Blitzboks to face Fiji in quarters

The Springbok Sevens disappointed with a 19-7 defeat against New Zealand in the final match of day one in the Wellington tournament.

Although both sides had already confirmed Cup quarterfinal qualification, South Africa and New Zealand faced each other in a crucial Pool A game. The winners would move on to an easier fixture against Australia, while the losers would meet an in form Fijian outfit.

Considering the Boks lost against Fiji in the last two Cup quarterfinals, it was important for Paul Treu’s charges to top Pool A.

However – not for the first time – the Blitzboks failed to perform when it mattered most as they went down to hosts New Zealand as they conceded two late tries.

South Africa had the upper hand for most of the first stanza, as they kept the Kiwis restricted in their half. However, poor defence from stalwart Mzwandile Stick allowed Sherwin Stowers to slip past for the opening try.

On the half-time mark, a late attack from the Blitzboks saw Ryno Benjamin through and Stick added the conversion to level the scores.

After the break, South Africa stole the early momentum again, but lacked the composure in attack to take the lead.

This cost the World Series champions as New Zealand went ahead two minutes from time through Zar Lawrence.

The result was confirmed when Chris Baker crossed the chalk in the final minute.

Earlier in the day, the Blitzboks impressed with two convincing wins against Wales and Niue.

In their second fixture of the day, Cecil Afrika’s hat-trick helped the Boks down Wales 38-5 to confirm a place in the Cup quarterfinals.

Afrika crossed the whitewash twice and Marius Schoeman scored a try as the Boks surged into a 19-0 half-time lead.

Afrika then completed his hat-trick after the break, while Ryno Benjamin and Hoffman Maritz crossed the line to seal the win. Wales only managed one consolation try through Ifan Evans.

In the Boks’ first match, Western Province speedster Steven Hunt grabbed a brace as they secured a 38-10 against Niue.

South Africa dominated the first half as they scored five tries to take a 31-0 lead at half-time.

Niue, however, produced a better overall performance in the second stanza as the Boks only managed to score one try.

Springboks Sevens results, Day 1:
South Africa 38 Niue 10
South Africa 38 Wales 5
New Zealand 19 South Africa 7

For more results and fixtures click here

485 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 » Show All

• 351.Fern: Reply to this comment

OK the Soccer World Cup is being played and there are visitors from around the globe in SA.
    3 sharks are hanging aound the backline and having a chat.They al agree they are hungry.
    The first sharks says that he is heading off to Ansteys to see what he can find.
    The second sharks says he is heading off to North Pier to see what he can find.
    The third shark says he is heading off to Blue Lagoon to see what he can find.
    They all agree to meet again after 2 days and discuss their meals.
    2 days pass and they meet up again.
    The first shark says he took a South African.His mates asks how does he know.
    He replies”Man after that second bite I could taste the biltong,beer and braaivleis in his stomach”.
    Second shark reckons he took a german.His mates asks how does he know.
    He replies”Man after the first bite I could only taste sauerkraut,eisbein and pilsener”.
    Third shark says he took a New Zealander.His mates asks how does he know.
    He replies “Man after the third bite I noticed this oke had no backbone”.

• 352.grant10: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: yes…good on you

Go Dave!

• 353.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

I am not even going to ask for more information on JR’s groin injury…

• 354.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Puma:

Only half Pom…..and I never support them….ever !!! lol

Well maybe at football, if all african sides eliminated then I will be behind England !!!

But rugger, cricket ….never !!

• 355.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die:

Where’s Macquarie?

Who’s Miranda Kerr?????

• 356.Dawn: Reply to this comment

If I was from Macquarie I’d also be looking at pics of Miranda.

Probably nothing else to do!

• 357.grant10: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: old war injury….caused by stretching over the bar counter to pinch a waitresses butt if i rmember correctly…

She did have a very sexy butt….in his defence

• 358.grant10: Reply to this comment

never quite understood porn to be honest….always thought *** was a contact sport.

• 359.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@grant10: @327

and you reserving that right changes what exactly ?

@Big Hit: @331

its very odd that everyone complains about how dire some of the rugby was last year, partic scrums & breakdowns, and yet when they try to do something about it – NO LAWS HAVE CHANGED – then everyone b*tches and moans.

Lord Barry, the Poms, Scots, Welsh & Paddys, ALL complained about the concept of a RWC too, dont forget. The Safas even helped organise it even tho they knew they couldnt participate. How funny that you/Engl now place 110% weighting on the RWC that it now suits you. How convenient.

And lets not forget that the very minute the Brits agreed to test out the ELVs, they cowardly rejected it out of hand and cherrypicked only the ones they want. We ended up with 2 sets of rules, pathetic. End result – when it comes to rugbys rules I trust NZ, SA 1st and foremost. I dont trust John O’Neill 1 iota but atleast the ARU are progressive and want the game taken to a World stage, I think it deserves it. Schucks, even the Olympics agree with that now.

But, to be honest, my 1 real concern about the breakdown rule interpretation is that it almost guarantees the attacking team possession. Yes, like League. Rugby union should surely be about open contest of the ball, hence its ebb and flow. For that reason I HATE crooked feeds to the scrums and HATE dodgy throws to lineouts ! I want tightheads and backlines reshuffling.

So, if we suddenly see rugby similar to the Brumbies era late-90′s (?) when they would rumble for 10+ phases whilst making 3yards, then the rule will have been a failure. But until we see that, I say lets keep an OPEN MIND ! remember the RWC !!!

• 360.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

LOL !!! but remember they are sharks and we know they cannot scrum ….(only a joke Sharkies :) )

• 361.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

Miranda Kerr is a particularly well-shaped paragon of female beauty!

• 362.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

Howzit there by you today.

Cold?

• 363.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Cheers all have a great weekend……

Ratel come with your “A” game on Monday…..like taking candy from a baby :)

• 364.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: I didn’t want really want an essay BP, I had to read until your second last paragraph to see what you really think :)

I don’t think using the RWC concept is really a great jusitification for every hare-brained scheme O’Neill and O’Brien come up with tbh. I think this 6N is going to be a disaster on the reffing front, I hope I’m wrong.

• 365.grant10: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: 359

Rather a beer drinking competetion

Losers pay the bill

We will klap them stukkend!

• 366.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die:

Is she from Macquarie?

@Big Hit:

He does go on a bit, doesn’t he.

• 367.grant10: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: cheers

• 368.charo: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

if there is going to be a beer drinking competition, count me in.

reigning champion of ghana.

• 369.grant10: Reply to this comment

@charo: cool…but i reckon we will second you onto our team……you know….the over 40 s….

Ratel Rangerman and Gunther….vs Charo, Justrugby and G10…

And on our bench Robzim….Skopskiet to carry the drinks….

Ref…Puma…

• 370.charo: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

hmmmm robzim is a wine tippler – might have to find another bullet as reserve.

skoppie is teetotal so he can drive me home (as in car that is)

• 371.grant10: Reply to this comment

@charo: LOL

Robzim not scared of a beer or 2….

Dawn to count the dead soldiers as she elegantly sips her Famous Grouse….

Skop designated driver….

game on!

• 372.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10: @306 too much heart and not enough mind (brains) in that last comment. “Smit cant scrum” ???????

• 373.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I’m going to Danville, then Macquarie.

• 374.justrugby: Reply to this comment

‘Groot skelms’ annoy Stofile
    Feb 05 2010 15:12

Print story | E-mail article

Pretoria – Airlines and the hospitality industry should not overcharge over the Football World Cup to the detriment of future tourism, Sports Minister Makhenkesi Stofile said on Friday.

“Nobody wants to be fleeced like that and never come back to our country,” Stofile told a media briefing in Pretoria after a 2010 inter-ministerial committee meeting.

“It’s a serious injustice. They are going to go home and convince themselves we are a bunch of ‘groot skelms’.”

Stofile said government was concerned about the Competition Commission’s recent announcement it was investigating price collusion in the airline industry.”We’ll await the report but we really want to enjoin airlines not to milk the people… It’s not right.”

He also urged hotels, restaurants and the like to not up their prices exorbitantly to exploit customers.

The hospitality industry had signed an agreement in 2004 which set a benchmark on prices.

However, since then new businesses had entered the market and were exempt from these conditions.

“We have consistently pleaded with South Africans not to fall into this temptation,” said Stofile.

• 375.grant10: Reply to this comment

gotta run….cheers all…

Gotta start practicing for the beer drinking showdown….

No…walk then movie with the blonde….

Go sharks and stormers…

Smit you beauty….

• 376.grant10: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy: 371

he cant….at 3…

At 2…great

• 377.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

I drink beer.

• 378.grant10: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: too young and good looking….only old ,cranky buggers allowed….

You damn right you can drink beer….i am witness to that!
    Cheers mate…sent an e mail

• 379.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

One thing I’m never doing again is downing a bottle of red wine.

Got dared to do it last night. Sigh. Must learn to grow up and not accept stupid dares!

• 380.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: @363

like I keep saying, BH, the ability to cherrypick what you wish is an innate characteristic.

Balls

Bollox

Cojones

Coglioni

This is what the Kiwis/Aussies/Safas have in spades.

• 381.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@grant10: @368

The Annual ‘Drinking Horn’ at Otago University (witnessed by 1000′s, digital touch-pads, the lot) was 1 of, if not the, highlights of the social calendar.

So I hope you respect Boat Race Protocol and ensure that any event to retain official status, the teams must be NUDE.

• 382.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

Are your cojones as big as mine?

• 383.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

A drinking horn the highlight of the social calendar.

Shame man.

• 384.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

Ah yes, the “best of three” Drinking Horn usually held in the old Oddfellows Hall in Fredrick Street, just down from George Street.

Wasn’t that organised by the O.S.M. and the Dental School? A rugby game in the afternoon, and the Drinking Horn in the evening.

Did you guys do it with that handles of those horrible beers Speights used to make?

• 385.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Drinking Horn, Oddfellows, Frederick and George Street, Dental School.

WTF!!!!

• 386.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

No, but I only have 2.

@Dawn:

I said NUDE, Dawn.

@WP Till I Die:

Youre scaring me, you really really are.

Come on, confess. Youre the guy behind the CCTV arent you ?!

Starter for 10:-

Q: who/what is ‘Fastforward’ ?

• 387.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die:

2 classifications actually (1) pints & (2) jugs.

Speights. 1 of the most dire liquids currently masquerading as ‘beer’. It should have not ever have been re-classified outside its original purpose as being a guaranteed tonic and cure for constipation.

Hideous. But most Scarfies worth their salt drank Tall Steinies.

• 388.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

BTW, how come youre blogging here today, I thought Peaches was still touring ?

• 389.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: ’383

you may not find ‘Fastforward’ on Google……altho I see….

“Ah yes, the Drinking Horn. Every year (about when??) the O.S.M. and the Dental School held a competition. A rugby game in the afternoon, and the Drinking Horn in the evening – also know in some circles as a “boatrace”.

The general idea was for two teams of six, kneeling at either side of a table, to drink down, in turn (#1 to #6) a 12-ounce handle of that awful beer Speights used to make, and we used to pretend to like.”

….did come in 1st on the search.

Come on now, WPUID, thats cheatin.

• 390.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

and, I might add, that Google search was inaccurate. They were not ‘teams of 6′ but of 4.

The Final event was between the Otago Allstars vs Canterbury. Always nude.

My flatmate won the Jug skull. In 2.1secs.

• 391.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: stop pretending the sa teams want law changes, why would they? they’re on top of the world and stuffing the All Blacks and Wallabies. No, this is an Aus/NZ push and everyone else has to suffer the b/s.

• 392.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit:

since WHEN do Safas do what Kiwis & Aussies ‘want’ ?!

All SANZAR partners are on board, how on Earth would these interpretations come about if they werent. The no 1 jersey in NZ rugby is, and always has been, the no7 – so why are they promoting a rule that will negate that historical strength ? Oh, Richie, we know youre a genius but we’re sick of you cleaning up at the breakdown….

Obviously you just cant get your head around adminstrators agreeing to something and not then doing secret deals behind others back to immediately abandon them.

What do you care anyway, BH. It doesnt affect your precious wee cossetted World of 6N or Guinn Prem. You seem innately sensitive to anything Sth African – either admit you are 1, finally, or grow a bl**dy spine.

• 393.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit:

BTW, BH – ‘the team on top of the World’ ?

really truly pathetic. Whatever misgivings you conveniently may have about World Rankings, only a blind man would have trouble seeing where the performance graphs were heading at the end of 2009.

• 394.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: actually it does affect the 6N which is why I brought it up in first place, check the Beeb for Martyn Williams’s comments on the new reffing. wouldn’t read too much into EOYT games.

• 395.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit</a

Big *** can you confirm the rumour the Haka will be performed at Twickers for the 6 Nations?

• 396.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit:

have it your way, and noone would read anything in to any game but the ones you personally select. Every single Test match matters to the Blacks & Boks – I dare any Safa to indicate otherwise.

Did Engls win in Wellington (02/03 ?) matter ?

But, BH, dont tell me the I R B have been hoodwinked by the Kiwis as well ?

• 397.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Whose gearing up for Scotland V Italy, hold onto your hats lads its going to be huge, better still NZ F V France.

• 398.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: England’s win in Wellington was expected as we were at full strength, unlike these days when you get to play a 1st/2nd mix with your strongest team. It was significant,like the Oz game only in that it was a decent warm-up for the RWC which we would win later that year.

@NZINCHINA: I replied to you earlier scroll back and have a butchers.

• 399.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA:

Fortunately Engl still have Shontayne Hape as their resident Maori after Riki Flutey has pulled up lame. Given that Dylan Hartley also has some Maori bloodstock, it appears that Engl now have 3 more Haka leaders than do the ABs.

and dont we just love it !

Swing low, sweet double standards………

• 400.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: Scotland/Italy gets bigger crowds than NZ(Sam?)/Aus, lololol

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.