Brüssow steals the show
10 Feb 2010
Fetchers may be a dime a dozen but when it comes to the breakdown, only Heinrich Brüssow is capable of the perfect crime.
In the new issue of SA Rugby magazine, on sale this week, the Bok flanker explains his approach to stealing ball at the breakdown, why he always tests referees early on in a game, and why he doesn’t consider himself to be a cheat.
In the same article, Jake White gets technical and explains why Brüssow has been able to impress in what is a new game under new laws.
– SA’s Super 14 stars: Ruan Pienaar, Gary Botha, Bryan Habana and Carlos Spencer
– How technological advancements will aid the management of our players in terms of their conditioning
– We speak to three of the world’s best rugby minds about the state of the game
– Gert Smal on his role in Irish rugby, cracking the Bok lineout, and his plan to develop black players, which was ignored by Saru
– The 2010 Six Nations marks 100 years of French participation in the European championship. We find out how they went from tournament whipping boys to eight-time Grand Slam champions
– Zac Guildford will never forget 2009, for good and bad reasons. But all indications are that 2010 could be even more memorable on the rugby field for one of New Zealand’s brightest talents
– Former Bulls lock Hendrik Roodt on signing for the Waratahs, whether he’d consider playing for the Wallabies, and why he can’t wait to test himself against Bakkies Botha and Victor Matfield
– Frans Steyn on playing for Racing Metro, his fractured relationship with Peter de Villiers, and why inside centre is his preferred position
PLUS: A giant 2010 fixtures poster that covers everything from the Super 14 and Varsity Cup to the Currie Cup and Springbok end-of-year tour

182 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All
8 Feb 2010, 08:01 am
This Dragon is a monster……. but hou vir Steggie dop!!!!!
8 Feb 2010, 08:23 am
What?!? Frans Steyn on why inside centre is his preferred position?!?!?! Thought he left the Sharks because he wanted to play flyhalf….Money money money.
8 Feb 2010, 08:28 am
what the hell does jake white know about fetching? Didn’t he say he would never pick Brussow…yeah jump on the bandwagon, why don’t you jake?
Another Francois Steyn interview, and he has chosen a new position he prefers again!
8 Feb 2010, 08:30 am
@Staal:
I agree, Stegmann is one for the future.
Heinrich Brüssow will need to show that he is able to adapt to the new interpretations and not succumb to second-season syndrome for him to be considered world-class.
8 Feb 2010, 08:33 am
@Transformation: Yep, Fransi again on his supposed preffered positions…maybe one should ask his alleged ‘boyfriend’…LOL
8 Feb 2010, 08:34 am
@WP Till I Die: This is actually his 3rd season on top. He was the top fetcher in 2008 as well… not his fault he only played 5 minutes of international rugby in the last match.
8 Feb 2010, 08:38 am
@Transformation:
It’s SA Rugby magazine, Transie, owned by Highbury Savuka Media…many links to Jake White, John Smit and company
8 Feb 2010, 08:46 am
@WP Till I Die: lol…greetings mhlekazi, lide ixesha uzifihlile, ndiyathemba uyaphila.
Trust me i’m under no illusion as to how Jake all of sudden is a “technical” expert on fetching.
8 Feb 2010, 08:48 am
@Transformation:
jake didn’t say that…he said that he doubted that Brussow would have the impact on a game that Burger can have.
…irb confirms.
Burger irb player of the year.
Brussouw zilch
….not that i agree 100% with that stance,but those darned statistics.
8 Feb 2010, 08:50 am
Smittie owns shares in ham?
Smittie owns shares in hsm?
@Brigadier Van Zyl:
Come now. Let’s be honest for a moment.
There’s something wrong with the system when Schalk Burger has an IRB player of the year award, but Victor Matfield or Fourie du Preez does not.
And that wrongness is demonstrated quite aptly by Mccaw’s award in 2009. Ridiculous.
8 Feb 2010, 08:56 am
@Tacitus: I have to agree, McCaw did not deserve that title, both his national and S14 teams were unsuccessfull and he was outplayed by Brussouw. But Victor Matfield did get player of the game for the WC final, that has to count for something.
8 Feb 2010, 08:56 am
@gunther:
Ham !!!
8 Feb 2010, 08:58 am
Goodness
The 6 nations games this weekend were so emotional with the tributes to Bill McClaren.
Even I shed a tear.
8 Feb 2010, 08:59 am
@FireStraeuli: FS had he best session of rugby playing for the Boks at 12 – why the confusion
8 Feb 2010, 08:59 am
How does one get shares in ham?
I want to sit in on Keo’s board meetings.
And cast the proletariat vote.
8 Feb 2010, 09:01 am
Do you like green eggs with ham ?
8 Feb 2010, 09:01 am
I think shares in Ham are dependent on Keo dollars.
8 Feb 2010, 09:02 am
jake white makes me sick. a real opportunist he is, jumping on the Brussow bandwagon when everyone knows his opinion on fetchers only being good to get his beer…makes me sick to my stomach
8 Feb 2010, 09:03 am
@FireStraeuli:
Yeesh I watched 2003 semi final WC SA England on ESPN Classic.
Saw Straeuli and Gert Smal in the coaches box.
Changed the channel quick smart.
8 Feb 2010, 09:03 am
@Tacitus:
Hi Tac
Schalk desreved his award, he was the best player in the world (in his position)when he received it, no doubt.
Having said that the player of the year award is a load of **** because your props, hookers, locks seldom get the recognition they deserve, without these guys doing the hard yards the more stand out posistions as in backline , loosies, would not be able to steal the headlines.
Soccer player of the year also suffers same the fate, when last has a defender or goalkeeoer won the player of the year !!
To be fair to all the players they should have an player of the year award for each posistion!!
But that won’t happen and that is why i really have little interest in these awards !!
8 Feb 2010, 09:05 am
Frans Steyn’s words: I wanna be closer to the action at centre rather than fullback
Interpretation: I want as much ball as possible at first receiver so i can just run straight and not pass to my outside centre or wing
First it was flyhalf, now centre….he went away far too early before he had developed many skills he still lacks
8 Feb 2010, 09:10 am
@stew: Ummmmmmm, because he left the Sharks to play FH and the Sharks was only willing to play him at 12 and maybe 15. That’s why the confusion!
8 Feb 2010, 09:13 am
@Dawn: What a tragic sight for a tragic wc campaign…yuck…die twee dom seuns van Suid-Afrikaanse rugby.
8 Feb 2010, 09:13 am
people forget how good Schalk was 4 years ago.
8 Feb 2010, 09:15 am
@FireStraeuli: pity ur a sharks supporter…… enough said
other thing is journo’s make up a lot of stories , so of course F steyn is the *******???
yeah right and we let him go and what we have at center now is better then him???
maybe you should stick to comics or something.
@stew: amen stew coaches were the problem, this kid is a huge loss to south african rugby, and of course sharks rugby
8 Feb 2010, 09:16 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl: hi Brig. Well Jake was sadly mistaken, everyone and their mother saw what an impact Heinrich had on the Boks loosie dynamic!
Robbie Deans said it, Graham Henry saw it, Heinrich’s opponents like Pocock saw it and only Jake with his limited to non-existent knowledge on fetching, didn’t see it. A lot of people on this blog always applaud Jake for being able to recognise his limitations and seek assistance from experts to help him out, i think he should look to do the same on this one too.
8 Feb 2010, 09:23 am
@sharks_lover: He wasnt willing to stay on for the Sharks at 12, FOOL, that was the reason for him going to racing metro, because they supposedly wanted to make him their first choice FH….pity a Sharks supporter like yourself is so mis-informed…you’re probably part of the last remnant of the blou nulle 90′s supporter exodus still poisoning the Sharks supporter gene pool.
8 Feb 2010, 09:36 am
THATHA @FireStraeuli: THATHA!!!
8 Feb 2010, 09:39 am
@FireStraeuli: what are you talking about ?
frans left to chase the money ,he weas playing 12 ,his supposed prefered position when he left ?
instead of getting hernandez ,the sharks should have nailed down steyn and thrown money at him …it amazes me how its all of a sudden the sharks fualt that he left ?well stuf u guys for letting de villiers go hahaha
8 Feb 2010, 09:42 am
@baw: You guys…no, stormers’s guys. And you’re right about the money as being Steyn’s actual reason for leaving, but the official reason given was him wanting to play FH.
BTW me a Shark, tjaaina.
8 Feb 2010, 09:44 am
@baw: I can only blame the Sharks for the loss of Steyn
Instead of nuturing this talent and allowing him to develop , Muir played him in every position possible , as a 18 year old – crazy – look what this has done to Pienaar , the guy looks so depressed i think he will retire and sell hotdogs on durban beach.
This is down to bad management plain and simple , do you blame Steyn for wantin leave ?
8 Feb 2010, 09:49 am
i think frans steyn must realise we like him when he does drop goals ,so he ,like pienaar should just suck it up and play where the team demands …flyhalf and either inside center or fullback
8 Feb 2010, 09:54 am
@stew:well without **** muir where would frans steyn be? certainly he wouldnt have a world cup medal ,and in that case hed probably be more inclined to stay in south africa ,given pdv views …cant blame anyone ,frans had his reasons
8 Feb 2010, 09:55 am
@baw: Jake White brought Steyn in
8 Feb 2010, 09:58 am
i don’t get this…when bismarck throws his toys, he is called windgat & all sort of other names, when francois does the same thing and actually packs his bags on a mercenary expedition to france, it is the sharks fault that they didn’t accomodate his demands?…
8 Feb 2010, 09:58 am
@Dawn: ummm dawn, SA lost to NZ in the quarterfinals in 2003???
so not sure what game you were “watching”…
8 Feb 2010, 10:00 am
@stew:lol ,**** muir! cheers ,have a good day
8 Feb 2010, 10:01 am
@Transformation: its coz bissie is competing with captain fantastic who cant do no wrong
8 Feb 2010, 10:04 am
Yaaaaa, Brussow really is the pinnacle at the moment. Finally got everyone to shut up about the vastly overrated McCaw.
8 Feb 2010, 10:17 am
@Kobus Kitty: you really have no idea do you, Brussouw has had one season in international rugby, McCaw ten… some ways to go for the little man yet..
also, your claim that only the World Cups count.. so youre telling me after 87 years that you guys finally winning in Dunedin meant nothing.. ? guess so..
haha you really have no idea do you, too many blows to the head when you were a kid I suspect…
8 Feb 2010, 10:19 am
@Tacitus:
the only thing about McCaw getting the 2009 Award is that its only the 2nd time. He’s been the best player on the planet for 5+years, every year. But, if FdP hadnt ended last year playing like a wet sponge, then he should have got it.
8 Feb 2010, 10:21 am
@poppa69: @42
When I hear the expression ‘bonehead’, a caricature of KK(K?) immediately springs to mind.
8 Feb 2010, 10:27 am
@Black Panther: he contradicts himself at every opportunity, claiming only the world cups count (which English blogger does that remind you of?) yet when hes losing an argument he goes for the 3-0 line.. remember, he was claiming the sevens last year too, now they have a slim chance at best, he doesnt “care” for sevens..
must admit it is worth a good laugh, I chuckle for hours…
you watch, I’ll be called a rascist in a minute hahaha
8 Feb 2010, 10:59 am
@poppa69: @Black Panther: hey come on guys it’s only monday morning
, no need to gang up on kobus
8 Feb 2010, 10:59 am
Frans Steyn is into **** and got a bit confused. Thought it was British Lions and not Golden Lions. Poor chap.
8 Feb 2010, 11:04 am
@poppa69:
Big Poppa, don’t be illiterate, bra, I said at the moment, as in right now, as in not 10 years ago. Brussouw RRRRRAPED MCCHEAT last year buddy oh yea. touch it.
8 Feb 2010, 11:05 am
@Blindspot: @47
any chance you can re-phrase that 1st sentence ?
8 Feb 2010, 11:10 am
@Transformation: @46
Ive eaten camemberts that were more mature than KKK. He should have a lovechild with Whatever and call it Benjamin Button
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All