Bulls set to chase Cheetahs
10 Feb 2010
Victor Matfield predicts the Cheetahs won’t veer from their expansive attack, but stresses their predictability won’t make them any less dangerous.
The Cheetahs’ game plan against the Bulls has generally centred on shifting the Pretoria franchise’s burly pack around the field, and attacking them in the wide channels. They’ve sought to achieve this by first establishing a solid scrum base, keeping the ball infield thereby negating the Bulls’ potent lineout, and defensively, they have been a constant threat at the breakdown – seeking to exploit an unset defensive line from turnovers generated at that facet of play.
The tactic has been successful only for periods in matches, and none of the current generation of Bulls players have experienced defeat to the Cheetahs in the Super 14 (the Cheetahs’ only victory came in 1997). Despite the confident offerings emanating for the host’s camp, nothing suggests that they will improve that diabolical record in Bloemfontein on Friday.
The Cheetahs’ are a mobile unit, capable of testing their opposition if allowed to do so by being fed with broken field ball or if their opponents seek to replicate their expansive approach. The Bulls have largely resisted doing the latter, remaining disciplined in their structured style, and reaping the rewards accordingly.
The match is again likely to feature a contrast of approaches, but Matfield made it clear that just because they were fairly confident the Cheetahs wouldn’t revert to a pragmatic game plan, it didn’t make victory a certainty.
‘There won’t be any dramatic overhaul of the way they’ve tried to play against us over the last couple of seasons. I’m not saying they can’t change their style, but their [player] resources dictate their approach, and they have some fantastic runners and game breakers. We’re expecting them to try and shift us around,’ Matfield told keo.co.za.
Matfield continued by explaining that the new breakdown law interpretations would amplify their threat.
‘They like to keep the ball in hand and the new interpretations will make it easier for them to do that,’ he said. ‘I also think the ruck recycle will be a lot quicker, which obviously favours a side who want to attack wider because there may just be a few more holes in the defensive line than there has been in the past.’
Matfield added that the new interpretations would aid the Bulls’ phase-based attack as well, but stressed that comprehensive planning in this regard was the key to success.
‘It doesn’t help us to be able to play through four or five phases then have no plan after phase five,’ he said. ‘So we’ll have to be aware and intelligent about how we use the ball. Patience, discipline and awareness will be important.’
The Bulls have played just one warm-up match in preparation for their title defence, and while they may be physically prepared, there are legitimate concerns about their match sharpness. Matfield doesn’t share those.
‘I don’t think we’ll be rusty at all,’ he said. ‘We’ve done a lot of contact training and you have to remember that we’ve generally been an unchanged team for three or four years now. Everyone knows the game plan inside out and out key combinations have a near telepathic understanding. It won’t be a problem.’

89 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
10 Feb 2010, 13:12 pm
@Blouboerseun:
Kyk ek weet die gaan ‘n taai game wees.
Party mense wil dit nie verstaan nie , maar as die Cheetahs die Bulle kan wen is 50% van hulle seisoen gemaak.
So hulle gooi altyd die hele kitchen sink en als agterna teen ons.
Kyk verlede jaar… ons het met wat, ek dink ons het net net gewen, maar ons was kampioene en die Cheaters laaste.
Ek dink die Bulle met tussen 6 en 12
Gaan taai wees !!!
10 Feb 2010, 13:15 pm
@Blouste:
Amper soos die Leeus met die Stormers?
10 Feb 2010, 13:18 pm
@WP Till I Die:
hehehe…so iets ja !!!
10 Feb 2010, 13:24 pm
While many of the games between the two teams have resulted in narrow winning margins, I believe the Cheetahs were lucky to come so close. The Bulls have often let the Cheetahs back into games after being up by a significant margin.
I would therefore argue that it is not a case of the Cheetahs getting lucky THIS TIME around. I think they were ALREADY lucky in previous games, and that the Bulls didn’t close out those games properly.
If the Bulls play to their potential, there should be 15-20 points between these two teams. But if the Bulls play below standard, it will be a 5-10 point victory for the Bulls.
10 Feb 2010, 13:26 pm
WP Till I Die:
Dink jy eerlik waar dat julle die S14 die seisoen al kan wen?
Ek weet julle wil goed doen en al sulke dinge, maaaaaaaar om die koppie te lug moet mens n puik span wees. Nie net goed op papier nie…
10 Feb 2010, 13:28 pm
@Blouboerseun:
Nee, ek dink nie ons gaan die Super 14 wen nie.
Maar ek dink wel ons gaan hierdie jaar die semi-finaal haal.
10 Feb 2010, 13:30 pm
@Blouboerseun:
Ek dink WPTID is heeltemal bewus daarvan, glo my…
Wat is jou score prediction ?
10 Feb 2010, 13:32 pm
Here is the problem..
Every year us stormers hype our team and are dissapointed….that is how it has been going for us the last few year( ok …6years)…BUT…
In 2008 Every single rugby writer put the bulls on top of the log….Dan retief was not even going to disput it and it was automatically accepted that the Bulls will do good.
The same is true this year…it is accepted that the bulls will win all home games etc and dominate etc etc…..
I feel a surprise coming this year just like in 2008!
10 Feb 2010, 13:33 pm
Kyk manne as al ons ondersteuners se optimisme ‘n realiteit word staan daai Kiwis en Aussies geen kans nie…
Wonder watter een SA span die ongelukkige een gaan wees om die semi’s te mis ?
10 Feb 2010, 13:35 pm
Could easily go either way. It will all depend on which team combines better as a unit. All these head to head analyses mean nothing compared to who well the teams gell. Bulls experience vs Cheetahs youthful exhuberence. Bring it on!
10 Feb 2010, 13:35 pm
@Hoops:
Too true…
But I must say, I ‘m experiencing a different mental attitude…
Maybe lesson learned…
Time will tell…
10 Feb 2010, 13:36 pm
@stormer in a teacup: who = how.
10 Feb 2010, 13:37 pm
Have all of you registered for S14 superbru as yet ?
Pool code : wrenlest
if you are interested…
10 Feb 2010, 13:38 pm
@stormer in a teacup:
You can be glad WP did’nt see that
10 Feb 2010, 13:39 pm
@Blouste:
Three massive differences between 2008 and 2010:
No change in coach: Ludeke’s going into his 3rd year in charge.
No change of captain: Matfield remains steady at the helm
No internal lawsuits and strife: Bakkies is happy in the Bulls camp.
10 Feb 2010, 13:41 pm
@Tacitus:
Oh and did I mention: Spies is there from the start, and not still recovering from his lung ailment. In 2008 he only flew out to join the team on the last leg of their overseas tour – with immediate improvements in the team performance, I might add.
10 Feb 2010, 13:47 pm
TACITUS:
True true true……… YOU CAN AD ONE MORE THING, MR MEYER IS BACK AND HAS NOT JUST LEFT AS IN 2008.
10 Feb 2010, 13:50 pm
I cant wait to see what Meyer’s influences are going to be on the forward game.
10 Feb 2010, 13:51 pm
TACITUS:
AND………… The one thing you can say about the Bulls is that learn their lessons, the NOW KNOW what not to do after winning the cup the previous season.
10 Feb 2010, 13:55 pm
@Blouboerseun:
Miskien het ek dit gemis, maar wat is jou score vir die naweek ?
10 Feb 2010, 13:58 pm
BLOUSTE:
I don’t know if you follow the bulls blog on the bulls website.
There was an online interview between François Houg and the bloggers. He was asked if Mr. Meyer will bring allot to the table in his new position. He sad yes he def think so and added that Mr. Meyer is sitting behind him on the phone with a rugby specialist from France exchanging information. That comment made me feel better about the future.
We all know that the first task Mr. Meyer has in his new position is to set up the back up plan for when the big names leave.
10 Feb 2010, 13:59 pm
Bulls 21 – 17 Cheaters
10 Feb 2010, 14:02 pm
Orange Facepaint? Check
Kitchen sink? Check
10 Feb 2010, 14:03 pm
@Blouboerseun:
Yes I follow it, but wasn’t there recently, will go and check now.
Thanks…
10 Feb 2010, 14:05 pm
@scar:
???
10 Feb 2010, 14:09 pm
@Blouste: Just basic preperations for any game against the Bulls!
10 Feb 2010, 14:11 pm
@scar:
Hehehe…
Sorry, forgot about my previous post…
Good on you, remember your “municipal” orange overall
10 Feb 2010, 14:12 pm
SCAR:
Take it that you are also going to that game.
Its going to big a huge game def worth driving down to dusty old Bloem.
Beer……….? Check
10 Feb 2010, 14:13 pm
@Blouste: I am sure there are a fair amount of blue colour municipality uniforms around as well!!
10 Feb 2010, 14:20 pm
@scar:
Sure. it’s just that I’ve never seen them at the stadiums…
10 Feb 2010, 14:22 pm
Suppose those with the Blue ones are working, the orange ones are the lazy ones you always see standing upright sleeping on a shovel..
10 Feb 2010, 14:23 pm
@Blouste: I can do with a shovel today!
10 Feb 2010, 14:26 pm
I think the Bulls and Stormers are going to the Semi’s this year.
If anybody has problems it’s the Sharks, great forwards but backs eish. But I might be wrong, hope I am.
10 Feb 2010, 14:30 pm
@JA-JA: Ja,the sharks seem to have stalled. A few tears ago fresh young talent was sprouting up everywhere in Durbs – JPP, Waylon, Barritt, FS, Ruan, Kanko, Keegan, etc. Then they seemed to switch the tap off.
10 Feb 2010, 14:51 pm
Blouste and Tac
I was just seeing ho nervous you guys really are….I must give it to some of you Bulls supporters…..I just don’t see most other teams suppoerters being so huble including myself…..after winning 2 S14 already.
I truly believe the Bulls has the systems righ at the moment and it is you golden years….but somehow the wheel always turns…..no matter how hard you try to keep it from tipping from top to bottom!
10 Feb 2010, 14:53 pm
@stormer in a teacup: I think your right, stalled is the right word, it’s not that the players are bad I just think the combinations won’t work that lekker
10 Feb 2010, 23:02 pm
I think the Bulls could be in for a shock- the Cheetahs are VERy capable of playing a forward based game aimed at ball retention- and phase play from that. And the new rules will help them in this regard.
11 Feb 2010, 08:51 am
The battle will be won up front…and the Cheetahs have a formidable pack…expect plenty of penalising at the breakdowns…so whoever dominates this phase should pull thru’..
11 Feb 2010, 11:28 am
Nah. I think the game will be won, like most games between Cheetahs and Bulls, by the one who gets a lucky turnover (accidental one usually).
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All