Blitzboks to face Fiji in quarters
5 Feb 2010
The Springbok Sevens disappointed with a 19-7 defeat against New Zealand in the final match of day one in the Wellington tournament.
Although both sides had already confirmed Cup quarterfinal qualification, South Africa and New Zealand faced each other in a crucial Pool A game. The winners would move on to an easier fixture against Australia, while the losers would meet an in form Fijian outfit.
Considering the Boks lost against Fiji in the last two Cup quarterfinals, it was important for Paul Treu’s charges to top Pool A.
However – not for the first time – the Blitzboks failed to perform when it mattered most as they went down to hosts New Zealand as they conceded two late tries.
South Africa had the upper hand for most of the first stanza, as they kept the Kiwis restricted in their half. However, poor defence from stalwart Mzwandile Stick allowed Sherwin Stowers to slip past for the opening try.
On the half-time mark, a late attack from the Blitzboks saw Ryno Benjamin through and Stick added the conversion to level the scores.
After the break, South Africa stole the early momentum again, but lacked the composure in attack to take the lead.
This cost the World Series champions as New Zealand went ahead two minutes from time through Zar Lawrence.
The result was confirmed when Chris Baker crossed the chalk in the final minute.
Earlier in the day, the Blitzboks impressed with two convincing wins against Wales and Niue.
In their second fixture of the day, Cecil Afrika’s hat-trick helped the Boks down Wales 38-5 to confirm a place in the Cup quarterfinals.
Afrika crossed the whitewash twice and Marius Schoeman scored a try as the Boks surged into a 19-0 half-time lead.
Afrika then completed his hat-trick after the break, while Ryno Benjamin and Hoffman Maritz crossed the line to seal the win. Wales only managed one consolation try through Ifan Evans.
In the Boks’ first match, Western Province speedster Steven Hunt grabbed a brace as they secured a 38-10 against Niue.
South Africa dominated the first half as they scored five tries to take a 31-0 lead at half-time.
Niue, however, produced a better overall performance in the second stanza as the Boks only managed to score one try.
Springboks Sevens results, Day 1:
South Africa 38 Niue 10
South Africa 38 Wales 5
New Zealand 19 South Africa 7
For more results and fixtures click here

485 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 » Show All
5 Feb 2010, 15:28 pm
@Puma: 295
In that case….JDV…come home boy!!
5 Feb 2010, 15:32 pm
@Puma: ja…i am at Green Point tomorrow for the 1 st time with Stormers game….we can be very proud!
Have to say, from the outside the Durban stadium looks the best of the lot!
That will be a full house….2 great teams….
As you know i am in here for the games at Green Point as well….my first time at a soccer WC ….so its a special year for us all….
Go Bafana….hope our boys make us proud!
5 Feb 2010, 15:32 pm
@Puma:
It will be very special Puma, enjoy !!
5 Feb 2010, 15:33 pm
You very out going for someone your age Grant.
5 Feb 2010, 15:33 pm
@Jozi: @298
But I thought folks from Western Province could understand Afrikaans ?!
5 Feb 2010, 15:36 pm
@Jozi:
LOL…give the bugger a bucket to drink from !!!
5 Feb 2010, 15:36 pm
@Wezwp: LOL
i am 47….not 90!!
lIFE IS BEAUTIFUL….
live it….smile and enthusiasm never hurt anyone.
Give someone a piece of your heart….before a piece of your mind….
But always be honest….and never be a sheep….
Okay…lesson over….
Smit still cant scrum
5 Feb 2010, 15:37 pm
They can its just that they like English more.
weepee don’t need bj.
they’ve already got the monster, powerhouse that destroys fron rows and runs/handles like a back…….brock harris
@Big Hit: @277
wonderfully masterful insight, Lord Barry.
and exactly which law is it that has changed ?
@grant10:
It looks like i have missed out on the Algeria /England game !!!
5 Feb 2010, 15:38 pm
Alot of beautiful woman are afrikaans though.
5 Feb 2010, 15:39 pm
@justrugby: Looking forward to it a lot. I am not so much into football but always do get into it around the wc, only now that it is been held here will really get into it. Have 2 Scots mates coming too. Had 4 coming but 2 wont come as the utter greed from the airlines charging so much for airfares here.
You know what the airfares will cost from Joburg to Durbs durning the world cup? R8 000 return. From CT R10 000 return. That is utter greed. A airfare from Scotland is costing around R18 000. Complete utter greed. Last year my mates paid only R7 000 for their airfares to South Africa from Scotland. The airlines are ripping people off. Feel really angry about it. Feel for my mates that can not come. I know their team never made it but they all still wanted to come. Anyhow have 2 of them still coming. Should be good. Feel very proud of our new Stadium. It is brilliant.
5 Feb 2010, 15:41 pm
@charo:
LOL…. don’t mock Brock !!!…….my man of the match against the Sharks, just for the tackle on Deysel !!!
5 Feb 2010, 15:41 pm
@Black Panther:
Very sharp Waka, very sharp.
@justrugby: Yeah I’ll give our kiwi mates here LOL
5 Feb 2010, 15:43 pm
@justrugby: 310
Hell thats kak…we will have to convince the blonde to give up her ticket….
Ek sal bid….maar belowe fokkal…
5 Feb 2010, 15:44 pm
@grant10: 301 – Grant, Saw your new Stadium on Boots last night. It also looks a gem of a stadium. We have some really awesome stadiums here now counting the new ones and the already built Rugby Stadiums. We are sure lucky to have em hey?
The one in Durbs looks really magnificent. Something I have never seen before. Think the design is all German and most of everything they built it with was shipped out of Germany. So it is QUALITY!! You know how the Germans love to be 100% on everything.
Charo….Brock is developing nicely….keep an eye on him.
@Puma:
It is diabolical, the greed is the one thing that could yet put a dampner on the WC, something needs to urgently done to address it !!
I also had family that were going to come over, but they can no longer afford it , they are off for a holiday in Tunisia instead !!
5 Feb 2010, 15:45 pm
@Wezwp: For sure.
5 Feb 2010, 15:46 pm
@grant10:
LOL !!!
5 Feb 2010, 15:46 pm
just Quaffing some Dry white s. blanc on a friday afternoon while everyone cant wait to get home.
5 Feb 2010, 15:47 pm
@Puma: Ja….but we mustnot rip off the visitors here…that is so greedy my man….we can ensure they come back time and time again….rip them off its so short sighted. I feel so strongly about making the visitors love every second here.
Damn we mustnt allow greed to chase people away.
Very sad about yourmates air fares…that is appalling!
@Wezwp:
Ageist.
@justrugby: Yip, The greed is just terrible, it could ruin it a lot. Also read no South African beer will be sold in the Stadiums. Only that awful Budwieser. Then Fifa who imported it all has not imported enough…..hahaha. Now have asked SAB to sell Castle in no-name bottles…..LOL. The greed hey! Going to cost them.
Where your family live JR?
5 Feb 2010, 15:48 pm
@grant10: @281
oh stop it.
nuffs enuff.
The TWO complaints here on this very blog in 2009 were 1. breakdown (interpretation of by refs) and 2. scrums
So SANZAR – all THREE partners ! – agreed to do something about it.
1. Breakdown – They havent ‘changed the rule’. Theyve asked the refs to interpret it to the letter. Just like people here complained about.
2. Scrums – theyre now going to police, review and ‘name & shame’.
So now youre complaining about them reacting to your complaints in 2009 ?!
As for the Kiwis and their (yawn) conspiracy with Aussies. Strange isnt it, that McCaw is 1 of the very best at that breakdown technique, and yet the Kiwis have agreed to a rule that completely negates McCaw key technique. So good was he, that Jake White and his puppet Capt, Muller, chose to label him “a cheat” for it in order to gain an advan for the RWC’07. But, no, apparently this rule interpretation is the Kiwis idea……how dumb can you get.
Scrums ? well I reckon teams like Hurricanes will suffer, Cheifs too. And they were 2 of the best 3 NZ teams in ’09.
Lets not judge these new interpretations too quickly, its vvvvvvvery early days and they all need time to adapt.
5 Feb 2010, 15:48 pm
@Wezwp: Lekker!!
Now phone the lady and get that sushi….
5 Feb 2010, 15:51 pm
@Black Panther: 325
Okay….lets give it some time…
But if we get hammered…i am reserving my right to blame you kissing cousins…
5 Feb 2010, 15:51 pm
@Wezwp:
5 Feb 2010, 15:52 pm
@grant10: The airfares from everywhere that time is ridiculous.
Read some of the German club coaches that were going to come said they wont because of the greed. The high airfares and hotel prices.
We should be careful about that otherwise the amount of tourists we think we will get we wont.
My Scottish mates that can not afford to come cause of the steep airfares will come in September. They come here every year. Pity they can not make the world cup. 2 of them can and they will be coming with me and my other mate to the Portugal/Brazil game. Should be good.
Enjoy your time tomorrow Grant, at the New Stadium. I saw it last night on Boots and it looks superb.
5 Feb 2010, 15:52 pm
not sure if i should mention this on a forum….but what the hell…
Tues night i am having cocktails at Leeuwenhof…the residency of the Premier….Helen Zille…
Damn…i am excited!
5 Feb 2010, 15:53 pm
@Black Panther: come on BP, even you as a kiwi must be getting tired of this ****, every year they find a new way to screw up our game in the name of entertaining a RL audience in Australia
5 Feb 2010, 15:53 pm
@grant10:
Mr-Outgoing-For-Your-Age
You are far too nice.
I would’ve donnered him long time one time.
5 Feb 2010, 15:54 pm
@Puma:
Grant 10 ….no Windhoeks !!!!! What now ???/
They are all in the UK Puma, my Dad is a fully fledged POM !!!
Mud Island not for me, I don’t mind a holiday !! but after 2 weeks the african drums starts beating strongly !!
@Puma: we are so stupid….i would keep prices as low as possible to ensure the tourists come againand again…
Greed…a son of a *****.
I thought i wanted world cup tickets then my spidey senses told me to wait for phase 4.
5 Feb 2010, 15:55 pm
@Dawn: LOL
I will dorner that bloody Ratel grump!
Call justrugby a clown and a tool
Wally!
5 Feb 2010, 15:57 pm
@grant10:
You’ll have a lot more fun on my balcony !!!
5 Feb 2010, 15:57 pm
@justrugby: 333
No windhoeks….hell no!
And i refuse to drink that yankee doodle dan poison….
Witblits and a boerewors roll!
5 Feb 2010, 15:58 pm
@justrugby: 337
ja….
but Helens cool…..love the twinkle in her eye….
And want to ask her opinion on smit at 3…
5 Feb 2010, 15:58 pm
@grant10:
You psyched to watch the game tomorrow at Green Point Stadium?
5 Feb 2010, 15:59 pm
@grant10:
Invite him for a Firemans scrumming session !!
Ratel/Ostrichman vs JR /G10…..place your bets !!!!
5 Feb 2010, 16:00 pm
@justrugby: NO Windhoeks for Grant..haha. Or my mates. That is what they mostly drank here last year.
Have to then buy the no-name bottles as that is Castle. Not too keen on that either really…haha.
So you half a pom? Hope you never support England..LOL.
Too cold for me up there.
@grant10: 334 – We should but probably wont.
Okay all out of here for now. Need to catch up with of work. Need to take a business call now from the UK too. Catch up later.
5 Feb 2010, 16:00 pm
@WP Till I Die: hi there
For sure i am….must admit its more about the stadium than the rugby….
Are you ?
See you at Mitchells?
5 Feb 2010, 16:01 pm
I am happy to announce that our campaign to Save Dave, the poor Macquarie banker who was busted on live television watching pics of Miranda Kerr was successful!
Dave is going to keep his job!
@Puma: of = bit
@grant10:
Twinkle in her eye ??, sis man !!….. behave !!!
I see trouble on the horizon !!!
5 Feb 2010, 16:02 pm
@justrugby: LOL
they got youth on there side…..
And with my achilles and your kak groin??
I reckon we in kak my man!
5 Feb 2010, 16:03 pm
@WP Till I Die: Excellent.
5 Feb 2010, 16:03 pm
@Puma: cheers Puma
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 » Show All