O’Gara dropped

Keo.co.za brings you the latest news from the Six Nations.

O’Gara dropped

Jonny Sexton will start at flyhalf for Ireland against England at Twickenham on Saturday.

Ronan O’Gara has been dropped for Sexton, who will make his first Six Nations start after impressing against the Springboks last year. The other change in the backs sees Geordan Murphy make a remarkable comeback as Rob Kearney is injured.

Suspended hooker Jerry Flannery is replaced by Rory Best and Leo Cullen is dropped for Donncha O’Callaghan at lock. Prop John Hayes will play in his 100th Test.

Ireland - G Murphy (Leicester), T Bowe (Ospreys), B O’Driscoll (Leinster) capt, G D’Arcy (Leinster), K Earls (Munster), J Sexton (Leinster), T O’Leary (Munster), C Healy (Leinster), R Best (Ulster), J Hayes (Munster), D O’Callaghan (Munster), P O’Connell (Munster), S Ferris (Ulster), D Wallace (Munster), J Heaslip (Leinster). Replacements: S Cronin (Connacht), T Buckley (Munster), L Cullen (Leinster), S Jennings (Leinster), E Reddan (Leinster), R O’Gara (Munster), A Trimble (Ulster)

Poms unchanged

Martin Johnson has resisted the urge to change his side for their match against Ireland.

Jonny Wilkinson was under pressure after failing to ignite the Poms on attack, but Johnson hasn’t dropped anyone after they stuttered to a 17-12 win over Italy.

Hooker Lee Mears, flanker Joe Worsley and full-back Ben Foden are named among the substitutes as they replace Steve Thompson, Steffon Armitage and prop Matt Mullan, as Johnson opted for a 4-3 split.

England - D Armitage (London Irish); Mark Cueto (Sale), Mathew Tait (Sale), Riki Flutey (Brive), Ugo Monye (Harlequins); Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon), Danny Care (Harlequins); Tim Payne (Wasps), Dylan Hartley (Northampton), Dan Cole (Leicester), Simon Shaw (Wasps), Steve Borthwick (Saracens, captain), James Haskell (Stade Francais), Lewis Moody (Leicester), Nick Easter (Harlequins).
Replacements: Lee Mears (Bath), David Wilson (Bath), Louis Deacon (Leicester), Joe Worsley (Wasps), Paul Hodgson (London Irish), Toby Flood (Leicester), Ben Foden (Northampton).