and grow a pair of balls !!!!
Ask youself the question why the Sharks are wanting to recruit Dollie to play FH IN THE S14! ….I don’t coach the freeking side.
5 Feb 2010, 15:22 pm
@Dawn: LOL
Classic…
okes busy….poor sod….all those nappies and wives telling him what to do….no wonder he ventured elsewhere!
5 Feb 2010, 15:23 pm
@Puma: Bloody brilliant Puma….that is 1 of the games of the tournament….superb…well done !
@Dawn:
Shame Dawn, leave him alone. Its his culture.
Now thats a great deal Grant. Pick n pay constantia has loads of fresh tuna.
5 Feb 2010, 15:24 pm
@Dawn: He doesn’t really take no for an answer does he?
@justrugby: 285
Chill my man
You may hurt the grannys feelings…
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Doing a runner ??? you need to stick around…….you need to go into damage control mode , your credibity is lost !!!
5 Feb 2010, 15:25 pm
@Wezwp: Belugas is magic….in Green Point…take your lady there…
@Dantalian:
The Father of the Nation ………………………………..
@grant10: NO klein boet only JdP
5 Feb 2010, 15:28 pm
@Dawn:
There are obviously lots of people that find someone who looks like a cross between Sigourney Weaver’s Alien and a monitor lizard sexually exciting !!
@justrugby: 292
Credibility??
The granny??
You cant lose what you never had …..
That oke is a moron of note….the personality of a rabid Rottweiler…
The only person who takes that ratel seriously is the poor sod that has to live with it….
He is a big mouth name caller, actually needs to grow up….
@Black Panther: 147 That is very funny
……..here’s one I got from my mate…
“Koos was walking through the veld one day when he spots someone drinking water from a stagnant pool of water.
He shouts, “Moenie die blerrie water drink nie jou idioot, dis vol k*k en kolera! (Don’t drink the bloody water you idiot, it’s full of **** and cholera)
The other guy says, “I’m a visiting All Black supporter mate, can you speak English please!”
Koos replies, “Use bofe hands, you gets more dat way”.
@grant10: 287 – Grant, Think it is one of the best pool games. Really pleased I got those tickets. Will support Brazil. Should be a cracker.
Can not wait to see the New Stadium. It is looking magnificent. Want to try out that vernicular train that goes over the top, once it is up and running. Should be very soon.
@Puma: 295
In that case….JDV…come home boy!!
5 Feb 2010, 15:32 pm
@Puma: ja…i am at Green Point tomorrow for the 1 st time with Stormers game….we can be very proud!
Have to say, from the outside the Durban stadium looks the best of the lot!
That will be a full house….2 great teams….
As you know i am in here for the games at Green Point as well….my first time at a soccer WC ….so its a special year for us all….
Go Bafana….hope our boys make us proud!
5 Feb 2010, 15:32 pm
@Puma:
It will be very special Puma, enjoy !!
5 Feb 2010, 15:33 pm
You very out going for someone your age Grant.
5 Feb 2010, 15:33 pm
@Jozi: @298
But I thought folks from Western Province could understand Afrikaans ?!
5 Feb 2010, 15:36 pm
@Jozi:
LOL…give the bugger a bucket to drink from !!!
5 Feb 2010, 15:36 pm
@Wezwp: LOL
i am 47….not 90!!
lIFE IS BEAUTIFUL….
live it….smile and enthusiasm never hurt anyone.
Give someone a piece of your heart….before a piece of your mind….
But always be honest….and never be a sheep….
Okay…lesson over….
Smit still cant scrum
5 Feb 2010, 15:37 pm
They can its just that they like English more.
weepee don’t need bj.
they’ve already got the monster, powerhouse that destroys fron rows and runs/handles like a back…….brock harris
@Big Hit: @277
wonderfully masterful insight, Lord Barry.
and exactly which law is it that has changed ?
@grant10:
It looks like i have missed out on the Algeria /England game !!!
5 Feb 2010, 15:38 pm
Alot of beautiful woman are afrikaans though.
5 Feb 2010, 15:39 pm
@justrugby: Looking forward to it a lot. I am not so much into football but always do get into it around the wc, only now that it is been held here will really get into it. Have 2 Scots mates coming too. Had 4 coming but 2 wont come as the utter greed from the airlines charging so much for airfares here.
You know what the airfares will cost from Joburg to Durbs durning the world cup? R8 000 return. From CT R10 000 return. That is utter greed. A airfare from Scotland is costing around R18 000. Complete utter greed. Last year my mates paid only R7 000 for their airfares to South Africa from Scotland. The airlines are ripping people off. Feel really angry about it. Feel for my mates that can not come. I know their team never made it but they all still wanted to come. Anyhow have 2 of them still coming. Should be good. Feel very proud of our new Stadium. It is brilliant.
5 Feb 2010, 15:41 pm
@charo:
LOL…. don’t mock Brock !!!…….my man of the match against the Sharks, just for the tackle on Deysel !!!
5 Feb 2010, 15:41 pm
@Black Panther:
Very sharp Waka, very sharp.
@justrugby: Yeah I’ll give our kiwi mates here LOL
5 Feb 2010, 15:43 pm
@justrugby: 310
Hell thats kak…we will have to convince the blonde to give up her ticket….
Ek sal bid….maar belowe fokkal…
5 Feb 2010, 15:44 pm
@grant10: 301 – Grant, Saw your new Stadium on Boots last night. It also looks a gem of a stadium. We have some really awesome stadiums here now counting the new ones and the already built Rugby Stadiums. We are sure lucky to have em hey?
The one in Durbs looks really magnificent. Something I have never seen before. Think the design is all German and most of everything they built it with was shipped out of Germany. So it is QUALITY!! You know how the Germans love to be 100% on everything.
Charo….Brock is developing nicely….keep an eye on him.
@Puma:
It is diabolical, the greed is the one thing that could yet put a dampner on the WC, something needs to urgently done to address it !!
I also had family that were going to come over, but they can no longer afford it , they are off for a holiday in Tunisia instead !!
5 Feb 2010, 15:45 pm
@Wezwp: For sure.
5 Feb 2010, 15:46 pm
@grant10:
LOL !!!
5 Feb 2010, 15:46 pm
just Quaffing some Dry white s. blanc on a friday afternoon while everyone cant wait to get home.
5 Feb 2010, 15:47 pm
@Puma: Ja….but we mustnot rip off the visitors here…that is so greedy my man….we can ensure they come back time and time again….rip them off its so short sighted. I feel so strongly about making the visitors love every second here.
Damn we mustnt allow greed to chase people away.
Very sad about yourmates air fares…that is appalling!
@Wezwp:
Ageist.
@justrugby: Yip, The greed is just terrible, it could ruin it a lot. Also read no South African beer will be sold in the Stadiums. Only that awful Budwieser. Then Fifa who imported it all has not imported enough…..hahaha. Now have asked SAB to sell Castle in no-name bottles…..LOL. The greed hey! Going to cost them.
Where your family live JR?
5 Feb 2010, 15:48 pm
@grant10: @281
oh stop it.
nuffs enuff.
The TWO complaints here on this very blog in 2009 were 1. breakdown (interpretation of by refs) and 2. scrums
So SANZAR – all THREE partners ! – agreed to do something about it.
1. Breakdown – They havent ‘changed the rule’. Theyve asked the refs to interpret it to the letter. Just like people here complained about.
2. Scrums – theyre now going to police, review and ‘name & shame’.
So now youre complaining about them reacting to your complaints in 2009 ?!
As for the Kiwis and their (yawn) conspiracy with Aussies. Strange isnt it, that McCaw is 1 of the very best at that breakdown technique, and yet the Kiwis have agreed to a rule that completely negates McCaw key technique. So good was he, that Jake White and his puppet Capt, Muller, chose to label him “a cheat” for it in order to gain an advan for the RWC’07. But, no, apparently this rule interpretation is the Kiwis idea……how dumb can you get.
Scrums ? well I reckon teams like Hurricanes will suffer, Cheifs too. And they were 2 of the best 3 NZ teams in ’09.
Lets not judge these new interpretations too quickly, its vvvvvvvery early days and they all need time to adapt.
5 Feb 2010, 15:48 pm
@Wezwp: Lekker!!
Now phone the lady and get that sushi….
5 Feb 2010, 15:51 pm
@Black Panther: 325
Okay….lets give it some time…
But if we get hammered…i am reserving my right to blame you kissing cousins…
5 Feb 2010, 15:51 pm
@Wezwp:
5 Feb 2010, 15:52 pm
@grant10: The airfares from everywhere that time is ridiculous.
Read some of the German club coaches that were going to come said they wont because of the greed. The high airfares and hotel prices.
We should be careful about that otherwise the amount of tourists we think we will get we wont.
My Scottish mates that can not afford to come cause of the steep airfares will come in September. They come here every year. Pity they can not make the world cup. 2 of them can and they will be coming with me and my other mate to the Portugal/Brazil game. Should be good.
Enjoy your time tomorrow Grant, at the New Stadium. I saw it last night on Boots and it looks superb.
5 Feb 2010, 15:52 pm
not sure if i should mention this on a forum….but what the hell…
Tues night i am having cocktails at Leeuwenhof…the residency of the Premier….Helen Zille…
Damn…i am excited!
5 Feb 2010, 15:53 pm
@Black Panther: come on BP, even you as a kiwi must be getting tired of this ****, every year they find a new way to screw up our game in the name of entertaining a RL audience in Australia
5 Feb 2010, 15:53 pm
@grant10:
Mr-Outgoing-For-Your-Age
You are far too nice.
I would’ve donnered him long time one time.
5 Feb 2010, 15:54 pm
@Puma:
Grant 10 ….no Windhoeks !!!!! What now ???/
They are all in the UK Puma, my Dad is a fully fledged POM !!!
Mud Island not for me, I don’t mind a holiday !! but after 2 weeks the african drums starts beating strongly !!
@Puma: we are so stupid….i would keep prices as low as possible to ensure the tourists come againand again…
Greed…a son of a *****.
I thought i wanted world cup tickets then my spidey senses told me to wait for phase 4.
5 Feb 2010, 15:55 pm
@Dawn: LOL
I will dorner that bloody Ratel grump!
Call justrugby a clown and a tool
Wally!
5 Feb 2010, 15:57 pm
@grant10:
You’ll have a lot more fun on my balcony !!!
5 Feb 2010, 15:57 pm
@justrugby: 333
No windhoeks….hell no!
And i refuse to drink that yankee doodle dan poison….
Witblits and a boerewors roll!
5 Feb 2010, 15:58 pm
@justrugby: 337
ja….
but Helens cool…..love the twinkle in her eye….
And want to ask her opinion on smit at 3…
5 Feb 2010, 15:58 pm
@grant10:
You psyched to watch the game tomorrow at Green Point Stadium?
5 Feb 2010, 15:59 pm
@grant10:
Invite him for a Firemans scrumming session !!
Ratel/Ostrichman vs JR /G10…..place your bets !!!!
5 Feb 2010, 16:00 pm
@justrugby: NO Windhoeks for Grant..haha. Or my mates. That is what they mostly drank here last year.
Have to then buy the no-name bottles as that is Castle. Not too keen on that either really…haha.
So you half a pom? Hope you never support England..LOL.
Too cold for me up there.
@grant10: 334 – We should but probably wont.
Okay all out of here for now. Need to catch up with of work. Need to take a business call now from the UK too. Catch up later.
5 Feb 2010, 16:00 pm
@WP Till I Die: hi there
For sure i am….must admit its more about the stadium than the rugby….
Are you ?
See you at Mitchells?
5 Feb 2010, 16:01 pm
I am happy to announce that our campaign to Save Dave, the poor Macquarie banker who was busted on live television watching pics of Miranda Kerr was successful!
Dave is going to keep his job!
@Puma: of = bit
@grant10:
Twinkle in her eye ??, sis man !!….. behave !!!
I see trouble on the horizon !!!
5 Feb 2010, 16:02 pm
@justrugby: LOL
they got youth on there side…..
And with my achilles and your kak groin??
I reckon we in kak my man!
5 Feb 2010, 16:03 pm
@WP Till I Die: Excellent.
@Puma: cheers Puma
OK the Soccer World Cup is being played and there are visitors from around the globe in SA.
3 sharks are hanging aound the backline and having a chat.They al agree they are hungry.
The first sharks says that he is heading off to Ansteys to see what he can find.
The second sharks says he is heading off to North Pier to see what he can find.
The third shark says he is heading off to Blue Lagoon to see what he can find.
They all agree to meet again after 2 days and discuss their meals.
2 days pass and they meet up again.
The first shark says he took a South African.His mates asks how does he know.
He replies”Man after that second bite I could taste the biltong,beer and braaivleis in his stomach”.
Second shark reckons he took a german.His mates asks how does he know.
He replies”Man after the first bite I could only taste sauerkraut,eisbein and pilsener”.
Third shark says he took a New Zealander.His mates asks how does he know.
He replies “Man after the third bite I noticed this oke had no backbone”.
@WP Till I Die: yes…good on you
Go Dave!
5 Feb 2010, 16:04 pm
@grant10:
I am not even going to ask for more information on JR’s groin injury…
5 Feb 2010, 16:05 pm
@Puma:
Only half Pom…..and I never support them….ever !!! lol
Well maybe at football, if all african sides eliminated then I will be behind England !!!
But rugger, cricket ….never !!
5 Feb 2010, 16:05 pm
@WP Till I Die:
Where’s Macquarie?
Who’s Miranda Kerr?????
5 Feb 2010, 16:06 pm
If I was from Macquarie I’d also be looking at pics of Miranda.
Probably nothing else to do!
5 Feb 2010, 16:06 pm
@WP Till I Die: old war injury….caused by stretching over the bar counter to pinch a waitresses butt if i rmember correctly…
She did have a very sexy butt….in his defence
5 Feb 2010, 16:08 pm
never quite understood porn to be honest….always thought *** was a contact sport.
@grant10: @327
and you reserving that right changes what exactly ?
@Big Hit: @331
its very odd that everyone complains about how dire some of the rugby was last year, partic scrums & breakdowns, and yet when they try to do something about it – NO LAWS HAVE CHANGED – then everyone b*tches and moans.
Lord Barry, the Poms, Scots, Welsh & Paddys, ALL complained about the concept of a RWC too, dont forget. The Safas even helped organise it even tho they knew they couldnt participate. How funny that you/Engl now place 110% weighting on the RWC that it now suits you. How convenient.
And lets not forget that the very minute the Brits agreed to test out the ELVs, they cowardly rejected it out of hand and cherrypicked only the ones they want. We ended up with 2 sets of rules, pathetic. End result – when it comes to rugbys rules I trust NZ, SA 1st and foremost. I dont trust John O’Neill 1 iota but atleast the ARU are progressive and want the game taken to a World stage, I think it deserves it. Schucks, even the Olympics agree with that now.
But, to be honest, my 1 real concern about the breakdown rule interpretation is that it almost guarantees the attacking team possession. Yes, like League. Rugby union should surely be about open contest of the ball, hence its ebb and flow. For that reason I HATE crooked feeds to the scrums and HATE dodgy throws to lineouts ! I want tightheads and backlines reshuffling.
So, if we suddenly see rugby similar to the Brumbies era late-90′s (?) when they would rumble for 10+ phases whilst making 3yards, then the rule will have been a failure. But until we see that, I say lets keep an OPEN MIND ! remember the RWC !!!
@grant10:
LOL !!! but remember they are sharks and we know they cannot scrum ….(only a joke Sharkies
)
5 Feb 2010, 16:09 pm
@Dawn:
Miranda Kerr is a particularly well-shaped paragon of female beauty!
5 Feb 2010, 16:10 pm
@Black Panther:
Howzit there by you today.
Cold?
5 Feb 2010, 16:11 pm
Cheers all have a great weekend……
Ratel come with your “A” game on Monday…..like taking candy from a baby
5 Feb 2010, 16:13 pm
@Black Panther: I didn’t want really want an essay BP, I had to read until your second last paragraph to see what you really think
I don’t think using the RWC concept is really a great jusitification for every hare-brained scheme O’Neill and O’Brien come up with tbh. I think this 6N is going to be a disaster on the reffing front, I hope I’m wrong.
5 Feb 2010, 16:14 pm
@justrugby: 359
Rather a beer drinking competetion
Losers pay the bill
We will klap them stukkend!
5 Feb 2010, 16:15 pm
@WP Till I Die:
Is she from Macquarie?
@Big Hit:
He does go on a bit, doesn’t he.
5 Feb 2010, 16:15 pm
@justrugby: cheers
5 Feb 2010, 16:17 pm
@grant10:
if there is going to be a beer drinking competition, count me in.
reigning champion of ghana.
5 Feb 2010, 16:21 pm
@charo: cool…but i reckon we will second you onto our team……you know….the over 40 s….
Ratel Rangerman and Gunther….vs Charo, Justrugby and G10…
And on our bench Robzim….Skopskiet to carry the drinks….
Ref…Puma…
5 Feb 2010, 16:25 pm
@grant10:
hmmmm robzim is a wine tippler – might have to find another bullet as reserve.
skoppie is teetotal so he can drive me home (as in car that is)
5 Feb 2010, 16:28 pm
@charo: LOL
Robzim not scared of a beer or 2….
Dawn to count the dead soldiers as she elegantly sips her Famous Grouse….
Skop designated driver….
game on!
5 Feb 2010, 16:29 pm
@grant10: @306 too much heart and not enough mind (brains) in that last comment. “Smit cant scrum” ???????
I’m going to Danville, then Macquarie.
‘Groot skelms’ annoy Stofile
Feb 05 2010 15:12
Print story | E-mail article
Pretoria – Airlines and the hospitality industry should not overcharge over the Football World Cup to the detriment of future tourism, Sports Minister Makhenkesi Stofile said on Friday.
“Nobody wants to be fleeced like that and never come back to our country,” Stofile told a media briefing in Pretoria after a 2010 inter-ministerial committee meeting.
“It’s a serious injustice. They are going to go home and convince themselves we are a bunch of ‘groot skelms’.”
Stofile said government was concerned about the Competition Commission’s recent announcement it was investigating price collusion in the airline industry.”We’ll await the report but we really want to enjoin airlines not to milk the people… It’s not right.”
He also urged hotels, restaurants and the like to not up their prices exorbitantly to exploit customers.
The hospitality industry had signed an agreement in 2004 which set a benchmark on prices.
However, since then new businesses had entered the market and were exempt from these conditions.
“We have consistently pleaded with South Africans not to fall into this temptation,” said Stofile.
5 Feb 2010, 16:30 pm
gotta run….cheers all…
Gotta start practicing for the beer drinking showdown….
No…walk then movie with the blonde….
Go sharks and stormers…
Smit you beauty….
5 Feb 2010, 16:31 pm
@bananaboy: 371
he cant….at 3…
At 2…great
5 Feb 2010, 16:31 pm
@grant10:
I drink beer.
5 Feb 2010, 16:33 pm
@WP Till I Die: too young and good looking….only old ,cranky buggers allowed….
You damn right you can drink beer….i am witness to that!
Cheers mate…sent an e mail
5 Feb 2010, 16:39 pm
@grant10:
One thing I’m never doing again is downing a bottle of red wine.
Got dared to do it last night. Sigh. Must learn to grow up and not accept stupid dares!
5 Feb 2010, 16:41 pm
@Big Hit: @363
like I keep saying, BH, the ability to cherrypick what you wish is an innate characteristic.
Balls
Bollox
Cojones
Coglioni
This is what the Kiwis/Aussies/Safas have in spades.
5 Feb 2010, 16:45 pm
@grant10: @368
The Annual ‘Drinking Horn’ at Otago University (witnessed by 1000′s, digital touch-pads, the lot) was 1 of, if not the, highlights of the social calendar.
So I hope you respect Boat Race Protocol and ensure that any event to retain official status, the teams must be NUDE.
5 Feb 2010, 16:47 pm
@Black Panther:
Are your cojones as big as mine?
5 Feb 2010, 16:49 pm
@Black Panther:
A drinking horn the highlight of the social calendar.
Shame man.
5 Feb 2010, 16:50 pm
@Black Panther:
Ah yes, the “best of three” Drinking Horn usually held in the old Oddfellows Hall in Fredrick Street, just down from George Street.
Wasn’t that organised by the O.S.M. and the Dental School? A rugby game in the afternoon, and the Drinking Horn in the evening.
Did you guys do it with that handles of those horrible beers Speights used to make?
5 Feb 2010, 16:52 pm
Drinking Horn, Oddfellows, Frederick and George Street, Dental School.
WTF!!!!
5 Feb 2010, 17:04 pm
@Dawn:
No, but I only have 2.
@Dawn:
I said NUDE, Dawn.
@WP Till I Die:
Youre scaring me, you really really are.
Come on, confess. Youre the guy behind the CCTV arent you ?!
Starter for 10:-
Q: who/what is ‘Fastforward’ ?
5 Feb 2010, 17:08 pm
@WP Till I Die:
2 classifications actually (1) pints & (2) jugs.
Speights. 1 of the most dire liquids currently masquerading as ‘beer’. It should have not ever have been re-classified outside its original purpose as being a guaranteed tonic and cure for constipation.
Hideous. But most Scarfies worth their salt drank Tall Steinies.
5 Feb 2010, 17:10 pm
@Dawn:
BTW, how come youre blogging here today, I thought Peaches was still touring ?
5 Feb 2010, 17:14 pm
@WP Till I Die: ’383
you may not find ‘Fastforward’ on Google……altho I see….
“Ah yes, the Drinking Horn. Every year (about when??) the O.S.M. and the Dental School held a competition. A rugby game in the afternoon, and the Drinking Horn in the evening – also know in some circles as a “boatrace”.
The general idea was for two teams of six, kneeling at either side of a table, to drink down, in turn (#1 to #6) a 12-ounce handle of that awful beer Speights used to make, and we used to pretend to like.”
….did come in 1st on the search.
Come on now, WPUID, thats cheatin.
5 Feb 2010, 17:19 pm
and, I might add, that Google search was inaccurate. They were not ‘teams of 6′ but of 4.
The Final event was between the Otago Allstars vs Canterbury. Always nude.
My flatmate won the Jug skull. In 2.1secs.
5 Feb 2010, 18:00 pm
@Black Panther: stop pretending the sa teams want law changes, why would they? they’re on top of the world and stuffing the All Blacks and Wallabies. No, this is an Aus/NZ push and everyone else has to suffer the b/s.
5 Feb 2010, 18:36 pm
@Big Hit:
since WHEN do Safas do what Kiwis & Aussies ‘want’ ?!
All SANZAR partners are on board, how on Earth would these interpretations come about if they werent. The no 1 jersey in NZ rugby is, and always has been, the no7 – so why are they promoting a rule that will negate that historical strength ? Oh, Richie, we know youre a genius but we’re sick of you cleaning up at the breakdown….
Obviously you just cant get your head around adminstrators agreeing to something and not then doing secret deals behind others back to immediately abandon them.
What do you care anyway, BH. It doesnt affect your precious wee cossetted World of 6N or Guinn Prem. You seem innately sensitive to anything Sth African – either admit you are 1, finally, or grow a bl**dy spine.
5 Feb 2010, 18:39 pm
@Big Hit:
BTW, BH – ‘the team on top of the World’ ?
really truly pathetic. Whatever misgivings you conveniently may have about World Rankings, only a blind man would have trouble seeing where the performance graphs were heading at the end of 2009.
5 Feb 2010, 19:08 pm
@Black Panther: actually it does affect the 6N which is why I brought it up in first place, check the Beeb for Martyn Williams’s comments on the new reffing. wouldn’t read too much into EOYT games.
5 Feb 2010, 19:17 pm
@Big Hit</a
Big *** can you confirm the rumour the Haka will be performed at Twickers for the 6 Nations?
5 Feb 2010, 19:19 pm
@Big Hit:
have it your way, and noone would read anything in to any game but the ones you personally select. Every single Test match matters to the Blacks & Boks – I dare any Safa to indicate otherwise.
Did Engls win in Wellington (02/03 ?) matter ?
But, BH, dont tell me the I R B have been hoodwinked by the Kiwis as well ?
5 Feb 2010, 19:26 pm
Whose gearing up for Scotland V Italy, hold onto your hats lads its going to be huge, better still NZ F V France.
5 Feb 2010, 19:28 pm
@Black Panther: England’s win in Wellington was expected as we were at full strength, unlike these days when you get to play a 1st/2nd mix with your strongest team. It was significant,like the Oz game only in that it was a decent warm-up for the RWC which we would win later that year.
@NZINCHINA: I replied to you earlier scroll back and have a butchers.
5 Feb 2010, 19:29 pm
@NZINCHINA:
Fortunately Engl still have Shontayne Hape as their resident Maori after Riki Flutey has pulled up lame. Given that Dylan Hartley also has some Maori bloodstock, it appears that Engl now have 3 more Haka leaders than do the ABs.
and dont we just love it !
Swing low, sweet double standards………
5 Feb 2010, 19:31 pm
@NZINCHINA: Scotland/Italy gets bigger crowds than NZ(Sam?)/Aus, lololol
5 Feb 2010, 19:32 pm
@Big Hit: @397
expect ? what on Earth does ‘expect have to do with the price of fish ? The ABs expect to win every single match as, Im sure, do the Boks.
answer the Question – did it matter ?
Is what your saying is that outside Competitions – TriN & 6N – that we should completely disregard all other results ?
Frankly, no wonder your team is such sh*t.
5 Feb 2010, 19:32 pm
@Black Panther: so will Samoa B (aka the ABs) be coming do a GS tour this year?
5 Feb 2010, 19:34 pm
@Big Hit:
You should lead the Haka from your bedsit in Sunderland, England is now my second team as they have more Nzers in the side than Samoa. Swing low sweet Kiwi.
5 Feb 2010, 19:34 pm
Who do we think will master the new Haka best
Munster
or
Engl ?
5 Feb 2010, 19:35 pm
@Black Panther: it mattered as a warm-up to the World Cup, which we would go on to win.
SA’s priotities in ’09 were the Lions series and the 3N, their squad was falling apart with injuries by the time they went on the EOYT. They humiliated the ABs 3-0 and did it again with the Barbarians for good measure.
There’s no doubt who is the better team of the two, it’s not even close.
5 Feb 2010, 19:35 pm
@Black Panther:
England its full of second rate Kiwis.
5 Feb 2010, 19:36 pm
@Big Hit:
Kiwi kiwi kiwi ha and you kn ow it Big ***, take that size 3 boot out of your arse.
5 Feb 2010, 19:36 pm
Oooh, this new ‘Samoa’ angle proves 1 thing.
We’re smack bang up Big Hits nose.
Which is rather odd given he’s usually smack bang up the Safas @@@@rses.
5 Feb 2010, 19:37 pm
@NZINCHINA: NZ has more Samoans than NZers. Time to switch up that haka.
5 Feb 2010, 19:38 pm
Kamate Kamate ka ora ora
(cmon BH, join in whenever you want)
Kamate Kamate ka ora ora…
I CANT HEAR YOU !
5 Feb 2010, 19:38 pm
@Big Hit:
Yer and Sunderland has more Arabs whats your point?
5 Feb 2010, 19:40 pm
@NZINCHINA:
and when you say ‘Kiwis’, are you distinguishing some of the Leaguies from the journeymen footy players ?
I get so confused, its like picking your favourite marble from a large sack
5 Feb 2010, 19:40 pm
@Black Panther:
He will join in as the Haka will now be performed at Twickers as 3/4 of the team is now from Samoa.
5 Feb 2010, 19:42 pm
@Black Panther:
England is full of journeymen Samoans with big sacks.
Do you think that during the Engl Haka, Gareth Thomas will do a streak before or after ‘God Save the Queen’ ?
@NZINCHINA: I think you’ve managed to confuse yourself. You shouldn’t throw stones if you live in a glass house. NZ wouldn’t have a rugby team without hiring the Islander boys, they’d be down with Italy. In fact, Italy aren’t far off as it is based on their last two meetings.
5 Feb 2010, 19:43 pm
adios amigos
5 Feb 2010, 19:46 pm
harea ra, Big Hit
5 Feb 2010, 19:46 pm
@Big Hit:
You still don’t have a rubgy team after poaching a few of our left overs, I reckon you’ll beat the Scots this year though they won’t like facing the haka.
6 Feb 2010, 00:04 am
@Black Panther: @182
Seems there is a new conspiracy afoot, must be the new green and gold alliance huh..
So the Super 15 was only devised to stop NZ’s stranglehold on Finals positions, with 2 teams from each “conference” going forward..
one for the conspiracy purists…
designed to stop NZ having 3 teams in the finals like most years I guess…
6 Feb 2010, 00:32 am
@Big Hit: ahh Big Hit, still got your tongue firmly entrenched down the backside of each and every SA you come across (no pun intended), you know, if you charged a small fee each time perhaps England could buy some of NZs better rejects, dont you guys know league and union are different games, youve been buying the wrong football players mate…
still, at least if they win something important in the Eng colours that will mean NZ will have 3 or 4 more of its citizens Knighted, because as we all know, its so rare for an Englishmen to win anything, that they are straight of to see the queen when they do..
funniest sporting moment this year, Roger Federer BEFORE the Aust Open final and his interview with Courier… knew he was playing an Englishmen, knew he would win… backed it up too..
classic stuff
6 Feb 2010, 01:00 am
@poppa69:
exactly Poppa, but BH, G10 and oh…….. everyone, would have you believe in this ‘kissing cousins’ theory, yet here we are sacrificing our usual spot on the podium whilst the neer do wells steal off with the spoils.
The Aussies, well they now get a 5th team out of thin air, which is merely a vehicle to recruit future recruits for the Wallaby guernsey, and also they guarantee 2 of their shoddy outfits some publicity at the business end of the season. Meanwhile depriving the Mighty Highlanders of their rightful shot of glory.
The papers here are full of Cipriani ‘committing’ himself to the Melbourne team, which seems appropriate given the crazy assylum of a task those boys have ahead of them. Thats 1 saturated market down there in Victoria. Cipriani is a young man with his head in the clouds but strangely enough I think his attacking style is far better suited for Super rugby than it is for the more conservative stuff oop narth.
@poppa69:
yep, the Fed played well. Ive gone off him Big time tho. Ever since he turned up to SW19 last year decked in more gold embroidery than Napolean. Nah, Andy Murray is a Scot, doesnt like the Poms and is a gutsy player. He got spanked this time but his time will come.
6 Feb 2010, 01:08 am
I see the two kiwi bum chums are having a wank off together again!
6 Feb 2010, 01:18 am
@whatever: coming from the bloke that knows all about those type of things, what a surprise.. go crawl back in your hole mate, spent your dole check already huh?
6 Feb 2010, 01:24 am
@poppa69:
Hey g’day doos for brains, you done your rounds today? Slapped your arms and theighs and pulled faces in the mirror?
6 Feb 2010, 01:27 am
@poppa69:
Poppa,
check out how desperate the Little Man is for attention, stalking his prey from thread to thread. Clearly unloved by all who are unfortunate enough to know him. He’s not even here for the rugby and even the Safas cant stand him, that much is obvious.
Deprive him of the 1 thing that he needs the most – attention.
6 Feb 2010, 01:29 am
@Black Panther:
You two should hook up somewhere………
6 Feb 2010, 01:29 am
@Black Panther: 100% BP.. it would be funny if it wasnt so sad…
6 Feb 2010, 01:31 am
6 Feb 2010, 01:34 am
A clear-blue, sunny day, with gentle sea-breezes and a pleasant 23C temperature in lovely Wellington. Perfect for rugby and partying in the Cake Tin.
6 Feb 2010, 01:36 am
@poppa69:
This whole faux-hatred thing is pathetic and a clear sign of immaturity, do you ever see Pissant diss the French ? or Soda diss the Yanks ? or any of the multitude of Safas/Kiwis here in London diss the UK ?
Me thinks he protesteth too much.
6 Feb 2010, 01:39 am
@TheTackler:
Tackles, love the photos today on Stuff. sensational. Looks like a great party fer sure. Stephen Jones recently used his weekly column to say what a torrid stadium the Caketin was “lacking in atmosphere”. Is that guy fer real ?!
Ah yes, when Welly gets its weather right, it sure looks a picture. Great party town, always enjoy my stopovers. You live there or just visiting ?
6 Feb 2010, 01:40 am
@Black Panther: its all banter mate, Im guilty of going overboard on occasions..
its just that he will defend his country vehemenently, as is his right, but somehow doesnt afford us the same courtesy..
guess youre right, its an age thing
6 Feb 2010, 01:44 am
@Black Panther: wonder how hes enjoying the Waitangi day celebrations, must be a novel thing for him
6 Feb 2010, 01:48 am
@poppa69:
its most certainly an age thing, Im guessing 17. Come on, noone resorts to pitiful language like that unless theyre trying to make themselves feel ‘bigger’.
Hey, Ive only ever seen you go overboard on rugby matters. Thats completely allowed, and I expect that as part’n'parcel around here. Theres loads of good ******* Safas who give as good as they get around here without taking it personally, why waste time giving imbeciles like him the oxygen of attention.
6 Feb 2010, 01:49 am
@poppa69:
Im wondering, when Flutey and Hape were selected to play for the Queens team, did they have to sign a Contract or a Treaty ?
6 Feb 2010, 01:52 am
@Black Panther: they signed a contract for sure, they know that may be honoured some day lmao..
6 Feb 2010, 01:53 am
@poppa69:
that flagpole at Windsor Castle is starting to look real inviting
6 Feb 2010, 01:58 am
@Black Panther:
Don’t you just love it………. you boys talking about anyone in particular?
“why waste time giving imbeciles like him the oxygen of attention”
You seem to have spent a few posts wasting time in my absence!
Turkeys!
6 Feb 2010, 02:02 am
@Black Panther:
Selective reading mate……..poppa is on record on this blogg with three blatant racist comments (he appologised later, but thats too late….true colours..)as well as saying he wished someone had pulled the trigger to a gun to my head.
He’s your all round genuine nice stable bloke…..Bi-polar more like!
6 Feb 2010, 02:02 am
@Black Panther: haha would they rebuild it 3 times though?
6 Feb 2010, 02:04 am
@whatever: 3 blatant racial comments, what drugs are you on ? … I only ever highlighted what your countries past was, how that makes me rascist is anyones guess…
6 Feb 2010, 02:13 am
@poppa69:
truly, youre wasting your breath. The little *** just wants attention, look how he’s desperate. Why waste a bullet on that, make his parents suffer.
6 Feb 2010, 02:19 am
@poppa69:
Poppa
did you realise its been 73 lonnnnnng years since the Boks beat the ABs in a Series in NZ ? and to think they like to wind us up about RWCs….
Loftus ’96 remains my favourite rugby memory of all, Fitzy pumping the high veldt with that gnarled fist of his. Beautiful.
6 Feb 2010, 02:26 am
@Black Panther: I remember that scene vividly too mate.. the boks attacking the line for what seemed an eternity, just couldnt break through… stellar stuff.. was the final frontier for us, I rate it higher then any WC too.. and not because we cant win one, which I expect the chorus to hammer home haha..
but was young enough that the old enemy will always be SA, and respect to them for that, not some johhny come lately who thinks the main rivalry is with the Aussies… we had the Bledisloe for 30 years straight at one stage..
6 Feb 2010, 02:51 am
@TheTackler: 429 ‘A clear-blue, sunny day, with gentle sea-breezes and a pleasant 23C temperature in lovely Wellington. Perfect for rugby and partying in the Cake Tin’
so you sit home on your computer instead, good plan tackles, well thought out
@whatever: never mind these two, they’re the two most angry old kiwi grannies on keo
6 Feb 2010, 03:07 am
@Big Hit: awww BH, now youre sucking up to whatever? scraping the barrel my friend
6 Feb 2010, 03:27 am
Hehe, tiny Niue bashing Scots.
6 Feb 2010, 04:50 am
Ironically, free flowing Fiji have a Defence, too. Or is it impotent attacking? South Africa is spending almost enire 1st half in the opposition’s half attacking and get 0-7.
6 Feb 2010, 05:02 am
Fiji strike again. 21-5. Sevens series title is between NZ, Fiji and England (and probably Samoa) for sure now.
6 Feb 2010, 05:33 am
Poppa69 you are a typical P?keh?. What are all these Skinny Whites doing on a saffa blog. Cant play with the Moaris so you come here. Your rugby blog kiwitakesituptheass .com is too lonely. So sad the your sheep dont talk back.
As the real kiwis say: Real Kiwis dont blog!
Your gran calling for her tea, go now booi!
6 Feb 2010, 05:43 am
@Big Hit: They obviously haven’t heard of iPhones in England yet. Don’t worry, bro. Technology will eventually make its way to Chipping Norton once Apple find a way to perfect the special clockwork version and have road-tested it in Etwatwa Township, Ekuruleni (so named after the sound an AK47 bullet makes when flying through a tin shanty)
6 Feb 2010, 05:45 am
@KevinRack: wow, intelligent post kevin, Im sure the majority of Saffas on here cringe when they see you displaying the boofhead stereotype that is synonymous (better look that word up) with SA blokes such as yourself..
and just so you know, I am maori.. Nga-puhi on my grandfathers side, tainui on my grandmothers..
showing your ignorance and your inbred rascism kevin, standing ovation here doos!!
6 Feb 2010, 05:58 am
@Nils: Yeah, only 1300 people in the whole of the country of Niue and they whack the Scots. It was the national gravedigger who did the damage, aided and abetted by one of the barmen and his brother, who fixes punctures.
6 Feb 2010, 16:16 pm
@TheTackler: well nice of you to take time out of your party to give us updates on your iphone, itackles
7 Feb 2010, 03:40 am
Poppa69: Eish now if I was fishing that would be nice snoek on the line. Thanks for biting.
You like to give but not take, thats sooo sad!
You see Kiwis still think we are in the dark ages and you have not updated your mindset when dealing with us. That why we caned you in the rugga last year. Keep thinking like that and we will beat in you in NZ next year!
As for your racism card thats so old school too. Try another line, you are sounding like The Tockles spewing the same old racist stereo typing yourself. Your are soo funny, lol, my Jaffa mates said a kiwi would fall for that line.
Haere mai Manuhiri to our blog but less SAffa bashing next time.
Usale kahle
7 Feb 2010, 03:48 am
@KevinRack: 1st time youve “caned” us in the rugga in what, 15-20 years now… congrats on that, will love seeing your response when the kick chase falls flat this year…as it did in the NH eoyt…
why should I stop bashing saffas when its open slather on kiwis? forgot how precious you all are… its funny, a country with as large a population as yours and you still have to pick on a country that has 4 mill in total… guess it must really hurt that we have had it over you guys for so long…
enjoy your fishing…
7 Feb 2010, 04:14 am
serious question kevin
with a country your size and the resources it undoubtably has, why dont you guys perform better on the world stage? we currently outrank you in both rugby and soccer, granted you are right up there with the golf and cricket..
is it our administrative skills that upsets you lot? Ive noticed more and more kiwis creeping into the game over there? chris Jack, king Carlos, Plumtree, Tony Brown, the under 21 conditioning coach, cant remember his name, you even got an aussie to help your rugby team.
seriously, you guys didnt claim one medal in the olympics, we got a fair few.. and really, you guys should be challenging USA, Russia, China at the top end of the medal spectrum…
I dont understand it.. can you elaborate some for me?
and this isnt a dig…
7 Feb 2010, 04:15 am
Of course it hurts especailly when we have about 3million registered rugby players at all levels!
But even you have to acknowledge that the skill levels in SA have changed. Look at the ripping the ball off the tackle player instead of trying to doner him into the ground. WE have had a fundamental mindset change due to bringing in new ideas and culture, but other teams have not adapted their mindset to our change.
South Africa is experiencing a fundametal change at the moment as those who are not hampered by apartheid menatality are coming through. The future is theirs.
As for having ago at the kick chase, which we all ackowledge as boring and predictable, you guys new the game plan before the kickoff yet you did not adapt.
Agreed, Saffa sides are gonna get hamered this year if they do not diversify their game plans, but thats life.
Cheetahs to do some good things this year. Watchout for their Scrummie, Pretorius. Names to watch out for: Mapoe, Pretoruis, Mbiyso, JPietersen, Ebersholm, Vlundivlo(spelling.
7 Feb 2010, 04:29 am
@KevinRack: the cheetahs are my SA team if I had to support one, they seemed to finish last year playign some great rugby..and all kiwis love the underdog…
While I agree the skillset has changed, I believe you are finally catching up to professionalism after isolation, Im still not sure about the mentality to overpower with brute force… I mean, fantastic player that Brussouw is, he didnt really figure in your guys plans until a forced change was necessary and PDV had to play him..
and agree aqgain, those born from the 90s onwards have had a totally different environmental upbringing, which I believe is a fundamental component of change, but dont think it will fully realise itself for another 20 years or so, when they are in their 40s and 50s and leading the country forward.
heard good things about Mapoe, and the Ebersohn brothers.. and are you referring to Jaco Pretorius?
7 Feb 2010, 04:31 am
Its simple, mindset (40% unemployment, no dole system and bad management). The ruling Junta has sacked most managers and replaced them with loayalists in all levels of governement. These skills have migrated and we have to now import skills.
Look at football, we were ranked higher just after aparthied than now??????
The ANC leaders have a milatant mindset. They still think there is a war. We had the Casta Samanya affair and when Atheltics SA got caught out they started talking about war against the International Athletics board. WTF war!
The government has such a large majority they beleive they will rule till ***** comes(that came direct for our esteemded 20 child, 5 wive president whose line is Mshini Wam’, or Bring Me My Machine Gun). There is no acoutability for bad management. As long as you are a loyalist you get a job!
Most post revolutionary socities go throught his pain!
7 Feb 2010, 04:42 am
Sarel Pretorius: Played last year CC for Griquas.
Brussouw would have not been selected under White! There is part of the mindset change. We have had Brent Russel go through our hands but let go because he was though of been to small! What a shame to see players seeing their future elsewhere.
Its acknowleged that the kiwis have some of the best coaches. I am pleased that we have an open mind to use these skills. I would love to have seen either Mitchell or Deans as coach.
7 Feb 2010, 04:51 am
@KevinRack: have heard the name of Sarel before, havent seen him play though..
I dont think its that you guys dont have the coaches as such, I think its the overall system that is completely different.. I know its very much a provincial mindset in SA, and to a degree also in Australian rugby, whereas it is there in NZ rugby, but from schoolboy right through to senior level, it all builds to climax with the ABs… if SA adopted more of this strategy (and Im thankful you guys havent, yet), then I think you could dominate for 10 years or so, rather then what appears to be resting on your laurels once getting there, if that makes sense..
Id be very scared of a SA forward pack with Mitchell as coach, lets not forget the lead up work he did for Englands forward pack as assistant coach (before taking over the ABs in 2001)..
and I believe Russia is still struggling post revolution, its not a quick fix unfortunately..
7 Feb 2010, 05:02 am
Yep but history has shown what to avoid to be successful. We have not looked at history and are clearly marching down the same path as Zimbobwe! You would have seen an influx of mainly white migrants from southern africa. That has now changed to educated indiginous africans(espeically Zimbabweans).
Colour has absolutely nothing to do with success, but midnset and culture does!
Back to baiting, sorry but as you know its fun, has any kiwis seen Invictus yet! Its really good!
7 Feb 2010, 05:08 am
@KevinRack: Ive seen Invictus, and though Ill be accused of sour grapes, I thought it lacked something, what Im not sure… the rugby scenes were pitiful and the haka was just downright disrespectful… I mean, clint didnt even mention the Suzie drama
, or the gold watch affair or even the fact that they were meeting the “old enemy”, such a vibrant history between the two countries rugby wise, but that component was lost completely… and I believe it would have added more impact to the story…
7 Feb 2010, 05:14 am
“or the gold watch affair” now thats a new one! Please explain. I know Suzie and her links to a London betting syndicate but gold watch!
7 Feb 2010, 05:15 am
imagine mandiba stating in the movie “we need to beat the old enemy to unite this country” now, would you think rugby terms or apartheid???
and this of course would have made the eventual rugby victory in the movie on another level completely, beating the odds AND beating the old “enemies”…
7 Feb 2010, 05:18 am
read this kevin
The rugby world was most definitely not in union yesterday after remarks by South Africa’s rugby president, Louis Luyt, reduced a banquet to mark the end of the World Cup tournament to acrimonious farce.
In a speech which resonated with the old Afrikaans arrogance, Mr Luyt proclaimed the victorious Springboks as the first ‘true’ world champions.
‘There were no true world champions in the 1987 and 1991 World Cups because South Africa were not there. We have proved our point,’ he said.
This prompted New Zealand’s defeated captain, Sean Fitzpatrick, to lead his side out of the dinner – but not before some players had approached the top table to take issue with Mr Luyt.
The All Blacks were quickly followed by the French and English. ‘It’s disgusting. I can not believe what he has said,’ Mr Fitzpatrick said afterwards.
The South African Rugby Football Union president’s remarks spoiled what should have been a day of celebration for 43 million South Africans. Morne du Plessis, manager of the new world champions, led the apologies.
‘Tired and emotional are the words that come to mind, though I am not sure that I followed the theme at that part of Mr Luyt’s speech,’ he said.
‘The difference between being winners and being a sorrowful lot is fragile. We were not there in ’87 or ’91, and I have my personal doubts about us being able to do anything in terms of winning the World Cup in those years.’
Mr Luyt, who is to diplomacy what Jonah Lomu is to English wingers, compounded his country’s embarrassment by inexplicably singling out the Welsh referee Derek Bevan – who officiated at the Springboks’ crucial semi-final against France – for special praise. The match, which South Africa won 19-15, was marked by controversy after Mr Bevan denied the French a last-minute try because of an infringement.
To the astonishment of the 1,000 diners – and to the Welshman’s obvious embarrassment – Mr Luyt presented him with a £1,000 gold watch, calling him ‘the most wonderful referee in the world’.
‘If everyone does not think that, I certainly do. I would ask him to step up and receive this gift as the outstanding referee in the World Cup,’ the Sarfu president said.
In the spirit of a rapidly disintegrating social event, the mortified Welshman joined his fellow officials as they staged their own walkout in protest at Mr Luyt’s behaviour.
‘It was something I could have done without,’ Mr Bevan said. ‘It came out of the blue: I have no idea why he singled me out. It could be misconstrued, and if that is the case, it leaves a bitter taste.’
7 Feb 2010, 05:29 am
Ok, look at it like this(tongue in cheek). The kiwis have never won a world cup since we re-joined!
Luyt has gone. We have moved on, its time for you to do the same. If you keep thinking we are rockspiders thats fine but at your peril. The majority of SAFFAS dont care any more about the old days, we are somewhere else with our thinking!
Sports physcologists, coaching schools, nutritional experts, foregin experts. Gone is the closed sheltered world.
7 Feb 2010, 05:33 am
@KevinRack: yeah but England have, i dont know which is worse
Ive moved on, but all these things could have helped add drama to the movie, I mean they didnt even show the missed dropped goals by both sides, surely including those would have brought more suspense and an on the edge of the seat finale to the movie..
7 Feb 2010, 05:41 am
Yep, its true but you cannot never underestimate Mandelas magic and avoiding bloodshed that could have happened. This movie is less about rugby more about doing the right things at the right time. The right man for the right time.
We need another Mandela now. Its far easier to win your freedom than to keep it.
7 Feb 2010, 05:46 am
Nice chatting Poppa. Gloves are off again, untill the next we meet on Keo!
For a laugh look up Die Antwoord rappers! This will give you an idea of our culture blend like you have achieved in NZ.
E noho r?
7 Feb 2010, 05:48 am
@KevinRack: I was going to suggest that before, that you need another leader who is not intent on “getting even”… it did highlight the measure to a degree of the man mandela is, but it could have delved deeper into that to elicit a much more emotional response from the audience (well a non SA audience I suppose)
7 Feb 2010, 05:50 am
@KevinRack: cheers kevin.
Haere Ra..
will have a look at the rappers…
7 Feb 2010, 09:53 am
@poppa69:
kevin is a doos.
kia kaha bro.
7 Feb 2010, 10:20 am
@Fern:
7 Feb 2010, 10:22 am
put him with some ngmoari an he would **** himself.
7 Feb 2010, 16:46 pm
Ive read large portions of Invictus.
There is a quote that kept popping up that sums up all the ‘unsaid’ chapters of that story
“we desperately needed to win”.
Quite.
@poppa69:
be careful Poppa, KR makes Whatever look older than 17.
7 Feb 2010, 20:31 pm
@Black Panther: NZ have desperately needed to win the last 5, didn’t help them
still they have the old amateur ’87 carnival to reminsice about
7 Feb 2010, 22:58 pm
@Black Panther:
Got another apple today! Maybe your wife likes 17 year olds….?
8 Feb 2010, 01:59 am
@Big Hit:
Well at least NZ won the carnival,how did England go?
8 Feb 2010, 03:52 am
Send anybody my way. Hey Fern why dont you turn up chicken ****. By the way kiwitwat I don not consider been called a doos an insult, considering how much I love doos. Your are half a man *** bandit.
8 Feb 2010, 23:07 pm
@KevinRack:
@whatever:
oh look !
its an historic moment
a meeting of Keos 2 Great Minds on the 1 page.
8 Feb 2010, 23:10 pm
@Black Panther:
You spoken to your wife recently? She’s getting lonely boet. Got another apple today, speaking about “dicks in hand”…..
8 Feb 2010, 23:21 pm
and speaking of two great kiwi minds (Read doos’s) on one page, you and poppa doos are often on the same page so you should feel special!