‘We’ve achieved nothing yet’

The Stormers aren’t buying into the hype that they’re overwhelming favoruites to beat the Lions this Saturday.

First they won the Tri-Series, and then their second trophy in last week’s hammering of Boland at the new Cape Town Stadium. Hell, they even won the Newlands challenge when they beat the Cape Cobras in a cricket match. There’s a buzz around the Stormers which isn’t unbelievable. Three trophies in the space of a month. Give it up for the boys in blue.

Believe the marketing hype, and you’re bound to believe the Stormers are destined for greater things in 2010. The more educated Cape supporter will tell you to be careful. They’ll remind you that neither the Stormers nor WP have won a big competition since 2001.

If you can’t find a Stormers supporter willing to admit to their side’s past failings, ask one of the thousands of Bulls or Sharks fans residing in Cape Town. They’ll tell you that when it comes to the Super 14, the Stormers are pre-season champs and in-season chumps.

Nobody is more aware of this perception than Allister Coetzee, the new Stormers head coach. The media have gone huge with the pre-season success, but Coetzee and his captain Schalk Burger have worked hard behind the scenes to ensure the squad doesn’t become windgat. It’s this kind of attitude that’s got them into trouble before, and it’s why Coetzee laughed off talk that Saturday’s match against the Lions represents a soft start.

‘Talk is cheap – that’s the only message to my players in preparation for Saturday,’ he told keo.co.za. ‘There’s no easy game and we still have to go out and win.

‘We’ve achieved nothing yet, so there’s no need for arrogance. We all know that there’s a thin line between confidence and arrogance. Nobody wants to be caught off-guard, especially against an unpredictable side like the Lions. It’s going to be all business.’

The Stormers head into this year’s competition with two new senior Springboks, Jaque Fourie and Bryan Habana, at their disposal. Many have questioned the pair’s move to the underachieving Cape franchise, but Coetzee explains their value lies beyond their playing ability. Fourie and Habana will be called on to exercise their leadership skills as early as Round 1.

‘We are looking to our senior players to show some composure in the tight games, and that’s what we expect from Jaque and Bryan this Saturday. There are a number of leaders within the team, which is a good sign.’

While the Lions struggle at Super 14 level, they do usually save their best performances for the Stormers and WP. They beat WP at the back end of the 2009 Currie Cup, a defeat that cost Province an ‘easier’ semi-final against the Cheetahs, and also denied them the bonus point for four tries in the 2008 Super 14.

The Lions aren’t going to qualify for the play-offs, but they have every chance of punishing an overconfident team. Fortunately for Coetzee, the Stormers have worked hard to tick the humble box in the build up to Super 14 proper. Win or lose, they will now be judged by the rugby showings and not made to remember their pre-season promises.

By Jon Cardinelli

413 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 201.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@justrugby: Show me where Ruan says he doesn’t want to play 10. Obviously he has a preference most people do. Also did FS publicly say he was unhappy at the Sharks? Did the salary increase of 10x not have anything to do with it. You keep dealing in rumours. Where does Jannie say he is unhappy? More open secrets?

• 202.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: Grandpa, I thought you were done playing with us kids….arthro ease finaly kick in did it, well good to have you here showing us kids how the old people do it.

• 203.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

Go do your own research !! If you think otherwise then you know fall about the game and you are really wasting my time and becoming an irritation !!

• 204.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

Conversions that have worked?

Beast from 8 to 1
    Smit from 3 to 2 back to 3
    Spies from wing to 8
    Larkham from 15 to 10
    Lomu from 8 to wing
    Habanah from centre to wing
    FS from 10 to 15

Some of the best players excelled not playing the positions they were 1st signed in. Open your mind.

• 205.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@justrugby: I know Pienaar is better than Dollie and Beast won’t be dropped. You’re a fool and you don’t have any hard facts to back up your anti-shark rants.

• 206.Mustard: Reply to this comment

anyone know what the keolings superbru poolcode is?

• 207.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

@baw: Ja, I think Burden gets a look in as well.

Maybe Adi Jacobs at 12.

• 208.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): @<a

What have you not understood ?????

I said "if the player buy in is there it could work"…..can you not read properly ??

Just a correction ……Smit was a 1 who went to 2 who went to 3…..and if you think it has worked at 3……well my statement about you knowing f/all about the game is jutified !!

• 209.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Oubaas2009:

Amazing how many sharks feature on the list :)

• 210.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

Bring your A game or go away !!

• 211.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

International XV of worked conversions

1. Beast (from flank)
    2. John Smit (from prop)
    3. Fredrico Mendez (from hooker)
    4. Sebastian Chabal (from 8)/ Jannes Labuschagne (from flank)
    5. Ruben Thorne/ Todd Blackadder(from 6)
    7. Schalk Burger (from 6)
    8. Pierre Spies (from 11)

10. Stephen Larkham (from 15)
    11. Bryan Habana (from 13) or Jonah Lomu (from loosie)
    12. Matt Giteau (from 9)/ Berrick Barnes (from League)
    13. Stirling Mortlok (I think 15 or 14)
    14. Clyde Rathbone (from 13)/ Wendell Sailor/ Lote Tuqiri (from League)
    15. Frans Steyn (from 10)/ Jason Robinson (from League)

• 212.ufo: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami: @ 156

Make some interesting and valid points… but I have to disagree as far as Joe Pietersen is concerned…

since he has been given a regular start and a regular position because of Conrad’s bust leg… he has been a very consistent performer… superb on attack and great on defence and reliable with the boot…

would also say a semi final against a full strength Bulls side is hardly NOT a test…

no weak link at all…

• 213.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@justrugby: Okay wop, my point about Smit is that at least one of those switches has worked. Are you so doff? Also YOU are the champ that doesn’t know their Rugga. Smit was bought by Natal as a TH. So if you had a clue you would know that.

“Born in Pietersburg in 1978, John Smit went to Pretoria Boys High School where he was head prefect in 1996 and played in the First XV from 1994 to 1996. John represented the Blue Bulls at Craven Week, played SA Schools and led the South African U21 side to the Sanzar/UAR title in 1999 at tighthead.”

Get a life, read a book, buy Captain in the Cauldron.

Now leave me alone, I can feel my IQ lowering while I converse with you.

• 214.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Oubaas2009:

At 9 you can have Pienaar from 10 to 9 :)

• 215.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@justrugby: Yo have NO game, so F off.

• 216.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Funny thing is, if JS had just led the baby boks to victory from 3, Grant10 would probably be saying we should drop our springbok captain for him!

• 217.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

My point is sometimes changing positions works fantastically well, other times not. So when G10 comes with his ‘its the cancer of SA rugby’, I say forget.

Its different for each player & position.

• 218.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

You see what a bit of research can do, even enlighten a moron !!! I am impressed ……

• 219.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@Oubaas2009: Exactly. Finally some logic!

• 220.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): @ 172

I’m rooting for the Sharks… Hope you guys take it…

As said before… would be great if all our SA sides have a great year and help each other by klapping the overseas teams…

• 221.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@ufo: Yes we must all beat oversea’s teams.

• 222.BuckT: Reply to this comment

i see that tensions are high again…none of you win the powerball either? might be the pre-match excitement that often overwhelms an individual! by the way, ‘ET’, you are a self absorbed ponce!

• 223.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

Ratel’s work is done. Another rumour squashed, another factoid facted, another myth busted. All in a days work for the Ratel.

• 224.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

Stop listening to the voices in your head !!

• 225.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

1. Beast (from flank)
    2. John Smit (from prop)
    3. Richard Bands(from hooker)
    4. Bakkies Boths(captain SA schools at 6,played alot of juniour rugby at 6)
    5. Jannes Labuschagne(made Bok debut as loosie)
    6. Danie Rossouw (lock)
    7. Schalk Burger (from 6)
    8. Pierre Spies (from 11)

9. Frans Hougaard(from centre)
    10. Henry Honiball (from 12)
    11. Bryan Habana (from 9/13)
    12. Jean De Villiers (from 11/13/14)
    13. Jaque Fourie(from 10(Monnas)/15)
    14. JP Pietersen(from 15)
    15. Frans Steyn (from 10)

SA has a long history of changing player positions successfully

• 226.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Just in time for a brawl.

• 227.Mutant: Reply to this comment

Yoh, Justrugby, that post at 208 is looking horrible.

• 228.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@ufo:

We shall see about Joe Pietersen…S14 is another kettle of fish.Has talent.fear he is undersized and doesnt have the out and out pace and skillset to make up for the lack of size(ala Giteau,Jason Robinson,Michalak etc)

• 229.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Who’s fighting and why were you and I not invited? LOL!

• 230.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Naah, you missed the meaty part of it, we’re now at the part where the boxers are just hangin on each other and trading weak punches…it got real healthy earlier…LOL

• 231.Mutant: Reply to this comment

Justnoideaaboutrugby

• 232.WP_: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami: oh he’s got the pace alright. Skills too

• 233.ufo: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami:

sure thing Mshini… the S14 is another thing… but I’m sure the Bulls weren’t playing less hard because of it being a different comp…

it will be interesting…

don’t think his pace is a problem though… but I never compared him to those guys anyway… so don’t know why you compared him to them… two of who are flyhaves… are any of our S14 full backs in that class…? No…

but I’m not saying he’s a superstar like that… just countering your point that he’s inconsistent…

but we’ll see if he can take the step up… all will be revealed over the next three or so months…

nowhere to hide in S14… :lol:

• 234.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami:

It really does illustate that playing players out of position is in fact a cancer in our rugby, the fact that some have been successful does not mean it is not a problem……… the fact that the person who is moved into a new posistion is doing so at the expense of someone else, regardless of how succesful that switch has been it’s going to lead to somebody being unhappy!!

I wonder if these players would of been as successful if left to play in the position of there choice.

Actaully quite an interesting debate ?

• 235.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Mutant:

your nic says it all !!

• 236.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Mshini i agree its past time Ruan stepped up or stepped out. If he was as fantastic as some say he wouldnt be battleing for a first selection position, he would get automatically.

• 237.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Ah, the banter has well and truly started!

Bizarre…the Sharks aren’t even playing the Stormers but it seems the biggest feud on here is now between the Sharks and Stormers.

On the other thread the Cheetahs and Bulls are giving each other horns!

And the Lions? Well, they’re just conspicuous by their absence…

• 238.gunther: Reply to this comment

I see the shark supporters are taking it in shifts to keep up with mini reverse….

too funny….

obviously a quiet day at turbo headquarters…

• 239.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Dawn – yes i thought your Monitor lizard comment a few days ago was hysterical and true.

• 240.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger: hi boomninny

hope you are well

i cant agree with you or shimi re ruan

against the lions he proved to be a better flyhalf then morne steyn , but only his goal kicking letting him down

how does he suddenly become useless?

with cockott taking the kicks at goal , ruan will be just fine

• 241.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@justrugby:

Thats a moot point bud.Thats just professional sport.Even if he was promoted into team at ORIGINAL POSITION its at someone’s expense so always somebody unhappy/will leave.

If position change is going to serve the team better,offer something different and player has skillset/aptitude to succeed its just like dropping someone and bringing up another regardless of swap.

Im not advocating all switches are good.But to say they are cancer of SA rugby is hyperbolic at best.All Nations around the world do the same thing it a trend in rugby in general.ex:

Kaino-playing 6 but always an 8
    Nonu at 12 but played most of rugby at 13
    Kahui-been played at wing for AB’s never preferred 13
    Mils-original preferred position is 13(Auckland Blues days)
    Toeava-has been everywhere really
    Carter-first2/3 years were played at 12 OUTRIGHT
    McCallister-made AB debut as a 10,interchages between 10/12.Played 13 overseas

Aus
    O’Connor-everywhere
    Gits-9/10/12
    Barnes-10/12-even at present not settled
    Ioane-11/12/13/14
    Ashley Cooper-11/13/14/15
    Mitchell-11/14/15
    G.Smith-6/7/8
    Mumm-4/5/6/7/8

• 242.ufo: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami:

James O’Connor gonna be a huge star…

Has talent in tanker-sized loads…

When he came on for the Force the other day suddenly things started happening… He gonna be keeping us busy for years to come…

• 243.rangerman: Reply to this comment

haha, things got outta hand here today i see :lol:

i love it!

i think we have dispelled a few myths here today:

1. sharks are unhappy campers (no proof therefore it all bullshit)
    2. ruan doesnt want to play flyhalf (see above)
    3. playing players in different positions is a cancer (a generalisation that deserves a generalisation: stupid)
    4. biff declared at the wrong time……oops! wrong thread, go you good thing proteas! :lol:

• 244.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: Yeah she got real healthy, all the Sharks nay-sayers subsiqeuntly disapeared after there second in command ‘justtennis’ finaly had to run for another dose of arthro ease.

Happy endings all round, we didnt even need a masseuse…LOL

• 245.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Hiho Sharky, have never felt confident when he plays. I do a little thing where i choose who i would rather play against or have on my team and he is always in the against team. :twisted:

• 246.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: lol hiyas rangerman bro ^5

you gotta love it…

• 247.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover:

Ruan is 26 yrs old.His time is running out.

His fragility on the mental side is his biggest downfall plus he is injury prone in last 2yrs.One can fix injuries/rehab etc but the mental side is all up to him and sadly I feel at 26 its all but over.Well at least for him to be superstar/bok pivot owner of jumper.He will play in Boks,in and out.He isnt the most talent AND consistent 9 out there and neither is he the most EFFIECIENT/CONSISTENT 10 out there.Even Frans Steyn has settled at 15 for Boks in shorter timespan that Ruan at 10.Ruan for all his supposed talent is a dissapointment.He is always sppoken of in the league of Carter,Wilko,Gits,Larkham etc but to be quite honest most of it is perception,inuendo and in flashes.I would prefer him to be a consistent footballer with moments of brillance.at present he is a mentally weak player,inconsistent with moments of brilliance.

Thats not good enough to be top player at this league.It gets u in same bracket as David Knox,Gaffie du Toit,Brent Russell,Quade Cooper,David Hill,Shane Drahm,Manny Edmonds etc

• 248.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: Sharky, Agree 100% mate. Ruan is a far better FH than many give him credit for. Let someone else take the kicks. Then his kicking in that first Lions test was superb. Just he misses one he will probably miss the rest. Nerves set in. So rather take that pressure off him. I think left at FH he will be one of our best.

• 249.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Sharky for the Sharks yes but not the Boks.

• 250.Mutant: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: Have to disagree. As we’ve seen above, and thanks to mshini’s post, there are plenty of examples where players have excelled in ‘other’ positions that they wouldn’t have called their best earlier.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.