Pieterse makes shock return
16 Mar 2010
Naka Drotske has named forwards coach Barend Pieterse in the Cheetahs’ match 22 to face the Stormers on Saturday.
It was known that Pieterse planned to make a return to the game after retiring in 2008, but he was only expected to make the comeback during the Currie Cup later this year.
The 31-year-old lock had a bad run of injuries which prompted his retirement and he opted to take up a coaching role at the Cheetahs from 2009. But Pieterse will now make an early return as Drotske has named him on the wood for the trip to Newlands.
Corné Uys also returns to the team as he recovered from his ankle injury picked up against the Bulls in the opening round. But Drotske has favoured Ebersohn to partner Meyer Bosman in the midfield.
The only change to the starting line-up sees veteran Hendro Scholtz fill in for the injured Heinrich Brüssow while Kabamba Floors remains on the bench.
Cheetahs – 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Lionel Mapoe, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Naas Olivier, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Frans Viljoen, 7 Juan Smith (c), 6 Hendro Scholtz, 5 Waltie Vermeulen, 4 Nico Breedt, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Wian du Preez.
Subs: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Barend Pieterse, 19 Kabamba Floors, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Corne Uys, 22 Danwel Demas.

44 Comments
16 Mar 2010, 15:09 pm
WTF?
16 Mar 2010, 15:10 pm
WTF over the hill dragons?
16 Mar 2010, 15:11 pm
OOOOOH – what a surprise…NOT!
Was on the cards long time already.
Sneaker Cheetah
“Pieterse makes shock return”
Come on guys. It was always between Ashley and Barend to play. Since we needed a lock backup, Barend was the obvious choice.
The weird thing is Viljoen playing. I was under the impression he wouldn’t be playing this weekend, due to injury!?!
is this the guy who bruised a few ego’s when he said they are only in the team because of quotas? if so i never thought he did anything wrong.
Can anybody here tell me Rose is not a quota player?
16 Mar 2010, 15:13 pm
Mmmmm, think I’m thinking about the wrong oke here….
16 Mar 2010, 15:16 pm
@Die Beav: Huh? He is 31. A few months younger than Bakkies.
16 Mar 2010, 15:16 pm
Sorry. Meant older.
16 Mar 2010, 15:19 pm
And Ed, last I heard he was the lineout coach, not ‘forwards coach’???
16 Mar 2010, 15:33 pm
@Grrrr….I used to be a Lion!: Ya! your not thinking at all!
16 Mar 2010, 15:39 pm
Ooooohhh… I hope he’s fit.
Otherwise Jacques Fourie may hand him his hat for the comment he made about his form.
What’s up with Dawid De Villiers?
Is he merely getting a well-deserved break?
Or is he heading elsewhere?
And Demas ahead of Viljoen? Don’t know about that one.
Otherwise good team!
16 Mar 2010, 15:43 pm
Hahahahahaha! No but seriously, WTF? Can’t wait for this match!
16 Mar 2010, 15:46 pm
AMATEUR DROTSKE
16 Mar 2010, 15:47 pm
@Grrrr….I used to be a Lion!: Rose isnt a quota
he’s playing just as bad as most of the kak lions players
for you to single him out and call him a quota amongst the useless lions shows your true agenda
16 Mar 2010, 15:49 pm
@Papoose: Now I feel all bad inside….
16 Mar 2010, 16:01 pm
Nutta Drotske…
sounds a bit Desperate Dan sorta like…
16 Mar 2010, 16:05 pm
bet you they brought him in to pole-axe Andries Bekker…
and who cares if they ban Pieterse because they only wanted him to play the one match and sort Bekker out anyway…
16 Mar 2010, 16:06 pm
@BESTER: I blame it on the useless Lions. They made me stop watching rugby for close to 2 years now so I have no idea what is going on in the local scene besides the Boks.
But it feels liberating showing that bunch of losers the middle finger. Hopefully I will start following the game a bit more from now on.
16 Mar 2010, 16:23 pm
@Grrrr….I used to be a Lion!:
GRRRR,I am in the same boat! I was the rugby braai joke all these years for being a true and loyal Lions fan. After Friday I said no more!
I moved from JHB to CPT a while ago and I find myself at the stadium a lot more now!
WP jou lekka ding!!
Up the middle finger Lions bunch!
16 Mar 2010, 16:28 pm
@Wez…I used to be a Lion:
welcome to the family bud…!!
16 Mar 2010, 16:31 pm
@ufo: Thanks brotha!
16 Mar 2010, 16:39 pm
@Wez…I used to be a Lion: You guys saw the light…and the sea!
16 Mar 2010, 16:41 pm
@Michael:
And the clean streets, a working municipality, very little traffic and wine farms! What I haven’t seen is potholes!
16 Mar 2010, 16:46 pm
@Wez…I used to be a Lion: What? Have they repaired the pot holes on the Fish Hoek coastline road? I have clear memories of my cycle rides along there training for the Argus many years ago.
What I also loved was being able to walk out my front door and be on Table Mountain away from humanity a few minutes later.
16 Mar 2010, 16:55 pm
@Michael:
They’ve been resurfacing that whole road for over a year now… playing havoc with the traffic… but will be great when it’s all done…
16 Mar 2010, 17:08 pm
@Wez…I used to be a Lion: Ja dude. Have been living here in Slaapstad for 11 years now.
The Lions last performance just pushed me a little bit sooner. Not just me though! You should see how many okes have publicly jumped ship, even emailing the GLRU to say so.
They have lost A LOT of fans. And they are going to battle to get those fans back. Personally I have had enough. It’s not like I was going to go fly up to Cream Soda Park anyway.
Go Stormers from now on!
16 Mar 2010, 17:28 pm
@ufo: It’s about time! I cycled those roads a lot from 1991 – 1999. However, those then small potholes are nothing compared to the bloody HUGE holes that happened after the snow over in England. You’d never know this is a supposed first world country by looking at the state of the Cambridge holes.
How I long for CT.
16 Mar 2010, 17:38 pm
@ufo:
i will probably be in fish hoek around 15-22 april to visit my boet and in-laws.
will try to meet up with skoppie.
care to join us for a beer or fanta?
16 Mar 2010, 17:44 pm
@charo:
would be honoured to Charo…!!
16 Mar 2010, 17:45 pm
@Michael:
i feel for you…
we are privileged to live in a very special place….
16 Mar 2010, 17:49 pm
@ufo:
great – will give details closer to the time. maybe pissant can join us?
16 Mar 2010, 17:56 pm
@charo:
would be very cool! look forward to it…
16 Mar 2010, 18:05 pm
@ufo: Ja. I am a born and bred Capetonian. I lived in Fernwood Estate and could be in Kirstenbosch 10 minutes after walking out of the gate. I miss it so badly.
I opted to follow my academic studies. My specific archaeology interests (North Africa) mean that the best resources for it are in Europe.
Saving up so my fiancee and I can come back on honeymoon though.
16 Mar 2010, 18:11 pm
all the best bud…
there’s a great site you can go to if you want to look at some great photos…
full circle mag dot co dot za…
try it out…
16 Mar 2010, 18:13 pm
these cheetahs are going to be pumpd up stormers better be ready
16 Mar 2010, 18:21 pm
The photos make me real homesick… The raw beauty of my home town outdoes anywhere else in the world.
I get my sun by going to Malta which is my fiancee’s homeland.
16 Mar 2010, 18:22 pm
@baw: The Cheetahs will get overwhelmed by the Storm
16 Mar 2010, 18:57 pm
@Michael: Those other silly bunch of felines will have their asses handed to them this coming weekend.
16 Mar 2010, 18:58 pm
@Grrrr….I used to be a Lion!: They will be cowered by the Mother
17 Mar 2010, 08:12 am
Maybe John Plumtree had better put himself on the Sharks bench as well!
Is Rassie going to strap up this weekend too?
WTF.
17 Mar 2010, 09:31 am
Now for OS in the front row.
17 Mar 2010, 09:35 am
Its a good side. Just missing the Ratel. Bleakness.
17 Mar 2010, 09:51 am
Ja, I reckon after Pieterse, if Naka and Os get some game time the Cheaters might just win this one.
17 Mar 2010, 14:42 pm
Big call but he’s only 31 so should have plenty in the tank.
One article about this match is shocked a veteran is returning, another is lambasting a coach for backing youth. Guess you can never win…