Brüssow steals the show

Fetchers may be a dime a dozen but when it comes to the breakdown, only Heinrich Brüssow is capable of the perfect crime.

Click here to subscribe

In the new issue of SA Rugby magazine, on sale this week, the Bok flanker explains his approach to stealing ball at the breakdown, why he always tests referees early on in a game, and why he doesn’t consider himself to be a cheat.

In the same article, Jake White gets technical and explains why Brüssow has been able to impress in what is a new game under new laws.

SA’s Super 14 stars: Ruan Pienaar, Gary Botha, Bryan Habana and Carlos Spencer

– How technological advancements will aid the management of our players in terms of their conditioning

– We speak to three of the world’s best rugby minds about the state of the game

– Gert Smal on his role in Irish rugby, cracking the Bok lineout, and his plan to develop black players, which was ignored by Saru

– The 2010 Six Nations marks 100 years of French participation in the European championship. We find out how they went from tournament whipping boys to eight-time Grand Slam champions

– Zac Guildford will never forget 2009, for good and bad reasons. But all indications are that 2010 could be even more memorable on the rugby field for one of New Zealand’s brightest talents

– Former Bulls lock Hendrik Roodt on signing for the Waratahs, whether he’d consider playing for the Wallabies, and why he can’t wait to test himself against Bakkies Botha and Victor Matfield

Frans Steyn on playing for Racing Metro, his fractured relationship with Peter de Villiers, and why inside centre is his preferred position

PLUS: A giant 2010 fixtures poster that covers everything from the Super 14 and Varsity Cup to the Currie Cup and Springbok end-of-year tour

182 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

• 51.Blindspot: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Sure! He likes Muir and wanted to follow him. ;)

• 52.Transformation: Reply to this comment

a new zealander’s view on the new rules:
    bok block free flowing rugby

By DUNCAN JOHNSTONE – Stuff.co.nz

Last updated 12:57 08/02/2010

OPINION: At the risk of being cynical, don’t bet your house on South Africa joining the party when it comes to the Super 14 being instantly transformed into a free-flowing spectacle.

And why should they? The Bulls are the champions after all and the public murmurings we’ve heard coming out of New Zealand and Australia over the past couple of weeks sound more like a desire to see the game played the Anzac way rather than the Sanzar way.

Should South Africa be bullied into adopting a new style when they managed to set the standards last year both in Super rugby and the Tri-Nations?

Let’s get things straight to start with. These aren’t new laws we are talking about. They are supposed new interpretations.

It’s up to the referees to try to implement them but whether there is consistency in that department and whether teams actually buy into this noble attitude remains to be seen.

South Africa enjoyed playing the rules their way last year because that’s the way they have traditionally played them. You have a big pack, you have a dynamic kicker at No 10, you have swift chasers and you prey off opposition mistakes.

The Bulls were good at it and the Boks proved masters at it until they ran out of steam at the end of the year. But by then they had already dominated the British and Irish Lions and the Wallabies and whitewashed the All Blacks.

Don’t get me wrong, rugby needs an overhaul as a spectacle but when the chasers are asking the champions to change their winning ways for the sake of it, it’s questionable whether they will buy into that.

What’s in it for them? South Africa’s Super 14 attendances embarrassed their Sanzar partners last year and while New Zealand provided three of the four semifinalists the competition always seemed to be ”owned” by the rugby republic in 2009.

The Stormers and Sharks have flirted with running rugby at times but the Bulls remain the only South African side to lift the trophy and they have achieved that with their simple but effective approach..

The Bulls have talked openly of building a dynasty and the foundations in personnel and approach are well and truly laid. Loftus is the palace of pragmatism – a place where the dropped goal still rules.

Then there’s the global scene to consider. It would be one thing to twist a South African arm but it will be an even bigger task to persuade the stodgy rugby brains up north to follow a template set by the Super 14, a rugby competition they have always regarded as powder puff.

The new interpretations have real merit with their ability to provide a better contest at the breakdowns and reward the attacking team.

• 53.Rebels_Shark: Reply to this comment

@flanka:

You should get out more.

• 54.flanka: Reply to this comment

@Rebels_Shark: huh?

• 55.gankela: Reply to this comment

I dont see how applying the rules differently at the rucks is going to benefit the game. How is this going to benefit the attacking team? Players are no longer going to be committing to rucks, everyone will just stand in the backline.

• 56.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Yeah, and you should have heard your pal Black Panther before the last world cup. He dissapeared for about a year, also tried changing his nick but that didn’t work out. I noticed he’s calmed down a bit over the last year, but wait, there’s another WC coming round shortly.

• 57.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Kea-cat

I’m most intrigued about my supposed pre-RWC personna, pls provide evidence. Furthermore I was IN Stade de France cheering on the Boks, how about you ?

I’ve always been BP/WN here, never changed anything. I explained why years ago and discuused that here many times, ask Cane.

Front up.

• 58.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Richie looked like a wet sponge last year from begining till end. FduP has been the best player for a while now, remember the WC game against England 36-0. FduP won that game on his own.
    How did Richie perform in the last WC?

• 59.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Kea-Cat: He put up an oscar winning performance after the quarter final loss to France, he had tears and everything…LOL

• 60.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

You gonna front up for my guided tour?

• 61.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Why would you shout for the Boks, only reason I can think of is because NZ were already out of the competition.

• 62.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

The last World Cup I was in SA watching every game on the telly. I have only managed to see two WC’s live, 1995 (obviously) and 1999. The only reason I went to the 99 WC was because in 99 I was working in London, the same reason you were in France.

• 63.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

I forgot to add, before the 95 WC nobody here cared.

• 64.rangerman: Reply to this comment

blackpanty sounded like a teenage girl during the 2007 wc. he went to the final because he was one of the kiwis who took the finals package and told us all, ad nauseum, how nz would sweep all before them.

arrogance personified.

dont get him started on suzie, the gold watch or any other excuse for nz losing games.

it becomes rather tedious.

• 65.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Those of you who still want to play in the S14 superbru

The easiest way to get people in is to give them your pool code and send them to www superbru com/super14

Your pool code(s) are:

Keo?s muppits: wrenlest

• 66.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Kobus

its not important IF he raped McCaw last year, only world cups count remember ?

• 67.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: @60

of ?

@Kea-Cat: @61

because 1st and foremost, Im a rugby fan.

I shouted for the Boks because we Kiwis respect SA as a great rugby nation. I shouted for the Boks because I didnt want Engl to win. I shouted for the Boks, as did most other Kiwis I know.

Doesnt make me believe the Boks had THE softest draw of any RWC in its short history tho. The fact I respect the team doesnt mean I respect all the fans tho, just some of them.

You can call Kiwi fans many things, and have, but being ante-rugby is 1 thing you cant. The AB Capt and Coach have never landed in SA and called their opposite “a cheat” for eg. The NZRFU have never sent a B team to SA at the last minute after seeing the visitors A team fill their stadiums either. And I dont recall any major controversies surrounding the ’87 RWC either, that required a certain book/movie being re-written.

@Kea-Cat: @62

Ive only missed 2 RWCs – ’91 & ’95. Ive never worked in Australia or France.

@Kea-Cat: @63

thats a lie. Safas are many things but theyre still the no2 rugby fan in the World.

• 68.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

Your post re the stadium having a Table Mountain backdrop, and your question re pubs and restaurants in the precinct, refers.

I offered a tour of the Cape Town facilities.

• 69.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

continue to whisper sweet grubby nothings in my ear and I may yet take you up on that offer. Dont tell anyone, lets keep it our little secret, but tha fullas are currently planning a trip down your way in June to follow the Mighty All Whites…

That stadium looks utterly magnificent. Its almost as pretty as the indoor one theyre building in Dunedin for RWC’11. And that, Peaches, is a city Id gladly give you a tour of blindfolded (or we could save that for later).

• 70.Simon: Reply to this comment

What do you guys think of this month’s cover and choice of articles?

• 71.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Simon:

Please leave the room.

I’m busy with the Panther.

@Black Panther:

It ain’t “almost” as pretty. Ours is prettier.

• 72.BadGena: Reply to this comment

NZ S14 2010 predictions from an insider..

BLUES:
    Blues fans start the season excited over the Mathewson/Brett combo. By round 9 Smylie and Toeava are starting at 9 and10. Ali Williams enjoys a kick-*** season. Anthony Boric tries to emulate Ali by sporting a spiky mullet and wearing a comic book hero costume. Stephen Brett gets sulky because Boric steals his Wonder Woman outfit. Pat Lam unveils a new game plan called “Just run it from anywhere bro!” Joe Rokocoko reveals that the reason he lost his mojo was because he was feeling depressed. He launches a series of mental health advertisements with John Kirwan and the Mad Butcher. Lam unearths a great new talent when he picks one of the Eden Park construction workers at tighthead.

CHIEFS:
    Kahui will look absolutely awesome…for the 20 minutes he plays this season. Stephen Donald will finally crack from trying to be Mr. Positive and pull a Tonya Harding on Mike Delany. Delany is seen crying on TV. Like Tonya, Donald will release a *** tape. Byron Kelleher will return to NZ and ask if he can star in the sequel. Hika Elliot gets pissed off at being on the bench and get suspended for urinating in a bar after starting a fight. In his court appearance his lawyer uses the defense – “with all due respect your Honour, he was living in Hamilton.” Muliaina says he is “burnt out” from rugby. Colin Bourke decides to stop sleeping with coach Foster’s wife in order to get some playing time. Muliaina says he is “excited” again about rugby. Lauaki starts the season in great physical shape but cracks under the pressure of dieting and eats Callum Bruce in a feeding freenzy. Latimer plays every minute of the Chief’s campaign at no. 7 but people still ask “Why isn’t Latimer playing? Is he injuried?” The BOP mafia recruit an army to defend his honor on Internet forums.

HURRICANES:
    David Smith has a breakthrough season by finding all new ways to suck. Tialata blows *** and gets dropped. Midway through the season he’ll announce his retirement from rugby on Twitter and open a KFC franchise in Wainui. Karl Lowe won’t win the S14 but will take home ‘the biggest biceps’ award. Piri Weepu will get to play no 9 all season and establish himself as the best halfback in the country. Piri won’t win the S14 but will take home ‘the biggest shorts’ award. Bryn Evans will miss his first game because the stadium security guards won’t let him in. He’ll say, “I’m Bryn Evans, I’m an All Black.” One of the guards will laugh and say “Yeah bro. So am I. So am I.” Jeremy Thrush will come out in Womans Day and admit he has a manjina. The team doctor gives him medication for his yeast infection. Cooper’s last game as Hurricanes coach ends on a fitting note when the ‘Canes bow out in the semifinals.

CRUSADERS:
    Brad Thorn will bench press Andy Ellis as his pre-match workout all season. Carter and McCaw will have a Kobe-Shaq falling out midway through the season. Carter will get his fancy pants in a knot and say “You can’t win a title without me Richard.” McCaw will say “Whatever! And you can have your silly undies back. They’re too tight for me anyway” and try to transfer to the Blues. The Auckland administrators find some way to screw it up and pay a fortune instead to get Onosa’i Tololima-Auva’a back in the squad. Murray Mexted will call Jonathan Poff ”Jonathan Poof” in every Crusaders game he commentates. Fruean will get benched by Blackadder for playing rap in the changing sheds. He’ll say “You’re not in Porirua now Dr Roberti Fruen. We only listen to two kinds of music round here, country and western.” Thomas Waldrom will try to console him and say it’s tough for us brothers down here.” Fruan will say, “Your not black bro!…and stop stealing food from my locker!” During the Crusaders’ S14 winning celebrations and team chants, Zac Guildfuid will joke “Rueben Thorn was pretty **** wasn’t he?” The eerie silence will be broken when Kieran Read says “Get out! You’re not welcome round here anymore!’

HIGHLANDERS:
    The Highlanders home attendance record peaks in round 3 with a total of 263 fans. Jamie Mackintosh joins Jeremy Thrush by admitting he has a manjina, solving the riddle over why he’s such a big *****. Murray Mexted gets suspended from the Sky commentary team again for calling Tim Boys “Tim Likes Boys.” Clint Newland punches out Fetu’u Vainikolo for wearing purple boots with silver glitter. Jason Shoemark teaches Newland the word “purple,” raising Clint’s vocabulary to five words. Laurie Mains is quoted in the Otago Daily Times saying that Suzy has put a curse on the Highlanders. Robbie Robinson and Israel Dagg will get tired of being the only players on the team who can catch and pass while running and steal a cheerleader at knifepoint. The Highlanders board concedes to their demands by giving them both a one-way ticket out of the Highlanders but can’t give them a million dollars because the team’s broke. Ben Smith tells the boys, “Don’t’ worry guys, you still have star All Black winger Ben Smith.” Jimmy Cowan looks confused and asks Adam Thomson, “Hey do you know that guy?” Thomson says “No. But didn’t I beat up his sister once”..

• 73.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

And who you calling “grubby” and “Peaches”

Make up your tiny mind.

• 74.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Simon: Shame man, getting chased out of your own article, how rude.

B.t.w. I think the cover looks very lekker.

• 75.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: I know you don’t work in France, but it’s a short distance from France to the UK.

• 76.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Ag siestog, you only getting one stadium to show off with, bet the thinking is that the AB’s should surely be able to win the wc indoors because you always do so well playing Wales.

It’s worth a shot seeing as the outdoors have not been favourable to you guys.

B.t.w. check out Moses Mabhida stadium if you wanna see a masterpiece.

• 77.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

Having Jake White talk on the value of a fetcher holds as much water as JZ talking on the value of chastity…

• 78.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Rum And Maple: Now that’s comparing apples with apples…LOLz

• 79.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: Ha,ha… exactly!!!

• 80.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Simon:

I’m gonna buy this issue because it has my match line-up insert.

• 81.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: I’m gonna buy this issue because it doesn’t have Frans Steyn on the cover…

• 82.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: @71 & @72

Sorry, Peaches, I will erase all attempt at humour in future.

RWCs of rugby, yes. 1st Round exit at the Comedy Club every single year.

@Kea-Cat:

Still gotta get there. Would you have to support your main rivals ?

Ive lived in UK for 16yrs – what year was the RWC in Aus ?

@FireStraeuli:

Everything is point-scoring for you huh ?

Really, the art of banter is just lost on most people here. Unless the Teachers Stamp(smileys) is adorned with everything comment it, apparently, means that everything is taken on face value ?

Lighten up folks, its Super14 Week 1 !!!!

• 83.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: nah, we’ve just rigged the draw so we only have to face Eng, Fiji and Argentina to win a world cup…

• 84.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: I’m very much lit up…if you wanna be handing it out, you gotta be able to take it….;-)

• 85.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Yeah, that’s smart, wouldnt wanna see you drop out against France again…heaven forbid McCaw give another oscar performance after another failed wc bid, especialy on home turf…indoors.

• 86.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli:

Give it ?

Take it ?

Bonehead, Ive made comments about the “awesome” new CT stadium. And chucked in a wee joke about Dunedins new stadium (Im a Highlanders fan). It was clearly a joke. Correction – to every non-Safa.

Tell me, what/where did I “hand out” ? You have the hide of a haemophiliac.

• 87.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: lucky you guys havent faced France either huh? I mean, what is it now, 2 wins out of the last ten games head to head? hell, dont they have a 100% record againts you guys at one of your hometown stadiums? best you guys knock that one down quick smart lol..

• 88.Nils: Reply to this comment

As for oscar performance, I would like to see which team faces after the exit in the playoffs are all smiles? Unless, of course, if they have snorted a lot.

• 89.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Lame joke.

• 90.Nils: Reply to this comment

Glad to see, there will be at least one deputant in the WC. If nothing extra-ordinary happens this month, Russia are in.

• 91.Nils: Reply to this comment

debutant, that is.

• 92.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Nils: Very lame…snort joke, we’ve moved on, so should you.

Crying on international television after loosing in the qtr finals, now that’s a first.

• 93.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli:

Whatever qualifies you as a Judge of that ?

• 94.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Ummm, ’95. Faced them, box been ticked thank you very much.

• 95.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: thats right, didnt Derek bevan score a gold watch out of that game? hmmmmmm

• 96.Nils: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: I think it was very lame to diss tears. I bet, if the same happens to your team, surely they will shed a tear. It’s normal human reaction. Unless – as I said – under influence.

• 97.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: I tell you, very few SA’s were interested in the WC’s before 95. I can’t even remember if I watched the games on telly or not. Actually I must have watched in 91, I was staying in that dump North Acton in a house with 11 Kiwis, 1 Aussie and 2 SA’s.

• 98.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Nils: ’03…no tears. Or must one loose to France to be allowed to cry? retorical of course.

• 99.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Kea-Cat: as Morne Du Plessis said,in reference to 87 and 91, and I quote “I have serious doubts we would have won”… this from the manager of your 95 side who had to apologise for the arrogance of Luis Luyt…

shame they never showed that in INVICTUS huh?

• 100.Nils: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: Geez, in 03
    they were nobodies with no chance whatsover.

Japanese did not cry, too, for the exactly the same reason.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.