Daniel denies Sharks rift

Keegan Daniel says there’s no in-fighting in the Sharks camp.

With five losses from five starts, the Sharks find themselves in the unfamiliar 12th position on the Super 14 log. Despite the player drain over the last couple of years, the Sharks still have one of the best squads in the tournament as they regularly field over 10 Springboks, but continue to disappoint their fans.

With every loss, the talk of a split between captain John Smit and the Du Plessis brothers Bismarck and Jannie, continues to surface. Bismarck has had to sit on the bench for two games, Jannie has started a couple, while Smit has started all the matches so far.

Daniel predictably backed his team-mates and coach, and said there were no off-field problems, although on the field the trio all look visibly frustrated. They have all been sin-binned throughout the season, while the Du Plessis brothers lambasted replacement scrumhalf Rory Kockott late in the Brumbies match for what they deemed a poor decision to pass to Jannie as the Sharks looked for the winning try.

‘Talk of a split is bullshit,’ Daniel told keo.co.za. ‘Personally, I say there is no rift in the camp. We are the ones here and we know what’s going on. People are just looking for a story and are looking for other reasons for the losses. The mood in the camp is great, we all see how we hang out together and get along.

‘If people think a rift is the reason for losing, then that’s what they must write, but it’s not true.’

Whatever the reason for their poor form, the facts are that the Sharks have lost seven consecutive Super 14 matches and have won just one from their last 10. Most recently they went down to the Brumbies 24-22, the fourth time this season they’ve lost by less than five points.

‘I wouldn’t say confidence is a problem, although anyone will tell you that after five losses it does become harder to pick yourselves up,’ said Daniel. ‘We are positive as we’ve been so close in losing by narrow margins. We’d be having a different conversation right now if we’d won those.

‘But we haven’t been clinical enough in closing out games after being in good positions. Indiscipline again cost us against the Brumbies, as two penalties led to their tries.’

The Sharks’ last victory in the competition came against the Highlanders, who they face on Saturday at Carisbrook. The Landers return from their South African road trip, where they were hammered by the Stormers and Bulls. They will also be jet-lagged after the return journey.

John Plumtree’s charges have also won on their last three visits to the House of Pain, and if they don’t repeat that this year, more questions will be rightfully raised.

‘They say history doesn’t lie and we have been successful there, but we mustn’t take anything for granted,’ said Daniel. ‘We’ll go in with confidence after doing reasonably well, but the Highlanders are still a Super 14 franchise who can play good rugby.’

Meanwhile, centres Adi Jacobs (knee) and Riaan Swanepoel (ankle) are battling to be fit for Saturday’s match, while prop Deon Carstens is also struggling with a knee injury.

By Grant Ball

303 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 101.gunther: Reply to this comment

Bismark vs smit

Scrum
    Bismark average Smit excellent

Lineouts
    Bismark good but doesn’t seem to throw to the back very often which denies us a good attacking opportunity
    Smit better than Bismark

Ball carrier
    Bismark too upright often loses the ball in contact also gets isolated often..
    Smit stronger ball carrier..

Tackling
    Honours even here although Bismark has an uncanny ability to turn ball over so he shades this one..

Discipline
    Do we even have to ask?

Therefore barney sinks bismarks battleship..

In terms of smitties conditioning I think it has been handled appallingly, the guy played more rugby than anybody else last year and is now playing every minute of the super 14..

Pdv needs to grow a pair step in and put barney on a conditioning plan that puts barney in peak condition for the internations..then play him off the wood for the last thirty of the last couple of super 14 games..and if bismark doesn’t like it he can piss off and take his walking penalty of a brother with him..

• 102.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

Apparently there was no deal with Bissie or Smit when Smit returned.
    You can’t guarantee spots or positions. Not for anyone.

Maybe Bissie does feel usurped but that is not the point

If the Dups are being vindictive then it depends whether Smit is being divisive too.

No player, no matter who he is can be allowed to deliberately undermine the team, captain or coach. It just aint acceptable.
    If the Dups are undermining Smit and Smit is keeping his nose clean then the Dups need to be disciplined.
    If Smit is retaliating then Smit needs to be disciplined too.

It is not relevant whether you think that Bissie is better than Smit. The coach values Smit and that’s that. Even if he is wrong you cannot undermine the team. No matter what.

Of course it may all be nonsense

• 103.Bod: Reply to this comment

@cab:

Its actually not even worth debating the topic.

One just needs to analyse the quality of the “those for” bloggers against the “those against” on this site in order to gain a clear understanding of the issue

• 104.grant10: Reply to this comment

@gunther: 100

Yip….

you spot on …..I would of rested Smit for the first 6 games of super 14….strict conditioning programme to get in shape for 2 …..then unleashed a rested and hungry smit.

I cannot believe how poorly Smit has been managed…..bloody disgrace actually.

• 105.Transformation: Reply to this comment

jannie hasn’t recovered from the smash leicester tigers gave them! He has now gone all aggro, starting from that warm up match at newlands, the trip in the tahs match & lastly knocking on & screaming at rory, with bismarck furious in the background slamming the ball on the pitch. These brothers seem to be a law unto themselves…..

• 106.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Biscuit: 101

I also know some stuff ….but not on this forum.

All i am saying deals were made…and broken. That is a fact.

• 107.cab: Reply to this comment

its very simple, when a player starts to strongarm a coach or the team, get rid of him, no-one needs big mouths, these guys will never the real strength of a player like Smit, which is to put the team before himself.

and to be quite honest, rather get some loyal sharks talent in there like Burden who plays like a man possessed coming on the field, rather than some merceneraries, however good they may think they are.

rule no 1 get shot of the bigmouth strongarmers and watch the team turnaround – they will never get rugby’s greatest strength.

• 108.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: The brothers Grimm ;)

• 109.grant10: Reply to this comment

regretfully the dup brothers will leave…..

Bissy will be missed….still a helleva player.

• 110.grant10: Reply to this comment

promises made ….in the heat of the night….

Always burns you down the line…

• 111.Bod: Reply to this comment

@katman:

The excuses keep rolling in. You can fool a lot of people, but you cant fool me…. hell, I even know that you purchased katman jnr a Stormers jumper the other day.

Nows thats going to be sight to behold… snr and jnr together in the Danie Craven stand clothed in their Stormers jumpers

• 112.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@grant10: ..but not worth the disruption…no player is..imo…

• 113.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Bod: :lol:

• 114.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Bissy not worth the current yellow cards and penalties he’s currently giving away.

Let him go mock punch at another franchise

• 115.cab: Reply to this comment

what the sharks and boks need is BJ not Jannie.
    Pay some top dollar for a sharks legend who is still the best scrumming TH in SA and they go back to the top.

• 116.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

Do the DUP brothers really think they are that intimidating? They’re walking penalties; and everybody seems to realise this except them. Bismarck being outplayed by every hooker in the competition, and Jannie never had any real talent to write home about anyways.

• 117.cab: Reply to this comment

i believe the Sharks can turn it around with their current talent, even old Andy Goode is not a bad stopgap measure at all, considering their ill fortune.

But there must be buy in from Bismarck, otherwise let him go back to the FS or wherever the hell he wants to go. The last thing they need is disloyalty at these times. Burden wont make a bad option at all.

• 118.grant10: Reply to this comment

@cab: 114

Hell….we agree….why we been fighting for a year when we agree all along!!

• 119.THAT GUY/DAAI OU: Reply to this comment

Smit back at 2 for the Boks and Sharks and Tiaan Liebenberg 2nd choise 2 for Boks, and drop Bissie from the Bok squad.

• 120.grant10: Reply to this comment

it is plain to see the obvious division in the camp….

My concern is this kak spills over into the Bok arena….

• 121.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

I also know some stuff that is at odds with what you imply.
    They kept Bissie on board and kept him warm.
    It is possible that stuff got said that allowed Bissie to infer a promise.
    Was it really a promise or an intent? Was Smit part of the same discussion?
    W/o knowing *exactly* what got said (and not just Bissies version) how can we really know?

But all irrelevant. Even if a deal is being broken then it is being broken by Plum and not Smit.
    It cannot justify divisive behaviour.

• 122.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Cant see the Sharks doing any better than the last two spots on the log…

Who’s CHOKING now eh Sharks.

• 123.cab: Reply to this comment

@grant10:
    Smit is doing fine at 3, but he probably is a better hooker, however everyone made space for Bismarck because he is rightfully very good, but its bismarck who does not recognise the sacrifice made – i can tell you right now JW would still be picking JS ahead of Bismarck at 2. smit only moved to 3 cos its what seemed to suit the team and that was proven exactly right with the most successful bok year in 2009 since readmission. smit has always said he is willing to play anywhere, including from off the bench if it will help the team (and this is where i think he should be playing or resting up for 2011, since he can cover all frontrow positions and close out games).

• 124.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Biscuit: 120

I accept that it should not be an issue between Smit and Bissy…..but human nature is not prefect….

Bottom line is Bissy feels he is a better 2 than smit

and jannie feels he is a better 3 than smit.

Dup bros believe smit has shafted them bynot leaving / retiring after 2009.
    And also believe that sharks have shafted them by allowing smit a new contract.

What should be a strength has become an unmitigated disaster…..

not sure what will happen going forward….but i hear its irreconcilable…

so that means Dup bros will go….rebels or france….[ toulon ].

Interesting that Hayman also rumoured to be considering Toulon…..

• 125.gunther: Reply to this comment

Promises shmomises

There is no contract in professional sport that guarantees someone a starting place..

If somebody whispered sweet nothings into bismarks ear that’s one thing ..

He is doing himself no favours with this bullsh1t and for somebody who already has a reputation for being difficult he should help himself to a large glass of shutthepfuckup or he might miss the plane to new zealand next year..

• 126.grant10: Reply to this comment

@cab: 123

I disagree with your contention that he is doing fine at 3 cab….sorry but thats simply not true….he is being drilled at 3…i saw the preseason against W Force…he was done at scrum time…same vs Saders and Brumbies….so your contention he is fine at 3 is sentimental and devoid of substance.

As for 2…he can get back into contention…but needs to be managed properly.

I have said ad nauseum that the so called smit fans are his actual worst enemies….playing him out of position and into the ground does his WC 2011 ambitions no good imo.

I am not a smit disciple….but if i was i would have told smit to stand up and say ffs no more self sacrifice!

Time for smit to say its 2 or bust….and then do the hard yards to show he is indeed the best choice.

• 127.cab: Reply to this comment

@grant10:
    its his first season in the position and he is not getting drilled at all. i have never seen any bok scrum stand up as well against andrew sheridan and the BL.

bok rugby has been getting drilled for several seasons now in the scrum. you lot are all shouting for a different young CC TH each week only to see them get drilled by teams in the S14.

your opinion is short sighted and rubbish and if it garners more popular uninformed support you will end up removing one of the cornerstone veterans that are essential to any RWC campaign, much as Os and Percy were for 2007.

• 128.gunther: Reply to this comment

I can guarantee you there is no contract in pro sport that guarantees somebody a starting place..

As for smit promising to retire.. That smacks of accomodation something we are told should not happen to barney..

and as for jannie he is not better than smit at ANYTHING well except for maybe a prostate exam..

• 129.grant10: Reply to this comment

@cab: 125

He is being done in the scrums cab….absolutely done….no doubt at all….everyone acknowledges this…its not a debate anymore. Accept that .

Smit can come back at 2….but needs to make that a target. Right now he is in a sort of twilight zone….not a 2 and never a 3….

No cab….i wont be removing anyone…..smit will be the one doing the removing…..i feel he may call it a day …

But , if not, he has to take responsibility. He needs to say no more being mucked about…..he is the bok skipper after all….

• 130.gunther: Reply to this comment

Furthermore if bismark doesn’t help himself to a large glass of sitdownshuddupandwindyourneckin he may miss the plane to New Zealand next year..

which would be a shame..

• 131.grant10: Reply to this comment

@gunther: it would be a shame…and a massive blow to boks hopes imo.

• 132.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

Massive Smit fan but fok me he’s rubbish prop, plain and simple.

Its a shame really, becaue he’s a brilliant hooker (probs the best scrummaging and throwing hooker we have).

Come on John, lose 10kg and go back to 2.

• 133.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10: was os du randt the best loosehead in the country going into the 2007 world cup?

• 134.grant10: Reply to this comment

@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): yes

My contention all along.

• 135.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: Cant remember boet??

• 136.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): That would put a smile on my face.. :mrgreen:

• 137.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

@cab:

“its his first season in the position and he is not getting drilled at all”

WHAT?????

Did you not watch the EOY tour? Or this year Super 14?

Smit got nailed. The moment he went to 2 we ran with the Irish Scrum, and that’s half because he’s a brilliant scrummager at 2, not just because of BJ.

• 138.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: 131

But with smit at 2 and cj at 3 i was always reasonably confident we wouldnt turbo reverse….not saying we would dominate….but also not getmangled….which was proven twice against the poms.

• 139.gunther: Reply to this comment

Grant

I disagree I can name 10 other players in the bok side whose loss would be a bigger blow..

• 140.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

Beast,Smit,BJ…..that would make me happy.

We wouldn’t murder people, but we would give most teams a rough time.

• 141.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@gunther: well summed up. I agree.

• 142.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

Key players for the WC:

SMIT (AT 2 AND CAPTAIN).
    MATFIELD
    BAKKIES
    BEKKER (WE NEED THE BACKUP)
    SMITH
    STEYN (MORNE AND FRANS).
    HABANA

That’s our core.

• 143.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark):

Add Fourie du Preez and Spies

• 144.grant10: Reply to this comment

Morne Steyn probably the most valuable player at the moment…..

• 145.gunther: Reply to this comment

Biscuit

Thank you

And de villiers..

• 146.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Yep,I’d say the 9/10 combo both ..

• 147.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: 144

yes….give those 2 ball on the front foot….and we retain WC 2011.

• 148.WP_: Reply to this comment

@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): Plus JDV

• 149.WP_: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: 131

Who was then if he wasnt?

• 150.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

What do you guys think about this team to face Wales on 5 June.
    No Bulls and Stormers because they will possibly be involved in a semi and final.
    Overseas boks included.

1.CJ*
    2.Smit (c)
    3.BJ*
    4.Sykes
    5.Muller
    6.Wikus van heerden*
    7.Juan Smith
    8.Big Joe*
    9.Vermaak
    10.Pienaar
    11.Nokwe
    12.Jean De Villiers*
    13.Adi
    14.JP
    15.Frans Steyn*
    16.Bismarck
    17.Beast
    18.Juandre Kruger*
    19.Kanko
    20.Claassens*
    21.Bosman
    22.Mapoe

* overseas based players

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.