Kolkata belt Bangalore

Fifties from Manoj Tiwary and Brad Hodge led the Kolkata Knight Riders to a seven-wicket win over the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The Royal Challengers made a paltry 135-7 after Angelo Mathews’ devastating 4-19. It was never going to be enough and Kolkata’s top order cruised to the total in the final over after an early dash.

Eden Gardens came to life in the third over as Tiwary and Hodge pushed Kolkata into ascendency. The next three overs saw a dynamic display of destructive stroke-play: Jacques Kallis, Dale Steyn, then Anil Kumble pasted to all corners of the ground.

The opening pair’s 101-run stand ultimately put the game out of Bangalore’s reach. A spell of measured bowling led by Roelof van de Merwe (who claimed both openers’ scalps) delayed, but could not prevent a Kolkata victory.

Dale Steyn was once again expensive, conceding 38 runs in four overs; the transition from Test tyranny to T20 triumph still eluding him.

Bangalore were disappointing with bat and ball, Kallis the only shining light amid an otherwise dim display, hitting his way to an unbeaten 65 but failing with the ball, conceding 34 from three overs.

Kolkata dominated from start till finish and thoroughly deserved the win that leaves them unbeaten after two rounds and the early IPL frontrunners.

Bangalore 135-7 (20 overs)
Jacques Kallis 65*, Rahul Dravid 21, Angelo Mathews 4-19
Kolkata 136-3 (19.2 overs)
Manoj Tiwary 50, Brad Hodge 50, Roelof van de Merwe 2-27

Kolkata won by 7 wickets

Click here for the full scorecard.