France resist Wales rebound

France nearly surrendered a 20-point lead before settling to secure a 26-20 victory over Wales in Cardiff.

Leading 20-0 and the break and having not been threatened once by an impotent Wales, most, except Wales’ ever-optimistic supporters wouldn’t have given the hosts a chance. But they rallied to within seven points, before basic errors cost them a chance of a miraculous comeback.

The match was a marred by passages of play that infuriated as a result of amateurish handling and poor tactical options. But there were moments which mesmerised, and those ensured you stayed trained on the contest.

Initially Wales couldn’t match France’s clinical attack via their back division, and why they persisted down that avenue of attack in the first half confounds. Their more pragmatic second half approach reaped rewards, and had they resisted the urge to box with the boxing experts, the result may have been different.

However, France built their victory almost entirely on defence – the controlled and aggressive variety in the first forty minutes and desperate scrambling in the second.

With regard to the former variation, Wales were bullied in contact, and as a result rarely got the speed on the recycle they needed to play the type of game they attempted to. France stayed patient in defence, despite a dearth of possession and territory, and capitalised on numerous errors, the biggest of which came in the 7th minute.

France’s speed off the line forced Wales’ attack to veer laterally, and well behind the advantage line. An intercept always looked possible given the careless and rudderless manner in which the ball was being distributed, and wing Alexis Palisson duly poached a floated Stephen Jones pass and ran 65m to score.

Morgan Parra converted and banked two more three pointers to take his side into 13-0 ahead.

At no stage did Wales threaten, and their desperation manifested in collectivism being traded for individualism. This ultimately cost them seven points when, after a mazy solo run, Shane Williams popped up a ball in contact only for flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc to grasp it and sprint 30m to goal.

Parra sunk the conversion from tough angle, and being 20-0 down with France still having five gears at their disposal, it was effectively over as a contest. Or so it seemed.

Wales’ woes were amplified when they butchered a wonderful scoring opportunity four minutes after the restart – lock Luke Charteris knocking on with the line beckoning and just a wing to negotiate.

Then the drama reached its climax. A multi-phase move culminated in the ball being shifted wide to Leigh Halfpenny, who raced in to the corner. Jones sent the ball sailing through the posts to draw his side to within a converted try.

To compound France’s trouble, Parra was sin-binned for an infringement in the build up to that try, and Wales had a number of chances to punish 14-man opponents, the best of those when Jamie Roberts failed to find a support runner on his outside who would have scored under the posts.

They’d regret that, and if Frederic Michalak’s 70th minute penalty helped France breath easier, Parra’s third in the 78th sealed the result. Williams would score a late converted try, but Michalak simply booted the restart into touch to keep their Grand Slam dream alive.

151 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All

• 1.grant10: Reply to this comment

go wales

• 2.RedLion: Reply to this comment

/\___/\
    /// . . \\\
    \\\ ^ ///
    ROAR …®

• 3.RedLion: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Commiserations mate.

• 4.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i’m backing the Frogs on this one!

• 5.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: think they have it wrapped up.

• 6.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Ryan Jones has a dickie calf and mightn’t last long.

• 7.RedLion: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: dickie calf? that sounds like a nasty injury.

• 8.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@RedLion: :) he was wearing an ice pack and hasn’t trained all week. Who you pulling for in this one, the frogs?

• 9.RedLion: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: :smile: the Frogs all the way. NH is better off with the Frogs and the POMS dominating the smaller nations.

• 10.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@RedLion: agree, the little guys make too much noise when they punch above their weight. I think France will dominate tonight.

• 11.grant10: Reply to this comment

@RedLion: 3 thanks RL

Good luck for tomorrow. I am pretty gutted…..Justrugby and i were there….tough to lose the close ones…..

• 12.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Be glad Skinstad’s not commentating this game.

• 13.WP_: Reply to this comment

Come on Wales!

• 14.RedLion: Reply to this comment

The Dragons are sining their song, beautiful.

• 15.Transformation: Reply to this comment

kaplan is going to blow new interpretations hahahaha

• 16.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: **** interpretations

• 17.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Palisson try

• 18.Transformation: Reply to this comment

go Frogs…first blood

• 19.grant10: Reply to this comment

whats happening there…i am not watching….need some comments gents please!

• 20.RedLion: Reply to this comment

There we go, let the carnage begin.

7-0 Frogs

• 21.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: #16 :D in the case of kaplan, yeh “****” interpretations, he had the runs the other night…

These commentators are so biased they can’t help themselves.

• 22.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: who you listening to? Davies?

• 23.grant10: Reply to this comment

bloody frogs as well….when the rugby gods turn on you its harsh sh it!

Sharks, Stormers now wales…fark me!!!

• 24.charo: Reply to this comment

both national anthems are beautiful.

french is a lot of huff and puff and motivating

but wales is gentle and…. to me…. more soul stirring

• 25.Transformation: Reply to this comment

welsh turbo reverse!

• 26.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

the release interpretation…

• 27.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

10-0

• 28.Transformation: Reply to this comment

penalty converted by frogs 10-0

• 29.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

nice break Taffs, Jones should’ve held on to it

• 30.grant10: Reply to this comment

are wales being drilled in scrums?

Fark me….june 12 th we better choose Boks carefully….i will be at newlands….no bloody turbo reverse scrums please pdv!!!

• 31.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10: can we please leave it out of at least one thread? :)

• 32.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: 31

ja….but i seriously want to know how the french are scrumming BH??

• 33.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10: solid mostly, they’ve conceded one pen, Wales have a reserve hooker and loosehead on. Never known a 10 so obsessed with scrums :)

• 34.RedLion: Reply to this comment

@grant10: 32

the Taff forwards are heavier than the Frogsforwards by 5kg per man. The Frog props are small but quick. In the scrums the Frogs seems to have no problem.

but I am no fatty so do not take my word. :grin:

• 35.fish out of water: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus: The French commentators are pretty bad… but Skinny is worse.

• 36.RedLion: Reply to this comment

Man that frog hookers jersey and his face is all torn up.

• 37.grant10: Reply to this comment

damn…clifton se moer man….i miss my dstv!

• 38.RedLion: Reply to this comment

@fish out of water: dude those are not French commentators. The one speaks English and the other speaks a language I do not understand. I think that it is Welsh or mouse, a horrible, horrible language.

• 39.Transformation: Reply to this comment

great continuinty by france but then they lose the ball…the french are dominating the collisions.

the french are moering these guys in the scrum!

• 40.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@RedLion: ‘I think that it is Welsh or mouse’

it’s a bit of both :lol:

• 41.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: 39

Dont tell me that Transie…i will have sleepless nights worrying about our bok front row man!!

• 42.Transformation: Reply to this comment

grant you need to have seen this game!!!! Turbo reverse 5000!!! new gears added to the model!

• 43.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

20-0

glad I put money on this one :)

• 44.Transformation: Reply to this comment

try time Frogs!?!

• 45.RedLion: Reply to this comment

2nd intercept try for the Frogs.

• 46.fish out of water: Reply to this comment

@RedLion: I live in France so luckily I am watching French tv, Welsh sounds damn awful to listen to.

Another intercept try by France…Trihn-Duc even turned around to see if the ref was going to blow the whistle – couldn’t believe his luck.

France 20 – Galles 0

• 47.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: 42

Fark me…are you serious Transie???

Hell i hope PDV watching then…..

oh hell….kak coming unless we get bj back in time….and i am starting to seriously worry about beast as well!!!

• 48.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@fish out of water: lol he’s speaking english with a welsh accent, it’s Jonathan Davies former wales flyhalf

• 49.Transformation: Reply to this comment

half-time…the Frogs are cruising this one, even with Bastereaud(sp) not having a storming game… French frontrow very mobile, smit won’t match these okes on the park…

• 50.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: 49

Transie….smit must retire my man…..Bissy is far too valuable to drop…he was one of the few sharks who gave it his all today….Smit is a liability now….sorry to say but its the truth…every game more and more exposed…next week tahs with robinson….i am kakking myself already!

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.