Warner wallops woeful Kolkata

David Warner’s belligerent 107 not out drove the Delhi Daredevils to 177-4 and an emphatic 40 run win over the Kolkata Knight Riders.

Warner was nearly denied his maiden IPL century, caught by Murali Karthik off his own bowling on 96 only for a referral to reveal the ball had made contact with the ground.

Warner’s innings was characteristic of the young Australian: short balls disappearing over the rope, while full deliveries punched down the ground – he finished with five sixes and nine fours.

Earlier, the Delhi Daredevils were reduced to 38-3 as Warner was left scrambling for partners, until he paired with a measured Paul Collingwood for a record 128 run fourth-wicket stand. Only a stunning boundary riding catch from David Hussey could split the duo, removing Collingwood for 53 in the final over.

Hussey’s effort may be the catch of the IPL so far – tossing the ball up twice, once in the air out of the field of play, before diving infield to claim the catch. It was ultimately of little consequence as the damage had long been done.

Prior to the clash both sides occupied the middle of the IPL log with 6 points apiece, and as Chris Gayle and Sourav Ganguly marched to the crease requiring a touch under nine an over

However, the innings that followed was a tale of capitulation – the visitors managing to outdo Delhi’s early collapse, slumping to 21-3 early in the fifth.

But where Kolkata had let their foot off the home side’s throat after initial headway, with short bowling and inconsistent lines, Delhi bowled full and straight.

Subsequently Kolkata never recovered from their shocking start and as the run-rate rose above 12, the visitors repeatedly succumbed to the pressure – five batsmen exceeding 15 before giving their wickets away softly.

The landslide victory marks the biggest winning margin in the Delhi Daredevil’s IPL history and lifts them to fourth on the IPL table with a realistic title shot.

Delhi 177-4 (20 overs)
David Warner 107*, Paul Collingwood 53, Charl Langeveldt 2-35
Kolkata 137-9 (20 overs)
Chris Gayle 30, David Hussey 29, Amit Mishra 2-27
Delhi won by 40 runs

Click here for a full scorecard.