Fourie’s potent energy

Jaque Fourie has sparked the Stormers back to life.

Click here to subscribe

In the new issue of SA Rugby magazine, former Bok technical adviser Eddie Jones and Stormers backline coach Robbie Fleck analyse Fourie’s game and explain why he – and not the headline-hogging Bryan Habana – is the key to the Stormers’ success this year.

‘Jaque is a fantastic runner off the ball, which means he will pick a line and identify space where at first there doesn’t seem to be any,’ says Fleck. ‘He’s also deceptively quick, so when he hits a hole, he makes it count. He has a good sidestep, but he hardly ever needs it because defenders are beaten by the angle.’

Fourie also talks about his move to the Cape, his dream of winning the Super 14 and Currie Cup, why he hates being rested, and his Springbok ambitions.

– As a white wing, Gerhard van den Heever faces immense obstacles in his quest to earn Springbok selection

Hugh-Reece Edwards on being back at the Shark Tank after a decade in the coaching wilderness

– Former Springbok prop Balie Swart’s mission to save the scrum

BJ Botha on his imminent return to South Africa from Ulster, the country’s scrum troubles, and winning over referees

Brad Barritt: ‘I want to play for England’

– Italy’s SA-born lock Quintin Geldenhuys on the mixed emotions he felt when facing the Boks, and whether he’ll come back home

Refereeing projects could change the way officials and spectators see the game

– From being named IRB U19 Player of the Year to having open heart surgery to save his life, the progression of Crusaders centre Robert Fruean through the rugby ranks has been anything but normal

Justin Harrison was banned for eight months after taking cocaine with his Bath team-mates last year, but the Brumbies have given him an opportunity to make amends

– While a rare neurological disorder has put Andre Venter in a wheelchair, the former Springbok hardman has not lost hope

– PLUS: Jake White on the new law interpretations

138 Comments

• 51.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Put the white winger on the right wing, ‘s what I say.

• 52.wpw: Reply to this comment

@ufo:

Oh jitte.

I noticed that Ashwin Willemse doesn’t seem to like the Sharks!

• 53.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Very kleva :lol:

• 54.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: JP Pieterson,Bryan Habana and Lionel Mapoe will be selected 2010 Bok wings.

• 55.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz:

Shame ja that guy has been the shining light in that Lions backline.

• 56.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:
    @wp_boytjie:

I never mentioned quotas and that’s not the point of my post…

just that as an SA TV commentator I would expect some even handedness towards all SA teams… this whole season… whenever asked about the Stormers he never has anything positive to say and latches onto any arb thing to slam them in a very sarcastic sorta way…

• 57.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz:

Excellent! Another Doppies fan.

• 58.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts:

Yep.

I think Simon should give me a job.

Sub-editor.

• 59.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Met Eish ja! Met eish.

• 60.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Yeah would be refreshing reading me thinks!

• 61.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@ufo:

Well Owen Nkumane is there for one reason and one reason only man , that’s why i dont take him seriously. They must have Garth Wright more often he does good analysis.

• 62.ufo: Reply to this comment

@wpw:

serious WPW…?

I didn’t pick that up… will pay more attention to that next time…

• 63.wpw: Reply to this comment

‘Dawn Le Grange’ has a nice ring to it!! :mrgreen:

• 64.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@ufo: Ag shame..He takes so much stick for the sad Lions that he finds it hard to say anything good about Stormers imo…

• 65.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo: Yes he does. He must be really embarrased to be constantly referred to as an ex springbok around such legends as Naas Botha, John Robbie, Bob Skinstadt et al…….he barely qualifies.

• 66.wpw: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie:

Bro, Owen is not that bad.

Garth Wright is one of the worst imo.

The guy thinks we’re still in the 80′s.

• 67.wpw: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy:

Now for once I agree with you there.

It wasn’t Owen’s fault though that he was used to fill up the numbers.

• 68.ufo: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie:

thing is…I think he makes some good observations and comments… just not when he talks about the Stormers…

@Storm outta hell:

:lol: sure but the Lion’s have been bad for so long you’d think he was used to it… :wink:

• 69.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@wpw: LMAO , i see we shout for the same team ,so agree to disagree , to each his own then

• 70.gunther: Reply to this comment

Transie

Can’t you swap it for a musica voucher!

• 71.Atreides: Reply to this comment

My best this weekend was that nasal twat Stransky…near the end oif the Bulls match, he comes up with “The Highlanders have actually been fantastic, if they hadn’t conceded 21 points they’d be in this game”…had me in stitches…yea Joel, if they hadn’t lost, they would have won…brilliant deduction!

• 72.gunther: Reply to this comment

Wpw

Was carel du plessis an ordinary wing?

What about James Small?

So no white player can be a good wing..

Isn’t that like saying black players can’t tackle?

Next you will be telling me white men can’t jump!

• 73.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@ufo: I never took Owen to be the kind of lad who enjoyed a smoke(roll-your-own) with his post toasties.

• 74.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Atreides: Yes and his earlier comment re the semi-naked, big, bellied fan. If he fell over he would be like an insect on its back. That for me was Gold.

• 75.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie: Garth Wright, that guys voice irritates the….. out of me. Please never never, he’s worse than Joost.

• 76.wpw: Reply to this comment

@gunther:

I love catching FFEESSSSSSHHHHH!!! :lol:

• 77.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@wpw: F me, you’re not one of those Nigerian scammers?

• 78.wpw: Reply to this comment

@gunther:

Then you didn’t see Woody Harrelson play basketball!! :wink:

• 79.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@wpw: Hey! He can jump.

• 80.Simon: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: That tighthead prop cover you propose would almost certainly not sell well. PS. In the new issue, we have a very technical piece on the scrum – you should read it.

• 81.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

Is it just me or is Joel Stransky a negative pr!ck

I hardly heard him say one decent word while the bulls put 50 on the board……he seems bias “against’ SA teams, WTF is his problem ????

• 82.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz:

He’s my “pin up boy” because I happened to mentioned I watch/support Racing Metro? Kind of childish, if I cared for what team you supported, I too could pick a player and call him your pin up boy.

• 83.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@Gonzo Journalism:

I know, he needs a good flick in the balls.

• 84.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Kea-Cat: These guys are all nasal from the amount of white sh*t they shovel up their nostrils…Darren especially so…it’s amazing that his nose has not collapsed :lol:

• 85.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Gonzo Journalism: Think Stansky is there to temper the bias. Hugh is blatantly Bull so Stansky is there to temper it. Lately he has been saying some funny things. In Oz we have Marto. They are there to spice things up.

Heavens, Marto Queensland Reds fanatic) during the Reds game was caught out so badly. One of the Faiinga twins was yellow carded… Marto asks his fellow commentators to count the Reds players on the field… I think there are only 14 out there.

I kid you not. Kearns and Kafer just about lost it. :D

• 86.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty: Hmmm nup, not a decent looker amongst them. Now I must say Parisse (losing hair too) does it for me ;)

• 87.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

@Gonzo Journalism: Its not just you. Thats why we have committed to pissing on ‘Joels spot’ everytime we go to Ellis Park.

He is a D03S

• 88.wpw: Reply to this comment

@Gonzo Journalism:

I think the problem with Joel is that he hails from Natal!!

:twisted:

• 89.ufo: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES:

me neither…

• 90.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Gonzo Journalism:

gonzo it’s not just you…

he is…!!

• 91.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

@wpw: Problem is Natal don’t want him back, he is serious anti-shark after he left Natal and went to Province. And the Province okes don’t want him either.

He was only good for a dropkick. He should emigrate now.

• 92.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Simon:why simon? Give me reason boet not just arbitrary answers…

@gunther:no way, i enjoy the jake white’s way articles :roll: :D

• 93.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

@wpw:

no mate i **** you not, Joel has an anti shark sentiment too
    I’ve heard him single handedly beat the sharks through his commentary, or so it seemed anyway !!!!

• 94.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

and while we on the subject, old Hugh should be put out to pasture, he is now embarrassing himself these days, he got a voice for horse racing though

• 95.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Gonzo Journalism: Hugh calling the gee gees lmfao. Race on Saturday afternoon… Hugh still calling the tail at 9pm. Yeah right.

• 96.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz: #84, i like Marto!!! He doesn’t mince his words, during the Sharks/Brumbies game, he was ripping into Andy Goode from the 1st whistle! Hahahaha i enjoy the aussie commentators above all, the worst i reckon is that Davies [i think that's who Big Hit said he was] with the squeaky voice who loves Wales…

• 97.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty: flick in the balls….LOL

i think our whole SA commentary need to go thru a phase of rebuilding,

• 98.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz: Y

• 99.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz: Yeah i did hear that, it was damb funny

• 100.wpw: Reply to this comment

The only decent commentators in SA are Bob Skinstad and the Pearce dude!

They are bias towards WP/Stormers but still they are pretty decent.

Not as bias as Joost was when commentating on Bulls matches!!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.