‘We’ve achieved nothing yet’
10 Feb 2010
The Stormers aren’t buying into the hype that they’re overwhelming favoruites to beat the Lions this Saturday.
First they won the Tri-Series, and then their second trophy in last week’s hammering of Boland at the new Cape Town Stadium. Hell, they even won the Newlands challenge when they beat the Cape Cobras in a cricket match. There’s a buzz around the Stormers which isn’t unbelievable. Three trophies in the space of a month. Give it up for the boys in blue.
Believe the marketing hype, and you’re bound to believe the Stormers are destined for greater things in 2010. The more educated Cape supporter will tell you to be careful. They’ll remind you that neither the Stormers nor WP have won a big competition since 2001.
If you can’t find a Stormers supporter willing to admit to their side’s past failings, ask one of the thousands of Bulls or Sharks fans residing in Cape Town. They’ll tell you that when it comes to the Super 14, the Stormers are pre-season champs and in-season chumps.
Nobody is more aware of this perception than Allister Coetzee, the new Stormers head coach. The media have gone huge with the pre-season success, but Coetzee and his captain Schalk Burger have worked hard behind the scenes to ensure the squad doesn’t become windgat. It’s this kind of attitude that’s got them into trouble before, and it’s why Coetzee laughed off talk that Saturday’s match against the Lions represents a soft start.
‘Talk is cheap – that’s the only message to my players in preparation for Saturday,’ he told keo.co.za. ‘There’s no easy game and we still have to go out and win.
‘We’ve achieved nothing yet, so there’s no need for arrogance. We all know that there’s a thin line between confidence and arrogance. Nobody wants to be caught off-guard, especially against an unpredictable side like the Lions. It’s going to be all business.’
The Stormers head into this year’s competition with two new senior Springboks, Jaque Fourie and Bryan Habana, at their disposal. Many have questioned the pair’s move to the underachieving Cape franchise, but Coetzee explains their value lies beyond their playing ability. Fourie and Habana will be called on to exercise their leadership skills as early as Round 1.
‘We are looking to our senior players to show some composure in the tight games, and that’s what we expect from Jaque and Bryan this Saturday. There are a number of leaders within the team, which is a good sign.’
While the Lions struggle at Super 14 level, they do usually save their best performances for the Stormers and WP. They beat WP at the back end of the 2009 Currie Cup, a defeat that cost Province an ‘easier’ semi-final against the Cheetahs, and also denied them the bonus point for four tries in the 2008 Super 14.
The Lions aren’t going to qualify for the play-offs, but they have every chance of punishing an overconfident team. Fortunately for Coetzee, the Stormers have worked hard to tick the humble box in the build up to Super 14 proper. Win or lose, they will now be judged by the rugby showings and not made to remember their pre-season promises.
By Jon Cardinelli

413 Comments
10 Feb 2010, 06:15 am
Quite right. They’ve NEVER done a thing in Super Rugby, ever.
10 Feb 2010, 06:27 am
So much promise….but that is all….1 game at a time….no swagger please Stormers….Ellis Park is a daunting first hurdle at altitude against a desperate and pumped up Lions…..only a 100% focussed and committed effort will be enough.
Pressure firmly on Stormers.
Time for Grant to deliver at 10.
10 Feb 2010, 06:31 am
oh ffs not another stormers “we don’t believe the pre-season hype” thread!!! No no no!! Who are you trying to convince, us or yourselves?
i can’t wait til the rugby starts so that these stormers people (players & coaches) can start talking about RUGBY again!
10 Feb 2010, 06:55 am
duh
10 Feb 2010, 06:56 am
For sure, the Keo writers are saying the same thing in ten different articles
10 Feb 2010, 07:30 am
I wonder if Jon gets paid to write such a load of ****… Three trophies nogal… I bet you the Stormers players dont give a hoot about these so called trophies.
As a Stormers supporter i dont cos what we really want is the S14 or Currie Cup trophy.
I bet you Tacticus is gonna laugh himself silly when he reads this!!
10 Feb 2010, 07:35 am
Since ALL the teams are currently on zero log points, you have to ask yourself why it isnt necessary for the Bulls, Sharks, Lions and Cheetahs to also declare that ‘they have achieved nothing as yet’.
Why are only the Stormers congratulated for ‘keeping their feet on the ground’?
It’s because the Cape Press live in the friggin Twilight Zone, and whatever the players may say to the contrary, this expectation rubs off on them.
Heck, the Kiwi press view the Stormers as mediocre at best, but according to the Stormers it will no doubt be a huge surprise, not to mention some kind of an injustice, if they once again fail to make the playoffs.
I don’t think I’ll ever understand this pervasive sense of entitlement that is always present down in the Cape.
10 Feb 2010, 07:38 am
@wpw: lmao @ “i bet Tacitus is gonna laugh himself silly when he reads this”
so Tac’s guffaws get to you mate?
10 Feb 2010, 07:47 am
@Tacitus:
You have to love the Cape Press preseason. They never learn.
I think the Stormers will start well but may fall away at the business end of the competition.
Thats what the crusaders and bulls do so well, they peak right at the bussiness end of the season.
10 Feb 2010, 07:51 am
Well, if I was a Stormers fan I’d be very worried…
Luckily for me I’m a Lions supporter…
10 Feb 2010, 07:54 am
One of the only places hyping the Stormers at the moment is right here, keo.co.za…
The rest of us supporters are quietly confident, but we know too well what disappointment feels like.
Just because the writers here on keo say it’s so, doesn’t mean it is…
10 Feb 2010, 07:55 am
@Sonito: So true, seems the Capetonians are slow learners. Pride precedes the fall. Same story every year.
Managing the ‘peak’ seems to be the secret to S14 success, just not sure if there is an exact formula and whether it’s a hit and mis kinda scenario.
10 Feb 2010, 07:58 am
@Rum And Maple: Lions supporters are actualy sitting pretty this year because there is absolutely no expectaions on the Lions which might just be to their advantage.
All I know is I’m glad the Sharks don’t face them first up, it’s way to easy to completey write the the Lions off and being blindsided by them.
10 Feb 2010, 08:00 am
@FireStraeuli:
I think a key is not to have a huge preseason and also not to hype yourself up in the early part of the season. It is a lot of emotion to carry the whole season and the pressure just keeps building game by game with the hype. Unfortunately a common Sharks mistake
10 Feb 2010, 08:01 am
@FireStraeuli: Ja boet, being a Lions supporter means that there is NEVER any hype or cockyness…
And it is the same again this year…
I will be happy if we loose by less than 7…
@FireStraeuli:
The only “pride” I’ve seen has been from the Sharks supporters who refuse to believe that there are major problems in store for their squad this year and refuse to abandon a sinking ship (with regards to front row problems and lack of a flyhalf).
@WP Till I Die: that is true to a certain extent mate, but i must say, the cape press does seem to whip people into a frenzy down there.
here in durbs we have old mike greenway, sedately reporting (a skill nobody at keo possesses) the happenings. no predictions of glory, no bashing other teams, no politics.
just rugby. what a pleasure.
10 Feb 2010, 08:02 am
A reminder to those who want to play Super 14 fantasy rugby on testrugby.com – we are in the Muppit League (note spelling and caps)
10 Feb 2010, 08:03 am
@Rum And Maple:
I wish the Lions well, they’re my second team. They play hard, nothing flashy, and their supporters are true ones.
Unlike the “mooiweersvriende” fans you find at the Bulls and the Sharks…
@Sonito: Yep especialy last year, luckily the pre-season wasn’t as big for the Sharks this year, and it’s good to be ranked third favourites SA side in the comp this year so not much hype which will hopefully help.
Either way I’m not a confident Sharks supporter, but time will tell.
@Simon: Thanx Simon. Registered yesterday… still have to pick a side though…
10 Feb 2010, 08:04 am
@rangerman:
We do have some twats writing rugby articles in the Cape, I’ll conceed that.
@WP Till I Die:
Let me quickly add that I do not want to generalise, most of the Bulls and Sharks fans are brilliant, but it seems a lot of their “new” fans are mooiweersvriende jumping on the bandwagon.
10 Feb 2010, 08:05 am
Let’s hope all SA sides do well this year.
We should be slagging off the Aussies and the Kiwis, not each other!
Let’s leave that for the Currie Cup!
10 Feb 2010, 08:05 am
@FireStraeuli:
As long as we beat the Stormers and cost them a place in the semis I am happy.
… O Yes and also scrum them to pieces
10 Feb 2010, 08:07 am
@WP Till I Die: I also do hope we do better this year…
A lot of positive changes happened at the union… but I’m mostly a realist… it will be a tough season and we have a team of new players and combinations…
If we improve gradually and win the odd game I will be very happy…
One does not build a winning side in 6 months.
10 Feb 2010, 08:08 am
@WP Till I Die: mate, we have no front row problems but the flyhalf issue has been remarked upon by almost every sharks fan, along with our center worries.
but what can we do at this stage?
if the argie hadnt gone down we might be singing a different tune but lets see how meyer goes.
10 Feb 2010, 08:09 am
@rangerman:
Yeah we are just lacking any cutting edge in our backs. Lets hope somebody steps up.
10 Feb 2010, 08:10 am
@rangerman:
Best of luck to you, though.
I hope the Stephen Meyer experiment works out for you guys.
10 Feb 2010, 08:11 am
@WP Till I Die: Would sure love to see a Sharks supporter willing to stick his neck out and call any of the Sharks game with any certainty?
Sorry son but we’ve learnt our lesson, it only takes one disapointing year to bring us down to earth, we’re under no disillusions.
Sadly it seems the Stormers supporters believe they’ve now got the be-all and end-all of scrumaging in South Africa and seems to feel they’ve earned the right to teach everyone how a scrum actualy opperate, yet with your wonderfull little scrum you still failed to reach the CC final last year?!
@Sonito:
Scrum us to pieces? With Smittie at 3 and Kankowski at 8?
@Sonito: ja, i am looking forward to rugby regardless.
SHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
ok, gotta go. chat later all.
10 Feb 2010, 08:12 am
JC… Doing a bit of ****-stirring again…??!!
“If you can’t find a Stormers supporter willing to admit to their side’s past failings”
c’mon… read your own blogs… us Stormers supporters are always qualifying our expectations with equal reservations due to the failings of the team in the past…
way more non-Stormer supporters are writing them up… purely in the hope of having a go at the real Stormers supporters should the team not deliver… those same non-fans will then try and blame the real supporters for talking their team up…
pretty much like you…!!
agree with Grant10… my only concern is Peter Grant… Just don’t think he is the multi-skilled game-dominating general we need at flyhalf… Hope they fast track Cronje… or even use Willem De Waal… despite what most people say, he can move the ball and get the line moving… remember the Lions…? PLUS… the value of his boot… territorially and for posts… just can’t be over-estimated…
10 Feb 2010, 08:13 am
@WP Till I Die:
That would be a dream come true!! Maybe also throw in a push over try also
10 Feb 2010, 08:14 am
@FireStraeuli:
Not at all mate!
And we know the WP pack did well against the highly-vaunted Bulls outfit in the semi-final…if we hadn’t kicked possession away in the last few minutes to the Bulls so that van den Heever could run down the line and be clotheslined by our tame Fijian, we would have been in the final…
But hey, as they say in Afrikaans, “as is verbrande hout”.
10 Feb 2010, 08:17 am
@ufo:
The problem is Cardinelli spends all his time watching rugby from the press boxes…so all he does is spend time with fellow rugby journalists from the Cape.
And unfortunately those rugby “journalists”, judging by the articles in the Cape press, (a) do not know much about rugby and (b) love to sensationalise things.
I suppose we need to give JC a break…but he should learn not to generalise like that! Just because his press tjommies hype the Stormers does not mean us real Stormers supporters do as well…
10 Feb 2010, 08:18 am
@Simon:
No Keo prediction comp this year?
As for the Stormers, I said my part last week.
Collectively they look better than last year, so expect a better log position than 10, but for my money, the Stormers still get bullied in the collissions which is why they will fail.
10 Feb 2010, 08:21 am
@rangerman: Dont worry, old Pienaar will step up to the plate, lets not forget, the only reason he got subbed as Springbok FH was because of his placekicking.
One thing is certain, I’d rather see him at FH than SH, he just needs some self belief and he’ll do wonders for us there.
Last year Pienaar started the S14 for us at FH and it was only once he was injured that the Sharks came undone. It’s just his place kicking that is not up to scratch.
He should be on the bench this weekend and by next week he’ll be fit enough to make the starting line-up.
10 Feb 2010, 08:27 am
Blah,blah,blah…it’s precisely ’cause the Stormers have got the right attitude that they gonna thrash the poor Lions on Saturday…@TheTackler: ..and I wouldn’t say they have never done a thing in Super rugby…they have never ended up bottom of the log…yet the Bulls have had the pleasure of eating that wooden spoon 3 TIMES
10 Feb 2010, 08:31 am
@Sonito: Hahah…Stormers beat you 3 times in a row now…fast becoming yr bogey team…and yr scrum got no chance….
10 Feb 2010, 08:36 am
@WP Till I Die:
spot on WPTID…!
10 Feb 2010, 08:41 am
@WP Till I Die: Brave words my little friend. Cocky F*%k!
10 Feb 2010, 08:41 am
“The Lions aren’t going to qualify for the play-offs…”
Comments like this really push my buttons, hope the Lions kick some Cape @ss this weekend. JC I bet thats all you really wanted to write, your article is ****
10 Feb 2010, 08:43 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Where? Have you read all my posts? Or are you going to persist with your noisy tendency to focus your tunnel-vision on one single offensive line?
10 Feb 2010, 08:46 am
@WP Till I Die: Hey…I’m a real Stormer supporter…and I understand where all the angst comes from…as we’ve not lived up to the hype in the past…but look at the big picture…this is a very good team…and barring injuries to key players we gonna do pretty well…I’d be concerned as an opposition team…and recently we’ve been there or thereabouts against the Bulls,who are supposedly the team we measure ourselves against…looking fwd to a good season…
10 Feb 2010, 08:46 am
@Icemoney: He forgot “but neither are the Stormers”!
10 Feb 2010, 08:47 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): More like neither are the pap sharks…
10 Feb 2010, 08:49 am
@WP Till I Die: Yes I’ve read all your stupid posts, but its this comment I was referring to:
“The only “pride” I’ve seen has been from the Sharks supporters who refuse to believe that there are major problems in store for their squad this year and refuse to abandon a sinking ship (with regards to front row problems and lack of a flyhalf).”
You so sure your Stormers are going to rule the roost? Writing off the Sharks completely. Yup, you Stormers are cocky, yet we consistently out perform you. Windgat, AGAIN. Why does this happen every year?
10 Feb 2010, 08:52 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
I’m not writing them off completely, Rateltjie…
But I am still holding to my forecast that the Stormers will end higher than the Sharks this year, old boy.
But you’ll see on the Chiefs thread that I’m supporting the Sharks…
…you see a demon behind every bush, don’t you?
10 Feb 2010, 08:54 am
At this stage I’m much happier with our coaching staff having to talk-up our chances, rather than in CT where they are madly trying to talk down the Stormers. Knowing of the tendency of coastal sides to believe the hype that is printed, I’d say the Sharks are perfectly tuned to launch an assault on the S14. Also the fact that we are a bit under-cooked rather than firing on all cylinders makes me think we might peak at the right time this year.
10 Feb 2010, 08:55 am
@Storm outta hell:
HaHaHA.. the Stormers finished 10th last year! O yes and WP is not the Stormers. Sorry Bud.
O yes and the last time the Stormers beat the Sharks in Super rugby was 2005.
So don’t make dumb comments, you are embarrassing yourself.
10 Feb 2010, 08:55 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Dude…the way I see it it that we outperformed you in the last three matches we played against you…and if you refuse to admit there are behind the scene problems at the Sharks then you should change yr nic to Volstruis Brussouw…
10 Feb 2010, 08:56 am
@WP Till I Die: Cocky. The bookies don’t think so. Describing the Sharks as a “sinking ship” is pretty much writing them off.
10 Feb 2010, 08:57 am
Screw the Sharks…
They do not have a flyhalve, they have no centres and their front-row grunts in uncontested scrums. No fault of anyone bar John “Same tendencies as Kevin Putt” Plumtree.
You cannot talk up a team that even looks useless on paper.
10 Feb 2010, 09:01 am
@Storm outta hell: When last did you beat us in the S14? Also these behind the scenes conspiracy theories are a bit out of control. I have read and heard nothing concrete about it. But I am sure there are a few ego’s battling with each other, as there are in any side that has talent.
10 Feb 2010, 09:02 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
“The bookies don’t think so. Describing the Sharks as a “sinking ship” is pretty much writing them of”
The bookies playing rugby now are they? The Sharks are in at 13.8 to 1, placed 6th, so which bookies are you booking at?
If the Sharks cannot be labeled as a sinking ship, let’s use the old “We are in a re-building phase.” excuse.
10 Feb 2010, 09:03 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
As SOH said…volstruis
10 Feb 2010, 09:04 am
@thesaint: Wow, the odds have changed a lot in the last week. Seems every resident in CT is betting their house on the Stormers!
10 Feb 2010, 09:06 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
I see the Sharks on a feeding frenzy on a Stormers thread again, refusing to believe that Stormers supporters are optimistically cautious about our chances, and then we get taken to task for it.
Got to love the guppies !!!
10 Feb 2010, 09:08 am
Stormers are combined 7th, we weren’t the one bringing the professional gamblers into the picture, you were… now s-s-s-stutter!
10 Feb 2010, 09:08 am
@justrugby:
“optimistically cautious” thats a Understatement:)
10 Feb 2010, 09:09 am
optimistically cautious
Or
cautiously optimistic?
10 Feb 2010, 09:10 am
@Sonito:
Maybe cautiously semi-optimistic is how I’d describe it personally.
10 Feb 2010, 09:11 am
It really sucks being a Stormers Supporter…no matter what you say, you get sledged…
10 Feb 2010, 09:12 am
@thesaint: What are you saying? The Sharks are above the Stormers?
@justrugby: An optimistically cautious Stormers fan is a highly over-confident or windgat any other fan.
10 Feb 2010, 09:12 am
Ag let leave the Stormers to have their party and celebrations, it’s better to celebrate pre-season than to have not celebrated at all…LOL
10 Feb 2010, 09:13 am
@thesaint: Try being a Lions supporter…
10 Feb 2010, 09:14 am
@gunther:
You choose !
10 Feb 2010, 09:15 am
Sharks supporters raak al klaar weer moerig want hulle weet dis 5 jare van hiper kak wat voorle
10 Feb 2010, 09:16 am
i love rugby season. the banter has begun in earnest.
it makes me optimistically cautious
10 Feb 2010, 09:16 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Yes, the Sharks are above the Stormers, as are the Bulls, the Hurricanes, The Blues, The Crusaders and The Brumbies, The Stormers are tied with the Chiefs.
I like their placing though, 14.6 to 1, meaning that if I had some change lying around, and everything goes well, I might make a few bucks. If not, ag well, it’ll teach me to be a Stormer.
10 Feb 2010, 09:19 am
Cape Argus Headline:
Bookies to lose millions in early S14 odds mix up.
Bookies around the world stand to lose millions during this years S14. The Stormers have been written off as tournament winners and are even rated behind the Sharks! However this mistake may lead to economic growth in the Cape area as CT residents pour their mortgages into the ‘sure thing Stormers’.
10 Feb 2010, 09:19 am
@Rum And Maple:
Just read an article on a Lions blog, from a guy living in Dubai…apparently **** Muir has already started working on his victory speech, and Baywatch is investigating which side is his best side for the Front Page Story…
You really need to come down hard on some supporters.
10 Feb 2010, 09:22 am
@Gary: lmao, stormers fans would know eh mate?
sharks fans are worried but i mnust say, the continuous rumour mill running in the cape has made me smile this pre-season:
sharks players all want to leave! (reality, only muller and albert have said they are leaving)
ruan unhappy, bizness unhappy, everyone unhappy and the sharks players have no gees!
etc etc etc yadda yadda yadda……
none of it substantiated, none of it in the press, just speculation driven by fear i suppose and maybe a bit of wishful thinking?
roll on rugby.
@rangerman: Gots to love it….
“T’was the week before S14, When all through this site,
All supporters were stirring…-even Lions and the like”
Lolz, happy days are back again.
@thesaint: Expectations like that can only be labelled as mentally optimistic…
But then again, the guy lives in Dubai… so… maybe it is sunstroke…
10 Feb 2010, 09:23 am
@rangerman
unlike luke who is optimistically nauseous….
10 Feb 2010, 09:24 am
Come on guys be nice to the Stormers Fan. The Stormers have after all won 3 trophies in the preseaon.
10 Feb 2010, 09:25 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
2011 Durban Paper Headline:
Local wins Curry Eating Competition for fifth year in a row.
Thousands of Durban based supporters gathered at the Annual Curry Eating gala where Veejay Naidoo again that he possess iron bowels. Curry eating has enjoyed a meteorical rise in popularity, after the relegation of the Sharks in favour of the Southern Kings in 2010.
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Excellent, tears in my eyes and my dog looking at me strangely…very well said.
@Sonito: Its time to give someone else a chance to win silverware!
10 Feb 2010, 09:26 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Let’s talk Sharks issues, seeing the Sharks don’t want to raise issues concerning their side I will raise a few ….hopefully I will get a mature response (doubt it though)
1.They are not a tight unit. The Smit/Du plessis brothers issues ir real and causing problems. Plum is not happy, the Hurricanes job ?? cerain players are not happy with Bissy ? The Alberts/Ludick issue etc etc
2.Their front row is a problem , as witnessed in the CC and the warm up games !!
3. Half backs untested, not even sure ure who they will be.
4. Backline devoid of pace besides JPP, but ball unlikely to get to him.
4. No settled midfield combination
5. No creative player in the backline.
6. Loosies good but they not sure of the best combo. Kanko unhappy with Alberts in the mix !!
7. Untested lock combination.
Now Sharks let’s have some decent rugby chat on these issues !!
I still believe you will beat a weak chiefs side !!
10 Feb 2010, 09:26 am
@FireStraeuli: hahaha…where on the suidkus are you?
@gunther:
all the time.
@Sonito: three trophies eh? i say well done to them (not), they do have a good team this year no doubt.
10 Feb 2010, 09:28 am
@thesaint: Stick too sermons, Saint, your stand up sux.
10 Feb 2010, 09:28 am
@thesaint:
Don’t waste your time on this idiot, his reasoning is as effective as wet spaghetti !!
10 Feb 2010, 09:29 am
mini reverse
Sharks issues… on a stormers thread?
No man…
10 Feb 2010, 09:30 am
@FireStraeuli:
I have a huge pee on board……I see there is a fire that needs putting out !!!
@thesaint: At least we’ll be winning a cup then in 2011 as we’ll probably be relegated to the Voda Cup…might not be as pretty as the three pre-season cups the Stormers have produced in recent years, but we all cant win all the time.
@justrugby:
Just having some fun…
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
What you have a problem with curry?
@rangerman:
But rangerman they are important trophies…. one is for a cricket game and the other against Boland and other a tri series.
10 Feb 2010, 09:31 am
@FireStraeuli:
I don’t know man, those Argentinians seems like the business, you guys stealing their players and all.
10 Feb 2010, 09:32 am
@gunther:
YAWN !!
10 Feb 2010, 09:32 am
@justrugby: Do what your friend ‘thesaint’ has done….relegate us to the Voda Cup, we want some silverware please…LOL
10 Feb 2010, 09:33 am
I see it’s kiddies hour….till later !!!
10 Feb 2010, 09:33 am
The only people going on about the 3 trophies, is the supporters of the other teams, not one Stormers supporter even mentioned them?
Whatever the case, a Stormers thread…even a non-thread, sure generates a lot of hits from other teams’ supporters.
10 Feb 2010, 09:34 am
@rangerman: Living in not so pretty Hiberdene…close to the beach though, lucky me
10 Feb 2010, 09:36 am
HAHAHA killed it.
10 Feb 2010, 09:38 am
@justrugby: Aaaah, dont be embarrassed, it’s nothing to be ashamed of if you’re to old to play, don’t worry, you can still watch us play though…LOL
10 Feb 2010, 09:39 am
@thesaint:
No my friend the article mentions the three trophies and then states there is a buzz around the stormers because of it.
“Give it up for the boys in blue” Come on you cant blame us for taking the piss!!! Just read the above article.
10 Feb 2010, 09:40 am
@thesaint: What? three trophies, damn, that must make the Stormers the favourites to win the S14 then…
See all you Nay saying Sharks supporters, Stormers got three trophies, what you got to show for your pre-season…..NOTHING.
10 Feb 2010, 09:40 am
@rangerman: Roll on rugby for sure, all predictions pure speculation my previous comment included
10 Feb 2010, 09:41 am
@Sonito:
That’s Keo’s Cronies…the don’t know much about rugby…they write what they are told by THE MAN!
10 Feb 2010, 09:41 am
@justrugby: Okay let me try and speak mildly:
Issue 1, there are so many question marks in this issue that I am not going to comment on the Heat gossip.
Issue 2, Any combination of Smit, Beast, Bissie, Carstens, Jannie and Burden can’t be called weak. If we endure problems, we have the depth to make changes. I actually think issue 1 is strength.
Issue 3, I concede we have some new partnerships and personnel. A valid issue.
Issue 4, We could choose younger, faster wings, but I think Ndungane is an asset with his positional play and kicking. JPP is a racehorse. Outside backs are not a concern as they are a settled and trusted unit.
Issue 4 no.2 (only you would battle to count to 5!), Yes this is also a concern although we do have some depth there. Form will decide who plays.
Issue 5, This is pathetic. Whateva your issues with Ruan Pienaar and Adi Jacobs, only a mad man would see them as un-creative!
Issue 6, More rumours. Our loosies are some of the best in the country, just missing Ratel or Stegman. Alberts has added much needed grunt depth.
Issue 7, Sykes and Muller are well tested. Whilst Mostert and Hargreaves are on the up and will learn from the others experience.
So basically the only valid concern I have is over 10 and 12. Most Sharks fans have always conceded this. But given we have 2 Springboks able to cover these positions, we could be worse.
10 Feb 2010, 09:42 am
@thesaint:
Yes, about 60% of the comments on this thread are from Sharks supporters!
10 Feb 2010, 09:42 am
@justrugby: see, thats what i am talking about.
1. its the same unit that has played together for years mate. alberts and mostert add bulk and skill, do you not agree?
2. again with the front row, lmao!
3.ruan will be there, dumond has shown himself inadequate, kocky and mcleod are terrible right?
4.adi,mvovo and vulindlu are real carthorses
5.adi? ruan? jpp?
6.kanko unhappy? again with the unhappy rumours? are gio and de jongh unhappy about habs and fourie? i bet they are. what about the leftovers from the luke vs schalk power struggle?
blah blah blah.
7.what? muller, sykes? that was our first choice last year. mostert and hargreaves as backup? what are you on about?
jr, seriously mate, sometimes i think that you capies have already drifted off fromn the rest of the continent or maybe just from reality.
as much as you want to believe all the cod you just wrote in your woefully inaccurate list, its simply not so big guy.
10 Feb 2010, 09:43 am
@thesaint:
Yeah, I know but you cant blame us for taking the piss! **** I would take the piss out of my own team if something like that was written.
10 Feb 2010, 09:45 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Only issues 10 & 12…well that is the biggest one, also the nicest channel for an attacker to run through.
No wait…if Adi, Ruan or Dumond are defennding there, what then? Oh yes, nothing, just keep on passing through.
10 Feb 2010, 09:47 am
Sharks had a brilliant team in 2007 and even then they couldnt win it, good team last year and they werent even close
So how can you guys reckon there is no problems when your team is the weakest in years.
Do a man on man comparison with previous years and tell me if im wrong
10 Feb 2010, 09:49 am
Are we there yet ? just asking , can’t wait for the rugby to start , Saturdays is getting realy boring now. Let the games begin, Stormers are in for a good year , been waiting for a looong time for this one.
10 Feb 2010, 09:51 am
@Andre_WP: 9 years waiting!
10 Feb 2010, 09:52 am
By the way, I did not even know about the trophy for beating the Cape Cobras in a charity match until today – thanks JC!
I also commented that it was a bit rich that a trophy was awarded for the Stormers v Boland Invitational XV match…
The only real indication thus far has been the Neo Africa Tri-Series…in which the Stormers comfortably beat the Western Force (their second-string) and the Sharks (close to their first team!)…
10 Feb 2010, 09:52 am
Seriously, are you in denial?
Your front row is ****! They were **** for the boks, **** in the Currie Cup and **** in the pre-season!
Ruan Pienaar is about as consistent as egg-yolk, and the fact that Dumond had 1…yes only 1 good game in the Currie Cup means nothing in the Super 14.
10 Feb 2010, 09:53 am
@thesaint: The Young makes Adi look like a freight train. Have options at 10 and 12. Need to work out the best one. Performance based. If Peter Grant was out for the season, I doubt your 10, 12 channel would be looking too smart. Our depth is our biggest strength in a loooooooooong competition.
10 Feb 2010, 09:55 am
The REAL reason for the Sharks unhappiness and Plummo wanting to leave is that they don’t feel appreciated by their fans…
the Sharks earned a home semi-final in the Currie Cup and there were 20 000 empty seats in the Tank!!!
Those poor guys must’ve been devastated… play their guts pout all year… get the home semi… and their fans can’t be bothered to fill the stadium…!!
they must all be asking themselves…
“What are we doing this for…? Our fans don’t even like us when we win…!!”
no wonder they’re all looking for greener pastures…
10 Feb 2010, 09:56 am
@Gary: Since last year S14 we have lost Albert van den Berg and Frans Steyn. We have gained Mostert, Alberts and Ludick. Whats the problem?
10 Feb 2010, 09:58 am
What depth? Please inform me, because I see none. Should Grant have been injured…De Waal and Cronje can cover at 10 and De Jongh, Welsch, Bosch, Newman and even Naqelevuki on centre.
As for De Jongh…Pierre Spies also thought him and Aplon were easy to run over, contact him for his latest comments.
10 Feb 2010, 09:59 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
You THINK you gained Alberts and Ludik…
10 Feb 2010, 10:01 am
Ever not yet. Something is rotten in the cape. Been a loyal fan for years and got dished drivel so long by pre-madonnas that I now support the Sharks and cheetahs.
Dont rate Coetzee very much, should have poached one of the kiwi coaches floating about.
I know what a warratah fan feels like, except without the sore ***!
Sareli type selections, nepotism(like the sharks) and no accountability.
Come on Rassie do something or piss off! We produce such great talent and they either get poached (like the free state) or dont have player development.
Saw Schalk pass the ball last week.
@ufo:
Now, there’s real arrogance for you – the Sharks fans were all expecting a victory against the Cheetahs in the semi-final to be dished up on a plate and therefore wanted to save their money for the “sure-thing” final at Kings Park!
@thesaint: Well, sorry but old Willem isn’t really an option for the S14. Infact if you look at our current 10 options, some other commentators (Eddie, JW, PDv etc) may say the Sharks have the better 10 options. Grant vs Pienaar; Willem vs Meyer; Cronje vs Monty. Looks pretty even to me and Pdv, but I guess that makes us biased. Who is the no.2 10 in the country currently. Oh yes, not Peter Grant.
10 Feb 2010, 10:02 am
@thesaint:
Yes…the legal proceedings take place today…will be interesting to see the result!
10 Feb 2010, 10:05 am
@WP Till I Die: Whilst the WP fans new they had no chance of making the Final, so spent all there money on supporting the semi!
I know, I know. The kick, and the Fijian. Get over it. You lost. At a packed Newlands.
10 Feb 2010, 10:06 am
@rangerman:
Well at leat you responded to rugby matter so that is a start.
You live in dreamland if you choose to believe that everything is hunky dory in Sharks land, you convince only yourself no-one else !!
Pienaar playing at 10 ….how sure are you of that ??, if you are banking on this you will once again be dissapointed, he will implode as he has previously if he plays 10, the big games will seee him crumble under the pressure, but if you believe he is the saviour go for it.
You can believe what you want about your front row, I am not blind !!
I was at all the sharks warm up games, Bissy and Burgess couldn”t even find their jumpers in the warm up drills.
Your locks are average to good, who’s the starting pair ??
Adi has not played a warm up game, still has a suspect shoulder.
Yes, from what I have seen mvovo and vulindlu lack genuine pace, Adi has never been a racehorse !!!, clever player though, my favourite in the Sharks backline, but as I said ,not convinced he is fit.
So according to you Sharks have no problems……… again I say you are fooling only youself and the other kids here, pull your head out of the sand ostrichman !!
10 Feb 2010, 10:06 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
I know – we dealt with it!
You apparently haven’t!
10 Feb 2010, 10:08 am
@justrugby:
Add to that the fact that Ruan Pienaar DOES NOT WANT TO PLAY FLYHALF…
…so Plum will push him into a position he does not want to play? Nice.
10 Feb 2010, 10:09 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): @ 121
Quite true Ratel… and thank you!
by your own admission… you can hardly call us supporters arrogant and windgat if we didn’t even expect to make the final and chose to spend all our money on the semi…
10 Feb 2010, 10:10 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Only difference is
1. None of your guys can tackle. Pienaar least of all never stays in his channel.
2. Cronje vs Dumond? Are you serious? The Sharks wanted to sell him to the Cheetahs, they don’t really want him, injuries forced them to take him, they played that clown Guy Cronje in front of him. NOW YOU RATE HIM?
3. I’d take Grant (A natural flyhalve) over Pienaar (A Scrumhalve) any day. Peter, albeit everyone calls him average, never has off days, and you can count on him, while Pienaar implodes regularly.
4. And Meyer…pathetic man, just because a guy plays in France, it doesn’t make him a good player. If memory serves, he was let go once before because he never cut the mustard.
10 Feb 2010, 10:12 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Albert en Ludick se jy, ons sal maar sien.
Sedert die golden era in 2007 dink mooi wie is weg
Percy
Barrit
Michalak
Frans Steyn
wie nog?
Dis flippen goeie spelers en julle het nie spelers om hulle te vervang nie
En sien jy praat van hoe goed die Sharks loosies is, jip hulle is goed maar vergelyk dit teen die Bulls, Cheetahs en Stormers en dis maar almal dieselfde
10 Feb 2010, 10:14 am
@WP Till I Die:
Exactly !!
10 Feb 2010, 10:16 am
Well Sharks vs Stormers round 13 is certainly going to be a big game this year!! Can the Sharks extend there winning record to 5 in a row against the Stormers in super rugby?
Lets hope it is a battle for a semi final spot to make it more interesting.
10 Feb 2010, 10:18 am
@justrugby: sorry jr, thats a load of cod again.
speculations about unhappiness all magically coming from stormers fans just dont make it true mate. in fact, smitty will manage his men better than any other captain can, dont you agree?
ruan will do fin, again, at 10.
talking about not finding jumpers, how about deon against boland?
i told you muller and sykes are the starting locks, what part of that did you miss?
mvovo and vulindlu are blitz buddy, just you watch.
roll on rugby.
10 Feb 2010, 10:21 am
@WP Till I Die: you guys keep saying this as though it is gospel??
show me the quotes guys?
ruan actually excelled at 10 last year and missed a few kicks at goal.
contrast him to p.grant and willem de waal and i know who i would rather have in my team chaps.
10 Feb 2010, 10:23 am
@rangerman:
Pity you will probably not play one of Mvovo or Vulindly seeing as Pietersen and Ndungane are your first choice.
I don’t give a **** about the guys being unhappy, yes Smit is the best captain for the team, however, it doesn’t solve the fact that you can’t scrum.
Reserve Hooker Deon Fourie throwing to the reserve locks…shocking…
10 Feb 2010, 10:23 am
i cant wait to see if meyer has the goods.
perpignan are a big side and he apparently did very well there. i would not be surprised to see him play at 12 when ruan is back.
time will tell.
10 Feb 2010, 10:24 am
@rangerman:
Me too..Grant. Pienaar only if he is at 9.
10 Feb 2010, 10:24 am
@thesaint:
if tiaan gets injured then we talk again eh?
lets see how the scrums go shall we?
10 Feb 2010, 10:26 am
@rangerman:
What I find funny is how everybody is writing off our scrum. We had one of the best scrums in Super 14 last year plus we have added some extra bulk to that scrum.
The preseason means nothing. The Sharks purposely were underprepared for the tri series. The Boks had basically just joined up with the squad, of course they were not going to look like a cohesive unit. On the other hand, the stormers had very few boks in there squad and have had very long preseason together. We are aiming to peak in the second half of the seasons lets see if the stormers can hold their momentum for that long.
10 Feb 2010, 10:27 am
@thesaint: ja, the test flyhalf vs the popgun boot.
i respect your ability to avoid provincialism clouding your judgement.
btw, what do you think of wp’s s14 record against the sharks over the last 4 years?
10 Feb 2010, 10:28 am
@rangerman:
deon is a concern… I wrote on keo after the Force game that he’s gonna have to bone up on his throwing otherwise he’ll let the side down…
10 Feb 2010, 10:29 am
@WP Till I Die: He didnt watn to play FH last year either, yet, while he was at FH during the S14 the Sharks didnt drop a game, only after his injury the Sharks started coming apart.
10 Feb 2010, 10:29 am
@rangerman:
Rather take digs at the Stormers, you are failing in your attempt to convice me re the Sharks !!
As you say bring on the rugby…….. all will be revealed !!
For the record I think Stormers also have a issue at 10 and 9. (not sure what the best combination is )
If injury to Bekker , we lack a world class backup !!
Our front row is adequate without being great !! Combination of the loosies might not be the best !!
10 Feb 2010, 10:32 am
@Sonito: precisely, why come into a meaningless set of warmup games at your peak and with your no.1 team?
why not use it as an opportunity to test combos?
and why force fitness when there is such a long comp ahead?
i think plum is a bit more canny than a lot of people realise.
10 Feb 2010, 10:33 am
@rangerman:
“i respect your ability to avoid provincialism clouding your judgement.”
This statement coming from you must go down as a classic !!!!!!
10 Feb 2010, 10:33 am
@rangerman: Ranger, I am looking forward to seeing Meyer play too. Never seen him play actually. Also have a feeling Meyer will play inside centre once Ruan is back. First have to see what he is capable of this Saturday.
10 Feb 2010, 10:34 am
Stormers had one good season in the scrum, now all of a sudden their whole game revolves around their pack….shame, new toys.
Honestly. Handing out trophies for warm-up games.
Reminds me of one year in primary school when the headmaster starting feeling sorry for the thick kids and decided everyone should get a prize.
So some kids who could barely read and write (in std.4) got prizes (a laminated a4 sheet actually) for things like perserverance etc.
@rangerman:
If you had won all the warm up games I wonder how meaningless you would of viewed them ?????? Try and be truthful now !!
10 Feb 2010, 10:36 am
@Dantalian:
and you’ve still got yours…???
10 Feb 2010, 10:36 am
@FireStraeuli: Agree, When Ruan played FH and Fransie was at inside centre we looked really good last year. For me I feel Ruan should stick to playing FH. No other position for him in the Boks. He is a far better FH than most give him credit for. Only his goal kicking that lets him down. Let someone else take the kicks that will take the pressure off of him.
10 Feb 2010, 10:39 am
@rangerman: Maybe Plumtree has the Lieutenant Columbo thing going for him.
He does seem a bit vaak at times though.
10 Feb 2010, 10:39 am
@ufo: Framed it.
10 Feb 2010, 10:40 am
@Puma:
I have got to say I like ruan at scrumhalf. Honestly when he is in form he is the second best scrumhalf in the world behind Fourie. I would play him there and keep him happy. Ruan has to be in a good space to play well.
10 Feb 2010, 10:40 am
@Dantalian:
10 Feb 2010, 10:41 am
@justrugby: why would i rather do that mate?
you asked for discussion but just keep on banging on with conspiracy theories and gossip and expecting all and sundry to accept it as fact.
its all so cloak and dagger.
10 Feb 2010, 10:42 am
@justrugby: We would have rubbed your noses in our pre-season silver ware aqcuisition…wish we had a friendly against the Dolphins, we could have had two.
10 Feb 2010, 10:45 am
@Puma: ja, its an exciting prospect.
meyer is a big lad and he might just be the answer at 12.
@justrugby: mate, they are warmup games. well done to the stormers for winning them. enjoy the trophy
10 Feb 2010, 10:47 am
The Stormers have a multitude of new/untested combinations in squad:
-Blaauw rookie
-Unsettled lock combo
Out of tight 5,3 of those play too loose.Namely:Liebenberg,Bekker,Harris.Still a question mark over their ability to win set phases consistently
-New loosefwd dynamic
If Im not mistaken started with this same combo last yr in S14 with Luke on bench.Didnt work too well.Luke huge loss for Stormers.his link play was intergral to way Stormers look to play.While Vermuelen is a great 8,link play isnt his strongest suit.Burger has a lot to prove.Louw is a good prospect but also not a out and out fetcher-stands at 1.90m
-Halfbacks untested as a combo in S14
Grant/De Waal never really excelled consistently.But Grant is better option looking at 2008 S14
-De Jong/Fourie-untested
Even though has potential to be an exciting combo its still new and really two 13’s in midfield thus balance questionable
back3-untested
Habana is class but other 2 are largerly untested or inconstent(Nakelivuki,Pietersen) then also Jantjes coming back from long term injury.
Squad depth questionable in key positions-front row,lock,centre(Des Fountain also coming back from long term injury)
Picture not as rosy as many think.Plenty of potential but thats indicative of Stormers..EVERY YEAR
And we know the results..
10 Feb 2010, 10:48 am
@rangerman:
Read the Sharksworld threads, might assisst in the blinkers coming off !!
10 Feb 2010, 10:49 am
@rangerman:
It’s a kak trophy, to be honest…
10 Feb 2010, 10:50 am
@mshiniwami: Yes please…
10 Feb 2010, 10:51 am
@rangerman: 155 – Could be Ranger. Never seen him play so looking forward to seeing him play this Saturday. Need someone to fill in the huge gap Fransie has left there!!
10 Feb 2010, 10:51 am
@rangerman:
It’s only the Sharks making sarcastic reference to the silverware , I accept that, anything to deflect the attention away from their problems !!
10 Feb 2010, 10:52 am
@rangerman:
Sawubona Ranger
Hope Meyer delivers on the hype,decent sized boy-Butch James build but not as robust but just as injury prone maybe worse.Dont think he is a 12,never seen him play there.played a bit against him throughout high school and at Kearsney he was a 10 throughout.
Hope for his sake he makes it.He and Andrew Borgen were stars at Kearsney.Borgen also came back to Sharks but didnt seem to crack it.
10 Feb 2010, 10:52 am
Where can one view pics of these trophies. I guess the trophy for beating Boland is a bronzed papsak.
10 Feb 2010, 10:53 am
@justrugby: hmm……mr analytical has just said it better than i ever could, thanks mshini.
i think the stormers have plenty of talent as always but talking the sharks down wont win them any games
10 Feb 2010, 10:55 am
@FireStraeuli:
As u asked mate..LOL
10 Feb 2010, 10:55 am
@mshiniwami: ahe, unjan’ mfo?
ja, my dad is mates with his dad and by all reports he played well in france but i have never seen him play so like a lot of sharks fans, i will be watching closely.
hows this heat man? the chiefs are prob gonna melt into their boots!
10 Feb 2010, 10:58 am
@justrugby: Read 156, you got some problems too.
10 Feb 2010, 10:59 am
@rangerman:
I agree with what Mshini has said !!!! even with the sarcasm at the end !!
Again you are one confused individual….. highlighting problem areas is not talking them down, I have said on numerous occasions that I believe they will be very competitve, but this does not remove the fact that they have problem areas, as do the stormers.
Now for talking down the stormers…….you are king !!
10 Feb 2010, 11:00 am
@Dantalian: Bronzed papsak…LOOOOOOL, keep January away from it though.
10 Feb 2010, 11:02 am
@justrugby: i have said a number of times on this thread that the stormers have talent aplenty.
why are you so sensitive?
i am not spreading rumours about the gees in the stormers camp am i?
10 Feb 2010, 11:03 am
@mshiniwami:
The lad has just arrived and Sharks supporters are already wanting to play him out of posistion…….so they want Ruan who wants to play 9 to play 10 and then move Meyer who wants to play 10 to 12……what a wondrful aprroach to ensuring their players are happy !!!
10 Feb 2010, 11:03 am
Sharks 16 – Chiefs 12
You heard it hear 1st. Remember that scoreline and chat to me on Monday.
10 Feb 2010, 11:04 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Hope you’re right!
10 Feb 2010, 11:05 am
@justrugby: So what about Grant 10 or 12, Koster from flank to wing. WP already talking about moving little Joe or Jantjies to wing. The young one moving to 12. Cocky, teams move players for the good of the TEAM.
10 Feb 2010, 11:05 am
@FireStraeuli:
See 168, i have not got my head stuck in the sand !!
10 Feb 2010, 11:06 am
@justrugby: ag, another “out of position” rant
funnily enough, p. grant is played at 12 and 10, as was dan carter.
i can go on forever but i think you will just become more inflexible on this issue and it would be a waste of time.
10 Feb 2010, 11:07 am
@justrugby: Yes i saw it, you do have your head somewhere else thou…LOL
10 Feb 2010, 11:13 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Differnce is player buy in …..Ruan has never bought into the idea of playing 10, and has stated his preference for 9.
Steyn has pissed off becuase he has been screwd around, Jdup has has idicated his unhappiness.
Unless there is player buy in it will lead to unhappiness regardles of the side these players play in !!
So there you go numbnut !!
10 Feb 2010, 11:13 am
@justrugby:
Heat is ridiculous.Went to beach last Sunday and got sunburnt sh*tless.dude Im black and Im peeling(skin)-literally!!!
Ruan IMHO has been playing most for his rugby at 10 for the last 2/3 yrs.He must get his mental psyche stronger otherwise he will never succeed at either 9 or 10.I believe he is best suited for 10.Plus with Frans Hougaard who is tremendous athlete and aire-apparent to Du Preez- he will be better than Pienaar at 9 IMO.and at 22 has age on his side.Pienaar is 26 and its Du Preez has probably 2/3 yrs left and by that time Pienaar will almost be 30 still playing sec fiddle.
The boy must step up.period.us fans need to stop making excuses for him.if he is indeed in Carter/Wilko talent category(who also played multitude of positions 10/12/15)-HE MUST STEP UP OR MOVE ASIDE
10 Feb 2010, 11:14 am
@FireStraeuli:
Have you not got homework to do ??
10 Feb 2010, 11:16 am
@justrugby: oh, so wp players all buy in but sharks players dont?
those naughty sharkies! must be unhappy!
10 Feb 2010, 11:17 am
@FireStraeuli:
i hope he doesnt get used to it.
it took the stormers front row 5 years to kick the habit.
10 Feb 2010, 11:20 am
“We are all excited about the new season and have toned down the intensity in training this week to save the legs,” Plumtree said.
Seems the Sharks are keen to go the distance this year.
10 Feb 2010, 11:21 am
@rangerman:
Why are you so thick skinned ???, I said if there is not player buy in the players will be unhappy irrespective of the side they play in !!!!
Did i say that all the stormers players have bought in and are happy ?
What don’t you understand ?, your inability to grasp simple concepts makes me moeg !!
10 Feb 2010, 11:24 am
@justrugby: mate, it was pointed out to you that wp also shifts players around and you said that “the diff is player buy in”
now if the reasons for my response are unclear to you, i think fireman may be on the right track
10 Feb 2010, 11:25 am
@justrugby: What we are asking is how do you know if there is player buy-in? Rumours count squat when the rugby starts.
10 Feb 2010, 11:27 am
anyways, jr and the gang, i have to go.
have a good day and thanks for the banter, its exciting to have rugby on the horizon again!
10 Feb 2010, 11:27 am
@justrugby: No, I’m actualy supposed to be at school…sssshhhht, dont tell my dad.
10 Feb 2010, 11:29 am
@rangerman: Bru leave JS alone now. He says the most ridiculous things and then never backs it up. When you call him out he just says, I didn’t actually say that.
10 Feb 2010, 11:30 am
@justrugby: What?!? so you’re telling us that the Stormers players are unhappy…when did this happen, that can’t be good at the beginning of their forst ever victorious S14 campaign.
10 Feb 2010, 11:31 am
@justrugby:
Jannie DuP played 1/3 multiple times at the Cheetahs,when he came to Sharks he new he wasnt going to start consistently.Even Carstens was playing better than him in 2008/2009.He was always going to be part of rotation.His unhappiness is unjustified looking at his form as well.
Steyn-for all those lambasting his moving around-granted it wasnt ideal but he didnt seem to excell in any position with any real authority except 12 or 15(not really until 2009).He forever bleated about playing 10 and never displayed the aptitude to play there bar the fluke game in rain vs Province in 06.Also due to his headexplosions at alarming consistency in all positions it was difficult to fit him in somewhere without consisting game.In 2009 Steyn played most of his rugby at 10/12 but succeed at 15 for Boks after PDV had to force hm there.Then he changed his tune.
Even at Toulon he has played mostly out of position mainly at 13.
10 Feb 2010, 11:31 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
When Ruan publicly states his prefernce, when Steyn leaves, then it does not take a rocket scientist to work it out now does it.
If players are unhappy and keep quite about it, well that’s more difficult to detect , not so ? Body language and performance or lack thereof is normally a reasonable indicator !!
10 Feb 2010, 11:32 am
@rangerman: Who knows, JR might just tell them how lekker it is and they might just go back to old habits again…LOL
10 Feb 2010, 11:35 am
@mshiniwami:
he is more injury-prone than the butcher?
this is not good…
10 Feb 2010, 11:35 am
Best out of position XV 2009/2010
1. Jannie Du Plessis
2. Derek Kuun
3. John Smit
4. Juan Smith
5. Hilton Lobberts
6. Deon Potgeiter
7. Danie Roussouw
8. Schalk Burger
9. Ruan Pienaar (according to PDV)
10. Ruan Pienaar (according to everyone else)
11. Nick Koster
12. Juan De Jongh
13. Louis Luddick
14. Frans Hougaard
15. Odwa Ndungane
10 Feb 2010, 11:36 am
@Oubaas2009: Frans Steyn can sit on the bench and cover all positions.
10 Feb 2010, 11:38 am
id just like to say tacticus 1st post hit the nail on the head ! haha its slightly amusing ,keo is a tool of cape town propaganda-we achieved nothing ….yet ! should be how the rest of us read it …
10 Feb 2010, 11:38 am
@mshiniwami:
Agree….. my point is that if the player buys into the plan they have for him outside of his favourite posistion, it could work !!!
But if a player is forced to play in a posistion he feels is not his best there will be unhappiness.
Players like to be viewed as specialists, the ones that have been labelled utilities are the ones that are mosty unhappy !!
10 Feb 2010, 11:39 am
@Oubaas2009: lol what about burden at 2?
10 Feb 2010, 11:40 am
@mshiniwami:
steyn’s deal was more about unhappiness in the bok set-up (the deal was made before he settled at 15) and a greedy agent eyeing his 20%…
10 Feb 2010, 11:41 am
@justrugby: Show me where Ruan says he doesn’t want to play 10. Obviously he has a preference most people do. Also did FS publicly say he was unhappy at the Sharks? Did the salary increase of 10x not have anything to do with it. You keep dealing in rumours. Where does Jannie say he is unhappy? More open secrets?
10 Feb 2010, 11:42 am
@justrugby: Grandpa, I thought you were done playing with us kids….arthro ease finaly kick in did it, well good to have you here showing us kids how the old people do it.
10 Feb 2010, 11:49 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Go do your own research !! If you think otherwise then you know fall about the game and you are really wasting my time and becoming an irritation !!
10 Feb 2010, 11:50 am
Conversions that have worked?
Beast from 8 to 1
Smit from 3 to 2 back to 3
Spies from wing to 8
Larkham from 15 to 10
Lomu from 8 to wing
Habanah from centre to wing
FS from 10 to 15
Some of the best players excelled not playing the positions they were 1st signed in. Open your mind.
10 Feb 2010, 11:52 am
@justrugby: I know Pienaar is better than Dollie and Beast won’t be dropped. You’re a fool and you don’t have any hard facts to back up your anti-shark rants.
anyone know what the keolings superbru poolcode is?
@baw: Ja, I think Burden gets a look in as well.
Maybe Adi Jacobs at 12.
10 Feb 2010, 11:57 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): @<a
What have you not understood ?????
I said "if the player buy in is there it could work"…..can you not read properly ??
Just a correction ……Smit was a 1 who went to 2 who went to 3…..and if you think it has worked at 3……well my statement about you knowing f/all about the game is jutified !!
10 Feb 2010, 12:00 pm
@Oubaas2009:
Amazing how many sharks feature on the list
10 Feb 2010, 12:01 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Bring your A game or go away !!
10 Feb 2010, 12:05 pm
International XV of worked conversions
1. Beast (from flank)
2. John Smit (from prop)
3. Fredrico Mendez (from hooker)
4. Sebastian Chabal (from 8)/ Jannes Labuschagne (from flank)
5. Ruben Thorne/ Todd Blackadder(from 6)
7. Schalk Burger (from 6)
8. Pierre Spies (from 11)
10. Stephen Larkham (from 15)
11. Bryan Habana (from 13) or Jonah Lomu (from loosie)
12. Matt Giteau (from 9)/ Berrick Barnes (from League)
13. Stirling Mortlok (I think 15 or 14)
14. Clyde Rathbone (from 13)/ Wendell Sailor/ Lote Tuqiri (from League)
15. Frans Steyn (from 10)/ Jason Robinson (from League)
10 Feb 2010, 12:08 pm
@mshiniwami: @ 156
Make some interesting and valid points… but I have to disagree as far as Joe Pietersen is concerned…
since he has been given a regular start and a regular position because of Conrad’s bust leg… he has been a very consistent performer… superb on attack and great on defence and reliable with the boot…
would also say a semi final against a full strength Bulls side is hardly NOT a test…
no weak link at all…
10 Feb 2010, 12:08 pm
@justrugby: Okay wop, my point about Smit is that at least one of those switches has worked. Are you so doff? Also YOU are the champ that doesn’t know their Rugga. Smit was bought by Natal as a TH. So if you had a clue you would know that.
“Born in Pietersburg in 1978, John Smit went to Pretoria Boys High School where he was head prefect in 1996 and played in the First XV from 1994 to 1996. John represented the Blue Bulls at Craven Week, played SA Schools and led the South African U21 side to the Sanzar/UAR title in 1999 at tighthead.”
Get a life, read a book, buy Captain in the Cauldron.
Now leave me alone, I can feel my IQ lowering while I converse with you.
10 Feb 2010, 12:09 pm
@Oubaas2009:
At 9 you can have Pienaar from 10 to 9
10 Feb 2010, 12:10 pm
@justrugby: Yo have NO game, so F off.
10 Feb 2010, 12:12 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Funny thing is, if JS had just led the baby boks to victory from 3, Grant10 would probably be saying we should drop our springbok captain for him!
10 Feb 2010, 12:13 pm
My point is sometimes changing positions works fantastically well, other times not. So when G10 comes with his ‘its the cancer of SA rugby’, I say forget.
Its different for each player & position.
10 Feb 2010, 12:14 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
You see what a bit of research can do, even enlighten a moron !!! I am impressed ……
10 Feb 2010, 12:16 pm
@Oubaas2009: Exactly. Finally some logic!
10 Feb 2010, 12:18 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): @ 172
I’m rooting for the Sharks… Hope you guys take it…
As said before… would be great if all our SA sides have a great year and help each other by klapping the overseas teams…
10 Feb 2010, 12:20 pm
@ufo: Yes we must all beat oversea’s teams.
10 Feb 2010, 12:22 pm
i see that tensions are high again…none of you win the powerball either? might be the pre-match excitement that often overwhelms an individual! by the way, ‘ET’, you are a self absorbed ponce!
10 Feb 2010, 12:22 pm
Ratel’s work is done. Another rumour squashed, another factoid facted, another myth busted. All in a days work for the Ratel.
10 Feb 2010, 12:26 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Stop listening to the voices in your head !!
10 Feb 2010, 12:26 pm
1. Beast (from flank)
2. John Smit (from prop)
3. Richard Bands(from hooker)
4. Bakkies Boths(captain SA schools at 6,played alot of juniour rugby at 6)
5. Jannes Labuschagne(made Bok debut as loosie)
6. Danie Rossouw (lock)
7. Schalk Burger (from 6)
8. Pierre Spies (from 11)
9. Frans Hougaard(from centre)
10. Henry Honiball (from 12)
11. Bryan Habana (from 9/13)
12. Jean De Villiers (from 11/13/14)
13. Jaque Fourie(from 10(Monnas)/15)
14. JP Pietersen(from 15)
15. Frans Steyn (from 10)
SA has a long history of changing player positions successfully
10 Feb 2010, 12:30 pm
Just in time for a brawl.
10 Feb 2010, 12:31 pm
Yoh, Justrugby, that post at 208 is looking horrible.
10 Feb 2010, 12:31 pm
@ufo:
We shall see about Joe Pietersen…S14 is another kettle of fish.Has talent.fear he is undersized and doesnt have the out and out pace and skillset to make up for the lack of size(ala Giteau,Jason Robinson,Michalak etc)
10 Feb 2010, 12:32 pm
@Dawn: Who’s fighting and why were you and I not invited? LOL!
10 Feb 2010, 12:34 pm
@Dawn: Naah, you missed the meaty part of it, we’re now at the part where the boxers are just hangin on each other and trading weak punches…it got real healthy earlier…LOL
10 Feb 2010, 12:37 pm
Justnoideaaboutrugby
10 Feb 2010, 12:37 pm
@mshiniwami: oh he’s got the pace alright. Skills too
10 Feb 2010, 12:40 pm
@mshiniwami:
sure thing Mshini… the S14 is another thing… but I’m sure the Bulls weren’t playing less hard because of it being a different comp…
it will be interesting…
don’t think his pace is a problem though… but I never compared him to those guys anyway… so don’t know why you compared him to them… two of who are flyhaves… are any of our S14 full backs in that class…? No…
but I’m not saying he’s a superstar like that… just countering your point that he’s inconsistent…
but we’ll see if he can take the step up… all will be revealed over the next three or so months…
nowhere to hide in S14…
10 Feb 2010, 12:43 pm
@mshiniwami:
It really does illustate that playing players out of position is in fact a cancer in our rugby, the fact that some have been successful does not mean it is not a problem……… the fact that the person who is moved into a new posistion is doing so at the expense of someone else, regardless of how succesful that switch has been it’s going to lead to somebody being unhappy!!
I wonder if these players would of been as successful if left to play in the position of there choice.
Actaully quite an interesting debate ?
10 Feb 2010, 12:46 pm
@Mutant:
your nic says it all !!
10 Feb 2010, 12:48 pm
Mshini i agree its past time Ruan stepped up or stepped out. If he was as fantastic as some say he wouldnt be battleing for a first selection position, he would get automatically.
10 Feb 2010, 12:51 pm
Ah, the banter has well and truly started!
Bizarre…the Sharks aren’t even playing the Stormers but it seems the biggest feud on here is now between the Sharks and Stormers.
On the other thread the Cheetahs and Bulls are giving each other horns!
And the Lions? Well, they’re just conspicuous by their absence…
10 Feb 2010, 12:52 pm
I see the shark supporters are taking it in shifts to keep up with mini reverse….
too funny….
obviously a quiet day at turbo headquarters…
10 Feb 2010, 12:55 pm
Dawn – yes i thought your Monitor lizard comment a few days ago was hysterical and true.
10 Feb 2010, 12:57 pm
@Treehugger: hi boomninny
hope you are well
i cant agree with you or shimi re ruan
against the lions he proved to be a better flyhalf then morne steyn , but only his goal kicking letting him down
how does he suddenly become useless?
with cockott taking the kicks at goal , ruan will be just fine
10 Feb 2010, 13:04 pm
@justrugby:
Thats a moot point bud.Thats just professional sport.Even if he was promoted into team at ORIGINAL POSITION its at someone’s expense so always somebody unhappy/will leave.
If position change is going to serve the team better,offer something different and player has skillset/aptitude to succeed its just like dropping someone and bringing up another regardless of swap.
Im not advocating all switches are good.But to say they are cancer of SA rugby is hyperbolic at best.All Nations around the world do the same thing it a trend in rugby in general.ex:
Kaino-playing 6 but always an 8
Nonu at 12 but played most of rugby at 13
Kahui-been played at wing for AB’s never preferred 13
Mils-original preferred position is 13(Auckland Blues days)
Toeava-has been everywhere really
Carter-first2/3 years were played at 12 OUTRIGHT
McCallister-made AB debut as a 10,interchages between 10/12.Played 13 overseas
Aus
O’Connor-everywhere
Gits-9/10/12
Barnes-10/12-even at present not settled
Ioane-11/12/13/14
Ashley Cooper-11/13/14/15
Mitchell-11/14/15
G.Smith-6/7/8
Mumm-4/5/6/7/8
10 Feb 2010, 13:08 pm
@mshiniwami:
James O’Connor gonna be a huge star…
Has talent in tanker-sized loads…
When he came on for the Force the other day suddenly things started happening… He gonna be keeping us busy for years to come…
10 Feb 2010, 13:11 pm
haha, things got outta hand here today i see
i love it!
i think we have dispelled a few myths here today:
1. sharks are unhappy campers (no proof therefore it all bullshit)
2. ruan doesnt want to play flyhalf (see above)
3. playing players in different positions is a cancer (a generalisation that deserves a generalisation: stupid)
4. biff declared at the wrong time……oops! wrong thread, go you good thing proteas!
10 Feb 2010, 13:16 pm
@rangerman: Yeah she got real healthy, all the Sharks nay-sayers subsiqeuntly disapeared after there second in command ‘justtennis’ finaly had to run for another dose of arthro ease.
Happy endings all round, we didnt even need a masseuse…LOL
10 Feb 2010, 13:16 pm
Hiho Sharky, have never felt confident when he plays. I do a little thing where i choose who i would rather play against or have on my team and he is always in the against team.
10 Feb 2010, 13:17 pm
@rangerman: lol hiyas rangerman bro ^5
you gotta love it…
10 Feb 2010, 13:18 pm
@sharks_lover:
Ruan is 26 yrs old.His time is running out.
His fragility on the mental side is his biggest downfall plus he is injury prone in last 2yrs.One can fix injuries/rehab etc but the mental side is all up to him and sadly I feel at 26 its all but over.Well at least for him to be superstar/bok pivot owner of jumper.He will play in Boks,in and out.He isnt the most talent AND consistent 9 out there and neither is he the most EFFIECIENT/CONSISTENT 10 out there.Even Frans Steyn has settled at 15 for Boks in shorter timespan that Ruan at 10.Ruan for all his supposed talent is a dissapointment.He is always sppoken of in the league of Carter,Wilko,Gits,Larkham etc but to be quite honest most of it is perception,inuendo and in flashes.I would prefer him to be a consistent footballer with moments of brillance.at present he is a mentally weak player,inconsistent with moments of brilliance.
Thats not good enough to be top player at this league.It gets u in same bracket as David Knox,Gaffie du Toit,Brent Russell,Quade Cooper,David Hill,Shane Drahm,Manny Edmonds etc
10 Feb 2010, 13:19 pm
@sharks_lover: Sharky, Agree 100% mate. Ruan is a far better FH than many give him credit for. Let someone else take the kicks. Then his kicking in that first Lions test was superb. Just he misses one he will probably miss the rest. Nerves set in. So rather take that pressure off him. I think left at FH he will be one of our best.
10 Feb 2010, 13:20 pm
Sharky for the Sharks yes but not the Boks.
10 Feb 2010, 13:21 pm
@justrugby: Have to disagree. As we’ve seen above, and thanks to mshini’s post, there are plenty of examples where players have excelled in ‘other’ positions that they wouldn’t have called their best earlier.
@rangerman:
Hehehehe, do I detect some nervousness, Ranger of the North?
@mshiniwami: Always respect your views Mshini but remember Ruan has been injured plenty. Then only really played FH last year and only for a short period of time. Maybe give him a whole season there this year and then see. If he does not step up then it is time to say he is not good enough, but not now when he has hardly had a chance there mate.
10 Feb 2010, 13:22 pm
Nothing like a great debate on Keo:}
Mshini don’t worry about Joe,heaps of talent and has stax of fuel to burn.
Guys Pierre started as a number 8 then was moved to wing at age group rugby and has returned to his position.
Frans played 12 at the u19 world cup and is currently still playing there. Sharks have a nack of stuffing up with players and their positions.EG Ruan
Oubaas,Mendez played all 3 front row positions its not like he was converted and I believe thats wat we talking about.
Mortlock was a wing but due to age and lack of pace was moved in 1.
10 Feb 2010, 13:22 pm
@Treehugger: could never agree with that boompie
ruan is a talent and sadly south africans have no clue about talent
just like we threw frans steyn away
so next its ruan?? and then??
10 Feb 2010, 13:23 pm
Hiho Puma
10 Feb 2010, 13:24 pm
@ufo:
Jury still out.does some good things…and many bad things(that howler vs AB’s last yr has to be on the Gaffie du Toit level) but still young.
Great feet.Thats his only upside for me at present.But has many holes in his game at present.(ex:positional play,up& unders,distribution,physicality/tackling,option-taking etc)
Plus is windgat even when he hasnt/cant back it up yet.
10 Feb 2010, 13:24 pm
@sharks_lover: Spot on Sharky.
10 Feb 2010, 13:25 pm
@Treehugger: Hello young lady, what you doing here?
10 Feb 2010, 13:25 pm
@mshiniwami: 26 time is running out?? eush bollox mate
then shimi you must have been one of those booing f steyn at absa stadium
and can the ones left behind make up for the steyn loss?? HELL FKN NO
ruan has been stuffed around like steyn , so now he useless too??
again bollox mate
10 Feb 2010, 13:27 pm
wptid lol thisw is why i hardly discuss other teams with anyone , im too busy arguing with sharks supporters that have no faith in their own
10 Feb 2010, 13:28 pm
@Puma:
Fair enough.
I have hope for the boy to turn up.
BECAUSE WE NEED HIM TO.
Just tired of being dissapointed.
Cant stand the way he shakes his head when he doesnt get his way.
Ruan is talented bt has to grow up otherwise career will leave him behind.
Hope he proves me wrong.Trust me.
10 Feb 2010, 13:29 pm
can one imagine the support a ruan or a f steyn would get if they played for the bulls or the stormers???
i shudder to think
10 Feb 2010, 13:30 pm
Sharky thought Steyn was incredible. Also if the public is told enough times some one is talented they start to believe it, but some of us start doubting it after a while.
Am going to switch over to laptop. Back in a while.
10 Feb 2010, 13:30 pm
@Puma: imma put boomninny over my knee
10 Feb 2010, 13:31 pm
@Fleckie: F Steyn has mainly been a 10 though, right through school. Same as Morne playing 12 at U21 World Cup with Ruan at 10.
Either way, there are so many examples of players moving position and excelling, it’s completely irrational to say that it’s a cancer. Even you moved from 13 to 12 successfully!
10 Feb 2010, 13:31 pm
boompie sorry dawlink but one can tell ya never played rugga
you must not forget you also can only play as well as those around you
10 Feb 2010, 13:32 pm
and i know that comment will make boompie smack me , but maybe i will enjoy it
10 Feb 2010, 13:33 pm
@mshiniwami: Think he is very talented Mishini, just has hardly played FH. Needs a season or two there. I think he will be our best if just left there to play. Only let someone else take the goal kicks.
What your thoughts for this game on Saturday Mshini?
10 Feb 2010, 13:33 pm
ok be back in a bit
work to go do
and boompie hun good to see you again ,
10 Feb 2010, 13:34 pm
@sharks_lover:
10 Feb 2010, 13:34 pm
@Puma: tc puma bro catcha later brudda
cant wait for saturday
10 Feb 2010, 13:35 pm
@sharks_lover:
Whahahahaha…quite right there, actually – if Frans Steyn was at the Bulls they would have claimed in Pretoria that the Second Coming was at hand…
Cheers Sharky, me too out of here now. Cheers all.
Smit at 3….
Mr Turbo reverse
0 to a 00 in 2 seconds flat
Smits 3 jersey comes with a health warning to Sharks 8 th man and scrumhalf…..
Barney the champ….he goes down Bok rugby grinds to a stop.
Has to be captain.
Matfield is too weak.
Barney…Barney….we all need barney….
hip…hip….
Hoorah!!
10 Feb 2010, 13:36 pm
0 to a 100 that should read
10 Feb 2010, 13:36 pm
@sharks_lover: For sure Sharky, me too can not wait.
Catch up later. Need to go out.
10 Feb 2010, 13:37 pm
@WP Till I Die:
so whats the story with Alberts and Ludick and all the soap opera drama…?
@grant10: New Soap-Box…
Ag, why bother… go take your pills!!!
10 Feb 2010, 13:38 pm
@mshiniwami:
may I suggest electro-shock therapy for ruan …..
it transformed jack nicholson’s approach to fly half in one flew over the cuckoo’s nest…
10 Feb 2010, 13:39 pm
@grant10: So you’re saying drop Bissie until after 2011 RWC?
10 Feb 2010, 13:40 pm
@gunther:
Electro-Shok (TM), is that one of those new Verimark products?
10 Feb 2010, 13:41 pm
@WP Till I Die: Ja, like the kicking-ball-on-a-string thing Morne advertisers!
10 Feb 2010, 13:42 pm
Sharky lol you are a wicked man
10 Feb 2010, 13:43 pm
@sharks_lover:
Calm down bud,just expressing my views.I have a right to differ from your view and have presented an argument with points/facts not on an emotive basis.
And again at 26 time is running out as a back to make ur mark.He should be in his prime at 26 but is still struggling to put injuries,mental state behind and still succeed in position.Being a top class international takes at least 2 yrs when one is fit and playing well.Then one plays at a consistent high level and entrenches himself as incumbent/world’s best contender.(just look at Fourie Du Preez since 2007-steady graph)
People also fail to realise RUAN played 10 for u21 WC winning side in 2005 under PDV,played 10 in entire CC 2006,then played there sparingly between 07/08 and played entire 09 there.So its not like he was yanked into a position he never played.he always had the aptitude and skills set.He just not producing the goods.He always starts in almost every position he plays but still not the best in the country in any of them.For such a so called prodigous talent thats not good enough.Many a coach have believed in him but he has returned the faith in the form of consistency.
I for one think he is too talented to be in limbo like this.And rather than blame coaches-who have played their part im sure,Im placing most of the responsibilities square on his shoulders.He is gifted,let him take games at the scruff of the neck and control them,impose his will/skill on them and quit whining.
The great and prodigous talents have to.
10 Feb 2010, 13:44 pm
@Mutant:
It’s no fun playing “dryfings” on your own…
10 Feb 2010, 13:46 pm
@WP Till I Die:
yep only available in KZN …. the are trialling it on sharks players at the moment…if it proves effective they will roll it out to include stormers fans…
10 Feb 2010, 13:47 pm
Things for the Sharks to ponder for this weekend’s opening Super 14 match:
1. Will Alberts be eligible for inclusion, pending the hearing today?
2. Will Jacobs and Pienaar be match-fit?
3. Who will play flyhalf, Dumond or Meyer?
4. Which one of the Sharks’ flasher girls is hottest?
10 Feb 2010, 13:47 pm
@Puma:
Sharks will win on Sat but only due to condition and due to first fame of season.Chiefs are without Masaga and talisman Muliaina.Lauaki at captain not a good move neither.Will be error ridden game with Sharks squeaking it 17-12 due to better pack and ball control.
10 Feb 2010, 13:48 pm
Ooo ek wil huistoe gaan
Na mama toe
10 Feb 2010, 13:49 pm
Mshiniwami good thing you can put things eloqueuntly, cause i certainly cant and loose credibility.
10 Feb 2010, 13:49 pm
@mshiniwami:
Mils injured?
10 Feb 2010, 13:55 pm
@Dawn:
as far as i know.Read some thread earlier in the week saying so.I stand to be corrected though but it seems yes he is injured.
10 Feb 2010, 13:59 pm
@mshiniwami: @ 256
That’s why I said “gonna be…” he has a way to go yet… but stacks of talent… and everyone makes mistakes occasionally… it’s when they keep making the same ones over and over that it becomes a problem…
10 Feb 2010, 14:00 pm
@Mutant: 281
No….drop Smit
10 Feb 2010, 14:04 pm
@Dawn: Mils and other key ABs are being “rested’ for the first three weeks.
10 Feb 2010, 14:04 pm
@grant10: Put Smit on the wing…or at FH, he created a try like that.
10 Feb 2010, 14:05 pm
@grant10: Yawn….
10 Feb 2010, 14:10 pm
@FireStraeuli: 297
If it was up to you morons he would be at scruhalf!
10 Feb 2010, 14:12 pm
@grant10: Double Yawn….
Yawn Yawn Yawn
10 Feb 2010, 14:14 pm
You guys need to get some sleep
10 Feb 2010, 14:14 pm
You don’t have to tell us that weepee. we KNOW that
10 Feb 2010, 14:15 pm
Whats the superbru code?
I’m going to clean up
10 Feb 2010, 14:15 pm
@Treehugger:
Seems like it hey, how are you ?
10 Feb 2010, 14:16 pm
@WP_:
pool code : wrenlest
10 Feb 2010, 14:18 pm
@Blouste: Shot boet
10 Feb 2010, 14:18 pm
There are other pools aswell if you are interested in winning some prizes…
10 Feb 2010, 14:19 pm
Any truth in the rumour smits jersey going to have a truck device installed so that when turbo reverse engaged the scrumhalf and 8 th man can get due notice?
Shame, costing Kanko his career….wonder how he feels…..
Go Sharks
Go Barney.
10 Feb 2010, 14:21 pm
@grant10: Yaaaawwwwnnnnn……
10 Feb 2010, 14:25 pm
hehehehe
Things are getting better and better…
Now for the rugger to start !!!
10 Feb 2010, 14:25 pm
@grant10: Wow, that’s good one.
Dont think about taking up stand up comedy… Ever
10 Feb 2010, 14:26 pm
@Blouste: What pool are you in
10 Feb 2010, 14:27 pm
@Blouste: oh I just seen
10 Feb 2010, 14:32 pm
@Blouste: Oh you’re the captain. Accept there please boet.
10 Feb 2010, 14:36 pm
@grant10:
I assume that was humour….
in which case put that club bag in the bag and don’t use it again…
Barney costing Kanko his career?
now that is humour…quality..
an 8 year old inside a 50 year body…
10 Feb 2010, 14:37 pm
The person the Sharks miss the most is Brad Barrit. Complete team man. Maybe not a super-star or even bok material, but made everybody around him play well. Hard, Gutsy, great hands. Remember him and Waylon in 2007 with Jacobs coming on as impact. Yet we discarded him for a superstar. Frans is a great test player, but at S14 level I’d rather have Barrit.
Before people go ballistic, here is my reasoning. Steyn is a better test layer, no doubt. But he is a defensive kicking player. What good is slotting 50m penalties in the S14? This is more important in the cauldron of test match rugby. Barrits passing and linking game is much better, and is better suited to running rugby. Also Barrit was a team journeyman, not a superstar, with a super-ego. Also looking at the Sharks squad, how good would it be to have a Barrit in there at 12. Many people point to Frans at 12, but the Sharks hardly scored any trys in the S14 with Frans playing 10 or 12. This is a fact. Look it up. All this said Frans at 15 would be awsome, learning from the old man, but having followed Frans for a while, I bet he would be shouting for the 10 jersey with the Argie out and that my friends would be a disaster.
10 Feb 2010, 14:38 pm
Kanko’s career is nothing. John Smit at tighthead was one of the major reasons for the recent banking crisis.
10 Feb 2010, 14:40 pm
next to get the blame….Beast….
Then the weak locks
Then the loosies not assisting…
Never Barney Turbo reverse….Never!
Go Sharks
Go barney!
10 Feb 2010, 14:40 pm
John Plumtree -
“People are making a song and dance about our scrum, so we’ve got to show them different,”
10 Feb 2010, 14:41 pm
@WP_:
Been done.
10 Feb 2010, 14:41 pm
Dance *****, dance.
10 Feb 2010, 14:42 pm
“The more educated Cape supporter”…an oxymoron if I ever read one. Remains a myth in SA.
10 Feb 2010, 14:43 pm
@grant10: What are you saying? That the sharks will suffer for pretending that JS is beyond reproach and cannot improve. I agree. If they keep pretending that he is perfect and one of the biggest problems they have, they will not improve. Let’s face it. Barney is overweight, slow and tires too easily, never mind that he is clueless at 3, and for such a great leader he was losing control of his sharkies in the warm up againt the Stormers. Jannie Du Plessis swearing moment comes to mind.
Anyone playing Superbru? I’m in the Sport 24 pool under Stormersboy. Look for me somewhere towards the top. Just like my team…
Sing *****, sing.
10 Feb 2010, 14:44 pm
@grant10: I think you should book into an insitution.
@Dantalian: Smit at tighthead set off tremors leading to the earthquake in Haiti. I think you could also blame the Asian Tsunami on Smit as well. Would’ve never happened if he stayed at 2.
“He demands so much of himself and the team and we have a really good working relationship.”
10 Feb 2010, 14:45 pm
@stormersboy: Yes I like that attitude bud.
10 Feb 2010, 14:46 pm
@KZN King Shark: Stayed at 2 and out of the sea.
10 Feb 2010, 14:48 pm
Fact or fiction though Stormersboy ?
10 Feb 2010, 14:50 pm
@grant10: Jeez did I just see that right? Grant posting a comment with zero mention of the Sharks or Smit? That is AMAZING!!!! I’m speechless!
10 Feb 2010, 14:50 pm
@grant10: Shut up will you Butler.
Geez… You’re an annoying sod
10 Feb 2010, 14:51 pm
@grant10: What do you know about scrums? You think Carstens is a better 3 than Smit.
Its always the same old song and dance with you.
Ask your little friend JR, the Ratel is in no mood for myths, rumours or hearsay today. So keep on moving.
10 Feb 2010, 14:51 pm
@Dantalian: He was turbo reversed into the sea setting off seismic vibrations of epic proportions!
10 Feb 2010, 14:52 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): *Huge applause and cheers*
10 Feb 2010, 14:54 pm
@The one:
No need to get personal boet.
Make your point and move on…
10 Feb 2010, 14:55 pm
@Blouste: Thanks mate
10 Feb 2010, 14:56 pm
@Blouste: THE POWER OF POSITIVE THINKING MY AVATAR – COLOURED FRIEND…..THE POWER OF POSITIVE THINKING!!!
10 Feb 2010, 14:56 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Personally think a lot of our probs are to do with losing Percy and Butch James. Could’ve had Frans and Stefan rotating at 15 but if we had kept Butch and Barritt we’d be in good hands. No.12 for me is the biggest problem. Adi is a 13 and we don’t have any decent 12s.
10 Feb 2010, 14:57 pm
@grant10:
I see you are still pissy because your boy Luke is not playing in this year S14 so you keep on taking shots at JS to get a decent night sleep.
10 Feb 2010, 14:58 pm
@WP_:
No prob…
10 Feb 2010, 14:58 pm
@stormersboy:
Good for you !!!
10 Feb 2010, 14:59 pm
@KZN King Shark: 12 is an issue, but we need a new 10 for the future. Butch is the past. Ruan/Meyer must step up this year. Barrit would have been good to have at 12.
oh well done…
I really don’t see how beating Boland is any feat… the only thing I was happy about is the Force game, they kept errors down… Sharks game it was sky high again
@thesaint: Pretty much the same as being a Sharks supporter!
10 Feb 2010, 15:00 pm
OK, so the attempt to take John Smit back to prop is not working yet. I think it is too late in his career to attempt this. But writing him off like this?
Steady on, jul nesbeskuiters.
Currently, as prop, he’s about average or just above in the S14.
As hooker, he’s still damn good.
As captain? I think he has the silverware to prove himself in this department?
Please let me know if anyone disagrees with the last statement.
10 Feb 2010, 15:01 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): He knows nothing about scrumming. Nada. Zip.
10 Feb 2010, 15:01 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
All I know is that the Ratel is a little prick !! Oh yes and that JS is not a 3 !!
10 Feb 2010, 15:02 pm
@The one:
not cool to use people’s real names…
10 Feb 2010, 15:05 pm
@WP_:
What do you need to know when you see him back pedalling at a rate of knots ??????????????????……….oh of course…….. it’s the locks and flanks fault, the lack of a cohesive effort from the pack…..can’t be JS……… nnnoooo…..captain , my captain !!!
10 Feb 2010, 15:06 pm
@ufo: I second that! Not cool.
10 Feb 2010, 15:07 pm
@Johnny7: Another LOGICAL post.
10 Feb 2010, 15:08 pm
@justrugby: Yep…now everyone’s gonna think Willem Alberts is a k@k player…
10 Feb 2010, 15:11 pm
@justrugby: You’re just as boring as Grant.
10 Feb 2010, 15:11 pm
Justrugby….i reckon its time i take a break from this lady club….no intelligentsia here….leave the Sharkettes to there ostrich impersonations….
Beeter things to do with my time.
Will leave you with a few predictions to ponder on as season progresses…
Bulls will defend super 14 succesfully
stormers will end above sharks
Smit wont get to WC 2011 in a 3 jersey.
With that….break time for me….too many yes men on the site….no balls or innovative debate…..
cheers all
Outta here.
10 Feb 2010, 15:15 pm
@WP_:
As you just as blinkered as the rest of the guppie brigade !!
10 Feb 2010, 15:16 pm
@justrugby:
As = and
10 Feb 2010, 15:17 pm
@justrugby: I dont support the Sharks pal…
And I dont think that Smit’s best position is 3.
So what is your point
10 Feb 2010, 15:18 pm
Since the Stormers are carrying on with the same old song and dance, allow me to repeat myself.
“People are making a song and dance about our scrum, so we’ve got to show them different,” – John Plumtree
Dance *******, dance.
Sing *******, sing.
Watching the Stormers scrum go backwards every S14 in living memory does not qualify you as a scrum coach. If you want to learn something read John Smit’s book, its actually very good. Also go check the words to a classic Bob Dylan song. It describes you guys pretty well.
Idiot Wind.
10 Feb 2010, 15:21 pm
@grant10:
not the way to go bud…
another day another thread…
you’ve got lots to offer…
10 Feb 2010, 15:21 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Agree, I think I will only post later in the evenings, once all the kids have been put to bed !!
10 Feb 2010, 15:23 pm
Justtennis and Cant10 still at it, soos ‘n ou vrou met ‘n nat broek X2…lucky us.
Smit to single handedly teach stormers tight 5 a lesson in scrumaging, Os to study Smit’s TH technique and apply it to the Cheetahs.
10 Feb 2010, 15:26 pm
Keo should maybe start a ‘Blame John Smit for everything’ thread.
That way I’ll know which one to avoid.
10 Feb 2010, 15:27 pm
@justrugby: You do that
10 Feb 2010, 15:28 pm
John Smit take comfort from the great poet himself, I think its pretty apt:
People see me all the time and they just can’t remember how to act
Their minds are filled with big ideas, images and distorted facts.
Even you, yesterday you had to ask me where it was at,
I couldn’t believe after all these years, you didn’t know me better than that
Sweet lady.
Idiot wind, blowing every time you move your mouth,
Blowing down the backroads headin’ south.
Idiot wind, blowing every time you move your teeth,
You’re an idiot, babe.
It’s a wonder that you still know how to breathe.
10 Feb 2010, 15:29 pm
@Dantalian: Exactly. It’s tedious. Dont they have ANYTHING better to that about.
10 Feb 2010, 15:31 pm
Look guys,…….can we all not just get along….
I can see by the increased hostility that kick-off is soon…..
Let the games begin.
@grant10:
innovative debate?
i’m not sure that’s something we can accuse you of turbo…
still I will miss your “breaking news”….
@Dantalian: You’ll sadly see it at every Stormers post…that’s like 90% of the posts on this site.
I personaly think they’re worried about their own lack of captaincy this year with Schalk ‘The Brains’ Steer Burger steering the yacht.
Trying to distract us with talks of our NATIONAL captain’s TH success…wonder if Burger’s national position is still safe, not long before he moves to lock with Juan Smith and Brussouw in the mix.
10 Feb 2010, 15:32 pm
@stormersboy: Can you imagine how it will go here when the Sharks face the Stormers….hectic
10 Feb 2010, 15:33 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Blow it out yr ringpiece…
10 Feb 2010, 15:35 pm
@FireStraeuli: I suppose you are quietly confident after every other provincial team has humbled your scrum lately…
@Storm outta hell: Idiot wind…….
Cheers mofos.
Later Sharkies.
@FireStraeuli: I remember how it got before the CC semi’s last year between the Sharks and Wp fans and we werent even playing each other….
and no I have no problem with Smitty. Dont generalise bud
10 Feb 2010, 15:36 pm
Cant believe it, we’re in the same pool as Fiji at the US sevens, will the boys man up….?
10 Feb 2010, 15:36 pm
On a side note, I stood in line to get a copy of my John Smit autobiography signed by the man himself in December. The line went on and on but JS patiently smiled, chatted, signed and posed for a photograph with everyone there. Showed lots of class. And I got him to inscribe a short message in the book, even though his very harrased assistant warned us that he would simply be signing the book: To (insert name)..John Smit.
Good luck big fella! whatever postion you play!
10 Feb 2010, 15:38 pm
@FireStraeuli: Nope…hulle is lug in die broek…
10 Feb 2010, 15:39 pm
“The Lions aren’t going to qualify for the play-offs, but they have every chance of punishing an overconfident team.”
This kind of statement by the writer seems petty seeing that the S14 has not even started yet. The Lions have every right to aim for the play-offs and I for one hope that they achieve something special this year to make arrogant writers like JC eat their words.
@FireStraeuli: I’m a WP/Stormers supporter.
I must be one of the more educated fans this article was talking about.
@Storm outta hell: Quietly…Noooo, quite loud mouth about my Smitties TH ability, nothing to be quiet about….
Smittie to become Zims president and restore the whole country to its former glory.
10 Feb 2010, 15:41 pm
sharks vs lions heading to court
10 Feb 2010, 15:42 pm
@WP_: Sorry ou WP, hard to find the genuine WP supporters between the ninja stormers supporters.
Seems it is mostly maar ou Cnat10 and JustTennis doing their mouthing off, they probably from Pretoria and now retired in Cape Town….fakers.
10 Feb 2010, 15:43 pm
@sharks_lover: Where you heard that?
10 Feb 2010, 15:44 pm
@FireStraeuli: Nope. We’ll lose and face NZ in the cup Quarters and…
Surprise surprise … lose
Plate here we come
@stormersboy: Yes I say him down here too. He’s a pure legend
10 Feb 2010, 15:45 pm
@Storm outta hell: Ja nee wat, disapointing deluxe…help veel hulle wen dit net een keer en daarna gaan le hulle soos ‘n klomp blerrie sissies.
Oh well, I wont be loosing any sleep this weekend.
10 Feb 2010, 15:45 pm
@stormersboy:
No doubt John Smit is an hounorable person, who has achieved a lot in life.
I have a lot of respect for him.
I do however share some sentiments that his move to 3 is not a success.
10 Feb 2010, 15:46 pm
@WP_: And loose the plate to Aus again…tragic
thats a secret
@FireStraeuli: No worries.
Yeah probably. Those two are too much..
10 Feb 2010, 15:48 pm
I’ll only agree with the John Smit TH nay sayers once I’ve seen beyond reasonable doubt during this S14 he doesn’t make it, before then, I say…give him anada chance…lol
10 Feb 2010, 15:49 pm
@sharks_lover:
Where did you see that…
And where does that leave the Sharks in terms of playing the players involved ?
10 Feb 2010, 15:49 pm
@sharks_lover: So what’s to happen in the mean time, can Sharks play Alberts then, or is that up to the Sharks’ own discression?
10 Feb 2010, 15:50 pm
@FireStraeuli: I know…
3 times in a row… I cant believe it.
We’re a shadow of last year’s team.
Lost key players like:
Juries, Ebersohn, Aplon, Phillip Snyman, Zangqa
10 Feb 2010, 15:52 pm
@Blouste: Naah seems Sharks_lover doesnt kiss and tell
10 Feb 2010, 15:53 pm
@FireStraeuli: Itr on the other thread
10 Feb 2010, 15:54 pm
Wanna see what it says about the hearing…check out the Sharks site…apparently SA rugby just basically washed their hands and said they cant rule on the matter…plonker loosers, take ages to do something and then ends up doing nothing. KOTCH
10 Feb 2010, 15:57 pm
@Blouste: Yes I think that there is enough evidence to suggest that his best position is 2. That would be where I’d play him with Bissie coming off the bench.
What amazes me is the amount of anger around this question. Shouldn’t those people be directing their annoyance towards the coaches and selectors who pick him in the position in the first place. It’s not like JS is going to say, sorry Snor/Plum, not willing to play where you say you need me, rather drop me please lol……
He’d definately be my first choice at 2 anywhere he plays. He’s still at the top of that game. Bissie at 2nd choice, Tiaan at 3rd.
There will however come a time when he will hang up his boots, and whilst there is enough talent at 2 to take his place (some say should be in his place), there is no doubt that we will miss him as one of our Greatest Springbok Captains ever.
And by the way. I got him to inscribe: “To the most intelligent poster on Keo…..thanks for not dissing me as much as all those other okes”……Regards John
10 Feb 2010, 16:00 pm
i am waiting to hear weather they can play alberts or not
but the contractual issues have not been resolved
as far as i am concerned the outcopme of today is nothing more then wasted time as they knew all along its contract issues
the basson clown today said he could not resolve contract issues
how fkn stupid is that
10 Feb 2010, 16:01 pm
outcome
10 Feb 2010, 16:09 pm
@sharks_lover: They’re apparently hoping to get an emergency ruling from the court by Friday…we’ll have to wait and see, but that realy puts the Sharks in an unfavourable position if they were banking on playing Alberts, the guy will never be mentaly ready for the game.
10 Feb 2010, 16:09 pm
@stormersboy:
He he he…I’m sure
10 Feb 2010, 16:10 pm
i understand that but i doubt he will play
10 Feb 2010, 16:12 pm
By saying “the media have gone huge” you guys are referring to yourselves right? There’s a Stormers article every other day on Keo talking about the hype. Stop creating the hype so you guys can have something to write about then…
10 Feb 2010, 16:18 pm
@Simon: its the “Muppits”, right, not the “Muppits league”?
10 Feb 2010, 17:46 pm
@XhosaKid: wot league is this for? i joined the superbru one..is there another 1?
10 Feb 2010, 17:51 pm
@Simon: wot is the invitation code?
10 Feb 2010, 17:54 pm
wot is with all the wot-ing?
10 Feb 2010, 17:58 pm
@rangerman: wot?
10 Feb 2010, 18:05 pm
@Papoose:
wot!
11 Feb 2010, 00:53 am
@Blouste: Fair point but why blame Smit personally for it? Grant seems to have a vendetta against him. It was PdV’s hair brain idea! Blame him for it!
11 Feb 2010, 10:33 am
@KZN King Shark: As a more educated Cape supporter I totally agree…there was no need to rush Bismarck in just ’cause he was looking good in the last twenty…Barney would have lasted longer and played better at Hooker…I too blame the coaching staff..!!
11 Feb 2010, 13:39 pm
as a headline of stating the bleedin obvious, pre the competition even starting, this will take some beating. Ever.