Blitzboks to face Fiji in quarters
5 Feb 2010
The Springbok Sevens disappointed with a 19-7 defeat against New Zealand in the final match of day one in the Wellington tournament.
Although both sides had already confirmed Cup quarterfinal qualification, South Africa and New Zealand faced each other in a crucial Pool A game. The winners would move on to an easier fixture against Australia, while the losers would meet an in form Fijian outfit.
Considering the Boks lost against Fiji in the last two Cup quarterfinals, it was important for Paul Treu’s charges to top Pool A.
However – not for the first time – the Blitzboks failed to perform when it mattered most as they went down to hosts New Zealand as they conceded two late tries.
South Africa had the upper hand for most of the first stanza, as they kept the Kiwis restricted in their half. However, poor defence from stalwart Mzwandile Stick allowed Sherwin Stowers to slip past for the opening try.
On the half-time mark, a late attack from the Blitzboks saw Ryno Benjamin through and Stick added the conversion to level the scores.
After the break, South Africa stole the early momentum again, but lacked the composure in attack to take the lead.
This cost the World Series champions as New Zealand went ahead two minutes from time through Zar Lawrence.
The result was confirmed when Chris Baker crossed the chalk in the final minute.
Earlier in the day, the Blitzboks impressed with two convincing wins against Wales and Niue.
In their second fixture of the day, Cecil Afrika’s hat-trick helped the Boks down Wales 38-5 to confirm a place in the Cup quarterfinals.
Afrika crossed the whitewash twice and Marius Schoeman scored a try as the Boks surged into a 19-0 half-time lead.
Afrika then completed his hat-trick after the break, while Ryno Benjamin and Hoffman Maritz crossed the line to seal the win. Wales only managed one consolation try through Ifan Evans.
In the Boks’ first match, Western Province speedster Steven Hunt grabbed a brace as they secured a 38-10 against Niue.
South Africa dominated the first half as they scored five tries to take a 31-0 lead at half-time.
Niue, however, produced a better overall performance in the second stanza as the Boks only managed to score one try.
Springboks Sevens results, Day 1:
South Africa 38 Niue 10
South Africa 38 Wales 5
New Zealand 19 South Africa 7
For more results and fixtures click here

485 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All
5 Feb 2010, 02:33 am
What is “Niue”?
5 Feb 2010, 03:56 am
Predawn, are you serious you got kicked off a kiwi blog site for posting a picture of a sheep. LOL thats soo funny, considering what idiot kiwiwhinger bloggers we have on our site.
You hear the story about the attractive 19yr old kiwi student who sold her virginty? Sounds fishy: attractive, 19yr old virgin in new zealand?
I hope the blitzbokke can lift their game and some of the newbies can stepup!
5 Feb 2010, 05:05 am
Niue (say “new way”) is a tiny independent Pacific island nation with a total population of only 1300. So their sevens team probably consists of the nation’s only electrician, one of their two hotel waiters, the national barber, and the taxi driver.
5 Feb 2010, 05:08 am
Sevens job ’stunt’ draws swarm of applicants
By AMANDA FISHER – The Dominion Post
Jobs for “beer *****” and midget beer-server advertised by a blog group seeking assistants at the Wellington sevens have been filled – despite complaints about the stunt.
JP Tocker, who started the blog, said the group had received about 60 job applications after they advertised for a “midget” or a “large-chested woman” to be a food and beverage “runner” at the sevens.
The stunt was meant to promote the blog and was a joke, he said. “We were kind of waiting for negative fallout, but we actually got a lot of positive feedback from people sick and tired of all the PC **** that’s going on.”
Successful midget applicant Dan Morrah said people who had complained about the stunt were too politically correct.
“It’s time they just chilled out and relaxed. I have got no problem doing it.”
Mr Morrah, who would be dressing as an oompa loompa, or fictional creature, for the sevens, said he was selected for more than his small size.
“I think it’s the fact I’ve been to the sevens so many years before … and I’m also prepared to have a good laugh at my own expense.”
This would be Mr Morrah’s fifth sevens. As a result of coverage from the initial controversy, Mr Morrah now has an audition for Sir Peter Jackson’s new movie The Hobbit.
The job description for a “beer *****” was changed to a “beer delivery person” because of the complaints.
“We got guys applying asking for the rate of pay and whether the job was fulltime.”
Little People New Zealand spokeswoman Caela Brackenbury said Mr Morrah was entitled to apply for the job. “LPNZ doesn’t really condone behaviour where little people draw attention to themselves which isn’t necessarily in a positive way.”
Mr Tocker said this was the fourth sevens the group would attend together. “With the hype that we’ve created for ourselves and with small man Dan and [beer wench] Cassandra [Opie] coming … and the biggest group we’ve had coming this year, everyone’s pretty excited.”
Ms Opie was selected by public votes through the blog and radio station ZM, after she sent in a Top Gun-style video.
5 Feb 2010, 07:20 am
OK people get ready for Groundhog Day.Tickles is gonna harp on ad naseum about the 7′s and great atmosphere and party because wellington is kak.Pity he goes there with his mother.Sad life.BTW why are you posting?Should you not go and brush your mothers hair?
5 Feb 2010, 07:26 am
@TheTackler: Very funny
@Fern: Equally funny….
For what it is worth – South Africa downed the swine from Nuie 38-10. Now for the “world champs”….
5 Feb 2010, 07:29 am
@Cheetah Champs:
Its the truth,he stays with his mom.Spe put a filter on his pc so he cant type swearwords.
Hey tickles,umamma gulele!
5 Feb 2010, 07:30 am
@TheTackler:
Cheers. Hehehe good one!
5 Feb 2010, 07:30 am
wellington is kak,I have been there.Give me Christchurch any day.Even Auckland is better than that shytehole.
5 Feb 2010, 07:33 am
@KevinRack:
kiwi chick and the word “attractive” is a oxymoron.
Ugly as sin.
Go check the crowds at the 7′s this weekend.
brutal looking units they are.
5 Feb 2010, 07:37 am
“Brutal units” ……
Fern
5 Feb 2010, 07:37 am
@Fern:
Yeah I just came from a months holiday in kiwi land, stunning country, loved it, but absolutly zero hot chicks!
5 Feb 2010, 07:44 am
@Sonito:
Stunning place,awesome people.zero hot chicks
strangely the chiks arent chokers like their rugby team,they swallow.
I handed out a good couple of pearl necklaces when I was there.:-)
5 Feb 2010, 07:45 am
@Staal:
They can make blind children cry.
The current Miss NZ is a expat saffa…
5 Feb 2010, 07:47 am
Nice day to you all,gotta go and work.
BTW go check out the crowds at the 7′s this weekend if you dont believe me.
Sonito I have been from Christchurch to Auckland.
5 Feb 2010, 07:58 am
Boks 33-5 Wales.
Well played boys
5 Feb 2010, 07:59 am
Fern you are a piece of work…..
Need months of counseelling….no…screw that…you would kill the kopdoctor!
5 Feb 2010, 08:01 am
@Fern: Hahahahhahaha!!
5 Feb 2010, 08:12 am
@Fern:
Can you tell us one more time about how Wellington is kak we really enjoy hearing it year after year, just so interesting.
5 Feb 2010, 08:16 am
Fern, you are telling us how hidious the woman are in that neck of the woods….
then you tell us you had *** with them all….
huh?
my 2 cents..
5 Feb 2010, 08:22 am
Stop knocking Wellington – it is a lovely place. You have Cape Town just around the corner, and all those delightful Boland players residing there.
5 Feb 2010, 08:29 am
@Staal:
Yer he’s a big talker when it comes to the ladies, wonder why that is…
5 Feb 2010, 08:29 am
Weirdos
5 Feb 2010, 08:34 am
OK – i’m out. Chat later. Have a great day!
Go BIG.
You only live once!
5 Feb 2010, 08:44 am
Fern ‘nice one’ – EVERY country in the world has an amazing range of beautiful women – that’s just the nature of genetics. Anyone who has travelled a bit and has an open mind realises that. It’s true that SA woman doll themselves up hugely when they go out and so look attractive. Women in countries like Argentian and Russia follow a simlar trend. NZ women don’t much care for this dressing up to the nines and make-up etc, it’s more take me as I am.
And I think you found this approach not too bad judging by your comments above!
5 Feb 2010, 08:45 am
this thread is only 24 posts old and it is already very disturbing…
5 Feb 2010, 08:53 am
Lighten up people! Its Friday!
5 Feb 2010, 08:56 am
@Delek: Nope got to agree with Fern – why do you think the sheep are so attractive !
5 Feb 2010, 08:57 am
@stew: Why do you think we come to SA – to steal your women !!!
5 Feb 2010, 09:00 am
Anyhow there are hot chicks in NZ they just happen to be tourists!
5 Feb 2010, 09:03 am
@Sonito:
If they say something about us saffas it’s fine.
Jeepers I retract all my statements in this post and apologise unconditionally.
Bad karma.
Have already had a flat tyre and someone nearly throwing away a R45 000 piece of equipment!
Hectic.
Kia Kaha NZ!
5 Feb 2010, 09:12 am
Come on guys, surely you dont find the sevens tourny boring enough to rather talk about who has ‘vhe prittiest chickies’.
Blitzboks vs. NZ gonna be a good one, once again us, nz and fiji looking strong, hope blitzies can take the good form shown against wales forward to tomorrow and actualy do something with it.
If you dont win the cup final, nobody cares.
5 Feb 2010, 09:15 am
It is boring. No-one is man enough to admit it.
5 Feb 2010, 09:17 am
@Dawn: It is pretty boring wathcing the others play, but I’m on the edge of my seat everytime the Blitzies are playing, Cecil Afrika scored a hatric against wales, that guy got some serious wheels.
5 Feb 2010, 09:20 am
@FireStraeuli:
Did you see that Fiji winger? He has some serious gas also!
5 Feb 2010, 09:29 am
@gunther: hahahahahaha very funny Gunman
5 Feb 2010, 09:31 am
@Sonito: Fiji is looking prety good this year and if we loose to NZ in our last pool game we’ll face them again Fiji in the quarter finals for the third time in a row. But if we wanna be the best, we’ll have to be able to beat the best.
Seems our Blitzies are also finding it harder to stay at the top as apposed to getting to the top. Seems to be a SA problem, once our teams reach the top, they’re unable to stay their for a significant amount of time.
5 Feb 2010, 09:33 am
@Dawn:
sevens is boring unless it isthe knockout stages….
I have no interest in watching spain vs romania unless there are large calibre weapons involved….
5 Feb 2010, 09:36 am
@FireStraeuli:
Yeah we really struggle against Fiji. They are just to big and strong for us. Fiji are looking really impressive.
5 Feb 2010, 09:48 am
@Sonito: I think our problem when facing Fiji is we try to match them physically, which we clearly cant do.
We should actualy avoid a physical game altogether when playing them and use our speed. Keep the ball alive and do everything possible to starve them of posession.
5 Feb 2010, 09:50 am
@FireStraeuli:
maybe strooli for the new sevens coach with smit at 3?
5 Feb 2010, 09:55 am
@gunther: LOL, but i dont think it’s legal for the guys to play 7′s in the nude…and with Smitties larger than usual ***-ets it will cause an international incident…lol
5 Feb 2010, 09:57 am
@gunther:
G10 will tell you all about what he thinks about smit at 3. He rates Smit as the best tighthead in the world. Says he has posters of him in his bedroom and Smits No 3 jersey in his bar with 24 hour spot lights on it.
5 Feb 2010, 10:06 am
Well just watching some of the 7′s and I can tell you they know how to party there. We could learn from them. NZ and Hong Kong must hold the best 7′s tourney for sure.
George is dull compared. Maybe move our 7′s tourney to PE. The vibe there when we have the cricket is brilliant. Bands play the whole day and they sing the whole time the cricket is on too. Our 7′s tourney we have to be honest is just plain BORING compared to NZ. Let us be honest about that. They have something really special going on there. People really enjoying themselves.
Anyhow SA play NZ at 11am.
5 Feb 2010, 10:09 am
SA went 31-0 up in the first half against tiny Niue (pop. 1300) and then only added 7 points in the second half. Ran out of puff? Got complacent? Fact is, Niue score 10 points in that half to SA’s 7.
5 Feb 2010, 10:10 am
@Puma: Yep, they got the whole student life thing going there as well if i’m not mistaken, trust a bunch of crazy students to make a success of a party atmosphere.
George sevens kinda reminds me of saturday bowls. Definitaly needs an upgrade, and soon.
SA vs, NZ gonna be a tough one for us…Go BLITZIES!!!
5 Feb 2010, 10:13 am
@TheTackler: Blame complacency, it seems to be a South African problem I believe. That’s the same reason why we struggle to stay at the top once we get there.
5 Feb 2010, 10:22 am
@FireStraeuli: Howzit FS, Yip think we should move our tourney from George to a place where there is a bit more life about. George a beuatiful place but not for a tourney like the 7′s. PE maybe? Stellenbosch but think that time of year all the students are away on holiday. See plenty older people about in the stadium over there too. Even they are dressed up fancy dress..hehe. Must say everyone gets into the spirit over there for the 7′s. Good on them.
Think NZ should beat us we are rebuilding a new team. Many have left from last year now going to play in the S14.
5 Feb 2010, 10:25 am
@Puma: sorry typo there. beuatiful = beautiful
5 Feb 2010, 10:40 am
@Puma: Lekker and you P, I’m was very happy to turn on the tv this morning and find that the sevens has started again, my day has been made, and I’m currently getting my fix of rugby to keep me going ’till tomorrow.
I wonder if Goeorge also isnt a bit ‘rural’ for the average South African rugby nut, it’s beautifull and all, but that doesnt help the vibe. They should get a venue more accessible to the masses, and should rather go for a place that has a strong party vibe that time of year and give a festive party type feel as apposed to it just being rugby. PE could be the answer, maybe they should even consider moving it around the country each year instead of having it at just one stadium each year…you know, reach the masses.
Anyway, they’ll never do it though, so that’s us dreaming of the proverbial pie in the sky.
The rebuilding might be what we lacked at George and Dubai, new guys always keen to prove themselves, always good to keep a side filled with fresh youth, but NZ will be very tough, they want top spot.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All