Alberts gets first start
23 Feb 2010
Jean Deysel has been dropped for Willem Alberts in a Sharks team that sees four changes to the pack.
Alberts earns his first start in a Sharks jersey in the Super 14 since winning his court battle against the Lions, with Springbok flank Deysel paying for some below-par performances. After starting at hooker last week, John Smit reverts to tighthead and will be tested at scrum-time in an interesting battle with the Crusaders pack.
Bismarck du Plessis starts at No 2 due to Smit’s shift, while lock Johann Muller has recovered from a pinched nerve in his neck. Alistair Hargreaves isn’t part of the tour party and Bulls recruit Wilhelm Steenkamp keeps his place on the bench.
Coach John Plumtree has selected five forwards on the wood with Ruan Pienaar covering scrumhalf, while Englishman Andy Goode is set for his debut. Riaan Swanepoel also returns from injury and is included in the squad.
Sharks – 15. Stefan Terblanche, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Waylon Murray, 12. Adrian Jacobs, 11. JP Pietersen, 10. Ruan Pienaar, 9. Rory Kockott, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Willem Alberts, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. Johaan Muller, 4. Steven Sykes, 3. John Smit (c), 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Deon Carstens, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18. Wilhelm Steenkamp , 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Keegan Daniel, 21. Andy Goode, 22. Riaan Swanepoel.

246 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All
23 Feb 2010, 23:31 pm
ok, i am out.
go sharks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
have a good evening all.
23 Feb 2010, 23:32 pm
@Robzim: Mussles, now you are talking!! Lots or garlic, so I can’t taste the fish!!
Rangerman, let me know when you’re in CT next, I’ll organise you some. But I want my vacuum-packed cane rat first!
@charo:
Any diving opportunities in Ghana?
Scuba?
23 Feb 2010, 23:34 pm
@charo: this is still the willem alberts threads ne? Ninjalo ke nina balandeli be-sharks, you’d rather ningcwabe intloko zenu esantini than ukuba nijonge inyani ebusweni…
23 Feb 2010, 23:34 pm
@rangerman: See you Ranger, if WPTID gets Cane Rat can I try some of your merkat biltong?
23 Feb 2010, 23:36 pm
@Robzim: Did you know 4man reckons he can hold his breath for something like 7 minutes or was that 4 minutes, anyway it seemed like a loooong time!
23 Feb 2010, 23:38 pm
@carol:
Here are billions of black mussels – it is also the staple food of the Rock Lobster (that is why it is ok to eat CT Rock Lobsters
In the Southern Cape we also have oysters – taste even better than mussels.
Sometimes I think this place is like paradise.
23 Feb 2010, 23:40 pm
Carol, the world record is something like 7min28s (might have chabged). No slight on 4man, 4 minutes is more than decent! Best I’ve ever done was 4m30s above water – probably equates to about 3 minutes in the ocean (much tougher!)
23 Feb 2010, 23:42 pm
@Robzim: Oysters, very cool but absolutley disgusting……!!!
Remember I am a landlocked English person. Give me a steak anyday!!
23 Feb 2010, 23:43 pm
@carol:
Seven minutes is a bit long even for 4 Man.
Maybe 4 minutes while relaxing on dry land.
It is still very good.
Scuba makes it easier.
23 Feb 2010, 23:44 pm
Minnesota is home to Spam.
Largest Turkey company in the world.
And Walleye.
Elk.
And the Jolly Green Giant.
23 Feb 2010, 23:45 pm
My father was a navy diver, he claims the best he ever did was just over 4 minutes underwater, then almost had a shallow water blackout. Much easier to hold your breath with no water pressure around you.
Then they had crazy nighttime jumps off container ships (close on ten storeys height).
Night dives are scary, especially so since sharks are nocturnal.
23 Feb 2010, 23:46 pm
@Robzim:
rob,
there is a diver here from cpt who works for the offshore oil berthing company who dives off this coast. apparently the sealife is pretty good but one has to go quite far out because of the inshore pollution so i suppose it would be scuba not snorkel.
unfortunately the sewerage treatment plant installed at world bank cost has broken down so raw sewerage is now dumped directly into the sea with dire consequences.
so, diving for me is not an option, unless i drive about an hour along the coast and find some clear water.
23 Feb 2010, 23:46 pm
@WP Till I Die: I must have heard wrong!!
Whats new WPTID?
23 Feb 2010, 23:47 pm
@WP Till I Die:
4.30 is very good, even above water.
I always practice it while driving my car.
23 Feb 2010, 23:47 pm
@SodaJoe: Evening Soda. what ARE you on about?
23 Feb 2010, 23:49 pm
@Robzim: So perhaps it was 3 minutes relaxing on the beach?
23 Feb 2010, 23:49 pm
@Transformation:
did hater prompt you to say that?
23 Feb 2010, 23:51 pm
@carol:
Not at Clifton – at least not for me – I need all my energy to pull in my stomach with all the blondes around!
23 Feb 2010, 23:53 pm
@charo:
mind you, raw sewerage and crayfish are bedfellows.
there is a sewerage pipe way off bay of plenty beach in durban that is wallowing in big fat bugs
23 Feb 2010, 23:57 pm
@charo: Plum is utterly useless. I now see he was the worst thing to happen to the Sharks. This kak would’ve never happened had Muir stayed. Yes he wasn’t great but he damn well kept the team together and we did make it to a final with him.
23 Feb 2010, 23:59 pm
@charo:
No, sies man.
Luckily the CT Rock Lobster prefers mussels.
Or so they say…
24 Feb 2010, 00:01 am
@grant10: To say Plum is a bystander is ludicrous! The buck stops with the coach and every S14 coach must be held accountable if it all goes pear-shaped. I’m sorry but that is just bs. Plum has had just as much a hand in this as anyone else and its the job of the coach to have the man management skills to keep a team together even if the national setup is at odds with your S14 team dynamics. If Plum does go to the Canes watch him screw up another good team.
24 Feb 2010, 00:02 am
@Robzim: 220 – Ahhh, time for more sit-ups!!
24 Feb 2010, 00:03 am
Carol, not much. Trying to survive four nights a week of judo and boxing along with the added responsibility at work thanks to a promotion.
24 Feb 2010, 00:04 am
Night Chaps…..
Soda, where did you go to?
24 Feb 2010, 00:05 am
@KZN King Shark:
not so sure about plum being useless. he brought a lot of discipline to the squad – he is not the pally-pally drinking mates type of coach like ****.
sharks were a lot more focused at the breakdown after plum arrived. problem to me is boyd, the other kiwi, who is meant to coach the backline. no speed, no variation, basically….no chance
24 Feb 2010, 00:06 am
@WP Till I Die: Sounds like some form of punnishment to me!!
Go easy on yourself?
24 Feb 2010, 00:06 am
@Big Hit: PDV and Plum have ruined Kockett’s confidence, he’s a shadow of himself, could’ve been an exciting prospect for the Boks. His form last year was sensational but now he seems to be lacking so much confidence. No thanks to the poor player management of Plum and PDV’s refusal to even give Kockett a chance to play for the E Boks. Unbelievable. He’ll be off to somewhere new next season.
The Du Plessis brothers already have one foot in France. God we’re in such a mess. Can’t believe how Plum has managed to screw everything up in just under a year. It may take years to recover from this fallout.
24 Feb 2010, 00:07 am
@Robzim: Trust me, the extra sit ups will be worth it!!
24 Feb 2010, 00:10 am
@WP Till I Die: @226
well done boet – despite spending half your working day on keo?
you must be an exceptional prospect 8)
24 Feb 2010, 00:10 am
@charo: Are we more focussed at the breakdown? We don’t even seem to know the rules of the breakdown anymore. At least Muir maintained unity within the team and the players had confidence and self-belief, now they just look like broken men on the field.
2007 was our best year and that was under Muir. We played like men possessed. JPP was highest try scorer and the semi-final against the Blues was one of the best rugby matches I’ve ever seen. Can’t see us reaching that pinnacle again not for years perhaps even decades.
24 Feb 2010, 00:11 am
@carol:
227 and 231
If u only know how much I hate it.
Good night
Soda was strange
Carol, I am a *********
@Robzim:
rob 223 – you know as well as i that bugs live of dead/decaying matter
24 Feb 2010, 00:12 am
@charo: she doesn’t talk in her sleep now does she?
24 Feb 2010, 00:15 am
@KZN King Shark:
perhaps straueli is the problem?
hard to say but the camp ain’t happy.
i know that plum is a tough coach who takes no ****.
24 Feb 2010, 00:17 am
@Transformation:
mate, would be tempting to give a sarcastic response but i won’t
24 Feb 2010, 00:22 am
@charo:
No, not always.
I know of at least 2 scientific studies done on the West Coast RL (jasus lalandii) that proved their staple food is black mussels. They are obviously opportunistic feeders but if the mussels are plentiful that is what they will go for.
I will check it up tomorrow to make sure about the stomach contents and the percentages.
24 Feb 2010, 00:22 am
@charo: well, nothing from you would ever suprise me…
24 Feb 2010, 00:24 am
sorry guys, but my connecting has slowed down to a snail’s pace – too frustrating.
good night
24 Feb 2010, 00:27 am
am done with this drawing! Fellas i’m out…
Wptid, i’m planning to be in cpt for the jazz festival end of march, holla @ ya boy!
24 Feb 2010, 00:28 am
@charo:
“connecting” hahaha i sound like a ******. should be “connection”
@Robzim:
rob, welcome your feedback – love info on marine life – maybe should have chosen it as a career.
@Transformation: a big change of attitude from you transie – something i said?
24 Feb 2010, 00:34 am
I am out too,
Cheers guys.
24 Feb 2010, 05:53 am
@Staal: well said – another classic
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All