Tahs crush lousy Lions
12 Mar 2010
The Lions delivered another poor defensive display as Drew Mitchell scored four tries in the Waratahs’ 73-12 win in Sydney.
This fixture was talked about as the Lions’ best chance of victory, even though they had never beaten the Tahs in Sydney. That hope was short-lived, however, as after just 32 minutes, the hosts wrapped up the bonus point. The Lions have now conceded 29 tries in the tournament, which tells the story of a shocking start to the season.
The Tahs were under pressure from their supporters and the Australian media, but their fans had plenty to cheer about as they crossed the line 11 times.
Carlos Spencer gifted the Tahs their first two tries, the first when the Lions won a turnover but opted to run from deep. This is the approach coach Dick Muir loves to see, but it cost the Lions as the Tahs won the ball back, and from an ensuing penalty, Drew Mitchell tapped and dived over the line. Earlier in the move, Tonderai Chavhanga had also rushed out of the defensive line handing the Tahs the momentum.
The Waratahs winger went from hero to villain momentarily as a mistake behind his own goal-line gifted Chavhanga a score. The Tahs led 7-5 after seven minutes, but then Spencer was again at his worst. His kick was charged and gathered by Dean Mumm who cantered over with the cover defence non-existent.
The Lions’ defence was typically porous as they missed 12 tackles inside 25 minutes. The Tahs were hardly made to work as the Lions handed another Australasian team a bonus point – the third time they’ve conceded five log points in 2010.
Tom Carter crashed over before Wandile Mjekevu’s mistake (which was similar to Mitchell’s) saw Lachie Turner claim the fourth try.
The Lions were intent on running, but clearly lacked confidence, as Spencer and Earl Rose hacked away possession aimlessly. The Tahs were buoyed by the visitors’ mistakes and looked to counter from deep, and Berrick Barnes also drove the Lions back with some lengthy touch-finders.
Muir finally lost patience with his halfbacks as JP Joubert and Spencer were replaced by Jano Vermaak and Burton Francis at half-time. The latter pair didn’t lack effort, but without the platform from their pack, they battled to make an impact.
The Lions have successfully brought other teams, such as the Brumbies, down to their level, but the Tahs kept their structure and scored a further six tries in the second half. The Lions opted to run everything in the final 40, and Mitchell capitalised from their numerous errors to complete a personal tally of four tries.
Muir will undoubtedly find ‘positives’ in this display, but the Lions are going nowhere slowly. The seven-time champions Crusaders lie in wait, and if the Lions’ woeful defence continues, they can expect another hiding.
By Grant Ball

620 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 » Show All
12 Mar 2010, 17:44 pm
Hmmmm….I wonder how it will go down if some Freedom Front ou starts chanting “Let’s kill the blacks,they are rapists..!”..?
12 Mar 2010, 18:08 pm
@Hondo, you sure are full of it. Benjamin does not even play int he Lions team…he busy running around the Sevens circuit you Racist!…what? we all look the same? Tired of your ish!
12 Mar 2010, 18:17 pm
Like my new nickname?
12 Mar 2010, 18:19 pm
@Grrrr….I used to be a Lion!: Fitting
12 Mar 2010, 18:30 pm
@Storm outta hell:
Seriously, I’m done. People can call me a ‘fair weather supporter’ but I have given the Lions my support since I was 6, that is 26 years of my life supporting them but no more…
I will now support the Province where I live and where I go to watch my Rugby every so often. Newlands.
I have not been to Ellis Park in over 15 years and since this team is hell bent on giving me an ulcer I’m just going to turn my back on them.
It makes me sad but really, 11 years of misery, going from one disaster to the next is long enough and it is time for a change.
From now on I’m a Stormer fan. Finish en klaar… I will still decide what I will be doing with the Lions kit hanging in my closet since I’m to embarrassed to wear it in public any more.
My nick will stay that until the end of the Super14 season and then it will change to something closer to my new team.
Sorry Lions, but today was the last straw. Good luck and good bye….
12 Mar 2010, 18:33 pm
@Storm outta hell: hey, Blouste has tipped the Canes to win by 4 anyways?
12 Mar 2010, 18:37 pm
@Grrrr….I used to be a Lion!: You’re most welcome to join us where there is plenty of gees,but we’ve also had our fair share of troubled times.
but they seem to have lost the plot.
Lions certainly seem to keep their best performances for the Stormers
They just made the ‘Tahs look so good,but soft tries every last one of ‘em…welcome to Newlands and may you become one of the faithful and enjoy celebrating some good wins..!!
12 Mar 2010, 18:38 pm
where is grant10?
been very quiet
12 Mar 2010, 18:39 pm
@poppa69: He’s a non-believer,when he asked my opinion I said Stormers by 13…I hope it costs him
12 Mar 2010, 18:40 pm
@Grrrr….I used to be a Lion!: Rather become a Bull at least support a winning team. What have the Stormers achieved in the Super 14. You have a fresh slate choose wisely. Not from one looser team to another
12 Mar 2010, 18:40 pm
@Seven: Grant is very low on the superbru standings,I’m sure he’ll resurface when he has a more respectable score
12 Mar 2010, 18:43 pm
@Grrrr….I used to be a Lion!: How ’bout telling us what yr nic used to be so we know who we’re blogging with..?
12 Mar 2010, 18:43 pm
@Storm outta hell: I agree I think Stormers by at least 7. Lets kill the Canes they are rapists
12 Mar 2010, 18:45 pm
@Airwell:
12 Mar 2010, 18:48 pm
@Storm outta hell: I hope JZ stands by me too
12 Mar 2010, 18:51 pm
@Storm outta hell:
The Stormers got their act together, slowly,,,
The financial incentives to perform at the top started at last sinking in, they got rid of Lobbert, Mujati and now they gathered the courage to drop January and Aplon, Dejongh will follow suit soon
Or
Bye bye play offs!
12 Mar 2010, 18:52 pm
@Airwell: JZ will do more than stand by you if you’re a hot mama,he may pull you into his shower
12 Mar 2010, 18:54 pm
@Hondo: Aplon and deJongh have their part to play,but the other 3 are just so much baggage.
12 Mar 2010, 18:57 pm
@Storm outta hell:
It was “Grrrr….I’m a Lion!”
12 Mar 2010, 18:58 pm
@Hondo: It’s a slow process,and the Lions will do well to remember it,they may still pull off an upset or 2…good to see Vermaak back in the mix,and there’s still enough talent to play some good rugga,just got to go back to basics and fire Rose.
12 Mar 2010, 18:59 pm
@Grrrr….I used to be a Lion!: Kewl…now we know
12 Mar 2010, 19:00 pm
@Storm outta hell:
Aplon and DeJongh are good, keen and honest, by no means quota
They are simply too small for the Super14 size, Brent Russell was let go for the same reason
De Jongh impedes the ball from getting to the wings and to JF, he has no skills at 12, he will be dropped soon or the investment in Fourie and Habana is deemed a waste!
Best to play that youngster at 10 and Grant at 12 although Grant did a WELL above average job at 10 so far, I just look at how to make those world class weapons of Hab and JF work
12 Mar 2010, 19:01 pm
@Airwell:
Why? I live in Cape Town now.
So support the team where you live and watch your Rugby.
Besides, you Bull okes smell funny….
12 Mar 2010, 19:09 pm
@Hondo: Agreed…JdV might also be back soon and will most likely get a starting berth… Aplon and deJongh to come on in the last quarter and do devastating stuff with fresh legs
12 Mar 2010, 19:11 pm
@Grrrr….I used to be a Lion!: C’mon bru…paint yr face blue and white and I’ll buy you a beer at Newlands…those Bulls oke’s smell like Bullsh*t..!!
12 Mar 2010, 19:24 pm
Conceding ELEVEN tries? Sounds like the score from an under 14F game at 8am on the school’s worst cabbage-patch field.
12 Mar 2010, 19:25 pm
@Grrrr….I used to be a Lion!: So I would smell funny to you as we have won 2 Super 14 titles in the last 3 years. Stormers and Lions Nada. Support a winning team boet. You are going from one non event to another.
12 Mar 2010, 19:28 pm
‘Carlos Spencer gifted the Tahs their first two tries’
12 Mar 2010, 19:28 pm
going to a 70s themed party… this stuff you old people wore was ridiculous
12 Mar 2010, 19:30 pm
@Storm outta hell: the oke has had such mouth ripping into schalk and everyone else, but he is so blind sided and has the foresight of a new born child up against its mothers back…
schalk had a stormer, long live the boks of 2007 and 2009
12 Mar 2010, 19:31 pm
@Storm outta hell: blue and white? you want him to support the Blues?
12 Mar 2010, 19:34 pm
@poppa69: Another team that lives on past glories. If the Blues were a soccer team the would be called Liverpool
12 Mar 2010, 19:36 pm
@Seven: #456 he’s started his own blog…it’s called turbo-reverse (dot) co (dot) za
12 Mar 2010, 19:37 pm
come on WARRIORS!!!!!!!!!!!!
12 Mar 2010, 19:39 pm
@Airwell: yeah but what past glories, players the calibre of Fitzy, iceman Jones, Dowd, Olo Brown, the Whetton Brothers, the Brooke brothers, Steve McDowall… thems just forwards, add backs the calibre of Bunce and you can see why…
when your bulls finally crash you will relive these couple of great years too… and until your team has 3 super titles
shshhhhhhh
12 Mar 2010, 19:40 pm
man when I get hone I am going to see the highlights of this to see what happened, I think that this is a good idea … or is it?
12 Mar 2010, 19:45 pm
@poppa69: That team was great no doubt but even with all those players in the AB team they could not win the world cup in 95, what gives with that? We should have 3 at the end of this season btw.
12 Mar 2010, 19:48 pm
@poppa69: Hah…you got me there…I’m so WP I dream in blue and white
12 Mar 2010, 19:51 pm
@Airwell: yeah, but they did then grab the series in SA against the World Champions (96), has a much nicer ring to it… and I believe 95 was karma for SA finally turning the corner a few years earlier… and hey, lets not mention that semi vs France and the subsequent gold timing piece hahaha
not sure youve won it this year yet… still a lot of rugby to be played, and your defence isnt too flash at the moment, though your attack is very very good…
12 Mar 2010, 19:51 pm
@RedLion: Not good…you may burst a blood vessel…rather watch the Bulls and Stormers tomorrow
12 Mar 2010, 19:55 pm
@Storm outta hell: so you dream of the Blues? welcome aboard
@poppa69: Very very good on the highveldt…we’ve yet to see ‘em perform at sea level…kinda levels the playing field
@Grrrr….I used to be a Lion!:
Not a WP supporter for more than 8 hours and already giving the Bulls kak.
12 Mar 2010, 19:56 pm
@poppa69: I’m not as one-eyed as I may come across…I support most teams that play good winning rugby..!!
12 Mar 2010, 19:59 pm
@Storm outta hell: me too mate, rugby fan first and foremost, can appreciate and admire other teams and players when they are playing great rugby, but one doesnt have to tell their supporters that
12 Mar 2010, 20:03 pm
@PissAnt:
Hey, don’t you start too!
Been a long time Mr. PissAnt sir.
12 Mar 2010, 20:03 pm
@poppa69: Nah…I hear you there…and I’m quick on attack if anyone says otherwise..!!
12 Mar 2010, 20:08 pm
@Grrrr….I used to be a Lion!: Mr and Sir? not even 8 hours as a stormer fan and you’re already acquiesing to PA
@Storm outta hell: yep me too… very parochial and passionate…
12 Mar 2010, 20:11 pm
I have known PA a long time.
He used to bully me with his astute Rugby brain.
Will be refreshing being on the same side for a change.
12 Mar 2010, 20:12 pm
@poppa69: p and p…they must’ve broke da mold..!!
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 » Show All