Tahs crush lousy Lions
12 Mar 2010
The Lions delivered another poor defensive display as Drew Mitchell scored four tries in the Waratahs’ 73-12 win in Sydney.
This fixture was talked about as the Lions’ best chance of victory, even though they had never beaten the Tahs in Sydney. That hope was short-lived, however, as after just 32 minutes, the hosts wrapped up the bonus point. The Lions have now conceded 29 tries in the tournament, which tells the story of a shocking start to the season.
The Tahs were under pressure from their supporters and the Australian media, but their fans had plenty to cheer about as they crossed the line 11 times.
Carlos Spencer gifted the Tahs their first two tries, the first when the Lions won a turnover but opted to run from deep. This is the approach coach Dick Muir loves to see, but it cost the Lions as the Tahs won the ball back, and from an ensuing penalty, Drew Mitchell tapped and dived over the line. Earlier in the move, Tonderai Chavhanga had also rushed out of the defensive line handing the Tahs the momentum.
The Waratahs winger went from hero to villain momentarily as a mistake behind his own goal-line gifted Chavhanga a score. The Tahs led 7-5 after seven minutes, but then Spencer was again at his worst. His kick was charged and gathered by Dean Mumm who cantered over with the cover defence non-existent.
The Lions’ defence was typically porous as they missed 12 tackles inside 25 minutes. The Tahs were hardly made to work as the Lions handed another Australasian team a bonus point – the third time they’ve conceded five log points in 2010.
Tom Carter crashed over before Wandile Mjekevu’s mistake (which was similar to Mitchell’s) saw Lachie Turner claim the fourth try.
The Lions were intent on running, but clearly lacked confidence, as Spencer and Earl Rose hacked away possession aimlessly. The Tahs were buoyed by the visitors’ mistakes and looked to counter from deep, and Berrick Barnes also drove the Lions back with some lengthy touch-finders.
Muir finally lost patience with his halfbacks as JP Joubert and Spencer were replaced by Jano Vermaak and Burton Francis at half-time. The latter pair didn’t lack effort, but without the platform from their pack, they battled to make an impact.
The Lions have successfully brought other teams, such as the Brumbies, down to their level, but the Tahs kept their structure and scored a further six tries in the second half. The Lions opted to run everything in the final 40, and Mitchell capitalised from their numerous errors to complete a personal tally of four tries.
Muir will undoubtedly find ‘positives’ in this display, but the Lions are going nowhere slowly. The seven-time champions Crusaders lie in wait, and if the Lions’ woeful defence continues, they can expect another hiding.
By Grant Ball

620 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 » Show All
12 Mar 2010, 15:16 pm
If they wanted discipline and structured rugby then why did they hire the Show Pony?
It seems it was because he was available and not because he was a good fit
12 Mar 2010, 15:17 pm
@Gonzo Journalism:
12 Mar 2010, 15:17 pm
@Transformation: And they walk and breath among us !!!!
12 Mar 2010, 15:18 pm
I have to appologise to Rose for always saying that he is inconsistent. I was wrong! He he consistently ****! As long as him and Spencer are in the team, they will keep on losing, and rightly so.
@Transformation:
He is the problem.
@Transformation:
Ubukulu abubangwa.
Julius? Eish. Akuko mpukane inqakulela enye.
Ilizwe lifile.
12 Mar 2010, 15:19 pm
@PissAnt:
Agreed
There are also to many ‘chancers’ in the union .. **** being one of them.
I can honestly say, that as a Lions supporter, I don’t know how much more I can take of this ****.
What really makes me angry is that they had a chance to become more professional by getting HM in, but they wasted the chance, and it won’t come again.
12 Mar 2010, 15:20 pm
@Gonzo Journalism: The poor oke is joining the Lions later this year. From Bulls to Sarecens to Lions. Next move would be retirement.
@chch – welcome back Carter:
Awright awright.
We all know Carlos was a mistake.
The Lions buggered my super-bru stats again! I had the Tahs by 12, not bleddy 61! At least my Saders score was spot=on! Saders by 7! My 3rd one this season.
Actually right.
Maybe you should invest in a rugby almanac or a Nintendo DS and get your brain age back down to 99.
Gavin Lawless scored 50 points in the Sharks win over the Highlanders with a score of 75-43 in the 1996 SUPER 12.
Deny it all you want, but it’s true.
12 Mar 2010, 15:21 pm
Gonzo
Relax bud julius is a distraction put there to divert your attention whilst the government gently
fcuks the rest of the country in the pie hole ..
The lions however.. now that’s a real problem..
12 Mar 2010, 15:22 pm
@Johan Fourie: what name are you under on suuperbru Johan?
12 Mar 2010, 15:22 pm
Something is seriously wrong with the Lions. I am working in joburg CBD and I saw Bulls, Stormers and Sharks jerseys around me today, but not a single Lions jersey. This while they are the only SA team playing today. I am sure this will not be the case in Pretoria, Capetown, Bloem or Durban.
12 Mar 2010, 15:23 pm
@gunther:
Yes, the ANC is very good with distraction tactics!
12 Mar 2010, 15:25 pm
@gunther:
Do you know you must click on the grey box to respond to a comment?
12 Mar 2010, 15:27 pm
@Jozi:
Uska wara ndoda at least your team is in the super 14, I’ll be watching EP vs WP tomorrow. I’m looking forward to the clash between Mxunyelwa and Nodikida.
12 Mar 2010, 15:27 pm
Wptid
Yes there was a whole semmester on it at Lubyanka university..
12 Mar 2010, 15:28 pm
@GAStman:
BUZZ WRONG
That was against Otago (before we had super regions in NZ so just an NPC side).
The Highlanders covers all of the lower half of the South Island which includes Div 1 sides Southland and Otago.
12 Mar 2010, 15:29 pm
@Dawn: My guess is he only ticks the Blue boxes
@gunther:
Yes, comrade.
They learnt from the best, the Soviets…whose population was kept blissfully unaware of the outside world and thought they lived in the best country in the world
I prefer my way it’s more personal..
Did you know penguins mate for life?
Useless Lions!
Luckily I found out my wife is pregnant so I have a escape clause.
No way am I going to be that cruel to get my kid to become a Lion supporter like my dad did. Nope, after all these years I will be one of the last rats to jump this sinking ship….
Have said it for a few years now but maybe it is time to call it a day on this team.
Every year we get the promises and every year it is the same result.
The Lions should make way for another team. Let the Spears have a go. They can’t be worse than the Lions….
12 Mar 2010, 15:30 pm
Storm Outta Hell: Julie Boy doesn’t speak on bahalf of the masses although some times he pretends to do just that. He’s a doos that is being used by the politicos to peddle their agenda…..I seriously wouldn’t get all wound up by him.
12 Mar 2010, 15:30 pm
@Storm outta hell:
He’s probably blogging on a phone – the “Reply to” option is not available on the mobile site.
12 Mar 2010, 15:31 pm
Stop with your buzz ****.
Otago was a super rugby side. Finish and klaar.
12 Mar 2010, 15:32 pm
Sorry. I am wrong.
You were talking about Natel and not the Sharks
I did not check them. You are correct
@gunther:
So what if penguins mate for life?
@poppa69: Hey Poppa. The same, Johan Fourie. You?
12 Mar 2010, 15:33 pm
Wrong, the Highlanders franchise formed in 1996.
Originally named the Otago Highlanders, the Highlanders’ franchise area encompassed the lower South Island of New Zealand, and was formed from the North Otago, Otago, and Southland provincial rugby unions.
The 1996 team was captained by John Leslie and coached by Gordon Hunter.
The game in question above was in 1997.
12 Mar 2010, 15:33 pm
@Johan Fourie:
Try “69-year-old granddad”
12 Mar 2010, 15:34 pm
I am here and I am reading all the words from all the anti-lions here.
Go on…
@Johan Fourie: the same name mate… you not in Keo Muppits group? wrenlest is the poolcode if you want to join… didnt see your name there is all
@Grrrr….I’m a Lion!: Yeah, the Spears/Kings under Solomons sounds better than this farcical lions team.
Wptid
Where is g13 gerbil I feel an animal farm moment coming on!
12 Mar 2010, 15:36 pm
@RedLion:
The only anti I’m seeing is from Lions supporters.
Your point?
12 Mar 2010, 15:37 pm
@gunther:
I’m pleasantly surprised to see that you have read Animal Farm!
12 Mar 2010, 15:37 pm
@mxhosa: #366 At this rate we might well be relegated to that league…..
It would be good to see a strong team from the EP.
Lots of raw talent there, I believe Mjekevu is from EP.
12 Mar 2010, 15:38 pm
@PissAnt:
I got the year wrong as I only looked at Sharks results and not Natel (because on the previous page someone said it was the Sharks)
The Otago Highlanders are not the same as Otago though as Dawn states.
12 Mar 2010, 15:39 pm
@RedLion:
I’m not a anti-Lion mate but there is a time when we all must face reality….
1999 was the last time the Lions won ANYTHING!!
Eleven @#$%ing years this BS has been going on and a lot of supporters have stuck with them, including me but enough is enough.
They don’t even look like they want to improve…
Time to wake up, give Fanta Park to the Nigerians and send the players to the Bulls.
Those 13 people that pitch up at the Stadium every week can drive to Pretoria for a game of Rugby rather and it will stop more money being wasted.
12 Mar 2010, 15:39 pm
@Dawn: that’s why they are anti-lions luv
12 Mar 2010, 15:41 pm
Bring on the Spears and DROP the USELESS Lions. Truly they could not do worse than this bunch of fools?
12 Mar 2010, 15:42 pm
@gunther:
Hehehehehe. I miss the old sloshed security guard immensely.
One of the most sincere bloggers here on Keo, ever.
12 Mar 2010, 15:42 pm
Shot.
12 Mar 2010, 15:43 pm
Bite me.
And it’s NATAL not NATEL.
12 Mar 2010, 15:44 pm
No. Seriously.
Bite me!
12 Mar 2010, 15:44 pm
@poppa69: Who is in that group? I just got assigned a group, but we are doing well. I’m 2nd in our group, 76%. Will check it out.
12 Mar 2010, 15:46 pm
@Jozi:
I was just in Varsity Cup site, couldn’t believe the number of players that come from the EP/Border region, that’s why the Madibaz are the Lions of the Varsity Cup.
In a perfect world this team would be running for the Kings next year:
15. Tiger Mangweni; 14. Trompie Nontshinga; 13. Luzuko Vulindlu; 12. Tim Whitehead; 11. Michael Killian; 10. Lionel Cronje; 9. Rory Kockott; 8. Dewald Potgieter; 7. Luke Watson; 6. Mpho Mbiyozo; 5. Nikolia Blignaut; 4. Rory Duncan; 3. Ross Geldenhuys; 2. Bandise Maku; 1. Pumlani Nodikida
12 Mar 2010, 15:47 pm
@Johan Fourie: lots of people from this blog, but if you are doing so well perhaps you shouldnt join
12 Mar 2010, 15:49 pm
@Johan Fourie: 76% will put you about 30th with the muppits
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 » Show All