Blitzboks to face Fiji in quarters

The Springbok Sevens disappointed with a 19-7 defeat against New Zealand in the final match of day one in the Wellington tournament.

Although both sides had already confirmed Cup quarterfinal qualification, South Africa and New Zealand faced each other in a crucial Pool A game. The winners would move on to an easier fixture against Australia, while the losers would meet an in form Fijian outfit.

Considering the Boks lost against Fiji in the last two Cup quarterfinals, it was important for Paul Treu’s charges to top Pool A.

However – not for the first time – the Blitzboks failed to perform when it mattered most as they went down to hosts New Zealand as they conceded two late tries.

South Africa had the upper hand for most of the first stanza, as they kept the Kiwis restricted in their half. However, poor defence from stalwart Mzwandile Stick allowed Sherwin Stowers to slip past for the opening try.

On the half-time mark, a late attack from the Blitzboks saw Ryno Benjamin through and Stick added the conversion to level the scores.

After the break, South Africa stole the early momentum again, but lacked the composure in attack to take the lead.

This cost the World Series champions as New Zealand went ahead two minutes from time through Zar Lawrence.

The result was confirmed when Chris Baker crossed the chalk in the final minute.

Earlier in the day, the Blitzboks impressed with two convincing wins against Wales and Niue.

In their second fixture of the day, Cecil Afrika’s hat-trick helped the Boks down Wales 38-5 to confirm a place in the Cup quarterfinals.

Afrika crossed the whitewash twice and Marius Schoeman scored a try as the Boks surged into a 19-0 half-time lead.

Afrika then completed his hat-trick after the break, while Ryno Benjamin and Hoffman Maritz crossed the line to seal the win. Wales only managed one consolation try through Ifan Evans.

In the Boks’ first match, Western Province speedster Steven Hunt grabbed a brace as they secured a 38-10 against Niue.

South Africa dominated the first half as they scored five tries to take a 31-0 lead at half-time.

Niue, however, produced a better overall performance in the second stanza as the Boks only managed to score one try.

Springboks Sevens results, Day 1:
South Africa 38 Niue 10
South Africa 38 Wales 5
New Zealand 19 South Africa 7

For more results and fixtures click here

485 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

• 151.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Puma: yes please puma, i will be supporting brazil mainly because the porra who sold me chips and sweets from the corner shop when i grew up was such a cold hearted ******* and i think his sweets were all beacon rejects.

and i hate ronaldo.

gotta go to lunch, have a good one all!

• 152.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

LOL…very funny……. :) they might be percived to be slow but when it comes to rugger the boys north of the Jukskei are pure genius !!!

• 153.justrugby: Reply to this comment

percived = perceived

• 154.Puma: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: LOL. Will support Brazil too.

• 155.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Puma: hey Puma, no love for the “all whites” this year then?

• 156.Papoose: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: hahahaha
    doubt G10 will et me through with tht
    Grants on his own crusade this days with regards to Smit anyways

dont comment tht often but read the comments daily
    gets nauseating when a thread abt eg. Kallis’s technique can be hijacked abt why Smit needs to retire
    eish

thx anyways

• 157.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Papoose: Yeah that sure is hectic, oh well, more powa’ to Smit. G10 very quiet today though, he might be a bit skaam over yesterdays’ outbursts. LOL

• 158.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Papoose: post 148 has the codes for superbru..

• 159.justrugby: Reply to this comment

“Met a freind the other day………….said he met the new white Pele………

I said oh who is he ……….he said he goes by the name Wayne Rooney……wayne Rooney…..wayne rooney” !!!!

To be heard chanted by 76 000 Man Utd supporters every game…..gotta love the way they suppport, really wish we had a culture of support like that !!!

• 160.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: That’s one thing us South Africans suck at, chanting at games, singing…same old chatn song always rimging accros the fields….’olayyyyy olay olay olayyy, ooolay ooolay’ and we cant even do that well.

Sad realy.

• 161.Puma: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: 154 – Howzit Poppa, Who are the “All Whites” is is NZ? Have no idea mate.

Going to support Bafana until they are out, probably go out in the first round but who knows may make the 2nd, doubt it though. Then will support Holland once they out will support Brazil.

Not big into football but cause it is the world cup I get into it and espcially cause it is held here. Going to be awesome I think. Can not wait.

• 162.grant10: Reply to this comment

G10 never sad about what i said yesterday….ever!

Just been damn busy.

Smit….3???

Nuts

• 163.Simon: Reply to this comment

The South African Rugby Union has announced a major new signing.

Bokkie made his first appearance at the launch of SARU’s Champion Tour and can be spotted at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2SPCxsLxDd0

The new character will become a familiar face around South African rugby as Bokkie will be used in a host of marketing, communication and commercial activities.

• 164.Puma: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: 159 – Agree FS, Why can we not get a good song to sing and stick with it. Get to know the words proper. Remember in world cup 95 we all sang Shoshaloza think that was great that time. Maybe should start to sing that again instead of the insane Olay, Olay, Olay. Nothing in that just nothing really. We need to have a proper song to sing.

• 165.stew: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Got to admire your tenacity ! LOL

• 166.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli:
    Agree boet…..just not in our culture……not what the “manne” do……huge pity !!!

• 167.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: @152

“GIVE HIM ANOTHER CHANCE!”

• 168.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

I had a dream last night that Smitretired….that’s what blogging does !!!!!

What happens…….. I wake up this morning and Smith announces his retiremnt…….close but no cigar !!!!

• 169.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

LOL !!!

• 170.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Puma:
    @justrugby:

Well i actualy forgot about one song sung by the so callsed ‘manne’ at loftus, but lets noooooooot go back there again.

Next thing Koert Darren nominated himself to write the national sports chant…cotch no.

Brits are pretty darn good at it, singing and chanting, they blow us away every time.

• 171.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: 2 X Huge LOL

• 172.Puma: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: 169 – Yip they are the best at it. The Lions supporters I sat next too at Kings Park drowned us out with their singing. Also during the cricket here they sang non-stop.

We should learn some good rugby song or something closer to our hearts in SA and sing that, but that daft Olay, Olay, Olay is ssoooooooooooooo boring and it just sounds stupid really.

• 173.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: @151

Im not as au fais with these SA provincial stereotypes to be honest, but you dont have to be to find that joke funny.

As for ‘genius’ well, yes, they are by a considerable distance the most successful SA team in the Super comps. And yet, still only 4th on the table of success. For the record:-

Team Wins Runner-up

Crusaders 7 2
    Blues 3 1
    Brumbies 2 3
    Bulls 2 0
    Sharks 0 3
    Waratahs 0 2
    Highlanders0 1
    Hurricanes0 1
    Chiefs 0 1

• 174.grant10: Reply to this comment

bloody hell….Andre Pretorious out for season….thoght it was a joke…..cant believe the okes luck….

He looked slick against Sharks…..think its al over rover for Preorious now.

Justrugby, G Smith was a superstar of note ..29 only, big payday in europe i reckon.

Pocock is very good, but Smith will be missed .

• 175.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Check my Sharks…3 finals and nothing to show for it, that’s just bad luck. Gonna take some doing to take those numbers away from the Saders…hectic…but doubt if the blue balle will be able to do the math on that one either..LOL

• 176.grant10: Reply to this comment

smit will still be playing in a Zimmerframe….good bucks…and lots of sentimental sharks ladies on the site that would rather have a 1 legged smit on the field than not.

Dont you fellows know that Bok rugby cannot function without this man?

• 177.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

With those stas the Crusaders are the professors , the rest really still just eager pupils !!! :)

• 178.stew: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: You said it my man …. and time for the professors to reclaim their title back from the usurpers

• 179.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: @151

furthermore, on that subject of stereotypes and, in this case, Bulls players/supporters….

after EOYT’09, a couple of months ago, I got invited to John Smits Charity Dinner here in London (book launch + ‘most capped Captain ever’). It was great (esp being a freebie), ALL the Boks were there, a few ABs (incl McCaw, Nonu, sundry others) and a couple of Poms (Grewcock, wtf ?!). I sat at a table with a couple of Kiwi mates, all the others being Safas.

What struck us Kiwis was the reaction from our table when the Boks spoke. J.Smit was exceptionally eloquent, respectful and intelligent. But before him, Victor Matfield spoke (together with McCaw – the general ‘Smit is a great player/Capt’ lines etc). We Kiwis thought Matfield was very good, very relaxed, naturally witty, albeit not as sophisticated, perhaps, as Smit. But, to a man, the Safas at our table all held their heads in ther hands, cringing with embarrassment, saying how “dumb” the bloke is. Perhaps, because we know our own cultures very well, there are things that trigger these reactions – the joke above certainly seems to promote that. But it was slightly disrespectful and seemed out of place. And ‘dumb’ was the lest word we would have chosen, far from it.

Its funny these perceptions we can get of our own people differing from other cultures. I met most of these players during course of night, Bakkies was huuuuuuuuuge (BaXXies !) and seemed humble, Schalk with his 70′s porno ‘mo appeared so laid back as to be horizontal (funny guy too), and by far the most surly/rude ones were 1. Habana (sometimes its best not to meet yr heroes, me thinks), followed by 2. Bismarck (a permanent look of “I dont want to be here !”).

• 180.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@grant10: Whilst Province turncoats would rather axe our captain the year before the WC. Gee, I’ve watched this movie before.

• 181.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): 179

And the first young lady makes her appearance….

Hi ….dont worry….alls well…Smit is in team…dont stress now young lady.

• 182.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

Province turncoats BBWWWAAAAAHHHH………..sentimental ***** cat !!

A Shark with no teeth !!!!

• 183.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: @174

what that Table also highlights is the craziness of the new S15 format from 2011 whereby each Conference (Aus/SA/NZ) provides 2 teams each for the Playoffs, presumably to make it more inclusive for the fans and not necessarily rewarding quality.

All 5 X NZ Super teams have reached the Final, 10 titles won out of 14.

Only 2 x Aus teams have reached the Final, only 1 team has won it.

Only 2 x SA teams have reached the Final, only 1 team has won it.

What started out as an ‘elite competition’ has now become simply a commercial exercise in squeezing the most out of broadcasters and sponsors as possible.

• 184.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Precisely. Who are they really bowing to, when you consider the NPC and CC. Bloody convicts.

@justrugby: @grant10: Luke Watson is god, no wait he sucks lets boo him, wait wait wait he’s god again…….. Lets rather force our bok captain into retirement after probably our most successful modern season, so that Luke can return and lead the Proteas.

• 185.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@grant10: @justrugby: And just what exactly do you 2 clowns know anyway? Don’t worry ‘pundits’ the sharks are toothless cause Dollie is the best 10 we got, Beast is dropped for Jannie and Carstens is a better 3 than Smit! Keep reading the Argus enough and you’ll believe anything!

• 186.stew: Reply to this comment

Question – what will happen if the Bulls for example make top of the log for the S14 ( i know this is a pipe dream)

Will they be able to play the final at Loftus ??????

• 187.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Why don’t we just cut the chaff and play the Super 9?

I can confidently say that 2 of these sides listed will contest the final. Why bother with the pretenders??

Crusaders 7 2
    Blues 3 1
    Brumbies 2 3
    Bulls 2 0
    Sharks 0 3
    Waratahs 0 2
    Highlanders0 1
    Hurricanes0 1
    Chiefs 0 1

• 188.stew: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Scary to see

5 NZ sides
    2 Aus sides
    2 SA sides

• 189.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): @186

perhaps youre right (for once). So, in 2010 its the Mighty Highlanders and who else ?

• 190.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

If you aplied the same logic in the CC based on the competitions history you (sharks) would be palying with Northern free State and the Valke !!

• 191.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

What about the Lions?

You forgot that Transvaal won in 1993, and were in the final in 1995?

The Reds also, they won in 1994 and 1995?

• 192.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@justrugby: Um no clown. I applied the logic of dropping all the sides who have not contested a final. Correct me if I’m wrong but the Sharks have contested many CC finals and in fact won quite a few. Don’t they ever print the truth in the Argus?

• 193.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: Indeed. I guess we should look at the whole history including the S10. Pitty to have to include the reds and lions though. Maybe we should just keep it to the last 10 years. WP close to being under threat in the CC!!

• 194.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

Contesting a final means squat…..zero……nothing !!! (well maybe a few bucks )…..it tells me you choke quite often though, even with the greatest leader of all time !!

Sharks have won squat !!!!…. they have finshed bottom on occasions though …..the Mecury or daily news not tell you ???/it’s in the archives I promise you !!!

• 195.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: @190
    @Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): @192

Cmon, dont go incl the previous invitation-only amateur Comps. Certainly the criteria was polar opposite and the ‘franchise’ element did not exist. The only ‘Super’ comps to be considered are those from 1996- , we all know that.

• 196.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

Canterbury/Crusaders 7 2
    Auckland/Blues 3 2
    ACT Brumbies 2 2
    NTvl/Bulls 2 0
    Queensland/Reds 2 0
    Tvl/Lions 1 1
    Natal/Sharks 0 4
    NSW Waratahs 0 2
    Hurricanes 0 1
    Chiefs 0 1
    Highlanders 0 1

• 197.stew: Reply to this comment

One week to go – predictions
    Blues
    Brumbies
    Saders
    Stormers
    Bulls
    Chiefs
    Tahs

• 198.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: 182 – BP, Blame it on OZ. Pity it will come to that this great tourney.

• 199.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

Nah. Super Rugby started in 1993…

• 200.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@justrugby: Ah yes, but then contesting a semi means even less. Easy on your high horse, all that silverware in your cabinet must of gone to your head. When last did you win anything? Oh yes the Neo-whateva cup, best season in the Cape since 2001.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.