Poor defence could derail Bulls

The Bulls have to make significant improvements on defence if they are to sustain their title charge.

Their defensive failings have been largely overlooked because of their attacking prowess (they are the tournament’s leading try-scorers with 24).

However, their defensive line has looked porous at times from structured play while fundamental errors and lapses of concentration in defending broken field attacks have been prevalent in their four matches. This has seen them concede an average of 3.75 tries per match – a woeful record for a team who have consistently been among the tournament’s best defensive units over the last four years.

The Brumbies, Waratahs and Highlanders threatened to exploit this newly developed vulnerability, but faded under attacking pressure from the Bulls. More experienced units, particularly on their home track, without the legion of blue-clad disciples screaming support for their demi-gods, and with the lung-busting altitude being a non-factor, would have sustained that pressure and possibly emerged with a victory.

The Bulls have seemingly mastered the art and science of attacking play under the new breakdown law interpretations but are nowhere near as efficient from a defensive perspective. This needs to be remedied as a priority, before an acute problem becomes a chronic one.

Significant progression needs to be made in a week and there are few sterner tests of a team’s capacity to resist than the Hurricanes. The Wellington boys have admittedly fallen short of the standards they’ve set for themselves on attack, particularly in the Republic, but their opposition’s contribution to their relative impotency must not be overlooked.

It is in the careful analysis of those matches, the Stormers’ performance being the prime example, that the blueprint for an improved defensive showing is found.

The Stormers bossed the tackle point in their 37-13 defeat of the Canes at Newlands on Saturday, and subsequently gave themselves a better opportunity at contesting the ball on the deck. The Canes were seldom able to recycle the ball quickly, and this gave the Stormers’ defensive line opportunities to reshape.

All teams rely heavily on the momentum gained from a speedy recycle to break down their opposition, but where the elite ones are able to adapt to a more pragmatic approach, the Canes tend to be fairly inflexible tactically. Cut their supply and their potency is severely diminished.

The Bulls rarely allow open wounds to fester, their 2008 title defence being an exception, and one can rest assured that there’ll be an intense focus on that facet of play ahead of the Canes litmus test on Friday.

Sound defence has been the cornerstone of every successful rugby team, and if the Bulls are to reaffirm their credentials in that regard, it begins with passing the aforementioned test emphatically.

202 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

• 151.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

It’s simple,Bulls take into consideration: ELVs, altitude, support, pre-season fitness/freshness, team types, during the first phase. Successful!
    Second phase, tighten up vs Chiefs, Blues.
    Third phase, same against the Crusaders.

They have the most favourable draw. Cheetahs 1st, not too technically challenging, but physical… good to rough our boytjies up to get into the right mindset. then 3 challenges at home with Brumbies, Waratahs, Hurricanes., and some rest with bye and Highlanders.

Then, start 2nd with nice Farce. Chiefs up, Blues down etc. Nice variation.

Then coming back home we can relax a bit more with the Lion welpies. Then up again for Crusader toughness, technically and physically.

Then the Stormers long anticipated cracker. Nice draw.

• 152.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant: Back in the day (1980′s), the death penalty was the prescibed sentence for:

1. Treason (without extenuating circumstances)
    2. First Degree Murder (without extenuating circumstances)
    3. Aggravated Rape

I would support this. The problem as you’ve alluded to, is the court system. And the fact that we have a constitution that protects the right to life. And that’s not something to take lightly….

• 153.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy:
    Ja,but we all know where the “treason” came from. I support a
    “constitution that protects the right to life”. Innocent life.

• 154.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

greenscrip:

• 155.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy
    Death penalty for abortion as well, except special circumstances.

• 156.vasteses: Reply to this comment

Too al Bulls and Stmrs supporters, yes the teams are playing excellent rugby, both teams are focusing on different aspects one is more attacking than the other, however we should not play the final yet there is a lot of Rugby to be played, and bad things can happen , hell it can start this weekend for both teams. If the players where as arrogant as some of the bloggers on this site (both sides) we would be in big trouble.

As for NZ, to even think that they will not be up to par, would be a huge mistake, they are classy players with exceptional ball skills always have and always will be.

I am truly disappointed in the Bulls fans I have not seen a full stadium yet, as for the Cheetah supporters, same thing how can you expect to make money from empty stadiums.
    Stormers pavilions are full, mainly due to the fact that they have been starved from proper winning rugby for so long, they have to go see to believe.

• 157.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@vasteses:
    This is a harmless blog.

• 158.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Everybody is windgat behind their keyboards.

• 159.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant:

so noted, I assume you are a Bull

• 160.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

HEINIE ADAMS OUT OF BULLS TOUR. WING TO BE INCLUDED, MAMETSA PROBABLY.
    HOUGAARD TO ROTATE ON 9. :)

• 161.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@vasteses:
    Uh, what makes you say that?

• 162.vasteses: Reply to this comment

And please M-Net do not show the “Oom’s” with the big bellies at Roftus on TV, they scare my kids. If I want to see big bellies I will go live in the USA

• 163.vasteses: Reply to this comment

read some of your blogs, or am i mistaken

• 164.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@vasteses:
    100% Vas.
    Bulls born and bred.

• 165.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant:

I think Hougie can be the next bok SH, we should play him there more often, i also think we missed on an opportunity to play him as SH against the Highlanders if only for 15 min.

• 166.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant:
    Pretoria I mean. I just registered to give my opinion on why Stegmann should be a bok.

Then before I knew it, I had to defend my posts

And I haven’t yet been accused of being racist, so my Keo blogging experience is not complete yet.

And I’m bobbing for Keo dollars. What do you do with it? Can I become a company shareholder?

• 167.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@vasteses: 165
    We only had 2 backs on the bench.

• 168.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant:

same here, moved to George a few years back, couched juniors at Harlequins for a few years, mis the club setup and Roftus, great rugby nation the Blue Bulls nation. There is no junior clubs here in SWD only school rugby.

• 169.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Francois Hougaard is definitely the best potentially. Faster, Stronger, more physical and fitter than Fourie du Preez.

He just needs time with the kicking coach and to gleen off Fouries tactically brilliant brain. Both Matfield and Du Preez will be in a coaching capacity…excellent seeing as we gat Juandre Kruger who was already 2nd or 3rd lineout stealer in heineken cup.

• 170.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant:

How do you know Hougaard is stronger and faster than Du Preez?

• 171.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus:
    Are you joking?

• 172.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus:
    Ok, ek gee toe, ek lei dit maar af van wat ek gesien het.

• 173.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

I will definitely ask in the next Bulls chat.

• 174.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant:

No.

Du Preez is damn quick and has scored numerous long distance tries for the Bulls. And his strength in the tackle has been demonstrated many times when holding up attackers over the goal line.

Hougaard is a great talent and I am very glad that he is Du Preez’s eventual successor. But let’s not write off Du Preez’s attributes so quickly.

Remember, Hougaard is actually a bit on the slow side for a wing. He has enough pace to make it there, but only barely.

Interestingly, the 3 quickest guys over 20 metres at the Bulls at the moment is vd Heever, then Dippenaar, and then the 30-odd year old Jaco Pretorius. Not Hougaard.

I think Hougaard and Du Preez are probably of similar pace.

• 175.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus:
    Agreed, Du Preez vs England 36-0, and also the Chiefs final.
    Heerlikheid, but you pounced quickly on me for that one. :D

• 176.vasteses: Reply to this comment

yes, things do look on the up with Juandre returning, he will pair with Flip in the CC. they can become the next Vic and bakkies, I am sure we will have a stronger CC campain than last year.

15 Jaco vd Westhuizen

14 Shadow

13> jaco Pretorius
    12. JL
    11. Ngudwane

10 Brummer
    9 Hougart

8. Van velze
    7. Pottie
    6 Steggies

5, Kruger
    4 VD merwe

3 Roux
    2Botha
    1 Kruger

Man this looks good

• 177.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@vasteses:
    We can get Okkie in at 6, Stegmann might be on his way for the green and gold. Also Wanneburg in place of Potties most probably.

• 178.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

And swap Bees and Werner. Steenkamp.

• 179.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant:

Hehehe. It is an interesting question you raise, however. I wonder how Du Preez and Hougaard compare in pace.

Whichever way it goes, I don’t think there’s much seperating them.

Hougaard does look very strong, though, even if he is quite short.

• 180.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Oh ja, and swap VDH and Ndungane

• 181.fuzzy: Reply to this comment

With the demise of the Sharks and the poor form of their boks just who the hell is Snor gonna pick? and no Blueblood, he wont pick the whole Bulls team?

• 182.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus:
    Hougie has a whole-body hand-off under the shoulder that we’ve seen in CC ’09. Very aggressive, shoving flanks and props on their butts. Also, Du Preez breaks lines with his finesse, Hougaard just tries to hit it hard.

• 183.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@fuzzy:
    PDV IMO can pick the whole Bulls team minus 4 players. Just get Frans Steyn FB, BJ Botha TH, Bryan LW, Jacques Fourie OC.

• 184.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

And I’d prefer Juan Smith @7. Still,just recently merc Habs, was light blue so.

• 185.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

I live in hope ;)

• 186.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah:
    Of what may I politely ask?
    That Steves’ Prophecy will come true?

• 187.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant:
    Ok more like a mantra: “MAAK DIE BULLE ALMAL BOKKE!”

• 188.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant: who’s Steven?

I live in hope that the Bulls’ season could be derailed

• 189.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant: who’s FB and LW?

• 190.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah:
    SIES MAN, haven’tyou heard that when WP and NTvl rugby is strong, Springboks are strong?

• 191.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah:
    No no, FB=fullback and LW=left wing.
    But ja, I can see how you’d wish for Bulls to derail,maybe the only chance you might have of getting the trophy. :)

• 192.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah:
    Anyway, if the Bulls “derail” it’s going to be like a runaway freight train, so be careful of what you wish for.

• 193.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant: yeah yeah yeah whatev… they can take a break

@Agile ***-Tyrant: lol blond mo

what can I say? Last time my team won anything I was in grade 2

• 194.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah:
    Eish you probaly can’t remember it. Your grand father probably had to tell you. :(

• 195.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah:
    Hang on, then you must be like in std 6 or something? why waste your time blogging? Go do something fun.

• 196.baw: Reply to this comment

propa gande! stormers flourish >bulls defence could derail them -why not mention that the bulls arent this dumb rugby unit they have had labled on them for the past decade? they actualy scoring well worked tries of set pieces ,they no longer use the direct route as their only route and in an era where attacking rugby has come full cycle they are probably the best unit in the game? tsk tsk tsk

• 197.catleya: Reply to this comment

@vasteses: What makes you think Potties and Steggies won’t both be Boks?

• 198.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@baw: 196. You speak sense here. As a Sharks supporter I can only respect the Bulls for the type of rugger they are playing at the moment. You sense that whatever defence “frailties” they are showing at the moment, that they are able to tighten up and be stingy whenever it suits them.

The overseas leg will be a good test for them and there I reckon their defence will become more prominent.

Heck, they can win games by the boot if they want, but at the moment they score tries at will and why not.

I am envious of Bulls supporters at the moment – the Bulls look like the real deal.

• 199.vasteses: Reply to this comment

The following list states the Tries for and Tries against, it is only the strmrs, crusaders, brumbies and blues that have a good defensive record with the stormers leading the pack.
    which although not a good record from the bulls puts it a bit more in perspective, and the bulls scored by far the most tries at avg of 6 per game closest to them are the tahs , but they had a 11 try fest against the kittens

1Vodacom Bulls 24 15
    2 Vodacom Stormers 15 4
    3 Crusaders 15 8
    4 Chiefs 18 14
    5 Brumbies 12 8
    6 Reds 18 12
    7 Waratahs 20 16
    8 Hurricanes 16 13
    9 Vodacom Cheetahs 7 12
    10 Blues 10 8
    11 Highlanders 12 20
    12 The Sharks 4 11
    13 Auto & General Lions 15 29
    14 Western Force 5 21

• 200.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@catleya:

Well i do think potties might make it but i doubt if steggies will be picked over burger

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.