Brüssow steals the show

Fetchers may be a dime a dozen but when it comes to the breakdown, only Heinrich Brüssow is capable of the perfect crime.

Click here to subscribe

In the new issue of SA Rugby magazine, on sale this week, the Bok flanker explains his approach to stealing ball at the breakdown, why he always tests referees early on in a game, and why he doesn’t consider himself to be a cheat.

In the same article, Jake White gets technical and explains why Brüssow has been able to impress in what is a new game under new laws.

SA’s Super 14 stars: Ruan Pienaar, Gary Botha, Bryan Habana and Carlos Spencer

– How technological advancements will aid the management of our players in terms of their conditioning

– We speak to three of the world’s best rugby minds about the state of the game

– Gert Smal on his role in Irish rugby, cracking the Bok lineout, and his plan to develop black players, which was ignored by Saru

– The 2010 Six Nations marks 100 years of French participation in the European championship. We find out how they went from tournament whipping boys to eight-time Grand Slam champions

– Zac Guildford will never forget 2009, for good and bad reasons. But all indications are that 2010 could be even more memorable on the rugby field for one of New Zealand’s brightest talents

– Former Bulls lock Hendrik Roodt on signing for the Waratahs, whether he’d consider playing for the Wallabies, and why he can’t wait to test himself against Bakkies Botha and Victor Matfield

Frans Steyn on playing for Racing Metro, his fractured relationship with Peter de Villiers, and why inside centre is his preferred position

PLUS: A giant 2010 fixtures poster that covers everything from the Super 14 and Varsity Cup to the Currie Cup and Springbok end-of-year tour

182 Comments

• 1.Staal: Reply to this comment

This Dragon is a monster……. but hou vir Steggie dop!!!!!

• 2.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

What?!? Frans Steyn on why inside centre is his preferred position?!?!?! Thought he left the Sharks because he wanted to play flyhalf….Money money money.

• 3.Transformation: Reply to this comment

what the hell does jake white know about fetching? Didn’t he say he would never pick Brussow…yeah jump on the bandwagon, why don’t you jake?

Another Francois Steyn interview, and he has chosen a new position he prefers again!

• 4.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Staal:

I agree, Stegmann is one for the future.

Heinrich Brüssow will need to show that he is able to adapt to the new interpretations and not succumb to second-season syndrome for him to be considered world-class.

• 5.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: Yep, Fransi again on his supposed preffered positions…maybe one should ask his alleged ‘boyfriend’…LOL

• 6.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: This is actually his 3rd season on top. He was the top fetcher in 2008 as well… not his fault he only played 5 minutes of international rugby in the last match.

• 7.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Transformation:

It’s SA Rugby magazine, Transie, owned by Highbury Savuka Media…many links to Jake White, John Smit and company :lol:

• 8.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: lol…greetings mhlekazi, lide ixesha uzifihlile, ndiyathemba uyaphila.

Trust me i’m under no illusion as to how Jake all of sudden is a “technical” expert on fetching. :D

• 9.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Transformation:

jake didn’t say that…he said that he doubted that Brussow would have the impact on a game that Burger can have.

…irb confirms.

Burger irb player of the year.
    Brussouw zilch

….not that i agree 100% with that stance,but those darned statistics.

• 10.gunther: Reply to this comment

Smittie owns shares in ham?

• 11.gunther: Reply to this comment

Smittie owns shares in hsm?

• 12.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl:

Come now. Let’s be honest for a moment.

There’s something wrong with the system when Schalk Burger has an IRB player of the year award, but Victor Matfield or Fourie du Preez does not.

And that wrongness is demonstrated quite aptly by Mccaw’s award in 2009. Ridiculous.

• 13.Breakdown Boy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus: I have to agree, McCaw did not deserve that title, both his national and S14 teams were unsuccessfull and he was outplayed by Brussouw. But Victor Matfield did get player of the game for the WC final, that has to count for something.

• 14.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@gunther:

Ham !!!

• 15.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Goodness

The 6 nations games this weekend were so emotional with the tributes to Bill McClaren.

Even I shed a tear.

• 16.stew: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: FS had he best session of rugby playing for the Boks at 12 – why the confusion

• 17.Dawn: Reply to this comment

How does one get shares in ham?

I want to sit in on Keo’s board meetings.

And cast the proletariat vote.

• 18.gunther: Reply to this comment

Do you like green eggs with ham ?

• 19.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I think shares in Ham are dependent on Keo dollars.

• 20.flanka: Reply to this comment

jake white makes me sick. a real opportunist he is, jumping on the Brussow bandwagon when everyone knows his opinion on fetchers only being good to get his beer…makes me sick to my stomach

• 21.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli:

Yeesh I watched 2003 semi final WC SA England on ESPN Classic.

Saw Straeuli and Gert Smal in the coaches box.

Changed the channel quick smart.

• 22.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus:

Hi Tac

Schalk desreved his award, he was the best player in the world (in his position)when he received it, no doubt.

Having said that the player of the year award is a load of **** because your props, hookers, locks seldom get the recognition they deserve, without these guys doing the hard yards the more stand out posistions as in backline , loosies, would not be able to steal the headlines.

Soccer player of the year also suffers same the fate, when last has a defender or goalkeeoer won the player of the year !!

To be fair to all the players they should have an player of the year award for each posistion!!

But that won’t happen and that is why i really have little interest in these awards !!

• 23.flanka: Reply to this comment

Frans Steyn’s words: I wanna be closer to the action at centre rather than fullback

Interpretation: I want as much ball as possible at first receiver so i can just run straight and not pass to my outside centre or wing

First it was flyhalf, now centre….he went away far too early before he had developed many skills he still lacks

• 24.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@stew: Ummmmmmm, because he left the Sharks to play FH and the Sharks was only willing to play him at 12 and maybe 15. That’s why the confusion!

• 25.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: What a tragic sight for a tragic wc campaign…yuck…die twee dom seuns van Suid-Afrikaanse rugby.

• 26.Gary: Reply to this comment

people forget how good Schalk was 4 years ago.

• 27.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: pity ur a sharks supporter…… enough said

other thing is journo’s make up a lot of stories , so of course F steyn is the *******???

yeah right and we let him go and what we have at center now is better then him???
    maybe you should stick to comics or something.

@stew: amen stew coaches were the problem, this kid is a huge loss to south african rugby, and of course sharks rugby

• 28.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl: hi Brig. Well Jake was sadly mistaken, everyone and their mother saw what an impact Heinrich had on the Boks loosie dynamic!

Robbie Deans said it, Graham Henry saw it, Heinrich’s opponents like Pocock saw it and only Jake with his limited to non-existent knowledge on fetching, didn’t see it. A lot of people on this blog always applaud Jake for being able to recognise his limitations and seek assistance from experts to help him out, i think he should look to do the same on this one too.

• 29.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: He wasnt willing to stay on for the Sharks at 12, FOOL, that was the reason for him going to racing metro, because they supposedly wanted to make him their first choice FH….pity a Sharks supporter like yourself is so mis-informed…you’re probably part of the last remnant of the blou nulle 90′s supporter exodus still poisoning the Sharks supporter gene pool.

• 30.Transformation: Reply to this comment

THATHA @FireStraeuli: THATHA!!! :D

• 31.baw: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: what are you talking about ?
    frans left to chase the money ,he weas playing 12 ,his supposed prefered position when he left ?
    instead of getting hernandez ,the sharks should have nailed down steyn and thrown money at him …it amazes me how its all of a sudden the sharks fualt that he left ?well stuf u guys for letting de villiers go hahaha

• 32.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@baw: You guys…no, stormers’s guys. And you’re right about the money as being Steyn’s actual reason for leaving, but the official reason given was him wanting to play FH.

BTW me a Shark, tjaaina.

• 33.stew: Reply to this comment

@baw: I can only blame the Sharks for the loss of Steyn
    Instead of nuturing this talent and allowing him to develop , Muir played him in every position possible , as a 18 year old – crazy – look what this has done to Pienaar , the guy looks so depressed i think he will retire and sell hotdogs on durban beach.
    This is down to bad management plain and simple , do you blame Steyn for wantin leave ?

• 34.baw: Reply to this comment

i think frans steyn must realise we like him when he does drop goals ,so he ,like pienaar should just suck it up and play where the team demands …flyhalf and either inside center or fullback

• 35.baw: Reply to this comment

@stew:well without **** muir where would frans steyn be? certainly he wouldnt have a world cup medal ,and in that case hed probably be more inclined to stay in south africa ,given pdv views …cant blame anyone ,frans had his reasons

• 36.stew: Reply to this comment

@baw: Jake White brought Steyn in

• 37.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i don’t get this…when bismarck throws his toys, he is called windgat & all sort of other names, when francois does the same thing and actually packs his bags on a mercenary expedition to france, it is the sharks fault that they didn’t accomodate his demands?…

• 38.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: ummm dawn, SA lost to NZ in the quarterfinals in 2003???

so not sure what game you were “watching”…

• 39.baw: Reply to this comment

@stew:lol ,**** muir! cheers ,have a good day

• 40.flanka: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: its coz bissie is competing with captain fantastic who cant do no wrong

• 41.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Yaaaaa, Brussow really is the pinnacle at the moment. Finally got everyone to shut up about the vastly overrated McCaw.

• 42.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty: you really have no idea do you, Brussouw has had one season in international rugby, McCaw ten… some ways to go for the little man yet..

also, your claim that only the World Cups count.. so youre telling me after 87 years that you guys finally winning in Dunedin meant nothing.. ? guess so..

haha you really have no idea do you, too many blows to the head when you were a kid I suspect…

• 43.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus:

the only thing about McCaw getting the 2009 Award is that its only the 2nd time. He’s been the best player on the planet for 5+years, every year. But, if FdP hadnt ended last year playing like a wet sponge, then he should have got it.

• 44.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: @42

When I hear the expression ‘bonehead’, a caricature of KK(K?) immediately springs to mind.

• 45.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: he contradicts himself at every opportunity, claiming only the world cups count (which English blogger does that remind you of?) yet when hes losing an argument he goes for the 3-0 line.. remember, he was claiming the sevens last year too, now they have a slim chance at best, he doesnt “care” for sevens.. :lol:

must admit it is worth a good laugh, I chuckle for hours…
    you watch, I’ll be called a rascist in a minute hahaha

• 46.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: @Black Panther: hey come on guys it’s only monday morning :D , no need to gang up on kobus

• 47.Blindspot: Reply to this comment

Frans Steyn is into **** and got a bit confused. Thought it was British Lions and not Golden Lions. Poor chap.

• 48.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Big Poppa, don’t be illiterate, bra, I said at the moment, as in right now, as in not 10 years ago. Brussouw RRRRRAPED MCCHEAT last year buddy oh yea. touch it.

• 49.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Blindspot: @47

any chance you can re-phrase that 1st sentence ?

• 50.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: @46

Ive eaten camemberts that were more mature than KKK. He should have a lovechild with Whatever and call it Benjamin Button

• 51.Blindspot: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Sure! He likes Muir and wanted to follow him. ;)

• 52.Transformation: Reply to this comment

a new zealander’s view on the new rules:
    bok block free flowing rugby

By DUNCAN JOHNSTONE – Stuff.co.nz

Last updated 12:57 08/02/2010

OPINION: At the risk of being cynical, don’t bet your house on South Africa joining the party when it comes to the Super 14 being instantly transformed into a free-flowing spectacle.

And why should they? The Bulls are the champions after all and the public murmurings we’ve heard coming out of New Zealand and Australia over the past couple of weeks sound more like a desire to see the game played the Anzac way rather than the Sanzar way.

Should South Africa be bullied into adopting a new style when they managed to set the standards last year both in Super rugby and the Tri-Nations?

Let’s get things straight to start with. These aren’t new laws we are talking about. They are supposed new interpretations.

It’s up to the referees to try to implement them but whether there is consistency in that department and whether teams actually buy into this noble attitude remains to be seen.

South Africa enjoyed playing the rules their way last year because that’s the way they have traditionally played them. You have a big pack, you have a dynamic kicker at No 10, you have swift chasers and you prey off opposition mistakes.

The Bulls were good at it and the Boks proved masters at it until they ran out of steam at the end of the year. But by then they had already dominated the British and Irish Lions and the Wallabies and whitewashed the All Blacks.

Don’t get me wrong, rugby needs an overhaul as a spectacle but when the chasers are asking the champions to change their winning ways for the sake of it, it’s questionable whether they will buy into that.

What’s in it for them? South Africa’s Super 14 attendances embarrassed their Sanzar partners last year and while New Zealand provided three of the four semifinalists the competition always seemed to be ”owned” by the rugby republic in 2009.

The Stormers and Sharks have flirted with running rugby at times but the Bulls remain the only South African side to lift the trophy and they have achieved that with their simple but effective approach..

The Bulls have talked openly of building a dynasty and the foundations in personnel and approach are well and truly laid. Loftus is the palace of pragmatism – a place where the dropped goal still rules.

Then there’s the global scene to consider. It would be one thing to twist a South African arm but it will be an even bigger task to persuade the stodgy rugby brains up north to follow a template set by the Super 14, a rugby competition they have always regarded as powder puff.

The new interpretations have real merit with their ability to provide a better contest at the breakdowns and reward the attacking team.

• 53.Rebels_Shark: Reply to this comment

@flanka:

You should get out more.

• 54.flanka: Reply to this comment

@Rebels_Shark: huh?

• 55.gankela: Reply to this comment

I dont see how applying the rules differently at the rucks is going to benefit the game. How is this going to benefit the attacking team? Players are no longer going to be committing to rucks, everyone will just stand in the backline.

• 56.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Yeah, and you should have heard your pal Black Panther before the last world cup. He dissapeared for about a year, also tried changing his nick but that didn’t work out. I noticed he’s calmed down a bit over the last year, but wait, there’s another WC coming round shortly.

• 57.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Kea-cat

I’m most intrigued about my supposed pre-RWC personna, pls provide evidence. Furthermore I was IN Stade de France cheering on the Boks, how about you ?

I’ve always been BP/WN here, never changed anything. I explained why years ago and discuused that here many times, ask Cane.

Front up.

• 58.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Richie looked like a wet sponge last year from begining till end. FduP has been the best player for a while now, remember the WC game against England 36-0. FduP won that game on his own.
    How did Richie perform in the last WC?

• 59.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Kea-Cat: He put up an oscar winning performance after the quarter final loss to France, he had tears and everything…LOL

• 60.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

You gonna front up for my guided tour?

• 61.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Why would you shout for the Boks, only reason I can think of is because NZ were already out of the competition.

• 62.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

The last World Cup I was in SA watching every game on the telly. I have only managed to see two WC’s live, 1995 (obviously) and 1999. The only reason I went to the 99 WC was because in 99 I was working in London, the same reason you were in France.

• 63.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

I forgot to add, before the 95 WC nobody here cared.

• 64.rangerman: Reply to this comment

blackpanty sounded like a teenage girl during the 2007 wc. he went to the final because he was one of the kiwis who took the finals package and told us all, ad nauseum, how nz would sweep all before them.

arrogance personified.

dont get him started on suzie, the gold watch or any other excuse for nz losing games.

it becomes rather tedious.

• 65.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Those of you who still want to play in the S14 superbru

The easiest way to get people in is to give them your pool code and send them to www superbru com/super14

Your pool code(s) are:

Keo?s muppits: wrenlest

• 66.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Kobus

its not important IF he raped McCaw last year, only world cups count remember ?

• 67.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: @60

of ?

@Kea-Cat: @61

because 1st and foremost, Im a rugby fan.

I shouted for the Boks because we Kiwis respect SA as a great rugby nation. I shouted for the Boks because I didnt want Engl to win. I shouted for the Boks, as did most other Kiwis I know.

Doesnt make me believe the Boks had THE softest draw of any RWC in its short history tho. The fact I respect the team doesnt mean I respect all the fans tho, just some of them.

You can call Kiwi fans many things, and have, but being ante-rugby is 1 thing you cant. The AB Capt and Coach have never landed in SA and called their opposite “a cheat” for eg. The NZRFU have never sent a B team to SA at the last minute after seeing the visitors A team fill their stadiums either. And I dont recall any major controversies surrounding the ’87 RWC either, that required a certain book/movie being re-written.

@Kea-Cat: @62

Ive only missed 2 RWCs – ’91 & ’95. Ive never worked in Australia or France.

@Kea-Cat: @63

thats a lie. Safas are many things but theyre still the no2 rugby fan in the World.

• 68.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

Your post re the stadium having a Table Mountain backdrop, and your question re pubs and restaurants in the precinct, refers.

I offered a tour of the Cape Town facilities.

• 69.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

continue to whisper sweet grubby nothings in my ear and I may yet take you up on that offer. Dont tell anyone, lets keep it our little secret, but tha fullas are currently planning a trip down your way in June to follow the Mighty All Whites…

That stadium looks utterly magnificent. Its almost as pretty as the indoor one theyre building in Dunedin for RWC’11. And that, Peaches, is a city Id gladly give you a tour of blindfolded (or we could save that for later).

• 70.Simon: Reply to this comment

What do you guys think of this month’s cover and choice of articles?

• 71.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Simon:

Please leave the room.

I’m busy with the Panther.

@Black Panther:

It ain’t “almost” as pretty. Ours is prettier.

• 72.BadGena: Reply to this comment

NZ S14 2010 predictions from an insider..

BLUES:
    Blues fans start the season excited over the Mathewson/Brett combo. By round 9 Smylie and Toeava are starting at 9 and10. Ali Williams enjoys a kick-*** season. Anthony Boric tries to emulate Ali by sporting a spiky mullet and wearing a comic book hero costume. Stephen Brett gets sulky because Boric steals his Wonder Woman outfit. Pat Lam unveils a new game plan called “Just run it from anywhere bro!” Joe Rokocoko reveals that the reason he lost his mojo was because he was feeling depressed. He launches a series of mental health advertisements with John Kirwan and the Mad Butcher. Lam unearths a great new talent when he picks one of the Eden Park construction workers at tighthead.

CHIEFS:
    Kahui will look absolutely awesome…for the 20 minutes he plays this season. Stephen Donald will finally crack from trying to be Mr. Positive and pull a Tonya Harding on Mike Delany. Delany is seen crying on TV. Like Tonya, Donald will release a *** tape. Byron Kelleher will return to NZ and ask if he can star in the sequel. Hika Elliot gets pissed off at being on the bench and get suspended for urinating in a bar after starting a fight. In his court appearance his lawyer uses the defense – “with all due respect your Honour, he was living in Hamilton.” Muliaina says he is “burnt out” from rugby. Colin Bourke decides to stop sleeping with coach Foster’s wife in order to get some playing time. Muliaina says he is “excited” again about rugby. Lauaki starts the season in great physical shape but cracks under the pressure of dieting and eats Callum Bruce in a feeding freenzy. Latimer plays every minute of the Chief’s campaign at no. 7 but people still ask “Why isn’t Latimer playing? Is he injuried?” The BOP mafia recruit an army to defend his honor on Internet forums.

HURRICANES:
    David Smith has a breakthrough season by finding all new ways to suck. Tialata blows *** and gets dropped. Midway through the season he’ll announce his retirement from rugby on Twitter and open a KFC franchise in Wainui. Karl Lowe won’t win the S14 but will take home ‘the biggest biceps’ award. Piri Weepu will get to play no 9 all season and establish himself as the best halfback in the country. Piri won’t win the S14 but will take home ‘the biggest shorts’ award. Bryn Evans will miss his first game because the stadium security guards won’t let him in. He’ll say, “I’m Bryn Evans, I’m an All Black.” One of the guards will laugh and say “Yeah bro. So am I. So am I.” Jeremy Thrush will come out in Womans Day and admit he has a manjina. The team doctor gives him medication for his yeast infection. Cooper’s last game as Hurricanes coach ends on a fitting note when the ‘Canes bow out in the semifinals.

CRUSADERS:
    Brad Thorn will bench press Andy Ellis as his pre-match workout all season. Carter and McCaw will have a Kobe-Shaq falling out midway through the season. Carter will get his fancy pants in a knot and say “You can’t win a title without me Richard.” McCaw will say “Whatever! And you can have your silly undies back. They’re too tight for me anyway” and try to transfer to the Blues. The Auckland administrators find some way to screw it up and pay a fortune instead to get Onosa’i Tololima-Auva’a back in the squad. Murray Mexted will call Jonathan Poff ”Jonathan Poof” in every Crusaders game he commentates. Fruean will get benched by Blackadder for playing rap in the changing sheds. He’ll say “You’re not in Porirua now Dr Roberti Fruen. We only listen to two kinds of music round here, country and western.” Thomas Waldrom will try to console him and say it’s tough for us brothers down here.” Fruan will say, “Your not black bro!…and stop stealing food from my locker!” During the Crusaders’ S14 winning celebrations and team chants, Zac Guildfuid will joke “Rueben Thorn was pretty **** wasn’t he?” The eerie silence will be broken when Kieran Read says “Get out! You’re not welcome round here anymore!’

HIGHLANDERS:
    The Highlanders home attendance record peaks in round 3 with a total of 263 fans. Jamie Mackintosh joins Jeremy Thrush by admitting he has a manjina, solving the riddle over why he’s such a big *****. Murray Mexted gets suspended from the Sky commentary team again for calling Tim Boys “Tim Likes Boys.” Clint Newland punches out Fetu’u Vainikolo for wearing purple boots with silver glitter. Jason Shoemark teaches Newland the word “purple,” raising Clint’s vocabulary to five words. Laurie Mains is quoted in the Otago Daily Times saying that Suzy has put a curse on the Highlanders. Robbie Robinson and Israel Dagg will get tired of being the only players on the team who can catch and pass while running and steal a cheerleader at knifepoint. The Highlanders board concedes to their demands by giving them both a one-way ticket out of the Highlanders but can’t give them a million dollars because the team’s broke. Ben Smith tells the boys, “Don’t’ worry guys, you still have star All Black winger Ben Smith.” Jimmy Cowan looks confused and asks Adam Thomson, “Hey do you know that guy?” Thomson says “No. But didn’t I beat up his sister once”..

• 73.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

And who you calling “grubby” and “Peaches”

Make up your tiny mind.

• 74.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Simon: Shame man, getting chased out of your own article, how rude.

B.t.w. I think the cover looks very lekker.

• 75.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: I know you don’t work in France, but it’s a short distance from France to the UK.

• 76.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Ag siestog, you only getting one stadium to show off with, bet the thinking is that the AB’s should surely be able to win the wc indoors because you always do so well playing Wales.

It’s worth a shot seeing as the outdoors have not been favourable to you guys.

B.t.w. check out Moses Mabhida stadium if you wanna see a masterpiece.

• 77.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

Having Jake White talk on the value of a fetcher holds as much water as JZ talking on the value of chastity…

• 78.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Rum And Maple: Now that’s comparing apples with apples…LOLz

• 79.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: Ha,ha… exactly!!!

• 80.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Simon:

I’m gonna buy this issue because it has my match line-up insert.

• 81.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: I’m gonna buy this issue because it doesn’t have Frans Steyn on the cover…

• 82.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: @71 & @72

Sorry, Peaches, I will erase all attempt at humour in future.

RWCs of rugby, yes. 1st Round exit at the Comedy Club every single year.

@Kea-Cat:

Still gotta get there. Would you have to support your main rivals ?

Ive lived in UK for 16yrs – what year was the RWC in Aus ?

@FireStraeuli:

Everything is point-scoring for you huh ?

Really, the art of banter is just lost on most people here. Unless the Teachers Stamp(smileys) is adorned with everything comment it, apparently, means that everything is taken on face value ?

Lighten up folks, its Super14 Week 1 !!!!

• 83.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: nah, we’ve just rigged the draw so we only have to face Eng, Fiji and Argentina to win a world cup…

• 84.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: I’m very much lit up…if you wanna be handing it out, you gotta be able to take it….;-)

• 85.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Yeah, that’s smart, wouldnt wanna see you drop out against France again…heaven forbid McCaw give another oscar performance after another failed wc bid, especialy on home turf…indoors.

• 86.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli:

Give it ?

Take it ?

Bonehead, Ive made comments about the “awesome” new CT stadium. And chucked in a wee joke about Dunedins new stadium (Im a Highlanders fan). It was clearly a joke. Correction – to every non-Safa.

Tell me, what/where did I “hand out” ? You have the hide of a haemophiliac.

• 87.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: lucky you guys havent faced France either huh? I mean, what is it now, 2 wins out of the last ten games head to head? hell, dont they have a 100% record againts you guys at one of your hometown stadiums? best you guys knock that one down quick smart lol..

• 88.Nils: Reply to this comment

As for oscar performance, I would like to see which team faces after the exit in the playoffs are all smiles? Unless, of course, if they have snorted a lot.

• 89.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Lame joke.

• 90.Nils: Reply to this comment

Glad to see, there will be at least one deputant in the WC. If nothing extra-ordinary happens this month, Russia are in.

• 91.Nils: Reply to this comment

debutant, that is.

• 92.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Nils: Very lame…snort joke, we’ve moved on, so should you.

Crying on international television after loosing in the qtr finals, now that’s a first.

• 93.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli:

Whatever qualifies you as a Judge of that ?

• 94.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Ummm, ’95. Faced them, box been ticked thank you very much.

• 95.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: thats right, didnt Derek bevan score a gold watch out of that game? hmmmmmm

• 96.Nils: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: I think it was very lame to diss tears. I bet, if the same happens to your team, surely they will shed a tear. It’s normal human reaction. Unless – as I said – under influence.

• 97.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: I tell you, very few SA’s were interested in the WC’s before 95. I can’t even remember if I watched the games on telly or not. Actually I must have watched in 91, I was staying in that dump North Acton in a house with 11 Kiwis, 1 Aussie and 2 SA’s.

• 98.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Nils: ’03…no tears. Or must one loose to France to be allowed to cry? retorical of course.

• 99.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Kea-Cat: as Morne Du Plessis said,in reference to 87 and 91, and I quote “I have serious doubts we would have won”… this from the manager of your 95 side who had to apologise for the arrogance of Luis Luyt…

shame they never showed that in INVICTUS huh?

• 100.Nils: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: Geez, in 03
    they were nobodies with no chance whatsover.

Japanese did not cry, too, for the exactly the same reason.

• 101.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Why are there a discusion on the WC’s if its the first week of S14 ?

• 102.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: Fair remark.

• 103.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Nils: So the tears were actualy tears of typical AB arrogance, expecting to win the wc before actualy even making the semi’s. B.t.w. didnt see Ireland crying either…they were actualy the favoured NH team.

• 104.Nils: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: Alright, we can safely leave this topic till next year’s October when we will see who cries and who not. Do you agree?

• 105.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: The best way to get our New Zealand counterparts all emotional and riled up…just some innocent fun.

• 106.Blouste: Reply to this comment

All about much..and much about nothing…

You AB guys…

In what ranking order do you put your franchises this year ?

• 107.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli:
    **** jou… :lol:

• 108.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Nils: Yep, check my comment to ‘blouste’ though. It’s nothing personal, just getting into the S14 spirit and getting under the oppositions skin…:grin:

• 109.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: not as arrogant as “Were the first ‘true’ world champions” that my friend, belongs solely to an Afrikaan…

stone, glass house, hopefully you can make the link…

• 110.Blouste: Reply to this comment

I don’t think much can be read into the warm-up games, give me your different insides…

• 111.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: Saders, Canes, Landers, Blues, Chiefs. Just shot into the dark.

• 112.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

It is pure speculation as to how the Boks would have performed in 87 or 91 for that matter and I for one wouldn’t have rated their chances high under the circumstances. However one can also speculate that had their participation in Internationals not been curbed by the sanctions (which I’m not saying shouldn’t have happened)that the history of Internationals since re-admission would have been different. It becomes a futile exercise to try and second guess what would have/should have/could have happened. The past is exactly that “past”. The question now remains who is going to win the S14, 3N’s and next years World Cup. Far more worthwhile debating that.

Tired of the “my dads d..k is bigger than yours” arguments.

• 113.Nils: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: Fine. The same “nothing personal” to you guys. ;)

• 114.Nils: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy: Fully agree.

• 115.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy: thats all this site is isnt it? :lol:

@Blouste:

saders
    canes
    blues
    highlanders
    chiefs

toss up between blues and landers for third, losing Ali Williams was a big blow for my team, not sure they have the grunt in the tight five now…

• 116.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy: Well, your dad’s isnt, so that’s that…:lol:

• 117.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: the landers are my dark horse, there pack did boss the Bulls around last year, and they have some exciting backs.. I may place some hard earned on them making the semis..

• 118.Blouste: Reply to this comment

You’ve got the Chiefs in last?

I reckon they can put one over the Sharks in the opener…

• 119.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:108 All’s fair in love and war, and rugby, it aint no love afair.

@poppa69:114 Chiefs at the bottom, how so?

• 120.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: Only because Sharks look even worse. Chiefs are notorious poor starters and away start do not give them any favours, yet they look like slight favourites this week. Only just.

• 121.Pearl Rose: Reply to this comment

@Rum And Maple: lmao on the jake & zuma analogy, spot on! Both philanderers nogal!

• 122.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

and didnt Louis just cover the entire nation in glory with that one. You couldnt make that stuff up without laughing.

You see, when Safas say Clive Norling got a ‘gold watch’ in 1981 its because corruption is the only answer to defeat. Like anyone can be bought.

Remember the teams walking out that following week too, not just Kiwis either.

• 123.Blouste: Reply to this comment

But saying that, thats probably because the Tjarks seem to be in a complete shambles…might be the Kiwi coach :lol:

• 124.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

Only reason for attacking the AB’s is the Bulls doesn’t seem to wanna come out and play….always easy to rub them the wrong way and watch them passionatley tare all nay sayers to pieces…it’s the thing that makes Keo addictive.

• 125.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Kea-Cat: @96

I just drove thru North Acton this am in fact. If I’d known there those pedestrians were Safas, I would have bumped them a little harder.

• 126.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: I think they can beat the sharks first up too, but only because the sharks appear to be in disarray… Im not sure who the chiefs will be playing at 1st 5 Donald or Delaney? not sold on either to be honest.. and with Lauaki leading them, just doesnt instil me with confidence..

always happy to be proven wrong though..

• 127.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Mind you…it all makes sense now !!!

Sharks have an All-Black coach…that’s why they are South Africas CHOKERS !!! :lol:

• 128.Staal: Reply to this comment

Clive Norling? He still alive?

• 129.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: France and England and I believe the officials themselves too…

still, like Ritchie crying after the 07 qter final, we dont wont to represent a whole nation on the actions of one man..

or do we Strauli LMFAO !!

• 130.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: Oooh, now blouste is coming to the party. Ja, same problem the Ozzies are facing next year, a NZ coach. lolz

• 131.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy: @111

oh blah blah blah

we were

blah blah blah

bigger better

blah blah blah

“but Im tired of these my-****-is-bigger arguments”

oh, and BTW, when you say ‘sanctions’, every single NZ team that toured SA pre-92 did so under extreme ‘sanctions’ that deprived them of some of their best players. Fact. Ever see Waka Nathan – Auckland Capt & NZs star player – grace the fields of SA ?

• 132.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Who are being rested or injured for the first rounds in NZ ?

• 133.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: lol not sure hes ever coached the ABS Blouste?

but he learnt all about choking from his SA wife didnt he?

• 134.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

all SemiFs were there too, hence Engl walking out. On that ocassion, even the Gallic Shrug was insufficient.

And they were ‘hosts’ ?!

• 135.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@Pearl Rose: Yip, sou see they are prone to changing their minds a lot…

Hence this new found fetcher insight by old Jake…

• 136.Nils: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: That Kiwi won CC after all, didn’t he? If my memory serves me right, Sharks were empty-handed for 12 years before that.

• 137.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Oi oi, dont be getting my name wrong now. Anti-Straeuli = FireStraeuli. I never said all AB’s were softies, just Ritchie, ’95 not a tear was shed by AB’s.

Might have been a respect thing though, btw, Lyut was unceremoniously kicked out of South African rugby shrotly after ’95 because of his greed, he’s never been a hero of anybody ever.

• 138.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:
    He choked her ? :shock:

• 139.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:
    The only choking he could do here in SA, thats untill he got a hold of the poor Tjarks… :cry:

• 140.Dawn: Reply to this comment

WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE!

Simon asked nicely what you think of the new mag and the articles.

Not one of you, except me, gave him feedback.

That’s why the Monarchs think we are a bunch of wallies.

• 141.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@Staal: Dunno. Check his watch.

• 142.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Guys, check # 132

• 143.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: post 128 my friend… :D He was very lucky that day, apparently a few of the ABs were on their way to the head table to take him to task for those comments.. we all have our lousy administrators, hell, Steve tew hasnt exactly endeared himself to the NZ public either..

@Blouste: yep, apparently Plumtree is a HUGE fan of Micheal Hutchence.. hahahaha

• 144.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Gave my feedback @ 76.

• 145.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Oi, i told him i smaaked the cover, directly below the part where you sommer ordered him to leave you and that other one alone…aka kicked him out of his own article.

• 146.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: @128

I went to see Counties vs Springboks in 1994. At the aftermatch, a few Boks walked in in those fantastic blazers of theirs and the whole place buzzed with excitement ‘the Boks are here !’, it sent shivvers down my spine having those guys on my turf in our clubrooms (ahem, make that adjoining gymnasium).

About 10mins later, in walked Louis Luyt. He brushed right passed me. The place immediately turned as quiet as a morgue. His reputation preceded him, he was always filthy disrespectful about the ABs. It remained so until he left about 15mins later, and the place livened up again.

And this 1year before he said “we would have beaten Australia in the morning (reigning RWChamps) and the All Blacks in the afternoon”.

They left NZ in 1994, having been bumped 2-0, without 1 good word to say about their hosts or the rugby.

• 147.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: cmon Dawnie, weve been served up so many “copy and paste” articles on this site in the name of “journalism”, how many people actually read the articles anymore… something about cause and effect?

• 148.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

I’m also a Hutchence fan.

Something wrong with that?

• 149.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Dawn…bad time for you.. :lol:

• 150.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Yep, no arguing that, Luyt was and probably still is an A-class numb-nuts.

• 151.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:
    :lol: :lol: :lol:

Don’t know why I didn’t see this coming sooner…

• 152.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: @139

O M G

Peaches is giving US a lesson about ‘respect’ ?

Time for my meds….

@poppa69:

I believe it was Mike Brewer who was heading over to have a quick word to Luis.

You can take the boy out of Pukekohe, but….

• 153.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

This magazine is Simon’s labour of love.

Every month (or two !!!) he posts it here and lays bare his soul and rips his heart out of his chest so us Keolings can stamp on it.

Least we can do is say something nice.

• 154.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: no not at all, just dont tighten the notches too quickly Dawn, we all know how dangerous it can be :wink:

• 155.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: @152 well if Simon was willing to send me a free copy, Id be more then willing to give him my personal opinion on it… do they publish it here in Aust?

one must sample the fare before complimenting the chef…

• 156.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

The music man, the music!

Jeez you guys have filthy minds.

• 157.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: So dont chase the man away then when asking for feedback….read comment 71

• 158.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

Whatyoutalkingabout … fool.

• 159.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli:

Simon never listens to a word I say anyway.

I’m surprised he took that seriously.

• 160.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli:

Deduction:

Simon’s cojones are smaller than mine.

• 161.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

I aint nobodies fool, sista.

• 162.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Poor man, could almost feel his pain…hasnt shown his comments here since.

• 163.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:
    Suddenly I’m starting to understand you’re nick better nad better… the insight :lol:

• 164.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli:

Naaah.

They probably off having a long lunch.

• 165.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: @155 oh my mistake… guess he was looking for the New Sensation, what with The devil inside urging him on, still, thats what happens when one engages in the Original Sin :D

• 166.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Playing golf, bleeding yuppies…lol

• 167.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: good one :lol:

• 168.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: @162 nah, its the whole yin/yang thing :wink:

would you be so kind to rank the SA franchises as we have done with the NZ ones?

• 169.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

My fave? Bitter Tears.

No better.

• 170.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Here’s the list:

Bulls
    Stormers
    Sharks
    Lions/Cheetahs

Hard to know which Cheetahs team will be playing, but here’s asuming it will be the same on that plays every S14 as aposed to the CC.

Lion as per every year rebuilding.

• 171.charo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

bulls
    stormers
    sharks
    cheaters
    lions

sharks might surprise and finish above stormers

• 172.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Bulls
    Stormers (if they live up to their hype)
    Sharks (tough one between them and Cheaters at moment, but give Sharks the edge on history alone )
    Cheetahs
    Lions

A lot of teams have new structures, coaches etc… so my guess are probably as good as yours…

• 173.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: great song Dawnie, I like the strangest party and baby dont cry..

• 174.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: @charo: @Blouste: you arent all the same bloke are you? lol identical picks..

Cheetahs are an enigma, they impressed me towards the end of last S14, thought they were playing some decent rugby, would like to see them carry it over this year…

pretty much how I see the SA sides too.

• 175.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Exactly what I’m saying BP , don’t you read between the lines.Everyone can look for excuses or reasons concerning past performances. Forget about the past **** who is going to win this year and next.

• 176.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Now, the question is, what does the Aussie teams look like..

Brumbies should be up there…

• 177.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: yeah

brumbies and Tahs only realistic chance of semis, force to cause some pain for a few teams, reds the occassional win (though McKenzie may get them punching above their weight)… in my humble opinion

• 178.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Bananaboy

I’d never marked you down as a blowarse before, far from it in fact, but you did appear to have your banana cake and eat it too there fella.

I’m still waiting for the day this blog forgets the past, ain’t gonna happen in a hurry. I keep reading, for eg, about ABs being QtweFinalists’……it’s as if 2003 has been expunged from the record books. And their opponents that day were not France !

KIA kaha

Kiwi sides S14 2010 ?

Canty
    Highlanders
    Chiefs
    Blues
    Canes

• 179.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:You are only reminded of the WC 2007 because it hasn’t been expunged from memory yet and the only way that will happen is if you win the next WC. Its our way of saying you are “beatable” remember that.

• 180.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy:

but before 2009, you only had that.

words

surely it was ONLY France who could mock NZ ?!

we learnt humility since ’91.

and SA ?

• 181.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Don’t worry we’ve been humbled enough. We just love giving you guys stick about it to make ourselves forget about our own humbling experiences. :lol:

• 182.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

good day peeps

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.