Booze cruise leads to Powell axing
15 Feb 2010
Keo.co.za brings you the latest news from the Six Nations.
Booze cruise leads to Powell axing
Andy Powell has been removed from the Wales squad after being arrested for drink driving.
Police arrested the Wales loose forward on Sunday and Powell has since been charged for the offence. After discussions with the player himself, it has been decided by management that he should be suspended from the squad for behaviour contrary to the squad’s code of conduct.
‘This kind of behaviour cannot be tolerated in a professional, elite sporting environment and we have acted quickly and incisively in order to leave no ambiguity over the dim view we take of this situation,’ said team manager Alan Phillips.’
No replacement has been called for although hooker Ken Owens comes in as cover for Matthew Rees (groin) and Gareth Williams (knee).
Kearney crocked
Rob Kearney will miss Ireland’s next Test against England due to a knee injury sustained last Saturday.
The fullback strained a medial ligament in his right knee in the 33-10 defeat to France. Reports from Dublin confirm Kearney will miss the 27 February match at Twickenham.
Brian O’Driscoll (knee), Leo Cullen (ankle) and John Hayes (head) are all carrying niggles but should be fit for this Test.
Flannery collared for kick
Jerry Flannery has been cited for a kick on a French player and will face a disciplinary hearing this week.
The Ireland hooker was nailed by Independent Citing Commissioner for the France vs Ireland match, Peter Brown (Scotland), for an alleged kick on France’s wing Alexis Palisson in contravention of Law 10.4 (c).
Flannery will face an independent Six Nations disciplinary committee this week.

52 Comments
15 Feb 2010, 15:18 pm
struggling irish
15 Feb 2010, 17:43 pm
France have been on the up for a while.
Not only do I think they’ll win the 6 Nations but I believe that, with a little bit of continuity in player selection and consequentially (one should hope, although one never knows with les blues) performance, they will be a force to be reckoned with come World Cup time.
1. Barcella
2. Servat
3. Marconnet
4. Nallet
5. Millo Chluski
6. Dussotior
7. Harinordoquy
8. Picamoles
9. Parra
10. Trin-Duc
11. Heyman
12. Jauzion
13. Basteraud
14. Clerc
15. Potrenaud
16. Domingo
17. Szarzesky
18. Mas
19. Chabal
20. Pape
21. ?
22. Oudreago
23. Bonnaire
24. Du Puy
25. Michalak
26. Rougerrie
27. Traille
28. Marty
29. Malzieu
30. Medard
15 Feb 2010, 17:48 pm
As for the Boks for 2011?
I think we’ll see.
1. Mtawarira
2. Du Plessis
3. Smit
4. Botha
5. Matfield
6. Burger
7. Smith
8. Spies
9. Du Preez
10. Steyn
11. Habana
12. De Villiers
13. Fourie
14. Pieterson
15. Jantjes
16. Van Der Linde
17. Ralepelle
18. Botha
19. Kruger
20. Bekker
21. Brussow
22. Rossouw
23. Potgieter
24. Januarie
25. Pienaar
26. Nokwe
27. De Jongh
28. Jacobs
29. Mapoe
30. Rose
Of course Frans Steyn should be first choice at fullback.
But I don’t think that’s going to happen for the next two years…
15 Feb 2010, 17:49 pm
Yep…the froggies found their passion…gonna be a force to be reckoned with 2011…watch them upset the AB’s again
15 Feb 2010, 17:51 pm
@puff: All looks pretty much pre-ordained and deserved…except for no.30
15 Feb 2010, 17:53 pm
…and you gonna have to find space for meisiekind…I think he’s going to have a great season…will be difficult to ignore him…
15 Feb 2010, 20:06 pm
2011 a very far way to select ….but if i was coach….and had to take a squad of 30….my selections would be
15….f.Steyn……z Kirchner
14 JPP…..MAPOE
11 HABANA….NOKWE
12 jdv…w olivier
13 j fourie…..j de jongh
10 m steyn….L Cronje [watch this kid make a statement this year...]
9 FDP….R Januarie
8 Spies….A Johnson
7 J sMITH….DEWALT POTGIETER
6 BRUSSOW….STEGGMANN
5 MATFIELD.[CAPTAIN].. A BEKKER
4 BAKKIES…JUANDRE KRUGER
3 bj botha….cj van der linde
2 bissy…gary botha
1 beast…guthro.
No place for schalk or Smit in my team.
15 Feb 2010, 20:44 pm
@grant10:
Stegmann ahead of Burger.
Botha ahead of Smit.
Wow.
15 Feb 2010, 20:55 pm
@grant10: Ok. It’s seems like we are on that track already.
So.
Firstly, ‘ello.
1. Wian Du Preez
2. Smit
3. BJ Botha
4. Botha
5. Matfield
6. Brussow
7. Burger
8. Spies
9. Du Preez
10. Steyn
11. Habana
12. De Villiers
13. Fourie
14. Pieterson
15. Steyn
16. Van Der Linde
17. Adriaan Strauss
18. Bekker
19. Vermulen
20. Pienaar
21. W. Olivier
22. Joe Pietersen
15 Feb 2010, 21:00 pm
And these guys in the touring 30:
Rossouw
23. Alberts
24. Rossouw
25. Buys
26. Sykes
27. De Jongh
28. Jacobs
29. Mapoe
30. Vermaak
15 Feb 2010, 21:05 pm
@grant10:
It is going to be interesting to see how the game evolves this season with the new law interpretations – imo there is a chance that the value of relatively small specialised fetcher flankers will diminish and that players like Steggman and Brussow will have to develop other skills as well.
Brussow for example was relatively quiet this weekend, Cobus Grobelaar was more a liability to his team than anything else while Stegman did quite well.
Schalk was not too bad imo – for a change he did not transgress as much as usual while his overall workrate was not bad.
15 Feb 2010, 21:11 pm
@Robzim: I agree. But what was very interesting was the combination of Burger & Vermulen. Who covered a lot of ground in tandem and totally dominated the collisions. If Duane can keep his form up, he has to challenge Spies at 8, and is a lot better than Ryan Kankowski.
He also covers a lot of positions in terms of bench – 8′th man, blindside flank, and even lock.
Juan Smith played well again, so he’s always a tough call.
15 Feb 2010, 21:17 pm
I think that the 2011 RWC is going to be much much more physical and fast. New laws vs last RWC.
Everyone seems so much bigger and faster.
France look fearsome. AB’s are going to have all their NH club boys back – going to be tough. I think that Jake’ size mantra might come back in a another form.
A guy like Alberts (mercenary *******) will be very valuable. An 8′th man like Vermulen – big strong and pretty fast (no speed merchant mind reminds me of a French loosie.
15 Feb 2010, 21:23 pm
@SodaJoe:
Yip, Duane had a great game – got the man of the Match as well.
I see your’e first Xv has 11/15 of the 2005 wc winners. It worries me a bit – tough to reach the top of Everest twice (as pointed out by someone on this blog a few days ago).
15 Feb 2010, 21:24 pm
2005 = 2007
15 Feb 2010, 21:28 pm
@Robzim: Boet I can’t think of a better team though.
John Smit may be a bit long in the tooth, but the rest are not over the hill?
15 Feb 2010, 21:35 pm
gents….howzit
2011 a long way off….lots can and will change…i do hope we dont see the end of the tearaway fetcher completely….for me one of the highlights of the game is seeing a Brussow type at work.
Big collissions all day long can be boring…..
A back up 10 remains a vital mission…..pity Butchs knees seem to be failing the test….
15 Feb 2010, 21:37 pm
@SodaJoe:
Your team is probably just about the best at the moment (except John Smit – imo Bismark is better).
It is just that I think that quite a few of the players have already peaked and might be past their prime during 2011 – it is a bit worrying that that only a few new players came through to this level since 2007.
I am not aware of any player that has ever won 2 wc- winner medals – but there is always a first time I guess.
15 Feb 2010, 21:39 pm
breaking news….JDV confirms he is headed back to Sa….not as yet confirmed stormers and wp will be his home….see rugby 365
15 Feb 2010, 21:41 pm
@grant10: Grant. There are quite a few 10′s who can put their hands up through this years competition (I am sure that next year the team will likely largely be in place).
Ruan will be fine at 10, let’s see how he goes this season, I hav a good feeling about him. Peter Grant has always been a good 10 (waaaay better than Lionel Cronje). J-L Potgieter is a godo 10 in the morne Steyn style. Burton Francis may come out of his shadow.
All of above are better selections than Butch James – who’s knees were done in 2007.
15 Feb 2010, 21:43 pm
@grant10:
Butch had a very good game for Bath yesterday – he really stood out – Luke was also good especially with the ball in hand (the missing ingredient at the Stormers).
15 Feb 2010, 21:43 pm
@Robzim: If Bismark has half a brain cell he might be good, but Strauss is as good if not better. Tian Liebenberg as good if not better.
Bismark Du Plessis makes a ploughshare look intellectual.
15 Feb 2010, 21:46 pm
more breaking news….looks like Mostert out for season with shoulder injury for sharks…..and J Muller appears out for Fri nite as well vs cheetahs….
15 Feb 2010, 21:49 pm
@SodaJoe: 20
Give L Cronje a chance…..21 years old…and in the preseason saw a bit of him….enough to make me sit up and take notice….watch him over the super 14 Soda….
@Robzim: Rob….LW will be severely missed….that link skills were undoubtedly missed…..stormers were at times very average….i do hope wickus blaauw is not out this weekend….waratahs will be a mighty challenge.
15 Feb 2010, 21:51 pm
@SodaJoe:
Hey Joe, where did you see Lionel Cronje play to be able to say that Grant is better than him?
The guy is class – a much better all round flyhalf than Grant – great distribution and a natural kicker.
Grant is a 12 (I said it so many times – someone must now start to believe it
15 Feb 2010, 21:51 pm
soda…..i do hope ruan gets an extended run at 10 now….he needs to shape up now…that oke getting more chances than most….time for him to live up to some of the mass adulation.
15 Feb 2010, 21:52 pm
@Robzim: 25
Rob…..i am now in your camp regards Grant….he is a 12.
Saturday again showed he cannot dictate like a class 10….give L Cronje a chance….
15 Feb 2010, 21:54 pm
bloody sharks will be after jdv….for sure.
15 Feb 2010, 21:56 pm
@SodaJoe:
Bismark was very good at international level before – I do not now what is going on at the moment with him – maybe he is frustrated in the Sharks camp – hope he sorts himself out soon.
Strauss and Liebenberg are both very good but imo Bismark is better (at his best)
15 Feb 2010, 21:58 pm
@grant10:
Yip, I hope he thinks very carefully before he goes there – too many big ego’s around in the tank at the moment.
15 Feb 2010, 21:58 pm
@Robzim: 29
Bissy looks so unhappy….devoid of any joy……for sure an unhappy camper….
But still the best hooker in the world imo….on form leaps ahead of most others.
15 Feb 2010, 22:00 pm
Cheers for now – must go and fetch a child.
Parents have not much free time these days.
15 Feb 2010, 22:01 pm
@Robzim: @grant10:
I hope you two guys, in particular viewed that Butch, Luke video that Big Hit alerted this site to.
15 Feb 2010, 22:01 pm
@Robzim: 30
ja….problem is stormers have Juan de jongh,newman,p grant,j fourie,bosch,and a host of youngsters….
But jdv the best 12 in SA….since F Steyn not here….
and to win the super 14 sentimentality needs to go out the window….
so hope wp get him back.
15 Feb 2010, 22:02 pm
@Robzim: cheers rob.
15 Feb 2010, 22:02 pm
@elliott2: sorry….no , i didnt….what was it about?
15 Feb 2010, 22:04 pm
@Robzim:
Robbo it so turns out that the stricter application of the laws did in fact lead to a far more attacking game for certain teams. Just hope that the refs. continue to apply the rules as they should have in 2009 already.
15 Feb 2010, 22:09 pm
@grant10:
Grant it is on that Bath site of yesterday. It is compelling viewing and shows the non-stressed Luke and Butch in fine form with the British female interviewer and the great friendship that those two SA players have.
Also just saw the Bath, London Irish game a ffew hrs. ago and the 3 Saffas, Claasens,Butch and Luke were phenomenal. Seems they may well take Bath to the Heineken tourney. They now lie 7th and need to finish at least 6th in the Premeirship to qualify.
15 Feb 2010, 22:14 pm
@grant10: Grant – the one place Stormers were better than average was in the loose bud. They were very good.
Rob – just saw LC as sub for Stormers. Nice balance good boot but nothing special (yet – and I hope he’s the next Dan Carter)
15 Feb 2010, 22:14 pm
@grant10:
Stormers need a lot of work to do to polish up their act. That was mostly a dismal display after leading 24- 6 within the 30min. marker.
I did not see this game on tv but on streaming and from what I saw the likes of Beeker, Habana, Fourie, Grant, Van Zyl and others need to seriously assert them selves on the captain if they stand any chance of progressing to the last 4.
That game was a definite 5 pointer that got lost because of rank bad leadership.
15 Feb 2010, 22:15 pm
@elliott2: 38
I am a huge fan of Butch and LW is,in my humble opinion, one of the players most wasted because of Jake Whites hypocrisy and downright malicious dislike of the Watsons. Anyway….it is one of those things….who knows what the future holds for Luke…i pray he finds his way back into a Bok jersey soon….would love him to lead boks to WC in 2011…..redemption!!
Anyway….goodnite all…
15 Feb 2010, 22:17 pm
@elliott2: 40
Agree….we seemed rudderless after half time….not good enough ….at best 5 out of 10….
again…cheers all
15 Feb 2010, 22:21 pm
@SodaJoe:
No wonder Leeds are falling away. Poor shallow supporters like you. You deny them when they won 3-0 against Brighton( you said 3-1) and you denied them again after the Monday after Boxing Day games when you claimed they had an 8 pt. lead when in fact they had a 9 py. lead. With followers like you they will fall away.
But do not fret they will win Div. one and thus go up.
And please do not tell me about how long you have been following them because others have been doing so for longer and as you know once a genuine Leeds supporter always a Leeds supporter.
15 Feb 2010, 22:26 pm
@grant10:
#41.
You must view that video it is compelling and hilarious and insightful. Just copy and paste the link BH provides but add (www.) in front of it and then click on the video at the bottom of the page. It may take a while to download depending on the speed of your computer.
15 Feb 2010, 22:37 pm
@elliott2: I have no depth. I am a charlatan.
I feel so exposed, and naked.
15 Feb 2010, 22:37 pm
@elliott2: But if Leeds go up then boffo.
15 Feb 2010, 22:53 pm
@SodaJoe:
I am sorry to have to give you the naked truth but that’s the shrine I worship at.
If Leeds do go up you will owe me big time for not denying them. I can tell you that part of the problem is the inevitable distraction that these good runs in the Cup games cause and also allow some players(eg. Beckford ) to become big-headed and distracted and not concentrate on the job at hand. This has the effect of unsettling the other players as well. But they need to sort themselves out soon with 2 victories this week and consistent wins over the next 12 or so games to follow otherwise they WILL lose the plot big time.
15 Feb 2010, 23:06 pm
@elliott2: I will be forever in your debt. Beholden as it were.
We have 3 home games coming up against bottom half of the table teams, we had better do something.
The FA Cup and bloody Johnson Paint Trophy did seem to distract, but at least we have 2 games in hand. and Charlton are currently 1-0 down to Bristol Rovers.
15 Feb 2010, 23:46 pm
The author of this article missed out the best bit.
Andy Powell was found by police to be driving a golf buggy down the M4 motorway!!
Sounds like a tribute to Freddie Flintoff!!
15 Feb 2010, 23:48 pm
@SodaJoe: 45. For heavens sake, put some clothes on!!
All this nakedness, in this weather!
16 Feb 2010, 00:31 am
@elliott2:
#33, 37
I saw the clip last night, thanks.
Good to see them looking so relaxed and clearly enjoying themselves.
It is a pity that one cannot place the video on keo and a few other rugby sites – maybe it would open the eyes of a few or perhaps I am too optimistic?
Anyway, you were right about the new interpretations opening up the game and make kicking less important – don’t know for how long before someone comes up with a counter but hopefully the refs will stand strong. It should actually be to the benefit of the Stormers although it did not really look like it during the second half on Saturday.
Well, maybe it was good that they have not won by 50 points and hopefully they will be spurred on by the (slightly) negative press they received here in the Western Cape. Let’s see how it goes on Saturday.
16 Feb 2010, 02:53 am
yeah Powell was caught drinking driving a hijacked golf buggy down the M4
step your game up keo