Maties edge errant Ikeys

Maties held on for a hard-fought 23-17 win against UCT in Stellenbosch on Monday.

The conditions: perfect. The atmosphere: electric. A packed Danie Craven Stadium was set for another exhilarating Cape Derby between defending champions Maties and southern rivals UCT.

Both teams entered the encounter undefeated after five rounds, promising a close contest. And it was, but Maties emerged the victors as they fended off a late surge from Ikeys in the last quarter of the match.

Ikeys had only themselves to blame. The visitors enjoyed most of the possession and penetrated the home side’s defensive lines on several occasions. They also looked impressive at the breakdowns, working themselves into their opponent’s territory via good set-phase play.

But elementary errors such as poor decision-making and handling, inaccurate kicks and ill-discipline prevented them from converting their try-scoring opportunities.

Maties were not the convincing side as displayed in previous fixtures but they managed to capitalise on Ikeys’ mistakes and surged into a 13-0 lead.

Pivot Andre Kemp opened the scoring with two penalties, which was followed by a runaway try from lock Andrew Prior after intercepting Ikeys’ play on the halfway line.

The situation worsened for UCT as pivot Matt Rosslee and centre Marcel Brache were off target with the boot, missing 11 possible points between them. But they did hit back through a try by Marcello Sampson as the wing dived in at the corner after an impressive team effort.

Kemp converted one penalty on the half-time mark to secure a 16-5 lead for Maties at half-time.

The home side extended their lead to 18 points when wing Wilhelm Loock scored an early try but Ikeys returned to the field a more composed side after the break.

This saw UCT fight their way back into the game with two tries through replacement centre Mark Esterhuizen and fullback Therlow Pietersen.

Ikeys then had two clear opportunities to take the lead, but they were denied by a TMO decision and a knock-on by Pietersen 5m from the try-line.

Maties seemed to have the result in the bag as they had possession deep in Ikeys’ half with three minutes to go. But the visitors had one last attack and broke away into Maties’ 22.

With space out wide, the ball was passed through the hands and a late winner seemed inevitable. But prop Ash Wells lost the ball forward, handing Maties the victory as they cleared the ball into touch from the resulting scrum.

In other results, Shimlas ended Tuks play-off dreams as the former won 27-23 in Pretoria.

No 8 Boom Prinsloo, skipper Wayne Stevens, fullback Reinhardt Erwee and wing Beast Ndwandwa all scored for the visitors.

Pukke thrashed TUT 51-17 in Potchefstroom to rise above third-placed UCT on the log.

Lock Francois Robbertse scored a hat-trick as Pukke crossed the whitewash on eight occasions.

Last year’s finalists had a disappointing start to the campaign, but they should be able to secure a semi-final place with one round to go before the play-offs.

UJ thrashed NMMU to a record scoreline of 97-14 in Johannesburg.

It was the most points scored by a team in a Varsity Cup match and the highest points difference.

Hooker Edgar Marutlulle scored a hat-trick, while fullback Aubrey MacDonald, wing Lola Waka and replacement back Andre Smith grabbed a brace each as UJ scored 14 tries.

The huge deficit came in handy as UJ remain in a semi-final position on the log on points difference above Shimlas.

Varsity Cup, Round 6:
Maties 23 – 17 UCT
Tuks 23 – 27 Shimlas
Pukke 51 – 17 TUT
UJ 97 – 14 NMMU

Varsity Cup, Final Round:
15 March
Pukke vs Maties – 16:30
UCT vs Tuks – 18:30
Shimlas vs UJ – 18:30
TUT vs NMMU – 18:30

98 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.RedLion: Reply to this comment

What an ending, the UCT loosehead fatty just could not hang on to that pass, the try was on.

• 52.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@RedLion: agreed, what an ending, just need a th now :lol:

• 53.rangerman: Reply to this comment

maties JUST hang on!

this competition will only get better.

• 54.charo: Reply to this comment

phew …what an amazing intervarsity.

well done to both teams.

maybe i’m a bit biased but ikeys could have taken this game.

so much better than in the 70′s when doc did everything in his power to ensure maties won. games are much more even now.

bet they going to party up a storm in stellenbosch tonight

• 55.14261774: Reply to this comment

if we face ikeys again we will loose, ikeys got themselves to blame for this one!

• 56.RedLion: Reply to this comment

As a neutral this was one great match to watch, well played student amateurs.

RL out.

• 57.katman: Reply to this comment

@RedLion: Shame. Only Graham Smith has cramped more than that guy.

• 58.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Ikey’s deserved that one played with huge heart.
    Had Maties on the ropes numerous times but over cooked the last pass. That last move was a try if proppy boy had just held on. Same with move before where full back dropped it with open try line ahead.
    Maties were scrambling and Ikey’s were on the rampage.

Great spirit this Ikey’s side, pity this talent can’t get filtered through to Wp later on.

Maties got out of jail and they know it. If Ikey’s got their early kicks would have been all over bar the shouting.

• 59.katman: Reply to this comment

And if you weren’t sure where this game was being played, the music was the giveaway. The Final Countdown and Summer of ’69 weren’t ironic. Got to love the dutchies :)

• 60.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

Hou op kla and kyk na die scorebord. Na ‘n jaar of wat is dit al wat onthou gaan word. Die sokkerspelers kan gerus na rugbyspelers gaan en leer hoe om met trots en passie te speel. Miskien neem hulle hul naam te letterlik op en dink hulle moet soos Bafana speel.

• 61.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Die Valk dink hy’s iemand trots of hoe? Hy’s net n onoselike jannie kannie kla nie. Groot kop boerman wat dink hy’s iets besondered slim of iets. Die Ikey’s het amper die boertjies in hul moue geklop en die ou trotse platteland se klong dink hy ken meer as wat hy eintlik werd is.

• 62.charo: Reply to this comment

@Die_Valk:

dik dom post that.
    your world famous maties scraped home by the skin of their teeth.
    if you can’t admit that, you are nothing but a dooooooooos!

• 63.Villegas: Reply to this comment

Speak english you dom dutch rock spider!!

• 64.Robzim: Reply to this comment

It was a great match – played in good spirit – a fantastic advert for rugby.

WELL DONE MATIES – they took their chances and deserved the win – no use to cry about what could have been.

UCT showed great spirit and a never say die attitude – well done to them too. Hope they can come second on the league and that we can have the 2 teams play in the final again.

And Skoppy, that boerseuns story is a lot of nonsense – there are a number of English players in the Matie team as well, including the man of the match Mathew Prior.

• 65.charo: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

rob, i think skoppie was reacting to the falcon’s kak post

• 66.katman: Reply to this comment

Go UNISA!

• 67.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@charo:

Man, I am sensitive when people talk about that place. Lots of memories.

I am surprised that you manage to see the game on TV?

• 68.charo: Reply to this comment

@katman:

haha – obviously your missus is still away?

• 69.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

so does Matthew and son get to wear the pink nappy next week?
    There’s a cross over of culture from both sides now from up and down and still somehow, you get boertjies playing for Ikey’s and engelses playing for Maties, and Musselmans playing for Ikey’s and kaapse klopse playing for Maties, so nobody quite knows quite who’s in which zoo no more.

• 70.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@charo: Don’t care what post he was reacting to, no need to reply in such a childish and insulting way. The best way to deal with immature posts is just to ignore them completely.
    Can’t we all just agree to leave race and culture out of rugby discussions? Or at least when used in an insulting way?

• 71.Partizan: Reply to this comment

What katman, first you slate Pretoria and then you support them.

• 72.katman: Reply to this comment

@charo: No, I’m actually working. Need to finish radio scripts for tomorrow morning, but I’m stuck in a dead end.

• 73.katman: Reply to this comment

@Partizan: UNISA is bigger than Pretoria. It’s bigger than Pretoria and Midrand together. And besides, UNISA is on the way out of Pretoria.

• 74.katman: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: There’s only one Mr T though. And I pity the fool who tackles him.

• 75.charo: Reply to this comment

@katman:

get those creative juices flowing boet

@Robzim:

i am also sensitive about ikeys/maties intervarsities from the days when doc craven had so much influence.

we get full dstv here, hd pvr’s the lot. there’s nothing that you get that we can’t get.

downside is the place is crawling with saffas from dstv, mnet, game, shoprite, stanbic, woolworths, anglo, goldfields and the rest

• 76.katman: Reply to this comment

Those pink shorts were dreamed up by a drunk Rag committee, I’m sure. Charity or no charity, they do fckall for the wearer’s cred. Looks like something from a stag night.

• 77.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Ja its enough to make you play kak just so you don’t have to stick out like a sore thumb wearing those pink panty’s just in case you perchance get to earn m.o.m. status.

• 78.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@charo:

OK, that’s great, so u are really organised over there.

Yip, Doc was one of a kind, whether one liked him or not, as a rugbyman he was arguably the greatest we (or even the world) ever had.
    Flipping wise old toppie gewees.
    Rude too.

• 79.katman: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: Alternatively, everyone but the m.o.m. should wear them. There’s an incentive.

• 80.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet:

The UCT no 8 tried very hard to hold on to the pink shorts that he has been wearing for a few matches.
    Damn good player.

• 81.katman: Reply to this comment

Can’t believe some of those blonde Maties chicks in the stands were at university. Studying what?

• 82.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@katman:

BA manvang – it has always been like that.

• 83.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

Wow, glad to see that you guys are still as racist as ever. I only said that it does not matter how they won, because as in any game it’s the scoreboard that matters. Of course they scraped home, I never denied that. And just because I typed in my mother-tongue does not mean I am talking only about my race you immature, cultureless *****. I meant all rugby-players.

• 84.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

now thats good thinking, everyone wears pink panty’s except m.o.m, tackle count and meters gained will escalate exponentially, everyone will become Heindrich Brussow’s by next game.

• 85.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet:

The UCT flyhalf had quite a good match – pity he kicked so badly to the posts – to me he looks like a much better distributor and playmaker as a certain Mr Grant for example :)

• 86.katman: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: I guess some of them even graduate *** lauder.

• 87.katman: Reply to this comment

Cheers all.

Go UNISA!

>^..^<

• 88.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@katman:

See u.

• 89.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Three tries to two? The Ikeys wuz robbed!

• 90.whatever: Reply to this comment

Bugger!

• 91.Springbokvel: Reply to this comment

IKEYS were the better team on the day but made too many mistakes. The cape flats okes in the Matie backline must learn to tackle.

• 92.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler:
    @Springbokvel:

Yeah, “robbed” by their own bad handling and pathetic kicking for the posts.

Last year it was the wind, the previous year their captain’s girlfriend had a sore tooth, the previous year……..

Next time they will lose again, the excuse will hopefully be original.

• 93.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Are the ALL players from both teams really academically eligeble?
    Or is Varsity rugby in SA fast becoming like the college footbal in the US?
    I have my doubts last few years, rumors are that many are actually rugby academies’ rejected?

• 94.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

& Chelsey won!

• 95.billy: Reply to this comment

Brilliant game. Was amazed at the spirit of the game. Well done to both teams.

• 96.dirt-tracker: Reply to this comment

92 Hondo: FYI, the NCAA in the US has super strict rules on playing College football. you HAVE to have an avg GPA of 2.5 (thats about a 50% student), with a set minimum class attendance. I tell you what, they are MUCH more strict on academics than in SA. Your GPA drops below 2.5 and you can’t play. In SA, you can flunk everything, enroll again next year and keep on playing

• 97.Polyeidos: Reply to this comment

Maties, thats it boys!

• 98.clauds: Reply to this comment

@RedLion: His weight has got nothing to do with him catching the ball or not – thats how much you know about rugby!!! So why dont you keep your stupid comments to yourself. And just for your info the player is not fat – If you trained 7 days a week for 5 months you cant exactly be fat now can you????? OH suppose that would just be to obvious for you to work out. You just got to love those people who sit on the couch and shout the odds!

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.