Tahs crush lousy Lions

The Lions delivered another poor defensive display as Drew Mitchell scored four tries in the Waratahs’ 73-12 win in Sydney.

This fixture was talked about as the Lions’ best chance of victory, even though they had never beaten the Tahs in Sydney. That hope was short-lived, however, as after just 32 minutes, the hosts wrapped up the bonus point. The Lions have now conceded 29 tries in the tournament, which tells the story of a shocking start to the season.

The Tahs were under pressure from their supporters and the Australian media, but their fans had plenty to cheer about as they crossed the line 11 times.

Carlos Spencer gifted the Tahs their first two tries, the first when the Lions won a turnover but opted to run from deep. This is the approach coach Dick Muir loves to see, but it cost the Lions as the Tahs won the ball back, and from an ensuing penalty, Drew Mitchell tapped and dived over the line. Earlier in the move, Tonderai Chavhanga had also rushed out of the defensive line handing the Tahs the momentum.

The Waratahs winger went from hero to villain momentarily as a mistake behind his own goal-line gifted Chavhanga a score. The Tahs led 7-5 after seven minutes, but then Spencer was again at his worst. His kick was charged and gathered by Dean Mumm who cantered over with the cover defence non-existent.

The Lions’ defence was typically porous as they missed 12 tackles inside 25 minutes. The Tahs were hardly made to work as the Lions handed another Australasian team a bonus point – the third time they’ve conceded five log points in 2010.

Tom Carter crashed over before Wandile Mjekevu’s mistake (which was similar to Mitchell’s) saw Lachie Turner claim the fourth try.

The Lions were intent on running, but clearly lacked confidence, as Spencer and Earl Rose hacked away possession aimlessly. The Tahs were buoyed by the visitors’ mistakes and looked to counter from deep, and Berrick Barnes also drove the Lions back with some lengthy touch-finders.

Muir finally lost patience with his halfbacks as JP Joubert and Spencer were replaced by Jano Vermaak and Burton Francis at half-time. The latter pair didn’t lack effort, but without the platform from their pack, they battled to make an impact.

The Lions have successfully brought other teams, such as the Brumbies, down to their level, but the Tahs kept their structure and scored a further six tries in the second half. The Lions opted to run everything in the final 40, and Mitchell capitalised from their numerous errors to complete a personal tally of four tries.

Muir will undoubtedly find ‘positives’ in this display, but the Lions are going nowhere slowly. The seven-time champions Crusaders lie in wait, and if the Lions’ woeful defence continues, they can expect another hiding.

By Grant Ball

620 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

• 251.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus:

Who’s talking about the Stormers?

This is the Lions thread.

• 252.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus: Save face..??..eat **** dude…it’s ppl like u that make us normal ppl hate the Bulls supporters so…the players not so bad,Victor pretty humble most times…he probably hates such expectant supporters as well imo

• 253.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:

Tacitus is in permanent gloat mode.

• 254.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

to be fair to ER today, that big australian meatmissile was travelling at a fair pace. and he did try manfully. but physics is a cruel heartless *****.

but fair cop on his record, he has flashes of brilliance, and if your team is winning more than losing you can afford such extravagances. but the lions are not in a position to keep paying for the 10 stuff-ups he is making per game vs the one good thing.

and spencer is the ultimate example of that type of player.

slap chips was also a loose cannon but his hit/miss ratio was better, and he played in a good WP team that could cover for his brainfarts.

• 255.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2:

Earl should have weekly tests for cocaine.

• 256.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus: you’re such a blog bully! :D

• 257.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Quiet on the oil front today

Can actually blog a bit.

• 258.Horing: Reply to this comment

@vasteses: Ek dink hierdie **** het meer as viagra nodig voordat hy weer gaan opstaan! Hy is nou al pap vir langer as 10 jaar!

• 259.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

253: Indeed.

• 260.RedLion: Reply to this comment

:cry:

lucky for me I was at work and could not see the slaughter.

• 261.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

Storm outta hell. so by your logic, if a woman driver does something silly in traffic and it annoys you, its ok for you to hate all women?

if you are going to be prejudiced against an entire group of people because of the actions of one or two, at least have the balls not to blame someone else for it.

• 262.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:
    i am absulutely clueless why the Lions dont just play % rugby, they where truely awfull, surely **** must know better and yes they are rebuilding ( thats been happening for the last 10 years). What is Sarfu doing about this even NZ and Aus worst teams are not as bad, As as Saffa i am very disapointed and ashamed at the moment, it is not nice to see any SA team get hammerd like that.

• 263.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: hehehe dawn, he should rather have weekly muscle tests.

there is more meat on a butcher’s pencil than on our Earl.

he has calves like a racehorse.

• 264.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2:

calves what calves.

• 265.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@vasteses:

Ja, look, **** Muir is a mystery, wrapped in a riddle, enclosed in an enigma…You get my drift.

The guy has 10 odd years of coaching behind him which has proved that his “expansive game” doesn’t produce results.

Why does he not listen to his brain, which is urgently shouting at him all the time to get a clue?

• 266.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@vasteses:

Hy kannie kla oor kuite nie, want hy het nie!

• 267.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Horing:

ek dink nie die verloor moet voor **** se deur gelê word nie, alhoewel hy die ” game plan” roep moet dit nog uitgevoer word. en verdediging asook hantering ” comitment ” lê by die spelers.

• 268.gunther: Reply to this comment

Stormer from hell

Wind your neck in there pal..

• 269.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

Earl Rose has the calves of a racehorse people!!

(go look a photo of a horse)

• 270.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus:

Die dag toe die Lions vir die Rose boeties koop, het vir Swaer Willem gesê nou het julle K@k droog gemaak, want net Pieter- Helium- divvy, en sy bok afrigter gabbas dink hy kan rugby speel sonner kuite. Die Lions club rugby strek van vd bijl park tot Delmas ek dink. daar moet n beter heelagter wees.

• 271.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: talk about “permanent gloat mode”…it’s good to see him in his element, telling all these other south african the seek success vicariously through his beloved blue bulls where to get off. I’m sure storm into hell has no illusions about what Tac thinks about his team.

Then you get all the morosed sharks fans doing cartwheels just because the blue bulls are doing well :roll: , crazy i tell you…

• 272.vasteses: Reply to this comment

O ja en Swaer Willem het saam gestem, en hy kennie Leeus.

• 273.Staal: Reply to this comment

ek’s honger!

Cheers.

• 274.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@vasteses:

hell man die Heelagter van my seun se 0/15 span van Outeniqua is beter

• 275.bananas: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus: I have said time and again how cr*p **** is and it is being proven week in week out for all to see!
    Our vaunted Bok front row is getting its arse handed to it week in week out as well. Any comparisons people ?

F*ck me but how bad does it get before this guy is sacked ? How the hell did **** get the job over HM … based on what ??

I saw a part of the Lions game in the gym at lunch and it go me so angry i actually shifted some serious iron. So thanks ****, the tahs must be saying the same thing you useless twat.

ps I am not even a Lions supporter.

• 276.katman: Reply to this comment

What is a man in my position supposed to do? Like a boxer that just won’t go down, I have to keep on coming out of that corner only to be beaten to a pulp. Round after round after round. And this fight could carry on forever. Maybe it would be better if someone – Hoskins, Cheeky, IRB, SANZAR, God, Zuma… anyone – decided on our fate and put us out of our misery.

Having said that, I pity the Griffons, Valke and Bulldogs next year. My team will have a lot of anger and disappointment to deal with.

• 277.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bananas: dude, calm down, it’s only super14…if it was the Boks i’d understand…the lions have been this k@k for year now really…no need to see red… :D

• 278.Jozi: Reply to this comment

Very Dissappointed with this result.

I have two messages for Earl the Pearl and the rest of the Lions……..

“Achievement seems to be connected with action.Successful men and women keep moving.They make mistakes, but they don’t quit.” Conrad Hilton

“Champions aren’t made in gyms. Champions are made from something they have deep inside them a desire, a dream, a vision. They have to have the skill and the will. But the will must be stronger than the skill.”
    Muhammad Ali

Go you good things! This wheel will turn…..just hang in there.

• 279.Transformation: Reply to this comment

for years…

• 280.gunther: Reply to this comment

Katman

What other option is open to you?

Clearly you can’t start supporting the stormers..

Hurricanes maybe?

• 281.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Jozi: hola sbali, zithini?

Hayi mfethu, zimb’ indaba daar kulama-lions yessus…do those guys even train eintlik?

Hang in the ntanga…the lions have just been “jub jub-ed” by the Tahs

• 282.katman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: That’s not funny.

• 283.Jozi: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: #279 yeah tell me about it. Look there isn’t much to hold onto except the hope that one day things will get better and I think that day is very close.

• 284.gunther: Reply to this comment

Transie

Lmao

Has jub jub received police protection?

Apparently there are a few locals who would like to get their hands on him..

• 285.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther: What, and join “certain sectors” of the Western Cape community? You must be smoking Tik.

• 286.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: I totally support the Bulls/Boks…especially when they’re doing well..it’s the Blinkered,Bloubal Buffoon supporters that are a bitter pill to swallow…

• 287.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

That was utterly shameful. Another 70 points past the Lions. Its time to close shop sorry to say. Getting embarrassing how at least one Saffer team remains as a the whipping boys of the S14. Not one really kak Aus team this year and out of the Kiwis, only the Highlanders are the weakest and even they are capable of hitting the straps now and then.

Its time to admit that the standard of Lions rugby is way below S14 level. Personally I think there should be only 4 SA teams which means there would be a larger player base for each of those unions and they can focus on building up their teams to be as strong as possible. At the end of the day competitive SA teams ulitmately benefits the Boks. There is no coincidence that the ABs excel when their provincial teams are on form. Of the two years SA won the S14 the Boks had a strong showing. Its about time Saru got the provincial coaches to tow the line a bit more and contribute to strengthening the Boks and by that I’m referring player development and not playing the Boks into the ground. A good example is clueless Plumtree who insists on playing Odwa all the time rather than giving game time to Movo or Vulindlu who are the future. Won’t be long before they’re packing up along with Pienaar, Kockett and the Du Plessis thugs. Things just can’t carry on like this.

• 288.Jozi: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: #281 Hola Ngwenya ngwenya…..I have faith my man……we took a massive one in the naught today but this is all part of the learning curve.

The okes are fit it’s just the experience and that famous saffa phrase “structure” that is lacking. It looks like the wooden spoon beckons yet again but watch this team grow, just you watch.

• 289.Horing: Reply to this comment

@vasteses: Ek stem saam, mens kan nie al die skuld op **** Muir pak nie.
    Ek dink hy het gehoop hy kan die Leeus omkeer soos wat hy met die Sharks gedoen het. Maar ek dink sy taak is bietjie moeiliker as wat hy verwag het. Kanse is goed die dag as hy loop by die Leeus dat sy reputasie slegter gaan wees as toe hy daar begin het.

• 290.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@bananas: Boet it can’t get any worse than Plumtree, officially the worst S14 coach in recent years. At least Muir got us to the S14 final.

• 291.gunther: Reply to this comment

Katman

I only smoke the Transkei

And besides new Zealand jerseys give me a rash, it must be something in the fabric..

• 292.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Lions are dogsh*t.period

Muir should find a settled 15 at present and stick to it.And secondly in off season look to strengthen squad especially at lock,hooker,outside centre.

Also need to invest in a slim modern-day fitting kit.Whoever designs that piece of sh*t they wear yr after yr needs to be fired.Makes them look even more unproffessional and an extension of the Brakpan XV.Bloody ridiculous.

Players available throughout SA:

Hooker:
    Hanyani Shimange
    Deon Fourie
    Bandise Maku
    Frankie Horne
    Rallapelle

Lock:

Danie Rossouw(emergence of Flip vd Merwe at Bulls)
    W.Steenkamp(esp with J.Kruger coming back)
    Francois vd Merwe

Flanks:

Ashley Johnson
    Pieter Myburgh
    Pieter Louw

Scrummies:

Sarel Pretorius
    Charl Mcleod

Centres:

Juan de Jongh(esp with return of DeVilliers)
    Waylon Murray

Wings:
    Trompie Nontshinga
    Bjorn Basson

Lions possible XV if they buy well and select from within smartly.Whilst changing administration

1.Heinke
    2.Rallapele
    3.Buys
    4.Danie Rossouw
    5.W.Steenkamp
    6.van Deventer
    7.Clever
    8.Johnson

9.Vermaak
    10.Francis/Rose
    11.Basson
    12.Walter Venter
    13.Juan de Jongh
    14.Chavanga
    15.Hollenbach

• 293.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation:

“Hang in the ntanga”

Where’s the ntanga?

• 294.Jozi: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Hehehehe….chill Dawnie

It’s not the Tanga that Trans is talking about….

“Ntanga” means chap.

• 295.chch – welcome back Carter: Reply to this comment

are the Sharks, Lions, Waratahs and Bulls the only sides to have conceded 70 points in a game?

• 296.chch – welcome back Carter: Reply to this comment

Highlanders have also conceded 70

• 297.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Jozi:

OK so it should be “Hang in THERE ntanga!”

• 298.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Hayi. Kude e-Bakuba, akuyiwanga mntu.

• 299.chch – welcome back Carter: Reply to this comment

The Cheetahs are the only SA side not to have conceded more than 70 points in a game

• 300.chch – welcome back Carter: Reply to this comment

No NZ side has conceded more than 70 points

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.