Coetzee: ‘We are satisfied’
20 Mar 2010
Allister Coetzee says he is happy with the Stormers’ position in the Super 14 ahead of their tour Down Under.
The Stormers 21-8 win over the Cheetahs on Saturday sees their current season record read five wins out of six games. They are now one point behind defending champions the Bulls, who have 24 points with a game in hand.
Head coach Coetzee lauded his team’s performance, especially since they had to adapt to the last-minute withdrawal of pivot Peter Grant, who sustained an injury in the warm-up.
‘If you had to offer me five out of six at the beginning of the season, I would’ve taken it,’ Coetzee told keo.co.za. ‘The win over the Cheetahs was very important for us as we tour in tour in two weeks time.
‘But what really impressed me was the guys’ character. I thought the injury blow of Bash [Peter Grant] would disrupt things against a physical side like the Cheetahs. But the team showed character by sticking to the game plan and we went on to win a tough game. Willem de Waal impressed me and proved to be a worthy replacement.’
Coetzee added that the Stormers did well to triumph over a challenging Cheetahs team.
‘The game could’ve been much tighter. [Cheetahs flyhalf] Naas Olivier missed goal attempts at crucial stages in the match,’ said Coetzee. ‘The Cheetahs tried to expose us with a kick-chase game plan, but we managed to counter this by covering the spaces at the back. We then hit back with a balanced approach, by running or kicking depending on the situation. We forced them to deviate from this game plan and we capitalised.
‘There were several opportunities that we should’ve finished off but we are continuing to improve and we will strive to get better after every game.’
The Stormers are on a bye next week and then jet down to Perth to face the Force in a fortnight. Joe Pietersen (hip), Grant (quad) and Juan de Jongh (elbow) are expected to recover from their respective injuries during the next two weeks, so the Stormers should have the advantage of a full-strength touring squad.
‘A lot of teams are suffering from injuries and we are in a lucky position to have everybody fit. Conrad Jantjies might even be included in the tour squad,’ said Coetzee. ‘We will allow the guys to rest their batteries this week. They will have the day off on Monday, Thursday and Friday while we will start focusing on the Force on Tuesday and Wednesday.
‘We will not underestimate the Force, no matter what position they’re in. We will train just as hard as we did for the Hurricanes and Cheetahs.’

240 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All
21 Mar 2010, 23:15 pm
tad late, I’m off cheers guys
22 Mar 2010, 00:02 am
I suppose that should be surely ?
22 Mar 2010, 00:27 am
@Robzim:
Since it is not my goal to change your perception of this blogger, or any other on this site, however much differently we understand this matter it would be a waste of time to dissect your response point by point even though I can because of some inaccuracies and other reasons.
The first one being that I have never directly addressed myself to her(I’m just not interested), but by yesterday she had in the last 3 or so weeks three times inserted herself into my discussion which prompted a reaction(and yesterday’s was a 1 on 1 with another S.African).
Secondly, I have always referred to her directly as an opportunist and I cannot tolerate those types thus I do not take too kindly to the use of that emotional term, “racist”(3rd para) although I am not afraid to use it when I have to and it is appropriate.
This Boerboel-type intervention(see how well I know this site, better than you credit me with)probably instigated with an email to you(all assumption) will not sway me one way or another. In fact, I do not understand her need to insert herself in my discussion when I religiously avoid doing so when she is somewhere involved. If she stops this then I will not have to toy with her by yapping at her ankles to force her away, or even worse, make it more abundantly clear to her to then cause you to talk about decency or respect which I humbly disagree with.
Lastly if what you write is so correct then why did G10 react so angrily(and correctly so, I may add) to necessitate the BB intervention which in my estimation compromised him (even though it is his right to do so)?
You really don’t have to respond to this because we do read the situation differently and I will not change that as I believe I am correct in my interpretations and my post #83 was very serious and the words, ideas and concepts were well chosen.
22 Mar 2010, 01:45 am
Poor hard done by and trying Bulls supporters like Catleya must find it extremely disconcerting trying to remain objective while Stormers players continue decimating those opponents that Bulls severely struggle against.
I mean take these veritable resolute and indestructible gods such as Pierre Spies, Gerhard Van den Heever, Fourie Du Preez, Morne Steyn, Wynand Olivier, Francoise Hougaard, Victor Matfield, Dewalt Potgieter, Deon Stegmann, Gary Botha and others and pit them up against useless low life impostors like Rodney So’ioalo, Ma’a Nonu, Conrad Smith and some other no name brands and you’d expect the godly indestructibles to vociferously wipe these impostors off the face of the planet, run them off their weary feet, and disintegrate them into the Loftus turf without so much as raising a measley sweat. Who would have expected them to put up such a spirited fight and almost teach these illustrious gods a damn fine lesson in constraint and humility that they’re hardly as insurmountable indestructible as they arrogantly thought they were?
Poor Catleya seems to be suffering the same symptoms of grandiose let down as his gods he worships, he unmitigatingly has discovered by some unfavourable accident of eventuality that these gods are hardly gods at all, but merely fallible human sports beings, and subject to similar fits and starts of fallibility that all humans who at one time or other think they’re superhuman have to be brought back down to mother earth with.
Now he wants to blame his disappointment at acknowledging that the foundations of such absolute superior impressions of grandeur to be found fallible at the feet of those who hail another set of human gods as equal to the task of bringing such esteemed over hyped delusions of grandeur back to the reality where such extreme elevated gods of awesomeness simply do not exist.
22 Mar 2010, 01:46 am
I’m a bull supporter to the death!!!
BUT
I love the stormers when they are not playing the bulls….strange I know. What saddens me is that most supporters can’t support another SA team when give the chance to and LOVE to slate and call names. Fortunately what I’ve come to realise is the supporters making the biggest noise are the least knowledgeable on the game of rugby. Usually you can discuss your point with a opposing knowledgeable supporter and there will be a level of respect and understand…
To be honest I find the sharks supporter the worst of the lot when it comes to lack of rugby knowledge and running their mouths.
Its great to have Bulls rugby as good as it is…and its even better that the Stormers are joining the Bulls at the top of the table. Nothing better than having titanic battles between old foes and then taking the cream of the crop for Springbok Domination.
I’m actually struggling to think of 1 sharks or lions player that I would want in the Bok team ahead of any Bulls/Stormers combo at our disposal, add 1 or 2 players from the Cheetahs and then WE HAVE A TEAM!
Last note from me…I believe Ruan P made the worst decision of his career in demanding to be no.9…There is no way that he is better the FDP and he’s no better than the best of the rest…especially with Duven..playing so well. RP is so talented he would have made a class flyhalf but now he really has his work cut out for him…
Because I can… here is my Springbok team (with back ups in some positions) –
15. Joe P
14. Lionel Mapoe (nurture that talent)
13. Jacques Fourie
12. Wynand Olivier (Whitehead/De Jongh – will be way better..ONE day)
11. Habana
10. Steyn
9. FDP
8. Spies (Duane ..with a horses for course approach, Spies would be an awesome sub to)
7. Scalk
6. Juan Smith (Louw & Stegman)
5. Matfield
4. Bekker
3. Wicus Blouw
2. Liebenberg (Botha)
1. Wian Du Preez
Although I’d like BJ Botha & Beast in that front row for experience, as well as france steyn at fullback
22 Mar 2010, 01:49 am
SH&%$ excuse my atrocious spelling on my last post…
22 Mar 2010, 02:07 am
Nice team Shauny and I concur Ruan Pienaar and his mentoring coaches made big stuff up insisting he play scrum half when he could have really turned out to be a very capable fly half, and still might in spite of the ring around the rose bush detours and delays.
22 Mar 2010, 03:06 am
@Shauny:
Ruan does not have the BMT, and from that point of view I’d never pick him, not even as cover on the bench!
22 Mar 2010, 08:35 am
@skopskiet: Truth is Skoppie, you are driving people off this site in their droves with your overbearing misplaced arrogance.
And immediately I can hear your retort: “If you can’t take the heat….” Fact is, there’s no heat, just frustration.
Truth be told, at first I found your style intrigueing and it made me come here to try and fathom what the hell you were on about. I mistook your gutter wit for a bit of intelligence untill I came to realize you were nothing but a confused racist bigot stuck in an era most of us are trying to make sense of and move on forward from.
Thing is you are deeply begrudging of the fact that nature was unkind enough to bring you into this world as a member of the oppressed group instead of the priveledged side, and now you want to vent your frustration on us as if we had any inputs into our or your skin colour or the chaotic course history took in the past for you and those in a similar position to you.
Have you ever stopped to think that maybe we were just as much victims of circumstance as you. Your suffering is all but over, and if you make the correct choices your future is actually quite rosy, while the previously advantaged group are only now starting to pay the price for our birth persuasion by gradually and systematically being stripped of everything we have work hard for and having our friends and family murdered left right and center by lazy cowards and bigots who prefer to ride on the back of social and political change to justify their barbaric acts, and, like way back when you felt the weight of the yolk on your neck, the government- again, is standing by idly and allowing it to happen an in fact are actually helping to create a climate conducive to rape and pillaging.
Fact is, while I sincerely empathize with you for whatever has happened to you as a result, there is no way that I will apologize for that either, as I made no contribution to your sad state. Ever since I can remember I have been a vociferous campaigner for the abolition of any and all legislation or actions with a racial or oppressive bias and have actively involved myself in actions to contribute towards upliftment in my small way. But I am increasingly finding myself having to rethink my position on things as a result of people like you, and the culture of entitlement that has gripped this country and is slowly squeezing the life out of it.
See Skoppie, like what has happened to most people on this blog, I am just gatvol of your bullsh!t and will ignore you forthwith with the contempt you deserve. Like Sharks-Lover, Pietman, GBS, Superbul and all the other who have elected to walk away from here, I too have had enough. And in spite of what you might believe it is not a laager mentality. We have just made a choice.
We have elected to move on and leave you behind to wallow in your bitterness. We don’t need it in our lives. We have more real problems to contend with, like trying to survive in the global village, and when we come to the blogs for a bit of distraction from the stress, we don’t want to have to contend or mix with the likes of you.
So there you have it. Chew on it and spew as much lava and volcanic ash about it as you wish. All you will achieve in my humble opinion is to burn and harm the people closest to you. I for one couldn’t be bothered anymore. Neither do I give a ****, so have a good life!
The biggest irony is, there was a time when I almost died for you and your views. How f@ucked up was I?
22 Mar 2010, 09:56 am
@elliott2:
OK, Elliot, I agree that we are not going to chance each other perceptions of the person and that it will be a complete waste of time to try and debate it. There is also no need for us to have the same perception.
But just for the record, I never ask you to change your perception, I only asked you to treat her with respect whether u like her or not.
You are not doing yourself favours by telling other people that you “own them academically and more” especially in the absence of any real foundation but your own perceptions. I have certainly never saw anything during your skirmishes with Carol that gave me the idea that u are in any way superior to her.
You have also no right to tell people (Carol or anyone else) not to become involved in conversations between South Africans (“to come in the middle of South Africans” as u put it) – you surely know that this is an open site and that there is no requirement on people to only “speak when spoken to” and that people are free to respond to anything and are doing so on a daily basis. In the specific case she has in any event firstly addressed your fellow South African (with a tongue in the cheek comment) and not u.
The fact that people acted angrily (para 3) on events that happened in the past does not mean they were always 100% right in the way they reacted. Have u ever noticed how angrily people usually respond to your posts? Using your own argument it would therefore mean that they were also right to do so?
Lastly, I have never ever received e mails from any person (para 2)to ask me to intervene during discussions or arguments on keo – so your assumption is totally wrong.
You and I got on very well in the past on this site and share some similar thoughts on issues such as politics, sport and a love for the Cape and Streeptruie. I hope we can continue along those lines in future , but I will also not stop telling u if I think you act totally out of line (and expect u to do the same to me if u believe I overstepped)
22 Mar 2010, 10:10 am
@catleya: For the record, Skoppie is white. read: advantaged.
22 Mar 2010, 10:13 am
@Robzim: morning Rob. Still at it I see. Sometimes people throw up the shutters and the intelligence becomes impenetrable. I think you have reached that point.
22 Mar 2010, 10:19 am
@catleya: and I sympathise with your frustration about the racial thing. This subject is chewed to frustrating death these days and one sometimes just wants to flatten someone’s beak to bring the arguement to a close. But not the right thing to do. Rather go and enjoy an ice cold one.
22 Mar 2010, 10:36 am
@TASSIES:
Howzit Tassies,
I wont go further with this.
What’s up today – going to take the longboard for a spin?
At least out team is in a nice position – I have not felt so good about rugby for a while after all the suffering during the last number of years.
Somehow I think it is going to last – this has to be our year.
Your opinion?
22 Mar 2010, 10:41 am
@Robzim: Hi Rob. Longboard is in the garage afraid. Nice day though. Wife demanding attention.
All good on the playing fields. I gave Newlands a miss this weekend(bad move) just sommer. Was a great contest. Liked our new No 12 tho. The teams fireing at the moment. All 15. High quality stuff led by SB, who is currently dynamite. Thought we’d seen the last of Schalk. How wrong was I?
22 Mar 2010, 10:46 am
@TASSIES: your wife’s demanding attention and you’re on keo?
22 Mar 2010, 10:50 am
@TASSIES: Where does all the racial bitterness stem from then with him? He sure had me fooled, but that changes nothing. His condesending attitude just gets to me.
22 Mar 2010, 10:56 am
@TASSIES:
Same here as far as Schalk is concerned – he seems to be as good as ever, perhaps a bit more careful and more “responsible” than before (not sure about that “slap” though Lol)
Whitehead impressed me as well – I just do not know what they are going to do with all the centres now that Bosch and Newman have also recovered from their injuries.
I am also looking forward to the Varsity cup games tonite – hopefully we will have a UCT/Maties final in a week’s time.
See u, I am out.
22 Mar 2010, 12:53 pm
White pink black or blue you poor fools can’t see past your own indoctrinated prejudices.
Wtf has race to do with the fact that Bulls are way overrated prima donna’s that just about saw their asses big time on Friday night and are living in fairy godmother dream land about how emphatically indestructible they are. You poor idiot Catleya see race where I see overrated over hyped fallible rugby players, so who is the indoctrinated poorly informed dumb *** delusional here, me or you?
Bulls supporters much like their over hyped players, they like to believe they’re greater than they are, so when push comes to shove if they can’t cut it they revert to racial undertones or else simply make for the hills and form another new laager.
Bang as broekie lace, thats about as ferocious and indestructible these bully boy bulletjies are. No question about it.
22 Mar 2010, 18:31 pm
I can’t help it if you carry on like a Cape Flats gangster on this site, trying to impress everyone with your dictionary mouth- you fool no-one. You are an ignorant fool and embarrasment to most Stormers supporters I am sure. There is an old saying “die klere maak nie die voel nie.” I’ll translate and explain for your benefit- in your case, the words maketh the fool.
22 Mar 2010, 22:04 pm
You cannot handle it when somebody dares to criticize your holy Bulls – thats the bottom line, nothing to do with race except from your own indoctrinated self righteous mind.
You’re indoctrinated to the extent that you associate me with a Cape flats gangster
That is the extent of your absolute derogatory indiscretion
So if anyone here is the absolute self righteous indoctrinated idiot it is purely and utterly You Mr. Big Deal Catleya – no one else.
22 Mar 2010, 22:08 pm
@skopskiet: 219. Sometimes you talk such ****.
And I know you know something about rugby.
22 Mar 2010, 22:11 pm
I’m encouraged by the Stormers points against column. Its reflecting the preseason work done on the rule interpretations as this team must be conceding fewer penalties in their half of the field.
The change in discipline is almost remarkable, and the attitude that the players are approaching the ruck/tackle ball with is a lot better than i remember it being last year.
kudos to whoever has been working on this in preseason and continues to drill these systems.
conceding less than 12 points a game on average is also pretty good for this competition. does anyone have any stats from previous seasons to compare the stormers against in this first third of the comp?
22 Mar 2010, 22:13 pm
@catleya: Cape Flats gangster?? LMAO.. you are turning out into a bigger twat that I could ever imagine
Must thank skoppie for exposing you even further..
22 Mar 2010, 22:31 pm
@Tomsta: 6,7, 8 are tackling their hearts out and run beautiful complementary defensive lines. Bekker has been outstanding.
10 Grant and 12 De Jongh also manage their defensive channel responsibilities. and Fourie is excellent on defense. 11,14 & 15 also well marshaled.
But loosies are making the hard yards. A lesson for every young flank/8′th man to watch.
22 Mar 2010, 22:31 pm
The great thing about rugby chat is that I get a chance everyday to expose the fakers. They presume that they can display their superiority by virtue of their Rugby knowledge and all that happens is that they get exposed has useless twats..
This site does wonders for my confidence
22 Mar 2010, 22:32 pm
I thought the new young Stormers center had a very composed game as well.
Tell you what, Allister Coetzee is showing some loud voices up right now. Great to see.
22 Mar 2010, 22:35 pm
Fk Leeds 1-0 down at Elland Road.
22 Mar 2010, 22:41 pm
Some these broekie lace Bulletkie supporters truly believe they were born with their lily white asses stuck up in heaven while the rest of lowly humanity grovels in the mire, muck and dirt. Its their kind that are heading for the biggest awakening known to man. They simply don’t have a foggy clue about wtf is actually cutting around them. No wonder the Afriform fools are in a flat spin driving for a war of ideological mayhem. They might just find exactly what they looking for then woe betide their holy haven of self indoctrinated platitudes.
22 Mar 2010, 22:58 pm
Stormers are a more balanced side than Bulls at present.
Bulls came out the blocks at flat out frenetic fantasy about decimating Hurricanes into fanciful pieces with their speed merchant approach. Little did they factor in that Hurricanes mid field and loose forwards weren’t gonna lie down and get summarilly pomped. Smith and Nonu plus So’iaolo and associates gave Bulls mid field and loosies something serious to consider which resulted in after half time Fdp and Steyn reverting to licking it up in the air again simply to save face.
Stormers didn’t try that million mile an hour dash, they simply starved them out the contest and wore them down in the mid field. So on those two respective showings Stormers came away far the better organized side and far more effective in their balanced coordinated effort than Bulls did on the day.
But these bulletkie blou eyed bull dust believers won’t have any of this reality sidling down their throats, so they prefer to continue to believe that they’re living in cloud cuckoo land with their immaculate saintly senators of seductive slick sanctified ball handling as untouchable supremo’s in the arts of juggling rugby balls between their saintly legs.
22 Mar 2010, 23:00 pm
@SodaJoe: totally agree. got the feeling that burger has finally come out of his slump and is complimenting louw and vermuelen who are serious grafters. the combination seems to be clicking and seems balanced with louw playing from blind and typically arrives 2nd at the tackle so is competing as allowed by the rules.
thought whitehead was steady. he would have been a complete unknown to the opposition so he not have been marked to harshly, but none the less he definitely contributed on defence and attack. seems a good player to work on.
i like how you commented on combinations and how they are doing their duties as a unit. the loosies are humming, the halves are finding each other and reading play well most of the time, the midfield is steady on D and look to have time to make the necessary decisions, the back 3 look to be on the same page as well.
tight 5 also seem to be working better this year. scrumwise it looks like some players have really done their homework. i am impressed with harris. i wrote him off before the season based on previous years of very poor technical ability. he has improved and looks capable of improving even more. its a good unit and bekker leads that tight unit well.
i’ll wander down to the stormers hotel when they get to auckland, see if i can buy ‘em a beer
22 Mar 2010, 23:04 pm
@Tomsta: Proudfoot has to take some credit in transforming that front row. I know of no other reason.
And no better reason for getting a decent forwards coach for the Springboks.
And backline coach actually.
Gold & Muir leave me stone cold at the moment.
22 Mar 2010, 23:27 pm
@skopskiet: Can’t believe that you don’t appreciate the kind of rugby that the bulls play. and for that matter the talented players who play for the bulls.
the beauty in rugby imo is that there is always scope to play the game differently for whatever reason. it could be because you have a talent pool who have certain skills, or because its the best way to beat a certain team.
i’ve been impressed with the bulls ability to score points and break their opponents down. i like how direct they have been. comparing them to the crusaders in how they are confident in their systems and style of play its blimming encouraging from a Saffa rugby perspective that we have some franchises who are capable of building and developing a team to play the way they want to.
now comparing them to stormers where the stormers look to be just getting structures in place is difficult. i just think its rather cheap to rubbish teams and players.
22 Mar 2010, 23:31 pm
@Tomsta: Bud that’s a door really not worth walking through.
22 Mar 2010, 23:34 pm
@SodaJoe: true he deserves some credit. lets see what he achieves next year. he should be working at developing the next band of forwards at voda level now while continueing to build the stormers forwards.
find it tough to rate coaches these days. AC was part of jakes team and for a time he got blasted because the bok backs were void of any attacking ability so it seemed. muir on other hand had the sharks humming. muir takes on bok role and he is perhaps struggling, and now even more so with the lions.
AC seems to be having a positive effect with the stormers. before throwing coaches left right and centre for international honours, i reckon we gotta pay more attention to the group of players and how long those systems have been in place before becoming apparently successful enough to warrent bok coaching honours.
i always thought muir was above average, and now with the lions he seems to have put himself to the sword.
22 Mar 2010, 23:38 pm
@SodaJoe: i know. a long time ago skop and i agreed on many things rugby. had some good exchanges. then somehow he seemed to need to get too drawn into things. i dont have a problem with people being passionate about something, but its how you carry yourself that needs to be measured.
just think skop needs to refocus. at times i get impression he is working for keo just here to get hits and fire the provincial wars of old and new.
22 Mar 2010, 23:39 pm
@Tomsta: I agree. Anyway Piet Snor has 2011 coming up.
Allister can keep growing his team, and developing himself. Just like every success story, no matter what endeavour. I just am enjoying his success so far, he took quite a bit of flak for some time. Deserves the credit, and we should give it comfortably.
Muir – last season with Sharks was terrible.
22 Mar 2010, 23:58 pm
You Know Tomsta you are one of the very few. And I must emphasize Very Few, individuals on this site who have an extremely balanced and clear headed approach to rugby and probably to life in general.
Most times I just give people stick for the sake of it. But many times I give those stick that I reckon might need a little of it. Especially glorified Bulls supporters who think their hallowed hero’s are guite beyond critique.
So you might be close in your summation of my lack of attributable humbling attitude of gun ho activity here but actually I’m just a normal rugby supporter who thinks that Bulls are a tad overrated.
However if I’m really honest with myself I would say they’re playing better rugby now than they ever have in all of their history, and that is purely because they have come out of their inverted conservative shells and are finally giving vent to a new lease of creativity and flair totally alien to their hereditary traditional game style. And for this new lease of expressive creativity one can thank the whizz kid from the Cape Winelands, his suaveness himself, Pieter Roussow.
23 Mar 2010, 00:31 am
@skopskiet: same skop. i’m just a simple rugby guy.
slappies must have something to do with what they achieving at the bulls. just need to tighten up their defensive systems now.
23 Mar 2010, 02:32 am
@Robzim:
@210
Being a participant in the original matter, I am dealing with first hand knowledge and you, at best, with second hand information which seriously disadvantages you and leads you to propound misconceptions. It is almost like it is not only you that is responding.
Too much play is being made of “own them academically and more” when all it is euphimistically saying is I have the upperhand or advantage and it is no “perception”
It is easy for me to substantiate this if you accept that humans express themselves in every word and deed or action. Thus just from the errors of grammar(not typos or spelling) which you make( and there are examples in post 210) I can deduce that English is not your first language. This is knowing something about you from something that you have done(concrete thus no perception).
Alternatively look at my use of language and her use and tell me again it is not different(stop being excessively kind). The poor soul has not ever spelt the word weird correctly(“wierd” her version) on this blog site and stating this truth is not disrespect but just the truth. You have to accept some people are smarter than others and there is no comparison here. You may call it arrogant but I call it confidence because I can deliver on that claim.
That bit about “treat her with respect” is another overplay. Refer to the instant when I did not. Exposing negative truths(opportunist) about individuals is not disrespect. A sexual predator, however, negative a truth it is, is just that and stating it is no disrespect.
You can say I am difficult and straght but I am still fair whether in war or love.
Again, your words:
“You have also no right to tell people (Carol or anyone else) not to become involved in conversations between South Africans (“to come in the middle of South Africans” as u put it)”
Where in posts #203 or 83 of mine do they appear( you sure you are not being emailed?). Instead, in 203 I refer to a specific one on one quiet, civil discourse before an insertion occurs with a snide, inane remark with reference to me. See how facts can be distorted and misrepresented?
Your last paragraph is what I would expect of you or I would be disappointed but if you and I are in quiet discourse and there is an insertion I cannot promise that I may(see a compromise) not respond with a storm.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All